Support Group - Endometriosis and Fibroids.

Hi Beary
I heard this is a very good book :p Dunno can find in S'pore or not

http://www.endometriosis.co.uk/book.html

Seem that so many gals are suffering from this ... the nurse who helped to take off my plasters also kept shaking head and said dunno why nowadays so many pple kena :x

Hi Beary,
Thanks for the tel no. And all the best to U!! Thank you for the encouragement too. Ya lor...nobody wants to go for another op leh. But sometimes really no choice. What to do right? Women are so 'ming ku'!!

Hi Riushiki,
Yes, I juz done my lap. B4 that I duno I hv endo. That fertility specialist dunno trying to scare me or not leh...cos initially I told him my plans - to TTC naturally for 6 mths. Juz want some oral medicine from him to boost up and enhance my ovulation, that's all. But he said try to make full use of these few mths since juz 'fresh' from lap. So insist I do SO-IUI this mth! I was so shocked! Cos to him, he sounded like I dun have anymore solutions liao. Can only go for SO-IUI. If fail after dunno how many times, then IVF liao!

I was like 'HUH??'....too shocked to believe that I need assisted procedure to conceive. Then I keep giving excuses to him and told him err...maybe I discussed with my hubby 1st and also my husband very 'conservation' dun like to go thro all these procedures to conceive etc...but this fertility specialist juz told me to tell my husband, that if I want to conceive, dun wait liao. Everything must do fast & quick. He sounded like rushing...makes me so nervous n worried.

Riushiki, I had my lapro in Sep but start to feel menses cramp again when I had menses last week. Very scared to think that the cysts come back again. Sigh.... Wow, it seems like there's nothing much we can take leh. So how are u changing your diet?

sad heart, my gynae did tell me to get conceived asap. Cos he feels that I'm in my optimal stage with my cysts just removed and the fallopian tube cleared. But he didnt ask me to go for any IUI or etc. This is only the 2nd mth that I TTC after my op lah. Dun feel so upset by your gynae. I feel that the choice is still up to you lor. For me, I thot of trying out TCM cos my gynae said there's no cure to endo from western medicine.

beary, I also coffee addict, cant give up coffee leh. What's TH? Have u consider of seeking 2nd opinion?

Hi Sad Heart

You are most welcome
We are here to sharem give support and encouragement to one another..

Aiyo, you poor thing, the fertility specialist must have given you a terrible shock and maybe add more stress to you... Just relax and dun stress yourself ok...

Beary, Giggler,
Thank you for sharing. Whenever I hear pple say endo no cure, I really want to cry. Ya I know the choice is up to me & my husband. But scared dunno TTC for how long then can strike. If I TTC N TTC but still no strike then endo grow back, then really doom already.

How I change my diet so far ? No kopi, no tea, no dairy products, red meat try to cut down but still eating, no beansprout, no soy .. actually i dun have much pain from endo. For for those with pain, I read will be good to cut down on wheat. But alamak, if need to be wheat free, basically a lot of things cannot eat !!!

Very hard life leh :x

Riushiki,
Huh? So many things cannot eat hah...then eat vegetarian food can right? I also dun hv pain from endo. Doc said during intercourse will hv pain but I dun hv. He said I'm just lucky.

If no diary products, no wheat, no red meat etc, then eat what huh? Rice can eat? Fish can eat? If even rice & noodle cannot eat, then left to drink water...haha!

Hi Sad Heart / Giggler

Really envy both of you leh... So lucky.. No pain at all.. For me so suay, everyday pain and even scan also pain...tats why evertime doc say scan, I also scared...

No Wheat product is very jialet leh cos my main diet is bread leh...

Hi Sad Heart
That's why I tell my hubby. Might as well kill me ha ha ha ha :D

I am going to buy this book later then will share with you girls what can eat and cannot eat.

I think our local nutrition knowledge is very little and lousy as compared to US and UK. Personally I believe diet plays a very important part to our health. Do u thk so ?

We are what we eat :p

Hi Riushiki

You are so cute... Can ask me to give up eating food but asking me to give up coffee is like torturing me leh... :p

If you managed to find the book, please keep me informed ok.. I may wan to buy one and keep too..
Thanks in advance

Hi Beary
Didn't go out in the end leh coz still raining hee :p

I know Amazon is selling. I read one review of the book. This couple having 9 years of infertility, changed their diet and she managed to get pregnant in a month ! :p Amazing

think turn veg also difficult cos got to be wheat-free leh.

sad heart, I TTC for abt 9mths before I got my gal (she's 18mths now). So dun be discouraged lah.

Riushiki, the story very encouraging leh. But first I got to try very hard to stop drinking coffee.

beary, diff to stop drinking coffee hor?

Just finished the first pack of chinese medicine given by Dr Xia Rong :x

This is supposed to help to shrink the leftover endometriosis cell that are not able to remove during lap.

At least with this chinese medicine, I can try TTC ...

Got another dose of chinese medicine to help with getting preggy one but need to boil. Will take that after I am back from my short trip next week :p She warned me will be bitter, I told her it's okie. I can take it :p as long as dun need to go on hormone therapy hee :D

Hi Riushiki
Its ok. Hope you have a wonderful holiday and that you will strike after taking the TCM doc medications and no need to go on the HRT..

Giggler
Hanor , can't even survive on one cup of coffee per day not to say give up..
But then again for our health sake guess we got to encourage one another to quit coffee ...

strike ? like strike toto like that ? hee hee :p

I guess the smile of seeing your own baby is enough to give up one cup of coffee a day ? ha ha ha

Really leh .. read a lot of sites coz now I super free. All said must give up caffeine coz it will produce estogen :x which is the cause of endo :x You can do your own research too ...

But funny, both western and chinese docs here said I can eat anything :x

Found this from a website :
http://www.drlam.com/protocol/endometriosis.cfm

Studies have shown that drinking more than two cups of coffee a day may increase estrogen levels in women. It could also lead to problems such as endometriosis and breast pain. An average cup of coffee (4 oz) contains about 100 mg of caffeine, and an average cup of tea ( 8 oz) contains about a third to half the caffeine content of coffee.

Having high levels of estrogen for women in such cases can be detrimental as it can lead to breast cancer in women and prostate cancer in men. Those who have a family history of cancer also have a higher risk.

In a clinical trial conducted, about 500 women between the ages of 36 to 45 were studied. These women were not pregnant, not breast-feeding or having hormonal treatment. They were interviewed regarding their diets, smoking habits, height and weight. Their hormone levels during the first five days of their menstrual cycle was also measured.

The results showed that women who consumed more than one cup of coffee a day had significantly higher levels of estrogen during the early follicular phase of their menstrual cycle. Those who consumed at least 500 mg of caffeine daily, the equivalent of four or five cups of coffee had nearly 70% more estrogen than women who consumed less than 100 mg of caffeine daily.

Caffeine intake from all sources was associated with higher estrogen levels regardless of the women's age, body mass index (BMI), caloric intake, smoking habits, alcohol and cholesterol intake. Coffee consumption increases estradiol levels. There are three different forms of estrogen in the body - estrone, estradiol, and estriol. Estradiol is the form that is pro-cancerous. Women should limit their intake of coffee to not more than one to two cups daily to decrease their risk of having more serious health problems.

Chronic high caffeine intake can also leads to adrenal gland exhaustion and the reduction if production of progesterone. The proper progesterone to estrogen ratio is therefore not maintained, resulting in further estrogen dominance.

Coffee (especially when accompanied with sugar) also creates an acidic internal environment. The body will try to neutralize the acid by withdrawing valuable minerals such as magnesium and calcium from the bone. This leads to mineral depletion if chronic and ultimately osteoporosis.

In addition to the above, coffee is a stimulant that leads the body to generate epinephrine as it tries to fend off insults with a flight or fight response. In response to the epinephrine, the adrenal glands (sitting on top of the kidneys) secrets cortisol, an anti-inflammatory hormone and one that is pro-aging to reduce the effects of epinephrine. Chronic excess intake of coffee can lead to adrenal exhaustion over time. The adrenal glands are also responsible for manufacturing pregnenolone, a precursor to progesterone. Deficiency in progesterone in turn upsets the intricate estrogen/progesterone balance, leading to estrogen dominance and a host of symptoms including fatigue, bloating, depression commonly associated with menopausal and pre-menstrual symptoms.

Thus, coffee consumption can lead to increased estrogen, adrenal gland exhaustion, and osteoporosis.

Hi Beary,
Oh u pain everyday ah! Did u ask doc why like that? Any method to cure and stop the pain? Sorry I didn't read earlier posts so dunno what happened. So that's why u going to do lap next year?

Riushiki,
Xia Rong's medicine can clear up the leftover endo? U know the content of the medicine? Can buy from outside or not? Or must go see her then she will prescribe? But it's inside our tummy, how do we know if really clear hah? :p

Hi Giggler,
Thanks...will think positive side....

Hi Sad heart,

Beary case is very similar to mine, think both of us fall on the more servere stage of endo (serious kind). Me too before op, I have pain everyday. Like everyone, I also getting very paranoid now. I am currently on jab, have been on temporary menopause for 6 months liao. I very scare of AF now, cos my endo grow too fast. Within 2 yrs, I have 3 op and my last op is those cut open abdominal kind.

Btw, if you don't mine telling, who is your fertility gynae?

I am switching my diet too. I try to take alot of water and take only fruits during the day and little rice with little vege/fish/meat at night. Hope it will help. Twice a week I drink coffee but after that try to wash it down with alot of water.

Riushiki, what's hormone therapy? Is it the jabs that you gals talk abt? No, I didnt take any jabs. Checked with my gynae but he doesnt encourage it. He prefers me to TTC asap then take birth control pills to control endo. You gals really made me consider to go and see Dr Xia Rong leh. But not sure if I want to spend so much cos the one I went at Meiling St quite cheap. You can try to make bb during your holidays mah.
Ya, I asked my gynae abt changing diet but he said that diet is not the cause lor.

beary, ya think the first thing to do is to quit drinking coffee, then proceed to cut down on bread. I'm bread lover too. Guess that's why I got endo lah, see my diet will know liao.

hopeformiracle, you dun take any food during the day? You body can tahan? I must eat once it's 12pm for lunch if not I'll be very lethagic. Actually I've heard of just taking juice for days lah but didnt dare to try.

Helo Morning

Just woke up hee :p

From what I know, the chinese medicine is supposed to help u lesser your pain and improve the flow the menstruation. Less blood clot etc. So if you can tell all these from your menses then you will know the medicine is working. I guess same for hormone therapy, you won't know whether is it working for you internally too. U just know your body is being forced into menopausal hence no menses but the moment you stop, the growth maybe back.

Giggler, who is your gynae har? I like him/her leh .. dun force u to go on jabs. Did u have any ovarian cyst? For me, I have one blood cyst on my left ovary and some endometriosis implants on my uterus. That's all :x My gynae said mine is a moderate case.

For the rest who are in pain everyday, should really consider changing your diet
I guess the release from daily pain should be a big motivation to cut down those food that we shouldn't eat. No harm changing diet if really can improve our health :p

I cut off coffee but I dunno how to cut off bread
(
( My mum said dunno what to feed me liao :x Any suggestions for breakfast :x

Juz pass by here to give everyone encouragement. I've an x-colleague also hv endo, but she successfully conceive naturally. So don't despair ok. You'll strike. Tell yourself you'll be able to do it.

Hi Giggler,
I also like your doctor cos he nvr 'forced' u to take those jabs, hee hee...I wonder if your gynae is same as mine??? My fertility gynae also said he dun want me to take jabs. Told me to do SO-IUI to conceive. If eggs are over-stimulated during the procedure, he will have to convert to IVF cos dun want to waste the eggs.

I'm still considering to do or not...cos under him very expensive. Really no money liao. My husband said juz try naturally 1st.

Hi Hopeformiracle,
My gynae is Dr Suresh Nair at Mt E hospital.

Hi Riushiki,
I did not take the hormone jabs. I read up quite a bit about endo and fibroids while I was recuperating at home after the surgery
. I have changed my diet. No coffee and tea and anything with caffeine, no soft drinks, no alcohol, very much less junk food and snacks, no instant noodles, little meat, no dairy produce (milk, cheese, yoghurt), little seafood, no deep fried food. More vegetables, more fruits and fresh fruit juice.
And also filtered water at home. Beetroot is good for our liver. Endo and fibroids are due to inefficient or weak liver. I drink soya milk for my calcium. I did not follow the saying that soya milk can hinder conception
It will certainly take a while to change our diet. But gotta start somewhere if you want

Hi sad heart,
Dun sad dun stress ok? It's easier said than done... but I really think stress is no no in TTC. Have confidence in yourself and believe that you can conceive naturally
Going through assisted procedure can get very stressful also... That's one of the reason why that was not my choice too.

Hi beary,
Try to cut down on coffee. If you want to drink tea, drink the flower tea

Hi hopeformiracle,
Bread is really not very good for us. If you want to eat bread, try to eat wholemeal bread and limit your intake. Bread has lots of sugar and refined flour...

Ok gals... I really think diet does play a very important role. "We are what we eat". Eat more vegetables and fruits.
Dunu give up gals... there are still hope, ok?

Riushiki, my gynae is Dr Chan KH from GlenE. He's rather pro-natural type lah. I like his stitching skill so stick to him though he's ex. I got my ovarian cysts removed just 2 mths ago. Found to have 3 of them in total on both of my ovaries. How abt taking cereal like oat for bfast?

Sad Heart. my gynae is not the same as yours.

hopeformiracle, what fruits do u take during lunch? Maybe I shd try it out for a day or two to see if I can take it. At the same time can help to reduce some wt hor?

lyn, think I'll start by taking more veg and fruits now.
How's things at your side? Get to see bb?

beary, I didnt have my morning coffee today leh.

Hi Lyn,

How about Sunshin/Gardenia white bread? Can we eat moderately?

Btw, just checking, do you all have constipation problem, i think too much toxic inside our body also no good. So, must try to clear bowel everyday.

Hi Sad,
Wah, ur gynae from MtE no wonder ex. Maybe u can consider switching lor. Mine is from GlenE (same gynae as lyn).

Giggler,
Eating fruits got "technique" wan leh. You cannot eat at one shot. The rule is, only eat when you feel hungry and I always buy a few different cut fruits and eat them slowly. If you eat all at one go, every soon, you will be hungry.

Hi Hopeformiracle,
Ya lor...my gynae very ex. Really no money now :-(

I'm still discussing with husband. Maybe I want change another cheaper gynae...maybe at KKH. Cos my problem is a long term problem...cannot always see expensive doctors...will end up bankrupt and all my money contribute to doctor :-(

Hi Hopeformiracle,
Ya lor...my gynae very ex. Really no money now :-(

I'm still discussing with husband. Maybe I want change another cheaper gynae...maybe at KKH. Cos my problem is a long term problem...cannot always see expensive doctors...will end up bankrupt and all my money contribute to doctor :-(

I'm think of maybe go see KK gynae and ask for oral medicine to enhance my ovulation and improve the quality of eggs. Then TTC naturally and dun do SO-IUI.

hopeformiracle, oic.... but how many fruits do u need for your lunch?

sad heart, do u know you can claim from Medisave for IUI? But I not sure abt the details lah.

Hi Giggler,
I am good here
Thank you... So far so good
I will be seeing gynae again tomolo afternoon. Hopefully my hubby can go with me to see baby dancing

Hi hopeformiracle,
Try not to eat white bread. They are full of refined sugar and refined flour only. Wholemeal bread is much better...
Yes, clearing bowel is very important. When I meet people whom I know with cancer, they have a common problem for a very long time. That is, majority of them have constipation problems. Now I take fibre drink to help to clear my bowels

In alternative health, they have a saying that the toxic built up in our colon is the cause of problems in our womb, such as endo, cysts, etc.
According to my cousin's oncologist, breasts, womb and colon cancer are related...

Hi Girls
I'm back. Wanted to buy insurance policy but now the agent is saying the company will exclude anything to do with ovary for my case
so sad !!!

Went down to border to check out the endo book but it's OUT OF STOCK !!! Alamak, really a lot of endo gals in SG :x

Lyn, you are right. Your diet fits what I have searching too :p ... for those with pain, wheat is said to be the culprit. How many months did you try before you get preggy ?

Sad Heart, I think you should try natually first lah. If really cannot, then think of some other methods. Have you been trying ?

Giggler, are you trying 'hard' too ? hee hee :D

Me wanted to try but I think my AF is coming soon :x Can feel a bit of backache and loose bowel .. my pms symptoms :x ... or endo symptoms :x I also not sure. My gynae said backache is endo symptom ??? But I thought most pple will have backache one. I check with my friends who are normal also have backache and loose stool :x

I read also that breast cancer is a cause of excess estrogen. Since for our case we already have excess estrogen, we will be at higher risk ??? :I

Sianz .......

Seem that we have common diet. Like kopi, like bread. I love cake too :x This must be a very unhealthy diet hee :D

By the way, I also started to take multivitamins for woman. A stronger immune system may help to fight these abnormal endo growths.

Hi Lyn
By the way, izzit possible for you to share your diet with us in details ?

I think yours is def a very good example coz you manage to be preggy after changing your diet

Izzit okie for you ? Thanks a million ! :p

hopeformiracle
U mean normal pms dun have backache ? My friend also having very bad backache and she is expecting now :x

lyn, great that you're fine. Take care

hopeformiracle, just 3 slices of fruits enough for you? Pei fu pei fu

Riushiki, is it??? What ins policy are u looking at? No, not trying very hard cos still cant make up my mind if I really want another kid. So just let nature take its course. Not sure if it's endo symptoms but I got backache and loose bowels.

Hi Giggler
You already have a kid har
That's nice :p

I'm looking at term and life insurance lah. Realized I am covered too little :x

Hi Riushiki,
No, I'm not trying yet cos everyday busy with office work, back home so tired...so sian to try. I dun want to pressure myself in BD leh....

Hi hopeformiracle,
KKH has to wait long long ah....but cheap leh....bo bian lor....cos I dun think I can afford anymore. So wait also have to wait. Money really hard to earn but spend like water :-(

Back from my one day mc only and so many posts...

Sad Heart
Why don't u give CARE a call.. There are lots of success stories that made me wan to go there too and the best part is that they also have fertility assoc for western and TCM and Ms Xia Rong is on of them.

Giggler

Wah you good hor..can start the day without coffee.. I only managed to cut down one cup of coffee yesterday.. :p

Riushiki

I am on Lucrin leh...No bad side-effects except that I am extremely tired and sleepy and knock out everynite at 8pm.. :p

Hi Beary,
I called CARE already. Their charges are very expensive. I cannot afford.

Hi Riushiki,

What kind of coverage are you looing for in insurance, if you are looking for saving, got for Endowment. If you are looking for Investment, can buy those investment cum saving plan. If you are looking for hospital coverage can look for medisave kind of healthshield, pink of health, and H&S plan. If you are looking for "pass away" and have $ left behind for family then look for life insurance. I studied insurance before, so know abit.

I think it is very important to buy coverage for hospital stay, for health etc esp when we are the ones that go in/out hospital very offen.

Riushiki, yup I'm blessed to have a gal. It's really a miracle to have her cos I was found to have cysts that time.

Sad heart, dun force yourself if you dun feel like it cos stress is not gd for TTC. Since you got to wait long to do IUI at KKH, why not you just try naturally at the time being? Who knows you may not need to do IUI at all.

beary, heehee... but I succumbed to coffee during my tea-break yday. Really cant work without coffee leh. Hope I can be coffee-free today.

hopeformiracle, I got Pink of Health and found it easily claimable. But you can only claim one time for one illness. Which means I cant claim anymore if I got recurrent of cysts.