TOA PAYOH mummies

stylobb,
thnx. finally i get to know what it's like to have a boy in the family.

precious,
i dun have winter clothes for kids but have for adults. you can borrow from me if you want to. if -10deg, highly recommended to have thermal wear for the kids and wear double socks. i wore just 1 thermal socks but my toes were freezing so can imagine how cold the kids' feet will be.

Jfoo & precious,
I'm withdrawing him from ykidz cuz I find my boy not learning much although he like tue school alot..
And i find they spend quite alot of time playing with materials than lesson time..
And my son keep falling sick. If he is home during holiday he is all well, once me attend school for a week he will confirm MC for another week..
I understand that kids get sick when they are schooling but it getting really often n I'm paying $560 for him to go sch for 2 weeks exclude doc fees..
I have seen many kids with running nose n cough attending sch . I feel the teachers can do more by reminding the parents too keep their sick child at home at least for a few days or else the virus keep spreading ard.. I did stay n peek what they are doing in sch.. At times I find my son lying on the floor doing nth.. N the helpers(aunties) always have tissue on hand wiping their mucus away.. But who knows if they are reusing it again on different child as she kept in the pocket..
I hate parents complaining that their child always get sick after a week of school.
Another thing Is I think the teachers or helpers is not attentive enough.

My boy came home one day complaining his thigh hurs. When I check his diaper, I realise it worn the wrong way! As in back became front n velco became at the back.. It may e a small matter but that shows me that they are not attentive enough. Who will wear the diaper in a opposite way?! Meaning they just grab my boy n anyhow put it on..

Is a pity I have to withdraw him as he really enjoy school now.. But I couldn't afford him getting sick after so many mths of adapting in sch and learn nothing much in sch.
So I just sent an email to withdraw him.

Am looking at TPY Methodist kindy now to prepare him for k1 cuz I don't want to change school again if everything is well..

Stylobb, ascension is all full
if wanna try got to wait till 2012!
I'm quite keen in marymount too.. But the fees is so much difference from TPY Methodist.. Will tAke a look at both sch before deciding..

Anymore kindy to recommend which have s h bus transport?
Cuz Tpy methodist only have one way now which is quite troublesome for me..

anyone wants to buy mamypoko S size diaper? my baby is outgrowing fast and we got one unopen pack 72pcs and one open pack(more then 1/2 pack) looking to sell. unopen one looking to sell at $21. open pack see how much is left. drop me a PM. collection in TPY of course.

sunny
Actually I quite like Malacca tho we also didn't hv much time to explore more this time. Happily went to PDI and the concept stores.

char
Boy - You will enjoy (hahaha..you will have to find out more yourself.)

newmummy
Actually I understand your feeling. I also used to be quite stressed when my boy was v young. Once we took coach home, he bawled all the way from the road towards SIN immigration. So stressful for us!
Then when he was older, we drove to KL, I think, 1/3 way thru, he puked in the car! After we reached the hotel, we had no choice but to send his clothes to be cleaned!
In Penang, he also puked in the cab!
But getting better as he travels more... Tkfully my twins are hardy, they are ok whether on bus, car or plane.

You can always try short distance trips first.
Don't worry, they'll get better when they grow older.. hehe

Yeah, I'm off to KL with 2 gfs in August!

AppleTree - around the 80+ area, near Jessin that side.

babyrainbowz,
u can chk out jessin, they do provide school bus.

newmummy08,
i let my gal go on a cruise on her 1st o/sea trip. i find it manageable for 1st timer.
it is also advisable to go on a free and easy tour either u choose to tk a coach or plane.

hey stylobb,Dor,ya ya, i wish my boy quicky grow up!haah...really nitemare for me once thk of travel!not even enjoy the whole trip lo!

Oh ya,appletree still got vacancy?happen2 hv the tel?

Hey Dor,i passed by Blk 205 near our nanny hse there,saw the kindergarden,more for playgroup for few hrs, but not cc.either is am class or pm class only.but tat time u told me is not so good is it?y ah?
know that is aircon condition,which not so prefer le..

are,
my girl fren using her ergo on her coming 2 yr old daughter and she say of cos use for long still back ache. But my babybjorn on my yuyu i already feel backache so i dun think baby bjorn u need to consider.

Babyrainbow,
I have enrolled my child with ykidz starting next month.... fingers crossed!

My gal is only 18 months so not many playgroups take her until next year.

My mom's neighhbour put her kid at Jessin but She withdrew her kid after 1+ year cos said never learn much and worried not ready for P1.

orange/stylobb/ivy/dolphin/jasmine/precious... thanx for all the info mummies. thanx heaps to jasmine & dolphin for lending me yours to try. hv to really try then can tell if can hold my 17kg ger man. can hold a while lah, so its ok. not meant for long usage also. once i reach "flat ground", onto the stroller she goes! will be getting the sport cos seems cooler & the waist can adjust bigger also, hubby fat mah! :p

opps the work notice only got the contractor information. need to get the center information from the banner outside mrt underpass.

mummyof2boys,
Will let you know feedback for y'kidz next month k.
My fren also shared tat there is a childcare (forgot the name) near sommerville (near bartley road) and the other one called Ideal montessori near Youngberg hospital).
Both offers half day childcare with schoolbus.
I will try to find out and share with the mummies here.

Re ykidz

actually is not bad if u put ur child in 2 hr session. But for 4hr I feel it not worth the fees of 440. Cuz whenever I go over n peek, they are always having free time which is playing with materials. I feel is good for playgroup 18mths old to explore. But even N2 n K1 & 2 is having alot of material time too..

And they conduct classes all together..
10.30 class will join 8.30 class n is all in a room.
Meaning if ur child has finish the lesson from 8.30-10-30 it will repeat again from 10.30-12.30
I don't see how they are able to teach other things as 2 session teaching should be the same ..
I asked the teacher before n 4hrs mainly add in nursery songs, material time and one lesson.. And one day can have like 4-5 times of material time..
Maybe while children is waiting for another batch of children to finish something, is material time without any teachers supervising them.. Is a very free time to play with whatever they want to play.
And what I don't like is that they doesn't have a proper table n chair for writing. The kids is writing on the floor.. So they can lie down on their tummy or sit down bending to write which I feel is not good.. My son used to do writing on the table but after going to school he starts drawing my floor! He no longer writes n colour on the table.
For the changes I see in my son, good things became bad things I don't think is worth paying 440 for the sch. I can send him to a better sch instead.
Not cuz of my delivery n confinement I would have withdraw him 2 mths ago..

And I didn't like the freedom the kids have.. Too much freedom n my son also do whatever he likes at home..
I find that they will update ur child for the first 1-2 mths and after that updating stops..
Normally i will make a trip to sch to check with them what my son is actually doing in sch..
Still my son enjoys sch and love his sch too..

Hey Babygenius,do u hv y'kidz contact tel?don know still hv vacancy?but some mummies said its not good?hmm...just update if its ok or not next mth ya...:p

Btw,any mummies know blk 199 got childcare?any contact tel?Hey Dor,thk ur nanny stay there rite?

Babyrainbow,don mind let me know wer is y'kids located at which blk?and tat is playgroup but not childcare?coz i actually prefer full day cc,and if playgroup only few hrs, i still hv to engage nanny to bring him back from school,double pay le!siong ah!:p

newmummy08,
blk 205 deerland the area is too small and not much of outdoor activities. the children all confine in a small room hence i dun really like tat.

babyrainbowz,
i dun noe much about jessin, i only know they have a playgrp at blk 122 and N1-K2, student care is at blk 85C if am not wrong.

newmummy08,
my gal was in tat ccc b4. i wont recommend, however, dun take my words u can go down and take a look and find out more.

newmummy,
I visited 199 CC b4. I personally don;t find the hygience of the place very good. teacher never even wash hands when helping the kids to eat at snack time....

Babyrainbowz,
So where you place your boy now?
My fren asked me to check out masterpiece childcare (http://www.masterpiece-ce.com/masterpiece.htm)at and sunny bunny at 9http://www.sunny-bunny.com.sg/Services_ChildCare.htm) sin Ming.
Both CC offers half day programme. Afternoon is more for enrichment classes like art and music. they have school bus too.

hey dor,babygenius,ok,will drop by to see.But Dor,can i know the reason y u not recommend ah?
babygenius,not hygience ah?but just now the supervisor sounds vy particular on it saying not allow parent go in view as scare Mouth,hand,foot disease spread,somethg like tat..
anw,i just go over and chk chk ba...:p

Btw,how abt WESLEY CHILD DEVELOPMENT CENTRE .
Precious,u stay near by there rite?

Newmummy, ykidz is at HSR building at Lor 6 beside pei chun pri sch.
Is a 2/4hrly class only.

Dor, thanks.. Have speak to the teacher in charge. Sounds not bad but yet go down and take a look.

Baby genius,
now narrow down to TPy Methodist and Jessin. Marymount is out of my budget now..
But TPY methodist only got sch bus for one trip..

Need to seek advise from mummies here
my boy is 2.5 and I'm a sahm n just delivered a baby boy..
I'm thinking if I should put my #1 to cc so I can have more time to do my things but I kind of dun bear and wworried he might feel that we abandon him cuz he is having some crazy acts at home. He is totally fine if he is alone with me at home. But once someone come to help me he will be very naughty and is tiring to bring him out if I need to get stuff, bring bb for jabs etc cuz he will throw tamtrum outside..
What should I do? Put him in cc or stick to 2-4hr school?
Will it affects him?

newmummy08,
due to the mgmt, trs and caregiver previously. am not sure if these had changed after my gal left.

babyrainbowz,
i only have one child, but if situation like yours arise, i'll prob choose to leave him in the sch for few hours (not too long) and enagage a part time helper to do my house chores. i'll explain to him that when his younger brother reach the same age as him, he too needs to attend 'school' just like every other children.
he's behaviour prob trying to gain attention from everyone.

newmummy,
I do not have personal experience with wesley but the sister of my colleague (stayed in Bishan) had very bad experiences with Wesley at TPY and told me not to ever consider that choice. You can check it out. that was 2 years ago though.
I suppose all schools / cc have their negative sides...but if the plus points outweighs the the "bad" things 9of course to tolerable extent)...than ok for me.

Sigh, girl was admitted to MT A for stomach flu. Was on drip... sob sob. My helper and MIL also got it. Helper was taken to GP for jab. Sigh, dunno who spread to spread. My girl just started her PG only 2 weeks back, also not sure if she got it from the PG. Anyway, I agree that once they start going for such classes, tend to fall sick. Anyway, am letting her rest at home this week.

And oh, I hv registered her for pre-nursery class at TPMC kindy for coming Jan 2011 intake. Met a mummy who's girl is there, not sure if you are in this forum too. Had a chat with her, her feedback is that the teachers are very nice and caring.

BabyRainbow
You staying at which part of TPY? Your boy will be in same class as my girl if you also enrol for Jan 2011. Strange that they only offer one-way transport. Did you ask them why? If not, you can consider Jessin, they offer 2 way, I hv checked with them last time.

Surf, next year have bus to n fro but this year playgroup only one way.. Unless I keep him at home till next year..

Still can't decide whether to put at kindy or cc..

Dor,
mainly is not about chores.. Is abt me running errands.. Now only can wait for hb to finish work at 8-9pm n rush to ntuc..

Surf,
o dear hope all of you have a speedy recovery. btw, stomach flu is on going now....my gal got it as well (minor case) her appetite hasnt been good for a week liao sigh....

btw, does anyone knows if shop & save tpy opens till 11pm? last time, kallang stadium branch opens till midnite...wow very shiok i used to frequent there but not sure if it is still around now.

BabyRainbowz
Their entry level is pre-nursery, i.e. the playgroup level. Your boy is 2008 or 2007 baby?

But I think I know why liao. Coz Pre-nursery aka playgroup starts at 9am ends at 11am. Only 1 class per timing. The other 3 levels starts at 8am and ends at 11am, bigger group to justify the bus service back home for the kiddos. So they said you hv to bring the kid yourself for the playgroup right? Unless you opt for the 1115am class, think got 2-way bus service?

Gal.dolphin
TPMC means TPY methodist church kindy
. Thanks, my girl is much better but appetite is no good and she has totally no interest in milk now (even after I put milo). Before she fell sick, alr very difficult to get her to drink but will still drink some.

Dor
Thanks. Yes, now is the season. My hubby got it liao, last night went to see GP for LS. Now the whole family got it except me. Touch wood, I better be healthy for No. 2' sake! Not sure if S&S opens till 11pm leh, but I can imagine, v peaceful to shop at night!

Surf,
yes cuz pre nursery is 2 hrs.. So I got to take a trip myself.
Next year will have bus to n fro.
He is 2007 babies. Cuz I've withdraw him frOm ykidz so thinking to put him somewhere unless I keep him at home till next year..

Surf,
yes cuz pre nursery is 2 hrs.. So I got to take a trip myself.
Next year will have bus to n fro.
He is 2007 babies. Cuz I've withdraw him frOm ykidz so thinking to put him somewhere unless I keep him at home till next year..

Babyrainbow
I see. Keeping at home is also an option. Just another 4 mths of sch before they break for year end hols actually. If you hv home care arrangement, then shld be fine.

Oh yes, I saw this ad on the board outside the MRT station on Sunday, beside the Vegetarian mama shop outside the MRT station. There's a toddler sch in HDB Hub, can't remember the name. But on the ad, it says mon to fri 2 hour class for 18m and above. Can go chk it out.

surf

pls take care!

babyrainbowz
boy do i understand! but dont worry, your boy is just prob reacting to the new baby. jealous that the new baby is getting so much attention. my boy was younger then yours when i had #2(15mths)and even then also had all the actions. :p better now that #2 is able to play with him. consider keeping him at home with you though its tough(looked after 2 on my own till #2 was 6mths and i almost went nuts). keeping to his routine will help this transition. any changes will coz the actions... :p say this coz i learnt this the hard way.... hope this helps with your decision

sigh

my boy have been refusing to go to school! making a fuss every morning! seems that he is being bullied in school! how to solve this?

babyrainbowz,
Some cc also offer half day session (though price not half) and more commonly they have school bus service. Plus can get subsidy from government.
I am trying y'kidz because there is no other school in TPY that is taking my 18 months gal currently unless I wait till next Jan. Since first time in school, i try not to let go for long hours.
But if y'kkidz not so good, I will put her in half day CC next Jan. Cos y'kidz 4hour program is quite expensive...$440.

babygenius

here is the structure
pre nursery - 2008 - $480/term - 9-11am or 11.15-1.15pm
nursery - 2007 - $$510/term - 8-11am or 11.15 to 2.15pm

Surf,
keeping my #1 is fine but I need to have lots of patience.. He can't stay still at home..
During my confinement he nearly went crazy cuz we didn't
go out.. After confinement became better after I start bringing him out..

Mummy2ofboys,
undersand that he is seeing attention now.. But problem is I
need time to run errands.. I'm still confused and can't decide where to put him..
Now he will be facing any changes as I've already withdraw him from ykidz... Now he has been telling me hr wants to go to sch but crying in the morning.. I feel he really likes the school... But I didn't want him to grow too attach to the school then change again.. Withdrawing a few months later can really make a difference..

Babygenius,
I did think of half day cc.. Buy most cc is either full or doesn't provide bus transport.. And if there is also no bus transport for half day.. I don't like the idea that time spend on school will be longer at home.. How I wish there is a sch that ends at 3pm!

Now I'm looking at TPY Methodist.. And searching for sch bus who is willingly to fetch him to n fro for this year..
Alternative, another choice will be YMCA @ bishan. Fees reasonable and got sch bus.. Timing from 8.30am-5pm. He should be home ard 4+pm. But my mom kept complaining he will have to take at least 20 mins bus journey to sch....

Actually ykidz is not bad.. At least my son likes the school.. Learn some stuff in school..
But then for the price of 440 a mth u can actually put it child in a good kindy. Understand that not alot of sch accept 18mths old.. I was searching for one when my boy is 18mths too...
Hope u have a good experience with ykidz...

if looking for somewhere to put the kids 18mths and above then cant put at tpy methodist kindy leh, they only take in 3yrs.

there is startots at blk 78b. hahah the school that my #1 is in! but its only 2hrs. 9.30 to 11.30

Babyrainbow,
I can imagine the stress. My fren place dher kid at masterpiece childcare. There is half day session and school bus in the morning plus mid-day (1pm) for those who attend only half day childcare. The place is not very far so not so worrying that school bus journey is long.

mummyof2boys,
thanks for the info

babygenius

consider the preschool by the park? its cheaper and nearer.

here is the link
http://www.bythepark.com.sg/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=65&Itemid=73

price wise...

infant (before subsidy) $1280 / $880
tod (before subsidy) $780 / $580

here is the location
http://www.streetdb.com/singapore-street-directory-ADDRESS-p359826-45A-CARMICHAEL-ROAD.htm

hahah if i am not such a budgeted mummy, here is where i would send my boy! like the environment and the teachers response!