Support group - Miscarriages

Hi hi.. Me still ard!! Just tat as i had started work, so very busy!!
Hope everyone is doing fine and wish to hear some gd news!!

hi pochacco,
sorry to hear about your loss.

need to take food with ginger and sesame oil, and no cold drinks - need to "warm" up the body after the m/c.
try boiling red dates water to drink also.

Sorry haven't been posting as much these days. The truth is I haven been well since I came back from my haematologist's appt last Monday.

I went to a haematologist in Mt E, she did not give me any confidence that something can be discovered out of this and recommended somemore detailed blood tests. But as you know Mt E's fees can be quite killing, so I decided to go to a haematologist in SGH to get the blood tests done. Moreover if I can get a GP to refer me to SGH, I can claim from my company.

The thing is in Singapore, ppl are not interested in researching on recurrent pregnancy losses, the docs will just ask you to try again, like as if you are a guinea pig. I read that in US and UK, they have facilities that researches on recurrent miscarriages and losses, in fact there are a number of ppl suffering the same as me over there and getting treatment. So if nothing comes up from the blood tests here in SG, I dunno if I should take it further overseas, or just follow what my gynae said to deliver at 34 weeks. My hubby prefers to follow what my gynae said, as he said what if I go overseas to seek treatment but yet cannot find and somemore spend alot of $$$. Anyway I will just take the blood test first, later then think abt it.

Actually I am now at home. Things has not gone well since I came back from the haematologist's appt, I felt quite despondent and hopeless, moreover last monday I just started 24x7 on call support. After all the worrying on monday plus being on standby mode at night, I kenna fever the next day. weak hor? So I was on MC yesterday and today.

Hi Pochacco,
I'm sorry to hear abt your loss. Lots of rest and relax is what you need to prepare for next pregnancy. Of course you can take things like tang kwei and black chicken soup to "bu" your body.

hi joyce,
Its really not easy having to take care of your bb and your boy plus handling conflicts with mil and sil. Recently my relationship with my mil also not too good (I can even dream of her scolding me!) so can understand how you feel. If you need to vent your anger, just vent it out here. Treat us like your mil and sil, scold all you want!!!

Hi to hamasaki, lyn, sunny and the rest!! Hope you all have a great day!

hi bluebells, Ocean and joyce.... Nice to hear from U all...

Ocean, yup hope more good news flooding this thread again... How's Cherish now...

Joyce, what happened between U and ur MIL and SIL... care to share... izzit problems becos of baby Jonas or some others... Hope U're feeling better now...

Hi blue bells, wow lah... Shout... ahahhahha... How are U....

Sad to hear of what happened to U pochacco... Take care...

hi Java, nice to hear of U... but at the same time, feeling sad to hear that U're not feeling well past few days and is feeling down and depressed...

Do take some time to consider abt the seeking treatment in overseas... No that cheap leh their fees are in US and UK....

Pls take care of urself and dun think too much or worry too much... It hurts ur health and body... And hope ur relationship between you and ur MIL will improve...

Hi Pochacco, sorry to hear of your loss. Take care and God Bless.

Hi Java, I too feel that Gynaes can be quite insensitive. It is not easy to just keep on trying, we are not machines.... But you shld discuss with your HB and come to a common ground b4 you start your next step. Giving birth at 34 wks is still ok I guess, coz mine was at 35 wk. And he is like most other kids, ok. Take care and have Faith. Believe in God, and he will lead you the right path. God Bless!

hi pochacco
sorry to hear that. what bluebell said was the things that i did after my d/c. and i am told not to take cold stuff for 3 months, too. meanwhile, rest and eat well.

hi java
agree with yasmin that should discuss with your hb 1st. take care and maybe there are other nice gynaes around in s'pore. sorry, can't help you much but only lend you my good pair of ears.

<font color="0000ff">Hi pochacco,</font>
Pls be strong *pat pat*. Glad that you're looking ahead and planning.... My personal opinion is to seek a chinese physician's view. Let him check &amp; take your pulse &amp; see what herbs he can prescribe to help strengthen your womb &amp; body. On top of that, take good food &amp; balance diet.

<font color="119911">Joyce &amp; Java,</font>
MIL, SIL conflicts etc.....I can understand too, cos my MIL is not an easy person either. We are not in good terms since from day 1 I got married!

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Java,</font>
I can understand how you feel.... I also agreed with the rest, you &amp; your hubby discuss on it &amp; have common grounds. Then plan next step. All the best to u!

yasmin - thanks. i'm alright liao but sometimes abdominal feeling uncomfortable. Oso pls forgive me for replying late cos i'm working n chat at the same time. (sometimes boss around not convenient to chat)

Hi people, I was at this website to prepare for my wedding three years ago, ocean...I wonder if u still remember me...Now I am back hoping to find emotional support, &amp; I am so consoled I found this thread ... I lost my bb at 21 weeks, went for induced labour 2 weeks ago. Quite tramatic but it was nothing compared to the heartache. Like most of u, no reasons even when mine was a 2nd trimester lost. I have accepted it as a stroke of bad luck and hope to try again soon. But like all of you, I am naturally worried. Went to Mt E for GTT today, I guess it won't be the answer too.

hi hamasaki,
yes... i hear you "shouting" for me...?!
i'm good.. looking 4ward to the end of the day.. and it's long long wkend! yeah!

hi confused gal,
hope u r feeling okie.
do rest well...
watcha mean by your abdominal feeling uncomfortable? having cramps or pain?

hi sunny,
i didn't know that can't take cold stuff for 3 months! oh dear.. i've gone back to my old self.. cold drinks and ice cream!

hi java,
hope u r feeling better now.
dun b without hope.
is ur gynae expert in the high-risk pregnancy cases?
i agree with you.. i read books which seem that gynaes in UK and America are more concerned abt recurrent miscarriages. they even have workshop where they take extreme care of the lady.
perhaps you could exhaust all resources locally 1st b4 u explore overseas?

hi Droopy Eyes,
yup.. this thread has also consoled me at my downs.
it's the place where i find many others who understand what i had gone thru n wif their success stories, i am building up my confidence again with life.

do come by and share watever you feel, with us. regardless if it's happiness, sorrows, joys..etc.
This goes out to you gals out there 2...
Our shoulders r broad enough 4 all...

bluebells

hi droppy eyes, this thread is where I gain support and strength from all the wonderful ladies here when I had a miscarriage some time back... These wonderful ladies helped me to pull myself back...

I'm so sorry to hear that This had happened to U... Do come to this thread to share with us...

hi bluebells, yeah a long weekend yah... With an extra Fri as a holiday... Yipee...

Yup, lookin at the pics of the little ones gives me alot of hope.
I heard I can only take "bu" after all the bleeding/brownish discharge stops. But it's a bit frustrating...seems to stop but when I walk more, the discharge increases again. Anyone knows if I can take "Bu" now?

Hi Droopy Eyes

Same as you, I've lost my bb but I'm in my full term at 38th week. She was entangled by her cord and then brain damage.
I know it's difficult to let go but pls try to do so.. dear

Besides, I'm now a happy mummy to two boys aged 2 yrs plus and a 4 weeks old baby. When I'm preggy with my 3rd child (my current baby), I've to monitor his movement whole day long and I found it so stressful... cos I'm afraid that same thing will happen to me. Anyway, I have passed the ordeal already, so can you. Hang in there

Thks Joyce &amp; Bluebell. Yeah, I believe the real challenge is overcoming the stress in the subsquent pregnancy. Nevertheless, I am looking forward to it.
I am feeling better now, don't wanna add stress to my hubby &amp; our parents. So glad I can talk to u gals.

Hi Droopy eyes,

sorry to hear about your loss. I lost my baby at 23 weeks, due to waterbag burst prematurely. When I was preg again, my current gynae thinks that it is because of gestational diabetes that caused me to go into early labour. I guess that is why your doc wants you to go thru GTT. I am skeptical that Gestational Diabetes was the cause of my loss for the first preg but took extra care in managing the gestational diabetes in the next preg and now, my girl is almost 1 month old.

Sometimes, we might have to accept the 'no answer' as an answer although it can be difficult. Hope you will find strength by coming here to share your emotions and feelings. I did a mini confinement immediately after the loss and took all the necessary confinement food etc. I did not wait for the discharge to stop. The discharge will prob last 3-6 weeks.

folic

Hi bluebells

Its like the feeling of dropping out (paiseh! i dont know how to explain) when too cooling our abdominal feeling ucomfortable. u get wat i mean?
me too start to take cold stuff liao. (cant tahan cos weather very hot)

Droopy eyes- so sorry to hear taht. u take care yeah! nevermind, we'll try again. i'm oso the same leh, after my D &amp; C operation, i was resting at home (seldom walk) and my bleed little n when i started to walk a few days later, my menses a lot non stop. So dont walk too much

Gals- gal pls forgive me if i reply late cos i work n chat at the same time.

Droopy eyes - yah! i think u can take bu now but better check with your gynae first (for my case i was told not to take any herbs during that time) i only eat those (chick with ginger and sesame oil, liver, kidney, birdnest soup adn red date drink)
me too, try to be strong in front of my hubby n family. (sometimes i cry secretly)

Hi Confused,
Sorry about your loss. How many weeks were you and what were the symptoms leading up to the loss? Was there bleeding &amp; cramping? What did the Gynae measure/check before confirming that you had to do a D&amp;C?

Hope you are able to go through a "proper" confinement period to regain physical strength and also a time of letting go.

Hi Droopy,
Sorry too to hear about your loss.
Was yours a routine checkup at 21 weeks or you experienced bleeding 1st then went to Gynae?
Was your prior visit the routine one at 14 weeks?What did the Gynae measure/check before confirming that you had to do a D&amp;C?

Do continue to be positive (your life is in God's good hands) &amp; yet be patient for time to heal.

Thks gals ... &amp; Folic, thks for sharing. U give me hope. Yes, I have learnt to accept "no answer" as the answer.
Actually, my gynae dun even think I need to take confinement food. It's my in-law and mum who insist I go on a full confinement. Managed to "negotiate" for a 3 weeks confinement. Then I start "bu" now, hopefully all will prepare me for a healthy bb.
warmglow, mine was a silent m/c. No bleeding, no discharge. I could feel my bb tiny movements every day fr 4th mth onwards. So I was worried when he went quiet all of a sudden. I went to my gynae, &amp; she confirmed the worst. I hv friends who are not even aware of their bb's movements at 5th month. Maybe I more sensitive. My prior visit was at week 19. Detailed scan confirmed everything was fine. Gynae did chk for heartbeat. I did not do a D&amp;C... mine was induced labour.

Yes <font color="119911">Droopy Eyes</font>,
263856.gif
i still remember u! I thot ur name sounds familiar and if i am not wrong, we r talking abt Renovation previously right? And u have been giving me advices!
Hmmm... sort of feeling sad to see u here...
263857.gif
but hope u r gradually feeling better!

I dun noe, for me, i will take Esse of Chicken daily and only take DOM after i finished all those medicine. In the meantime, drink those water boiled with red dates and logan. Good to clear wind frm our body!

Oh, please, please do rest well
263858.gif
and dont move alot. Actually, i think u shld start to "bu" now and dun drink cold water hor!

<font color="aa00aa">Confused</font> and <font color="0077aa">Pochacco</font>, , sorry abt ur loss!
263859.gif

<font color="aa00aa">Confused</font>, is ur tummy still feeling uncomfortable? If it is very painful, do go back for check-up again! Take care hor!

<font color="119911">Java</font>, when r u going to see haematologist in SGH? Maybe u wait till after this test, then decide what is the next course of action! In the meantime, kuai hor, must try to rest well and drink more water!
263860.gif

warmglow - Abt 2 months. when i went for my 2nd n 3rd checkup gynae keep telling me cant see clearly n i have no symptom at all (no bleeding or discharge) then i began to gan cheong liao so in the end doctoe ask me whether i want to go for blood test so that i know the result faster n i go ahead. Then i seek for 2nd opinion n my new gynae told me actually my fetus stop growing in week 6 . he told me i'll start to bleed in abt 10 days time.

Hi Oceans ...to be frank, I forgot what we were talking abt...heh heh...but u are always so chirpy &amp; yr messages are always filled with so many lively graphics that I remember u. My heart really aches when I 1st saw yr name in this thread too but as I follow the thread, I realise u are one of the successful brave mummies &amp; I feel so so so happy for u. I m taking those red dates drink daily n double boiling some "bu pin" every alternate day. I am afraid it will be too heaty if I take daily...even though people say after going thro this, the body will not be too heaty...I dunno ... will try out first...

Hi Confused, sorry cld not post earlier. Was fire fighting..... Take care Gal. U will surely get through.

Ladies, I feel soooooo sad when I read all the posting of your M/C.
263952.gif

I somehow feel, why God has to give us the pleasure of experiencing this joy only to take it away from us and in place give us such grivence. But I know I shld not blame Him. All this is pre-planned.
I am sure Mother Mary felt the same way when Jesus was crucified. It is Holy week, let us all pray together.
263953.gif

Lord, hear our prayers and bring us joy in knowing You. Help us heal our aching hearts. Guide us and also guide our 'unborn children'.
263954.gif

yasmin, that's was so sweet of U....

I agree that this are all pre-planned and there's nothing for us to do...
Just hope Heaven will be kind to us to bless us with our little of bundle of joys soon...

btw, I find ur graphics icons are cute and funny..
263973.gif

Hi Droopy eyes, I did the confinement thing for almost 2-3 weeks as well, taking all those red dates tea and sesame/ginger stuff. I know that it can be tough/depressing to do all those confinement stuff when there is no baby around. Hang in there ok? Those stuff are good for you.

folic

Hi Gals ... thks Folic, I m coping. I will 'bu' as much as my body can take.

I do agree with u, Yasmin...going to Mt E used to be so exciting and fun coz I can see my bb growing bigger n bigger. Now, it's just a dull sad feeling to be there. How to include those lively icons to make my posting look less depressing?

hi droopy eyes, confused
sorry to hear about your loss.....

btw, other than asking myself to look forward to the next pregnancy and cheer up, i can't do anything about my sadness. so, hope you gals don't give up.

and i started eating ginger + sesame oil cooked food after d/c. and the vinegar food after 1 week. and also ba zhen. and i went to chinese sinseh to get 'bu' medicine, though i didn't know what medicine he gave me. hahaha.... but so far, the 2 menses that i had were regular as b4 pregnancy.

bluebell
ya, that's my sinseh's advise on not to taking cold stuff. so, for the sake of my body, i just obey loh. hmmm... i miss my favourite ice cream. oh well, i still have another 3 weeks then i can take cold stuff again. yippee!!! counting down, counting down....

<font color="0000ff">Droopy Eyes</font>, sort of glad that u r coping with the loss
Heh...actually i was trying to recall wat we r previously chatting abt!
Then i recalled that u r the one who introduce the curtain maker in geylang, right?
I had mixed feeling meeting u here!

No, i am not brave....
but it did help with the gals here supporting me to go thru those day!
Cos they understand how i feel and we can related....

Our body is considered very "liang" after M/c. So unless if u r still taking those medicine, then u can take "bu" thing! Surprisingly is that we wun feel very heaty! Try to rest
kao_sleep.gif
as much as u can and sleep more. Do a mini confinement like wat <font color="ff6000">Folic</font> said!

<font color="aa00aa">Confused</font>, for some pple, they actually spring into action
after their bleeding stopped!
For me, i wait after my 1st AF arrived!

Hi Hamasaki, Thanks.

Hi Droopy Eyes, you've got to download the icons and then click on the 'Upload Attachment' below and click on 'browse' to get your file. 'Open' it and then give it a name under 'Type a description of your attachment' and click on 'Upload'. Try it and have fun surfing for cute icons. BTW, if you like any of the icons the ladies have attached, you can left click on them and save them.

Ladies, yesterday my son was saying 'I want baby'. I feel so sad, that I cant give him a baby now.... People keep saying that it is not good to just have 1 child, children from 1 child families grow up with selfish needs and wants, blah blah blah. I feel like telling them its not that we do not want to have more kids. And I dont believe that my kid will be selfish and whatever -ve thingy. Cos, I make him share his food and other things that cld be shared with his dad and myself. If my parents and siblings are around, I make him share with them too. So, I dont see how, he wld be growing up to be selfish and other things that they say. Infact, mine is a bit 'soft' in the sense that he is easily 'bulliable' cos he always give in to others especially other kids. Kids just come up to him and snatch things from him and he will just smile back at them. I am actually very proud of him and love him alot.
264185.gif

i have not told that having one kid will make that kid selfish... If U have taught him the right ways and values, that's the most important thing enough....

Ur son is so good towards others... That's really good...

Guess those people are trying to sound U out, by asking u to give birth again...

Take care yasmin and hope God Bless U...

Thks yasmin, now I can have expressions
264273.gif

We really can't stop people fr commenting, some meant well, some just didn't see the whole pic. My hubby has a friend who chaffeurs his son everywhere. People used to think he pampers his son too much. Later, they realise, he has this son after his wife suffers few m/c, naturally they will be very protective.
Agree wif hamasaki that what is impt is u hv taught him well n he is not selfish. People tend to stereotype so dun take it to heart.
Ocean, wrong again... my curtains are not fr Geylang
264274.gif
We were either at the Nov 2002 brides thread or the Orchard Mandarin thread. Anyway, let's not rack our brains heh heh ...
264275.gif

Btw, when can I stop using those herbal water to bathe? I dun wanna smell like a walking potpourri when I return to the office.
264279.gif
&amp; sunny, I heard abt "bazhen" but where can I buy it &amp; how to cook?

Oops..<font color="0077aa">Droopy Eyes</font> wrong again???
kao_love.gif
But the both suggestion given also wrong leh.. Aiya.... agreed with u that we shldn't crack our brain on this!

As for the herbal bath, as mine was a 1st trimester loss,
I did a 2wks mini confinement. So, after the two weeks, i just bath in normal hot water!
But for urs, suggest either u do a 3wks, or else maybe jus a one mth confinement.

When r u going back office?
kao_confused.gif

<font color="aa00aa">Yasmin</font>, dun feel so sad! When pple say having only one child will be selfish one, cos i think parents tend to pamper the only kid more! But since u have been teaching ur son well,
and u r proud of him, jus dont bother what they say!

Ocean, guess it will be a mystery then...
264455.gif

I will be back the week after next...actually my tummy not very obvious at 5 mths so aside from colleagues from my dept, dunno if other people will know or not. I often imagine, if people who dun know abt my m/c call me "Da Tu Po" again, how shld I answer them.
264456.gif
But I m sooo bored with my mini confinement, I can't wait to be back to the office.
264457.gif

Just ignore them. I remember when I had my m/c, a colleague asked if I was pregnant again upon my returning back to office after medical leave plus own leave. I was very hurt by her remarks but I just ignored her and laugh it off.

Thanks gals.

ocean - oic. But I was told that our menses will not come regularly the following mth?

yasmine - Don be sad yeah! i agree with the gals saying that its actually the teaching. Your boy boy is very guai1.

gals - i'm extremely hurt inside. yesterday i had a quarrel with my SIL, SIL call me bui3 ji1 - in hokkien (fat pig) My MIL didnt know that i'm pregnant n when for D &amp; C. Do u think i should tell her.

hi ,
Saw some new gals in this thread. So sad but not to worry..... just have to "collect" back your emotions. Allow yourself sometime to pour out your grief here.... you'll get lots of comfort here. Then, when you are mentally and physically ready again you can start your TTC plan.

Hi folic,
Aiyo, need your lao da jie advice again liao. Went for my check up today. And also went for my blood test for sugar level today...My gynae weighted my girl... she's 552g leh!! Gynae says I might have GD due to my family history and infection occurrance but still have see what is my blood and urine test results..

Just in case hor it's really GD.... I'll be seeing a dietician very soon... but meantime can you let me know what sort of food I should avoid? My gynae says not to worry too much as 20-30% of pregnant woman do have GD. But I'm realy KS lor. Thank you so much.

miao2

<font color="0077aa">Droopy Eyes</font>, surprisingly, we forgot wat we chat abt
but we still remember each other!!

U bored with ur mini-confinement??
kao_confused.gif
Actually, that time, i did a 2 wks one also felt very bored!
talker.gif
Everything also cannot do and cannot eat!
But never once did i think of going back office!
Me very lazy!! Maybe u can read some books or watch VCD? But remember, u r supposed to rest alot! Guai hor, <font color="0000ff">Ocean Jie Jie</font> sanyang you!

As for those who noe that u r preggie before, jus tell them it's over!
Actually, i think they will feel worse than u cos they noe that they said the wrong thing! But if there r some kpo one who r so insensitive and ask u y... just give them the sad look!
You dun hv to tell them if u dun want!
talker.gif

<font color="aa00aa">Confuse</font>, after M/c, for some, our AF became haywire. For me, as i was those who had very irregular menses previously, i think mine became more regular!

I know it is easy to say ignore wat others said, but no matter wat, u will feel hurt by some comments made, such as ur SIL. I think that is a crude word to use the "ji1"!
That was bad of her, but as long as u noe y u put on weight, it doesnt matter to explain. Dont be so sad hor!!

As for tellin MIL abt it, i think u had to decide for urself. It really depends on ur MIL's character. That time, my MIL noe tat i was preggie and had lose the BB. Although she meant well, but i felt very hurt when she commented "Y i din take care of myself" something like that.
So to me, the lesser pple noe, the better! It save me the trouble to "entertain" them!

yes Confues, i fully agree with what Ocean had said....

What ur SIL had said do really pissed me off... that's a cruel word that she used to say U... a

and I pesonally felt that Ocean said do make sense, the lesser people get to know, the less trouble U can save from explaning to them...

Do take care...

Thank u ocean jie jie, u so cute
264496.gif
I try to sleep but can't...so I surf &amp; surf &amp; watch TV loh...think I can memorise the schedule for the cable programmes on Ch 52, 55 &amp; 56 liao. I wanna return to work so that life will be back to 'normal', staying at home makes me feel depressed
264497.gif

Confuse, that's very rude of yr SIL!
264498.gif
Ignore her, it only reflects badly on herself. Like what Ocean says it depends on yr MIL. Mine asked my hubby the usual questions like did we shift any furniture in the house, did I fall? But overall, she is very concerned about my health, bought alot of "bu Pin" for me &amp; told me not to think too much. I m quite consoled she did not blame me loh.

ocean, hamasaki n droopy eyes - thanks for the advise but in my life i've not been insulted. Actually yesterday my PIL n SIL attack/scold my hubby n i cant tahan so i scolded them. To be frank, they never treat me as a family member (yesterday then i realise tis)and she even chase us out (the house is actually own by by hubby n he pay everthing, FIL only pay very very very little $ for the hse). (SIL n MIL not working)
And i've a feeling that the are laughing behind my back (calling my pig)

Sorry gals for telling u my problem, i'm already very upset abt the loss (although i look strong deep inside my heart i still cant get over the bb)