Support Group - Endometriosis and Fibroids.

Want to give Chung Hwa a try?? So far, its proven to be working for me after taking their medication. My cysts has reduced...

Yes, your friends are right. Male gynaes are more gentle and patient. First time, is uncomfortable but once you are comfortable with the doc, its nothing... Mine is also a male, first visit, paiseh but after tat its ok...kekekeke

hi beary, where is chung hwa? appreciate if you could give me the details...you're also taking TCM and it showed results for you personally?
that's a consolation to u...

Hi Estheryl
Chung Hwa is located at Toa Payoh Lor 4. The building is very prominent (near to Toa Payong Library or the old NTUC that is beside the big car-park. Yes, was very happy when I went for scan in June and my gynae told me that the big cysts cannot be seen and there are only small cysts

this is indeed good news for me..thanks...i'll visit chung hwa...which physician did you consult and may i know what is the medication for you?

Hi Estheryl

In Chung Hwa, every consultation room is for diff treatment. The doc that I saw is in Rm 5 and his Dr Bai. Just tell the reception that you want to see doc in Rm 5. He is on duty every Tues and Fri evening from 7-9pm. As for the medication, I sorry that I can't tell you as I do not know how to read chinese. Anyway, the doc will prescribe the medication based on individual.. Hope this help you and hope to hear good news from you soon...

Hi Estheryl,
I had my laproscopy for endometrosis two years ago and was on injections for 3 motnhs after the operation. Period resumed in Nov 03 and I just went to my gynae 5 days ago becos my last period was very painful and I had bad mid-ovulation cramps and spotting. My gynae told me my cysts are back. I am quite sad...now comtemplating between getting pregnant and going for injections again.

Can I seek some opinion? may I ask for those who had history of endo, how long did you take cenceive? For those who had the injections to stop menses from coming, how long did you take to get pregnant after you resumed having menses?

Hi caratsoup

So sad to hear about your recurrent cysts. Are the cysts on both of your ovaries? Can I know what injections that you were given after your op? So what did your gynae said about your recurrent and the treatment intended? I too have recurrent cysts 6mths after my op. Can I know who is your gynae?? thanks

Thanks for your posting ladies.

Beary,
I don't think the cysts (endo)are at the ovaries cos he did a sketch to show me, I also have a cyst called the Adenomyoma (also a kind of endo cyst) at the back of my womb (i have a back-tilited womb). The jabs are called deca jabs, I think. My gynae is Dr TC Lim from Tow Yung clinic at Tanglin S.C. He advised me to either go for the jab or start trying for a baby right away. My HB and I would prefer to go for the jab first cos the news is too sudden and we are not mentally prepared to have a BB. But my concern is I may not even get pregnant so easily thus after the course of jabs, I may have diff conceiving. If so, I might as well start trying now but also worry I will strike jackpot soon. Now in a dilemna.

Beary,
By the way, my left ovaries have been slightly damaged after the first round of endo. I had more than 10 cysts so it was quite bad, my fallopian tubes were kinda entangled and my gynae had to free them during the lapro. So I think I may not be very fertile.

hi caratsoup...i supp we should start trying for a baby now..b4 we get older and things get tougher for us?

i'll be going to chung hwa, the chinese medical hall which beary recommend...to see if the medication helps...have you tried TCM before?

Hi Estheryl,
I tried this place along Balestier Rd called Ngee Ann XXX. The chinese physicians are all females and are from China. There's one that specialises in women problem. I tried for about 2 months. They give chinese medication in 2 forms, either you boil them yourself or ready-prepared in packet-form, therefore only need to heat up and drink. They were very heaty and caused some breakout and sorethroat so I stopped. But the physician seems very knowledgeable and even knows how to describe endometrosis in the western medicine point of view.

hi caratsoup, did your condition improve during the 2 mths you took the chinese medication? yikes breakout and sorethroat...?? i hate that...hmmm

HI Estheryl,
I think 2 months wasn't enough to improve my condition. But I was watching a programme on TV yesterday about TCM and seems like acupuncture is also used to improve menstrual cramps. Don't know whether true or not? Sometimes we try so many methods to improve our condition but we really don't know if it really does help or does it worsen our condition. *sigh*

caratsoup, yah that's v true...i was told western medicine usually incurs side effect...hmm you get menstrual cramps often? i used to..but it seems a normal thing for me now every mth, the pain becomes numb now hee

I am glad to find this thread.

I have just been diagnosed with endometriotic ovarian cyst, also called chocolate cyst, in my right ovary. I was feeling a little sad last night as I just got married and would like to have a baby sometime in the near future.

My gynae suggested key hole surgery (laparoscopy) to remove the cyst which is about 4cm, followed by medication to suppress menstruation for 4-5 month. He did not tell me which medication but mention it is progestrone related type. Understand there are side effects like acne and weight gain. I also read on a website that medication following surgery is controversial if one is trying to conceive.

Here's the website if anyone is interested.
http://www.ivf.com/ch17mbpg2.html

I am going back to see my gynae again next monday to let him know of my decision on whether to go for the op. I most likely will but am not sure about the medication after the surgery...whether I should try to conceive straight away or take the medication. Anyone had the same problem as me and did not take the medication?

Hi Marble,
I had the laproscopy done 2 year plus ago and followed by injections to stop my period from coming too. I did not experience any weight gain or acne....complexion was in fact rather good. The only side effects were menopause symptoms like hot flushes, rapid heartbeat for no reason, and very painful sex thus we avoided that during that period of time.

If you do intend to have a child, I read from other threads that some women who suffered from endo like us, had diificulty getting pregnant but once they removed the cysts, they got pregnant within a short span of time. Thus you can go for the surgery and try to concieve after you recover 1 month or so. In this way, you can also avoid the hassle of going for the injections.

Hi Marble,
I have endometriosis. My gynae recommended me the injections but I did not go for it. I managed to conceive but just lost the pregnancy. We tried for 6 cycles. I went through laparoscopy recently. It's pretty painless
. So dun worry too much
I had laparotomy before and that was bad. But laparoscopy is peanuts
I am comfortably recovering well at home now
My gynae said just need to rest for 1 month and then can try to conceive again.

Hi Lyn,
Sorry to hear about your loss. I have a relapse of endometrosis and the cysts are still quite small at the moment and my gynae is recommending me the jabs or pregnancy. Can I find out from you how long did you take to TTC? I was thinking if it's gonna take us quite awhile to TTC, then no point for me to take the jabs and I might as well try to start to TTC now cos I am now studying and preferably we would like to avoid pregnancy for the next 10 months or so. What do you think?

Hi CaratSoup and lyn,

The injections are the GnRH type of medication. My gynae's recommendation was for the oral progesterone type of medication which I also read can delay pregancy up to 12 months after stopping! I'll have to speak with the gynae again on Monday to see if this is a good option.

Actually to be optimistic, it might not to be a bad thing as after my diagnosis, my hubby is more willing to try for a child soon after my treatment. Previously, he had been very adamant that we only start trying 3 years from now, by which time I would have been 36 yrs old!!

Lyn, hope you're not too upset but will continue to press on. : )

Hi CaratSoup,

My first pregnancy was a surprise. Just take a risk for once and bingo! For the second pregnancy, it took me 6 months with the help of clomid. I just had one cycle of clomid and bingo! But too bad... lost them.

When I rejected the jabs, my gynae told me it will be ok for me to ttc and see how, but I shouldn't delay further.

I am also pursuing a degree. My gynae told me before that a degree is not everything in life, which I do agree with him. Cos our biological clock is ticking and cannot be reversed.

Hi Marble,

Dun be sad ok? Just discuss with your gynae what's the best option for you.
There are way out
You can also seek several opinions before starting the jabs or medication. I am not very sure about the medication. I only found out about the GnRH agonists injections.

I am not too upset about the loss anymore
. It's a blessing in disguise
. It could have been worse if I keep the pregnancy.

Marble...
I have a cousin who had ovarian cyst at 4cm. She went through laparoscopy to remove it. Then had the jabs to stop menses for 6 months. The effects of the jabs varies from person to person. Immediately after the effects of the jab, her ovarian cyst grew back to 4cm. She still try for baby, and did not go for anymore surgery nor jabs. She tried IVF too, but failed. And one fine day... she's pregnant! No help from doctors... pregnant naturally... In total she took 4 years!

So I think people like us should not delay trying... We will not know how long it is going to take. Even the doctors also cannot predict...

I am new here. I have endometroisis and adenomyosis. Had my ops done two mths ago. Now still under injection of Gnrh. Gynae reckons I need under two more to soften my womb. I didnt know of my condition till my pregnancy discontinue two mths ago.
kao_sad2.gif

Now treated under Maurine Tsakok. She is very good but very ex too. Wonder if there is any other recommendation on gynae who treated and deliver baby from people like ?

Hi Lyn,
That's exactly the dilemna that I think people like us go through....not knowing how long it will take to get pregnant and whether to accept treatment right away or not. Studies may not be eveything but kinda worried that it will be physically very straining if studying and pregnant at the same time and also I am not working and I am relying on my savings to get by before I complete my studies thus I also worry cos I will delay my studies by one semester is Im pregnant and I may not have enough $ till then. *sigh*

May I know how much you ladies paid for a larascopy in a pte hospital? I asked my gynae and all he said was I'll get a good rate since he operates there often? duh?!

And how much was the injections for 6 mths?

Hi Jol_Vin...
Hugs... I understand how you feel. Dun brood over it for too long.. It's not good for health
Take it as now everything clear and clean to start again
Now can have a new start to a successful and healthy pregnancy
I found out I got fibroids and endo in my first pregnancy. I gotta terminate it cos the fibroids grew too big already and the baby did not grow.
I just had an ectopic pregnancy. I will be asking my gynae is it becos of my endo. Cos last time he told me my endo are on the tubes... Now I think I will have a fresh start
all my endo and blood clots cleared and fibroids did not grow back
So looking forward to a healthier me

Hi Caratsoup,
Dun worry too much... "chuan dao qiao tou zhi ran zhi"
I think maybe when you got pregnant and still studying, with the happiness having a baby in mind, you will be able to pull through no matter what
It will no longer be very straining already. Ur hubby is still working rite?

Hi Marble,
My gynae's charges alone is $4,100. Hospital charges $1k+. Mine was at Gleneagles, which is on the expensive side. I heard Mt A will be cheaper.

My sister in law just had a laparoscopy too. Her gynae charges her $1k for the procedure. I am not very sure how come so cheap. Maybe her gynae gave her discount and she got no problems like me. I do know she went through the procedure just to investigate if there's anything wrong inside. All in, she paid $2k++, also in Gleneagles. I think my gynae's charges could be on the expensive side too. So it varies...

I have asked around. On average, laparoscopy will cost about $6k.

The injections will cost about $370 per injection. Usually gotta take 3 injections.

where's your gynae operating?

lyn,

who is ur gyne at gleneagles ? I had my lapro done at gleneagles too and my total cost was abt $7.5K. Think majority of the charges are to my gyne.. coz he knew that i can claim under insurance

Hi Lyn,
My hubby is working but not earning alot. So I don't ask him for money although he always tries to pay the bill when we go out. By the way, did you take the jab? I took it before and I did not suffer any side-effects like acne or putting on weight. Did you? I ask becos your jab is so much cheaper than mine,I paid $480 for each jab. So, if you also don't have any side-effects, maybe I can go to your gynae.

Hi Lyn,

My gynae has a clinic at Gleneagles and he operates there.

btw, he specialises in surgery related to such conditions, but i don't not sure if he is a fertility specialist. was wondering if i shud also consult a fertility specialist for 2nd opinion. kiasu lah!

Oh everyone, I am going to start eating properly now on. I read high B complex supplements are good (in any case, folic acid also good for those TTC). Vit E may also possibly be good, altho no scientific studies to prove yet. Anyone knows what to watch out for in our diet? Tofu good or not...read controversial opinions on soy based foods. Some say soya too "cooling" for the womb, some say good as the estrogen-like substances in them will decrease the body's production of its own estrogen. Contradicting leh.

Also, 'pai fong wan' and 'dang kui' good or not. Read somewhere in this forum someone advocated we should stay away from them!

Hi marble,

If you are TTC, better take folic acid. My gynae gave me folic acid and multi-vitamins.
Folic acid is important for baby in the first 3 months. Vit E is good for people like us
About soy products, there are indeed many contradicting reports. Just eat in moderation lor.

For "dang gui", my gynae specifically told me I cannot take cos my problems might get worse.

hi gals...
i'm afraid of jabs and all..so i'm going to try TCM at chung hwa, will see how everything go...
beary, issit the one in toa payoh you went to?

Hi beary, will the doc actually feel the pulse to know whether i do have a cyst in there? or he just give the right medicine upon hearing that i have cyst? i'm considering if i should bring my ultrasound scanned photo to let him see...

Hi Estheryl

You have to inform the doc the problems that you are having. He will feel your pulse and give you medication accordingly. He will also give medication for the cysts. I think its good to bring the report so that he has a clear picture..

hi beary, thanks... i will do so...went last sat with my dad who also consult another doc on skin problem, but was told doctor bai not around, saw the roster on the board, he's only around in the night on tues and fri...might go tmr..

thanks alot!

Hi Estheryl

You are most welcome!

Hope the TCM will help you. Guess what, I went for a scan on 18th Aug and my gynae cannot see the cysts at all. I was so happy...

hi beary, that's indeed good news!!! congrats!
so the TCM does work for you...that's good..i hope it does for me as well

hi beary, have consulted dr bai...showed him the ultrasound scan pic too...he didn't say much aso..but i'm given a bottle of black liquid which is rather bitter..and pills...was cautioned by him that these cannot be consumed if pregnant, having cold or menses...and the medication lasts 4 days only...was yours the same as well? after 4 days, do i need to get back to him for more or just wait and see how after another re-scan? he did say it will not make the cyst disappear but at least hope can prevent it from growing, told me not to treat this as 'elixir' heee
anyway i started taking the medication yest...will keep you updated of further development

Hi Estheryl

Yes, got the same medication which is only for 4 days. Did he tell you to go back again after the medication? I saw him 3 times before I went for a re-scan.... All the best to you..

Hi beary

May i ask you do u experience any pain when you take the medicine from Chung Hwa? I went to see a doc at room 5, Dr Zhong. He prescribed some medicine and i faithfully see him for couple of weeks. He told me that these medicine is for clearing blood. However, i feel pain after taking the medicine. I imagine this is because in the midst of clearing blood clots in the womb (as they are all stick to the walls) it will be painful?

Can you share your experience? How long have u take the medicine that your cysts seems to disappear now? Do you have to visit CH twice a week?

Do you know if cysts or fibroid can turn cancerous? I also heard stories that they could burst and things will be complicated by then... Under what circumstancs will cysts or fibroid burst?
thanks for feedback

Hi xueyan,

I read from a TCM book that with treatment, symptoms can sometimes worsen before they get better. Y dun u check with the doctor for reassurance.

My gynae is going to do a D&C together with my laparoscopy. Anyone did that also? Can I check how long it took your AF to come after D&C.

Xueyan,
Fibroids will not become cancerous. Cysts when grown too big will burst and cause adhesions around the womb, thus the complications. I dun think fibroids will burst cos they are solid. Mine grew to 12cm each!

Hi marble,
How come you need D&C? Sorry for asking, are you having misabortion?
I just had D&C plus laparoscopy a few weeks ago. I had ectopic pregnancy. Now still waiting for AF. I suppose AF will visit me 6-10weeks after the D&C.