TOA PAYOH mummies

Dor, u r rite.. its the hotel attached to T3.. very dim place but food is good with haagen daaz ice cream.. Hi tea from 12 or 12.30 to 4.30pm.

mummies, I'm letting go of some stuff.. if u r interested, let me koe..
nappyliner/foam mat/milk bottle
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/2467936.html
bike with learning wheels
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/2423304.html?1242616025
NTUC diapers/pull up pants
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/2444978.html?1242093955

babe,
i'm not sure appletree is good or not and have not gone to see the plc yet. also not sure wat is the starting age that can attend. will check when i call them up.

ling,
my gal is born in 2007 so whc means i've to register her at lor 5,thnx for the info.

dor,
thnx for the advice. i'll see if the registration at lor 5 is still open or not else will register her at appletree.

precious, the booster car seat is almst same as what my C is using.but mine comes with 2 holding cups which is quite useful...brand is graco. cost $169 if i remember correctly

2468227.jpg

u can remove the backing if u prefer jst the seat

Events in May:

Conference & Exh: National Children Education
More Info URL : www.nationalchildeducation.com
Date: 21-23 May 2009
Time (First Day) : 8.00am - 6.00pm
Time (Other Day) : 8.00am - 6.00pm
Time (Last Day) : 10.00am - 8.15pm

Exhibition: AQUARAMA 2009
Description : International ornamental fish & accessories exhibition.
Date: 30 May, 1pm to 8pm (Public Days)/31 May, 10am to 7pm (Public Days)
Admission Fee: S$8.00 per entry, Free Admission for children under 12 years
More Info URL : www.aquarama.com.sg

Pooh
Thanks, I will be getting 50% discount from kidzloft as they have 50% disc for 1st birthday of the mth. I'm asking my friend, as her son's 1st bd happens to be this mth.

Dor
You may refer to the website posted earlier.
Self collection is at Sengkang.

Miin
Hee hee, just spent more than $60 for books from Popular. Thank God got 20% discount voucher.

precious, y dun u wait till the expo sale? shld have more disc..

ya i spent $90+ before disc during the closed door sale.. luckily got 25% disc.. save $20+.. hehe

Hi Pooh

I have the same Graco car seats for my 2 gals.. they have been using them since they were around 2yrs old yr. I only removed them last year when they are tall enough to buckle up the seatbelt themselves. I must say the Graco one are very sturdy and value for $$.

Miin
To Expo or Bras Basah is too far. My cab fare will kill me...hee hee! Once I took a cab from BBS to TPY during peak hours, costed me more than $17 for that single trip.

Precious, 50% is gd deal! that Graco is serving me well. my elder gal was using for abt 2 yrs plus den now my no2 takes over while i bght a mothercare booster seat without the backing type for my elder gal

Wow, u went book shopping..

Pooh
You may consider to get "Learning Maths Through Stories" with interesting and colourful stories n pics.
It consists of 8 titles, selling $4.50 each b4 discount at Popular.

Chinese Books by Novum from Popular.. quite interesting too! @ $5.90 each b4 discount.
There are 6 titles, which are:
我不要睡觉
我要我的牙齿
我要吃零食
我不是脏小孩
我的宝贝
我从哪里来

precious, mst go popular shopping wif u next time without my elder gal. whenever i bring her to popular, i got no chance to browse/ shop for books coz she will stand at her fav corner and read her fav books and i cant go too far from her

Hi mummies, can you share with me some tips to make 2yo to sit down to read some books? I have prob with my boys, they can't concentrate for more than a 30s.

Janice
How about making some paper puppets/characters?
Depending on the stories you are reading.
Ask him to describe the pics of the books, get him to point etc, make him feel curious about it.
Or read books on his favourite cartoon character?
When she was about 2yrs, I focused books on good behaviour, farm animals, more of pic story books.

Pooh
Sure, no problem!

Dear all ,

i dont know what happen to my son , my house got no mosqito , but yesterday morning when he wake up , his hand got 1 look like mos bite , and leg also have 1 , but is swollen type ... i wonder is it bed bug ? but we clean our home offen , wnd if its bed bug , why we dont have , only he have , anyone any ideas ??

Janice,
Spend about 10-15mins for story time and slowly increase. You can either do it in the day time or night b4 they tugged-in. You may try acting out the story and add some color to your tone when reading to them make it sounds interesting and exciting. Also find some song related story books whereby u can read and sing to them at the same time. Dont expect to see the fruits of your labour so soon, tk it slow and steady overall be patient your hard work will not be wasted.

White-Lady,
It cld be moz, bed bug or any little insects you wont noe. By cleaning your hse regularly doesnt mean the bed bug can be get rid off. Jus wonder y r u so sure that your hse has no moz coz i find it hard to control or prevent as these little thing can fly-in fm your neighbour's hse or o/side especially when the weather is hot and humid. For me whenever i see one or got bitten, i'll turn-on air-con at nite for few days, otherwise i'll apply insect repellent on my gal and myself and turn-on the insect repellent garget b4 sleeping.

janice,
yeah, like wat other mummies said, get those books with colourful pics and just create a story by wat the pics depict. or use different tones for different characters. those with too many words can be boring, my gal who is 2yo till now cant sit thru those books with a lot of words.

white lady,
agree with dor, u never know when your house may have insects flying around. even outside, i duno y but my gal is more prone to getting insect bites than us.

Hi White Lady
Same thing happened to my girl. Somehow she was the only one bitten even though her grandma and me were sleeping on either side of her.

If like my girl, your boy's marks have little vesicles, then do make sure that he doesn't rub and break the vesicle. The liquid may be contagious. My girl rubbed her bitten nose with her right hand and a few hours later, we noticed that that hand hand also started sprouting the same "swollen" marks. Doctor just said some kind of bug but obviously couldn't tell which. Just gave some antibiotic rash cream to apply. [The rash cream apparently can be quite drying on the skin - so doc said can apply moisturiser (esp the vit e type if you have) about one or 2 hours after to help the skin heal.]

very ke lian to see the little one with bite marks....

hey precious

just called baby ave..they are selling same price as outside for members leh. $160.

sigh..anyone see good offer, let me know k

hi all , thank ... bought him to the doc , doc say is something that fly !!! anything that fly bite one , not bedbug ... very kelian .. so swollen on the hand n leg ... hai .... hope he is ok soon ...

White_lady,
kasian leh...my gal also kena bitten and was so swollen furthermore she has sensetive skin. She took abt 5 days to a wk to recover.

Precious

I have a tin of Isomil soy formula. Would you like to have it? I bought it last week for my kid, thinking of switching him to soy milk for awhile as he has phelgm but alas, he din like it. Even if I put a quarter spoon of the soy milk with formula milk, he din take the milk. SO I thought I better give away the milk since I only use 5 scoops. It's a waste to throw away the milk powder. You can email me if you like to have it. My email add is [email protected]

To the mommies, if you have yet to register your kid with any kindergarten, TP Methodist Church Kindergarten is open for registration next week.

white_lady, my doc recommend this cream Gentrisol (forget the spelling).. it's very effective for bites, bateria, etc.. just a small dose will do.. my gal get bitten and become swollen too.. doc says it's bcos she has ezecema so her skin is more sensitive wor..

M&M, this morning i was at sgh pharmacy.. fyi, they are offering 20% disc on manuka honey. the sales was telling me there are different type Active 5% to 15%max.. higher purer but these cant be given to kids below 4yo.. not sure abt the normal ones tho..

hi all ... apply the cream on him , but still VERY swollen ! is it normal ? like Dor say , need a week to recover ? i stop him from going school liao ... so ke lian to see him like that

for my gal, a small bite will become swollen like 20cents coin then turn dark colour.. the dark colour take a few weeks to fade..

philips having carnival sale.
2474854.jpg

Hi Miin, may I know where can I buy the cream. My boy has very sensitive skin too. Last month, his mossie bite is so bad that it became skin infections and needs oral antibiotics.

Hi mummies who are giving manuka honey, do you give the honey when the child is having cough and running nose. Or its best to give after the symptons are gone?

aiyor talking abt cordless phone, my hb and me give-up on them...life span is short bout a few some r branded ones still the same....sigh! Ended up geting the conventional ones instead. hee!

WHAT??? there's a carnival sale this weekend? i tot they normally have sale in sept?

Avent got discount bo? I think I'm gg too.

Dor ...

Ya , i spent 100+++ to get 1 , not very ex lah , but also not those cheapo brand , really very lousy , hai ~ .... wonder why leh ... last time one can last for years ... but hor , no cordless phone , very mafan leh ... hai ~

oh.. talking abt Cordless phone dor. i got the philips one 5 yrs back now died already.

white_lady,
i got a set of 2 cordless phone at quite gd deal at giant!! but brand is shino.. so far so gd!! cost me <$60.> $100. so i place one in my bedroom &amp; one is my living room.. hehehe.. but the sad thing is no speaker!!haiz..

hi Gal ,

i also want to find something below $80 if can , so go philips see look see look , if have then buy , if dont have , maybe will try the brand you mention ! haha .. but the battery lasting ?

btw, the malfunction of cordless phone cld also due to battery problem. u may wanna change new ones and try out b4 discard. As for me we tried liao still tak boleh sigh!

janice, got mine at EJ Clinic braddell mrt blk 111 (if i din get the blk wrong).. just called the clinic, it's a prescibed cream so need to c doc first. It's $7 per tube. my mil used it for heat rash n she says its very good.

for philips sale, u can refer to their website..
http://www.philips.com.sg/
i koe courts tpy also have disc on phones.

mummies ,

any one kids in toa payoh methodist church kindergarten ? or Jessin Nursery classes ?

i m still sourcing for kindergarten although i have pay a register fee for ascension ...

White_lady,
FYI, Jessin dun provide snacks and TPY Methodist Church is not recommended according to my gal fren as she ever put her son there b4 and she said her son dun really learn things from there. However, u may wanna go there personally to chk it out.

Dor , my son is not attending Jessin playgroup . I feel that they teach nothing , or am i kaisu , cos playgroup is ment for "Playing" ?
for TPY Methodist Church , ya , i heard that not very good too ... for ascension , i feel that is abit out of way ... and am not confortable for my son taking school bus leh ... so thinking of finding a school in TPY ... am interested in little skool house , but currently full ... hai ~ headache ....

So would like to check with mummies with kids in jessin for their nursery class at blk 85 whether is it good ...

Or which PCF is good in toa payoh ? prefer english base one ... have bo ? haha

Miin, where was popular close door sale?

So anyone going for the expo sale? When is it again? I've got the magazine but where is the 20% discount voucher?

Precious, do u buy alot of books for your kids? Sounds like you know alot of good books. Can share also how you play with your kid? I'm abit at a loss now that my little one sleeps from 11ish -1+ pm for nap and thereafter will be awake. Long wake hours and I dunno wat to do with him. Feel bored myself.

<font size="+2">MUMMIES</font>
Tampines Central has more than 14 KIDDY RIDES &amp; GAMES. Last day is this coming Sunday, open 5pm onwards.

Dor
Philips cordless phones are good!

White_Lady
Might be going down, hb wants to get another home sound system. Heard negative feedback about TPY Methodist Church, teachers turn over rate is very high. You can start to register him at PCF if you are still keen.

Cream
I have been letting my girl using this Aloe Vera Cream, and it is great (I put it in the fridge)!
Their lip moisturer is good too, as well as Honey Nut Body Butter.
http://www.naturenu.sg/manuka-honey-n-aloe-vera-gel.html

Article on what's so special about Manuka Honey?
http://www.naturenu.sg/manuka-honey/

Babe
How about educational board games? There are some nice board games from www.learningresources.com