SMH Scrapbooking Club !!!!

Amy
Welcome to our thread. Show us your past layout then. Now you can start to draft first lah. Then can still shop mah

Dorcas
You very onz. Me oso not cutting on bed, minimize actions in the master bedroom. After mil passed away still have a sil who will tell me all the don't

Your layouts all i like. very nice. Me not up to your standard yet

Yup, will do that... Go home find the pics that i took... Are you guys into card making also? Any FTWM who also scrap here? I kinda worried that after ML, got to look after baby after work then where got time to scrap?? Last time before i preggy, i used to go to crops every sat now coz hubby banned so cannot go, think next time after baby is born also difficult to go for crops... Hope that baby will be good then at least i can invite friends over during weekends...

I'm FTWM. Started this hobby 6mth ago. It's a expensive hobby, heavy investment!!!

My girl is coming to 2yr, I havent do her 12mth LO, lots of catch up to do.

great to know that there r other FTWM that still manage to find time to scrap... Yup, agreed that its a heavy investment... U guys won't believe it, i ordered a cuttlebug the last time when laines was having the National day promo vouchers, coz my hubby dun let me cut cut things, its still in the box i haven't even test run the thing yet... urgh.... I usually go to my collegues house for crops, they are also scrappers, they are the ones who introduced me to this hobby. I just came back from china then and started a new job so i wanted to scrap all the memories i had in china... then i was hopelessly addicted liao...

mine layouts all alright only to compare to those design team members @ mwl. for me, i haven really attend any sb classes except the sdu at laines cos i need to get the certs cos i am conducting classes, so at least got cert its better. my layouts are actually 'experience' collected thur out my almost 7 years of scrappings and also from those magazines, and the most important part is my ideal book where i will sketch and jot down all the tips and helps or ideas in there. =)

i dun quite remember how much i paid for, only remember that it was slightly more than 100 coz i had the 40% discount coupon...

1 2 check with you ladies also, how do you take photos and upload ur layouts? I tried to resize my pics last night but to meet the upload requirements they were so small...

Hi Amy
Welcome to our thread!! =) Hope to see LOs from you soon after you've given birth =) Like what Chicken_Litlle mentioned, if want to scrap with BB around, have to sacrifice beauty sleep. And yes, this hobby is super heavy investment! My latest tool for quiet eyelet hold punching and setting is the Crop-a-dile =) Totally silent.

Hi Amy,
Good price if slightly above $100 leh.
We took pics, resize and post.

Mamachan,
wow, wat was your damage in $$

Chicken Little
I paid $74 after 15% discount from MWL...it was in a set with the box holder and 50pcs x 6 colors of eyelets.... my christmas present to myself. hahaha. So far, I've not had eyelets in my LOs for the longest time as too noisy to set manually. So decided to "invest" a little.

Itching to scrap but can't =( gotta revise my night letures for an upcoming quiz on monday. Sianz...and I'm still wondering if to take up a part-time degree course once I'm done with this Specialist Diploma course which serves as a revision for me. hehehe

1194734.jpg

Amy
Very nice and clean cut layout. I like leh. Hope to see more.

Dorcas,
All your work are so pro and nice. Must get some advice from you liao.

The talk on cuttlebug and crop a dile is making me itch to spend ha ha. But I want to sell my hardly use revolution first. Ha ha anyone interested here ?

Chicken Little
me not pro la, like what my hb like to say now "the more you spend on the material, the more nice your layout turn out to be" which i think its quite turn cos those embellishments etc are quite expensive, and i am like 'investing' on all these stuffs (partly becos of my biz site la) so more choices = more materials to be added in the layout. gosh~
this is a seriously very expensive hobby *faint*

Dorcas

Realli true. That is why me oso have MemoirActs to fund the hobby lor. Me always look at so many stuff at home but always dunno what to put. Because hide things everywhere from hb later he scold haha.

Chicken Little
but your memoiracts are doing well ah, so can fund. For me, cherishallmemories are just an excues for me to spend more on this hobby of mine only cos the site isnt really moving the greatly. hai~

Very nice Dorcas,
Everytime see your layout i paiseh to show liao.

Since you are online. any idea how to put overlay on the card stock without seeing the glue ?

Dorcas,

Thanks for your suggestions over MSN on the overlays. I finally completed it and I use 2 glue dots and put embellishement to cover it up. Same paper and overlays used by Mamachan for motherhood.

1197629.jpg

hi annissa,

thanks for all your papers. DD is on SB every night. she will finish her dinner and say ' can we do SB now?' everyday she has someone in mind to make a page for. urghghhgh
interestingly she would choose those bright colour papers. May I know how do you make use of the darker shades (brown/deep red) of paper? any egs to post here then I can have some inspiration to know how to advise her?

MTIA

harriet

harriet

hopefully this layout will help u out abit =)

the pattern paper consist mainly of brown so i guess it can be consider as darker shades.

1197714.jpg

wow....soooooo many nice work over the weekend!!!

Harriet.....glad that she's enjoying SB. For darker colors, you may:
1) mix with other paper
2) cut alphabets out of it to create title
3) create shapes to mix and lay all over the paper as background.
4) matting, that is, paste photo on top of the dark color, this is the "enhance" or "focus" on that photo.
5) cut into small stripes to lay side by side with other paper.

No SB mood now, later when mood is up. I can mail some flowers, butterfly, dragonfly, hand print, foot print, love, joy, wish, heart, circle, square, car, candles, dog bone, blah blah for her to play around. I've the Quickutz die-cut machine Rev and I enjoy playing with it. kekekeke

Amy
hey welcome here! wow really good deal on the cuttlebug... hmm... i didnt manage to used my 35% & 40% off discont... wasted... Wanna to get the cuttlebug from them but dont have stock at tat time! Is the cuttlebug fun to use... i m really looking forward for mine to come! Hey the webby you gave... alot of goodies... so tempted to buy! is their pricing resonable? Btw, nice layouts!

mamachan
me also not using all my eyelets bcos of the loud noise & i can only scrap when my gal is sleeping! Maybe i shld also invest in the crop-a-dile... but really so sad tat i didnt get to used d laines's discounts after spending so much there!

CL
ya very nice LO on your wedding photo! Have not play with overlays... will try tat out soon since docas had sent me one together with her Jan Kit... talking about tat i did one LO for her using the kit...

Here is the pic to share... everything is from her except the grass & flowers tat i added in with my own...
1198649.jpg

Dorcas
really thks alot for the materials you gave me... if not i definately will not be scrapping cos very lazy... hehehe... so it is good that you made me as your DT... so i have to make myself do a layout every month! Looking forward to your nxt kit and of cos my cuttlebug! HaHaHa!

Here are some layouts to share from my sister & her friend done when they took up the beginner class from me...

My sister LOs
1198693.jpg
1198694.jpg

Chicken little: Love your door hanger... Haven't made any projects like that before... Bought materials but its sitting there coz i can't do anything right now... haiz...

Karen: The cuttlebug according to the demo at laines is very much similar to revo but alot cheaper... The prob with discount vouchers is that with such a big discount, nothing to buy also 1 2 find something to buy if not i feel so wasted... so that time i used the 40% voucher to buy the cuttlebug then the 24% voucher to buy the dies... That time when i bought the cuttlebug it was also not in stock but they ordered and said it will still be in time for the promo thats y i manage to get it.

The website i posted, i find that their embellishments r quite cheap but prob is quantity is big so might have to share out lor. I also like their storage solutions...

Thanks mummies for your encouragement.

Hope to have more time to do. These are scrapped while monitoring the kids when they are sick and feverish at nite. Hee Hee. Otherwise I will be la la land wont scrap.

Karen
Your disciples first layout not bad woh.

Nice layout you have done with Dorcas's papers.

Amy
Ha ha now I want to sell my revo liao.

hi DOrcas & annisa

thanks for the suggestion. to tell very frankly! I didn't think of all that you have mentioned!!! will try the suggestion about cutting out alphabets, if not have to help DD write her words all the time, very fed up. and can CUT it up. I thought cannot cut, very wasteful.. but i think i will cut them all out into different shapes, easy to cut and big enought for her to paste around..

harriet

CL: how many kids you have?? You look so young in the photos... Only setback between revo and cuttlebug is that cuttlebug cannot use revo's embossing dies but all the other dies can use... I even heard that the kids cuttlebug dies can be used with the adult cuttlebug.

BTW, not sure if you all go to JDA at Novena? They have quite a lot of dies there. They do not have alot of variety in terms of other stuff like paper, rub ons. But they always have very attractive promo for their dies...

Amy
I have one gal turning 6 this year and 1 boy just turned 2 years old. By the way those photos are taken in 1999 and 2000. Ha ha dun imagine I am like that now. Very different liao. Ha ha. Your spectacles all drop if you are wearing one ha ha. Size oso double liao

Aiya now you say that i have to think twice though I never use embossing ha ha . Ya ya can use kids dies on adult cuttlebug but cannot do the other way round otherwise i sure get the cuttle kid

Ginncher frequent JDA , I will tompang her when there is promotion. Now my house pack with papers but no time to use.

CL: Their last post xmas sale was very good, everything buy 2 get 2 free... I bought their cookie cutter dies, some clear stamps and some rubber stamps... They also have some card making mags... But hor their paper selection and rub ons really private limited... other stuff is ok... See lah, cannot do but my stock still keep piling up :p

CL......your LOs give you the "xiao bu tien" look but nice, sweet memory. Personally, I prefer your look now than then.

Harriet.....think out of the box. You can also cut into shapes then write alphabet on it.

Karen....you are a seasoned "cutter", another LO with cut-out of your pix.

Oops Cuttlebug cannot do QK emboss die. OK. I'll only buy if I can get similar deal like Amy's. Save my pocket. phew....

CL - 1st time seeing your younger days' picture. Nice nice...now still nice...btw why you want to sell revo? Now that amongst between Annissa & myself, we have sufficient aplhas...can leverage leh....

Amy - I agree w/ you. JDA actually specialise in tools..hence limited on other stuff...but if you wish to get ideas...they are superb...other shops are focus on "cashiers' ringings", no time for demo....so this shop is good to pick up tips...but then hor...oso means we are likely to buy lah....me esp. 'cos I am for stamping, embossing etc....heehee....btw they now have buy 3 get 1 free or buy 5 get 2 free promo. for some categories...extending to stamps, embossing powders, ink etc...not promo for them but in case any of you keen & wish to tag on my membership.

ha ha ginncher
must treat you to kopi, next week we meet for lunch.

I know the 2 of you alpha queen but hor I dunno why i juz keep using squeeze leh.

Must ask the 2 of you to show me embossing have not done that before but see the end product very nice

ginncher: yup, saw their email... At first i find that freddy abit hard sell type but later on i find that he is quite alright lah and his team r very helpful when it comes to using their products and demo... But some of their stuff is more ex than MWL or Laines... things like ink pads and mags... R u into rubber stamping to make cards? I feel that actually initially when i paid to become their gold member i really heart pain... but after enjoying their promo for a few times i feel like i got my money's worth back liao... I stocked up alot of rubberstamps during their last promo coz its so cheap... think must let my pocket recouperate for a while first...

i'm also jda gold member! hehe.. got their membership a few years when you spend a min amount then got free membership. hehe.

hi harriet, if you saw my earlier post in this page, one of my layout i actually use brown as the background. then use a brighter color as matting and photos. =)

CL, looking forward to our meet up next week. Where you bringing me for kopi?

Amy, what rubber stamps you bought? What's their previous promo? I must have missed out. I was eyeing a penny black rectangular big rubber stamp...& a few clear ones...challenge for me is...once i start looking...i cannot decide...mostly nice...welll...amongst them Freddy most sales oriented...though generally they are very warm & friendly. I feel comfortable & personable whilst visiting them..

Annissa, think JDA's heat gun is finer than ours.

CL
thks thks... love the MME pattern papers! I have too many papers at home not used... if not i will buy some more from dorcas!

Annissa
hahahaha... due to the limited space... no choice la... have to cut!

JTS... another LO i just did for last year x'mas... abit too late but better then not scraping rite... hehehe!
1201028.jpg

Ginncher,
Ha ha we have lots of good food around work area. Tell me when is good for you to makan next week.

Ha ha you and Annissa so crazy over heat gun. Maybe when I kenna poison by one of you I will go JDA and buy.

Then hor remember the carla puncher, ha ha they are still intact in the box. I have not used them. Hmm must take and use.

Hey mummies I have a idea, shall we pack our barang barang take a pics or 2 then lets meet up to scrap on our "assets" ha ha.

Karen
At least you have done it. I have not embark on any man.

Harriet,
I have a 5 year old gal who starts to scrap too. Maybe you can email me at [email protected] for a scrap session with my gal and her cousin then she can enjoy more usage of my tools and know what else she can do with the papers. You know popular sells those curvy scissors set I think only 9.90 , can buy for her to cut the papers maybe she will one day be like Karen who loves to cut. Cutting is a good way for brain stimulation as it is on coordination of eye and hands.