TOA PAYOH mummies

7/11
Thank God she was perfectly ok when I shop.
I brought along her colouring book and colour pencils to occupy her.
Nowadays if I need to shop, then I will bring her out before her nap time. While she is sleeping, then I shop. And once she is awake, I will plan program for her.

CG, tat's a gd one....bth my hub n me can hv a peacful meal when my gal is sleeping while we r dining out too. If she's not tking her nap either one of us will have to keep her occupy if she's not cooperative at time.

Dor, me sharing the same fate wif u now.

Just came back from shopping(without my boy) MIL came over to take care while i'm out. John Little has q a good sales going on. But today last day liao. I bought a Zojirushi Lunch set. A bit heart-pain cos q ex. But compared the price with the Forum's BP, its the same. Looking forward to introduce semi-solid to my boy. Hopefully wif that he sleep thru the nite also.

JTS:

1707525.jpg

Dor n 7/11
Same here. But one thing I realise she enjoys eating outside meals in a big group of our friends, which we normally arrange every Sat. Maybe because our friends will also bring their kids along.
And those older kids will help us to take care/play with her.

JTS

saw at Paragon Metro selling Cros for kids and ladies 2pairs for the price of one... which is $53 (if i din remember wrongly) for 2.

how was your weekend? mine was ok. spent whole of sat choosing toilet accessories and lightings for new flat....so tiring. plus past few days didnt sleep well cos my gal's foot was bitten by mosquito and it got infected from scratching too much and her whole foot was swollen. she has been taking anti-biotics for that and the swell has subsided yday.

CG,
you always seem to have lobang for these kinds of activities...good leh....

girlizz,
i'm also a sahm mum at lor 1 too and my gal is coming 18mo. whc blk u staying? me at blk 128. i'd like to enrol my gal to playgroup but i think better wait till she's older cos she tends to get sick very easily.

Hi! Char,
My daughter 18mths was also bitten by the irritating mosquito wks ago, 5 bites on 1 side of her face during the nite. Her face swell din bring her to d doc thou self medicate using Aloe Vera cream.
My GP says falling sick ard this age is jus part n parcel of their growing up process. But do avoid bringing your child to aircon places as their immunity system is nt strong yet. Frankly, I am quite against antibiotics but no choice if I want my gal to hv a speedy recovery. I am actually considering TCM wonder any mummies hv tried out on their kids and has good recommendation ard TPY area.
Btw, if your daughter has started walking perhpas u may wanna consider sending her to those playgroup/enrichment class only once a wk for 1-2 hrs. I am currently sending my gal to GUG www.gugifted.com @ United Sq every sunday aftnn. She's enjoying herself so far the teachers there r fairly good n interactive. Is also a gd place to mingle for tods n parents too.

Hi dor,
my gal has very sensitive lungs so very prone to getting bronchiolitis when she catches a virus and not treated fast. and she's got sensitive skin too, even her PD said she's sooo sensitive. we've been to her PD i think abt 6-8 times since june. sigh!! anyway, i feel TPY has got lots of mosquito leh. when we moved back from my parents' plc (Pasir ris), my gal was bitten by mosquitos many many times. and once when my hb was downstairs chatting with a fren, they were attacked by mosquitos too. i dun see any fogging done here whereas in pasir ris, they fog the ground floor about once a week.

Char
Oh dear! Do you send her to a skin specialist? Is there any treatment to improve condition?
Too much antibiotics is not good, which I heard too.

O dear, then good to be xtra careful wif ur gal. TPY Lor. 2 Blk 99 was reported to have few dengue cases few mths ago they came to fog a few times but thereafter nt sure if they still do it so often. Perhaps shld feedback to the Town Council. Guess we shld spray our hse twice a wk to prevent. Another way is to get those Mos Light it helps.
Btw, did ur mother or in-law suggested ur gal tk chinese herbs to strengthen her lungs and immunity? Am nt good at these stuffs....but heard it helps

long time din post in this thread liao....

im at lor 1 too, near beatty school. Any SAHM wanna meet for lunch at central or j8?? btw, my gal is 28 mths.

Char, my area is having the fogging session this wed from 9 to 5pm. got to either bring my kids out whole day or hide in the hse!!

mayb u get some mossie patch and stick on yr gal's clothing? i veri kiasu one, i usually will stick 2 patches for each of my gals.
when my no1 was younger, her mossie bites are so serious that i need to bring her see PD. it will swell and have some watery discharge!! Got so fed up that i bght the 'blackhole' to trap those nasty mossie!!

CG

wat Magic Water Painting Colouring Book is that???? u bght at bishan popular ???

i bght some cheap sand art last week at $1.50 !so happy coz its alot cheaper than the one at J8

Btw, the nite mos r nt so harmful 'in a way'. The worst ones r in the day whereby it may cause dengue, quoted by the MOE officers.
Wow! Pooh, bet u spend quite a lot in mos patches hee! I used to do tat for a wk after my gal was bitten, but now the weather turns cool i stopped using the patch but occassionally spray insect repellent ard my gals' cot and turn on aircon in the nite (economy mode) while sleeping.

Dor

i kind of 're-cycle' the patch..after the 'smell' gone, i spray the insect repellent on the patch and stick it near the windows and around the cot to prevent the mossie coming in my hse.hehehehe

I don't really have mosquito problems as I think they fog the surrounding once or twice a week. My ultimate concern is more on ants. Arrghh!! Hated them!

My boy goes to Shichida and JG Bilingual. Am really cracking head if I should sign him up for N1 next year...

girlizz

where exactly is blk 700???

U are SAHM? mayb we can meet for lunch at the hub??
my gal attending sch next yr at hub

Hi Pooh

Do you know Trellis Towers? It's right before CHIJ school.

Yes.. I'm a SAHM. We can have lunch at the hub one day. Which school your girl attending next year?

I'm checking out Learning Vision tmr. :D

hi girlzz

yaya. i know trellis tower.no wonder ur blk number is 'special' starts wif '7' hehehe

My gal will be attending MIndchamps at hub

<font color="ff6000">Another interesting activity we had at home</font>

I realise if I have prepared a sample for her, it makes her anxious to make one for herself too.
1717129.jpg
1717130.jpg

1717131.jpg
1717132.jpg

These creative scene stickers are great stuff to occupy her while I am busy.

Pooh : Oh.."7" is special? Actually we just moved here last year. We're Malaysian. You attended MindChamp's open house in Jul? What's their fees stuctures like?

CG: Was that the waterpainting coloring book u mentioned?

Hi girlizz,

Welcome to the thread. I'm also SAHM with a 5-half mth old boy.

My hubby use a lot of "Combat" ant baits in the house. Very effective, you may want to try

Hi Pooh,

I'm also staying around ur area. Near SPH. Din see any of the fogging notice leh. I also had mozzie bites one of the nites last week. Can't sleep bcos it was so itchy. But seems like i'm the only one who got it. My hubby and boy didn't get it.

Hi seveneleven.. yea.. i bought a few of that too. I was at FairPrice @ Hub checking those baits and one lady stood there kept telling me the baits are godsend. Not you hor.. :D

CG,
her skin is sensitive in a sense that she'll get rashes when she's sick especially when have fever. so this time it got sensitive after scratching too much. nothing so serious. her PD was also trying to avoid giving her antibiotics from the last time she got sick but this time no choice cos of the infection.

pooh,
there's gonna be fogging of refuse chutes at my blk this fri but only refuse leh and not fog away mosquitoes. yeah, my hb and i tried to fog the house especially our room when we go to our parents' plc to stay for the weekend.

seveneleven/girlizz,
guess i should check out the combat ant bait too. i also have ants in my house whc can be irritating. i recently got the mortein brand that claims to kill the queen in the nest. so far i didnt see any ants, not sure if they are smart and avoid coming out. must see how after the i remove the bait. haha!

Dor,
was told that cordyceps is good for the lungs but i havent tried that on my gal yet. can only try it once in a while cos cordyceps are very ex. other things i'm trying are lotus root juice and starfruit whc are good for lungs.

Girlizz,
Heard Learning Vision is very popular had a long waiting lists specially the ones @ TTH and Revenue Hse.

Hi Dor, I just came back from LV @ Gentle Road (next to Rev Hse). I must say there is a certain standard of professionalism the school live up too. Importantly the school is clean (I checked the toilet) and the teachers are friendly. The children looked cheerful and there is a small teacher-student ratio. Currently 1 - 6 (max 10)

Their curriculum emphasises more on play n learn instead of pushing too hardly on academic (N1 curriculum). Thematic curriculum will be introduced in N2 onw.

One thing to note is they have shower time and TV time. For half day, you can opt for reading if you don't need any showering. And there's a half hour TV time towards end of the day (half day). I am not too against TV time tho I would prefer they not have since my boy watches TV at home. :p

They are still accepting enrollment for next year but seats are limited tho.

I'll have to review JG PlayNursery before any decision..

Are you sending your tot to any next year?

I realise Sha has been walking like a penguin.
And it has brought concern to us and her sch teachers.
Is it normal? As she has very long legs, and she only starts to walk at 16.5mths.
Now she is coming 27mths.
I'm bringing her for a child development check-up later, though the next check-up is when she turns 3yrs old.

Hi! Girlizz,
Thanks for the insightful info. Am looking out for Tods n Nursery classes, currently my gal 18mths old is attending a playgrp @ united sq once a wk. She's taken care nanny hence wld be more appropirate to attend those 1-2 hrs classes few times a wk.

CG,
Could she learn from same tv prog? My gal occassionaly will tip-toe when she walk, I always beat her legs and remind her not to walk this way.

Hi! Mummies,

Check out another fun wkend outing:-

Baby’s Day Out

Date: Sunday, 5 October 2008
Time: 9am to 1pm
Venue: HortPark ― The Gardening Hub
33 Hyderabad Road, off Alexandra Road
Admission: Free
Link: http://imcms2.mediacorp.sg/CMSFileserver/Documents/014/PDF/babydayout.pdf

Enjoy a delightful Sunday out with your babies and kick-start your week on the right note with Mother &amp; Baby! HortPark is the place to be if you are ready for a host of great activities, from helpful talks and fun contests, to energising entertainment, performances and games.

Join in a hearty gym workout session with your little ones and be entertained by The Playclub Bears from the Julia Gabriel Centre for Learning! Are you the proud parent of a mini dynamo? Then don’t forget to sign junior up for the Baby Crawling Contest, where there are attractive prizes to be won!

Come and be part of the fun and excitement awaiting you @ Baby’s Day Out!

For any inquiries, please email m&amp;[email protected]

We are referred to a specialist from KKH. appointment is early next mth.
When I ask her to walk properly, she always gives me a cheeky expression and says "Penguin walk like that, like that".
At the clinic, she was asked to walk then she refused.
And finally she came down to walk, she walked so slowly and carefully..... IYO!
Doctor commented some adults are not walking the correct way too.
But it is good to let a specialist to check her bones structure (some children do have very high arch foot or flat foot), and it is easy to correct her the proper way of walking or recommended shoes, especially at her young age before it becomes a habit.

JTS: A good DVD, can be purchased at most Christian bookshops.
<font color="0000ff">Title: Boundaries with Kids</font>
(An 8-session focus on how healthy boundaries grow healthy children)
By Henry Cloud &amp; Dr, John Townsend

The search is now on for Female children between the ages of 13 to 36 months.

Date: 20th September 2008 (Saturday)
Recruitment Starts: 10am
Venue: Far East Plaza
Celebrity Judge: Quan Yi Feng

Be there on time as only the first 50 babies will be granted a chance to participate.

CG, u mean the bb contest ah...am interested but also gotta depend on my gal on tat day. I'll gv u a call on Fri to cfm.