TOA PAYOH mummies

Ic. tink we call the shot rite as to how to handle the BB.. hmm.. must learn from u. =P
use nappy gt use safety pin rite?
tink u r rite cheaper to use nappy.. will get 24 pieces for a start..then just use normal detergent with hot water to wash will do rite?or must really get those bb detergent to wash e nappy & his clothes?

tied knot, din use pin so scary....haha!
For a start advisable to use baby detergent powder gentle to the skin and save cost as powder lasts longer then liquid form (am using pigeon brand), u wont noe whether or not ur bb hs sensitive skin. Invest in baby softener too, for me i personally like the fragrance hee not so much of the function thou. Also get baby dish washer detergent. In short ah purchase brand that meant for baby usage for a start to avoid allergy. Always separate bb clothings n beddings fm the adults when doing laundry. As he grows older u may mix them with yours or ur hub and use hsehold brand detergent low sud if possible.

MTB
I let Sha use disposable diapers, easy and convenient for me. After she turned 1yr old, I stopped using bb detergent for her. But still using bottle detergent.

Anyone knows of any playgroups around Lor 7/8 area? I heard of a Teddy Playgroup (not sure if this is right) but don't know where it is and how much etc.. Anyone has any info to share? TIA!

Shaw preschool has open house. i dunno where it is or how good.. do check it out if u r interested.

think pic is too big, cant upload.
pls check out their website ya..

mummy wif the car seat, can i have it cos intend to use it during hari raya wen i rent a car..

also, anyone here willing to rent me a car this 2nd n 3rd oct?

hi mums,
i've been mia for quite sometime and found this thread to have speed up already. been busy at home with housework and lately my gal is down with flu.

let try to catch up with the previous postings.....

MTB/surf,
jus my personal experience, i used various brands passed on by a fren cos her gal has sensitive skin. then subsequently i'm using ntuc brand for day and petpet for night, cost saving for us mah.

as for breast pump, i borrowed my CIL's avent manual pump. it can be tiring but i watch tv as i pump so not so bad. however i only managed to BF for 1mth plus so cant advice much on breastfeeding. however i read that a good electric dual pump is good as once u pump or latch on the other breast will leak so by using dual pump can stimulate more flow.

steriliser: i used a hand me down avent one, very convenient cos jus had water and turn on the switch.

nail clipper: i used a scissors initially cos i was scared that i might cut too deep but later used a baby nail clipper cos can cut more.

my gal used to sleep in a playpen but since few months ago (she's now 17mo) she's co sleeping with me on the bed as she was sick and woke up many times a night. so easier for me to coax her back to sleep. i didnt buy a cot cos was thinking that she may hurt herself as she "slams" herself about in the cot so playpen safer cos of the netting. and i didnt change her on the playpen bassinet cos too low and had backache so i changed her on the bed.

hidayah,
i got a shaw flyer, the open house is as follows:
5th-7th sep (katong) / 12th-14th sep (braddell); 10am-6pm

llig,
a pasir ris mum sends one of her child to teddy playgroup cos her boy stays with her mum in TPY. according to her, she said so far she quite like the place. and she likes the way the teacher handles her boy. thats all the info i got. i've yet to recee the place as i'm thinking of sending my gal there but not sure.

Thanks Char.

Will go hunt around for Teddy Playgroup and intending to pop by for the Shaw open house as well.

Actually, how do playgroups work? Mon-Fri or 2/3 days a wk? And what is the average price?

llig,
let me know is shaw house if u do drop by. i'm also not sure how playgroup works. i have to ask around too.

tks char for the information.
i tink this boils down to individual mom preference.. tks all mommies for sharing.. =)
really appreciate it. thank u.

llig
i had visited teddy playgroup before. the area is pretty small. ratio is 1:10. for 2-3yrs old. fee is $160, 2hrs daily. u may want to go down to take a look first.

Hi Mummies in Toa Payoh.

Happen to find this thread. I am a stay-home-mum with a 5 and half month boy. Hoping to find some companies

MTB, nappies these days uses clips instead of pins. However i only use nappies for 2 weeks. Too troublesome (i'm too lazy).

For pumps, suggest not to get the electric ones first. The manual ones good enough for you to clear the engorgement esp first 2 weeks. I waited until i'm more certain of BF then i got the electric pump cos nearly gave up after 1st mth. If u buy the electric ones, get dual-pump. Cos when u pump on one side, the other breast will have milk flowing esp during the letdown.

hi seveneleven,

welcome to the thread. so u r taking care of ur kid full time, do u have any maid?how do u cope?
tks for the advise.does tat mean most nappy will come with clips?or i need to get clips? =)

actually i'm thinking of getting a maid to help me out when after i gave birth.. any suggestions Mommies?

mtb,
can your mum or mil help u? personally i dun trust maids and feel weird to have a stranger in the house unless really no choice. for me, my hb and mum took turns to take leave and help me take care of bb after i delivered and my aunt helped me too. but after the confinement, i was on my own but still living with my parents. at least my retired dad is at home so i dun feel too bored and can take a shower when my dad is keeping an eye on my gal at that time. in fact i stayed with my parents for about 1yr and then moved back to my own home and after sometime i managed to cope by myself somehow. it's not easy mischievous toddler but somehow can make it.

actually the role of the maid here i wanted to hire is to basically take care of all the housechores so that i can concentrate on taking care of my bb.
not intending to let her take care..
of coz when i go for shower or out to marketing, i would like her to keep a close eye on my boy..
but nothing more.. that's wat i'm tinking. =)

Hi Char,

I'm staying at Toa Payoh North. blk 202. Quite near to you

MTB,
I'm taking care of my boy alone. No maid. Like Char not comfortable with a stranger in the house. It's a good idea to have the maid do all the housework while you take care of the baby. I got friends who did that after the 2nd baby.

Nappy clips need to buy yourself. Dun come with the nappy cloth. Can get at Kiddy palace.

JTS, Toysrus having sale in United Square until Sun. Pretty good deals from their adv.

Also, Robinson n John Little having sale again including their baby section..

CG, if u took pics where my boy is inside, can u fwd to me pls.. thanks.. :D

Dolphingal, forgot to mentioned until 1 mommy mentioned abt nappy wif button. I used nappy wrap/protector wif velcro after a fren intro me. It suppose to hold the nappy, very useful. Choose plastic material with netting around as it is not too hot for ur baby bottom plus waterproof.

Char,

Sure will look forward to meet other mummies. Saw the past posts where u had meetings at the "Cafe" near SPH... it's just a stone throw away from my block. haha... staying at Blk 202.

Hi! 7/11, yeap we had gathering @ 2nd street cafe wif CG, Dolphingal and Miin. It was v enjoyable specially 1st met up. Hope to c u soon too.

hi Dor,
my fren recommended that i use pocket diaper. i browse thru e internet.. looks good but kind of exp..=P
time is getting short.. so fast left only 2 mths b4 my little one comes out. I've yet to give him a name..haha..any recommendations how to get a name?tks!! =)

<font color="0000ff">MTB</font>
What are the selective names you and your hb would like your son to have?
I name my girl "Natasha" - it means "Gift from God"
I had a terrible pregnancy, thank God for allowing me to carry her till full term.

<font color="0000ff">7/11</font>
Welcome to this thread!

<font color="0000ff">Miin</font>
After I upload the pics, will send it to you.

<font color="0000ff">Mummies</font>
Tomorrow will be another tiring day for me.
Got to wake up by 615am to get ready.
I'm bringing my girl for one day Batam trip together with my mother and sister.
Hope the weather would be good, and she does behave well so that I can eat and shop peacefully... hee hee!
These couple of days, she is not easy to handle at all.
One moment she is ok, the next moment she screams, cries loudly both at home and in the pulic.
Ask her what she really wants, refuses to tell me at all.
Almost drive us crazy.
I'm starting to envy FTWMs, at least don't have to face cranky bbs/toddlers for the 24/7

Welcome to all new mummies..

MTB, my gal is Aleesha (another spelling for Alicia). U can find some names and search for alternative spelling if u find it too common.

CG, thanks... brought my son to Thomas show on Sat and halfway thru, he wants to leave again.. sigh.. maybe the characters became too real to him so he's frightened..

U envy FTWM n I envy SAHM.. sigh.. when r we going to be contented.. haha.. my baby is going thru the phrase where she's refusing breastmilk except latch on to me. Now when I'm working, she doesn't drink milk at all.. makes me so worried. I can only latch on from evening to morning.

At times she also show tantrum during feeding by others. I guess they r just trying to remind us that they also have their moods. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that it's really only a phrase and it'll pass soon...

All mummies who r looking at Blk 200 infantcare.. I'm withdrawing my gal from there this month. Reason is bcos the principal is very sticky about medicine feeding. I had a lot of issues with her over this matter. Now my gal's teacher is also leaving. If you plan to put your baby there, pls observe carefully how other teachers treat the babies and ask about their rules and procedures thoroughly. Do question them if u r not convinced.

Dolphingal, dun nd to invest so much...go Kiddy Place will c quite a no.of choices costs only less then $10. Ask the sales staffs if u cant locate it. I enjoy during the time i am choosing a suitable name for my gal Chloe (in Greek means blooming). First of all bth of u hd to noe your preference to gv ur child English/Christian name starting wif which alphabet, how many syllabus etc. if you had these in mind is much easier. You may chk out these website for ideas. http://www.motherhood.com.sg/ or http://www.babycenter.com/. As for my gal chinese character i let 'you rong zhi' chinese geomancy to choose after birth.

CG, me too had a tiring weekend, Chloe fell sick, very clingy to me and refuses med sigh...! I fully undstd how u feel, i cant tk it jus for few days let alone u r tking care of her thru out but sometime u nd a breather as well if possible ask ur mom to tk over for awhile while u get some fresh air maybe thru a change of hand your gal may miss and appreciate u even more...Hope you have a good trip 2mrw(<_-)

hi cherry,
welcome!!!
wow!! twins! i wanted a pair of twins too.. but only got one.. =(
do u have any help?its tiring looking after them both rite?
how old are they now?

hi dor,
what is this 'you rong zhi'?english name alone i'm already big headed.. not to mention chinese name..hahah..my hub &amp; i have 2 names in mind.. but wld like to explore more.. will continue to keep looking.. tks alot!!

Dolphingal, 'You Rong Zhi' is quite famous others may call it 'lui long zhi'. If u intend to let a geomancy choose your child chinese name dun nd to think of any now coz most of the time wat u think of or want will not be suitable. Hence leave it to the expert heehee! Enjoy the process of choosing your child's name is not often u get to do this...

Hi Cherry,

I'm SAHM too. Have a 5 1/2 mth boy. How old are your twins? 2 boys must be a challenge at home

Dolphingal,
Take your time on your baby's name. When me &amp; my hubby decide on the name, we tell ourselves must chose properly, cos it will be stuck with him for life. Even his chinese name, the chinese character is something easy for him to write (dun sabo him, hee)

CG,
enjoy your trip!

MTB,
take your time to choose a name. i didnt name my gal until the day i was discharged as i had 2 names in mind but couldn't choose one between the 2. so i finally chose Leticia which means joy in latin. as for chinese name, i left it to my fil to choose for my gal.

cherry,
i'm a sahm with a 17mo gal. wow, twin boys, must be tiring huh?

We were out for more than 15hrs.
Went to Batam.
Surprisely and thank God, she behaves like an angel.
Never make a big fuss at all.

CG,
Perhpas Sha was excited about the Batam trip hence din throw tantrums. Glad to hear that everyone had a great time. Did u had a feast in the town? Heard things there are cheap and good.

Hi Char &amp; MTB Nov08, My twin is 4 year old with no help, but they are in child care in the day time so not that tired. Hope one day we can meet up.

CG, my company recently had a conference in COsta Sands Sentosa. They r having a construction right at the beach so u can hear all the ping-pong sounds. Very annoying actually. Ok if u can tune the sound out.

Btw, Kampung Huts are this huts without attached bathrooms. It's shared common bathrooms/toilets.

Hi anyone for the idea of meeting up on Hari Raya Puasa? It's Children's Day too huh..

However I can't offer my place as I'm staying with my parents and very messy. :p Any suggestions for a place to gather?

Anyone wanna meet up?

Date: 1 Oct (Wed)
Venue: suggestions?

1) Miin + kiddos
5)

Costa Sands also have the normal guest rooms with bathroom but condition not so good. THe corridors are very dim and doors very old. I think they really need some renovation. :p

CG, good to hear that u had a good trip. Think i won't have this kind of outing for a long time. i find myself rushing when i do shopping... Ha ha, there was once baby very cranky , then realize i forgot its his feeding time :p . So frantically searching for nursing room in the shopping mall.

Cherry, how long do u leave ur boys in childcare?