Premature babies support group

btw, mommies, u know isetan having sales now? heehee.. i'm on half day. ltr will go shop. need to buy a swimming costume cos gg phuket.. dunno where i kept mine alrdy la! i oso heard the taka kids section, after renovation, hav a lot of stuff now. my colleague went ytd & bought a mickey mouse watch 4 my ger..

Alicia,
I was in exactly similar situation as yours for my 1st pregnancy. baby stop growing at 30 wks at 1.5kg. keeping him till 34 wks and c-sect out, the weight was <1.6kg. I delivered in Mt E. My gynae didn't even give an option to go KKH.

I don't know about charge in KKH, but even in Mt E, for a baby of 34wks and 1.5kg the total bill was $10K. So i guess for KKH it will be cheaper.

You can try rest more but eating more w not help much. This is due to the placenta has malfunction already and thus not able to 'transfer' the nutrient to the baby. Anyway, if your case is not due to tis root cause, then it probably help.

You can PM me if u want more info or post here. But due to heavy work load, i seldom log on to the forum now.

Anyway, good luck, be relax

Thanks to all your encouragement. This thread is very heart warming.

Costa,
I am looking for either Angelcare Movement with Sound Monitor Model AC201 or AC301.

Kkf,
I read that you were with raffles before transfer to kkh. My child also with raffles now. A little worried about the bill size now. He is almost 2 weeks there already but he is not in incubator since born.

didi,
you are using silicon wide neck, ah? i am using the latex ones... i tried the latex Y cut. I find not much diff from S because Y cut need to suck using more strength too and my bb suck strength is not so good. but if your bb's sucking strength is OK, Y cut may work...

Kai,
okay, will ask around if they have...and will PM you if needed...

why dun u contact the business centre to find out the estimated costs so that you can set yr heart at east?

Hi kai quite expensive to be in raffles. I spend around $8000 just in 3 days. But not to worry, there is one thing good about there, the nurse will care for your baby one to one (Right?) Last time when my boy was there, there was only one nurse to my boy. sooooo good, not like kkh, so messy, so many nurses, so many babies, and so many virus, and hence he garna infection.

If you can afford, since your baby won't be there long, let him stay there. Dun go anywhere else. I think he will be home most prob at most 1 month or less.

Anyway, mummies, just went around the playgroups nearby my in laws place. I find them all quite lousy...hee But I have no choice, need to find one very nearby my in laws place. Eventually chose this tots house nearby them. I went to one of the childcare, guess what? the teachers wear hot pants! shocked me! I am actually interested in another centre, quite big, but then very expensive, one month $270 plus, so one term will be around $500 plus and its not montosorri somemore! I thought since not montosorri, why so ex (half day program only leh). So I eventually did not choose that.

The tots house I chose consists of only 2 teachers and around 15 students. Anyway, it is just for my boy to go there to pass time while my in laws can do their things. It costs $125 per month.

Disneymickey, if you are saying about the Tampines Isetan, think they are undergoing some sort of reno too

lindah, yep, using the silicon kind, will try the 'Y' cut later and see how....

kkf. nowsaday, heard that childcare quite ex, my neighbour sent her dotter to one nearby my place and hear that after subsidy she still needs to pay S$500 plus/ per month for 4 hours of childcare
(ie 830 - 1230)

hi hi mummies, long long time no come in. how are all your little ones?

so much to catch up... really great to see so much activity & support here.

hi yvonne

dunno if you remember me but tt time when you were the speaker at the kkh sharing session, i was there. my son's out of kkh oredi, yeah!

hope your son is doing well.

didi,
abt childcare, i was just looking at pat's schoolhouse in the mcys website. before subsidy for full day care for 1.5yr to 2.5 yr - they charge 1200 per mth. haha. quoting what kkf might say - want my life!!!

good luck w the new teat.

hi lindah,

sorry i'm not able to match yr nick to the faces i met that day. can help me to recap, was yr boy in SCN then? how are you coping back home?

kai

I think the monitor I used is not what you need. SPO2 records the oxygen intake of the child and it will beep if intake is not good enough eg. the lower side, we set it at 93%. If intake is lower that 93%, it sets off an alarm. The best is of course 100%. It also records the heart beat rate/min. The monitor will beep (adjustable volume) as according to what is set for a normal baby. Mine costs around S$1400/-. It is connected by a probe onto baby's toe or finger. By looking at the readings on the monitor, we know whether baby is doing fine or not. I do not think your baby need this one.

Dun worry over your baby's suction/breathing coordination. You will be surprised at his absorbing/learning power. I'm sure by the time he's discharge, he will overcome all your concern already. Stay positive! God bless you and family.

yvonne,
it's ok. the talk was only 1hr or so, right?
Nope my son was still in NICU then. birthwt was 680g but at that time when i went for the session, he was oredi 1380g.

remembered there was oso this lady in KKH patient-wear who din want to talk, cos her bb just came in to NICU at 900+g. it's always diff to talk at the beginning. i kept seeing her... her bb was discharged a few weeks before mine.

just cant blv months have passed and so many things had happened since then.
kkh NICU/SCN days seem so real even now.

lindah, how's your afternoon? I just set feet into my house and will be going for a BBQ party tonight. I'm so glad to see you in person today. You are so fair with nice complexion, pretty and not fat at all. Now I can affix your face when I chat with you here next time. Have a wonderful weekend.

hi precious!

tx for the enfalac AR!!! nice to meet you and angel. she looked so pretty today in her pretty dress.
you realli dress ur little girl up!

come to think of it, you shud oso be called down to kkh to help inspire the new preemie mummies at the kkh sharing session one day.
. or have you gone oredi b4 this?

precious,

ooo... sounds like you have a busy day today, hope you get a rest tis weekend and dun tire yourself out. you are so slim, dun get skinny leh.
u r very pretty mummy
. so glad to meet you too, and to see that Angel and you are doing very well after all the hard times you went thru. your hubby oso look like a very pleasant man.

oh ya, have a good weekend, precious!

have a good weekend, everyone! haha. 5:36.. time to knock off and shut down the PC. work can wait till monday. hehehe.

lindah, yes i recall some bits now. must excuse me cos my i'm very bad with name memory... getting old... kekeke

i remember the young & quiet mummy who gave birth few days or 1 week before the talk. it's good news that her baby has been discharged too.

having a premmie is definitely a mind-blowing roller coaster experience, not any parenting lesson can help to prepare us. we need to believe in our child & pray for their strength, also importantly, to trust the professionals to do their best. the path will become easier to walk on!

it's been 2 years since my son's birth and the NICU/SCN days are very very fresh in my mind!
it still pains me to see the photos of the early days.

lindah, have tried the 'Y' cut teat, can't be used for the cereal drink, the cereal can't flow thru
maybe got to 'enlarge' the hole or get the 'L' hole (I am not really in the favour of enlarging the hole). Maybe Jane can help.....

Jane, understand that you let your boy boy drink 'mi hu' ? what kind of teats are you using then ?

My girl had a review with Dr SB Lim at KKH this morning after 9 mths. She commented that my girl had come a long way and her development is pretty up to mark based on corrected age 2 yrs 3 mths. This is good news! She has extended her invitation to my family to attend the premies awareness day on 30 Nov. Looks like I'm going to see all of your pretty faces on that day (if I attend). Wishing all a relax and meaningful weekend.

lindah

hmmm, inspiration to premies mummies?? KKH already had a handful helpful mummies to do that. Nevertheless, I will certainly offer myself if I know of any trachy baby in the future. I pray there won't be any. I won't let the skills I learnt all this while, changing trachy tubes, inserting NG tube, suction etc. go to waste. There again, I really really hope no newborn has to go through this. I'm already glad that I had inspired you.

Hi Precious_one
How you washed Angel's chamber? I just soak in warm water, rinse it and leave it to dry. Is this the correct way?

kkf, just saw the motorised car in Dash's blog
hb also thot of buying that for my boys when we saw them at Baby Hyperstore
does Dash likes it ?

hi alicia,

i have the same case as you. my daughter wasnt growing well in my womb and at w32, she was only 1.03kg. at w33, it was still the same and my daughter's heartbeat wasn't regular. i was hospitalised for observation and considered a high-risk case too.

i was seeing a gynae at kk's private suite but thankfully, i didnt take up the package (which meant i could only be in the unsubsidised wards) so i opted for c-class ward. my daughter stayed at scn/nicu for 1 and half months and she also had surgery for hernia. we only paid $11 in cash. the rest of the bill amounted to $9k which was deducted from medisave.

chloegal

Submerge/soak the chamber with a little of dish washing detergent in water, thereafter drip dry or sun dry. I think some mummies after drip dry, use hair dryer to blow dry. DO NOT rinse with water after soaking with dish washing detergent.

I was told that if you rinse it with water, the puff administered will end up sticking onto the wall of the chamber instead.

Dear Dear Mich, sooo sorry. I did remember you ask me that question after I posted the posts. I wanted to come back to reply but then was rushing out...

Err...I dun think I know, but my hubby may know. I can ask.

Hi didi, baby hyperstore got? I went kakit bukit to search around before, but didn't manage to see anything I like. Most are too big for my boy, and his legs cannot extend to the pedal. So I went to kiddy palace eventually. I bought that from kiddy palace.

It was good with remote, so your boy can just sit there, and you control....hahah. But my boy doesn't really like. He seems to be quite fearful. But he will go press the sounds. Hopefully soon he will grow up of his fear.

Hi mummies, do visit dash's site often! It gives me the motivation to write and take more nice pictures...hahah
Btw, we just went to Chinese garden to see the lanterns (yah, after festival over...), not very great though.
www.ido.per.sg/dash

Precious one, I saw your photo in angel's webpage as well...I have been wanting to comment "what a pretty lady (esp your wedding photos!), and what a pretty angel!"

Lindah, I saw your photo too, and I was saying how pretty you look too...hee.

Jane, costa, lili, nana...as well! (think I only manage to see these mummies and not the rest)

All of you are pretty mummies...sad I still not able to see mich :p.

Btw, I got most of the photos from mummies here. Will be grateful if the rest of you who are interested to try to give me by tomorrow, ok? (If I dun give dateline, will never be able to get it done fast, haha). I will proceed to do on monday. So still waiting for more photos. Any photo will do as long as it is your favorite!

chloegal

I guess it is no harm using the hair dryer. I only choose a hot sunny day to wash the chamber cos I prefer it to sun dry. hehe

kkf, I've seen your blog previously and if you have missed my posting, I mentioned that you were pretty and young too. Who dun look pretty in wedding shoot - make up and all were done by the professionals. To be fair, I dun really look like the bride, cos people think that I look like a star in the weddding pix??? hahaha, so I was kind of sad cos the bride look better than me. So my real self is really ordinary looking without the make up.
Anyway, thanks for admiring my wedding pix. I think you left a comment in one of my posting, your nick name xiao qiu?

Chloegal and I knew and have seen Mich in person, yes she is the pretty one.

kkf, forgot to ask you, are u feeling better today?? I must say that the other centre that charge you $270 per month (half day cc) is really cheap liao. I can't find this kind of price at my estate.
Here half day at least $345, the famous one S$475 and above.

hi mummies, haven't been posting for a while. Well, i've been rather bored these days..my mum is around to take care of my gal and she is getting used to her already.. so sometimes I got nothing to do!!!

Sigh.. counting the days to going back to Singapore!!!

Alicia, my gal was around 1.4kg at birth at 30 weeks. Saw a post about drinking water. Yeah, i can testify that it helped. My prob then was leaking amniotic fluid. My gynae says amniotic fluid is produced from the urine of the baby, so if mummy drinks more water, baby will absorb more and will urinate more. She sure did...

kkf, is the car very expensive? looks cool... easy to maneuver? Last time, owning a bicycle is a norm.. wow.. nowadays kids got car!! Hee hee.. last time, police wear shorts!

Hi precious one, thanks for your concern. Got running nose today. Think all the flu symptoms starting...sigh.

Anyway, not only your wedding photos are nice. I saw at the side (slide show) pictures of you and your girl. I think you are really a slim and pretty mum leh.

I find that your wedding photos and your own self look the same, not much difference mah, both pretty!

Yup I am xiao qiu. So if any of the mummy sees this strange nick in your blog, it is me!

Is it??? I thought $270 per month is quite expensive leh! My house nearby charges only $400 for full day per term somemore.

But anyway, think cannot afford so much per month. haha. I will just let him go tots house.

Lili, hope to see you back in singapore soon!!!
The car costs $179 at kiddy palace. Very easy to maneuver. Yah, nowadays kids are sooooo blessed!

kkf

You stay in AMK right? A mature estate has better offer really even when it comes to food. Before I got married, I also stay in AMK with my parents. The market in ave 4 still has very yummy laksa and vegetarian food for $1.50 only and the rest of the stalls sell equally cheap and delicious food. CCK is a new town where rents are ex... so everything here including the wet market - fish, meat etc. seems to be more costly. I prefer AMK than CCK really. I actually wanted to sell my CCK flat few mths ago but I bought this re-sale flat at a high in 2000. So will lose a lot of $ if I sell even now when property prices has gone up. I was prepared to settle for a 3 room flat in AMK but the sellers are asking for so much cash which I didn't have. Sigh!!

Flu is awful. I hate it too. Take lots of vit c and h20 and more importantly, sleep. Without proper rest, it will drag on.

Me thinking of shifting to amk nearby my in laws too...but actually, I prefer new estate...hee. I stay sengkang. Used to live in pasir ris.

Me also bought my house (5 room executive) at a high price, dun think anybody want my flat...my flat right now still not full yet.

Hi amy, I haven't regain my pre pregnancy weight as well after 2 years! But anyway, I think most important is to be healthy. For me, I try to walk to school (20 minutes walk). I dun like to run (feel weaker after giving birth, and also after seeing so many news about jogging and then suddenly collapse, me really fearful), so I try to walk as often as I can. I remember after giving birth, I try to eat more soup noodles, and less oily food. I still do monthly facial. If you don't have time, can ask for home facial.

Actually, me haven't regain my pre pregnancy weight, so cannot say much...haha. Anyway, the above are just what I am trying to do.
Other mummies, can share? Me also want to know...hee

kkf, you stay at Sengkang ? I used to stay there too, I used to go to Compasspoint to shop/ window shop almost everyday
when did you get your flat ? thot the prices were much reasonable ? my gf paid around 240k, iirc

precious one, amk, you stay near the famous bar chor mee ? the one that is open till early morning ? think it is at blk 734 ? me and hb used to jalan jalan there after our late shopping or after our midnite show.

didi, I stayed at AMK Ave 6, that bar chor mee is just opposite our block. Although so near, but I also have to wait so long so I seldom patronized the stall cos no patience to wait for food. Ya, order the noodle before movie, come out can eat liao ... hahaha I am an eat to live person not live to eat. So pathetic right?

kkf, my younger sis also live in SK, Rivervale and my cousin at compassvale
You anywhere near?

kkf, hey my girl will be at apple tree, CCK. 1st day of school on the 2 Jan 08 is just orientation and mingling with other parents, buy uniform. I was told the uniform quite cheap as compared to others, only $12/set. Other centres uniform around $25-$35 per set. It is only for 1.5 hrs only. Class size also 15 children, one teacher and one asst. teacher. There were two vacancies left when I registered recently. Her monthly fee is like yours at $125/- plus I have to pay $85/- for every half a year materials fee. Your tots house more value for money leh.
Dun like the idea that we still have to pay monthly fees during the Jun and Dec holidays as there is no class. They are collecting the Jun fees in April and Dec fees in Jul 08. Perhaps it is for the teachers' year end bonus. I'm so excited and looking forward to seeing my little girl attend school.

hullo hullo

hi amy,
i oso feel fat and ugly, haha. i think it is partly the weight (that is sooo obvious on the weighing scale) but it is also the psychology. i mean, even when i was pregnant w all that wt, i somehow still feel ok cos i was happy. at 5.5mths, how fat can i feel right? after birth, omg... well, the malay massage made me feel better cos i regained my figure (as i was on confinement food oso) but 2 weeks later, i stop massage, resume eating as per normal and ballooned.
. to make it worse, somehow my brain cannot adjust to trying to be "sexy pretty" and a "mummy". it just is a bit contradictory esp since half the time, i am too tired to even take care of how i look...

but ya - as long as healthy, it is ok.

been thinking of exercising but yet to drag myself to amore. i still have 4-5 mths of classes left (i suspended it when i found out i was pregnant). i find exercising and dieting is the best method as i lost 12kg before on it after my final yr in uni, but it is also the slowest method. the GPs can prescribe diet pills and i even thot of taking since my BMI is quite high, but i m oso scared of the side effects.

Hi Hi didi, I got my flat 3 years back, I got it for around $300000, bec it is an executive flat and I am staying 13th floor.

Precious one! I am staying compassvale street leh!
nearby your cousin.

I never ask if june and december got classes or not leh. But if no, better still cause me on holiday too...Appletree I heard is quite good leh.
Me also excited to see my little boy attending school, hee. I just paid for registration, haven't receive any formal letter yet.

Appletree set of uniform is really much cheaper...hee, mine I think costs around $25.

Anyway, my boy is attending shichida also, so he will be staying almost 6 days per week...poor boy!

I went to one of the centre, I realised the kids there spend almost half to one hour play play, wash hands, drink water etc. In the end only left 1 hour for serious work. Waste money, waste time. Cause I am thinking, I might as well let my boy play at home, what for send him there right? I hope the tots house I chose is not like that...hee

kkf, I see, I stayed at Rivervale Street previously
you are really a 'ON' mummy, hope I have the energy like yours for my 2 boys when they are of now Dash's age

kkf, sori, i got mixed up, i think my cousin at anchorvale...all the vale in SK, make the estate sound prestigious too.
Gee, Appletree only 1.5 hrs and 5 days only, so I believe, until every children settles in (without crying when parents not around) there will be a lot of wasted time for the 1st two months. But no choice leh, I can't find a better one here. Shichida is for right brain training huh, so how's your boy's memory, must be superb. Shichida very ex. but I came across a few children who studied there are really promising future leader. Very intelligent.

lindah: I think your feeling of you being fat is really psychology leh. I saw you just last 2 days ago. Really not fat. Your outlook also very prim and proper not untidy at all. You are just tired, when one feels tired, most thoughts are negative. And your your fair and clear complexion does not show your tired self. You didn't even put on make up that day, with a touch of brusher and lip stick, I think you will look sexy liao. Really

Morning mummies. kkf, i just visited dash's website. his expressions so candid and cute! i love the lantern festival photos. Keep up the good work. Gives me a lot of motivation to carry the complicated pregnancy further (now only starting 26 wks).. hopefully next yr lantern festival the twins can at least gawk and grin at lanterns. I told the twins that Dash kor kor has a car and they got quite excited :p I'm moving to compassvale link by end of year to early next year (depending when i deliver). Looks like we will have quite a community over there. Will learn more from you all next time.

I am teaching in anchorvale, precious one.

Yah, guess most kids will be crying during first day of school. But think my boy won't. He is somebody who can just follow stranger away...haha. I haven't start shichida, will start 7th october. I sure hope it will help him in his memory. I am afraid being premature, he will lose out to others...kiasu!

Didi, me too kiasu...haha...not good also. But maybe because I am a teacher, teacher always too kiasu.

Xbliss, thank you for visiting dash's website! you motivate me to post more photos! heehee. Yah, dash likes to pretend to smile so his expressions very funny! Yah! continue to talk to your twins! Auntie kkf is looking forwards to visiting their websites in another 14 weeks more!!!

You are moving to compassvale link? blk 200 somehting right? Yeah!next time can see you and your twins around in sengkang!