Support group - Miscarriages

Hi Jaster, thanks. Yes, is through blood test.

Hi Reinelu, I do agree that positive thoughts is important. I have the total trust in my gynae and is so hopeful that this time it'll be ok....however, things turned out negative again.
I have lost the trust on my current gynae...I'll need to find an experienced gynae and/or TCM that I can trust again in future when I conceive again..

Hi paws68,
I have this blood clot problem which calls antiphospholipid syndrome (APS), diagnosed through blood test after my 2nd miscarriage. My three miscarriages are all due to APS which my blood clots easily and thus not providing enough oxygen to the foetus, no heartbeat in 6/7wks.
Didn’t your gynae realize there was blood clot in the womb when he/she did the scan after your D&C? Sorry that I can’t share anything about “thick” womb. Personally, I will probably consult another Chinese physician for 2nd opinion as I do wonder….can the Chinese physician really know that the womb is “thick” by just pulse taking? Did your gynae ever tell you that your womb is “thick” as I think this can probably be checked and seen from the ultrasound?
All the best to you!

hi doggie,

actually i had myself to blame, i didn't go for followup after my d&c as i thought i already knew what to expect after my 1st D&C. i didnt know that clots could happen.. stupid me!

As for the chinese physician, my mum fren's daughter suffered pain during her AF, the chinese physician took her pulse and told her she had a cyst. They immediately went to the doc and they really did find a cyst in her.
So after hearing about the thick womb from her, i am quite worried. I asked why didn't my gynae say anything about it. She told me it depends if my gynae is obstetrician or oncologist.

Yes, i prob will go to another physician for 2nd opinion and will also mention it to my gynae on my next follow up.

Thks for your thoughts.

Hi reineluv, i went back to gynae, that was abt 7 weeks after that.. then my gynae told me to wait for another 1 mth.. if stil not here yet, then go back again.

Hi paws68,

dun blame yourself as you won't want such thing to happen too...we learn from experiences..though these are painful experiences for us......

Remember to ask your gynae to check for you. Good luck!

hi doggie,
about this blood cot problem, does the gynae know how to detect? i have been telling my gynae that im having pain in my abdominal but he scan and say everything is ok. Didnt ask me to go for further test. Im afraid my m/c might due to that. But my gynae doesnt seem to care when i told him i have such issues

Hi Sandra...

*hugz*... its definitely not an easy period right now..went thru a D&C abt 1mth + ago too..

I did try to do the mini confinement... there are some caterers who do deliver the confinement food to you during meal times..and some even include the red date tea.. u may want to consider using their services.. but a bit pricey lah..

Have a good rest... its not your fault.. and there is nothing that you could have done to prevent this from happening.. this is what my doc kept telling me.. me if you need someone to talk to...

Hi Sandra,
I'm new on this thread. Been on Matters of the Heart: IVF/ICSI Support thread every 2-3 days instead.
Anyway, my 1st IVF cycle did not BFP. 2nd one recently ended in a M/C at 7th week. So my doc wanted to do a D&C in the 8th wk. After that, I was ill cos of flu, cough, sore throat. Did not bathe but did wash hair every 3 days- blow dry completely. (cannot tahan!)I just ordered from Natal this morn and they will start delivering confinement fd 2mro. I asked for 7 day package (2meals) but only Mon-Thu. I worry too heaty if do it everyday.
I cried when i got the news that there was no heartbeat. On my bday too! I decided to get 2nd opinion and the 2nd doc agreed that i shd have a D&C. And i ended up staying 3 days 2 nights in hospital cos my bp dropped after the D&C.
I'm still trying to get over our loss. In the meantime, gotta recover and then go back to do accu to improve my health.
HTH.

Hi doggie

I am 6 weeks + preggy and just did a bld test which shows APS. This is the likely the cause of my #1 intrauterine death at 19weeks. Now I am on both aspirin and clexane, my gynae manages high risk pregnancy and was encouraging as he told me with both aspirin and clexane, success rate is 80% to have a healthy baby. In fact, I am also beri worried, but 80% + 20% of prayer = 100%. I am praying hard for this pregnancy to go through.
Once you have discover youa re preggy u have to start on the meds liao ... so have to see a gynae immediately.

Hi Mitch,

congratulations!!

Can you advise who is your gynae? I am looking for a high risk pregnancy gynae but not successful.

Also the APS test can it only be done upon pregnancy or otherwise?

Thanks =)

Hi Ling,
I am seeing Prof Biswas at NUH and nope dun need to wait till you are pregnant to do the test. In fact after my 1st lost prof has already ordered the bld test for me so he told me once I am pregnant i have to see him immediately cos I have to be started on aspirin right away.

Hi Mitch,

I infact ald starting my asprin just to be safe.. I done the miscarriage profile test but yield nothing as well.

Prof Biswas is at NUH right? I think too far for me for frequent monitoring. Is really a big headache..

any kind souls want to help me here..

i am 6 weeks preg and i just saw my 1st ultrasound half a week ago. only got sac, no baby, fetal pole or all those things. of cos, no heartbeat but that one understandable. my sac is almost perfectly round shape. picture very fuzy though. 2 days after ultrasound i woke up, and realise my symptoms gone. no nausea, no breast pain, no mild cramping. i feel like how i have before pregnant. somehow i felt very weird like i suspect something so i went online research a little and realised it just might be blighted ovum..

anybody here experience same thing as me?
- suddenly no symptoms
- no spotting/bleeding
- no cramping
- ultrasound at 5 weeks+ show only sac

anyone who experience the above the end up having blighted ovum? or anyone who experienced the above and then end up still deliver a baby?

i am very, very worried and panicky right now as this is my first.

Hi Judy,

Sorry didnt have those symptoms so cant share from personal experience.. but why dun you go back to your gynae and ask him / her to do another scan? Was the earlier scan a v-scan? usually can see more via a v-scan..

Be positive k... *hugz*

its an abdominal scan.. my gynae is away till 16june and my next appt is scheduled at 17th.. dont want to over-worry and search for another gynae.. im not sure if this is normal since this is my first pregnancy..

Hi Judy,

I remember reading is some forums that the symptoms may be on and off.. but i think everyone's pregnancy is different.. so even if some share with u that its normal, its not gonna put u at ease 100% rite? I think most gynaes have a "back-up" whenever they are away.. so why not call the clinic or hospital and ask to see the covering doc?

Been a long long time since i last visited here.

Judy,
It is true that the symptoms varies. But, if u really feel uncomfortable, my suggestion is try to go for a 2nd option scan.

At 5 wks, usually is a sac. The latest i heard that the heartbeat will appeared was ard 9wks.

In the meantime, do take care and rest well.

Sandra,
Pls do a mini confinement. U really need to "bu" and rest well k. You need to follow like those confinement food, but do it for abt 2 weeks. Take care and rest well. Give urself sometimes to get over... Not easy, but u will.

Hi Judy,
I had a blighted ovum. Transvaginal scan at 5.5 weeks showed a perfect sac. I started bleeding a day later. My pregnancy symptoms such as frequent urination and constant hunger disappeared soon after. My next scan was only at 7th week. By then, I already felt something was wrong and true enough no heartbeat so doc suggested D&C.
Chatty is right, gynaes do have a back-up or their assistant can always refer u in case of emergency. Better to ask for lining support etc and 2 blood test (over 2-3 days) to check your HCG levels. If there is doubling of the level on the 3rd day, it means that your baby is still progressing. Don't wait okay?

i am very confused now.. last night i couldnt sleep at all.. seems like my symptoms came back double strong.. when i woke up in the morning i puked badly.. i seem to be back to my preg self. i also bought another test kit(same brand as the test kit is used) to test and the line was more solid than the last time. i did this bcos i remembered when my gynae tested me in clinic for the first time using a hcg stick he said mine was faint because it was 4 weeks plus. as i progress and if bb is fine the colour on the stick will be more solid.. so, though my method is not scientifcally accurate i thought it was better than nothing.. i hope bb is fine though.. pregnancy is scary. every day passed it seems like mothers are grabing on to every shard of hope that their bb is fine..

Judy,
if you are worried, it's not gd for pregnancy. The best is to go for 2 HCG blood tests. Can't go wrong. It is really not gd to worry or be stressed, exp in 1st trimester.

Hi Judy,

If I am you I will wait out and keep calm.. panic will bring us to nowhere since we cannot do anything about it at this point of time. I personally went through 2 blighted ovums and I have had no symptons for the 1st BO but my 2nd BO I have had big symptons but unfortunately still ended in miscarriage. The test stick is not an indication of anything as well. I was tested positive on my 2nd ovum at 10 DPO and have had dark test lines all the way. One key thing to look out for is spotting. Any spotting to go to the gynae immediately since status of pregnancy is precarious.

Just eat well and pray daily.. the bub might be hidding afterall =) Hopefully we wont see you in this thread anymore after the gynae scan =))

Judy,
I understand your anxiety as this is your first pregnancy.. my advice to you is that you should stop reading all the forum and online information regarding blighted ovum etc.. rest well and relax!

I do agree with Ling. If there is any spotting, please see your gynae or other gynaes (if say yours is not in SG) immediately.

I will pray for you and your little one.. =) take care and God bless...

Hi Judy, I had blighted ovum too, I tested positive at 5 weeks which was very early. Until the 8th week, my sac had grown but there was still no egg. Not meant to scare you but I had very bad Morning sickness that lasted the whole day. My gynae said that it's cos of the sac that's why my body thinks that Im pregnant. Even hcg levels will be high. I would suggest you not think too much. Go see your gynae on the 7th week onwards. It can only be detected thru a scan. Hugs and good luck!

Hi all, it has been a while since I posted here...
I've missed my menses for 1 week and thought highly chance I am preg, did a preg test and it shows neg.. Went to
my gyane today and he said I've hormones imbalance thru the scan, was really disappointed cos thought I am the blessed one who can get preg after 1 cycle of menses.
Funny thing is, I went to this tcm before my due menses and he said I've sucessfully implanted thru checking my pulse... Me and Hubby was so thrilled.. But didn't expect it turn out to be neg... Can I still trust this tcm? I don't know.....
Anyway, i don't think I am so stress to have this imbalance
thingy.. Never happen to me before.. Anyone have same
experience?

Hi forumbb,

Sorry for not replying you earlier as I've not been in this forum for a while.

I don't experience any abdominal pain. It was after my 2nd MC that my gynae asked me to do a blood test and found I have this APS. You could ask to do this blood test as scanning can't detect this.

Hi Bingo, maybe wait a few more days and test again? Not sure about the TCM. My TCM say that typically you can't really hear the pulse so early. But I really don't know. Don't think so much first. Good Luck!

Thanks reineluv, up till now my menses still haven't report, 2 weeks Liao. This is my first time I miss my menses (except for the previous pregnancy) and I am having discharge also, don't know y.... I went to kkh24 hrs clinic last week hoping to seek for an 2nd opinion.. I ask the dr is it true hormones imbalance is the result, she said hormonesr imbalance don't suddenly appear in your life unless u always have this prob.. Diff from wat my previous gyane said... So don't know who to trust...
Anway I am planning for do Ivf, have fixed for an appt with kkivf in July...

Had a mc 4-5wks ago.. may I know if anyone here did womb cleansing, is there any need for that?

Can anyone advise me after mc, did u go to TCM to get some medicines to regulate your body due to your mc? where did u all normally go?

hi i had mc a week ago. i went thru' D&C to take my 9-week baby out. i din expect me to feel so strongly because we did not plan for this but when knowing that my baby has no more heartbeat, i was extremely sad. i cry every nite and i miss having the baby. for me, my mom wants me to do a confinement. so i drank red date drinks, black chicken soup. she told me to avoid cooling stuff like cucumber, green bean soup. after seeing this forum, i noe i m not 'over-reacting' for feeling sad every night and how i envy those with a round tummy nowadays. they are so blessed.

Hello all.

I haven't been around recently but have been reading the notifications i get in my email.

How's everyone doing?

I'm going to start trying again after gynae visit this sat. very very scared about the visit. (i haven't seen her in a year..)

Hi Bingo,
Maybe you feel pressurized about getting pregnant, that's why? Have you done HPT again?

Hi TTCingBB & Lynn
Mine was a D&C, but I went to TCM to tiao yang also. When I first went to TCM, she asked me to place my hand on my tummy, and I felt my hand was warm, then she mention cos my womb is cold. Now I go back to her for medicine every 1 to 2 weeks, I don't feel that my body is that cold anymore.
She did mention I can start counting dates to prep for pregnant le. But she did advice me to stop working cos I'm changing jobs, and in a new environment, stress and pressure will affect my chances.

Hi Cosy,
It's hard, cos until now, I still kept thinking that I would have been 4 months plus pregnant now.

thanks reineluv.
very much the same as U. i m also thinking my tummy may show now. just that i did not expect such deep emotions as I din plan for the pregnancy.

hi lynn:
All the best okay! Kan chiong right? Come on! It should be the day the gynae chop say you can try again!!

Ling: long time I did not come to this site already. I have been BFN all the way since teh D&C august last year. Hey let's continue to try okay. I may not visit often but I always rememeber this thread in SMH.

I am having heavy bleeding, mild cramp and blood clots now. Just called my gynae, he said I should be having a miscarriage & asked me to go dwn later to do D&C surgery. I am feeling so upset now and couldn't stop crying. Although it is only 6 wks old but it is still a life that we are talking about. Can't imagine I still have to go through the operation...I really need some1 to talk to, please help.

Hi Jo Jo:how was the operation? Are you resting now? Remember to eat nutrition food and rest more, hope someone keeping you accompany at home.

cosybabylove, reineluv & jojo,
hope u all r feeling better now..I empathized with you and u need to talk to someone who u feel comfortable with and move on.. recently there r 4 preggy ladies in my ofc!! I oso felt sad why this happened to me.. but after having a good long discussion with my doc, I'm looking forward and hope to be in pink of health again and get preggy! Jia you all of you!! Muz think +ve k?

*hugs* Jojo. I think you have to cry it out so you can feel better. That's what I did too.

Girls, I thought I'm quite over it. But my friend released news of her pregnancy and is due in Dec. I felt so sad. I was supposed to be due in Nov. sob.

Hi JTML, TTChingBB & Reineluv,

Thanks so much for the response...really appreciate it. Really need someone to talk to(besides my hubby), if not, i would go into depression.

JTML, I did the D&C surgery ytd late evening at TMC. The operation went smoothly. I went out this morning to buy a gift(for my boy who is turning 4 this early july) with my hubby and my boy. I don't wish to stay at home as I will keep thinking about the whole incident but end up feeling giddy and tired, I believe I have walked too much.

It is a really very painful experience for women who are going to hospital to do the D & C as I already feeling devastated after knowing that I have miscarriage but YET have to go to TMC where you can see quite a number of pregnant ladies walking around you. People go there mainly to deliver/check up but me, going there to remove my bb.

TTCIngBB, I know exactly how you feel. Today I saw 1-2 preggy ladies walking around me, I also feel the 'impact'. One of my buddies who is also trying for BB has missed her period, high chance of conceiving. I feel very happy for her but I also feeling very upset at the same time.

My gynae NEVER talked/console me when he told me I miscarriage. He just told me that the miscarriage happened just because the BB is unhealthy, nothing to do with food and stress which I don't agree. After this incident, I feel like changing my gynae. I hope that my gynae could console me or at least a few words of encouragement but not at all. I don't even think I could have a good long discussion with him as the consultation with him is always super short and sweet. May I know who is your gynae TTChingBB?

Reineluv, yes...I have cried it out...I cry until my eyes pain.

May I know if all of you are given 14days mc? Do you intend to look for TCM to 'tiao' the body?? How long can we try for BB again...I heard that we can try after 1 cycle of menses? Do I need to do a mini confinement? The nurse there asked me to take chicken essence will do, is it true? Still can bath and wash hair right? I am sorry to ask so many questions.

At this moment, I don't know how to face the relatives on my hubby's side. I feel that they won't be able to understand my pain and situation. I don't wish to see my mil for the time being as I have eaten the pineapple that cooked by her the day before the spotting started to show. Although there are many factors that contributed to my miscarriage but I feel that the pineapple could be one of the main cause?? I am not blaming my mil, I am also not conscious of what I am taking

Hi JTML, TTChingBB & Reineluv,

Thanks so much for the response...really appreciate it. Really need someone to talk to(besides my hubby), if not, i would go into depression.

JTML, I did the D&C surgery ytd late evening at TMC. The operation went smoothly. I went out this morning to buy a gift(for my boy who is turning 4 this early july) with my hubby and my boy. I don't wish to stay at home as I will keep thinking about the whole incident but end up feeling giddy and tired, I believe I have walked too much.

It is a really very painful experience for women who are going to hospital to do the D & C as I already feeling devastated after knowing that I have miscarriage but YET have to go to TMC where you can see quite a number of pregnant ladies walking around you. People go there mainly to deliver/check up but me, going there to remove my bb.

TTCIngBB, I know exactly how you feel. Today I saw 1-2 preggy ladies walking around me, I also feel the 'impact'. One of my buddies who is also trying for BB has missed her period, high chance of conceiving. I feel very happy for her but I also feeling very upset at the same time.

My gynae NEVER talked/console me when he told me I miscarriage. He just told me that the miscarriage happened just because the BB is unhealthy, nothing to do with food and stress which I don't agree. After this incident, I feel like changing my gynae. I hope that my gynae could console me or at least a few words of encouragement but not at all. I don't even think I could have a good long discussion with him as the consultation with him is always super short and sweet. May I know who is your gynae TTChingBB?

Reineluv, yes...I have cried it out...I cry until my eyes pain.

May I know if all of you are given 14days mc? Do you intend to look for TCM to 'tiao' the body?? How long can we try for BB again...I heard that we can try after 1 cycle of menses? Do I need to do a mini confinement? The nurse there asked me to take chicken essence will do, is it true? Still can bath and wash hair right? I am sorry to ask so many questions.

At this moment, I don't know how to face the relatives on my hubby's side. I feel that they won't be able to understand my pain and situation. I don't wish to see my mil for the time being as I have eaten the pineapple that cooked by her the day before the spotting started to show. Although there are many factors that contributed to my miscarriage but I feel that the pineapple could be one of the main cause?? I am not blaming my mil, I should be conscious of the food I am taking, but I brainlessly thought that since my mil knew I was pregnant, she should know what ingredients to put into the dishes?

HI jo jo:
I also had 2 weeks medical leave. Did my D&C as well, yeah it was hard to be there, I even hear baby cry when waiting to be wheel into the operating threatre. Of course...time will heal the pain you feel but see i still visit now and then...

I have mini confinement but i am not the strict type, advise is you should have one too. I went out also the next day and also felt exhausted, weak, so stay home, my mum cooked simple confinement food and I drink chicken essense and DOM and teh red date drink I also drink, I still toook hot showers heeeheee I cannot go to bed without a shower...

Hi JTML,

I see. I also bought chicken essence today. Hmm...don't think I can have confinement food unless my mil cooks for me or I ordered those confinement tingkat. Yes...me too, I took a bath right after i reached home.

Btw, will you be seeing any tcm dr?

Hi Lynn,

How's the gynae visit goes?

Hi JTML,

*wave*

I am so super duper unlucky, Got pregnant a 3rd time accidently right after the 2nd mc and that also ended as a blighted ovum. It have been 2 period since the last mc and I am waiting for green light to TTC from TCM. Did a mc profile test and karotyping testing but nothing is wrong. To go even further I went to consult a fengshui master to have a look at my home. Anyhow I have done what is needed and hopeful will be successful the next time.

Do you still take your BBT to aid with TTC? Should try that if you havent because is really ridiclously accurate for me.

Is true.. I never forget the support I get from this thread.. I am more of a silent reader most of the time.

Jojo, sorry to hear about the mc but you ald have a son so I think this mc could be just a flux.. just unlucky. The more we stress wont do us any good. I am going to Dr Zou at AMK to build up my health for the last 3 months. In regards to the gyna, I know is so hard to find one that is sympathic but it is also because they see so many mc to really give more empathy to the patients at time.

Rest well!

Ling,

May I know what is a blighted ovum? can this kind of thing be avoided as in take medicines/injection for prevention??

What is BBT? I would like to know more...can?

Thanks for your encouragement and concern Ling. So far this thread is my pillar of strength as there are ladies here who can fully understand how much pain that i have gone through for the past few days and can give one another support. TCM in AMk? Currently I am looking for a good tcm dr that I could rely on...can you share wif me more about your tcm dr as in the address?

I also scare for my next pregnancy that I would have to take a lot of medicines and jabs to stabilize it..taking oral medicines is not an issue, the problem is with the jabs...i m so scare of pain. Actually I feel that we all women are indeed very brave....esp. women like us who have gone thru this tough journey.