TOA PAYOH mummies

Hi Miin (miin)

I had wanted to buy the baby swim float like urs leh, but duno good or not. Any feedback?

Coz i notice with the float that I am using, my son likes to lay forward and swim and kick. But with the sitting down type, dont know if he can do that or not..

Hi Dor, pls do include me as well. Hopefully the timing is suitable, otherwise cant go.

Preview & Trial Classes
Date/Time: New Term in April '09 TBA
Venue: Little NeuroTree @ TPY
--------------------
1) Dor & Chloe (2yo)
2) Christine & Ryan (28mths)
3) Dolphingal & Sky (4mths)
4) Ling & bby (3-4mths)
5) Peiyun(7/11) & Asher, 12mth
6) Jasmine & son (13mths)
7) Sunny & Kimberly (5mths)
8) Fittynut & Isaac (17mths)
9) Ryes & daughter (25 mths)

Hi Ryes
I have a sitting-double float like Miins', except square. My view is dont get since you already have the other float. Only useful for a while to get baby used to water.

few days didn't log in and so posts here, it's getting more active here now. suffered from food poisoning last sat after bringing my gal to the zoo. thank goodness there is a clinic nearby that closes at 10pm on saturdays and got a jab to stop the vomiting and diarrhea. felt so much better after taking oral meds and rest. now 100% ok liao.

precious,
did you go to central on sunday night? thought i saw someone who looked like you.

re: swimming, i only brought my gal swimming twice and she loved it. 1sst time i only let her wear a set of rompers and 2nd time a swimsuit. i let her wear arm floats and she enjoyed wadding around the pool, she didn't even want to leave the pool after 1hr. learnt from those experiences that the water in swimming pools is still quite cold in late morning till noon.

just checking if anyone else wants the konfidence swimwear... coz am going to put in the order tomorrow... :p

dor

can pm me where is convenient to meet up with you once i get the swimwear.... :p

sunny

was it the baby blanket? heheh coz i also use it for my boy.

Char
Yes, was at central for dinner on last Sun.

Re: Swimming
Each time I bring her for a swim, I always have to force her to get out of the pool, if not she can be inside for more than 1.5hr.

Ling - if you want the Pureen 2in1, I found the Hoe Kee Huat store just beside the Lrg 8 market sells the large bottle for 11.80. (looked for it everywhere and finally found in my own back yard. typical.)

hi tpy mummies,

so excited to find this thread. I live in lor 1 with a 6 mth old girl. i see some of u here dive n run.. me too but then got pregnant, nv dive till now. just took up running and ran my long n slow 2.4km ytd hahha..

wats the nerotree abbout? infant care or class like kindermusik?

White_lady, NeuroTree trains brain development for kids, trial class is free and most likely on wkends. However, u may state your preference below and see if they hv any available ones on wk days:

Preview & Free Trial Classes
--------------------
1) Dor & Chloe (2yo), wkend class
4) Ling & bby (3-4mths)

Orangeymum, welcome to this thread, hope the abv ans. your qs. Btw, r u a sahm? who tks care of ur gal while u run your 2.4km hee! Actually the area along Philip stretch is a nice and peaceful plc to run however, avoid doing it in the nite coz cld be too quiet liao.

just read the thread.. i see some mummies are interested in teaching ur kids inline skating (rollerblade is the brand) hehe..

my hb n i are coaches. but we don't do it commercially lah, just sometimes teach our own friends and their children.

2 or 3 yrs old is just a guideline, some kids maybe stronger at 2 yrs but some kids not so developed yet. if 2 yrs plus, your kid is able stand up in skates (yes u can help to balance) but the kid must show that they have strength to stand b4 u go for any coaching so no need waste $.

I'm a stay hm mum. if you guys just wanna try out, let me know. we can try it out at void deck or wat, b4 u decide whether to sign up any course or lesson or wat.

if you dunna to buy skates, just have to rent and try first b4 deciding whether to commit, its a great activity to learn as a family.

I'm not advertising for myself, cos my time is also limited. but i can advise and answer questions, after all we are all TPY mummies yeah..

i dun mind doing individual or group coaching for a very minimal fee or token to justify my time: diapers, wipes or wat, those things that a baby will need.

ya i'm a sahm. i have a helper to help me take care of my bb so i can give tuition at hm. so when i run she takes care of bb. but day time when no 1 is at hm, i try not to leave bb at hm with helper alone. i also wannna try this nerotree class.

--------------------
4) Ling & bby (3-4mths)
10) Orange & Chelsia (6mths+)

HI Sunny

Oh, I thought of getting you know those erm car type of float, u know what i mean? Coz hor, sometimes i hold him in the pool till very tired leh, tot want to let go and yet scare u see. So with the car float, tot maybe he can support himself and I can relax relax abit.

is not cheap leh, at $12 like that for a float..but problem is to pump it up and then deflate it later...

Hey char, are those arm floats useful? of of upgrading the ring float to arm floats for my girl, but duno how it works.

by the way,

any1 looking for babies to form a group for swimming classes? i'm keen to sign my bb up for baby swimmming. cos i've brought her to the pool since she is 2.5mths but then after a few times i dunno wat to do with her in the pool already. just frolicking, nothing much i dare to do

Hey gals, I have two frens who want to join the free trial, though they dun stay in Toa Payoh. They were hesitant to pay the initial $50 for the trial but since Dor negotiated such a gd deal of free trial.. They r now keen.

--------------------
4) Ling & bby (3-4mths)
11) Rachel & Jerielle (15mths+)
12) Adeline & Hannah ( 16mths+)

Orangeymum,
Neuro Tree is not an infant care.. It's unlike kindermusik which only focuses on music.. It has 20 activities( which include showing many flashcards, manipulatives for your child to play with to learn things like tall & short, singing of songs, motorskill exercises like putting seeds into a container while counting )for ur child to b engaged in during 60mins lesson.

Precious, it's not the first shop after the durian stall but its along the same row. The one selling veges etc outside. Has the Pureen ABD (baby wear and nappies)(2in1) for 11.80 [Was at Giant yesterday Pureen ABD was going for 13.25 and Pureen Kiddywash for 11.11]

Jasmine - i read your mail yesterday morning and was wondering.. why is she suddenly talking about baby blankets?? ONly later in the afternoon when I passed by Guardian did I realise that 'baby blankets' is the name of the sunblock brand!! I think instead of my girl, I should sign myself up for right brain (re?)training.

Jasmine and all who want Konfidence
I saw purple coloured babywarma at PP Isetan yesterday. Quite a nice colour. So now there is blue, pink and purple.

Hi Orangeymum
Our babies about the same age!
I think Dolphingal is compiling a list of our babies (around same age group) who are interested in swimming lessons. Check out the archived pages of this thread (Thread moves v fast so you have to go back quite a few pages

ryes, sorry for the late reply. had external seminar and training going on. not much time to check the thread.

my gal was perfectly happy to sit inside the float the 1st time and floated around. 2nd occasion she din wan it. i suppose u can borrow first to try out before buying as they can outgrow it pretty fast. my son had the arm float but he never used it so became a white elephant.

the towel with a hole in the middle (hood or hoodless) recommended by precious is pretty useful cos it can cover the child's body and wont drop. my son's ccc sell it for $8 or $12 if not wrong. kiddy palace is cheap if u find it for less than $10. I usu see it at abt $15..

btw, mummies, i'm looking for someone to rent my unit. from June. if u have interested parties, pls pm me for info. not too convenient to post details here.. thanks in advance

sunny

hahah... no lah. when i first saw it i to was thinking baby blanket? hahh what a weird name... but then got used to it... :p

konfidence swimwear....

there is also the same swim wear available at mothercare and if you have the gold mothercare card there is already 15% off leh... no need to get from me! just found out yesterday! otherwise with the normal mothercare card its 10% off...:p

hi sunny,

so my bb is drinking abt 100ml ever since i started her on porridge. she like porridge and eats twice a day. u have this problem?

Any mummies with daughters around the age of 3-4 or 4-5? I have pre-loved tees (long and short sleeve) and pants and dresses which are preloved but still in good condition. Any takers here?

Also have a pair of Osh Kosh shoes for boys (UK size 5), BN and a pair of Nike preloved, size 5 also.

In the midst of sorting out my cupboard...

Jfoo
You are selling? May I view the clothings at your place?

Sunny
Thanks, will go and get some just b4 I deliver my bb. Now shopping around to buy his clothings and stuff.

orangeymum,
Thanks for offering your coaching service. Am kinda keen to let my gal 2yo try out. Btw, how much is the rental for a pair of rollerblade? Am wondering if the size fit her feet heehee! The rollerblade shld be quite small hor the thot of it mks me laugh, coz i hv yet to see such small ones.

sunny,
the problem is b4 i started her on porridge she can drink 180ml, now only 100ml. ur bb milk intake got decrease?

oh by the way, i saw ur previous post abt Spore recre club indoor heated pool, i heard chorine alot one..

dor,
rental at east coast park or bishan park is abt $5-$6 for 2 hours. so if u want to rent, we'll have to go to the park cos i do not have any skates with me..

Hi Orangeymum
Probably some of the other mums here whose kids are older can give better feedback. I've only just started my girl on solids this week.

Hi Orangeymum

It's normal for kids to have less milk when you start giving solid, esp if he takes a fair amount of it.

Precious, yup, you can come over and choose. Some to give away some to sell. Also packing some to send to Yunnan for a friend's daughters.

Galdolphin
Again, the other mothers with older kids here can probably advise better than me

But I started with Heinz Rice Cereal (iron fortified), comes in blue box. Mixed with BM to thin gruel. My girl loves it! Just the 3rd time earlier today so only 2 teaspoons - She eats it all up and looks in the bowl for more !
There are feed instructions on how to start baby on solids (ie the rice cereal) on the box if you blur like me. This evening tried a bit of mashed banana but she made naughty face and spit it all out. :D Tomo going to try boiled mashed potato (mixed with BM again).

According to books, articles - can start babies on solids from 4 months actually - really depends on the bbies eg if they keep staring at you when you eat your meals, or they smack their lips and "chew" and drool a lot. I didn't start until now cos my paedi said to give full BM for a bit longer to build up allergy resistance - she had a bit of allergic reaction when I drank cow's milk when she was one-2 months. Now okay.

v v disturbing. I only watched 1/3 before turning off. I hope the woman is punished and the parents give the little girl a great deal of care and love in the coming days

Beautytan
Getting a maid is like a gamble.
I really pity the child after watching it.

Sunny
I started my girl when she was 6mths old. As recommended by my PD and the Polyclinic doctor.
And she loved Healthy Times Organic Brown Rice, Barley a lot.
Organic consists less sugar.

sunny,
on giving solid... don't know how much my son drinks as i was still direct breastfeeding. Maybe ur girl small eater
It's fun to see their facial expressions when u let them try new food. keke. Since she got allergic reactions before u may consider intro new food slowly. easy to detect the cause.

dolphingal,

i introduce solid to my son at 6mth. that is when the baby need more iron that our BM cannot giv. And that is when the baby's body is more ready for solid too. Start with little and dun expect too much (cos they may reject totally what u prepared), I give my boy Healthy Times Cereal(can buy from NTUC) plus puree apple or pumpkin or sweet potato etc. Handheld blender is a good investment, cos it will still be useful when u introduce porridge.

precious,
so that was you. i thought you looked familiar from the pics whc was taken at the gathering near the playground at lor7. actually u look totally different from the 1st time i met you personally. your complexion is so clear now....wats your secret?

reyes,
i got the arm float from kiddy palace. u just inflate the floats and put them thru the arms. it helped my gal to not fall forward or backward. it was fun to see her walk around the pool slowly.

sunny,
my experience with my gal is that she suddenly rejected milk when she was 3mths+ so when she was 4mo, 3 PDs i went to (cos i was sooo kiasu and worried) said that i should try feeding her cereal. u can try nestle brand also cos one of the PD said that i could take a sample from his clinic and even though it states for 6mo it is also suitable for 4mo babies. it is stated for 6mo babies becos TBF is strongly recommended up to that age.

Can start introducing solids (ie cereal) at 4 months but ideally if you can solely BF till 6 months, that's the best.

I introduced porridge straightaway without going thru the cereal stage at 6 months. My daughter started rice at almost a year but my son started earlier at 9 months. He didn't like porridge much cos he wanted to have texture and when we started giving him bits of rice he was fine with it - no choking, no regurgitating. Next day no undigested lumps in faeces.

My son's down with a cough. Had fever yesterday. Vomit all over the bed late last night cos of the phlegm. Will hold it to Mon and see how it goes, see whether the natural remedies I have in store works first.

precious,
i was also thinking maybe that could be it....the pregnancy glow.

j_foo,
oh dear, hope your boy gets well soon. wat natural remedy to you give? can share? my gal also liked to eat rice b4 she turned 1yo but now ah, give her eat rice is like asking her to eat sand....take so long to finish one spoonful of rice and everytime she'll cover her face wheni try to feed her.

--------------------
4) Ling & bby (3-4mths)
11) Rachel & Jerielle (15mths+)
12) Adeline & Hannah ( 16mths+)
13) White_lady & Ray (32mths)

Wah, come weekend, so busy, didnt have chance to pop by..

Hi sunny, my boy is now 5.5 mths, coming 6 mths 2 weeks time..

Hi Miin,
hm..then isnt it a waste for you, coz u only used once for the bb float, then the arm float became a white elephant? Duno leh, still thinking twice. Arm float cheap cheap, think $4.10 or $4.90, and can use till 3yrs or older i suppose. I see how, coz hor, we dont bring them swim so often also, perhaps just twice in a mth..

HI Char, yeah, i saw the arm floats from kiddy palace too lor..will consider to get it..

Talking abt solid, I"m waiting for my boy to turn 6 mths in 2 weeks time then open ceremony to feed him solid...

BTW mummies, my girl needs to attend sch next year and I'm really lost in what are the good schs to head out within TPY area if possible.

So far have shortlisted, kinderland at safra TPY and Ascension kindergarden. Any others?

mummies, i recommend this book for feeding "super baby food". u can get it from kinokuniya or u can go to the website to check it out first.. they provide a lot of tips and simple cooking methods. i still refer to it occassionally to find new recipes for my kids.

ryes, actually i forgot y i buy the arm floats in the first place. hehe. i shld have just used a ring float and it can actually last a long time if u dun bring the children swimming a lot unless they outgrow it in size.. hehe
the one i used for my gal is from my sil and i borrow the ring float from my bro.. the oni thing i bought was the arm float. i also bought a bb swimwear and the towel wrap in the pic for my son then pass onto my gal. frankly we din go swimming much so din wanna spend too much $$ on those stuff. :p

Hi Miin

I have 2 baby receipe books that I got from popular too. Written by locals, just now just spent some time reading up, but seems like alot of things to do just to cook 1 simple meal leh..lazy me..haha

So disappointed. I called up safra kinderland just now and they are full for pre nursery liao..sob sob.