TOA PAYOH mummies

Holiday, no plan at the moment, initially was thinking of going to Genting but hotels @ 1st world fully booked.

I am planning a day getaway to Batam for Spa and shopping trip wif hb. Apparently 'Spa Village' @ Batam offers such package @ quite a reasonable rate.

I am new to this thread. Am looking for a playgroup for my 13-month toddler. Called this Club HDB Childcare Centre at HDB Hub, already full for 2010

Any advice?

Janice,

LOL.... can choose colour some more.... U are so funny!

Hello Surf,

Good for you - that Club HDB childcare centre is full. In my opinion, that's one cc that I WON'T RECOMMEND anyone. But sorry hor, I dunno where else is available/good in TPY.

Hey Samantha

Serious? Got horror stories abt the teachers there?

Heard that the church opposite Central also has playgroup. Not sure if they only open to christians though. Probably chk it out over the weekend.

How big are your kids?

Anyone heard of Apple Tree playgroup? Think it's operated by PAP, govt-related. Cheap leh. $160 per month, 9-11am. Any mummies enrolled their kids there before?

Surf,

No horror stories la but hubby and I condemn that cc. Wont recommend anyone there but will just stop there (i.e. wont tell stories).

My little boss is only 21mths nia...

Hi Samantha

I see. Thanks for sharing. Hv a fren who enrolled her son there for 1 year already. So far, she finds it not bad. I can't find any reviews by other mums online, probably coz it's not a chain. So thought will chk in here if any other mums in TPY sent their kids there.

Hi Surf

U looking for childcare centre or just few hrs playground? I saw one new playground opening next year at Blk 78C under edufarm. U can call and enquire frm them. Their website is edufarm.com.sg.. but the prob is Blk 78C is a function room, im nt sure hw they going to set up the class tho.. anybody got feedback on edufarm? am quite interested since it is so near my place.

oh janice... sorrie to hear tat. from wat i see my sis's kiddos, sometimes really try everything also cant pacify them lor. so my advise is not to take it too hard personally, they are juz at an age where it is difficult, i'm a good example! one consolation (i hope!), i was a real terrible kid all the way till i came out to work. not the "get-into-trouble" kind, but forever against parents' wishes one lor. and here i am, taking care of my ger and my mum now, and even my hubby also cant tahan how my mum is num 1 for everything. i nearly lost my work last time taking care of her. so think tis way - your kids are tekan-ing you now, they will love you like mad when they grow up! hehe...

anyone need a buggy board? cos i rented one for my niece stayover but she went home already so I dun need it anymore. the rental is till 12 dec 09. i paid $20 for the rental and $50 for the deposit.
if anyone wants to use it, just pay me the $50 deposit as a guarantee then i will give the $50 back to you when you return me the buggy board on 10 or 11 dec.

3252163.jpg

hey mummies... me need help on food now. any recommendation for ala carte buffet dinner, chinese food? need to plan a family dinner.

btw, re the chicken rice in 125, i know it was selected as best in sgp, but never tried b4. it has been around for many years, but there was a better stall so i nvr tried theirs. my parents ate their chicken rice and mutton soup and say quite nice. but i definitely think there are better chicken rice in sgp, like my fav is maxwell.

Hey rlrenn

Thanks for the info. Just went to their site. No info on this new PG centre. It's not listed as one of their PG centres. I guess they may hv other courses but not PG lor

How old is your little one?

Hey Rlrenn

Me kiasu, just called them and requested to be on waiting list even though the person says no need to.

Yes, they are opening up a new PG at 78B, one of those new 40-storey blocks. But my girl can only join next May when she officially reaches 18 months. The fee is $175/month, not entitled to subsidies from MCYS.

Flea Market:
Venue: Blk 122 Void Deck, Toapayoh Lor. 2 (5mins from Braddell MRT)
Date/Time: 5 Dec Saturday, 9am - 4pm
Details: There will be some events (stage performance). Each stall comes with 1 table and 1 chair
Rental Fee: $25

Surf,
Like my gal always says 'It's ok'
no worries. That's what this thread is all about source info, socialise, organise play dates etc.

If u have sometime, u may wish to refer back to our previous posts sometime in mid 2008 till early 2009 there r few discussion wif regards to your query.

Thanks Dor .. will check out the flea market in the cc tmr.

Hi Surf, like Samantha, I won't recommend the Childcare in the HDB club, for some reasons. If you are looking for 2 hours playgp, there are a few options around here. Like the Kiddy ABC and Apple Tree. If you are looking for half day Childcare, I guess most of the center around here are full. I've asked a few in Toa Payoh, none have places.

Samantha , haha ya my kids have their respective colour of canes. The sibilings will usually volunteer to get the cane when anyone of them misbehave.

Hi Surf, my gal is 14mths, turning 18mth in next mar.
i havent make up my mind to send her to 2hrs PG or full day childcare yet as i hope to return to workforce.. hehe..

Janice,

High five! (on the HDB club cc)

LOL.... your kids are so cute - siblings volunteer to get the cane!

You dont have the 'cane all if one misbehaves' kind of habit? I heard some friends/collegues doing that. It's always the younger ones who got into trouble. But elder ones kenna too, cos they are deemed older and should have stopped the younger ones from whatever they are doing... sad.

Hey Janice

Where is this Kiddy ABC PG? Thanks for the advice. Haha, in any case, HDB Club is full! So I only hv limited choices now.

Hi...sorry for interruption.
Urgently looking for carpool from Kaki Bukit to Toa Payoh/Braddel in the evening after work, need to reach TPY/Braddell around 5.45-6pm to fetch my two babies. Please PM me if you have any lobang. Thanks.

I use rubber band to "shoot" my girl.

Benefits:
1. It's easy to bring when we go out
2. quite "invisible" to use. Just pull it long long to intimidate, no need to really twang (don't want a screaming child outside)
3. small area hit, unlike cane - when sweeping the cane in a rage, can accidentally whip face or other unintended area.

How to use:
1. Use at home first.
2. Must be "ruthless".
3. Idea is to show the serious painful consequences of being twang by a rubber band.
4. After that, will achieve the effect of just pulling the rubber band taut on their skin and showing a ruthless look, is enough to fighten them out of their wits.

Example:
Once my girl kenna it so many times (abt 10) at one go that now at the mention of rubber band, she will conform. But that was really not easy lah - to be ruthless. My heart was so painful seeing her pitiful crying face and the red marks on her arms that I cried together with her. But I let her know that it hurt me too to punish her like that and I also hugged her and reasoned it out with her.

Just sharing my discipline tips in a fun way. No guarantee it works for everybody. At least, it works well for my girl. Now already no need to really "shoot" her. Just threaten will do. Whenever she gets frustrated and complains that didi is always fighting for whatever she is taking, I will ask her "shall I use a rubber band to shoot didi?" she will answer "no", which is really quite kind-hearted of her not to inflict the same pains on her brother.

My son is still too young for the rubber band to be used on him but will test it out when the time is ripe. Already I can sense that he will be a tough nut to crack, unlike my daughter.....

haa! giantsquid, u never fails to make one laugh. tat's a good one!
sometime, i use my hand (thumb combine wif middle finger) to 'shoot' her. this rubber thingy i must try.

Giantsquid, that really is rather funny! Haha! With my son, I will use my fingers to (in Cantonese) "dan" or "shoot" his cheeks when he's being rude.

Did some mums here sign up for the Y'kidz Montessori class? Saw in the Oct thread that they had open house. But i went to their site, can't find the address in TPY.

hahaha giantsquid, that is a good one. Ya .. bring a rubber band out is more convenient than bringing the cane hehe ...

Surf, KiddyABC is in Lor 2, I think its blk 99C. They have 1.5hr Playgroup daily for 18mths and above. My boys are in Liz Montessori in Lor 4, near the Ang Moh supermarket.

Samantha, I don't have the cane all habit. If the 3 are fighting and snatching toys, then all will get it.

But then, I think my kids are quite immune to canning liao .. their skin quite 'thick'. My younger boy can still make funny faces after the cane.

Surf, my son's in YKidz. The website bears the old add and info. They take kids from 18 months onwards for 2 hour programme. So far so good, just hoping that they'll sort out the manpower soon cos I think they are getting more kids coming in but not quite enough teachers to go round. It's almost like one teacher (ie the principal Yu Kai) with many helpers. I will switch my son either end of N1 or N2 to my daughter's school which is at Upper Thomson (Windsor Park Road). Currently, I don't think he's ready to take the school bus (unlike my daughter who started taking school bus at the age of 2.5)

Thanks j foo and Janice, for the info. J Foo, Ykids at Lor 1?

Guess I got quite a number of places to check out:

1) YKid
2) Kiddy ABC blk 99c
3) Edufarm blk 78C?
4) Liz Montessori Blk 85

Am just wondering if it's better to choose a place which offers PG, N1, N2, K1 and K2 so there's no headache later on? Haha... me a lazy mum. So I guess Apple Tree is out for me coz they only hv PG. If not, I got to crack brains 1 year down the road again on whcih nursery or kindergarten to send her to. My coll told me to just send to My First Skool coz they hv all the levels. Been there before check out the IFC service, find the amenities quite old.

I also use my finger to 'tua' Junior's cheek. So chubby, so good to 'tua'. Whenever he's noti, I will 'tua' him. Because he's very fair, and sometimes he's just trying 'to challenge' me and refuse to stop, I have to 'tua' more than 10 times. Then end up one cheek is "rosier" than the other

like that very obvious. one look and you know the kiddo 'kenna whack' liao. I have yet to come up with a very genius answer to shut the mouth of those curious aunties though.

So now I smart liao, I 'tua' both sides! So that both cheeks are equally rosy!

mommies,
when my daughter is born, will u all conduct a discipline your children course haha. I read giantsquid post, its so funny. tats very subtle way of punishment.

Im 36 weeks liao, and baby head not engage, looks like might end up c-section.. boring ar, more expensive.

Samantha, u are so funny haha. Hopefully the rosy cheek won't turn into bluish blusher hoh ..hehehe ...

Ivy, I don't think baby head engage so early .. talk to your little one, maybe she will cooperate

woah, all talking about discipline methods. me, i use cane, hand (ru2 lai2 shen2 zhang3) and fingers (tan2 zhi3 shen2 gong1). my gal is afraid of all those but then after that will forget about my "kungfu" and misbehave. i tend to show her the cane to threaten her most of the time and long long one time will give a good and proper caning when she gets out of hand. this way she'll know that i not only threaten but will kena from me "one day".

dor,
i just came back from genting today or rather yday. the weather was cool during the day and really cold at night. i've stayed at 1st world hotel and i dun like it there at all. the standard room was sooo small and no room service if you feel like eating in but then at that time i was expecting my gal so only me and hb. this time round i stayed at resort hotel and it was much much nicer. the standard room (or was it the deluxe room, didn't ask cos the agency had only 1 type of room for that hotel) was pretty spacious. we got the twin bedded room and joined the 2 beds (super single size) and it was big enough for the 3 of us. if u intend to go this mth or nxt mth then gotta bring warm clothings especially for your gal. even the room whc didnt have any aircon ducts is very cold. i myself felt cold even covering up with blanket and had to wear a sweater and socks to sleep. hence, my let my gal wear her thick sweater, and track pants under her pjs and double socks. i'm sure your gal will enjoy the rides there as much as my gal did. however, going there end of the year can be a turn off becos of raining season. it rained when we got there on mon so played the indoor rides but the weather was kind to us on tues so got to play outdoor rides. and it rained again on wed when we left. so thankfully i got to play an adult thrill ride on that sunny day while my hb jaga my gal at the playground. all in all it was a fun trip.

ivy,
you still have 3-4weeks more to go. my fren who recently gave birth, her bb also didnt engage till closer to his delivery date. dun worry to much, talk to your bb lah.

Char,
Glad to hear tat u had an enjoyable trip.
Btw, how old is ur gal? understand the indoor rides have height limit too. The last time i stayed at 1st World was sometime back, the standard rooms r quite small but i like the location coz quite near the Amusement Park. Undstd Resort Hotel jus had reno and is qutie nice.

Yesterday brought my gal to TPY central 'Pasar Malam' it has few kiddy rides there and i let my gal try out 'helicopter' ride this is the 1st time she's on her own, initially she was somehow ok but after 2 rounds she started to 'call for help' aiyo the aunty saw her so 'kasisan' stop the ride and let her got off. They were nice enuf to let her took the mini train ride (no xtra charge), wif me accompanying her.

dor,
if i'm not wrong your gal and mine are about same age, 32mo, mar 07 baby. my gal was ok with all the rides. the min height is 76cm for most of the kiddie rides. agree that 1st world hotel's location is good cos near the amusement park but hb & i didnt mind walking a bit more from resort hotel to the amusement park for the sake of better room condition, hee hee. we brought our gal's stroller. anyway its about 5mins walk btwn the 2 locations. there was a little boy who cried while playing one of the indoor rides, think becos he couldn't spot his mother, poor thing.

Surf, YKids is at Lor 6 (HSR building), they now have a banner outside so quite easy to spot. Downside there - toilet is common toilet and it's really rather smelly, haha! And it's not kiddy size so the younger ones will have a bit of trouble. Quite a few of the kids store their potties in school, mine too.

Ivy, 1st one probably not so early, still some time to go so still have chance.

Char,
only 5 mins walk tat's quite near. did u accompany her on most rides or she's on her own. am quite sceptical abt my gal now after the ride at pasar malam last nite.

Mommies!! Sob sob, hopefully she will engage soon, i talk to her every night now hehe.

Precious, engage at 28weeks is very fast leh.

Samantha, some say 36 weeks to 38 weeks by right should engage.
i got pigeon baby wipes liao. That time at taka fair and also additional one at kiddy palace sales.

BTW i was just told this morning, i got strep B bacteria, got to take anti-biotics.. alamak.

J foo

Oh, HSR building.... that's far from lor 2. Am looking at within walking distance from my block. Thanks for the info.

Ok, am down to only edufarm and kiddyabc.

actually does anyone ever get group B strep infection??
Im quite worried what it will do to me and baby.