SUPPORT GROUP - INFERTILTY

ML,
I need to make appt before seeing the current doc...no walk ins...
Though appts are made, we still hv to wait 30 to 45 mins before seeing him during peak timings.
Charges will depends on the medi u take & whether any acu done...So far if DH & me do acu & take medi, will cost ard $120.
Now we are hoping for the best!

i am new here and have been ttc for almost 2 years. the problem lies with my hubby who has low sperm count & morphology. i just started to give my hubby cordyceps and vit E and zinc.

tub, can i check with you how did you prepare the cordyceps? did you boil it or make it into powder form? if you boil it then what did you add it in? i only gave my hubby cordyceps once a week and the vits everyday. sorry for so many questions and thanks a lot, yeah..

oh yeah, you have a very cute bb.. wish i got one too!!!

Babychloe,
Hi.. haven't been visited the forum for a while, i am sorry to hear about your loss.. how are you doing now?

My spotting has stopped.. and a heartbeat is detected from my previous two visits.. so luckily everything went quite well.

Wish you all the best... and baby dust to you!!

Hope,
Tts great news...I am still wondering wat happen to u after so long.....
I went to Dr Tan this morning and Mrs Tan told me tt 5 couples conceived so far in the mth of June...I feel so motivated! So happi....
U do take care ok?
Do share the foto of yr bundles of joy wif us....

hi venusmaria,

for cordyceps, i will wash them with tap water, then cut them into 3 pieces each. i'll usually take with hubby so we'll take about 12 pieces each time. then, i'll place 2.5 bowls of water, pork ribs (about 2 pieces) and throw in the cordyceps. bring all to boil. turn off the fire once it's boiled. then transfer all to the slow cooker. usually, i'll do this in the morning and when i come home from work, it's ready to be eaten.

remember to eat the cordyceps as well. don't throw away!!!

u'll hv a baby one day too! don't give up!

Babychloe,
Glad to hear that u r doing ok...Ur turn will come soon.. do relax and go for a short trip if u can. Change an environment will make wonder =). Jia you

hi tub, i dun have endo. dun know why he suggested to do lap, he said to do a more detailed check... it's a day surgery right ? i dun thk i will do at the moment. will try out TCM.

hi ML, yeah... i heard some people do lap to "check" if their womb is ok but i think it's quite invasive unless there's a known cause. if not, no point doing the lap altho it's a keyhole surgery. trying tcm and going to a good doc may be a better option.

lynnsha, i bought mine from hock hua. must go to reputable shops. i bought the rabbit brand one.

actually, i was on the verge of adoption. i went for a talk by touch and was seriously thinking about adopting a baby girl from china when i conceived. i was telling hubby i won't mind adopting when my bb is older. but of course have to iron out some issues first.

tub,
Since u hv 1 baby gal le, chances are u may strike again...perhaps can give yrself a timeline...if by then, dun hv, then consider la...

babychole, no la... not thinking about a number 2. got good. don't have nevermind. it's too tiring to ttc. one is good enough for me.

hihi, yalor, cos it's not easy to TTC right ? but i heard after u gave birth, still quite fertile one .. so dun wait for too long to try for another one ... now i know its so difficult for me to get pregnant, so if i can be pregnant and given birth already, wont wait for the next one ... just try again ...

Hi babychole,
Also good to take a break when everything settles down. Meanwhile, take good care abt yourself.

I've make an appt to see TCM, Dr Tan next week.
would like to know more abt the information that he will ask and what is the usual routine e.g...medicine or acupcture? Hope someone enlighten me.

Calla,
He will feel yr pulse and will ask u to take bbt everyday If I am right...then he will ask u to take medi from him and test OPK. He wil normally acu ladies before ovulation, aft tt no more...
Recently he ask me to go gynae and scan for the sizes of my eggs and let him c the report so tt he can give me the correct medi....I hv not done so, will do so next Mon....

babychole,

thanks for sharing...what is bbt? is it same as temperature taking? my ovulation shd be over by the time i saw him next week.
Was done OPK today and saw lines indicated for ovulation..

going for scan later to see if my egg develop normally (let hope everything is ok)

Calla,
BBT means basal body temp whereby we take our temp every morning immediately after we open our eyes...
Next week I am seeing Dr Tan too before he flys off - 24th Jun afternoon...
which gynae u go to scan yr eggs? wat are the charges like?

I went to see a Dr at Mount E but don't know how gd he is.
Over $200+ with dr consultation. Just to find out the cause for infertility..ultimately will go to KKH.
Wat abt you? which dr have you been following up with?
Do you know when will Dr Tan be back?

Calla,
I hv stopped going to gynaes.....previously has went to Dr Kowa at Mt E, Dr AL Lim at TMC, Dr SF Loh from KKIVF and Dr Yu Suling from SGH....I hv been gynae hopping got so long and decided to stop now and try TCM instead.
Dr Tan will be away from 26 Jun to 12th Jul.

hi tub,

I went to see a doctor (Dr Teo) but he might be a gynaecology only as saw his patients usually pregnant patients. which fertility doctor did you go and what tests do they conduct?
Mine haven't do much cos only went twice for scan. as for me, my husband paid the charges and I'm only keen abt the outcome.
I began to feel more and more paiseh to "expose" my lower body cos of scan. anyway to overcome that apart from changing to female dr?

Guess, i will see the KKIVF at the end - thinking may be cheaper. just check how differ are the rates from KK and Mt E?

Ann,
Me also no idea...he just ask me to go scan after 2 mths wif him...
Perhaps let me get the scan result on Mon, then c him on Tue and let u noe?
If I not wrong, he wanna c if my egg size is of acceptable size...if not, he might wan to change medi for me...

BabyChole,
I am new on the correct "egg size", i mean how do we know when we should scan the egg size (say around ovaluation day or after menses?) any advice on the which day we should go for scan??

Ann,
U can cal up the gynae to check when is the best date to scan....It depends very much on yr cycle days....For example, my CD1 is on 13th Jun, and my cycle days is between 28 to 30 days. Then gynae says the best date to go test is CD11 or CD12. So I am going next Mon.
Hope tis helps!

i scanned my egg size prior to iui too. doctor has to ascertain if egg is suitable to conceive.

calla, my fertility doc is dr mp lim from mt e. he only did the basic scan for me as i already had a lap done about a year back for endometriosis. hubby did his SA and that's about all. i din do other tests.

hi tub,

thanks for sharing. i also did lap 2 yrs ago for endo & cysts, but didn't manage to conceive after that. now my endo & cyst come back again, at first i wanted to go for ivf, but gynae said chances of success is very low due to the endo and my fsh is quite high too... dr tan ever asked why not i do lap again, but my gynae doesn't want me to go thru again... so currently i'm taking dr tan's med to try to clear the endo and reduce the size of the cyst. but chinese med usually is very slow... i'm lost now, dunno what shd i do.
sigh...

jenn, why dun u seek help from a fertility specialist? my doc told me then that if i dun succeed via iui, he'll perform lap again, and iui after that. higher chance of success and less invasive than ivf.

i went to dr xia rong at eys paragon and her suggestion was for mi to go for op to remove endo and she'll follow up after tat. she said no pt taking chinese med if endo persist. usually the effectiveness of the op lasts oni for a yr. perhaps u should seek a 2nd opinion?

thanks tub. i'm going to see another gynae tomorrow for 2nd opinion. i'm quite reluctant to do lap again, it took me a mth to recover and i feel very weak after that. but i think if before end of this yr, my condition didn't improve, i may go for lap again.

Hi babychole,
dr tan's assistance call to cancel appt for next week..so hv to wait till he is back..

Hi Jen,

I also scare of lap...recently, my gynae said i might hv endometrosis - i m so worried.

anyone know abt progresterone?
I'm going for blood test for progresterone but keen to find out the purpsoe for this bld test

Hi Calla,
do you have bad cramps during period? i read a book on endo, u can take EPO, fish oil & vit B complex to treat endo... i'm trying it for 1 mth so far... hopefully it helps.

hi jenn, i took that combination of epo, fish oil and vitb complex. helped quite a bit! i think the key is to do iui/soiui straight after the lap. then chances of conception will be high. that's what my doc told mi.

hi ladies, want to check with u if the doc has asked your hubby to do a testicle scan/xray before? anybody hubby did this before ? my hubby after taking the vitamins for 1 mth but still morphology still very low...anybody got any advice?

ML,
Non of bthe gynaes ask my DH to go for the scan/xray though he has a v low morphology too...Our only option to hv a baby is to go for IVF...we will contemplate it if no results with current TCM for a few mths...
My DH also tok 3 mths vitamins before without any improvements....so stop taking it le...

hi babychole, very loss leh, but if he dun do, we really dun know wats the prob. so he will be going for the testicle scan. the doc mentioned that the sperms are not properly formed, like no head or no tail etc. very scared leh... then like tat how ? as for my prob, he said since his SA not good, no point giving me clomid or any medication. have to wait for his condition to improve then treat me .. wa, dun know must wait how long ... i thk i want to change to KKH already. cannot tanhan the high medical cost. issit true tat get referral from polyclinic to KKH is cheaper than walk in and choose a doc in KKH ?

ML,
Hv u eva tort of giving TCM a try?
Its cheaper to go to a polyclinic to get referral & u cannot choose doc...from my experience, good docs will not be assigned if u get referrals from polyclinics...Normally oni registrars will be assigned...

Hi ML,
never go to polyclinic for referral, they'll give you trainee doc who has not much experience, they won't have any good advice. If you're going KKH, go for snr consultant, but need to pay slightly more lor.

ML, my hubby's sperms are like that too... no head or no tail so doc advised to increase quantity to make up for the lack of quantity. prior to doing iui, doctor showed us a sample of my hubby's sperms and i saw the no head no tail, 2 heads, deformed sperms :p

hi tub,
you're right. too bad that time my hb wanted to try naturally so we didn't go straight to iui. I a bit regretted now.

hi babychloe, yes, i want to try the Chen Mei Er clinic near Novena. Made an appt in Jul.

thanks Jenn for ur advice, ok, then i shall go straight to KKH. so far i spent abt close to 2k just for consultation and test.. but like no outcome. just dun want to continue doing more test and dun know wats the outcome. i guess the next test the doc will suggest will be lapro for me.. so are u still trying naturally ?

hi tub, so do you think the condition of my hubby will improve? i am worried it wont, and i am not ready to do any IUI or IVF. i dun know how much time do i need to give myself to try out... getting pregnant is such a long process for us ...