Premature babies support group

hi mommies, mia for few days
cause was having very bad headache, since last sundy Bar-B-Q. Today just started cereal on my boys, hmm they seems to enjoy it
will continue again tmr. Do you know if I can add in fruits ? is yes, what fruits should I add, thanks a lot

Jacelyn,

From what I derived, your son is having fever for 2 days already, i.e. 3rd day after MMR.

1) Did you follow the doc. prescription of the fever medicine, how many hourly apart, you must follow strictly i.e. x ml every 4 or 6 hourly.

2) Regardless of the type of thermometer, the fever is high at 39.5 and 38.5. By KKH's standard, a child is considered having fever at 37.5. I must say that 39.5 is very high.

3) I suggest you paste the Kool fever pad on the forehead of your son.

4) Do sponging on your son to bring down the temperature. Use a clean cloth and rinse it with a basin containing tap water. Rinse it dry and wipe his neck, arm pit, joints of hands and legs. Repeat it a few times. Do NOT use ice cube or ice water.

5) Monitor the temperature very very closely, if temperature is still high, please bring him to see a doctor immediately.

6) My understanding is that fever after jab tends to be mild, and if paracetamol is administered, fever should come down after an hour.

7) When did you last administer the fever medicine. My understanding is that if a child has viral fever, the fever might go away after each dose of medicine and will rise again. So you must administer the medicine punctually.

8) If child is unwell, volmiting is pretty common.

9) It seems that your child is having infection, that's why he is coughing (got phlegm) cum fever. So it is not just fever after MMR.

10) If I were you, I will bring the child to see a doc. right away as he is also having cough which also need medication.

Please stay cool and strong. By the way, please check your 1st twin temperature -- u mention a bit warm - does it mean he is not well??

Mummylian

I'm not knowledgeable lar. I happened to have a super duper Eye book that has a chapter on Eye Diseases in Children. Since your girl's eye review is just last month, her eyes should be no problem.

Jacelyn

Your posting made Lindah SMS Costa to SMS me to come in and reply you. So nice of Lindah.

Fever due to jab is because the body is treating the vaccine as a foreign body and it is attempting to get rid of it by raising the body temperature.
Paracetamol will help to lower the temp so the bb can sleep and rest better. The temp will drop after each administering. Try to give it every 6 hours or when necessary.

I am not sure about the vomit part, most likely it is due to the cough.

But since your baby has phelgm/ cough and fever at the same time, we are not sure now if the fever is due to jab or other virus/ bacteria infection.

If temp maintains at 39 plus tomorrow, suggest you seek the opinion of the pediatrician. You will feel more assured.

Hi Hi mummys,

Been so busy la so no time to post.

Hello to Angel's mummy, indeed GOd has been gracious and kind to all of us. I really like the poem you posted, so inspiring...

Xbliss,
Great to know that the twins are doing well, hang in there. I will keep you in my prayers.

Jac,
You must be strong. I think that MMR should not cause so high fever. High fever is our bodies natural way of fighting germs in our system. I think better see doctor soon. Especially if fever goes up and down like a yo-yo.

kkf,

did you buy the diapers from the cheapest source in town with free delivery?

I am trying to order too. Wanted your feedback on whether it's good.

Hi jacelyn

I remembered when my boy got phlegm, he was like that too. When he drank milk and went to bed, he would cough, and then vomited out everything. Very stressed. But you must be careful, fever, with cough, and phlegm could be bronchitis. My boy garna that last time.

If you find wheezing sound, or that he had difficulty breathing well, do consult a doctor. Anyway, frankly, I think fever shd consult doctor. I m a very conscious mummy. I am not somebody who believes that the child has the immune and ability to fight against illnesses themselves. I rather bring my boy to see doctor. Dun delay too much, bronchitis may get worse (if really is).

MMR shd not cause fever as such, at most mild fever.

Luana, I did not order. I think elsewhere might be cheaper, like carrefour.

Mich
This year lantern seem vey few and the design not nice. I saw alot of coloured transparent paper lantern at Holland Village. Very nice leh... but hubby not want to buy for edric, say he is still young better play with electric lantern first.

thanks for the info, ok, after shower wth them , i will bring them to see doctor. bryan still fever.
precious,
i only give him when he high fever, if warm i never give, ok, i will bring him see doctor now.
ai yo yo, i am very useless one, very luan now, and very worried now, must rush to docotr there first, let yours know later.
bye.take care

mich,
thanks for posting last nite, so surprised when i came in the office and saw yr post

mummylian,
will email the pictures to you again in the afternoon...

good morning mummies

jac - once my boy have fever, off i go to doctor. despite many people tell me, can just give paremenctol. but i never take chance.

last week when siang feel a bit warm, i take his armpit (i never trust ear measurement) it appear 37.5, i immediately ask my mum bring him see doc. then shortly after that, he had false mealse liao. but next monday thou his fever have subside (i still cannot feel at ease), i bring him see doctor again and the doc tell me its ok, its false mealse and ask me to just bring my boy home.

many people tell me, so long they still play and appear to be OK, things are ok. but i never take chance because my boy ever was hopitalised for bronchitis...like kkf say, cannot take chance.

jace... you are not useless. like i tell costa, for simple thing like false measles, i can make so many phone calls... let us know what the doctor say.

mich and the mummies really helpful. we really have strong support here

jacelyn,
dun worry 2 much ok? fever is normal after MMR. give more water? n fever medicine when necessary. after fever, may hav red spots on the body/face. dun worry 2 much ok, it's oso q normal. ur boys will b ok after med. dun worry.

last nite brought my ger downstairs to play lantern. i bought those cheapo candle paper lantern. she loves it! so happy carrying the lantern. but i was holding her hand, cos it's fire, i more scared than her haha. but in the end, she ended playing more at the playground. hubby bought sparkles 2. but she's bit afraid of it & juz wan to c daddy play

hi disneymickey
wow...hmm. you must have fun last night. i wonder when my boy will be like your gal can walk and hold the lanterns kekeke... must be very very fun

Jacelyn,

I hope your boy is okay by now after seeing ped. this am. If he's still having fever, do not shower him, just wipe him will do. Administer the fever medicine punctually as prescribed. Normally, I will take the temperature before the next dose of medicine, if still have fever, continue medication, when the temperature eventually reach normal 36.7, I will still administer one more dose of paracetamol before I stop giving. This was advised by KKH A&E ped. and it works.

I agree with kkf/jane(neoh) - never take chance! Meantime, relax, you will be surprised that little ones do get fever/cough/cold pretty often, even for full term baby. I guess this is part of growing up.

hi precious_one, yes... me too kind of adopt that watch and see method when my boy need ot be admister the fever medication. its true the medication must be taken routinely until the child recovers... for me that time is i give my boy 6 hourly. then my mum told me...for the medication to be effective, must give at least 3 doses... likewise, when the temperature subsidize. i will also give one more dose before stopping. then watch and see.

ya really hor, its part of growing up. i don't mind telling u, got one period i keep (*&^%$ saying i want to kick down the door of the hopsital (disneymickey and the rest of the mummies can vouch that :p)

Jane (neoah)

I can understand your feeling cos my girl after discharged from NICU, was hospitalised a number of times in 2006 owing to cough/cold /seizure. I not only want to kick the door, I feel like tearing down the hospital ... hahaha (just a joke lar, but the feeling is so lowsy cos until today, I still feel quilty for delivering her so early. Though it is no fault of ours, the quilt feeling will return each time she is unwell. Damn it.

Over time, I became more composed and prepared liao. Even the KKH A&E ped. also said we are PRO liao becoz we administer all the needed medicine correctly. The only thing we dun have is a pair of x-rays eyes. We can't see what's within.

Nevertheless, this forum is where we share and help each other. I only hope that I do contribute in some ways. We are here to learn from one another. Cheers!

hi precious_one, wow siah, you describe exactly what i want to shout out loud. my boy got sensitive airway (cos he got Chronic lung). then he was warded 2 times this year. 1st time is upper respiratoray throat infection (majam sore throat :p). 2nd time is like wheezing badly lor

now my boy under the special care of the KKH lung specilist. she is really a charming and nice lady. she is patient and every 3 months my boy go for review with her. then now my boy on prevenitve puff and also a 'pu yao' prescribe by the lung doctor to strengthen and built up his lung.

that 2 times i camp there (sleep and eat there)... really ... ta-bu-lei tahan :p

so glad got this forum and with your joining in, i am sure we can learn more and encourage each other through the path of our dd/ds growing up
cheerios!!

Hi Jane

Ya, Angel got chronic lungs too by birth. And then she got tracheostomy surgery so her most problematic area is of course the airway pipe. She is under Dr Anne Goh (respiratory) doc. who now reviews her every 4 mths and ENT (Prof Henry Tan) is more for the tiny hole on the neck. She was on pulimicort puff (one puff every night) for two years+. Dr Anne Goh took her off liao. She is also on ventolin for a long time but also taken off liao. But we still administer ventolin if her cold/cough is bad. This helps her open up her airway pipe. Do you know the technique of using the puff, oh boy, we were not even doing it righly initially until lately. Very funny! I'm very thankful that she is getting better and better. If you say I "kiang", I would give this honour to the Almighty GOD cos' I actually not so strong when it comes to live and death.

Keen in know the 'pu yao' for the lungs, from which kind sensei?? can share?

hi precious_one, oh i know Dr Anne Goh, she was the one who see my boy at his ward when he was hospitalied. very nice lady.

the lung specialist that my boy is under is Dr Jenny Tang of KKH, Clinic K.

my boy have CLD...and he is also on pulmicort puff (one puff - i give every morning) everyday. Dr Tang also give me the 'asthma action plan' to follow. so...i kind of am 'trained' to know what kind of situation then i administer the salbuair puff (its like ventolin except its a puff).

so at home right now, i paste the action plan in the 'small own-arranged medical kit' and if need be, my mum would know what to do :p.

i understand that if given good care, all these airway issue will out-grow itself. but really must be under good care.

i know the technicquie of using the puff. i even learn that the 'chamber' should be 're-engine' every week. i soak it with a little bit mama lemon and then drip dry then, i use HAIR DRYER to blow the chamber until i think its quite ok (all dry and warm :p) then i put it aside and let it cool down. this i perform every week. the pharmancy person teach me one :p

i diligently re-engine the chamber every week without failed and i make sure the step no skip because i know, without a good re-engine chamber, no point in administering the puff :p.

oh...erh ehr...its not by sensei ler, its prescibe by Dr Tang. i forgot the name of it. let me go home copy and i let you know tomorrow can :p. it kind of liquid medication that will pu my boy lung and he have to be on it for 3 months. which after that, we have to bring him back to Dr Tang for review.

sorry i type so long message and bored all mummies hahaha

Jane (neoh)

Tks. Can wait. You just remindered me to go wash the chamber (i have two - one specially for trachy baby and another for non trachy child) Better go soak right away.

I also apologise for being carried away. Sorry all mummies.

hi precious_one
ok ok.. no worries the mummy here welcome any info sharing. what we don't know maybe out there someone does ;) jane 2 cents worth of thoughts hehe

I am back, this was my first time drive myself and bring my maid and two boy. Normally pick up by my husband, but now, i need to be more brave, must go myself, ai yo yo, so scared lei, but very smooth all the road. So next time i can bring my boys to jalan jalan liao.
Ok, doctor say my boys a bit of inflection of sore throat. that why fever up, actually they only abt 37.5, i measure wrong, i never put the plastic cover at the reader there, that why so high, so stupid ha, i am... But, luckly see early, thanks ha..mummies. now my boys fall sleep as too tired after jalan jalan. no more fever after medicine. doctor as me to give fever medicine abt 3day.than complete the antibiotik & ventolin&piriton. Today i really pouchan, medicine fee.RM85 two person, go giant buy pampers and other things already cost me RM200.
Really thanks for the info, kkf, ok, i will take care them , now start bath them the herb bath for prevent red spot come out.
lindah,costa,
thanks for telling mich i need help. pai seh ha....

Precious one, same here. My boy after discharged was hospitalised for quite a few times at kkh. Once even in children ICU, for his heart operation! Was saying with jane that we are going to tear the wall down of kkh too.

Btw, finally got a present for my boy! A set of mother goose nursery rhyme! Ha! Cheap but think my boy loves to read, so better buy something he may be of interest.

Wow jacelyn RM 85 very cheap leh. Here we see a child specialist costs $70 - 80! glad your boys are ok! recover soon!

hello jac
glad two of them is ok. once fever subside things should be ok.

herbs? got herbs to prevent spots from coming out ?? what is the herbs name?

i guess, so long our baby is ok. the cost of medical is something we just have to pay ah...

take care of yourself too. wow...you can now go jalan with two of them
mummy always bravest.

hi kkf - haha...i remember..of course i do. that time we really wanna knock all the walls down :p its like hate and love in one seconds of different (opps! wacky jane comment again)

mother goose nursery rhyme? whats that? a see of book? mother goose is cute ler. where you got it?

KKF...where u get aht swim suit? i want to buy one for my boy too..is it those can keep warm one (ie thermal?)...is it expensive :p jane quite broke liao hahahah. this one is for what age?

977301.jpg

Hi jane looks like this. Me a bit stress...my colleague say his son 1 year old plus can finish up the nursery rhyme she told him like "twinkle twinkle little" then he said "star" that kind of thing. My son seldom comes into contact with nursery rhymes! haha...must read more to him.

hi all the mummies.
Thanks for the concern & help wth my 2nd twins eyes problem.
Now at least more relax after see the doctor. And now must write to all the mummies here to thanks for the help. I will try to walk out from the worry. AFter i read all the post for me, i feel very relax and comfort.
Actually i dont want to express my feeling to my family member, i always told them not to worry, is ok for wear spec, some of them cant acept so small boy need to wear spec, and they all say very pity. But , i only can control the sad and told them never mind. ask them be happy, dont worry. But, i am so tired!!!!!i need to have 2 face...actually i am sad, but infront them i am not.when i call them, i cant cry cos they will hear my voice, infront my boys and my hubby i tahan too. but, very lucky, i have this thread, all the mimmies here was given me so many support, is not i dont want to post last few day, because when i start to read the post from all the mummies, i cry, because this is the only way i express myself, you cant see me when i cry, you donr know i cry cos can hear my voice, so i choice to share my sadness wth your, and i really trult your as my good listerning.I really can accept more now after reading all the post.

But, i am a useless mummies, i really need some more time to accept the fact, and i must work hard more now for cooking, caring my boys, i want the things happen diffirent after 6month i go back, i want them to tell me bryan eyessight not worse. i must, i must.....
when you look at the bryan photo,than your will know why i cant accept now yet and so sad abt that. He have such a big eyes, every time i go out, all the people dote at my boys, they will say such a nice and big eyes of bryan, they like him so much, like just now, when i go clinic, all the baby mummy and daddy come and play wth my boys, all give me the same answer. such a nice eyes. i am so sad as i give birth him a big eyes, but i cause his eyes unhealty. So i really dont know how to accept if bryan need to wear spec.....i really feel sorry for him.
And mummies, your know or not, actually i am more worry abt my first twins before bryan eyes problem come out, cos my 1st twin terry have stage 2 of blood in brain when he born, as now was gone, but pd ask me to pay attention of him as maybe he have slow action development, but ,now seing ok, but he will slightly slow than his brother, so your understand why i am so worry right, i need to pay attention of two person action, and i really guilty to them as all the problem was cause by me.....
precious,
thanks for sharing your girl story, i really touching as you was a brave mummy , i really feel guilty, i am so buzhongyong.i must learn more with you. welcome to this forum.
thanks again for your help, so many mummies, i cant write all the name here, but here, thank you so much.
attach the bryan photo, look at him, so naughty boy, cant emazing how he going to wear spec....

977315.jpg

I bought that from kiddy palace...not thermal wear too ex, want my life. I bought this only for $29.9 I think. But dun think can keep warm though. I buy size 4. kiasu parent! hoho.

kkf .. i guess goose and duck is not the same hor...make all the teacher laugh until 'peng' keke. cos my boy love those yellow rubber ducky...and i always sing the duck duck song for him haha. hmm ... goose maybe he like too??

hahaha - jane self laughing

Jacelyn, not to worry, can wear contact lenses next time like me! hee.
Dun worry, your boy will be ok. Next time can do laser too!

Your boy got beautiful eyes!!! he will be fine!!!

hi jac...oh...wipe that tears away and cheer up.

it really will be all OK. it will be. u got see the link i send you? ya, bryan eye is big and really nice (you got see siang one? classical eye gosh) but then...who know, with specs he can really use his eye to the fulless potential!

we alwasy here for everyone...maybe u try let him eat some of the 'gou ji zi'... the wolfberry...it help for eyes. and i am sure other mummies here have other recommendation.

jace - you are really a wonderful and brave mummy. at least more brave than me. i have licence but i dare not drive (want my life)

jac..no one perfect. don't feel so bad. you know, i believe that energy level can make lots of impossible thing come true. do our best is what we can do. cheer up and take care okie...

write more when you are ready. i have faith in you, you delivered twins, you are a SAHM, you cook and you work hard. you are really good liao.

hi kkf...29.90. can buy hor. how much that goose book cost? but then if i buy for my boy the swim wear? what size should i buy? and again, i don't have a approprate place to bring him for swimming. maybe i just buy and keep it out of sight of my husband :p

silly jane but i really think my boy should own a swim suit ler :p (thou i had wanted to buy a termal one)

jane,
the herb call prickly heat herbal bath, abt RM2 per pack, quiet good lor, some time i bath for my boys use this, no smell too, can deduce the heat. i think sensi there have.
jane & mich
i understand what your say, got time i will email your, thanks for everthing.

hi jac...i know got prickly heat powder. but never heard of prickly heat herbal bath...i will copy it down. ask my lao gong to go see see at the chinese medical hall. wow such things if you never share, i really don't know got such bathing herbs haha. thanks

ok... write anytime. if i know (i really got private limited knowledge) sure will share

Hi jane you can bring your boy to kiddy palace to try the sizes. Thats what I did last weekend, better.

I also haven't think of where to bring my boy to swim...hee. I have booked a chalet next sunday, think will bring him for his first swim at the chalet.

The mother goose set costs $39.90. Consists of quite a lot of things, 1 audio CD, 1 VCD, 1 puppet, 4 colorful board books, and 1 parent's guide.

Btw mummies do anyone of you know which catering good? Me looking for catering for my boy's birthday. Me thinking of spliting, afternoon catering for relatives, and evening for my friend and hubby's friends. Anyone knows any catering that is good? and any good caterer for mini buffets?

hi kkf. oh ok ok. hmm the mother goose set not that costly hor. and seem lots of things...

kkf, my company got one catered (she is actually my canteen operator). she offer $12 for 10/12 dish (i cannot remember)...but quite ecomony type lor. let me know if you need to see the menu... wow look like your guest list quite long. think must be very exciting to plan the b'day party

yup! really looking forward. Nice food? If so, I am interested. But got any min no of people? My relatives only around 20, and I want to take only around 20, but most catering got this min no of people to be 30.

ya...her's she is min at 30. but you got afternnoon and evening session so i am not sure if she is still like 'ok' to do for you...maybe i fax you or PM you the menu, you have a look...

kkf

Your boy is so handsome. I also hope one day, I can go buy swimsuit for Angel. Without the hole in the neck being closed, we can't even let her play with H2O. I'm praying and crossing my finger, cos that day could be anytime in Dec.

didi,
how come nobody reply u? heehee..
re adding fruits into cereals. u can add banana or apple. or u can choose to add veg like carrot or pumpkin. but try 1 food for 3 days, before adding in new food.

mommies i need some help! u know the combi cutter-cum-spoon thing? i had 1 & it is very useful!! esp when my ger loves noodles, so it's so convenient to bring tat out & cut up the noodles & feed her. but unfortunately, my dad lost it last weekend!! i went to 2 kiddy palace (CCK & Tampines Mall) all dun hav alrdy. the sales girl @TM told me combi no more stock!! oh no! i need to buy leh, cos gg phuket next mth. if any mommy happen to c it anywhere, let me know.

kkf,
hope ur boy enjoy swimming. but rem, dun let him play 4 too long initially. like 10-15mins, hav to bring him up, wrap him in big towel & bathe. rem to apply sunblock! although he's a boy, u won't wan him to hav burnt skin rt?

keke..kkf. i am sending you the menu to your email now. but hor...u just have a look, no obligation and i really earn nothing one keke. i just find it very economy (for poor people like me to cater from her) :p.

that time my boy bday i cater the $10 per person one (for lunch)... they do for dinner too...

just to let you compare compare

hi disneymickey...sorry. really no idea abt the cutter...

hi didi - opps like miss your message. oh like disneymickey recommendation, can add banana or apple. that is what the KKH dietrican recommend too. i pai say to say, my boy never eat cereal (only drink chao mi cereal with his milk)...

Thanks disneymickey for your advice. What cutter is that? sounds good leh...i think I saw the name somewhere...is it at "want to buy" or "want to sell", forget. But I think your idea is great leh! I want to buy too. Recently me too lazy, sometimes brought my son out to eat spagetti, then always got to chop and chop into small noodles, very ma fan.

thanks jane, i got it. will consider. I am an economy mum too...hee. I want cheap cheap one, esp with so many people, too expensive, want my life.

jacelyn

I'm so glad to hear that your boy's fever had subsided. And I looked up to you for bringing two boys for jalan jalan. I only started bringing Angel solo with me driving this year. Last year, I need my maid whereever I go cos I also so scared I cannot handle alone.

I believe that children are GOD's precious gift to us. And I envy you cos GOD so love you that HE gave you two at one time, HE only gave me one. So GOD see in you that you have the strength/energy to see through your boys'needs. So you are not bu zhong yong, you are actually hen you yong in GOD's eyes.

About crying, I also a crying-baby, I cried so much initially that the tears I used it to mop the floor and flush the toilet previously. Even until now, I still cry when I feel sad. Crying is one way to ventilate so it is okay for woman to cry. Woman is make of tears what. But don''t cry too much and have swollen eyes, wait your sons cannot recognise you.

Accept your son's eye condition slowly, take your time. Yes, Bryan indeed has big and nice eyes. Technology is moving so fast nowadays so you never know, he will soon be off glasses. Remember, if GOD is willing, anything impossible become possible.

You think I am brave, that's becoz you didn't have a chance to see my weakest moment. I didn't become brave overnight, I started just like you. Very soon, you will be a strong pillar and motivator to a lot of other premies mummies.

And there's so much I have to learn from you, you are an expert in coming up with menus for toddlers, do you know that before I join this forum, I secretly took down your recipes. So you see you are a very hen you yong mummy.

Jia You, Jia You, Zai Jia You!!

PS: FYI, Angel has Stage 1 bleeding in the brain previously, and in June 06, she has 3 fits attacks. Quite scary - underwent brain MRI scan, sleeping tests etc. Luckily the result was okay and the fits was triggered by the wound of the brain. So, the ped. is right to ask you to watch your 1st twin. It might or might not happen with your 1st twin.

Disneymickey and Jane, thanks for the valuable info, hmm will add bananas and apple to the cereal