Support Group - Endometriosis and Fibroids.

hi createjoy,

I think singapore is a totally stressful country to work and that is exactly my fear too. Stress will be one factor too.

and now what i am experiencing that knowing the fact of the condition doesnt help, I am constantly thinking what can be done to help and stressing out over TTC

I can totally understnad how you feel.

Yeap, we wish we have prog button to display status :p :p

Hi lovebug,

I just started seeing Dr Tan last month, but saw from this forum that seems quite a number of sucessful cases. I think accupuncture can help to stimulate blood flow, so that the result is faster and more effective.

I've quite severe endo, ttc 10 mths still no result.

Heard that fertility starts to decrease from age 35. Better ttc early

Hi, ladies, I am new to this thread. Just read quite some old posts, and found them very informative.

Hi, Simp,
just read your posts that "Only lap can confirm if u have endo, ultrasound scan cannot confirm or really see endo. "
I am very concerned about that. I want to know if endo is associated with a larger-than-average uterus. My gynae Dr Fong Yang (in Paragon) and Christopher Chen(in Gleneagles Hospital) did v scan for me only and said my uterus measures above 100mm and that is a symptom of endo. Is it true? Although I heard from another gynae that endo can be confirmed only by lap, just as you said.

I am really confused and don't know which doctor to trust. Please help!

hi jenn,

Ya that is what I was thinking about fertility derease from age 35 and yet docs kept saying yes yes you are still young

Ya that is what I do too I saw Dr Tan after reading from the posts

Do you know what it means from those charts
been seeing 36.4 for 4 days and suddenly a drop to 36.2
anyone know what this means?

Hi lovebug,

Haveu started to count your cycle period? The first day of mense is the 1st day of cycle. Usually our ovulation peiod/fertile period is on day 14 if u usually have on average of 28 days cycle (meaning 6 months of same cycle) before u start ur next mense. If u have a 30 day cycle, then ur fertile period/ovulatin period is on day 16 (30-14) as a general guideline. U shd also notice that your cervical muscus is becoming whitish clear like eggwhite from your usual discharge, meaning ur body is nearing/in fertile state. U can only confirm ovulation date when the next day temperature rises. A rise in temperature indicates the body is preparing for your coming mense/pregnancy if u ttc. Probably need to monitor with a bbt thermometer for 2 to 3 months before u know how to recognise or be more sensitive to your body signals. Once u know how to recognise, u can try ttc on the period u think is fertile, and u may hit jackpot. After ttc, please do not move around and place a pillow and rest below your buttock area to let the sperm swim deeper into the uterus for better chance. Rest for at least 30 minutes, maybe can take a nap after ttc. http://www.fertilityfriend.com is a good and easy chart to understand our ovulation period with tutorial to ensure our understanding. All these r learned from this program via their tutorial.

Hope this helps to clarify the dip in your BBT.

hi simp

thanks!!!
my cycle is not exact one but every month will have period just that it is either 2-3 days before or 3-4 days behind ... ...
so my cycle is about like 27-30 days

as for cervical mucus, i dont think everyone have that, i don't have the thick like egg white kind shrugh????

The chinese sinsei just started to ask me to plot those temperature ... ... and because i just had a laposcopy op, the whole period cycle goes upside down again

now need to monitor?

hi lovebug,

i think 27-30 is quite normal. what is csider not too norm is like 40 days. i used to have reg mense but now aft 2 mc was either very soon 25 or 30+ days... during my last 2 preg, i tried on day 14th to 21st starting from 1st day of mense and i also do the same keep my leg raise, pillow under hip and i strike that way on both time. pity i didnt mgn to keep the bb. i also drink "black ckn" soup on the day i wanna try keke heard from my colleague it helps.. heard dong cong cao is good u can try drinking it 1-2 times a mth. dont be too stress about it, hmm mayb can try "made in" other country. go for a short trip (plan on ur fertile period), relax and "do" often hahaha... it's good time for u to try aft ur lapro. how lg ago was it? i suggest u dont try immd after 1st mense. if possible maybe 2nd mense onwards. cos aft lapr think body abit weak. the productive system maybe not too strong.. i'm not sure.. just suggesting... cos i got my 2nd preg immd aft 1st mense and when i mc everyone said i too fast not fit for it.

i wish i could start tcc like u all.. but sigh i think i better wait till my sinseh say i'm good enough for it. hoping to rest till mid of the year & pray my cyst dont grow any bigger. i wonder if i should go for 2nd lapro before i tcc again.. now got a 3+cm blood cyst in ovary i wonder if it will increase my risk or another mc. keep feeling slight lower back pain..

simp,

do u have backpain previous before preg?now still any pain? i really wonder if ppl having pain can still tcc and give birth.. do u have cramp when u have mense before preg? aft my lapr i dont have cramp then after d&c on my 2nd mc the 1st mense was awful... i also have freq infection smells bad and itch almost every mth for 2 to 3 weeks. i tried to insert vag tbl but next mth the same thing hap again.

hi lovebug,

you can ask Dr Tan, he'll advise you. I asked him a lot of things like what can eat, what should avoid. Bcoz my womb is cold, so cannot take anything cold in nature.

btw ladies, I have decided to go for ivf in Mar, and after found out the detail procedures, I think in order not to stress myself on work commitment, I'll tell my boss about it. Regardless what she thinks, I'm going ahead. At most just quit my job lor...

hi, ladies, i am new to this thread.

just read the above few posts and surprisingly find that no one mentions the use of the so-called ovulation prediction strip to detect LH surge in the urine. A LH surge means the ovulation will occur within 24-36 hours. The body temperature only rises 1-2 days after the ovulation, therefore, we can't rely on the temperature to know the exact ovulation time. Watsons and Guardian sell very expensive ovulation predictor. but i got simple predictor strips from a Chinese physician. the price is 20 dollars for 10 pieces. it is cheaper but as effective.

I've noticed that Simp just suggested that a pillow be put below buttock to increase the conception chance. But as far as i know, it depends on the uterus position. There are two kinds of position. one is normal position, another is retrovert. majority women have normal uterus, for them, there is no need to use a pillow. just lie on the bed, that is enough. for those who have retrovert uterus( like me), a pillow is needed.

Hi Noscon,

I am not TTC yet. I just had my endo cyst removed early last month, my gynae advise me to take the 6 deca jab over 6 mths to stop my menses for 6 mths to prevent it from continuing to feed whatever microscopic endo cyst that may still be left in my ovary. This will hopefully reduce the chances of recurrance of the endo cyst.

And to reduce the menopause effect that may come about from this jab, my gynae give me a hormone pill, livial, to take. I hope after these jabs and with TCM, the endo cyst will not come back and my body will be more prepared when I am ready to concieve.

Hi lovebug,

Maybe u should wait for 1 to 2 months after your lap and when your body has recovered then try ttc. Yes the period may go a little off after lap and painful after lap so need to rest and eat properly. When u feel that u r better physically and mentally then chart your BBT.

If you also take tcm to tiao your body, the tcm medication may increase cervix muscus or help the body to produce it. U just need to monitor and be sensitive to your body more. Last time i also dun know until i started to chart BBT and cervix muscus by noting them down daily and how i feel.

Clari,

You r right, i also have a retroverted uterus and i just tried the method a few times using the pillow. I just tried everything to make sure that i dun miss out some steps to help myself conceived

Hi createjoy,
I do have backpain on and off before pregnancy when i over exerted my back or when the mense is nearing.

R u having yeast infection? I have them also before pregnancy. Maybe tell your gynae, and he will give some medication to clean ur vagina.

Maybe u try ttc when u feel better, dun stress yourself too much.

hi jenn, simp and createjoy,

Yes I am going for TCM to try retify the problem but in the mean time have to wait for my period to come and then can finally figure out what is wrong.

In the mean time, my hubby has done his SA and he seem to have low count ... ...
now hoping to see Dr Tan to solve that.

As for the pillow thing thanks its very usefully

Simp, after lap the 1st period is very pain huh?
oh my goodness ..........

Hi lovebug,

For me i always have a difficult time whenever my mense come, so it really depends on individual. I remembered 2 weeks after my lap, my first mense came and it was bad cramp like the past. I guessed becoz my womb' wound is still raw or recovering then i have my mense so it was quite comfortable for me. I have no strength, just laid on bed, took pandanol and rested. I also remembered i took white bread with margarine which are no good for endo sufferers as it will cause the body to produce some hormones that caused pain. Then i dare not take dairy products nearing or during menses. This is what i realised and experienced after reading the endo e-book and realised there is a link for my disease. Think my body is very sensitive to food and pain.

If u dun have bad cramp before lap then maybe it wont be too bad when ur first mense come. Just take note of the food u take and rest well. Dun worry too much, after lap, your body is cleaner as the endo deposits were removed and she is recovering well under tcm

hi love bug,
unlike simp, i used to have cramp before lap i thought it's quite normal.. anyway my first mense aft lap was great... no cramp... but after my 2nd miscg and cyst come back 1 mense after miscg mc was very crampy... if only i didnt miscg then mayb cyst wont come back so`soon.
i think my uterus is normal cos seen so 3 gynae nobody said anything. still the pillow thing works for me cos if not i will stand up immd after biz and go wash up i think more or less gravity and cleansing will reduce the chance abit. babay dust to u! good luck!

cheerz5,
u got medi aft lap ah, i think my doc didnt give me anything aft lap cos i wan to tcc that time but he didnt say can help prevent future.. if not i prob have taken medi too.. but now i want a long break told him about that he didnt offer anything leh.. only ask me to go scan again after march mense see if reduce or inc size or not..
i still hoping to try 8 mths later but sigh mayb i should have learn from u, dont rush into it... really worried, the cyst, my born stress freak habit will make things worse. i wish doc have an exact answer to my miscg

Simp,
i think i having yeast infection every mth till a week before mense it will clear off itself. like last time i insert 3 vag pill this mth after mense sometimes itch and smell.. this often happen,noticed it has pattern..

Hi createjoy,

I also have yeast infection recently but i din go to gynae. I just reduced sugar intake and drink more water. Avoid sitting down too long and wear looser bottom and put tissue paper on my panty. I also tried to go toilet often and clean, so far ok. Yeast infection is more common during pregnancy. Before pregnancy i did have 2 accounts of yeast infection, i just felt that i went loo too often and saw some strain of spotting or itchiness then. At times i feel that it is difficult to pee and not much volume. I guessed back then i sat most of the time causing moisture and bacteria to form. . Maybe check with gynae how to minimise the yeast infection. I am also not very clear abt preventing it. Let me know if u get any advise from gynae.

hi girls
i went for my 3 gynae review,
the 3rd one is dr peter chew.
he commented abit weird how the 1st gynae did the procedure which now fears me the most ... ...

Anyone knows whether chinese medication and english medicine can be done together?

according to the 3rd gynae, he said better to just emphasize on 1 type: either the chinese or english

what are you girls take on this?

Hi lovebug,

That time my gynae din give me any medication only painkiller for my cramp or pain. Then i just take tcm as a whole without taking the western medication. However if u want to combine the 2 types of medication u have to take a break of 4 hours before u take another type of medication.Eg take western medicine at 8am,wait 4 hrs later take the chinese medication at 12pm. However i do agree with gynae to focus on 1 type of medication instead of 2 to see the results. Unless the tcm doctor says otherwise. I remembered when i tiao my mense cramp and womb after lap, i was given chinese medication to strengthen my womb and i did ask my tcm doc if my mense pain is unbearable, can i take pandanol. Her reply was ok as the medication she gave me would not affect me even if i take panadol then. However i did not take panandol as her medication controlled my cramp to bearable pain even though i perspired and felt a little uncomftable. What i am saying is, if u wanna to combine both, then u have to check with your tcm doctor if it is ok for u to take both and show her the prescription that ur gynae gave u. For me i would advise to stick to one unless no choice.

Hope this helps

want to hear from anyone of you who may have removed cysts before. I have my cysts removed (open wound) last yr.

2 normal cycle of menses passed by but now I have brown discharge in just 20 days after the last menses. pregnancy test show -ve. then 20 days later. still the same thing. Anyone experience something like this?

Hi Simpp, oh must be sitting dwn trap moisture. to be honest i oftern feel warm dwn there and i sat for at least 9 hrs a day becos of work.. sigh.. money.. work..money.. work.. i wonder which more impt..? no money cannot no work also cannot...

Hi Simp, oh must be sitting dwn trap moisture. to be honest i often feel warm dwn there and i sat for at least 9 hrs a day becos of work.. sigh.. money.. work..money.. work.. i wonder which more impt..? no money cannot no work also cannot...

it sounds funny.. but i sometime feel verm warm down there like it's having a fever keep sweating haha.. yday i experience severe heartpain congratulating a new preg colleague.. ahh heart ganna stab.. whole night can't sleep.. then this morn as if i heard someone keep calling mummy.. oh dear i must be hearing things imaginary..

wish time pass faster then i can tcc again yet hope pass slower cos i'm so scare already. haha contradicting.. then i was like double character now sometime smile smile sometime cry, often give my hb "black face" cant help it leh.. he always so busy, sometime i felt it's only when i'm sick , i miscg then he will drop his work for that few days for me. what am i? a display in his room ah.. 2 msg no phone call everyday, i'm so sick of it. on the other hand, i felt heartpain for him cos he's working so hard and vex over office politics. i know he wish to quit if not for the pay.. sigh sigh.. yet this wife only knows how to complain pain and cant even bear him a child or make him happy. who am i to complain all day...

hi createjoy,

Don't be so negative, I believe your hb knows what you are going thru, he will give you his full support. Don't think too much into it. You are making yourself unhappy.

Somtimes I really hope guys can conceive too, we don't have to suffer that much.

Hello gals...
Sorry to intrude... I used to have fibroids and endometriosis. After the surgery for fibroids and endometriosis, I have a son who is coming to 2 years old now
I am now 31 weeks pregnant with two gals
So dun give up, ya? The most important thing is to stay positive and take very good care of yours and your hubby's health
My gynae told me that I will get fibroids during my subsequent pregnancy, but thank God, it's not true
What I did was changing mine and my hubby's diet to more vegetables and fruits, and took very good care of our health. Jia you!
Stress does hinder fertility...

Lovebug,
Your 3rd gynae is my gynae
He's very good and gives very good advice
Had 3 surgeries done by him already, including c-section for my boy. He's quite knowledgeable in chinese medicine too.

kbc,
I had multiple fibroids and lost a pregnancy due to them a few years ago. My gynae adviced against bazhen and danggui. Red dates still ok. Bai feng wan is also no no. I cut down on bread, dairy products, meat. I still ate cheese cos I cannot live without cheese then. I never drink cow's milk ever since. Only soya milk. I also cannot live without bread, but I cut down already. I eat more vegetables and fruits and still eat rice.

clari,
Endo can only be confirmed by lap. A larger than normal uterus is one of the symtom of endo, but not 100% true.

Jenn

I think SO-IUI ard 1300 for kkh... I not sure exact cost havent readlly did my calculations yet but it also depend on how much injections you take. Different people are given different dosage and for different no of days so the cost will differ slightly

Thanks falah (noscon),

I'm just curious, it is so much cheaper as compared to ivf.

lyn,

I gathered from the other members here, it seems soya milk or soya products is no good for ladies too. Probably you may want to check it out.

if you have endo, please restrain from eating coffee, soy prdt(doesnt help with ovulation), dangui, bai zhen, bai feng pills which encourages growth of fibroids, cysts and endo conditions.

Jenn, Falah,
Take soy products in moderation

The British report about soy products affecting fertility is a study based on the Brits, and their diet are very different from ours. Many of their off the shelves and frozen products have soy added. Their diet is mostly "convenient food" and those microwaveable frozen food which contains soy or by products of soy. Over time and daily intake, it becomes "overdose". In Britain, even the water is not very good for drinking cos might contain hormones. Very long to explain. In short, they have "advanced" ecosystem. You all dun have to agree with what I believe. I believe it's not the soy that's causing infertility. Hormones in water and meat are worse culprit. I was in Britain for a few years. I got my fibroids and endo and infertility problems after I came back from Britain! But it's the past now

I do drink soya bean milk daily and still eat bean curd
Probably I am just lucky to be having twins now. But I do not drink soya milk from the supermarket fridge. Heavily processed food are not good. Sometimes, I make my own soya milk at home
Basically soak, blend with water and boil. And sweet stuffs can affect fertility too. And beware of "hidden sugar" in bread. People who have cysts/endo usually like sweet stuffs like cakes, bread, desserts...

I do apologise if I have offended anyone
You might get angry with me cos I am pregnant. I been through that stage too
Jia you in keeping healthy. Stay positive.

Good luck ladies
Baby dusts to all of you. May you have better health
May the stork visit you soon

lyn

Congrats on having twins!! Thanks for the tips... Anyway did you undergo any treatment to bear twins or is is hereditary?

falah,
Hope you gals have your dream soon...
No family history, no treatment
Natural
What I did was watch mine and my hubby's diet. It's very very important to get healthy first. Else even can get pregnant, there might be lots of problems during pregnancy.

My auntie was diagnosed with a 3cm water cyst and fibroid.
Her private gynae charged a hefty 15k for keyhole lapro to remove both.
Can anybody advise the procedure and recommend a good gynae in KKH?

Hi SeR,

I did my lapo in KKH under Dr SF Loh, only half of that price. But frankly speaking, I don't like the service of KKH, so I don't recommend your aunt to do in KK. My colleague did at TMC, about 1K or 2K more.

Ser

15k is really a lot. I never heard of lapo so exp... but having said that, I'm also not familiar with your aunt's medical condition but so far the most exp I heard is abt 7k also by a private gynae...

Had done 2 surgery in KKH... the service is great. the nurses are very friendly and helpful...maybe diff ward has diff nurses...

I have put a new thread What Your Doc may not tell you about
Premenopause. Balance Your hormones and Your Life from Thirty to Fifty.
(THis is actual title of a book written by Dr John R Lee MD, and Dr Jessie Hanley MD).

You may want to get a copy of the book or I saw it in Toa Payoh Library. Read about it to understand your body and listen to your body.

Some of the symptoms could be caused by estrogen dominance.

LH is only release during ovulation. We will still have menses even though there is no ovulation. (Estrogen is main hormone during lst half of the cycle.) Progesterone is needed for a lot of function eg maintain pregnancy to full terms, counter the effects of estrogen.

I have been using natural hormone to balance my hormone. I too have fibroid but it has disappeared.

i've just lost my job bec of my daily cramps resulting in hospitalisation 4 times this year. Don't know wat to do now. with my condition don't know if can get another job or not.

anggie,

sorry to hear that, but why your co so not compassionate, it's not like you fake your illness. anyway, did you go for TCM? they really can help to improve your condition.

jenn

no i didn't go for tcm. don't like the taste of chinese medicine. even if i want to go now, no $$ bec no job. maybe just go medicine hall get some medicine but than also not cheap....

anggie,

you can try chong hwa medical hall, they are charitable org, the consultation + medicine only cost about $10. You've to tell yourself the medicine is good for you even thou it taste yucky, once you're used to it, it is not so bad la. I think you should resolve this problem while you're looking for another job.

thanks jenn

tot i just self medicate. need to find a good store where the people there can explain in english. to my understanding most place all explain in chinese