Prof PC Wong - IVF with Norethisterone

miraclez: depends on the doctor schedule and availability of OT. Mine ER at 2.30pm but have to be there at 12.30pm. ET 11.30am but have to be there at 9.30am.

I found out at KKH thread for ER, in KKH hubby can request for MC because they need to produce their sperm. But Im not sure about NUH, you can ask first the CHR nurse.

Miraclez,

I think ER and ET is usually scheduled between 11.30am-3.30pm.. But for ER need to go earlier cos hubby need to submit sperm sample.. Can use the room in the lab, very cosy with couch and toilet.. And there's a tv too, hubby can watch 'exciting videos'.. hehe..

Mine was a day 4 transfer.. By default is day 3, but day 3 was a sunday, so unless embryos not doing well, they won't ask me to go on sunday for ET.. Embryologist will call to update everyday..

Regarding the mc for hubby, just let them know beforehand and remind on ER day.. They passed to me together with my HL before discharge.. It's just a generic mc from nuh, don't worry

Oh.. There is a room in the lab? My hubby do it in the toilet when request by prof to test on his troops.. hmmm.. I must tell him got exciting videos inside... heehee..

I thought Prof like to do day 5 transfer which is blastocyst and I so worried mine cannot survive till then...

Thanks for the info on the mc.. I will request from them..

Miraclez, for ivf, not allowed to collect in toilet. Cos my hubby asked

Miraclez,

Cannot collect sperm in toilet.. They'll state it on instruction sheet.. Either do at home or book the room.. Hubby feels use the room better cos the sample is fresh from the room to the lab.. Remember to book the room when ER date is confirmed cos will be given specific timing.. CHR nurse can do for you..

Depending on the situation, they'll decide if can culture till blastocyst stage.. If not, default will be day 3 transfer..

Oh... I must tell my hubby cannot do in toilet.. He prefer to do in toilet.. Not so stress.. haha

Min: Can check with you the HL issued by NUH will start from ET or ER? and does the HL reflects CHR?

tsf: you have started your nor-e yesterday.. How do you feel?

Maomi: you still feel sleepy with Nor-e?

I am done with my Nor-e yesterday.. very tired yesterday and today.. maybe AF coming le.. Getting real excited liao.... 4 more days to go to start jab....

miraclez: It only states HL leave and signed by O&G doctor which will monitor and decide you can start eat and drink about 2 hrs when ur back at the ward. Doesnt reflect any CHR dept or ivf at all. It start from ER.

Miraclez, Nervous Babe and those who going through IVF with Prof Wong,

My pregnancy test was positive.I am Really pregnant! But I am warded now at NUH for my breathlessness. This is due to water retention on the right side of the lung. The standby doctor, Doctor Anu said it was very rare as most usually have on the legs or tummy.

Only god knows what I had to go through. I can't breathe at all. Now,I am still in ward. I am tired laying aroun here as I feel better. Prof Wong is in his clinic. I hope that he could discharge me ASAP.

nel: Congrats on your pregnancy. Pray alls well for you. Dr Anu is a good doctor too, dont worry. I like her. hehe

Today your bt test is it? What the level? Make sure you rest well okies.

Nel: Congrats and catching your bb dusts.....!

Is it OHSS? your breathless just started today? Hope you will recover soon and have a smooth smooth 9 months...

Babydusty.. thanks for the info on the HL. It really helps cos I am not going to tell my office that I going for IVF.. hee..

Nel's BT was last week.

miraclez: Yah u dont have to. I did not. I only told them im going for surgery and will be HL for about 2 weeks.

Like prof said in his seminar, our company that we work has no rights to ask and know what is our HL about actually. Even if they call NUH to ask, NUH will not reveal coz it is confidential of the patients.

Oh really ah.. Prof say that in the seminar you went? But my office ppl very ba gua one... will ask and ask... ha

I have tell about the surgery. Want to wait till scan got follicles first.. Worried no follicles to ET...

miraclez: yup he did say that. he also said usually he wont be the one signing the HL. So dont worry.

Den you just follow me. I tell them two days before. I said Im going for surgery, its a woman thing very complicate to tell. They sure wont ask somemore.

But the two days before I go off, seems like going to resign. Handover and teach to colleagues so many things. hahahhaha

If you can, last minute on the day of ER, you call them said you are having emergency surgery. They ask what happen. Just said you having stomach pain and need to operate.

For me i tell them two days before coz I frequent take time off for the scans and bt. So they roughly know there is something wrong with my health. haha

Call on day of ER will sound like very serious hor.... I see how the progress go as I scan.. the date unpredictable so a bit difficult to judge now. Dun wan to say too early also.. later they keep asking and asking.. haha

Usually the scan start from hwo many days after start jab? Prof usually scan early morning and can go back work after one right?

Miraclez: My first scan was after four days. Den subsequent every two - three days. If it falls on Sun den come back on Mon. Sat still have scanning. Usually yup Prof scan early morning, but you have to be there much earlier coz usually there will be patients already waiting for him. Hahaha Prof scan at Womens Clinic level 3 den you need go CHR for blood test and also take the jabs. If new jabs, such as 4 days after you need to come back and learn. Coz its diff from gonal f.

So I advise you reach 7.30am.

If reach by 7.30am usually what time you will can finish?

The new jab is the lucrin jab? Alamak all med must put in fridge after collection right? how to go to work with the med.....hmmm

Congrats Nel!

Miraclez, manageable. But I think it triggered by asthma cos I've been feeling quite sick. The windpipe constricted. Anyway, finishing the tabs on sat so no point calling. Went to Dr Zhao for acu yest, she said i have 'traffic jam' in my body, so need to ease the traffic. Could be caused by Nor-E. That's the reason y i'm feeling sick, breathless and tired. I usually have problem breathing nearer to menses but was ok for the past few cycles. Maybe its hormonal bah.

Anyway, she did 'ba guan' for me as well, cos she said my body like that will affect my lining. So I have ang gong on my entire back man....

Miraclez Dearie, not lucrin jab lah, it starts with C i remember. Your office got fridge? Just put inside the fridge?

BabyDusty, so if my appt is 8am, i will be there by 730 isit?

miraclez: maybe about 8.15 to 8.30am. Coz scanning very fast. The wait for your turn is the one very slow. haha So usually who register first can see Prof first.

But sometimes Prof or Dr Anu has urgent case in the OT, so sometime nurse will inform and tell us what time doctor will come back. Sometime no choice just request MC lor for that day.

Yup all medicine jabs must put fridge. They will give you ice pack. But dont last long about few hours only. Hmmmm you ask your hubby bring back first lah.

Maomi: Yup the after 4 days jab is Cetrotide. To prevent ovulation. That one abit lecey. Need to mix the powder to the liquid. Den draw out to the jab needle. Need to bring the bubble out den jab. hahahaha

Yup u be there the early the better. Coz by 8am u come im sure got other patients waiting liao... hehehe so must b kiasu if you want to leave early.

Miraclez,

Think babydusty replied about the HL already
The next time you are at CHR with ur hubby, ask the nurse if the room at lab is vacant and if you can both go and take a look.. Think ur hubby will feel quite ok there.. And they'll give him more than enough time in there on ER day, won't rush him, tell him don't stress.. hehe..

I had my 1st scan on 5th days of jabs, then 8th day and 10th day ER was fixed.. The Cetrotide jabs usually start on 6th day.. Actually, watever appt time they give me, i always arrive at 7.30.. I'll pop by CHR to do bt first to save time.. If less pple that day, i'll be off by 8.15..

min81: it depends on individual follicles. Mine react very slow to gonal f. You spend only 10 days stimulation. Mine 12 days. haha

Baby dusty: whether purgeon or gonalF, I also take 12days.. See if this time will be any different. I had 5scans previously before Trigger and 4bts.

Maomi: nor-e will cause traffic jam in body? alamak think mine also jam lo like that..... How to clear??

Min: ya..must bring my hub to viewing on Mon if possible.. Later he stress troops cannot come out.. heehee

Seem like there is a lot of scans required. Now I worried dunno how to tell office that I will be late liao.. I start work at 8.45am.. I think how early I go still will late cos of traffic jam...

Chris.. tomorrow is your scan right?? All the best.. hope you got many many follicles... and lining growing suisui..

Miraclez: yup, thanks
I reckon there will still be a few more to go as its the first scan after start jab. Enough is good

Hi nel,

Congratulations on your pregnancy : )
Hope u can get well and be discharged soon!

Hi miraclez!
I started my nor-e ytd, not much feeling. Are there supposed to have side effect after taking??? Chr nurse never say lei

Hi tsf: I do feel anything either except for some slight gastric discomfort. Everyone body is different ba..

All the best for your cycle...!

Hope all of us here trying will be blessed by Min's and Nel's BFP....

Miraclez, no idea, but I did feel better after the acupuncture and ba guan session.

tsf, don't google or ask about side effects, unless there are impt ones, which nurses or docs will warn u about if not, i rather u don't know cos' once you know, u will start to feel. For me is giddiness and sleepiness. More of sleepiness, i get jumpy as well. But that doesn't happen to everybody. Its just me and progestrone/hormones.

Like Miraclez, she's ok. Her gastric might be because she takes her med with empty stomach.

So if you don't feel anything, just let it be ok?

Hi Maomi,

I'm not bothered abt it at all : )

Anyone knows what is in Brazilian nuts and durians that aid implantation?

Miraclez, starting the stim today right? How's the queue for the scan? From scan to collection, how long did it take? ahahaha... paiseh, alot of q.

Hi Maomi, ya.. Jab start tonight.. I reach there at 7.50am n immediately was call in to scan.. When I done with BT n collected my med is abt 9.45 ba.. Today many ppl queuing for BT that's why took a bit longer...

You starting on Thursday... Are u excited....?

Miraclez, wah...then I better go there even earlier... hahaha. BT not done at CHR? U took leave? Yeah... Super excited. Just not too excited about the jabs, back to my SOIUI days. ahahaha

Hope all ladies are doing well. I'm falling sick. Ate too much durians. Too "heaty".... Hope it won't affected my jab starting next wk...

Maomi: ya.. BT done at CHR but so many ppl today... Good to go early... What time is ur appt? Ya..I am nervous abt my night jab later too... Ha..

tsf: aiyo.. Good to eat durian but not too much la... Quickly drink more water n get well soon... U won't want to still feel sick while jabbing...

Miraclez, my appt is at 8am. I think I will heed babydusty's advice to reach at 730am then. Kiasu. So gonal f will be jab at night right not morning ya? That means same as SOIUI.

tsf, u should have save the durian for after ET. Also, eat in moderation not one shot eat many many...

let me self intro myself. I have PCOS too and my hubby have low sperm count. Saw private gyane for half year and did 3 clomid cycle but it does not help. Did my fallipian tube test too - nothing wrong. He suggest that we go for IVF instead of IUI as higher chance.

Can i ask you all which hospital to go for IVF better? KKH first appt date is 13 jun this month for Dr Tan HH and as for NUH Professor PC Wong is 24 July and Dr Anu is 21 July...long waiting for the first appt.

Is NUH government subsidy too same as KKH? Dunno where to go now.

Hi Joelle, there are 3 govt hospitals that do IVF - SGH, KKH & NUH. All 3 are eligible for govt co-funding and you do not need a referral letter from polyclinic to be able to enjoy this subsidy.

I feel you should see which one you are comfortable with. If time is an issue, then you probably need to see Dr Tan in KKH since his first appt is the earliest.

I can't comment on which is better as this is my first IVF. Go with your gut feel.
If not, just see Dr Tan first then after that Prof Wong or what, then you will be able to compare which you feel is better.

I generally don't like SGH and didn't have very good experience with KKH (Not for ivf). Hence, I decided to go for NUH. The Raffles Hosp gyne I'm seeing recommends either KKH or NUH as well.

Hi Maomi

Thanks alot for your reply. Maybe as what you say go see DR Tan HH first then see what he recommend and go for 2nd opinion with Professor PC Wong.

I wanted to go IVF straight instead of going through clomid or IUI cycle again as I have wasted half year already...;p not young already....35 years old this year.

I have been trying for 2nd one since end 2011 before going seeing a private gynae at nov 2012.

Never. What tat? Like IUI? I hope can do ivf directly as the private gynae say IUI chance very low...

Joelle, SOIUI is the same as iui just that they use jabs for stimulation instead of clomid as patients like me do not react to clomid. Unless it is proven that iui or soiui cannot resolve, usually gynes will not start u on ivf as it is rather invasive. I understand from one of the sisters in another thread that prof wong did not recommend ivf for her (although her objective to see prof was for ivf)but iui instead and she actually got preg the first time she did iui with prof. So see the professionals first, they might have a different view on your condition.

Thanks maomi. I will see what the professional from kkh amd nuh say.

For my case, I reacted good with clomid and all the 3 times got potential eggs and it was release by hcg injection to try out. But can't get pregnant .. Then private gynae say u might need to consider IVF then IUI. As ur chance in IUI is very low. He very good he say dun waste money with me in IUI. Go hospital to try IVF as it subsidy as from his side it will be consider a private which cost more.

Maomi

Thanks a lot.. I try to bring the reports i have fromt the private gynae. Only X-ray report for fallopian tube and sperm count result.And see what the Dr from KKH say first before see Prof PC Wong.

Jia you too !!! hope to hear your good news soon.