TOA PAYOH mummies

oh really ah,bens?ya,the dr is jonathan chan.thk they also hv anotehr dr at the same clinic rite?thk his name is dr. donald?so ryes,any idea how much she charge for dr.ck tan?i also found dr.jonathan vy nice ppl...just don know he also got ja[s for bb one..he experience?

HI newmummy

So far for CK Tan, she charge say about $130-$140 per jab. MMR I think is just $50, chickenpox about $65-85. The most expensive that I have paid is pnemoccoal $170.

I used to see Dr Tan when I was still single back then, so now married with kids, my hb also sees her and my kids now see her for jabs lor. BUt for medication wise, my kids will go to PD, coz like what other mummies who are seeing her too, her medication maybe slightly mild for the kids to get cured faster.

But I like her lah, I prefer female dr lor. She does pap smear too, so cheap $45 if I am not wrong. WEnt to KK and paid like $99+.

ryes/miin,
i also find dr heng's charges to be on the high side. many times i kept contemplating many times if we should let my gal see a GP when she's sick but the problem is my gal's condition when she has the flu can be a bit complicated. must nebulise her and once her condition gets better then back to inhaler puffs. so deep down i feel reassured that my gal will get better when see dr heng but the medical bill leaves a very big hole in hb's pocket and then i go back to contemplating about seeing a GP, the cycle goes on and on....sigh!! dr tan is very gentle when she does pap smear. i like her too.

Dear mummies ,

do u all buy vitamin for your kids to eat ? if yes , what kind is good ? heard raw honey is good too ?

Dr Heng from toa payoh central issit ? i went one when my boy is still a new born , but i find that she is very rough , so 1 time and no more ... i normally bring my boy to United Square , Aglow . i find there not bad ... nurse are firendly , place are big .. PD is also very firendly ... price wise is around the same as most PD

newmummy: if i'm not wrong, dr jon only charge me for the jab, no consultation. my son has been going there for jabs since day one. so far i'm comfortable with him.

Miin: wah! getting so hi-tech? walkie talkie? its good tat the skool is taking every precaution. poor matty now has no toys to play. they kept all the toys, left only books for them. matty is doing fine. now with a new menu, he's having a good time trying out new food!

White_Lady,
Am giving my gal 2+yo Delrose syrup, Scotts Cord oil and Woodwards. Recently I jus ordered Colostrum Powder thru MH SPREE after reading an article in the newspaper that it is good for tods and currently waiting to be delivered to me.

Hi Ryes,bens,i just went to dr,ck tan this morning.her fees are higher than dr.jonathan chan le..so i thk will go to him.he seems vy nice guy...but if the med is mild is that good or not?acn tk effective or not if too mild?too strong then my boy will get fever more easier lo?

newmummy: u r only going for jabs rite? probably he'll give paracetamol, just in case. think most doc will only prescribe paracetamol / ibuprofen for fever. wat i meant by mild med is for other ailments, like flu, cough, etc. he doesnt like to give too strong med for babies. he'll explain to u his preference not to give strong med.

White_Lady
I did not give any vitamins/supplements to my girl.
PD advises me not to (unless it is really unnecessary).
Objective is to let her build her own immune system.
And one question: Once taken, how long must we let the child consume? And once they stop consuming, would their immune system be affected?
Thank God she remains strong and healthy.

Do make an effort to take note what medications are suitable/effective for your child. It does help if you decide to change to GP visits.

i give my gal kiddi pharmaton multi-vit syrup as recommended by her PD becos she was and still isn't eating well. besides that i give her scotts cod liver oil, childlife fish oil soft gels on alternate days and childlife colostrum powder.

dor,
u still haven't receive your colostrum?

Char,
Suppose to meet-up last wk @ TPY but due to some minor hiccups din manage to, hence I asked Joanne to send my post instd. Chk wif u, how u usually consume the colostrum powder? mix in milk or normal drinking water will do?

mummies...any suggestions for home food catering? planning to get one to cater for lunch daily, pref no msg. Thanks!

Hi white lady

yeah, same here. I also go to aglow already. There more spacious, more breathing space and the nurse very friendly too.

Hi newmummy, how much did Dr tan charge you this morning? As compared to Dr Chan, how much more expensive? I wanna know too, coz I often see Dr Chan clinic so crowded. His clinic is my ex coy doctor, and I only went to him once.

You gotta understand that a child having fever means the body is trying to fight off the virus. It doesnt mean all babies taking jabs will get fever. Like my boy, he finished his 6 in 1 and did not get fever for any. Same goes for my girl. But for pnenomoccal, she had slight fever, so just give paracetamol will do.

My personal take is that for gpS, they normally prescribe mild medication for young kids.

Mild meaning for common flu, cough, sore throat, my kids take longer time to recover.

But for PD, as they are more specialize with newborns and kids, they will know what type of suitable medication to give.

dor,
ic. my hb helped me to collect my order from her sometime late last week. if i know can help u to collect as well. as for colostrum pwdr, i add into my gal's milk, easier that way.

bens,
i order from kim's kitchen. not sure if they have lunch delivery but u can call them up to check. tel: 63424988.

hihi all!

i have popped! and am home finally!
now am at the start of my confinement! yah good food! hahah

hey ryes,actually i hv not let my boy inject yet,i just ask for the fees 1st ma...the dr.jonathan is abt 80++ but dr. CK tan is 120 wo,...quite ex le...thk i better go to dr.jonatahn chan lo...:p

good to hear from u jasmine.. congrats!

CK Tan has pap smear?? i'm looking for a female doc to do it.. do i have to make appt?? anyone has her clinic no?

newmummy, my hubby n i felt that for newborns up to 12 months, u shld go to PD but it's good to find a PD u r comfy with. ive experience with PD who are experienced but not personalised enouf. i din like that. i like PD who i can consult with abt my bb's health n not usher me along as they have long queue.
after 12 months, its fine to switch to GP as the toddler is old enouf for their med. some GPs r not comfy with infants too. as for EJ Tan, he has 4 kids himself.. haha.. n his nurses all have kids. (c the extent how well i know them now).. so they r pretty comfy with kids.

i just feed my kids with ceelin vit c syrup n seven seas multi vit.

jasmine,

miin,
i didn't make an appt when i did a pap smear with her but that was about 3yrs ago. now i do my pap smear at my gynea. dr tan's tel: 62514438. she was very gentle and explained what she was about to do and wat to feel and expect as it was my 1st time doing a pap smear then.

Hi miin,huh?really ah?but PD vy ex and also long Q le..i hope the GP i go this sat wil be the good one..he also got kid..:p
Dr.jonathan chan..i feel quite comfortanble with him...:p

Jasmine,
Congrats!!!

Ben,
I used to ordered fm QiLin tel: 6487 6401 during my 2nd month of confinement. It was also thru recommendation, their prices r quite reasonable and the food not so oily too. Not sure if there is MSG thou.

Miin,
Guess wont be able to meet-up liao coz i had business dinner tonite. Have a safe trip and hope to see you back again soon! Dun forget to keep-in-touch orh.

newmummy,
I agree wif Miin as well. I just changed to GP when my gal reach 8+mths for common cough & flu. Occasionally we still visit her PD @ Raffles for consultation if it's a special case.

HI newmummy

wah, dr chan one is so cheap?? that's a very big diff leh, if is $80 compared to $120. maybe u go dr chan lor, if u prefer and update us how much the charges are.

CK Tan is my family doctor, so I know on wed, fri is Dr quek, not Dr Tan...

Miin, no need to make appointment. but just call beforehand to ask hw much etc.
CK Tan
Blk 125, TPY Lor 1 #01-537
Tel 62514438

Wed/Fri night, PH closed
Mon to Fri
830-1230/2-4/630-830
Sat to Sun
830-1230

hi mummies, my internet conx will be cut off tomorrow.. hopefully will be online again soon.. will try to check the thread often once i'm in jakarta..

take good care & God bless all..

Hi all, I'm back from UK. Have to be socially responsible and "quarantine" for a week, haha! Daughter will not be able to attend school next week, but K2 only, won't die la! Haha! Anyway will see how long I can "quarantine" myself...no TVB movies to watch leh!! And 24/7 (literally) with the two kids!! Think I'm gonna turn mad! Haha! My friend who lives nearby has volunteered to do my marketing for me. Haha!

Anyway, Jasmine, cograts! You're "quarantined" too, one month! Haha!

And Miin, have a good journey back to Jakarta and keep in touch.

I do give my kids cod liver oil (Nordic) and multi-vit (Animal Parade) once every two days, or if they're down with a cold then everyday. Agree with Precious, it is important to get as much nutrients naturally rather than thru supplements and let the body build up its own defence system. But I guess for the weaker ones, it's good to get a boost first before letting the body take its own accord.

hello all, im 4 mths now, am going to start using stretch mark cream. Have you ladies use any stretch mark cream that is good?? Effective??

Jfoo
Welcome back!
Remember to post pics to share with us mummies.

Ivy
Mustela is still the best. It is good to start to apply it as soon as possible.
Would you be expecting a prince or a princess?

Will try to post some pics here to share. Now trying to overcome jetlag. Last night tried very very hard to sleep and even though I was physically tired, I couldn't knock off until 4am. Sigh...and for once I managed to sleep till 10am! A lie-in!! Wow! haha! Kids are trying to get over this jet-lag too. My son knocked off at 8pm thinking it was nap time! So he woke up at 10pm. Anyway hopefully tonight will be better.

We had quite a trip coming back. BA had to cancel our flight due to technical failure. The first failure was fixed in 5 hours whilst all passengers were onboard! Not a pleasant thing cos it was getting really hot and stuffy inside. Luckily my son was sound asleep otherwise he'd be joining in with the symphony of cries from all the young ones. After the technicians fixed the problem, the plane was on the runway, ready for take off. But a few seconds later the captain made an emergency stop and the plane screeched to a halt. Scary! He announced that a second fault was detected so again, technicians came by to fix it. After about half an hour, captain announced that flight had to be cancelled. BA ground staff was to organise accomodation for passengers but when we finally got off the plane, we found out that not enough rooms were available so only transit passengers get priority, others find own accomodation. Of course people were irritated and driven up the wall. Luckily my parents don't live too far from the airport so we took a cab and went home, and all this was at 3am. The flight finally took off on Thu evening (suppose to be Wed night). What an experience, not one I'd want repeated though. BUT something did come out of all this, I visited terminal 5 (the latest addition) at Heathrow airport. haha!

hey mummies~!my son who just 3months plus didnt pass motion for continuesly 2 days le...is it normal?perviously he pass motion every day one le..i scare he stomache le as he cry wo...and keep on fart le..any opinion?

I've heard of babies who don't pass motion for an entire week. Mine have gone a couple of days without passing motion. Are you breastfeeding or is he on formula? From what you say, ie the farting, sounds like he has wind? Try massaging the stomach area gently, with "ru yi" oil if you wish. Hopefully that'll ease the stomach and clear some wind. Is his appetite affected? Can also give some water, or even diluted apple or prune juice, but only a few drops, not too much cos he's only 3 months+. If this continues to bother, probably have to consult PD or GP.

<font color="0000ff">thanks for all the congrats! hahah am enjoying all the charcoal fire cooked food</font>

mewmummy

i wont worry too much if baby is tbf, as my #1 had this problem too! heheh got so worried that i brought to pd after a week that time! then was told by pd that its normal for tbf babies to not poo for a few days.... there was even a case that baby did not poo for 22days!

Precious, just did my 16th week scan, my gynae say 90% shld be princess heehee, am so happy. Precious when ur edd?? Mine 12/12

dolphingal

yaps it was super fast! like over in less then 4hrs!

j foo

heheh yap think so....

precious

how are you and baby? remember that your edd is in the same month as me... but now that am early... wondering how you are doing....

Jasmine/Ivy
My edd is 4 Aug, and tummy is getting heavier and heavier.
Just celebrated my daughter's 3rd bd celebration this afternoon.
Though I felt exhausted, it is worth especially knowing that she had a great fun!

Jasmine
How is your elder son reacts to his little brother?
Did you get a CL/helper to assist you?

jfoo,
welcomeback. wat an ordeal! thank goodness all of u are back in one piece.

ivy,
i bought palmer's cocoa butter cream when i was about 4mths pregnant but i didn't apply regularly cos that time i didn't have stretch marks yet and thinking that i'd be one of those lucky few who wouldn't get any, i skipped using any at all. it was only until i was about 7-8mths pregnant when the stretch marks appeared that i "kicked myself" for thinking that i'd be lucky and not applying the cream sooner as prevention. and oh, congrats on expecting a little princess.....shopping time liao!!

jasmine,
lucky u to have confinement food cooked over charcoal stove!!

precious,
happy belated bday to your sha. u still look very slim leh when met u that day. who knows your little prince may stay in a few days later and pop out on national day.

J_foo,
Glad u r back safely. Flight cancelled might not be a bad thing afterall could be a blessing. Enjoy your TVB series during your self volunteered 'quarantine' peroid and look forward to those beautiful pix u took fm ur trip.

Precious,
Happy Belated Birthday Wishes to Sha! Where did u celebrated her BD? I believe she enjoys any activities you organise for her since you r good at it.

Ivy,
Congrats for having a princess. I din buy any special cream for stretch mark as they r all the same to me. I have been using NIVEA cream all these while and I continue using but apply more portion on my tummy during my preg.

Newmummy,
Usually this symptom is quite common among bbs some even pass out blood (coz its too hard). It could be due to formula milk (if u r not breast feeding) u may try to dilute the FM before giving to ur bb. Alternaively, call your PD or talk to the nurses for advise to ease your worries. If need to they will ask u to bring your bb for a check.

Miin,
Hope you had already settled down by now. How r your children adjusting to the changes or perhaps they r still too young too know and thot they r jus having another holiday heehee! Did u manage to go back to the previous school to teach again?

hi mummies ,

my son having running nose , what is the faster way to cure ? haha ... prevent him from sleeping in aircon room help ?

white_lady,
Mine cant call a faster remedy but usually is better not to sleep in air-con room as it might develop block nose that result to difficult in breathing. Try rubbing vicks onto his feet after a warm bath and wear a pair of socks b4 going to sleep. Other then that suck out the mucus as often as possible it helps.
Hope your boy will have a fast recovery.