Tiong baru/telok blangah/bt merah 2006-2007 babies n mummies

jamci
oh Dr edmund is there? hey thanks for ur info! i was wondering where he had gone.. now can go back to him if there is a need to. I feel he is good. my son eat his medication and can recover. when my son eat the medication from the gp, does not seems to get well.

mink
no problem, hope to see u around soon!

weishy
i seems to have seen this uniform b4. is it the moral child development centre? its located at the block directly opposite tiong baru plaza.

Esther,

wow, you are a "Certified cow" leh... cos hv extra milk to store and give randall. dun be offended huh... Randall didn reject the BM due to the smell??

then u hv to consistently express the milk loh, else the supply will drop leh.

Weishy,
My boy is with sparkletots, telok blangah...

Regarding Dr Edmund Koh, I just brought my gal there, she is 3 weeks and has been there 3x already! The last time we went was this mon, his clinic was very crowded. Some parents had no places to sit even.

Esther - so good, you even hv extra to give your elder son! For me, I too lazy to express, as need to sterilise the bottles etc. I just bought the new Medela Freestyle pump, but have not used yet :p

Btw, has anyone brought your kids to Shanghai before? I may be going in early June, will be bringing my 3yr old and 2.5mth old gal along. Its my first time there. My hubby going there for work, so he asks me to tag along. However, I am still thinking as not sure if got nursing rooms there and besides shopping, what can I do? Appreciate any advice!

dr edmund koh is v good and detailed. he was in charge of my gal when she was warded last yr. v responsible and caring doc. *thumbs up*

Hi Ester,

How's yr confinement? Most likely can't make it on 25th. Will arrange to meet up with you other time. U take care!

Hi everyone, my 3yo son is in Apple Tree playgroup now. i m considering switching him to childcare, anyone has any good recommendations?

Ariel : i m oso in acctg line, but not a certified accountant. =) BTW, i m using Medela Freestyle - it's very good - effective & efficient!

mummies who are SAHMs, may i know what do u usually do with ur toddlers? i want to spend some quality time with my boy b4 my maternity leave ends, but dunno what to do.... hehe...

Jamci was saying Dc Edmund Koh is at family clinic opp tiong bahru plaza. Is it the one open till 12am clinic? Or the one beside the dental? Thanks for your advice in advance.

Ester,
Dun worry, everything will be over soon
It’s good that you have sufficient milk supply. I’ve no milk at all after I gave birth so cant breast feed

ariel
how come ur girl had been to pd 3 times already? i only brought ryan to see the pd once so far, that was the routine check up 1 week after he is born
i also been to shanghai b4 i got pregnant. quite a lot of food n shopping there, and thats mainly wat u can do. But, with ur 2 kids in tow, n ur hubby mainly working, i think its a bit hard to go anywhere by yourself lor. so prob u have to wait for ur hubby to be free then go out kai kai.

mink
no prob, see u another time

kwong
u'll be bringing ur girl to school till when? my confinement is ending next week, 25 april. then i can go out laio. wanna meet on the week after that date at the school? ur child half day rite?

jessica
no problem, see u another time

mist
ya lor, im a cow now. everyday express n express. if dont express, will be engorged leh.

gelato
come out with me??hehe... im a sahm to 2 kids. u just gave birth not too long ago, since u r now maternity leave? how many kids u have, n how old r ur kids? my kids are 2 yr old, and a new born

icey
yes, now is extremely boring at home doing confinement. sometimes i sneak out.. haha... shhhh...

Icey : Dr Koh is at Blk 18 Jln Membina - lvl 2 - The Family Clinic. My boy used to see him at Paediatric ctr, now he's seeing Dr Wong at the same clinic... actually i dun mind both doctors - both are ok to me. =)

Ester : where do u normally go? my boy is very very active, so i m very stressed when bringing him out... hehe... I gave birth in Jan, ML ending in less then 4 weeks. My kids are 7, 3 & NB. =)

Gelato - my elder gal also 3yr old but i send her to Chinese Kindergarten which i think is better than Appletree. No idea abt cc. Glad 2 hear the freestyle is gd as its very ex! will check with u if i got prob using it. R u also staying at Tiong bahru?

I try to find enrichment program for my elder gal. Weekday she attend sch, so weekend, i let her attend the Little neuro tree and also baking classes. I also looking for art class for her, anyone got any recommendation for 3 yr old? I tried asking the community centre, but they only accept 5yrs old and above.

Ester - 2x due to jaundice and 3rd time because her umblicial cord keep bleeding. Even now, its still bleeding, but less blood now.

Shanghai - is there any places for sight seeing or its really mainly for shopping? Any recommendation on hotel?

Ester
I am bringing her to school til next week only..
No worries, we can always arrange for meet-up : )
Still thinking whether to hold birthday celebration for my daughter in school this month

Ariel : Where is chinese Kindergarten located? how's the hours like? & the fees? Sure, i started using Freestyle extensively these few days, m quite impressed! =) Yes, me staying at Tiong bahru, shifted here more than a year ago =)

When my gal was 3yo, i sent her to Little Notes at Yamaha, i oso sent her to the library to learn reciting "san zi jing", but i hv stopped doing so since #2 came along.

Gelato - I am staying at Jln Membina, opp TB plaza, what abt u? Chinese kindergarten located at Outram, you know where Eton and YMCA are located? It just next to YMCA, the sch is inside the Jubilee church, the classrooms r big and spacious. They got an indoor playground. Morning session is 8.30am to 11.30am, think its $600 per term.

Wow, your oldest is already 7yrs old. which sch is he attending? how do you find the Little Notes? I ask Ashley if she wants to attend music, art or dance and she chose art, thats y i looking around for art class.

I used to bring ashley every week to the bukit merah library but hv stopped during my last trimester. I didn't know the library teaches the san zi jing, can i find out which library and when is that?

Kwong - theirs is bilinggual syllabus, Eng and Chinese. They are the oldest kindergarten in singapore. My gal speaks Eng at home, but at least now, she sings chinese songs that she learns in sch.

Ariel : Thanks for the info, does Chinese Kindergarten hv sch bus svc?
I m staying at Kim Tian, abt 10mins walk fm ur place... near Jln Bt Merah... we wanted to get a resale flat fm Jln Membina or Kim Tian Place, but prices was unaffordable... =)

My gal is schooling at Fairfield Methodist. As for Little Notes, if the kid likes to sing, then they'll enjoy. My gal loves singing, so we signed her up... she has since proceeded to Music wonderland, JMC & now JXC (new syllabus is called YJC). Oh, ur gal likes art? maybe can try Kinderart?

My gal used to attend san zi jing at the CCK library (we used to stay in Wdls). but hor, the course is not organised by the library, they only borrow the place fm the library to conduct the class. I can't rem who's the organiser, it was FOC, we only need to pay for the materials. I'll let u know if i recall the organiser's name, cos the last time my gal attended was in 2006. =)

ariel
my baby umbilical cord dropped off 1.5 week after he was born. we faithfully use the cord spirit, so the cord became very dry n came out very soon. His cord was super long, about 5cm, cos it was cut by my hubby..haha! my gynae pass the baby to him to cut the cord as a symbol of birth.
i m currently using this-Dr Johnson Slimming gel. my massage lady recommend to me. There is curently a BP going on for this:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2277205.html?1237668575
Its a hot sensation when u apply it on. The price is quite cheap too, only $15
u lost a lot of weight already? still have how many more to go?

gelato
normally i hang around tiong baru, or go to orchard area, as its so near our places. If tiong baru, it will be at tiong baru plaza. if orchard, it will be paragon, taka, john little etc..
maybe we can meet up at tiong baru plaza for a coffee n chat for a start, then if ur boy fuss, can quickly go home.. hehe..

Ariel, then the school is not suitable for my daughter cos she speaks Mandarin at home.. wanted her to speak more English..

Ester, did you put your son for any enrichment?

gelato
the new Dr WOng at the pediatric clinic, does he charge about the same price as Dr Edmund? My hubby always complain that the PD earn big money in their jobs. I mean no choice leh, our kids are sick, what to do?
i tell him, next time ask our kids be PD when they grow up, haha

kwong, miorei
little neuro tree is a neuro-Linguistic Brain Development Programme . its conducted in 3 languages, eng, mand, japanese.
hey there is a free trial now. i think u can attend free 3 lessons.

check out this website for the free trial lessons ( I am not sure whether its still available)
http://littleneurotree.com/

for school enrichment, i wanted to let him attend a drama class, but he is quite young, only 2 yr old. michelle also said recommend to attend when he is a bit older, so i just wait for a while first

miorei
i attended a free trial kindermusik lesson b4, not bad i feel. maybe next time when his little neuro tree lessons finish, might change him to another school, lest he gets bored . also heard "growing up gifted" is not bad, there is a new outlet at suntec.

Ester : oh sure, maybe we can meet up aft ur confinement. =)

Ya, Dr Wong charges the same as Dr Koh. $50 for 1st time consultation & subsequently $40. Medicine wise, Dr Koh like to give very small bottles, but Dr Wong gives full bottle. For eg, Dr Koh gave my son 30ml of Colimix & charged us $3, but Dr Wong gives 90ml & charge $9. I m ok with both of them cos' they dun give antibiotics unless really necessary. Haha, i agree all these specialists charges are very high (not juz PD)... i was telling my daughter to become a dentist... haha...

MLB : Little notes is by Yamaha. can chk out their webby. =)

kwong : how old is ur gal? actually i speak Mandarin with my kids too. 1 reason is bcos my MIL is mandarin speaking & she's the main caregiver, another reason is, i think kids hv all the time to learn English in sch. My gal can only speak Mandarin & understand a lil English when she attends nursery, but she picks up English very quickly fm her classmates. so, no need to worry.... Oh btw, i deliberately sent her to a church kindy, so the environment is more English based. Then when she was in K2, i let her attend church Kindy in the morning & PAP Kindy in the afternoon - to hv different exposure... =)

MLB - no waitlist as not many people is aware there is a sch there. you can call to speak to the principal if you are interested. 62219862

kwong - they also hv Eng lesson. As my gal speaks Eng at home, so its more obvious when she started singing in chinese. She also sings Eng songs.

Ester - Actually the first time we brought her to see Dr Edmund, he actually lifted up the umblical cord to clean for her and he was a bit rough when he did that. That afternoon, the cord drop off, however, it was not completely dry yet. As such, it keeps bleeding till now. Your gynae is very cute, let your hubby cut the cord.

Is the slimming cream effective? think i hv abt 5kg to go. What abt u?

I tried the trial class at GUG. I feel the zoophonics is good but the chinese portion is very short, i think only 30min.

Gelato - yes, the chinese kindergarten has sch bus service. Maybe we can meet up, together with Ester, after our confinement is over at TB plaza.

esther,

ic. thks for the info. will chk out little neuro tree. btw the slimming gel will work on stubborn fats anot? my gal is 16 mths liao. i've alot to lose... (cos b4 delivery, mi not slim to begin wif) :p

gelato,

thks. will chk that out too.

ariel,

thks.
my gal's only 16mths now but seems like i nd to source for a kindergarten soon... faintz... such is the pace of life in SG as a parent... *scary*

miorei
erm, not sure whether the gel works on stubborn fats or not?? anyway i also got a lot of stubborn fats.. haha

ariel
wah u only 5 kg to lose?? i got 7-8kg more to lose, faintzz
u put on little only during ur preg?
ye, lets meet up after confinement. in fact today i went tb plaza to walk around. then had ajisen for dinner. hehe..
do u eat those confinement food? i eat the black chicken soup stewed with hard liquor 3 times a week cos my mum says must eat.

the chinese kindergarten accept kids from how old?got playgroup?

enrichment classes
which is better,zoophonics sch or GUG?
any 1 send kids to shichida?which branch better?

weight
heard from my colleague accupunture is good,but i dun dare to try,scared of pain

esther,
haha. i noe wat u mean. am trying balo cream (from spree) but it makes me scratch my skin alot cos mayb too burning. will this gel have the same effect too?

miorei
i tried this Dr johnson cream, and find it ok. not itchy kind, but then again, it depends on ur skin reaction to it.

Ester - I put on 15kg during pregnancy, what abt u? I think if we continue to bf, our weight will come down sooner or later. My sis, she is skinner than when she was pregnant becoz of bf, she said only the 2nd and 3rd mth then she started to lose more weight. I rem after 1mth, she still plump. now she is very slim.

During my malay massage, mdm Ros put this super hot cream on my tummy, she said the cream is from Thai. Anyway, its so hot that i hv to "beat" my tummy, thereafter, i told her to just use a little bit. Guess I cannot tahan, she said some of her customers even ask her to put more!!

My mum is doing my confinement and so far, i haven't eaten outside food. U so fast started eating outside?

hellokitty - GUG has zoophonics in their syllabus i.e. they teach the alphabet via the zoophonic way. I not sure abt zoophonic sch though. My sis send her son to the tanjong pagar shicida for 1yr. From what i observe, her son likes to look at flash cards now and abt to focus more.

Hellokitty- the chinese kingerdarten accept kids fr 3yrs old, this is pre-nursery class.However, my gal started attenging when she was 2.5yrs old as they opened an earlier class last yr. They may do the same this yr, best to ask the principal, Mrs Wong.

Ester, Ariel,
Hiya, have been reading the thread but never post. My girl was born on 28th March, so she's 3 weeks now. I'm having the same problem as u all, baby only wants to be carried to sleep and will open her eyes big big the moment i put her on the bed. I was so tired and stressed that I actually cried last night... haha.

Milk supply is good compared to my first one. The first one i cried over not enough milk... haha. This one, can store some more. I haven't let my elder one try the milk cos I staying with my mother after I was discharged from hospital, due to the c-sect wound and scared my elder boy will jump on me. But i'm going back tonight already cos i miss him and my wound is much better already.

Ariel,
I also looking for a school for my 2.5yr old boy. That chinese kindy sounds good. Will call the principal to find out. He speaks only english at home.

I just finished my massage sessions today. Can't wait to lose weight. I'm actually only 2 kg from my pre-pregnancy weight cos i only put on 7kg from this pregnancy. But I'm dying to go back to my pre pre pregnancy weight, so i have another 5kg to go.

Ariel,
I just called Mrs Wong, she suggested that my son goes for the second session 1145 to 245 one cos the group smaller and children younger. Will visit them after my confinement and maybe join them in term 3 in June.

chocbabe
hey welcome back...so u managed to keep ur baby inside tummy till ur hubby finish his exams.. cool!
ur baby only 4 days away from mine and ariel's! its very normal la, they wan to b caried all the time, n once we put on cot, they will wake. I tried placing my baby in the stroller, and stroll him to sleep. it works! haha.. then when he is asleep, just let him lie there, dont move him out.
aiyo u only put on 7kg! so envious. i put on 17!

ariel
i put on 17kg leh.. so much right? but my 1st boy i also put on 17 kg, then lost all in about 7-8 mths time. Needs a long time to lose it .

Hi chocbabe,

Its normal for baby to want to be carried. I suggest you can rotate carrying her with your mum, hubby or whoever is able to help. I normally hv my mum, maid and hubby to help so I no need to carry her all by myself. Also, our hormones will drop after delivery, so more prone to "depression", so do try to rest more during the confinement period.

During my first delivery, I also had a bit of blues as I lost alot of blood and was very weak, cannot stand for more than 5min, else feel breathless and want to faint. I was also struggling wih bf then, so all these cause me to feel very down. This time round, I din hv the blues as my delivery was smoother and more experienced at bf.

So good, you only hv 2kg to go!!
Glad to hear you got a place for your child in Chinese Kindergarten.

Ester - i also gained 17kg during my first pregnancy but managed to lose them before I go back to work (3mths). AM thinking if shld sign up for pilates class as I think this is very gd for firming tummy muscles. Any mummies hv taken pilate before and where is gd place to sign up?

ariel
i have send u a pm, pls take a look

wah u lost weight so fast?? u r the slim kind ? im the bui kind, so lose weight needs lots of effort n time! hee..

ariel
can gime ur email add instead, cos sometimes pm doesnt work. i always pass the pass to my maid to handle when i cannot take the fussing, crying n feeding. Its needed to maintain my sanity!