TOA PAYOH mummies

babe,
saw your blog, your boy is cute and your gal is very pretty.

when i was staying at lor 1, i used to see dr CK tan when i'm sick and my hb likes to chit chat with her when he visits her too, very soft spoken lady and friendly.

Dor & Miin
Apologies that I can't join this Thur. Have fun!

<font color="ff6000">Venue: SOL turf club</font>
Date: 18 Jun, Thursday
Time: 5pm

1) Miin &amp; Aleesha
2) Dor &amp; Chloe
5)

Newmummy08
I also brought my daughter to polyclinic for jabs, since it is walking distance and they do give priority to babies/kids.
For other jabs like pneumococcal, I brought her to the PD located at Uppper Thomson.
Now that she is much older, at age 3, I bring her to the GP at Tpy Raffles Medical instead.

Dor, there's a shuttle at tpy? I didn't know that! Heehee...btw, is 5pm too late? +

Char, thks for the compliments..

Has jasmine given birth? Don't see her around..

Babe,
Yeap, is at Bus no. 231 bay. If u wish to move it earlier we can accommodate just let us know again. Btw, Miin &amp; I are considering somewhere nearby if u dun mind. Any suggestions?

Any TPY mummies wanna sell your huggies barcode to me?

I wanna redeem the toys for my girl leh..
Participating pdts are huggies pull up, huggies ultra

Dor and Min, don't mind meeting up earlier as I have to pick my gal from school at 5. Near tpy even better. Erm..but child friendly place nearby don't seem to have any.

babe

hahah.... still waiting.... :p
this round baby not so eager to pop leh.... but then again edd is on 3rd jul,.....

hahah not online coz this 4 days router at home broke down just managed to get it up and working!!!!!

sorry dor n i decided not to meet today... another time la..

these 3 days at home wz my gal.. she really grabbing the opportunity.. either bao bao or neng neng or throw tantrum, cry all the time but so fake..hahaha

Miin,
No worries. Babe &amp; Pooh called me up yesterday to chk if the gathering was still on and tld them its canceled.
Hope your preparation for the stuffs to balik kampong is '7788' liao and now waiting for the day to arrive. btw, I shld be free next week on Monday and Wednesday can arrange the meet-up again.

hellow fellow mummies, for infant, what is the better brand of diapers to use? cos i heard infant need to change often, i looking to find a not so ex but good one haha.

ivy,
i find petpet pretty good for my gal and have been using it for overnight for about 2yrs. so far it seldom leak cos she doesnt drink so much water anyway &amp; the cost is pretty reasonable. and she hasn't had diaper rash using it. but all depends on individual child on how sensitive or not their skin is to various brands.

HI Pooh

no lah, just tot want to gather gather shichida parents here, coz my girl is currently enrolled there. Maybe can exchange tips or whatever to share lor.

Hi Ivy, to prevent diaper rash, it is good to get tubes of desitin creamy, the blue colour one. There are many sprees in the forum and you can get one at about $10+. Each time change diapers, wash under running tap, dry and apply the cream.

For diapers, I swear by Mamy poko for night use and day can use petpet like char. For newborn, especially the 1st 2 month, I think it is important to invest in mamy poko newborn lah, coz they have this small cutting on the diapers infront to prevent the material from rubbing against the umbilical cord before it drops off.

Made the mistake to use huggies ultra new born for my boy and each time the diaper rub agst the cord when he lifts his legs or when we hold him, he cries lor. I think pain. And 1 day after I buy the mamy poko newborn, his cord drop liao..haiz..made him suffer that few days in pain.

dor, ctc u again.. maybe just meet at ytf at blk 116 la..

mummies, mango sale is on.. picked up 2 pants yesterday.. just 5pm but crowded there already.. rushing so cant try on other stuff.

hi miin,
i saw the mango sale too but was with my boy.. cant join in the loooong queue...so scary...

Ivy,
when u discharge frm hospital, u will get a goodie bag..inside gt a few brands of diaper then u can try..even got mammy poko.. so no need to invest on any yet.. try &amp; u will find out which one is good.
i used petpet on my boy when he was newborn..then switch to fitti..and he is using it till now.. really good.. no leak so far and becoz the back is quite high so never leak even when he pooed.but huggies ultra leaked..haiz.
well..ryes &amp; char said..it all depends on individual bb skin..

ivy, usually for newborn diapers, it'll last a couple of weeks then u can switch to S size. try around n see which suits your baby (ie no baby rash) and your budget of cos.. they run out so fast.. :p

headache with all the packing.. haiz.. can imagine the unpacking later..

a mummy was asking abt jab in polyclinic. i did mine at toa payoh polyclinic all the time. the trick is to call for appt n get either the first appt ard 8.20 am or last appt ard 4+.. try to avoid sat mornings cos that's where the crowd is.

Hey dolphingal,

Fitti sucks for my case! So many times my girl poo poo, u know lah newborn poo many times and I gena bombed on my pants and my fingers...Cant wait to finish using it and then switched to mamy poko that time...

Ivy, before you deliver, say 2 weeks before, must stock up about 1 big pack of newborn at least. Then if need, then ask hb go and buy somemore if it is good

Ivy,

I used Pampers brand. Initially Raffles Hopsi gave free pack for new born and I continue using till my gal reach 1 yo then I changed to MummyPoko so far so good. I'd tried Drypers, Huggies and Fitti but find Pampers touch and feel plus durability is better. It’s costly but advisable to invest on a good brand specially for new born as their skin tense to be sensitive.

Miin,
Wait for ur call then.

Ivy,
I used Nepia (Japan brand) for night. It has got wetness indicator at reasonable price (slightly cheaper than mamy poko and pamplers). $15 / pack and 4 packs will get free delivery (canmix the size). Or sometimes NTUC got offer- 2 pack for $29.

Little Nero Tree (LNT) now is having a 10% off the Term fee (S$600) pay via NETS. Good deal as I saved to about S$60.

Hello Mummies, you girls are like mummies to me, thanks for all the info!

Seems like Petpet is popular choice for newborn, 2nd then switch to Mamy poko. Will go check out price on that and also compare with the other brand like nepia, pampers &amp; huggies.

Thanks all!

Ling,
I won't use the word 'Enjoy' but rather she learn fm there such as identify objects sequence, improve motor skill etc. Her all time favorite is when the tr starts to play music and sing song hahaha!

Those days wif GUG, she enjoyed the activities pretty much as the curriculum is very much diff from LNT.

Hi!Thx for all mummies that reply2me!well,i thk the one located at TPY ctr,blk177,the dr.name is dr.heng siok kheng le..is that this one?i didnt know near Mcdonald there got child clinic le?or is the normal clinic?do there provide the japs?my hse downstair got one family clinic,but claimed that nd to order the japs,coz they don usually do it for kids.so i was thk is that safe for my bb to japs there??polyclinic,i thk only got time go on sat,as mon-fri nd work le..how long the waiting tm?baby got priority bt if wait2long,my son sure no patient and will cry loud loud!

Hi newmummy

I brought my girl to the children clinic that you mention before, Dr Heng. Her charges are slightly more expensive as compared to the PD that my kids are seeing right now.

I stopped bring my kids to Dr Heng, coz she will always ask to come back to her for follow up say after 2 days, and that means you have to pay again. I once saw this lady who brought her kid for jabs and had to pay $300+ in the end coz the nurse recommended her to buy this and that vitamins etc etc.

I always turn the nurse down each time she recommend me to get this and that. After 2 experience, I switched to Aglow at United Square. No complains, I love that PD, his charges for 1st consultation is $70, subsequent is $50 and total bill can be less than KK children clinic $80.

newmummy08,
If I am correct the McDonald mentioned is at tpy lor. 1, Dr. Tan EJ clinic. My personal view, it is advisable to tk bb jabs fm recommended clinics.

i find Dr tan EJ medication more effective. CK tan.. i always dun get cured and got to see Dr Tan EJ again, so pay double. SO now i go straight to Dr Tan EJ although further from central.

don't forget Ang Mo diaper price is good(44pc medium for $14.95). i get my mamy poko there when ntuc is not having discount.. ntuc now have discount $20+ for the large size pack of all size from S to XL. enfagrow also having sale now.

Hey,thx for the info~!well,i went to family clinic just at my down stair.The dr is vy ncie,but i don know how good is he for japs for kid lo..he said actually bb injection all is the same,he mean the medicine to use.he said if go to poly,some more is free,and is the same too!but,no obligation la,depends parent decision lo.so,i was thk to go there lo,but seems that u gals said mcdonald there the dr.tan ej is good,i may go ask.my downstairs one dr only charge 85 for 5in1,without charge me consultation le!so is the dr.tan ej is only c baby patient or just normal family clinic also?oh ya,do u gals let ur bb tk med b4 japs?coz normally bb will fever rite?my mum ask me buy pearl powder for my bb boy tk b4 inject le...any opinion?
BHY the way,any idea petpet diapers good?i saw it only sell 12.95 le for M size.my bb now is 3 months le..

Hi newmummy

I'm not for Pet Pet cos I find that it irritates my little boy's skin. Normally get Nepia or Mamy Poko (he only uses diapers at night as he's almost fully potty trained, and he used cloth diapers before that).

Before jab, give him plenty of water. Not necessary to give paracetomol in my opinion. Whether there's a risk of fever depends on the nature of the jab. Some have a tendency to cause fever and others don't. Ask the doc/PD whether the jab has a high tendency to cause fever.

ryes,
i still bring my gal to dr heng cos my gal's condition is quite sensitive and she knows my gal's condition since NB. agree that she always ask to go for follow ups whc i used to go but lately as long as my gal is getting better to me then i dun go for folo ups. actually her clinic asst so far has not encouraged me to keep buying things leh, instead there were some things that she discouraged me from buying. haha.

newmummy08,
family clinic downstairs....r u stying at blk 79 too? if so, i've been to that clinic b4 and his medicine doesnt work for me, gave me very mild antibiotics whc took about 3-4days to work and the rest of the medicine like panadol, lozenges he gave are for 3days supply nia. usually other GPs i go to give more than that. i wont go back there again.

re: ang mo minimart, their prices for FM are also pretty good but duno about nowadays since prices for some brands have gone up lately.

ivy,

agree wif u, Dr. CK Tan's med is quite mild wherease Dr. EJ Tan is stronger and more expensive hee!

newmummy08,
the difference for bb jabs in clinics are the price and skill of the GP. Some GPs r so good that when bbs having their jab they dun feel much pain.

newmummy, not all GPs do jab for babies. do check b4hand. Dr tan dun have certain jabs or need to order.. call b4 u go.. i did some jabs on sat morning. i make sure i go super early so i'm the first in line. which means i arrive ard 8am.

sorry dor, din managed to call u again.. yest had to feed the kids after their shower cos both were already sleepy. :p

HI Mummies~!Thx for the adv..me actually staying near blk 125,Lor 1 TPY.The dr name is Dr. Ronald Chan.He vy nice!so..i still vy confuse wer to go for the japs for my boy..

Hi newmummy

You can try Dr CK Tan for jabs, at Blk 125, TPY lorong 1. CLinic name is CK TAN,(right dor?)

Some jabs she have to order in advance, like pneumoccocal or chickenpox etc. The general 6 in 1, she has stock. The doctor is a female doctor, but on Wed, Fri, there is another relief doctor.

Hi Char,

Well, if Dr Heng knows your girls' condition since NB, then is good that your girl sticks to her.

But for me personally, I wont be visiting her anymore, UNLESS bo bian. Her charges arent cheap for just common flu and cough and the time spent inside her room is less than 5 mins only. Tsk tsk..

Ryes &amp; Newmummy08,
Yes, my gal went to her for her 5-1 jab, as for pneumoccocal i brout her to Bishan Dr. Rebecca (forgot her surname liao) as it is an impromptu thingy. She's suppose to be quite famous for children consultation.

Hey..thx fo the info all mummies~!Well...thk tat is only the diff rite?well...thk i may bringhim to dr.EJ Tan to see,seems u gals had the experience b4...but does he chk bb body as well?or only japs??got consultation fees charge?

HI newmummy

There are 2 clinics at the same blk. The one at the corner is jonathan something. I went to him once only for myself.

CK Tan is the one further up, the other extreme end. That one is female dr

Just to add, both my kids go to Dr Tan for jabs. She will change the needle to the shorter, finer needle and very fast one. She very patient and nice, try her out.

If after once, you dont like her,then try another clinic

i send my son to dr jonathan chan at blk 125 for jabs...he's our family doc. So far, ok. Friendly doc and he also change the needles. But call in advance if they hv the jabs in stock. His medication a bit mild, cos i find he's very cautious and tend not to give strong med.

ryes, i totally agree with u.. i oni buy the flu med from dr heng.. not c her.. too exp for me..

dor, leaving this sat.. aleesha is due for her 18mth jab but she's coughing n starting flu. hope can recover by fri. haiz..

be@ns, hows matty. went to myfirstskool today. getting strict abt parents entering the premises now. even get the kids out using walkie talkie. seems the hfmd is worrying them.
went there to collect my deposit but they got my name wrong. haiz. i told them not to deduct last month fee from my deposit but they still deducted. really jialak.