TOA PAYOH mummies

Ivy

I second precious's recommendation.
I have 3 seahorse mattress. The softer foam is going at $39.90 (if not wrong).

Harder foam is at $99.90 i think. Think long term, in case next time your family will use the mattress. I personally prefer the hard one, the soft one gives me backache and no support.

It is a 3fold mattress.

No need get bed frame lah! My CL also sleeps on the floor one.

hehe Ryes, ya i tink i tink too much, a bit paisay to let CL sleep on floor, my gf also say nvm la, can sleep on floor one. Aiyo i really tink too much maybe.

U girls not sleeping ar, or having personal time while children asleep? I is researching on sofa bed until now, i think my bb in my tummy sleeping liao.

jfoo... thanx for the clothes! aiya... ah ger too fat to fit into most, so i oni took some, the rest will go to my niece! thanx! sorry woke your boi up!

re : NTUC linkpoints... u dun nid to be NTUC member to collect linkpoints from NTUC that can translate to cash. go tpy central cc, apply for PAssion card, 3 yrs membership @ $10, u get $10 NTUC voucher! oni at central cc hor. other cc give you lucky dip oni. apply ntuc card oni if u wan chalet lor... everyone shd get either card and collect linkpoints, u can use the linkpoints to pay on the spot at the cashier now, no need to go thru troublesome exchange process.

ivy... we got date lah, juz dun noe if they will cancel last min cos of the flu. CL can sleep on floor lah, cos nid to care for bb also mah. but last time mine i got extra bed, she sleep bed lor. or u can also ask her if she mind. better than she black face when she start work, then lagi more stress for you. and i agree with ryes also, the seahorse mattress v gd. 3-fold to save space, & very comfortable. i used to buy those normal mattress for ger, but those cheap ones are foam, very hot, so i wanted to buy more ex one, will cost me $40-$60!! siao ah? so in the end, i buy seahorse. ah ger sleep on floor at nite, then morn, we juz take up and put one corner. so neat! oni slight prob w seahorse is the normal cheap zip bedsheets dun fit, so u gotta buy from them. slightly more ex i think. but two is enuff lor.

ryes... huh? your otah got chance to cold ah? mine all gone while still pipping hot! hehe... we also like the crab, bt same as your hb, also think its too ex! so nxt order i getting all fish liao, cos we like the fish best.

orange... chelsia pic so cute!!! okie okie... will vote for her if go junction8.

my lorong 3/4 market is open! not all the food stalls are open yet, and there are lesser stalls now, cos oni 1 floor now. tau hway old uncle not ard? i cant find leh. and kuey chap also not moving bac? but ngoh hiang is bac, chicken wing is bac, desserts is bac. wanton noodle also move bac liao. Qs wer seen at laksa, wanton noodle, and fried carrot cake. hmm...

hey rfary... i was there too! hv to snatch veges from the aunties cos they were running out fast!

ARE, most welcome. Pity most couldn't fit. The tops ok? If yes, then next round of "clearance" I'll keep tops for you.

Guess you'll be very busy updating the food list again! Haha! I've never been to the Lor 4 mkt so you'll have to keep all the food finds posted here.

And talking about food, Lor 7 market, one of the coffee shops (the one at the corner near traffic light opp petrol station at Lor 6) has nice curry puffs. Veggie puff so-so (it's more for kids since not spicy) but others are pretty good. Can't remember the name of the stall but it's decorated with flashing lights so won't miss it. Haha!

i never go in just drive pass. will have to go soon.

ivy, not new. just newly renovated. not a lot there to see.but got a lot of coffeeshop.

j foo
that shop moved from opposite Thomson medical. the curry puff is good.

babe
No problem... too many posts....
My mil ah... yah, in teaching field lah.. my twins are 3yrs 7 mths.

You SAHM or FTWM??

are/ivy
Confused now... are, ur side that market is simply Blk 93 market, right? Are there stalls upstairs?
Tau Hway uncle not there anymore...? Oh dear!!!

The Lor 4 market is the one opp the catholic church, right? Just went to buy prata and tau hway after my run this morning....

are
Ur gal 4.5 yrs old right? Considered big size?

Having a headache now... think not enuf water and overwhelmed by crowds at ION just now... sheesh...

styloBB there use to be another market opposite the mobile petrol station. now i think they say only left the hawker centre

are, i also saw the banner.. will try to drop by one of this days.. =) =)
my hub loves the 93 ngoh hiang.. lolz.. u forgotten to mention.. hahaha.. =)

ivy,
no need to ask one leh.. i just told my CL to sleep on the floor with the mattress.. she said ok.. they very easy one.. no need to tink so much.. better tink if u have gotten ur things ready for u little one! =)

Anyone knows if there are reasonably priced ballet classes for say girls age 2.5 yrs?

I'm keen to send my girl to ballet, coz she loves to dance. But seems like mostly is at least 5 years old.

Also, does any mummies know where in TPY Central has this pushcart that do personalised name self inking stamps? You know those that kids can stamp out their own name? My student told me at TPY, but she cant describe exactly where the place is.

It looks like this
http://picasaweb.google.com/gohboonsiong/InkStamp#

<font color="ff0000">Ryes</font>
How about the one located at Thomson Plaza? The price is very reasonable. 10 session for $175. My girlfriend sends her 3yrs old there.
For personalised name self inking stamps of Disney designs, there is one at United Square.

oh so now Lor 4 confirm got new market ... shld go today and kpo. Went to Lor 1 market eat carrot cake, the stall beside tian tian. I think their black one nice, white one... not so nice. If white carrot cake got to go braddell one, the kopitiam with the famous chicken rice ball.

Ryes,
for customise stamp you can also try Novena, 4th lvl the shop besides Kenny Rogers, however, its a bit ex depending on the design and size of the stamp.

be@ns,
wow u 33mths preggy still do household chores? do take care u need rest, consider gtg a part time cleaner to help up. still rem when am in my 2nd tri i hire a pt cleaner and till now am still continuing. when ur 2nd one pop-out who's gonna take care, r u planning to hire a maid/nanny or switch to be a sahm?

ryes, i know near KFC, there is a 2nd hand mobile phone shop, then beside got 1 small place they do Binding, maybe u go check out if they do self inking stamps?

Ivy,

there is another stall at lor 1 for the carrot cake.. stall name is qing shan.. next to the porridge stall.. also same place as tian tian lai. =)
so u r saying braddell tat side where the macdonald is has good carrot cake?=)

oh ya.. those KFC lovers.. there is another outlet at lor 1, it's run by the mute/deaf.. so the service is much much better than the one at the central and not so crowded and u can even those the parts of the chicken u want!=)check it out! =)

HI Precious

Thanks for sharing. THomson plaza far leh, but at $175 is cheap leh for 10 sessions

I went to United sq today, didnt have the chance to head up the ballet sch, but got their number and will call.

Saw the self inking stamp shop too, it's $12.90 for the disney type, most likely will do that lah, unless TPY have the same designs and at cheaper price too.

Dor, Novena 4th floor? The shop do what? I never know there's a kenny rogers at novena leh..mmm.maybe sld pop by, wonder how the charges are like.

Thanks Ivy, when I have the time to head out alone, will go and find at TPY. Nonetheless, if any of you spots it, let me know k.

Attention ascension mummies

Do check mailbox sometime this week or next week for the letter. Payment of deposit to be made by 27th Aug.

Diff class on diff days.

Ryes,
KR @ Novena is quite new, used to be another rstn forgot wat's it called liao. One thing i like this branch coz its not self-service, nt sure if other branches r similar.

Orangeymum,
if i drop by J8 will definitely vote for ur gal. Good Luck to her Baby Calendar Contest.

Hi Dor, not much housework..just cooking, ironing, washing dishes &amp; laundry. Now all the mopping &amp; washing of toilets are my hubby's job. But still really tiring with a big tummy &amp; backaches! maybe will consider a pt helper afetr i pop. as for my 2nd son, will send him to infant care. hehehe....unless i kena windfall, then can be sahm.
i'm now sourcing for a full-time playgroup for my elder boy. any suggestions besides 1st skool?

be@ns,
wow tat's consider a lotta work for a 33mths preggy mum hor. my opinion better look for PT cleaner a month b4 u pop at least you can change to another if u r not please with her work.
Btw, I have PM u wif regards to infantcare. U can also refer back to previous threads for feedback and recommendation.

Thanks Dor!! guess i'm fussy, so prefer to do the housework myself. i dont even allow my hubby to do the dishes! but u r rite, have to slow down soon. will seriously consider a pt helper then.

Gal.dolphin, the lor 1 is wait very long one right? They use red carrot instead of radish, i find it not worth the wait.. toooo long.

The braddell one is the blocks near macdonal, its near the end, beside a fruit stall, sell Qing Feng Nian Chicken rice balls. The aunty only sell white, very nice!!!!! She sometimes fried until pek chek cos business good but its nice lor. Can add prawns also.

been a while since i logged in....

are there any 2007 babies here? need to chk if yr 2007 has started to school, and where?

I am looking ard for my 2007 gal, there used to be one opp Lor8, but it has closed.... and i read that there is a Montessorri school around.... does anyone has the contact and feedback? Thanks!

jfoo... a few tops ok. my ger has a feeding tube in her tummy, so the tops hv to be long so wun she move wen reveal. plus she fat lah! but i gave them to my niece and my fren, so thanx on behalf of them too!

oohh... will hv to update the list liao. hehe... the food section is still quite packed, we identified a few side tables we can sit, but nowadays, i seldom eat out leh, always cook. err... also cos we dun eat lunch one. hehe...

stylo... my ger ht avg, bt fat fat lor, cos she is not mobile, so retained all the fats. plus, she's got daddy's big size genes, so we think if she is normal, sure a jumbo bb! hehe...

tat day i oni wen orchard mrt to mt someone to collect something, already headache! aiyo... so many ppl!!

ryes... i think tpy west cc got ballet classes too. last time i was checking for my niece. u can chk out the PA website to see which cc have.

dolphin... eh? u like tat KFC? i dun like leh. do u noe they dun fry the chicken there? once they are low on stks, they will order from central's branch and they send ovr. i buy a few times is cold one leh. but i agree its gd cos less crowded and the staff really try very hard.

be@ns... u sama sama like me. i also cant stand anyone else do anything. cos my mum is clean freak, so i've been "well-trained". ha! think i oso washed toilet till v late in pregnancy. but like wat dor say, u hv to watch it lor. cos nw 2nd preggie, bac is more weak, so hv to be careful ah, else later bac pain.

more!! more!!

Good food @ TPY
1) lor 1
a. food market (2nd level) daytime : fried carrot cake stall beside tian tian lai (traditional black/white), qing shan fried white carrot cake, tian tian lai fried hokkien mee, heaven bliss muffin (just follow the smell), teochew bao (big stall, you cant miss), porridge (with pretty lady boss), soya bean
b. Near SPH, the cafeteria known as 2nd Street Café : Botak Jones, Italian food, Japanese egg omelette rice, zi czar, tandoori chicken. They have a bar counter serving Hoegaarden and other brand beer as well, most popular is magarita.
c. 115? : qing feng nian chicken rice ball, white carrot cake, ang gu kueh

2) lor 2
a. blk 116 (above braddell mrt station) : roast duck/chicken/pork/charsiew, yong tau fu stall
b. blk 125 coffeeshop : nasi padang

3) lor 3
a. blk 93 : thai stall (seafood horfan, fried chicken wings), kway chap
b. blk 94 : chicken rice shop (roast pork/charsiew/soy sauce chicken), corner coffeeshop (bak chor mee – daytime oni)
c. blk 95 : tim’s (western/nepalese food – pork ribs, chicken cutlet, steak, homemade cakes), coffee shop – meili zi char (crabs, fried ji ding beehoon/horfan, boiled soup, fish head curry, claypot chicken), malay zi char (BBQ seafood, pattaya rice), chicken rice (char siew/roast pork), indonesian economic rice
d. market : ngoh hiang, laksa, homemade tau huay, wanton noodle, dessert

4) lor 4
a. blk 85 : bak chor mee, roast meats
b. blk 84? : cod fish village (cod fish head curry)
c. market : yam cake/noodles/porridge, yong tau hu

5) lor 5
a. standalone food centre : tau hway (open till 11pm), char kway teow, claypot rice (62565708), satay, BBQ chicken wings, satay beehoon, fried spring chicken with mushroom yam rice (ala ke ai ji), fishball noodles (close very early), fish soup, BBQ sting ray
b. blk 51? : UNO beef house (steak, fried mashed potato ball, chicken cutlet)

6) lor 7 (food center)
a. beef noodles
b. peanut cake
c. blk 4 : 24hrs prata shop
d. Lor 7 market, one of the coffee shops (the one at the corner near traffic light opp petrol station at Lor 6) : nice curry puffs

7) lor 8 (food center blk 210)
a. fish soup (HaiJi)next to western stall
b. duck rice
c. kway chap
d. chee cheong fan &amp; dim sum (qiang ji, next to yong tau fu stall &amp; soya bean stall), the ccf only cost $1.20 a plate.. and it's HK style.. yum!
e. tau huay next to the dim sum..very cheap..only $0.50 for a bowl only!!
f. blk 212 : melben seafood (crabs, esp crab beehoon)
g. ocean fish head curry (blk 212, coffeeshop S99), also have a zi char very nice.. the salted eggyolk crab is simply wonderful!!!!very lu wei &amp; yummy!!must try!=)
h. durians
i. famous crab king : salted egg crab, pork ribs, claypot noodles, shark's fin @ $10 (enuff for 2pax w lots of fins/crab), fresh live seafood [blk 1002, toa payoh industrial park, #01-1407, http://www.famouscrabking.com/index.html]

8) central
a. HDB Hub food court: Gideon pastry stall near escalator (cakes, breads), rojak (famous in sgp), beef noodles (previously frm beach road), zhi char stall(fried bee hoon, beef dried hor fun), soon kuey (next to rojak) è closed on sat frm 4pm, whole day on sun
b. If got budget : Ichiban sushi, crystal jade (now got steamboat buffet after 8pm, seafood additional charge. Current promo – yummy BBQ spring chicken at $10 for takeaway)
c. Coffeeshop beside tree temple : Ben zhen wanton noodle, malay food (tauhu goring), bak chor mee/laksa/fishball noodles (same stall), zi char stall (fish head curry)
d. Sweet talk bubble tea shop (opp the coffeeshop, beside singtel shop) : milo pearl, coffee milk tea
e. HDB hub (fu hua/watson row) : tiong bahru bao, koi bubble tea (pearl milk tea)
f. HDB hub (row hidden behind Watson) : tiong bahru chwee kway, trishaw laksa, 2 wanton noodles/roast meats shop, tiong bahru porridge, selegie tau hway
g. Blk 177 : goreng pisang, china stewed spicy duck tongue/neck/drum
h. Blk 79 : zi char stall (fresh frogs/crabs)
i. Coffeeshop near old ntuc : western food, hainanese stall

thanks are...though i'm fussy, but in actual fact my home is not exactly the cleanest place! It's cramped &amp; full of nonsense! hahaha...just tat i'm fussy about how my clothes are ironed, how the dishes are done etc.

ivy,
thnx. my gynae is Dr C.H Koh at central.

mummy_tang,
my gal is 2007 baby and i've registered her at PCF at blk 157 simply becos its nearest to my plc.

btw, where to buy the seahorse mattress?

JTS: Eu Yan Sang celebrates National Day! From the 6 – 16 August 09, enjoy 20% discount store-wide* in all Eu Yan Sang outlets across the island.
*Terms &amp; conditions apply.

be@ns... my hse also always full of nonsense one lah. last time worse, wen i moved, it took 2 lorries load! my 3room was so packed, we oni had a 1-man lane to walk and i had to pack like mad. now still got nonsense but oni 20% max man. cos i've discovered the joy of selling online, and i like having the money rather than something taking up my space! ha! time to get rid of things you "might have a need later on"!

Hi! Mummies, for those who r still not aware, Precious given birth to a healthy bb boy liao on 3 Aug almost 2 hours past midnite.

hahah..unfortunately, i dont hv anything tat is worth selling or rather no one will ever wanna buy!...it's really rubbish!! now, close one eye, until i hv the time to sort them out.

Hi all mummies, Thanks for yr fast respond!

Char, my neighbour's 2004 boy just transferred to PCF @ 157, he loves going there.... will check it out.

Dor, yes i heard abt Ascension, but hubby dun like the idea of gal on school bus.... i know its a good school cos my gd fren's boy was there... will see how again.

is there a Liz Montessorri in TPY? i cannot seems to find the contact # and exact address on Google, is it a good ctr?

FOOD!
I didnt know that there are so MANY nice FOOD in TPY!
I like "lor Mee" and I only eat the Lor Mee @ lor 1 shophse coffeeshop, opp Trelis Tower.... ummm its I grown up with this Lor Mee, cos eat it since when I was staying with Granny. After 30yrs+ they are still ard although the std drop abit.....so u Mummies might wanna check it out. ;p

Hi mummy tang, my boy's a 2007 baby, still staying at home with me. I may be registering him for next year, somewhere, still looking around. Shaw's is my preference but fees pricey. Liz I heard from a mummy here, not bad. The contact can be found in one of the past postings.

Hi Mummy tang,

Liz Montessori is at blk 85. it is a long block but it closer to lor 2 side.

my ger is also 2007. we sending her to apple tree next year. what we heard is it is not as good as last time cause there is a change of teacher but it is still nearer for my parents and we prefer a larger group of kids then Liz.

I just had the lor mee at lor 1 today
. i used to like the Lor Mee at lor 1
cause i stay there for like 20 yrs but now i prefer the one at lor 4 market at block 66 coffee shop. the one opposite the Church.

mm.. next time i eat the braddell qing feng nian chicken rice, "Shun Bian" see the carrot cake what stall name.. but i never remember the block, its the other block from macdonals. Macdonals is the dr tan block.

Orangymum, i saw the bloom nano high chair you got, i also like but dunno where got sell in singapore !!! if u got see anyone selling it 2nd hand again, do let me know.

are,
ya the KFC there not nice to eat one.. no wonder i always find it funny, yuanlai its delivered not freshly fried.. now i know.

ivy,
Mothercare Harbourfront sells that Bloom nano but its $259. already on offer.. maybe u can consider cos 1 brand new normal lucky baby or chicco highchair already 100+.. the material also not hot, i'm loving it so much! lolz

If you got go JUNCTION 8 today till friday, PLEASEEEE Vote for my baby in the Singapore Calendar Babies!!!

Here's how: Make a purchase at Junction 8 (any amount), use the receipt to get a voting form. Then VOTE for Chelsia Chan.

Thanks Ya!

Orangeymum, oh i went mothercare parkway, din see. $259.. ex hor, i think need to get 2nd hand. the rest of design not so nice, but see if no choice then got to compromise.

Orangey, got to go down junction 8 to vote? no online?

Hi Ryes,

Thanks for your information. I will keep a lookout.

So far, no positive response on car-pool from Ascension mummies yet. . .Still waiting

char
How much does the doc charge at Children's clinic, rough estimate... thanks..
The twins went to their PD today, cost us $260! ok, divided by 2 is $130.. is that expensive? Haiz..

precious

mummytang
It's at Blk 85, if you know where Ang Mo Supermarket is... it's just behind Jackson Square. The bldg has 3 different blocks, 85A, B, C... if you walk down, you can see but it's a small place.. just one unit.

dor
I'm improving, I ran 36 mins today (no stopping) and covered the outer circumference of the estate, definitely longer than what I did the other day and I feel ok too!! hehe...

are
Can your gal walk w/o help?

HI mummies!my boy bowels back to normal~!pheww!
by the way,any idea any places got competition for bb?baby calender competation is at wer?my boy only 4months old only le..

ivy, y not u post in WTB den slowly wait see got ppl wanna sell u or not?

ya must go down 1 cos they wan u to make a purchase then can vote.. any amount also can..

Hi Dor,
thnx for informing.

mummy_tang,
good to know a good comment about that PCF.

stylobb,
Dr Heng's subsenquent consultation charge is $40 but duno how much is the charge for first visit. will ask if i remember when i go there to buy medicine. usually after consultation and the medicine to buy will be about $100+ cos once my gal is sick she needs to be on nebuliser and nebuliser solutions are very ex. sometimes can be $190+. then have to have follow up visits to check on my gal's condition and one mth bill can be about $800+. that's why i very scared when my gal falls sick. so now giving her supplements and hope and pray that she doesnt fall sick so often.