TOA PAYOH mummies

sunny72,
no joke even b4 the news came out i heard tat b4 fm word of mouth.

janice,
aiyor kasih sayang....u heart mus be aching lor. he jus recoverd better watch his diet and slowly build up.

hello!

If anyone is looking for a part time cleaner, do contact me. This lady, who also helps to clean my place once a week, is a Chinese pei du mama and stays in TPY too. Hence, looking for more tpy families so that she can cut down in travelling.

Her rate is $10 per hr, min 4 hrs.

goodness .. maids r so scary but not something new though. Does it means that Filipino are safer then? My maid is from Indo too .. also quite wary of her cos I find her very cunning.

When I was in living in China .. once heard from a friend that this china maid put the baby on the chopping board as the boss wanted to fire her. Scary hoh!!

i've heard of that news article and come to think of it's very disgusting. like that then dun let them cook, haha.

janice,
good to know that your boys are out of hospital and are ok. dun worry, it's normal for them to lose weight cos of stomach flu. i'm sure they will put on weight once they get well. perhaps youcan boil nourishing soup like 'si shen tang' or 'liu wei tang' which are good for appetite.

i've heard of that news article and come to think of it's very disgusting. like that then dun let them cook, haha.

janice,
good to know that your boys are out of hospital and are ok. dun worry, it's normal for them to lose weight cos of stomach flu. i'm sure they will put on weight once they get well. perhaps youcan boil nourishing soup like 'si shen tang' or 'liu wei tang' which are good for appetite.

Janice, good to just stick to si shen and liu wei esp after being sick. TCM physicians will tell you that too. Oh and ABC soup too.

Dor, Nutrishake I get from a friend (Amway distributor). It's actually a replacement meal shake so I guess if you don't want to get from Amway, can just get one from GNC or any pharmacy or health shop
My friend better don't see this otherwise she'd kill me for ruining her business! Haha! But I must say their vanilla one is rather nice.

Oh yes, Dor, mix with either water or milk. The shake plus the protein powder (which ARE correctly said, is soy based) can be quite rich in itself. I took the protein powder when I was pregnant.

hi dolphingal, ever tot of getting transfer maid whom you can see and interview in person straight away than to read thru biodata which may not be true anyway.

giant squid,
advise from some of the mummies here mentioned tat i shld get a fresh one instead of trf.. coz it's my first time getting maid.. hence better get a fresh one.. my other fren who gt a trf maid, she was bullied by the maid instead.. haiz..
so think i'll get a fresh one... better to be safe.. tks ya.

dor... yes, the tandoori is gd! bt quite ex cos the portion is quite small. but v authentic cos they bake in this big urn. the naan also nice. but same ex lor. $2/pc

jfoo.. actually, i'm also feeding my ger the soy milk cos they contain lots of vitamins & minerals which is gd for her since she oni takes milk. i also heard frm another parent tat soy helps with stools & its worked for my ger too. juz got my fruits & vege, gonna try our first fruit blend tmr morn! hehe...

janice... maids frm any country will also hv hanky panky in some ways one lah. i've seen/heard enuff. so for all my new maids, first day i oreadi say, dun nid to do anything to "ensure" gd r/s. juz do your work properly and you will be treated well. sadly, tat hasnt happened to me very often!

my family doc always tell us to make porridge with a lot of water when stomach unwell, then instead of water, drink the porridge water the whole day. she says there are ions inside the water tat will replace those lost during LS so you will recover your energy faster. she also recommends drinking the isotonic drink 100plus, non-carbonated, cos it will giv energy. maybe when they hv more energy, they will feel better and more inclined to eat.

on the other hand, i myself prefer to eat macaroni when i'm sick. i've always eaten tis since young, its my comfort food. it is cooked with meat & fish, so even if i cant eat, i will juz drink the soup, which has nutrients since got fish & meat, and its easier to juz swallow when dun feel like eating, so i prefer this to porridge.

dolphin... actually, its all really luck lah. some maids act up cos they are not happi w their previous employer. i've had transfer/ex-SIN maids tat could work. tis current one is also a transfer cos i needed urgently. she can work lah, but always come up with little things here and there, tat i've learnt to bear. if really cant bear then juz tell her off lor. some agencies can let u try the maid for a day, then at least u can see if she can follow instructions and work, but no "bao" one lah, they are always on best behaviour on first day!

What Are said is very true - make porridge with lots of water when stomach unwell, then instead of water, drink the porridge water the whole day.

My boy's PD also recommend the same thing when he turns LS King. Instead of plain water, he drinks the porridge water. Recently Junior kenna stomach flu, doc also recommend H2O and 100plus.

When he said that, I was like "HUH??????" Junior is only 19mths leh! But he said ok. Ok, ok lor, I let Junior tried and wah... he really loves it man!

Dor, I replied your mail liao.

Gal.Dolphin
How much is the agency fee? Did they increase their fee? Mine is a transfer maid, as her previous employer was blacklisted due to some issues.
One good thing about the agency which I recommended is: if your maid wants to have off day, you can send her to the agency instead. They have weekly gathering.

j_foo,
thanks, but i guess u've mix-up me wif another mummy who's asking for the details.

are,
wow tat's ex for a plain naan tat cost $2, but if its good no harm trying anyway not always makan hee!

tats right, some maids become transfer maids due to highly acceptable reasons. mine was rejected by prev employer bcos they only needed a maid for 3 mths.she is quite decent. of coz got to close one eye when it comes to maid, cannot breathe down her neck all the time over the more minor stuff. then as time passes, her positive attitude starts to decline a bit (everybody is like that,even we ourselves fall prey to this tendency), will have to quickly hold counselling sessions before negative feelings start to escalate.

dor... we liked the naan lor. chewy chewy kind. was tempted to buy one to dip in the fish head curry sauce, but too ex lah. if oni got ppl sell prata! hehe...

jfoo... juz had my first fruits/vege drink! hmm... quite nice and refreshing. the beetroot din taste as bad as i tot, juz stained everything badly! i cut up the fruits and put in a box, so anytime wan to drink juz pop into blender. but the beetroot had to blend leh, maybe shd cut into smaller pcs issit?

oh mummies... if u are also keen to try, do note that you are supposed to "blend" the fruits/vege, not use juicer hor. blend so tat you take in all the fibre also.

Dor, din receive. Could you send again?

Janice, glad that your boys are out. Like what the mummies have been suggesting, good to take some porridge water as a start and some nourishing soup. Always believe in soup.

Dolphingal, maybe you can try Joy Employment Agency. The lady boss number is 94574313. Quite a nice lady. She recommended a good maid to us from Myanmmar. She personally does the interview. Joreen is quite a flexible boss. She helps us with sending the maid to interview at MOM etc.

<font size="+1">FINALLY there is a Montessori Playgroup/Enrichment Centre @ Toa Payoh</font>
Received a leaflet.
There is an open house on 26 Sept, 10-3pm @ HSR Building (just besides Pei Chun Public Sch)
Name of Sch: Ykidz Montessori @ Toa Payoh (MOE Registered)
For free trial &amp; assessment, call 63025654 or 97903690

Yes, yes, I called them up cos I'd be interested since so near
Uh, prices start at 280 for 2 hour session and the 440 for 4 hours, I think. It's still a very new establishment, the principal (who also teaches) is Montessori trained with about 10 yrs experience. There's also another teacher who's Montessori trained as well. 17 months is the youngest they accept.

I'll be going for the open house on 26th from 10-3pm. Anyone interested? I can only get there around 1130 cos I have to teach in the morning.

Oh yes, sorry Dor, info was requested by Char, ha ha!

And I just checked out the website for Y Kidz, the principal teaching at the main centre in Sin Ming is the one heading the branch here.

j foo
Thank you for sharing.
The price is quite reasonable.
I might be going to the open house on 26th Sept since it is so near to us.
Btw, I lost your contact.
Can PM me again?

precious, jfoo
Me too wanna go.. my bb will turn 17 mths in 4 mths time.. if ok den i wanna chope a place.. $280 for 2 hours session means per mth $280 for daily classes?

Hi mummies, thanks for the food advices. Acutally my boys can eat very well and no LS but need to control their food intake. The stomach flu they got is rather diff leh .. they have no LS but excessive vomitting. Whenever they eat too much or drink too much, they puke again. Really wonder y stomach flu is such a long ordeal.

Hi Are and Jfoo .. may I know what soy milk brand did u buy? Usually what do u mix with?

Good luck to mummies who are getting maid. I really feel all is luck. Its real tough to select a good helper depending on just a 'beautiful' biodata.

janice... i'm taking another MLM brand, foreverliving, they are famous for their pure aloe vera, which we are also taking. am also strong supporter for their creams, jfoo would noe. hehe...

but i'm using the fruit juice to detox so din add the soy. i mixed these : beetroot, strawberries, kiwi, cherry tomato, carrot, orange, watermelon, melon, passion fruit, together with fruit &amp; vege yoghurt drink i bot. cos i find tat aft blending, its very thick, hard to drink, so add a bit of yoghurt drink easier to drink, and not so 'raw' also. i dun use all the fruits/vege i listed above all together, i use abt 4-5 items each drink. still experimenting, but mainly trying to musk the taste of beetroot cos i noe its very nutritious but tastes awful.

Gal.Dolphin
Will bring my daughter instead.

Orangeymum
Take Bus 232, and align at Pei Chun Public Sch. Yes it is just a few stops.

Janice
3 Oct, from 630pm - 9pm, there is a Mid Autumn Festival Celebration, tickets selling $3 each (wth games etc). Location Blk 195 Kim Keat. I bought the tickets from her PCF sch.

Janice, I buy mine through a friend (Amway). I mix into various things like Milo, fruit shakes (which I mentioned previously), even oats.

Beetroot - a friend of mine use to cook this for her daughter and she'd eat it everyday! Another mum I know from Pat's (where I use to teach) also did that. She'd put it in the little boy's lunchbox and when it's lunchtime, he'd have an additional dish - beetroot, which I'm sure his friends weren't envious of. haha! I'm definitely not a fan...Hua Ting (Orchard Hotel) is selling beetroot bing pi mooncakes with sour plum filling! This is their latest. I'm keen on trying, at least get SOME goodness indirectly haha! Last year they had beetroot bing pi with some other filling but when I got there, all sold out.

OK, so mummies who are keen in the open house, let's be there around 1130? So far, it's Precious, Jasmine, Dolphin and Orangeymum, right? By the way, the principal said there'd be "special promo prices" on that day.

hey mummies... i read frm other thread tat the heinz baby food bottle can use to store breast milk, and i am starting to feed ger puree, so anybody want the bottles? i will hv one bottle per wk, so can accumulate a few then pass to you.

i also have lots of glass bottles that i used previously to store BM, interested can get from me.. have abt 20-30bots.. =)

Jfoo,
where to buy beetroot?i'm interested in your recipe as well.. =)thanks!

oh any mummies using Iphone?care to give some reviews? thanks! =)

This was sent to me by the principal Yu Kai (pronounced as You Kai, a lady).

Montessori Playgroup (17mths to 3yrs)

Duration: 2hrs/4hrs

Timing (2hrs): 8:30am to 10:30am

10:30am to 12:30noon

(4hrs): 8:30am to 12:30 noon

School Fees(2hrs): 2days/week - $180.00

3days/week - $200.00

5days/week - $280.00

(4hrs): 5days/week - $440.00

Subjects:

Monday: Phonics(Single Letter Sounds)

Tuesday: Sensorial (Colours, shapes, sizes etc.)

Wednesday: Mathematics(Quantity &amp; Written Symbols from 1 to10)

Thursday: Cultural (Animals, Fruit &amp; Vegetables etc.)

Friday: Art &amp; Craft

Montessori Junior Workgroup (2.5yrs to 3.5yrs)
Duration: 2hrs/4hrs

Timing (2hrs): 8:30am to 10:30am
10:30am to 12:30noon
(4hrs): 8:30am to 12:30 noon

School Fees(2hrs): 2days/week - $180.00
3days/week - $200.00
5days/week - $280.00
(4hrs): 5days/week - $440.00

Subjects:
Monday: Language
Examples:
Phonics(Single Letter Sounds)
Recognize letters a to z
Recognize upper &amp; lower case
Pre- Writing
Tuesday: Sensorial (Colours, shapes, sizes etc.)

Wednesday: Mathematics
Examples:
Quantity of 1 to 10
Written Symbols of 1 to10
Rote counting 1 to 10
Counting one to one correspondent
Sequencing of numbers
Patterning
Thursday: Cultural (Themes: Animals, Plants, My Body etc.)

Friday: Art &amp; Craft
* All prices are before discount
Hope to see you and your family at our OPEN HOUSE on 26th September 2009, starting from 10am to 3pm.

Beetroot - I think NTUC sells. I don't buy but I think my friend gets her supply from there. Otherwise Cold Storage I'm sure would sell.

Precious, that means will miss you...was hoping you'd be there around the same time as you're the expert! haha!

Dolphin, I-phone is one cool gadget
It does take some getting use to though as it's pretty different from Nokia, Samsung etc. And it is quite big in size. Otherwise from what I've gathered from the friends around me who uses it, really good and lots of fun. I don't have one, but it's on my wish list which I will send to my hubby nearer Christmas, haha!

jfoo,
the price is quoted per week???it's quite pricey...
haiz.. ok. i'll look for beetroot.. hehe.. thanks ya~
oh my hub is trying to deconvince me not to get iphonel.. =(

Hmm, this ykidz looks interesting, I should be going down this coming sat to take a look.

Dolphingal, I dun think the price is quoted per week. It probably meant e.g. if the kid in playgroup is going for 2 hours class twice weekly, the fees are at S$180 per month.

Beetroot, our family favourite dish but not advisable to eat everyday cos its quite cooling. Have to take note of that esp for the kid, otherwise they may develop other problems like not enough qi and not able to do strenous exercise and worse still develop asthma. That's what happen to a friend's nephew who eats pear and drinks cooling soup everyday. Sometimes when it's raining season, it's good to boil some 'paoshen'soup for the family to bu. A lot depends on body condition and weather

Are and Doplhingal, if you can tahan collecting the bottles for me and wait till next year, pls keep the bottles for me. But if others need them first, it's ok. Thx

hi,hi mummies,
i'll be going down to look see too. Soooo nearby... I regret a little coz my girl just got into PLMC(paya lebar church covenant kidy) just 3 days back. I won't send my girl for daily class but more for enrichment. hope to meet you mummies there !

One more thing...Those mummies who interested to know what is happening in Pei Chun,(Pls dont'broadcast hor...). This Friday, 25 Sept from 7.30-9.00pm, the sch is celebrating moon cake festival with a small carnival like event. they have dance, carry-lantern, and also games and performaces. We parents have to buy tickets to take part in the games .it is free entry though...i don't think they(sch) check coz I know some grandpa, grandma, extended family going. So anyone gonna gatecrash shld be ok .... Can carry lantern but not candles type..

eunice... where u get your beetroot ah? i wen NTUC ystr cant find leh. i got my first one frm carrefour cos happen to be there.

i will try to keep the bottles. if i run out of space, then pass to you k? :p hehe...

jasmine... nice chatting to you. i noe u asked me to call your hp, but i dun hv leh!!