Support group - Miscarriages

hi worried mum, wish that everything is gonna be alright for U and baby... keep us update and God bless...

hi lyn, dun be upset with ur hubby... I'm sure God will bless U with a little one... Be patient and always stay positive...

lyn,
countdown for your trip! yippee...
dun stressup abt Bbdance... make it a loving time - just for you and HB.
btw, wat's the injection u going 4 that would stop AF for 6 mths?

hi worried mum,
dun b a worried mummie okie. stay cool... BB can feel it.

maybe ur date might have been a little mixed up and bb is 'younger' than u think? might b less than 5 wks?

all the best in ur checkup...

come in and chat with us when u r free... we help you relieve some stress away...

Hi sunny,
Appreciate the contact of sinseh. Thanks.

Hi worried mum,
everything will be fine, stay positive and try not to worry too much. God Bless!

Hello gals,
Thank you... I will enjoy the trip
I have planned to spend 2 days on a lake. 19 hours more to board the plane
hehe... If I am early at the airport tomolo morning, and manage to get internet access, I will drop in for a while...
261005.gif

Bluebells,
The course of injections consists of 3 injections, one per month
It's suppose to reduce the size of the endometriosis that are on my fallopian tube/s (I dunno whether it's one side or both). My gynae said I was very lucky to have got pregnant last time with endo and fibroids
I read about gaining weight after taking these injections, but my gynae said he guarantee I wun put on weight le... hehe... vain hor?
261006.gif

Hi Hi all,

Hee, I am so happy to be in this thread. I have so many friends giving my support. Of cos I will hope for the best and I hope bb will also grow with me in this thread.

Mmmm...feel a little nausea when I woke up from my nap earlier.

Lyn, hope you will enjoy your trip. I must make sure my hubby brings me to a trip after the baby is bornt.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Lyn,</font>
Aiyah....I think all women want to stay young &amp; beautiful....so dun say yourself vain lah...

When u coming back? We'll miss u....and your trademark....bon voyage to u &amp; take care!!

All women on this earth wants to be pretty and with a good figure.... so U're not alone... and dun say urself vain lah...

Have a nice trip....
261029.gif

Hi worried mum,

haha.. it's good to feel nausea... which means baby is growing well.. kekeke... Some of the gals here were worried when they did not have bad nausea during their pregnancy
261032.gif

Meanwhile stay positive and rest well ok?
261033.gif

Hey, when your pregnancy stabilise, also can go somewhere near...
261034.gif
. Actually bring baby for travelling oso not bad...
261035.gif
I have seen ang mos backpacking with their cute babies around Europe! Hubby carry the big big backpack, then mummy carry baby.

Hi Worried Mum,

Try occupy yourself with other things and avoid thinking or worrying too much about it. Guess staying positive will help with the growth of the little life inside you. Perhaps now is really too early to tell anything. Relaxxxx....

Hi Lyn,

What sort of injection did your gynae recommended you? My gynae did advise me last time that taking medicine or injection for endo. will have side effects like gaining weight, acne/pimple breakout, hormonal changes, etc.

Can i check whether you are trying for the 2nd child cos you mentioned last time when you got pregnant...your gynae mentioned that the endo. has affected the chances you will conceive? How long have you being trying?

For my case, as the gynae suspected that my endo. is at the back of the womb. So he was advising me not to try as the endo. condition may affect the quality of my eggs...your gynae did not say anything about that??

Hi starlite,

I got pregnant and lost the pregnancy cos the fibroids grew too big and too fast.

My gynae suggested GnRH Agonists. The actual name of the injections, I do not know. There are 4 types of GnRH agonists available. When I surf the web, all mention that weight gain is one of the side effects, but the side effects can be reduced by another type of therapy while on the course of injections. What I know is that the injections are very expensive (will cost me more than 1k) cos these drugs are used in IVF.

I had myomectomy. During the surgery, my gynae saw endo on my fallopian tubes
. Becos it's on the fallopian tube, it will affect my chances of getting pregnant. Cos the fertilised egg need to travel down the tube to be implanted in the uterus.

Do you mean that your gynae ask you not to try to conceive? My gynae did not say that endo will affect the quality of my eggs. I dare not ask a lot of questions when I saw my gynae. In my last appointment, I only asked about the risks of recurrence (fibroids and endo) in future pregnancies. It's not very positive though. I try to take one bad news at a time. The injections will reduce the risk of recurrence. The chances of fibroids recurring are high for me, cos all of them have "roots"
. I had alarmingly 12 fibroids. I am sure they grew during the pregnancy. Cos my scan at 5 weeks pregnant, only got 2 fibroids. Then scan at 6 weeks, become 6. Then scan at 8 weeks, become more than 6. Then surgery, gynae found 12!

k k... I am going out liao.. Going to Bugis "guan yin miao" bai bai for peace of mind. Last time, I went to get a "qian". It stated that if I get pregnant, I need to pray a lot
Very scared my fibroids will visit me again...

Your gynae Dr Peter Chew?

I am confused, wld appreciate if someone cld give me some advise.

I already have a boy who is turning 3 come Aug. Now trying for 2nd since Nov 03.

HB did SA test and found his sperm quality is only 1/2 the recommended level. I have tried clomid for 6 cycles already and on the 6th cycle saw a +ve but had a natural m/c.
I was scanned during the 6 cycles of ttc with clomid and gynae did not say anything was wrong with me. Gynae did not do a blood test on me but he recommended my HB shld get a SA done during the 4th cycle (with clomid) as gynae thought it shld be a male factor cos I produced good eggs. After the results frm the SA, gynae recommended us to go for IUI. But, my HB is not keen.

I have stopped my ttc since my m/c and wld like to start the battle again in June. Shld I persuade my HB to go for IUI in June or shld I try naturally on my own for a couple of months? or shld I try together with clomid? Is it ok to take clomid after 6 tries?
Shld I get a 2nd opinion? Wld 2nd opinion mean, I have to go for blood test and HB for his SA?

Please advise, really confused and desparate. Thanks and sorry for this lengthy message.

joyce, baby jonas is so so so cute!
here's a late congrats to you and hope that your wound is healing well.

tubby, congrats!
you will be having a boy! can join jonas liao. or else emma and yi xuan will be fighting...hee...

java, nice pics! and you where got fat!?! so slim and sexy looking.
seeing your pics make me want to go back to perth again. really a good place to r&amp;r.

worried mum, although it's easier to say than done but don't think of unhappy thoughts and be positive ok. i hope that you will be able to see the sac and even baby's heartbeat this sat.

yasmin, what's IUI? is it artificial insemination? what is your hubby's sperm quality? my hubby got only abt 5% good sperm from his SA test. according to my gynae, this implies that we will have more difficulty in getting pregnant as the no. of good sperms are lesser and but shouldn't be a problem. people who go for IVF have sperm quality of less than 1%. so you may want to try naturally for a few more months? i didn't take clomid so can't help you in your questions.

gals, i got the test results and was rather down over the last week.

dr chen did a chromosome test on the foetus after d&amp;c. and the chromosome no is abnormal - 98. normal people have 49. so definitely, the foetus can't survive. there's a medical term for it but i don't remember. according to dr chen, it's a very rare case and there's no known cause. he can't say if my previous miscarriages resulted from the same reason as i was not under him. but he said that people went on to having normal babies....just got to keep trying.....i told him that hubby and i did chromosome tests last time and it turned out normal. he said that our chromosome may be normal but there's no medical findings so far explaining why when the egg and sperm fuse together, abnormality happens. imagine the doc telling you that there's nothing he can do. he said that we had done all the tests possible. i asked him abt ivf since he's an expert in the field. he could only say the chance of getting a normal baby is higher but it remains unknown.

i really felt so low. to think that the doc can only advice me to keep trying. can't imagine if i am to go through another miscarriage if my next pregnancy is no good and then the cycle and waiting starts again on my next try. i really want to have my own baby and i definitely will try again. but i don't know how many times i can handle it.

gals, i am much better this week but i thought i need to update you on my test results. i am definitely going to try again and i will need your strength and support then.

Hi Yasmin,
Sorry I cannot help you. I think when you go to another doctor for second opinion, you can take whatever tests/results that you already have and see what the doc says...

Hi millie,
Hugs...
261133.gif

It's good that you know the reason of the miscarriage
. No doubt, there's a limit to the medical technology, but dun despair ok? There are cases whereby people like you can also have healthy babies

Chat to you again... Meanwhile take care of your body and get it ready to conceive again ok? Hugs...

glad to hear of ur news Millie... Dun despair... I'm sure there will be a miracle.... And U will be carrying ur own baby one day...
261153.gif

God Bless U and keep on trying... we are here to give U our strength and support...
261154.gif

Take care gal...

Hi millie,
IUI is insemination of the washed sperm to the right place during ovulation, chances are higher to conceive, according to doc. My HB sperm quality is 13% (WHO) and 6% against another method of calculation. WHO rating is >30% and the other (I forgot the name) is >14%.
Abt wat yr doc said abt keep trying.Pls do and I'm sure you'll be able to have a baby of your own, just as you wish.

Hi Lyn, yup thinking of seeking 2nd opinion but dont know if HB wld agree. But will try to be positive. Thanks.

Previously I used to dream of being pregnant and my son will be rubbing my tummy grinning and chuckling away. But these days I dont have such nice dreams anymore. Maybe I shld be contented in having at least 1 kid and If God is to bless me with another than it will be a Gift from God.
261203.gif

hi Millie,
So nice to hear from you again!!! Big hugz. Did Dr Chen advise why u hv recurrent losses?? Is it also due to the same reason? Did he send yr blood to check if there is any blood clotting problem?? Hope you do not mind me asking so many questions

I am happy that you are positive and yes, continue to keep trying. I'm sure one day you will be a proud mother. Not sure if you remember abt my case. The gynae told me I only have a 1% chance of getting pregnant but somehow I managed to conveive although it only lasted for 8 weeks.

Don't give up ok?? Cheers

hi millie,
Did Dr Chen do a detailed blood test on you? What I'm worried is the chromosome test results of the foetus may be a one off thing, since you mentioned that you did the same test on the other foetus and it was ok. Don't feel to sad, we are all here to support and encourage one another.

I seen my gynae last Monday, got back the detailed results. Apparently my protein S level was 17 at the time of delivery, the normal range is 60-100. I will be seeing the haematologist this monday.

haven't contribute to this thread for a while, though i have been following it.

Millie, good that you find out the cause of the miscarriage. I think the term for the condition you mention sounds like meiotic aneuploidy??
If I remember my biology correctly, when sperms and eggs meet, they undergo a 'fusion' process call meiosis, somehow the fusion didn't go properly and you end up having extra chromosomes which isn't suitable for further development.
Have you consider IVF? I'm not too sure, but I believe the technology may be advanced enough to allow error free fertilization to be done on petri dish. You may want to discuss with your gynae.

To all the new mothers (ocean, tiny and joice and whoever i miss out), congrates on that bundle of joy. The rest of us will look forward to be like you.

Hi sunny,

are you visiting the sinseh from TCM shop call tengah garden something?

Hi lyn, thanks for sharing..and yes, my gynae is Peter Chew from Gleneagles. What about yours?

Hi Millie, sorry I don't know much about your case details. But I understand that fetus with abnormal chromosome indicate that the child is a down syndrome child and in some cases becos its abnormal, miscarriage will be resulted. Think there is no medical explaination for that though.

Hi Java, what is protein S level?

hi yasmin
here is the contact of the sinseh:
Address: blk 152 Bt Batok West Ave 6 (St. 11)
#01-266
tel: 68961618
opening: mon - sat 8:30am - 12:30pm, 2:00 pm - 530pm, 630pm - 930pm
sun 830am - 1pm
PH 830am - 1230pm, 130pm - 5pm
thursday closed.

normally i see the young male sinseh. he is off on every wed morning.

take care

Hi gals!

I had my d&amp;c done last dec, and have been having light brown discharge ever since after the bleeding stops. May I know if this is normal? Thanks!

hi wind, Maybe give ur gynae a call to check with him/her... If ur brown discharge last for a while and is not too much of this discharge, it should be alrite...

But to play safe, better consult a doc..

thanks for your quick reply hamasaki! : )

the discharge is not a lot, just that it has not been clearing and i dun get the normal whitish discharge ever since the op.

hmm, think i will wait for another week or two for it to stop completely before i consult a doc...u hv a great wkend too!

Hi Lyn, came in a little late to wish you a good trip. Anyway... good luck to you and don't give up hope.

Missy... like Folic, I conceived unexpectedly too. Hubby was outstationed for that month and I thought that we will miss the egg for sure... but to our surprise... we got a BFP. Sometimes things do happen when we least expect it!!! Good luck to you as well.

Bluebell... good for you. Glad that your body cycle is back to normal. Oh by the way... heavy cycle after a m/c happens to some of us here too. I remember I was so frustrated once that I cried because I messed up the whole bathroom just minutes after showering.

Millie... maybe you might want to consider seeking a 2nd opinion?

Worried Mum... the best thing to do now is not to worry excessively. Its actually bad for the baby. Good luck!

<font color="0000ff">Dear all,</font>
I feel so disappointed. My AF came yesterday &amp; I cried to my HB. He told me to relax &amp; don't pressure myself too hard but I juz couldn't help it. There was a documentary last night, Channel 8, showing how the nurses took care of the premature babies in the ICU....I saw them &amp; tears rolling down again....HB saw me like that brought tissue for me. I feel so heartache for the little babies in the ICU. Dunno why I'm so emotional!

Hi Qwer... *hugs*

Don't be so sad, ok? Your time will come. Btw, I watched the program last night too, felt so pitiful for them. But they seem so strong fighting the battle, so can you! Hang in there, dear...

hi starlite
this sinseh is something like GP. he sees all kind of problems and also does accupuncture. i went to see him for any kind of problems.

Worried mum is not worried anymore! Went to see gynae on Sat and saw the baby sac now measuring at 1.6 cm! I was so happy and my only wish is for my baby to grow healthily. I am starting to appreciate what my mum did for me.......

So all of out there who have gone through a bad path or trying to concieve, remain positive cos' then good things will come your way. This is very important! stay happy!

<font color="119911">Joyce,</font>
Thank you.....

<font color="aa00aa">Worried mum,</font>
Congrats &amp; glad to hear the good news. Happy for you!! Take good care.

Dear <font color="ff0000">millie,</font> <font color="aa00aa">{{hugz</font>}} i'm glad u are staying strong. at least u finally found out the real cause of your loss. but i'm sure there's bound to be ways to help u in your next pregnancy. don't give up &amp; just keep trying. my gynae also told me to keep trying &amp; trying. let's work hard together!

Hi <font color="ff6000">yasmin,</font> my hubby also did a SA &amp; we were told the structure of his sperms are borderline abnormal, meaning some of his sperms have 2 heads or 2 tails. dr told us this kinda sperms can't fertilise with my eggs. but the gd news is, there's 4 aspects in the sperm analysis &amp; the structure of sperms happens to be the least important which means it won't affect our chances of getting pregnant. but somehow i'm still worried that it might hinder us in one way or another. e.g.if 1/4 of hubby's sperms are abnormal, then left only 3/4 to fight all the way to my eggs. sigh... i better don't think too much liao, just try harder.

hi <font color="0077aa">tiantian,</font> sorry for being nosey, how come your gynae told u, u only have 1% chance of getting pregnant?

hi <font color="0000ff">worried mum,</font> congrats! have a happy &amp; healthy 9 months!

hi <font color="119911">odie,</font> thanks for your encouragement. i also hope to get a pleasant surprise.

hi <font color="aa00aa">qwer,</font> {{big hugz}} its ok to feel upset, sometimes i also get emotional watching tv drama about miscarriage even though its been more than a year for me. its gd that your hubby is so supportive of u. cheer up ok!

hi <font color="ff6000">java,</font> how's your appt with your haemotologist? do update us abt the outcome.

hi qwer, dun be disappointed... i believe ur baby dreams will come soon or later.... dun be anxious and in the mean time, build up ur body well...

God Bless U.... Take care....
262361.gif

So take gd care worried mum and God bless U...

Hi worried mum,
So happy for you!
Good to know all is fine. Maybe now you can change your name to 'Happy Mum' instead. God Bless!

Hi missy, Thanks for sharing. I will be starting the battle soon in June perhaps. Wish me luck.
262380.gif

<font color="ff0000">Hi Missy &amp; Hamasaki,</font>
Thanks I feel better now compared to this morning. Ok, I'll build up my body well now...have been taking healthy food nowadays. Eating more vege &amp; fruits...

that's great qwer by taking lots of fruits and vegs... can also pop some vits as well... I'm doing so currently...
262399.gif

though, at times my mouth itchy, wanna anyhow eat sweet or oily foods... Let myself loose at times...
262400.gif

<font color="0000ff">Hi hamasaki,</font>
Think I'm same like you...or maybe worse...my favourite is crackers! I can't stop eating those crackers whenever I start. Hee hee....

Hi Missylee,

I had endometrosis and its quite serious. At that time, I had 3 endometroic cysts in my left ovary so the gynae is not very optimistic abt my case.

hi qwer, I love snaking... can anyhow eat, from sweets, to ice-cream and then to tibits and cold drinks... The list can go on and on... (kekekekke)..

<font color="aa00aa">Hi hamasaki,</font>
Wah....looks like your list is same as mine, hee hee.... I'll always have 1 or 2 tubs of icecream in my fridge. Cold desserts &amp; crackers are my favourites. But later too heaty or no good for health...so always must control, control.

is that so Qwer.... hahahhaha... we sama sama...

yummy those goodies are... Can't resist them even though I tried to control...

Ya...I think without <font color="0000ff">Lyn</font>, the thread is so quiet....
262987.gif
So far, looks like only the two of us writing here leh....
<font color="ff0000">Hello ladies,</font>
262988.gif

Where has everyone gone to??
262989.gif
Hee...hee...

hi qwer, I guess so... Lyn is our Leader... (kekekkek)... But long time, never heard of the others leh... Also been some time, never heard of the new mummys and with their little ones... Wondering how are they doing now...

hi, i new here. just has my abortion done last week due to baby heartbeat stop.. quite sad but manage to get over it. any good advise on what are the special diet to take so that the body can recover faster and prepare for the next pregnancy.