SUPPORT GROUP - INFERTILTY

ML, I believes most gynaes will prescribe clomid for PCOs patients...bt pls take note tt clomid has their side effects too and it thins our lining....u would like to take note and check wif the gynae...do search the web for clomid side effects if the gynae really suggest clomid for u...

ok thanks. babychole... menses just came again. sian lor ... i guess i will change to a female doc and see wat's she say ...but after 3 mths ba. taking TCM nw .. see if it will have improvement on my hubby.

Hi all, i'm newbie here. Just got my blood test result and found out that I got hyperthyroidism... I was TTC but now confusing whether I can still continue or wait till under control. Need advice from all of you. Confusing as some say can still TTC but some said no..
very sad ...

I'm planning to do my ivf again, done twice ardi, but not successful Am looking for another ivf doc to try... quite stressed coz running out of time soon.. ardi in my early 40s, so not many years left to go do anyone hv any experience with Prof Ng Soon Chye (Gleneagles) or Dr Cheng Li Chang (Thomson)? or any other docs whom u knw is good with ivf? please share with me. thks so much

hi there...
I'm also shopping for a fertility specialist.
Getting desperate now as own efforts for natural conceiving is not working! Went to Tow Yung at Tanglin Mall cos recommended by colleague who'd 2 beautiful babies separately with Dr Yeong (previously from KK). Unfortunately, he's in UK so I consulted his wife instead. She's a very gentle and caring gynae, highly recommend her for other preggers with no fertility issue. However, feel I need someone with more expertise and experience in IVF and fertility. Anyone heard of Dr Ananda from Camden and Dr LC Cheng from TMC? Can we claim still claim from the new parenthood package if it's done in pte hospital?

Hope someone has info to share

like to ask around if anyone has done 'natural ivf' before?
went to see Prof Ng Soon Chye (O&G), based on my 2 failed ivf earlier, he feels that the quality of eggs is not good and he suggested trying 'natural ivf'. basically to use clomid but skip the lucrin & puregon. this is the first time i heard of 'natural ivf'. just curious if anyone has tried that and whats their opinion. also trying to research if there is any way of improving egg quality. think its due to my age, i'm in my early 40s. but i think in reality there is really not much can be done to improve eggy quality

Hi happyhippo

I was also under Prof Ng and also had two ivfs under him. Similarly, he mentioned that it could be due to egg quality. I started with him in my early 30s. He also suggested natural ivf. My concern is the number of eggs retrieved is a lot less so I got second opinion from another gynae and was told that somtimes it may be due to a lab issue. Right now, I'm going for TCM and just started on accup. Heard that it helps.

happyhippo,
From wat I noe and advised by TCM, pls avoid caffine to improve yr egg quality...Pls do not take chocolate/milo from now onwards...as they will affect the quality of the egg...
If can, go for acupunture to improve the eggs.
Every morning, drink a warm cup of milk...
Hope tis helps!

hi hopeful88
thks for sharing. are u planning to do ur next ivf with prof ng?
abt lab issues-my last 2 ivfs were at mtE. hv u heard of which are the better rated ivf labs?

yes. I'm also planning to try TCM-altho i did try TCM before,but was not diligent enough to follow thru. now getting quite desperate coz time is really running out. which TCM are u seeing. Is accup painful/save? I'm jus abit worried abt hygiene factor in the needles they use. also how do they know where to poke...u knw .. what if they poke sthg wrong and cause internal injury.. so i also abit scare..

hi babychole
thks for sharing. i dont really take coffee coz i feel very restless after tat.
u mean even chocolate/milo also cannot? i usually mix milo with ensure,coz i dont like the ensure taste on its own.
i cant take much milk, i get abit diaherrea from it.

hi babychole,
I didn't know cannot take chocolates and milo. they are my fav...arh ... and coffee also ... addicted to Kopi liao but try to cut down recently ...i drink cold milk every morning and fruit juice .. they are all cold stuff... issit really bad ?

babychole,
thanks for the tip. I was addicted to coffee. Could drink up to 5 big mugs a day. Started to cut it out since early this year. Just wondering, how does the milk help? Instead of milk, horlicks okay?

happyhippo,
I am still considering on whether to do another ivf. Will see how my body is after the TCM and accup. But if I am, I'll probably go to KK, SF Loh. Seems he is highly recommended and becos of the govt subsidies. Btw, the last 2 ivfs, Prof Ng gave me Buserin and Gonal F. Not sure about the labs but read from one of the posts here that KK and Gleneages have one of the highest success rates.

Hope it helps.

Was also wondering if those of you taking TCM see any changes e.g. better basal temp etc? Have been taking TCM for close to 6 months now but don't seem to see any changes.

ML,
Try to cut down on cold drinks...tis is wat my TCM told me...and choco and caffine will affect egg quality...I used to take chocolates almost everyday and was reprimanded by him not to take
U can warm yr milk before drinking...fruit juice is ok w/o ice...

Hopeful88,
I have been trying TCM since June...I dunno hw is my condition previously as I oni scan the size of my egg and started taking bbt eva since I see him...
I wld say my egg quality is good...bt my bbt is not v high aft O...bt there are gals whom strike even with low bbt as in 36.7/36.8...so bbt is v up to individual...

has anyone seen or is seeing TCM Loh Kim Gek? I got her name from Thomson Fertility Centre. I was planning to try out Dr Tan Kian Seng in clementi. so now not sure which tcm to see. altho TCM Loh Kim Gek is located in people's park centre - so its nearer for me.
Thks

Hi all, I'm new to this chatroom. Am attempting my first IVF cycles after many years of hesitation. After trying 5IUI, all doctors seem to think I'm ready for IVF. Frankly speaking, the idea of going thru the cycle is pretty unnerving. I'm currently in stage 2 cycle. Everyone is saying that I should take tcm to complement. Do you have any good chinese physician to recommend? Thanks heaps...

hi Wishy,

Perhaps u can join the IVF/ICSI thread...the gals there will be able to help u more...good luck in yr IVF! BFP BFP BFP!

I have PCOS and irregular menses. My hb is found to hv low sperm count. Anyone know what type of fertility treatment doc would recommend to get pregnant?

I am going this week for follow up. Doc clinic called to stop clomid when he got my hb sperm test result...cos was prescribed clomid while hb go for test. Say he will discuss when we meet. I am trying to find out more before we meet. Anyone with similar experience to share pls. IVF is a exhausting (mental, financial, physical...) procedure, right?
*worried*

yup, do you have any good to recommend? but i hate to queue ... especially those popular ones.... like the JE one...

im TTC for 2 years.. had gone for 2 IUIs but failed..
got PCOS and also hubby got sperm problem..

initially his SA is really bad, but since april me and hubby seeing dr.Tan, he go for acupucture and took pills from dr.tan, suprisingly hubby count and motility increase a lot, count from 13 mil to 85 mil, motility from 25% to 70%, morphoplgy from 5% to 9%..
unfortunately, after his result getting better, dr.tan stop the acupucture.. and recently SA shown count and motility still ok but his morphology down to 3% .. now really so sad.. coz we have decided to go SO-IUI this month, and i have started my injection..
i asked my gyne, he said it is ok to go for IUI coz another side i have PCO problem.. but after reading the other forum, many people say IUI does not work for morphology below 5%.. so how??

now, im really confuse whether to stop the injection and not to have IUI... or still go ahead with it... any suggestion?? im really confuse and sad.. dunno what to do...

Tigi,
U can try Dr Tan at Clementi....strictly by appt...bt his appt v difficult to get also...u might wanna give it a try?

His contacts as follows...

Dr Tan Kian Sing
TCM Healthcare Medical Centre
433 Clementi Avenue 3
#01-266
Singapore 120433
Telephone: 68723237

Hi Maia,
Its a really great improvement for yr dh!
Bt since u hv started on the injections and yr gynae has told u is ok...I tink u shd just cont wif it...
Hv faith in yr gynae and yrself!
Who noes tis time round, u will succeed?

Hi babychloe,

thx for your advice...
i will put my whole faith to dr.tan and my gyne this time around...
just for your info gals.. it is worth to try dr.Tan, it really works..

babychloe,
you are right, gynae says if my hb condition din improve, ivf is the only choice.... he gave my hb some med and re-test in a month time... my hb sperm count is reall y bad....

Tigi,
My dh's SA also v bad....bt aft a few mths wif Dr Tan...his SA improved quite a bit...I wld not say v great bt at least it improves and give us some confidence to try naturally before plunging to IVF...perhaps u can let yr dh try out wif Dr tan? IMO, Dr Tan is v good wif men's condition....

babychloe, we went to see tcm but at raffles hospital... acupuncture and chinese med... hopefulle it can improve our conditions... not going to dismiss the possibility of ivf... hopefully tcm can make our bodies stronger now....

Tigi,
Oic...TCM usually take a while to take effect...give yrself sometime...however, do also bear in mind tt IVF's success rate drop as our age increases...I am giving myself a few more mths...if still no result...we will start on IVF v soon as I am reaching 32...

babychloe,
also concerned about age ... hit 30 this yr... feel body not as good as 20s... really got to keep my fingers crossed... maybe toes too... sigh... haha

Tigi,
Ya...as soon as we hit 30...we will notice our "machine" not as good as in our 20s liao...bt wat to do? Time not ripe yet for us to hv a baby yet...can oni do our best and hope for it to come soon...JIA YOU!

Hi Babychole,

i got bad news.. the doctor call off the IUI..
i only have 1 egg even with 100UI injection..

my last year IUI also with 100UI injection and i got 6 eggs.. this time round dunno why my body respond is very bad.. doc say maybe got body changes (i lost 7kg last 2 months)and a bit stress at work also..
considering i only have 1 egg and my hubby sperm also not really good, doc say the chance not high and it is not worth to go for IUI..

need to increse the injection dose if i plan to go IUI on Feb'09 (next month my doc close for CNY holiday)
but i am still considering to go direct to IVF or still wanna try IUI.. also hit 30 already le..

btw, which doc you are seeing now for IVF?

hi babychloe
thks! you jia you too...!
Ya lor, i take it as heaven's way of telling me that my body is not ready for a bb all the while -ve test when ttc. Maybe this is better since nature knows best... one reason why i apprehensive about ART...hmm, really need to jia a lot of you men! to make the body strong... i dun feel hands, feet cold after taking tcm med and acupuncture.... so i feel it is good for me no matter what... but tcm will burn a huge hole in my pocket by the time i complete say 6 months treatment in this manner! :X

Maia,
Sorry to hear tt!
Actually for me I tink IVF wld be a better choice...IUI's sucess rate is relatively low...compared to IVF...
I am currently seeing Dr SF Loh at KKH...bt I hv not start on the program yet...I hv a few frens succeeded 1st time from their IVF under Dr Loh...u can give it a try..

Tigi,
Ya...jia you jia you!
I also tink of IVF for a few years liao..oni recently got the courage to give it a try...bt I am still tinking..cos of work also..I need blessing from boss...
I started seeing TCM from Jun till Nov..I give up..cos there is nothing wrong wif me...except moy pocket...it has burn a big hole....oni my dh still wif the TCM cos the plm lies wif him...

babychole,

you right, IVF success rate is higher.. but dunno, i still feel not ready to do that now..
even my parents and parents in law keep pushing me to IVF, i still considering many things and gather my courage to go trough it.. seems all procedure quite complicated and i think i will need to take long leave and rest for my body and mind for whole procedure...
see how, i still want to give my self some more months, hopefully got some miracle..

btw, is it difficult to arrange apointment with dr.Loh? a lot of people ? can i have the number to contact to? i have heard a lot of good recommendation for him also..

when you plan to start your IVF? jia you !!

Hi Maia,
IVF is an evasive process which u need to be v mentally prepared...dun rush to it cos u got the pressure...u yrself must me prepared then embark on it...Who noes u will strike before going for the IVF? JIA YOU!

I dun tink its difficult to make appt wif Dr Loh ba..mabbe 3 weeks before? U can call up KK appt line @ 62944050 to make the appt wif Dr SF Loh..
If u hv any blood tests on yr dh's SA result, do rmb to bring along on yr 1st visit to him and c hw...

Here are some articles that might help:

http://sg.******************/articles/A_Look_At_Infertility

http://sg.******************/articles/sexual_positions_for_conception

http://sg.******************/articles/Yoga_poses_for_inferile_couples

http://sg.******************/articles/Recipes_to_increase_fertility

I'm new to this thread. Tried SO-IUI & now on my 2ww.

Nurse asked me to test next Sat, 07/01. Hope AF will stay away ~