Support Group - Endometriosis and Fibroids.

hi noscon
i'm on painkillers everyday. even when there's no bleeding also got cramps. it's continuous. past 3 months been hospitalize once each month.got even take up to more than 10 painkillers a day. if i can spend most of the day in bed, like during weekends & when i've not much work to do, than i try to take less pills. my work is quite physically challenge so before going to work always pop 4 to 6 pills first.
lately at times feel hungry but just don't feel like eating. have lost quite a bit of weight.

Hi simp,
Thanks for the recipe 1st. Happy to hear that you hv managed to conceive naturally. I feel more hopes now.
Care to share which TCM are you seeing?

Hi noscon,

I hv tried Dr Tan Siew Buoy for 10 mths, no news and my endo got worsened somemore. So now I switch to see Dr Tan Kian Sing. I think with the help of acupuncture might be better.

anggie

i think your pain is really bad... even got cramps when u r not bleeding... have u ask yr gynae why u got such bad pain when ur endo not that serious? i know there is a dr fong yang who specialises in endo though he also deliver babies... u can look up his credential. he is quite famous doc for baby delivery, not too sure abt endo though i read that he specialises in that...

jenn
im also seeing dr tan kian sing now... so qiao! does accupuncture helps? for me i got preg 1st mth i see him but no more after that. i think i saw him for 3mth+ now... i not sure whether its becos of tong chai med that got my health better or what... btw i miscarriaged as predicted by the dr in tong chai.

hi jenn
i don't want both. hee. i just take painkillers.

hi noscon
my gynea also can't explain. abt 4 months after the lap there was some infection/swelling on my tubes which he state as PID. but even after the swelling has gone down still got cramps. he said might be some small remaining infection. he refered me to a general surgeon who said could be adhesion colic.
i don't feel like changing gynea. i still want to remain with my current gynea for now but i feel like getting a second opinion. i don't know. where is this dr fong yang's clinic??

Hi Jenn,

Dr Tan Siew Buoy is experienced in treating gynae and fertility matters. However it does take time for body to get better esp tcm. i thgt of going to her initially but as i am going overseas to join hubby then and needed a more esier tcm option to take, i did not go to her. Brewing can be hassle but it is better as it will be better taken by the body. I went to Dr He Quiling from EYS at South Bridge Road (hq). She is from Shanghai i think but she speaks and understands english and medical terms as well. If u wan to see her, she is ard everyday except wed when she is off. U have to take queue number at the clinic and they dun take appt on phone. I took her medication for 3 mths and conceived naturally but i think i stopped work as well and eat healthily to help in conception. Body and mind rest are importan to relax the body for conception if u r planning for family. Otherwise to manage the disease, we need at least 3 to 6 mths before we see improvement. Mense cramp will still persist but can be managed without painkiller at times.

Dun take herbs on the advice of elders or friends without checking with tcm doctors as some do worsen or grow the condition without our knowledge. I did last time before my operation and worsen e disease.

hi simp,
thanks for sharing. I'll try Dr Tan kian sing for 3-6 mths and assess the result. I agree with you, rest & relax is very impt. Currently I dare not take any herbs other than those given by tcm. but I guess chicken essence and normal herbal soups should be alright.

Hi Simp

Read in one of your earlier posts that you tried oral contraceptive for your condition. May I know whether you tried a combined pill or progestin-only pill? I'm thinking of taking oc for my endo pain but not sure which type.

Hi gal,

i just had my 2nd miscarriage. 1st one was 6wks in june 07and dont know lucky or unlucky i then found out i got endo.. did lapro in sept. and miracle happen i got preg after 1st mense then ganna missed miscarriage in dec. bb no heartbeat.. worse shock to come is today after about a mth after the D&C i found a new cyst 3.7cm. i couldn't believe it could grow so fast! in dec when i scan for bb there is nothing!

doc say do another scan when my mense come to cofirm that is no egg. i think no very hopeful.. how could the egg be so big must be cyst. but i only had a mense and then misc not many cycles aft lapr why would it grow so fast so sudden.. i only had dong cong cao & my sinseh say it's alright. did anyone had cyst of 4-5cm even before preg and still preg or give birth? i read endo increase chance of misc & i had 2 misc + new cyst.. i'm thinking of resting at least 6mth before tcc but i don't if the cyst can wait and how will it affect the bb. and now i feeling backpain same as after 1st misc where during lapro doc say small cyst already rupture i wonder if it's already rupture now..

simp, is adenomyoma same as endo? same risk as endo? i'm read one woman give birth having endo but it was a rather high risk and she delivery before full term to reduce risk. i'm thinking my cyst is cfm shd i go another lapro or tk medi stop mense till end of the year when i want to tcc.. but i'm not sure if i shd try again.. i really scare of getting preg, was very stress. and when it's gone, i was so depress.. i don't how to go thru it again and really scare..

Hi Natsu,

That time i am not sure what type of oral contraceptive that my gynae gave me but it is to manage the mense cramp and hormone. I dun find it to be very useful to manage cramp pain after 2 months. I also felt menopausal effect like knee cap pain and others. I took for 5 months then i stopped because i felt taking painkiller is faster to relieve mense cramp. And if i decide to try ttc, i need some time off like 6 months for the body to be ready for conception.

Hi createjoy,

i am sorry to learn abt your plight. How r u feeling now.

I suppose ur miscarriage could be due to a few factors such as endo, body not ready for conception and others. I think everything happened to be very near one another and it has been difficult for u.

Cysts can come and go away very fast. I remembered i have cyst at one scan and no more at another month scan. Then when i did my laparoscopy, cyst was there and being removed. So cyst may not be permanent.

I am still having adenomyoma (some term as fibroid/cyst but they r not cousin), which is a cousin of endo. It existed because of endo and no way to remove it unless i dun want family planning as womb will be taken out completely rendering me infertile permanently. Gynae wont suggest removing it unless one does not want children. Yes it is higher risk for women with endo to be pregnant as we r prone to miscarriage and earlier delivery as well. In fact it is difficult for us to be conceived as well depending on where the adenomyoma is located. Mine is located near the cervix / birth canal so gynae said i have little chance to conceive naturally unless i try IVF. But by grace of God,i managed to conceive and now in my 6.5mths of pregnancy. There is hope sister. My current gynae told me that i will have c-sec earlier than my due date as my adenomyoma is growing bigger now at 7cm. I do hope i can deliver nearer my due date so that baby is ready.

i suppose ur body went thr many major changes with 3 and 6 months and needed rest and recuperation. I would suggest that u dun try ttc within the next 3 and 6 months. Let your body rest, build up before u try ttc. When your body and womb is ready, u would be able to conceive and your body can hold your bb to full term. I dun think u have a problem to conceive but u need rest and recuperation. TCM will be good to help your body to get back in shape as the herbs are gentler on the body and aim to strength and build up your system. Similarly u will need rest, proper and healthy diet and not a stressful evironment to help yourself to be back in shape.

Maybe go for a holiday, rest your body and mind for a few months before u try.

What did your gynae and sinseh say on your condition? I dun think your gynae and sinseh would allow u to ttc so soon looking at your case.

Dun worry, if there are so many sisters here that have miracles and attest to it, there is always hope. It is not easy as i have also been through a different route and wish u best in ur health. Health comes more important than other things. I am sure your mum and dad are very worried and they r more concerned about their girl, ie you than other things.

Hi Simp,

Thanks for your prompt reply. Appreciate your help. I've been looking at ways to relieve the pain as it's getting hard to function at times.

I had a c-sect and at that time, one worry was how endo would affect the internal scar. My pain recurred before baby was one. So maybe could have taken some steps after operation to slow down endo. But going on hormone therapy is not easy, with its side effects. Sigh.........

Thanks Simp. I hope i can be as lucky as you. I'm quite a stress freak to make thing worse.. so i'm really not confident. cos after 2 mc i sort of lose heart.. i'm puzzle hw cyst can appear & disappear & appear.. what did your doc say about it? I'm having quite heavy flow on my 1st mense after the D&C. I'm suppose to go for scan again this wed on 4th day of mense. hope it disappear.. wish me luck.

i'm thinking if i not tcc-ing in next 6 mth, shall i ask for hormone tbl reduce blood flow. gals, any advice, please?

Last Nov my gynae also said he saw a cyst near my left ovary in the ultrasound scan, but in Dec it disappeared. Understand that blood cyst may erupt anytime, and all you get is a few blood spot, which is what I hv experienced b4 my 2nd scan.

anggie,
I recommend that you should try taking Evening Primrose oil everyday, I hv started taking it few days ago, and I find that my menstration cramp has improved slightly. You can increase the dosage during the period, it really helps.

Hi createjoy,

Maybe u wanna to check with gynae if the hormone has any side effects to reduce blood flow. He/she may give u jabs or oral contraceptive pills. Then again check with gynae if u decide to ttc after 6 months, is there any window period u need to rest your body before u ttc. Would you also be taking tcm to tiao your body? If yes, any clashes? For me, i prefer to use tcm to tiao my body as i respond and recover faster. My face colour can tell a difference the next day i took it. This was ater my lap done in mar 07 when i rested and realised that my face still pale looking and listless after 1 month of lap. Then in may, when i took tcm and went for repeat visit, i felt i have strength and less pantless.

There are some considerations and u shd clear with gynae.

Jenn,
It is true that cyst can occur and disappear by itself at times. Mine did.

Hi Simp,
thks for ur tips. my gynae didnt offer to give me medi. last scan it grown slightly smaller by 0.5 so he say monitor 2 mths later. think he thik i still ttc so dont take medi. but well, i really not confident to try. still no sex since i got preg to mc till now about 3 mths already. abit phobia.. and somehow feel painful.

sinseh was like quite confident she can keep the blood cyst under ctrl or even go away. so i just keep my finger crossed. still feeling kind of stress & since my hubby seems to be vex with his work & sick of hearing me complain i try not to complain about the backpain too often. sometimes i think i'm over sensitive.. when he's not in the mood he dont wanna talk or dont kiss me i feel that he's getting sick of me.

I'm going to bintan next wkend & shifting my room furniture redecor abit hope can give a a fresh start. take care gals

hi girls,

i have done a laposcopy recently and found to have mild endometriosis
I am quite worried about this condition as it sort of affects fertility

Anyone who it and did get preggie? what are advices on it

Hi lovebug22,

Think there are a few of us that managed to conceive in 2007 despite having mild to severe endometriosis.

I am going to give birth in this coming mid-april and hope it encourages u. Maybe it is good to use TCM to tiao your womb if u r planning fot family for abt 3 mths to 6 mths. This is to heal ur wound faster and make your body condition better. However special care to diet is important. I do have the endo receipe passed down by another forum sister. The e-book is good for creating awareness and learning to cope with the disease by being more sensitive to the food we take and be careful. Do let me know if u want by providing your email address.

Hi createjoy,

How have u been doing?

Has anyone taken the deca jab and go to TCM to tiao the body concurrently. I am going to start my jab soon, am really worried about all the side effects that I may get. Sigh. Very much don't feel like taking the jab yet do not dare to take the risk of letting the endo have bigger chance of coming back.

Am thinking of going to TCM at the same time to tiao my body instead of waiting till I finished all the 6 jabs over 6 mths, but wondering if it can be done concurrently. Can anyone advice.

Hi lovebug22,

It depends on individual condition. I've endo too and did lapo in 2006, but it came back again and even worse than before. I actually quite regreted to do the lapo, I feel that with the help of TCM may be more effective. Anyway it's just my personal opinion.

hi Simp and Jenn,
thanks alot!!!! I am very worried still
Today we popped down to the TCM Dr Tan Kian Sing @ Clementi after surfing on this forum.
After talking to him, it sounds more securing
but hubby needs to do SA.

And my wound is tilted backwards thus might be another problem.

I am just wondering when everything can be okie as it can be quite disheartening

Simp, I do need the recipe :p Do you have an email so that I can email you

Jenn,
I didnt go find out much about the lapo
I just went ahead to remove because when the gynae detect it was endo but it was dermoid cyst and during the op they found endo ... ...

Hi lovebug,

Only lap can confirm if u have endo, ultrasound scan cannot confirm or really see endo.

U have to check with tcm doc on how to use tcm if u r taking jabs to help ur condition.

Manging this disease can be quite stressful as it is not easy but we would find our ways to cope it.

U can email me at [email protected] or [email protected].

hi simp,

what jabs? the gynae did not tell me anything about jabs ... ... He said mine is mild ??

As for the TCM doc, he told me that forget about endo, just concentrate on getting preggie because once you are preggie endo will go away.
Same as the first gynae I went to comment ... ...

The second gynae spoke more and giving me the IUI and IVF opinion if after trying 3 months doesn't make it?? I freaked out after listening to it... ... success rate is really low for that and expensive!!!

I will be emailing you now!

Hi lovebug,

Think i mixed u up with cheerz5. For mild endo, i think shd be able to conceive naturally without much prob. Only severe endo sufferers like me need to use ivf to try get conceived. It is true that if u have severe endo, the chance is too slim to get ntural conception. This is what my gynae suggested to me after my lap. He said no point trying iui or other artifical mthrod and go straight to ivf if i failed to get conceived naturally after 6 mths post-lap. Thank God, i did conceive naturally with help of tcm and proper diet and i quitted my job to join my husband overseas. So i think i was in a way free of work stress and have proper rest and recuperation. I conceived one month prior to my ivf appointment.

Endo can occur even after pregnancy if we dun take care of our body or if the endo is severe case. I am keeping my fingers crossed that after my delivery in april, hopefully my severe endo dun operate again.

Hi Simp,

Thanks. Think I will check with the TCM and see how. I hope they know the english term endo, as I am not sure what is it called in mandarin.

I agree with you that managing this endo thing is really quite stressful and tiring. Drain alot of my brain cells too.

cheerz5

endo is called "zi3 gong1 yi4 wei4" in mandarin but i think most tcm shd know the english term if they have been dealing with women's medical issues.

I just found to have 2 fibroids in the womb, doctor didnt prescribe any medicine, ask me to monitor in few months time. Quite sad, going to start my new ivf cycle soon, dont know whether will effect the chances of pregnancy or not.

Hi Simp, understand that you have e-book endo receipe, dont mind to share with me ? can you pls email to me, thanks !
email address [email protected]

hi simp,

Lucky gal! I think having a kid is a miracle by itself

I am not too sure will read your endo receipe and figure out :p

I think it might be the stressful work environment in singapore thou ... ... does play a part

Hi Ming Quan,

Fibroid is not a cousin of endo even though they can exist at the same time. Only laparoscopy can determine the case for endo unless ur symptons sound like endo case.

Do seek 2nd opinion from another gynae and see how it goes. Why do u need to do ivf? Where is ur fibroid location?

The e-book on endo receipe has been sent to your account.

Hi Simp,

Thanks ! I am actually not sure the fibroid location, a bit blur, need to check with my gynae again.
My hb has sperm morphology issue, i went through one ivf fresh cycle and miscarrige at 6 weeks, now in the stage of recovery.

Hi kbc,

Maybe both u and hb need to tiao your body for a few months first like 3 to 6 mths and try naturally before considering another ivf. I think body needs to rest and build up first before trying for bb as ur womb is weak now due to mc. MC is said to be equivalent to giving birth/delivery so need to heal and build up your body first before ur womb is ready for conception. Do check with ur tcm doctor on how long it takes for your body to be ready and when it is good to start ttc.

U may wish to use body bascal tempertaure (BBT) to check for ovulation as u tiao your body and when u wish to ttc, u know when is the fertile period for conception. U can use http://www.fertilityfriend.com/ free for 30 days trial. Then u can customise.copy unto your excel or follow the program to do on your own checking. I used for 1 mth free then i tried to monitor on my own without subscribing to the program. This is also recommended by another forum sister to me last time when i wanted to track my fertile period for ttc even though my gynae taught me the window period for ttc.However u do need to buy an ovulation thermometer which is more sensitive than normal thermometer. There is a japanese brand and osim brand less than $20 0r $30 bucks from guardian / watson / KKH pharmacy. Also do check with your gynae how to calculate your fertile period based on your first mense date then u can try.

I understand that cordycepys is good for women and men in building up immune system and sperm but it is very exp. Can maybe take the tablet form, cheaper. Can check with your tcm doctor what herbs u can or cannot take. Dun attempt to listen to mum/relative/friends without checking w tcm doctor as condition is different. It can worsen if u self-medicate. For endo sufferers, things that promote blood production is no good for us such as red dates, beef, bazhen etc. So do check with your tcm doctor on your case.

In the meantime, do rest and recuperate well before embarking another ttc.

Hi Simp,

Thank you so mcuh, I really appreciate that.

I m now having mini confinement, hope to build up my body asap. At the same time also just started seeing tcm, like what you said, now "tiao" my body.

hi jenn,

I have just started out seeing Dr Tan.
How is your experience with him?
Is it good?
As for IUI i do not know as I need not do that yet, that was just an opinion given to me

Firstly is to try naturally first

as I am really not keen in such procedures cost is so expensive! heard it is 2k???

Hi Noscon,

I took the deca jab yesterday. Doc give me I think a hormone pills, Livial, to take to reduce the possible side effects that may comes with the jab. So crossing my fingers.

Will try and go see a TCM soon.

cheerz5

whats a deca jab? what medical procedure are you undergoing? im undergoing SO-IUI now. Also been to a few TCM before that...

Hi lovebug,

So far I find that he's very experience, he provides useful advices. I think the accupuncture will help too, just bear with the yucky medicine.

Hi noscon,

Care to share how much is the SO-IUI?

hi Jenn,

How long have you been with Dr Tan?
What is the use of the accupuncture?

He asked me to chart my temperature and I been trying hard to chart it

do you know is ths success rate with him like? As in do people get preggie with him?

What condition do you have (if you don't mind sharing)

Anyone knows what is the age where fertility starts to decrease?

my case is fibroid, my tcm mentioned i can take everything including red dates and bazhen, i know for endo case should avoid anything promote blood production like red dates bazhen, bai feng wan. anyone can share for fibroid case, what can and cannot take ? daily food like bread, milk, rice, meat should reduce too ?

hi koh beng

I am thinking, that a diet should just be a balance diet using the healthy diet pyramid with the correct serving instead of avoiding foods ... ... as our body would need nutrients first.

If we were to avoid iron rich foods, then will we suffer from iron deficiency in time to come leading to more health issues?

I think the key word will be in moderation

thats my take on it

Hi Simp,

Ya me still alive... just back from bintan on monday then work like zombie neck too stiff till keep having the cracking soud when i turn my head..

still feeling stress at work and honestly it's not a tough job though i have deadline to meet.. i wonder if i shd quit cos i work 4 yrs here & promoted last mth. my mgr promise to let me take over her in time to come maybe another 1 2 years.. i still very much worried if my stress will cos another mc but dont dare to tell hb i dont wanna wk just to wait to have bb.. and hb dont earn much. if i dont work we will just have enough to get by but no savings..

Ya Lovebug i'm also try to take less soya but not dont eat at all.. sigh sian don't what to eat what not. i wish i have a prog button to display my status haha..