Prof PC Wong - IVF with Norethisterone

Hi maomi,

My tcm is Wu Li Ping from Shenzhou clinic in JW. She also specialize in this field and have many sucessful cases. I go to her cos its nearer my hse. She doesn't do acu much though...

Before ER must go see her but I dunno when wor...

Ah... icic but u won't be able to take tcm med aldy when u start to stim. Will she be doing acu?

I still taking tcm with Nor-e lei. But will start once AF comes or Monday when start Stimulation jab.

Maomi: I think I will faint.... so many needles.. Go one time I think I wont dare to go again liao... hahaha

My TCM say after ET can take tcm.. but dunno prof will allow it ma. Must remember to ask him next Monday.

tsf: dun worry abt your hubby issue la.. IVF they will choose the best and ICSI. So man's issue not big issue.

During his talk, Prof mentioned as soon as start stimulation have to stop tcm medication. Acu can continue, some ppl will go just before ET while others believe that can do once before and once after.

I already stopped my tcm before even starting Nor-e... Tmr start to take Nor-e. My tcm doctor only recommend acu before ovulation. She never tell me when to go look for her oso... Her acu is also from head to legs. How's ya acu schedule like??

tsf0205,

You'll know the shortcuts after a while.. Once you step out of Women's Clinic, you'll see this door leading to the stairs.. The door is facing the Fetal Care Centre.. Just walk up 1 floor.. When you come out, you'll see CHR right in front..

Min...just nice I wanted to msg you to ask you something. Think can ask you here.

NUH ER is totally KO and cannot feel the needle when they retrieve?
After ER we will be wheeled to the ward? and how long we can rest on the bed?

Just heard that SGH ER can feel the needle pricking. Almost freak me out...

miraclez: NUH ER totally KO. Sure cannot feel but before they knock you out, of cos you feel the needle go in yr hands. Same feel prick like blood test, to me. hahaha Den you will rest about 4 hours. Its better you top up to single bed. More comfortable for u and hubby to rest and got tv to watch, not so bored since its longer period after ER.

For ET, the 6 bedder is ok. Coz you just rest about 2 hours.

Babydusty: Thanks for the info. So scary on the part that can feel the needle pricking when doing ET lo.. I think I will faint myself.. haha..

How much do we need to top up for the single bed? Got food provided?? haha... so greedy.

For ET, when will the nurse allow you to go to pee? and will you be bed wheeled to the ward as well?

Babydusty, the cost for the ward is part of the ivf pkg or need to fork out extra?

Miraclez,

Like babydusty mentioned, you won't feel anything during ER.. Recovery after that is pretty fast too.. They'll make sure you wake up at recovery area before wheeling you back to ward.. The nurse said can rest for as long we need, but i would say at least abt 3-4 hrs.. I opted for single bed, but was upgraded to private suite rooms for both ER and ET, think it's based on availability.. After ER will be given milo and biscuits.. For ET, you'll be wheeled back to ward from OT right after procedure.. If you want, can pee once back in ward, no r3strictions.. I rested abt 20 min before peeing.. The rooms are very comfy.. I checked in very early and slept before both ER and ET.. hehe..

Min, the cost for the rooms are part of the medisave+cofund claimable items or we have to pay in cash? When do we have to decide?

Hi min81,

Thanks for letting me know on the shortcut : ). I will go n figure it out. Hope yr pregnancy is smooth so far. I knew abt resting in ward after ER, didn't know there is resting after ET.

Maomi, yes it's part of the claimables. It will be all in and you pay only the outstanding on the day of ET. You will be asked roughly on your last scan before trigger.

Miraclez: I think its about $100 difference only. Only milo and biscuit provided. You go ask your hubby bring food lah. But about two hour den the doctor will come review and said can eat.

For ET now allow to pee before of cos. But after you are back at ward, nurse allow you to pee. I pee immediately when i was back at the ward. hahaha

I dont mind going thru ER again but not ET coz my bladder was bursting. From my experience, doctor was so late coz he still has patients to see in his clinic and nurse in the OT was really helping to keep me warm with the warmer heat all so that i will not pee. They dont allow you to pee at all coz scared cannot see uterus during ET. Keep talking to me about holiday all. hahahaha Amazingly, it does help to help me control. The nurse in the OT are all so helpful.

Maomi: The cost of ward will all be part of ivf package and medisave. But overall if you exceed of cos need to pay cash. For me, all is covered. Plus medicine inserts and also embryo freezing.

Maomi: You have to decide the bed ward before your ER. Coz need to book. Same day when you collect the trigger jabs.

But if you decide to change, its base on the availability on the day of ER & ET. Coz sometimes all single bedded is fully book.

For ER i was also upgraded to single private suite, so nice scenery, like hotel. hahaha Only ET im in 6 bedded coz only two hours so its ok for me.

One more tips, if your hubby is driving for ER & ET. Make sure he park thru vallet coz $6 only. If you park normal by per hour, it will exceed more. Coz you spend about 6 hr for ER and 4 hr for ET at NUH.

Hi Min and Babydusty, thanks for the info. Its so helpful..

Min.. Can check in early? ER and ET is usually what time and what is the earliest we can check in? I wish I can be upgraded to private suite too..haha

I din know embroyo freezing also can be part of the grant and medisave. So nice...

Babydusty, where is the valet parking at?

I also hated the "need to pee" feeling.. How long usually ET will take?

I keep telling my gynea I going to pee on his face when doing iui...hahaha.

Check in 2hrs before for both ER and ET. Usually weekdays if the private suite available, they auto upgrade for you.

Valet parking is on the left side, just before the entrance for parking at the Kent Ridge Wing. You can see the signboard for vallet.

Miraclez: But they will estimation bill for you on ET. Yr hubby will go to CHR while ur doing ET. So if got balance from grant and medisave, then can be used for embryo freezing.

Thx Chris & Babydusty! Great tip on the parking. During the ER, if we are getting the single room, can hubby stay in the room?

So excited.. I'm getting closer and closer to actual procedure. BUT, so not looking forward to the jabs.. boo hoo... HHAHAHA

Maomi: Single Room or 6 bedded hubby can stay with you. But 6 bedded boring coz no tv for you to watch. Just play with your handphones. hahaha

Jabs are actually ok once you get the hang of it.

Babydusty: I dun remembers seeing valet parking.. so messy with the road works there.. Will remember to see next Monday.

BTW can hubby go into the op theatre with us for ER & ET?

Maomi... Ya, me getting excited too.. Starting jab this coming Monday.. Dunno what I will expect.. Pray hard.. no serious OHSS...

Miraclez: Nope for both ER & ET not allowed. Ur on yr own with the nurses. hahaha One CHR nurse will be there also.

Babydusty, so sad.. tot hubby can accompany me.. some hospital do allow.

Chris, just started? when is your estimated ER? how is scanning so far?

miraclez: In KKH for ET only hubby can accompany. ER same as NUH. Coz in NUH, both procedure is done in OT.

miraclez: ET got blood involve meh? hahaha Doctor just proke into our vagina to put in the embryo. If hubby beside you, he wont see a thing from below.

ya.. got blood... cos poke and remove, then poke and remove ma...so got blood.... Think got cases of hubby fainted when in ER...hahaha

Chris: Good to hear that everything is smooth.. how many days in stimulation stage le?

Care to share info on jab dosage? and scanning result for follicles and lining?

Miraclez,

Nurse said can check in 2 hrs before procedure but since we reached like abt more than 3 hrs early, we just went to check in.. Watched hbo movies in the room.. haha.. Babydust is right about the valet parking, more worth it.. You usually drive into the kent ridge wing car park right? Instead of entering the carpark, you turn into the small lane on the left of it.. There'll be a guy who'll collect payment and pass you guys valet ticket.. Then you ask him to guide you where to park so you can be nearer to kent ridge wing..

For ET day, the nurse will guide you on when to start drinking water when you report to CHR 2 hrs before procedure.. For my case, procedure slated at 2.30pm, told to empty bladder at 1pm, and start drinking 400ml slowly after that.. Actually, the nurse came for me very early and i only finished 300 ml but apparently there were no probs so i guess bladder need not be totally full.. After ET, you can enjoy the room for as long as you want.. If you're hungry, can ask for milo/biscuits..

Glad to see you all have started on your cycles already.. Sprinkling loads of bb dust on all the ladies in this thread!!

Thanks min...I can grabbing your baby dust.......!

I think I roughly know where the valet parking is le.. Thanks for the guide.

Is ER n ET usually in the afternoon? Need to anticipate for Hubby to take leave.

I really hope bladder dun need to be too full so that I can tahan long and dun need to walk to toilet so fast.. is the ET procedure by Prof fast?