Support Group - Endometriosis and Fibroids.

Hi Xueyan,

I also had mid cycle spotting sometimes lasting up to 10 days. I think it's because my endo cysts on my ovaries were causing my ovaries to go haywire, resulting in hormonal imbalance, which can cause the endometrium to breakdown and bleed. But it seems to have disappeared after my lap op.

Hi beary

Thanks for info. May i ask how often do you go for TCM and acupuncture? You mentioned that you reduced the daily intake of painkillers, do you take painkillers everyday? And what painkillers do you take? If you are having synflex, bear in mind that you need to eat something before you do so, because synflex is damaging to the stomach.

Hi lyn
I have a cyst in my left ovary. It is about 3cm big, thats why i delay lap op. I also have something behind my uterus. Some gynae said it is adenonmyosis, another said it is fibroid. I really hope it is fibroid which is far less complicated.
I was always told that the problem with endometriosis is because of blood circulation, tat's why we are encourage to do exercise.
Lyn, when u said that u r not convinced by TCM, but i thot for endo problems, English doctors has not much solution to it. They cannot explain the reason relating to it, they can only advise to remove it or not, or encourage you to get pregnant so that this problem can be solve by itself.

Hi Marble
Thanks for info. Mine is not spotting. It is menses. Quite worrying. Anyway, going to see gynae on thursday.

Hi xueyan,
Yes, western doc cannot cure my endo and fibroids. They can only remove them and then wait for re-growth and remove again. So I look for alternatives

Why did you delay your lap op? Are you TTC now? My cousin has a cyst at 4cm in the ovary. She removed it and went on menopause for 6 months. Immediately after the menopause, the cyst grew back to 4cm within 1 month. But now she's a happy mum

Hi xueyan,
Yes, western doc cannot cure my endo and fibroids. They can only remove them and then wait for re-growth and remove again. So I look for alternatives

Why did you delay your lap op? Are you TTC now? My cousin has a cyst at 4cm in the ovary. She removed it and went on menopause for 6 months. Immediately after the menopause, the cyst grew back to 4cm within 1 month. But now she's a happy mum

Finally me also went for my Laparatomy - ops of "huge" fibroid. It cost me $6k for the ops, after medisave deduction, I just need to pay cash of about $3.5k, and I was given only 21 days of Hospitalisation Leave. I was only admitted for 2 days..

I would like to check with those gals which had this operation before, will ur taste buds change? Cos since discharged till now.. already a week.. everything i eat seem bitter...

Hi worry_mum, you only need to be hospitalised for 2 days? I was in hospital for 5 days when I had the op. But I cant remember that I had change of taste buds leh. So are you having mini-confinement now?

Hi worry_mum,
I did not have change in taste buds. But I have no appetite and gotta force myself to swallow. I eat very very little then. Do take care and drink more red dates longan

How many and how big are the fibroids?

Hi Giggler and Lyn

I got only 1 big fibroid - 12cm - my gynae said its a coconut. Immediately after my ops, he visit me in my room and show me the firboid liao..keke..

Yes Giggler. I was only admitted for 2 days, no fever no pain etc.. so my gynae allowed me to discharged earlier..

Yes, me now having mini confinement at home. Me am fine with all food leh.. good appetite leh...

Hi lyn

I delay lapo because i heard too many stories that cysts and fibroid recur very easily and very soon. I also heard that menses pain might not reduce after lapo. It is really quite sad for all endo patients that surgery is not a once-and-for-all solution and the amount of pain we endure for this disease. Delaying surgery may not be a good solution becoz the situation might worsen but how many times can a woman undergo surgeries to remove cysts, fibroid. Sooner or later they will suggest TH which should be avoid by all means.

However, this time round i think i will have to face surgery. my menses is really heavy and with this mid-cycle bleeding...looks like surgery is the solution now.

Hi worry_mum,
Wow 12cm fibroid very big... I got 2 that are 12cm each, then 2 6cm each... In total I got 12! kekekeke... very jialat hor? The weight of my fibroids in total is like a 5 months' baby...

Hi xueyan,
Have you heard of holistic healing or alternative health? It could help which you might want to consider. It is the natural healthly way for your body to heal itself.

You are right that we cannot go through so many surgeries, and in the end, TH will be suggested...

I hope you dun mind me asking a question. If you mind, you do not have to reply. Do you have problems with your digestive system?

Hi Lyn

You have 12 fibrois that weigh like 5 months' baby. How do you feel at that time? Heavy and bulging?

No i have not heard of holistic healing. Can you tell me more or recommend website with useful information.
I do not mind about your question but very curious why you asked. I have stomach ulcer before, but tat was like more than 10 years back. From that time onwards, i refrain coffee completely. I will describe my digestive system to be ok now( touch wood). It seems better when i eat wholemeal bread for breakfast (to prevent constipation).

Hi xueyan,

I was pregnant at that time. My fibroids grew very fast due to the pregnancy hormones. I felt a big lump before I decided to see a doctor. Then I realised I was pregnant. My very first visit to gynae was only 2 fibroids. Then 2nd scan, become 6, then last scan was at least 6.
At that time, I outgrew all my clothes in 1-2 weeks. I thought I was growing fat due to instant noodles. Cos I got craving for instant noodles and I ate that everyday.

I lost a lot of blood during the surgery and had blood transfusion. But still took me 2 months of complete bed rest. It took me a few months to "bu" back. I do not want to go through it anymore, so I become rather health conscious

I will recommened a book titled "Fit for Life - A New Beginning" by Harvey and Marilyn Diamond. I hope you can read it first before you decide whether you should go for surgery.

From my experience, I realised that women who have lumps in the womb or breasts, usually have problems in the digestive system. Mostly have constipation. Problems in the digestive system are "symptoms" to some diseases developing in the body. These symptoms will appear long before us realising what is wrong.

Last week, I went to see an oncologist with my cousin. My cousin was diagnosed with breast cancer. The oncologist told us that the other family members not only need to do regular breasts examinations, but also womb and colon. According to the oncologist, breasts, womb and colon cancers are related. This is something new that I have learnt last week
Just something to share with you gals...

Hi worry_mum,
Yes. I had 12 fibroids. It's not something to be proud of really...
You are indeed very lucky to have only 1
Now is to prevent the regrowths and better health
Take care...

Hi Marble,

There are many books on "Fit for Life". The very first publication is called "Fit for Life" which is also very good about our diet. Try to read "Fit for Life - The new beginning" to get to know more about how diseases come about.
You can get a copy from MPH, Times, Kinokuniya, Borders, etc. The National Library also have some copies.

Hi Xueyan

The pain-killer that I am taking is codeine. I went for the accupunture session every week. Now I am also on GnRH jab. But it seem that it is also not working for me...Sigh

I have exactly the same sypmtons as you before my op last year. My gynae said that it is adenomyosis and the radiologist said that it is fibroid. Only after the op that it is confirmed that I have Adeno..
Anyway, don't stress yourself. Why don't you give TCM a try first before deciding on the surgery option. Trust me, I am telling you from my experience...

Hi lyn
thanks for recommending the books. You mentioned in other thread that you have a friend that take a certain medicine and the cysts/fibroid disappear. Can you give details of the medicine?

Hi beary
Yes i will be trying TCM. In fact i did try TCM before, at JE and CHung Hua. However when i am on TCM, i experience pain when i take the medicine which doc said is to clear the blood clot. Do you feel same? How often do you visit your TCM sinseh? What are their charges?

Hi Xueyan,

When i took TCM during day2 of my period to clear the clots, i also had very bad cramps. not sure if it's the TCM effect. The TCM herbs i took were suppose to have anti-clotting properties to "flush" out the menses & prevent backflow. I also dun know if the pain is normal..

Hi Xueyan

You also been to the JE doc?? I went once only and I did not take the med cos the diagnosis is totally wrong.
After taking the med, my AF is extremely heavy but as for cramps, I am having it daily so I do not know whether the med will cause cramps or not..
Chung Hwa med definitely work for me cos after taking the med, a subsequent scan showed that the 4cm cyst is no longer there..

Just came back from Raffles Hospital for lap !
was feeling really 'suay' having been diagnoised with endo. Then I happened to read this thread and realize so many gals are facing this problem

Really wondering what is the cause ? The surgery was indeed a very scary thing. Gynae initally thought that I had a dermoid cyst which was worse there was a chance that it maybe cancerous. I was so scared for 1 whole month. In the end, after the ops, he told me it's a endo cyst. They can't determine whether it's dermoid or endo from ultrasound :x

Anyway will read up and find out the cure for endo soon and will share with u gals.

Hi Riushiki,

Do have a good rest. Wish you a fast recovery from the surgery
. Take good care

I personally think that the cause of endo is more on diet. If you do a read up, you will find the root of the problem is our liver. In the current society we are in, with all the stress that we are facing, the diet that we are having, we are putting a lot of stress on our liver.
Regarding the hormone therapy, for me, I did not opt for it. I did not follow my gynae's suggestion
I personally dun believe that injections is the solution. Cos it might work for some, and not for some. There's no guarantee that the endo will disappear. There's no guarantee that they will not come back after the treatment.

Hi Lyn
Thanks for your well wishes

Do u have spotting after the lap ?

I also won't be going for hormone therapy. My friend took chinese medicine and her cyst disappeared completely. It was a 6cm cyst :x Amazing

I read that chinese herb and acupunture can do wonder for endometriosis sufferers :p

Hi Riushiki,
Yes, I have spotting after the lap
Try not to even do housework. When I did housework out of boredom at home, my spotting increased. Do rest well

You can try treatment that you think will work and has worked for others

Hi Lyn

What are the treatments that work for the gals here so far ?

Can share with me ? Seem that all of them are not active at this moment :p

Hi Riushiki

Hope that you are feeling better. I was told by one lady that do not take too much 'bu' things after op cos its no good which made me very puzzled. Mushroom is also a no no...

I tried the GnRH jab but its not working for me.. so I am going for a 2nd op next yr...

Hi Beary,
Sorry to hear that you need to do another op. You mean after jab, AF return and endo grow again? Are you going to do lapro again? Maybe you want to ask your gynae whether it is advisable to do the normal kind of op (cut open type sorry don't what it is called). Reason is because the endo might be hidden, wrap up by your intestine, so lapro might not be able to see it.

Hi Hopeformiracle

I was on 2 different hormones jabs to have temp menopause but after 7mths, I am still having my AF with huge blood clots discharges with daily onset of cramps. Recent review with my gynae, I was told that I have stage 3 endo and dense adhesions. My previous op is an open abd surgery so I am not sure this round whether its gonna be a lap or open abd. Thanks for the advice, I will check with my gynae

Hi Beary
Did u try chinese medicine ? Maybe u should give it a try?

My friend also had a 6cm cyst and managed to dissolve after a year taking chinese medicine.

I read the reason for ovarian cyst formation is due to stagnant flow of our blood qi in the body. So must avoid all 'cold' food such as beancurd, beansprout, cold drinks def no no etc.

The reason I did not try for chinese medicine first is coz gynae cannot determine whether mine is a dermoid (which can be cancerous) or blood cyst lah .. suay .. . then got to operate to take out
If not, I will sure try for chinese medicine :x

Hi Riushiki

Thanks... To be frank, I have seen 3 other gynaes and 5 diff TCM docs and like wat u say, luck is not on my side.. Accupuntures, TCM medications dont work for my endo except my cysts... I went for the first op is because of the terrible pain that I kept having everyday and hoping that the pain will go away but it does not..

Beary,
You case it very very similar to mine. I have 3 op so far already. Is Peter Chew one of your gynae? If not, maybe you can consider him your choice. He is my 2nd gynae. I don't know what stage endo I have but alot of adhesion and stick to my intestine. Everyday I will have pain even without AF, the pain can kill me liao. Now I am on menopause. I am very scare and paranoid of AF and the pain now. Dare not think about it. Which month next yr you going to do your op? Do you have any children now?

Riushiki,
Endo is not the normal ovarian cyst. It won't disappear, in fact I think it will harden if left unattended. It is caused by inflow of our blood.

Riushiki
Wow you setup your own forum!! Don't let Chin Leng find out, wait he kick you out haha cos you are selling your forum at his property hahaha

Hi Hopeformiracle

Aiyo, just like me, nowadays whenever the cramps start or the sight of spotting can trigger the panic button in me... No, so far I have seen 2 gynaes at Mt E and one at Tiong Bahru. I will be seeing my gynae in Feb which is the 4th day of CNY. Sianz, imagine got to go hosp to see him and be scheduled for surgery during the CNY period. I am still TTC which is why I am very very down now...

Riushiki

kekeke, u good hor dare to announce ur forum here...

He will kick me out ? But it's a non profit support forum for endo gals like us :x

U know in US .. there are 5.5 millions women suffering from endo ?

I think SG is bad too. My gynae told me "a career woman's disease" :x

By the way, I do a lot of research on the net. So whatever good stuff I can find I will put in the forum then you gals can take a look :p

Please drop a line leh ... we should arrange for an endo gal club ha ha ha

Life is more than about endo. Cheer up

kekke
Your gynae is cute. Just like my gynae, he said that I over-worked so I told him, please do me a favour, plse let my boss know..kekekke ;)

ya so i asked my gynae "are you telling me that I should not work then" he said "no lah .. .. must work" hee hee :p

He said hor .. he had removed thousands over cysts .. imagine if there are 500 gynae in singapore, average removal is 1000.

Then there are 50,000 sg cysts sufferers around hee :p

wow!! such a big number of sufferers... Guess its very common to have cysts.

how many days of MC did your gynae give you?? I was on 60days MC last year but its pure torture for me because my pain started again one mth later....

he gave me 3 weeks ... then he asked whether i want longer ? ha ha .. i said it's enough liao :p

Depend on what types of cyst lah. Not I got a handful knowledge of the different types of cyst ha ha ha :p Initially mine is suspected to be a dermoid cyst which can consist of hair particle, teeth formation, skin and even eyeball !!!!! 3% of dermoid cyst is cancerous and they are known as immature teratomas :p

My gynae very impressed when I said immature teratomas .. asking me whether I have been doing research hee :p

I guess hor .. the no. of gals suffering from endo is very big. Some just haven't discovered yet for those w/o symptoms like me :x

Its true.. I only started having symptons last year and went for a CT Scan which showed that I have bilateral endo cysts and adenomyoma.. Before my op, my gynae told me that I can be discharged on the 3rd day and it ended up I have to be admitted for 8days instead because the normal surgery turn into a complicated surgery and he has to get another to surgeon in to help...kekeke

kekeke, your gynae must be very happy to have such a patient like you as he do not have to explain too much...kekeke

Hi Beary
Sorry to hear that your surgery turned into a complication one :x What is the cause ?

Before I went for the surgery, I pray a lot. Like those never study much then last minute study type hee :p

Coz I am thking, nobody can help me now except God :x

Hi Hopeformiracle

I believe miracle does happen

Able to wake up everyday is a miracle for some already

Cheer up okie :p Are your endo friends able to have babies ?

Hi Riushiki

well, all my organs decided to join hand and get glued together.. so the 2 surgeons has a nice time separating them before they can actually remove the cysts and adenomyoma....
My gynae was telling me that they have to put in many tubes to drain off the stagnant blood..yucks so scary..

So that day when he mentioned about the 2nd op, I was like huh?? again??

Riushiki,
Sorry to disappoint you but none of my friends who have endo are preggie yet.

Beary,
Haha, when my gynae told me I need to op the 3rd times, the feeling is like the sky is going to fall onto you...really sad hor.

Hopeformiracle

hanor...He somemore can joke and tell me dun look so depressed leh... Cheer up... Aiyo... how to cheer up rite??

Anyway ladies, we must be positive and miracles will happen...

Beary,
Yalor, how to cheer up. Next time he say that to you again, u tell him "wei, I am the one laying on the OT bed leh, how to cheer up!!" haha...