TOA PAYOH mummies

precious
There's no bus transport and the school is not air conditioned.

janice
It's at TPY Central beside blk 191 above the NTUC Fairprice.

ivy
You are right about the fees for infant. It's so much more expensive than toddler (18 months onwards). And it's always full even for the toddler, i waited 3 months for the slot. Like what Miin mention, the class is big in firstskool.

Miin
I got the nebuliser some years back at $400 plus (i think so). Any mummy need to borrow just let me know, can pass to you at TPY, you just need to buy a mask for hygiene purpose. But both my sons using it now because of their cough and phelgm again.

Website for Shaws www.shaws.com.sg

My sister-in-law sends her boys to Berries (the one near Thomson Plaza) and she's very happy with them.

Another sis-in-law sends her boy to Story Island (Eduplus). She herself is an ex-chinese teacher (sec school) and she sends her son there cos she believes at K1 K2 stages, learning through a more interactive and less "studious" way works better. Berries more "classroom" style.

eh, the sept 21 hor, take what bus in? dolphingal can advice?

hi pooh, my girl is now 2 yrs old, seems like they only have program when kid is n1..is the course expensive?

i tot of sending my baby to further like safra or tpy north which is near braddell mrt, more space, just walk a bit further.

i heard safra kinderland also not bad.

jfoo
my elder gal is at that branch too.
I guess it really depends on the child sometimes. My gal started at Tien hsia but progress is slow and large ratio thou her teacher is very gd and popular. the moment i switch her to berries, she give me lots of surprises. i like the environment and the way they teach in a 'fun' manner esp they introduce 'chen yu'. My gal thou doesnt like to speak mandarin much, able to tell me and use the 'chen yu' in daily life.

If the kid enjoys and learning at the same time, i think worth it ya.

Ryes, Berries program min. is 3 yrs old. u still have one more yr to 'shop' around

Miin
Sembawang is too far. I normally bring her to Vivocity/Bot Gardens/Sentosa for waterplay.
IMM is always crowded. Btw, you can give it a try at Science Park too!

j foo, can I ask what bus goes to shaw? Wanted to go have a look too...

Precious, you send your gal to brightstart for playgroup? Muz learn from you how to play with them and cope with chores. so used to working and pp taking care of kids. Sure to arrange for playgroup some time soon ya!

Miin and Ling, thanks for the info...

Btw, mummies who enrolled their little ones for the 'kids run' on 24 May, this weekend is the kit collection at united square 11am-8pm remember to bring the confirmation slip along. Those who's interested can enroll on-site as well.

Babe,
Shaw is not easily access unless u drive or your child is taking sch transport coz during rainy or hot weather, it cld be quite inconvenient.

Hi Babe,
Yes Shaw was very inconvenient and its a long walk from the bus stop. On the long walk, you may even encounter some big dogs which my girl was so afraid of. We visited Shaw 2 yrs back, the curriculum is ok, and I like their playground. However, I find the place rather dim.

is Sept21 open on weekends? pooh, when r u thinking of going? cant make it weekdays lei cos i'm working. .

precious, isn't sentosa further?? hehe.. sometimes we go to woodlands to eat so not exactly that far. abt 25 mins train ride plus it's opp dir to town so it's not as crowded.
i do go to vivo at times too.. havent try IMM

is there berries in tpy?

janice, not sure if this helps. my 2 cents worth.. I recall i used to use reward system to 'control' my kids when I'm teaching. Award either points or stickers whenever they do sthg well (e.g. finish a book, ans correctly or help wz packing) or deduct points when they r naughty. usually there's a time period, maybe 1 or 2 months.. if they reach a certain number, they get a surprise or reward.
since u have 2, they may wanna have a healthy competition as to who has the highest points. however i'm not sure what's their age therefore they may not understand if they are too young. :p

Janice,
My neighbour put her gal at the nursery at kiddyabc at block 92. Neutral comments form her. She said her kid din seem to learn a lot but could also be the kid herself who is not too interested in learning.

btw, popular @ tampines mall is having a 25% disc.. if any mummies wanna get sthg, let me know cos my ofc is in tampines.. can pop by during lunchtime to get it.

ling, actually no. i'm not putting my gal @cambridge. in fact, my hb n i are relocating to jkt in june. he's an indonesian. we're back in sg for last 2 yrs cos he was taking a course here. now his course has ended n job market is bleak, we're moving back to jkt. have more help there with the kids.

I'd visited the Kindy @ Hokkien HuayGuan the trs. hv been teaching there for as long as 7-8yrs turn over is quite low, however they jus changed the Principal thou. What i noe and undstd fm the previous P and parents that send their children there, the trs. r dedicated and the Chinese standard is good.
Their Pre-Nusery is relatively new however, nt much of activities and space constrain, hence my hb and me decided to enroll our gal in Acension instd althou this kindy is near where we stay.

Hi Ling, hmm .. i called them, they say the kids at this age will just play and socialised. They are too young to learn things like phonics and etc. Is this the same for other neighbourhood playgroups?

Hi White_lady, I'm paying my Indon maid at $360 per month

anyone put their child at PCF blk 45? like to register my girl for the PreN class for next year. Just took the registration form, they have phases for the registration. For those stay nearby is for Phase2, register day is on 16May09 8am to 12pm.

White lady: I am paying my maid $340 but now I hear those ex maid just start work here can get $400 and above... wondering should i increase my maid anot..

Janice,
From what I understand, phonics are introduced at age of 4 in schools. A lot of the enrichment classes also starts phonic classes for 4 years / older. i supose most "neighbourhood" schools dont have very extensive curriculum for nursery and K1 class.

Janice,
Yeap, oredi reg her in the a.m. session. Tat means Ryes' gal and ur boys will be at the same session ;> Probably we'll meet each other during the orientation in Aug or Nov i think.

Btw, am not quite agree wif wat the trs. say abt "the kids at this age will just play and socialised", true they learn thru play but however certain things can be tot as well e.g. phonics, my gal started wif GUG at the age of 10mths and she is able to master her A-Z phonics quite well (dun get me wrong that am bragging) wat am trying to point out is tat young tods can start learning too if they r constainly expose to proper edu materials.

Hi babe, two buses from TPY goes there - 155 and 28. The bus stop is just outside Lynwood Grove and it's a 5 mins or so walk in.

Dor, I'm probably going to collect the goodie bag on Sat morning. You want me to collect for you (if that's allowed) or go together?

Janice, I find leapfrog works well but not sure whether they come out with CDs. My daughter used Ants on the Apple and she enjoyed that very much (not sure whether it' called Ants on the Apple though...haha!)

Hi Dor, so good to be in the am class. I'm still queuing for the morning class. How do u plan to send the child to school?
Actually agree with you, the boys are in GUG too. Trying to cut cost now, so hunting around. So far, still prefer GUG's curriculum.

Hi j foo, Ants on Apple in music cd form or Video DVD. I'm now trying very hard to restrict the monkeys from TV. Where can I buy the Ants on Apple?

J_foo,
Will prob collect in the late morning coz aftnn nd to go elsewhere and evening dine wif my folks hee! (celebrate Mother's day) Is the timing ok wif u or u prefer to go in the early part of the morning.

Janice,
Tell u frankly, a.m. session also got headache, means we (my gal and i) gotta tuck-in early...and i gotta get-up like 6.30am to prepare her for sch (will be Mdm Panda very soon).
Morning, hb will ferry her to sch and fil will pick her up and send her to nanny's plc (am werking). We dun quite like the idea of putting her on sch transport at this age perhaps when she's older or until my fil says he 'tak boleh tahan' continue to fetch her hahaha!
Btw, if yr boys r enjoying GUG do continue till u think they can graduate or tired of it liao. U noe lah is not easy to find stg tat interest them. My gal graduated liao hahaha so call lah, coz i can tell she's gtg bored in class, started to wonder ard at the 2nd haf of the lesson.

janice, u can get the Ants on apple set (book and CD ) from the shop at suntec my playground near toy r Rus. BTW, u didnt get the set from GUG? the sch is selling the set wif flashcards if i remember correctly.

another gd phonics programme is Letterland. I had the CD and play them when we are in the car...comes with books too

Babe
My girl attended Brightstart playgroup when she was from 18mths-30mths. Currently she is with PCF (now she is coming to 35mths old).

<font color="ff6000">Slumdog Millionairie </font>
Finally managed to watch this movie.
My girl watched together with us too!
I was impressed about how smart the boys were, managed to find sources to survive by themselves.
I feel they are so independent though they are poor.

Miin
To Sentosa, I take a cab. As I have to bring along all her stuff for sandplay n waterplay. Cab fare from TPY to Vivo during off peak hours is around $10, using KPE expressway.

White_Lady
I'm paying my helper $350 per mth, and I give her extra $ for no off day.
Govy levy is $170.
Having a maid, you have to budget an average of $800.

Sabrina
My girl is now attending Blk 45 PCF (pre-nursery). Next yr she will be there for the nursery program too.

Janice
Can try Montessori Phonics CD (Ants on the Apple). It comes with a book too. Can get from Thomson Plaza.
Alternatively, is Leapfrog Lettersounds DVD.
Now my girl is enjoying the Leapfrog Maths.

Dor
I heard Zoo phonics is similar to Montessori Phonics.

Hi white lady

2 of my gf just got their maid. indonesian maid, $340 and $350 respectively. $340 got no experience, $350 got experience.

Hey janice, you register your boys under N1 or N2 leh? If Pm, then your boys will probably same classrm as my girl if they are gg to N1 next year.

For sept 21, i can only afford weekdays afternoon IF IF my dad comes by to pick my girl up. Then I can head out with my son. Arbo, only weekends is possible..

so take bus 238 is it?

orangeymum and those mum who went for the neuro tree trial

can share how was it? i know i'm late, but then tot of bringing my son, 6.5mth now to the trial to see how it goes.

Miin,

really?can help me check how much these two books will cost after 25% discount?
1)wat to expect in the first years.
2)wat to expect in the tod years

thank u. if not later i go tpy popular &amp; check it out. if cost < $15 then worth it!!! then have to trouble u to get for me can?thanks!!

hi Ryes,

yup. take bus 238 from tpy central. alight after u seen the subaru &amp; nissan show room. =) let me know then i can meet u at the bus stop. no worries. =)

the LNT trial is not bad. lots of flash cards &amp; sing songs plus memory games.. but i tink my bb too young for this. will probably enroll him when is he older. =) u can give it a try.

hey doplhingal,

i secure a trial for my son liao. missed out the last time with u girls,coz he was sick..

did your bb mge to sit still?

mummies who are interested in going to sept21, can keep me in the loop? I'm keen too
If it's weekdays I'm ok for most afternoons after 330pm.

Hi Ryes, yes my boys are enrolled in the PM N1. How will you be sending your girl. Is she already 3 when she starts school next year?

Hi Precious, do yu know whre can I purchase the Leapfrog DVD?

dear all , thank for replying .. thought plus levy only $300++ ... so the $340++ is only the pay , levy is another $170 , total come up to $500+++ ... oh .. not chepa , ahhaah

janice, you have twins?

Dor, how old is your gal when she knows all her letters? Heehee....

Wah..maid so ex one ah...still considering one but looks like I've gotta be the maid myself for now.

I also signed up for ascension am class for N2 next year. Still considering between there and newton kindergarten. Any mommies have comments?

Hey if there's any meetup, keep me in the loop ya. Realised really not easy to be SAHM and have 2 kids at a go to handle...whew!

ivy,
i know wat u mean about throwing up even though there's nothing to throw up. it happened to me when i was expecting my gal. once night i threw up 6x and almost didnt want to continue with the pregnancy but hey, i managed to pull through it and so will u.

re: phlegm,
in my experience with my gal who is prone to getting bronciolitis, i usually nebulise her once there's any sign of runny nose or continuous cough 3-4x a day and give cold medicine for runny nose. if she has both runny nose and a little phlegmy cough then i'll give her fluimicil (an orange powder that helps loosen phlegm). normally she would have problem sleeping due to blocked nose especially at night so i use sea water spray (sterimar brand whc can be bought from pharmacy) and nasonex (can be bought from PD or GP) whc is for nasal congestion and i find that she sleeps much better when i add on nose drops (otrivin brand). and if all those don't help then no choice gotta go to PD to do suction. actually, my gal has not have that kind of problem ever since i gave her sambucus when she's coming down with something and colostrum powder daily.

janice,
my hats off to you for having to deal with 3kids! i think i'll stay at buangkok if i were in your situation...haha! like u, i dun really know how to entertain my gal w/o the tv. gotta learn from precious about doing fun things with kids. the thing is i'm not creative so can't think of fun arts and crafts or activities to do with my gal.

dolphingal, u can try popular website to check the price. i can get them for u but most prob on fri ok..

precious, whats the storyline on leapfrog maths? i'm still considering to get it. will check the bulkpurchase or spree if any mummies are getting leapfrog..

my son learns his letters ard 3yo.. from ccc.. i also have a phonics cd for my son bday but i forgot the brand. it comes with a book. quite interesting cos it goes.. B for baaa baa baa then followed by a nursery rythm.