Premature babies support group

hahaha, Disneymickey, I also still sterilising her bottles. I do that because the sterilizer still working. When it ownself expire, I won't buy again. hee hee...

Jane (neoah)

I was told that the MMR has egg content in it. That's why if one has egg allergy, might not be able to take the jab. Angel's allergy doc. is also from KKH and all Angel's vaccination are taken at KKH. Since the doc. said go ahead, we jus went ahead lor, what can we say, we are not expert in medicine.

disneymickey: where exactly are you in CCK. I'm at CCK Central also very near LOT ONE.

Hi Mich, you also using the Bfree bottles? I'm so puzzled why got white streaks appearing? I dare not use it anymore and change to another set. Quite upset cos it's not cheap and I thought it was supposed to be good plastic that wouldn't 'deteriorate' from heating..moreover I only sterilized once a day! Other times, I just soaked in hot water after washing!

preciuous_one, I second jane and disneymickey's compliments.. you and your gal very pretty eh...
The picture of your gal crying before going to childcare look so cute.. if I were you, my heart will melt and I will not send her to school!
Thanks for sharing about your gal's story. I'll keep her in my prayers. Pray that God will close up the hole in her neck naturally and she will not need any surgery.

Mich and Costa, the Prima laska is indeed very nice... My husband and i will eat it now and then to remind us of the taste back home!! We also bought the ba ku te.. haven't tried yet.. The mee siam also not bad...

Jane, what is fake measles? What is the difference from real measles?

What is MMR jab? Oh dear!! I'm very blur in all these jab. I'm taking the 5-in-1 jab with the penumococo. I know MMR is compulsory in singapore. It is not in the 5-in-1 right? I also dunno when must take. Aiya.. so irritating. I've to go and find out myself. The pd here will just go according to the law here.

Jacelyn, how are you? have you been reading our posts to you? haven't heard from you for a few days liao...

Oh dear.. how? I think i'm becoming a paranoid mother!! Everytime I bring my gal out, i'm so scare she will catch germs!! When I hear people cough, I sooo scare!! And the people here like to spit!! Sometimes, the people here overfriendly and they will come and touch my gal... I'm soooo scared when they do that. Now I use the shade in the stroller to cover her up even when i'm in the supermarket!! Oh dear, am i overdoing it? Someone help me! Sometimes when I think about sending her to childcare in future, I also get a bit scare. Scare that she will have accidents in the child care centre.. scare that she will catch germs!!! Sigh... my husband thinks I will bring a bottle of dettol around in future and wipe everything that my gal comes into contact with!!!!

Lili,

You are not alone lar. My hubby and I also paranoid, if he 's carrying Angel in a shopping mall, then someone sneeze or what, wah biang, he run away faster than me. haha. Boh bian, cos Angel's lungs still chronic, every little cold/cough, she end up in the hospital to do test, x-rays, kanna hospitalised. How can we not be pananoid right?? Your baby is still very young, so you must protect her. Even when I told her ENT doc. this year that I want to send her to school, he said : She still very young, build her health first, otherwise try to find a non air-school. I bet all sane mummy will be so protective over their child. So you are normal.

Hey all

Am back!! Din post for very long cos was bz looking after my little girl. Could see many new names in the thread

Jus a pc of news to share... Recently, my company had its convention in Czech.. Guess wat, one of my fellow agent gave birth to a preterm girl there!! Her bill was $112k sing dollars. And worst of all, the mum could not stay with her. The bb now is till in Czech
Think she has to be there for a while.
At least all our little ones have their loving mummy with them showering them with all our LOVE!

Jus a quick intro for those who don know me... My girl was a 27 weeker.. She's my third. Am now in my 13th week for my no.4

Mich
Thanks for the gift that u gave to my little one.. Appreciate that..

Mich/Jane
Heard u talking about insurance.. Think u know I am in the insurance industry, try getting for our premies the Group H&S from ur respective company. The benefits that ur company give to employees.. They usually cover after one year. I applied for my girl the accident policy.. she got accepted.. N the group H&S too. Of course pre existing condition is excluded

Need more advice, jus post here
Free advice with no sales obligation
hee

Costa n all those involved in the Premie awareness:

The thread gets too long, can anyone jus email me wat is needed?? n if possible a bit of tips how to do it??

KKF
Notice that u teach in Nan Chaiu.. My niece in that sch.. Tried to register for my boys last time... but wow... super no space

precious one
Welcome on board!!
Like wat ur fren say, God will not give u something too big that u can't handle! Am proud of u!! Saw ur girl's pic, like many of them say, she's lovely;)

Sorry hor.. Long din post liao, so a bit long winded.. Will try to log in more often!Hope won't be so tired after the first trimester

So sad, just now typed and typed, then lost all the things.

Must retyped again.

Disneymickey, I am also looking for a playgroup/childcare for my boy. If playgroup, will search for one near my in laws place at ang mo kio, so tat they can fetch him home. If childcare, got to search one near my home, so that I can bring him home, still considering.

I have went to montessori in sengkang, quite big space because it is those single storey house. But then very very ex, half a day already $500 plus.

I heard apple tree not bad in terms of curriculum. I also heard kinderland got music class, which is something very good.

But I think i will most prob send my son to a normal childcare, because I have decided to focus more on enrichment, like music, swimming and shichida.

Jane, hope your boy measles will go away very soon. Not to worry about the photo for montage, so far only lili has very guai submitted to me. So I cannot do the montage yet.

Xbliss, hope your twins will listen to mummy's words, and stay in your womb for as long as can be, pref 36 weeks!

Mich and costa, thanks, guess will wait till my boy older than let him learn to swim, meanwhile will just let him play with water. Shichida class not yet started, my son's class starts on 7th october.

Mummylian, yup I teach in nan chiau, shh....I do know that the place is taken up very fast, but tell you honestly, every school is the same.

Lili, me also very paronoid one. Ever since last time my son was hospitalised for bronchitits for almost a week in hospital, I am very phobia whenever he fall sick. So now, I really try to protect him. But I do think eventually, we have to let them just go freely, and fall sick. It is only thru that, then their immune system will build up?

Dear mummies, did you give your children anything during their birthdays ah? Me still cracking my brain. I am thinking of buying him a little tikes coupe car that kind of thing, but then realise wowowwoo very expensive, want my life, so still considering.

Hubby going reservist these two days, and got to stay in camp. Me so sian. I am very timid one, ask my mum to stay over with me PLUS look after my son....haha.

Jacelyn, how are you? I know we are not you, so we cannot understand the feelings you are going thru. We can say tons of words to make the matter simpler, and less serious, but to you, I know it is really something very very bad.

I really hope you are fine, and hope the problem will resolved.cheer up ok?

Last time when i know my boy got hole in heart, I was devastated too. I waited and prayed for miracle to happen (that the hole will close up), but it did not. Eventually, my boy had to go thru operation and stayed in children ICU for almost 1 weeks plus, and he was in so much pain....haiz. I couldn't do anything to help him that time, and I was feeling very very bad too. But as what some of the mummies said, as long as our children are alive and happy, we shd just focus on the present. Whatever happen in the future, we are not able to decide. What we can do is to make each day worthwhile.

morning mummies, check out this site if you are free

http://www.pampers.co.uk

Got interesting self-made games and activities for kids.

Also, it seems like some of you are toying with the idea of batam/bintan getaway. Check this out! I've tried it for myself though, but this tea tree spa was recommended by a friend and I made inquiry with them before so now they always email me their promotion.

972517.jpg

xbliss, you know, one of the mummies here, Bena, kept her baby for 6 weeks
Now your job is to eat, sleep and grow fat!! Erh.. direct most of the fats to your babies....

kkf, looks like i'm a typical MOE teacher hee hee, scare submit things late to HOD...hee hee... blur blur, guai guai..

mummylian, how many months is your colleague's baby? it is very difficult to go thru' such situation in a foreign country when we are not use to the system. But i guess looking from the bill, it should be a hospital for expats with good facilities. I hope she is covered with insurance. I gave birth here in Shanghai and thought the hospital I delivered in is an expat hospital, but they cannot support NICU for preemies and my gal had to stay in the local hospital. My husband was so overwhelmed the first day he did the registration there. The procedures are complicated and the doctors are not sensitive at all. They will present you the worst situation and make you sign every document to cover themselves. Imagine, we just delivered a tiny fragile baby and haven't overcome the shock yet and have to deal with all these. Just to cite one example, they ask him to pay for the ambulance fees once they reached the hospital, upon alighting from the ambulance, while holding the incubator with my gal inside. It's like if you don't pay up, we are not entering the hospital!! Aiyo.. i can go on writing a whole chapter on the experience.. better stop.. later ganna sue by hospital!!!

jac,
good to see you back! must be very busy this weekend?

lili,
i think right, the shanghai hospital probably got a lot of freeloaders if the hospital dun insist on payment straightaway... tt's y they insisted payment first. what to do... in SG, most of us have medisave so not so bad i guess?

Morning Mummies

Costa
Picture of chix curry I shall email you.
I saw Zachs swimming photos in his blog. Cool!

Jane/KKF
When is the due date for submission of the photos?

KKF
On the topic of schools - I came from a quite-good-but-not-very good school and my classmates are all very competitive. In a way, motivated me to study lah.

DisneyMickey
Forgot you stay in CCK.
You hv a lot of time so can search carefully. Rem to check out their kitchens to make sure they are clean.;p
My colleague also said the laksa is good. I want to try that!

Xbliss
Glad to hear that the boys are doing fine.
Prima - I go for the convenience lor and compromise on the taste. Haha...

Lili
I am using Avent Bottles. So far, no white streaks.
The Prima premix is meant for pple like you stationed overseas and miss our local food!

I used to buy that for my friend who was studying in UK.
I used to be as paranoid as you. And I make sure everybody wash their hands before they carry my boys.
But I think it is important for them to build up their immune system. So start with minimum exposure and increase gradually.
Your gal is a 30 weeker and does not have major lungs problem or a need to rely on any machines to breathe. She will be fine.
My boys have no episodes of re-hospitalisation too. (touch wood)

Mummylian
Is the girl very preemie since the mummy was allowed on board the flight although she is preggie?

Jacelyn
HELLO!! Post more in the afternoon ok.

hi precious_one and mich, thanks for sharing about the MMR vaccination.

Hi li li, the difference between real measles and fake is. fake the fever will subside very fast but real one, the fever can go on for quite a number of days...

You mean at your side, no MMR jab? my boy is also taking the 5-1 including of MMR at singapore polyclinic. Peunmoococo is sparately jab.. I know MMR is compulsory in singapore.

lili and precious_one...me too. very scare when someone next to my boy cough or sneeze haha. even my mum cough i also very panaroid hehe...

hello mummylian
) welcome back! oh yes, my boy is right now under my company group insurance but i am also trying to get PA for him plus trying the H&S for him too...so sorry to hear about the baby. hope the baby can come back to be with the mum soon wor....the mum must be quite worried.

hi kkf - thanks for asking after siang. got to worried ler. i have not even yet started on the 'project' for submission for the awareness day and now is alredy going to be end of sept liao.

kkf, yes, we make each day worth. i just brought for siang a bee (or butterfly?? i also dunno) battery operated lantern..he is so happy but then very soon, the bee cannot fly liao because he 'toke off' her beautiful wings sob sob! :p haha...

calling jac - cheer up, things be just ok really it will be. thinking back, each of us have a way to handle problems. we (in this thread) are all here to support one another... take away the tears and the sun will shy. like kkf say, we all know its not easy...because we know its not easy afterall.

kkf - for my boy first birthday. i give him ... give him... ang bao $10 kekeke. cos when i am young, my mum did not give me anything at all, then i tell my lao gong, let us set a standard. every year we buy him cake then $10 from each of us. please don't ask me why $10 and not 100 or wat haha. but then again, i will be buying insurance for him, so its like already helping him to have assurance in his life :p

mummies who is reading jane post..please don't be puzzled by the $10 (some may think..wow i so cat like that)...but when i was young, during CNY, my mum and dad only give me $20 for red packet. so i decide..my boy shall have $20 for birthday and $40 for CNY keke :p

Lili,
Prima Taste got one restaurant in shanghai right...hv you been there?they trying to expand overseas with the range of local food..

u noe that siang yang shi chang...now no more, right, nearby got one so called singapore food outlet, wah lau, the food is so horrible and dun noe why my hb always brot us there...cannot imagine and the prices are ridiculous due to the high rentals near tourist places...

hmm, rgding jane's boy's "measles", its called roseola virus...a harmless virus but it causes fluctuations in the fever up and down and then rashes wld come out on the whole body..but the child is otherwise okay..

its caused by some herpes virus (not the sexual type) and we can inadvertably pass the virus to the child without we knowing...it often hits children below a certain age.....

u can go to www.babycenter.com or google to noe more..

mich,
rgding zach's swimming story?he was and is taking a long time to do it well becuz he cannot concentrate and always "bargain" wif the instructor..until the instructor buay tahan...

mummylian,
if i free, i email you or text you....

morning mommies,

MMR- was juz talking to my colleague. her boy is gg to take the jab 2wks ltr. din know abt the egg allergy thing. but i gave my ger egg frm 1yr old & no allergy. but my pd nev tell me must test 4 egg allergy b4 taking MMR. but i do know tat most bb will hav slight fever after taking MMR. n after fever, fake measles will appear. tat's wat happened to my ger. she got slight fever then few red spots on her body. i called up pd & he say the red spots will go away. luckily her fever was not high, so i din give any med.

childcare - thanks 4 all the advice & precious_one's recommendations. will chk them out. like 1 of u say, i still hav some time. i personally prefer a non-air con cc, cos i dun like the idea of my ger being in air-con place whole day. since she came back frm hospital, i told my mom not to put her in air-con rm while she zzz in the day time. cos at nite she zzz in same rm as us, alrdy air-con. i hav ezema which is due to dry skin, i dun wan her to hav the same prob as me.

precious: i'm staying at cck ave 4. my mom's staying @cck central. where u stay?

bday present: erm... now tat someone mentioned, i rem we din give my ger any present. but told hubby to print a bday card 4 her & we kept it together w her stuff. will give to her when she's older. hav oso decided to give her a bday card every yr. jane, i oso v 'cat' lor, no ang pao 4 her

lili & other 'paranoid mommies: dun worry, which mommy is not paranoid? even mommies w full-term bb r paranoid, wat's more our little ones need more special attention? but now tat my ger is older, we try to let her live life as normally as possible. of cos personal & basic hygience must still hav la.

Costa & jane, thanz for sharing about the fake measles info. So will they still get real measles if they had the fake measles? Also does one of the jabs immune them against measles? MMR right? I remember when we were kids, measles is very common. Chickenpox also. Now it seems like they have vaccinations for these.

Jane, last time, police wear shorts!!! $20 is quite a lot of money when we are young...hee hee.. but hor giving angpo i think good idea. Maybe I will do that for my gal too. Cos anyway, we buy toys for them here and there throughout the year. So the money during special occasions they can save up and next time, their bank account will have some money for them to use on their own..Good idea!! What do you think, kkf?

Wow, jane your boy so cute.. go and pluck the bees wings...so funny!!! Later next time, he go and catch dragonflies and pluck their wings.. how??

lindah, ya.. actually sometimes quite sad. Once, I was in the NICU and I overheard the nurses saying a parent couldn't pay the bill and had to go and borrow money to pay. Even then, they still cannot clear the whole bill. And it only amount to prob a few hundred singapore dollars. It's actually very cheap by our standard to stay in the local hospital here. But for the locals, the many weeks in NICU can be very expensive too.
Sometimes when I'm there visiting, and I see babies being discharged from the NICU, I always feel so happy for them. And the parents will always looks so happy and eager.. The father will usually run up and down (the billing department is at another level) to foot the bill eagerly.. You know lah.. they will only release the baby after they see the receipts.. money again!! And all the parents here are first time parents, one child policy. Then they will listen attentively to the nurse on how to take care of the baby at home..So last time, I always think, when will be my turn. And slowly but surely, I also had my turn..
I also very eager and ask a lot of questions, even take a notebook to jot down notes!!! And my husband is the one who ran up and down to settle the bill!!!

Costa, no.. I haven't got the chance to try the Prima restaurant here. But they have a lot of singapore restaurants here.. most of them cannot make it one.. So far, only one manage to satisfy me. You know, when I was pregnant, I had craving for all the fried kway teoy, carrot cake etc.. but every time after I go to a singapore restaurant to eat, I will regret after the meal. My craving was not satisfied but it still went off anyway!!!

Hi jacelyn, glad to see you again.. waiting to hear from you more..

God's Boxes

I have in my hands two boxes,
Which God gave me to hold.
He said, "Put all your sorrows in the black box,
And all your joys in the gold."
I heeded His words, and in Both my joys and sorrows I stored,
But though the gold became heavier each day,
The black was as light as before.
With curiosity, I opened the black,
I want! ed to find out why,
And I saw, in the base of the box, a hole,
Which my sorrows had fallen out by.
I showed the hole to God, and mused, "I wonder where my sorrows could be!"
He smiled a gentle smile and said, "My child, they're all here with me.."
I asked God, why He gave me the boxes,
Why the gold and the black with the hole?
"My child, the gold is for you to count your blessings,
The black is for you to let go."
We should consider all of our friends a blessing.
Send this to a friend today just to let them know you are thinking of them and that they are a joy in your life.
A ball is a circle, no beginning, no end.
It keeps us together like our Circle of Friends. But the treasure inside for you to see,
Is the treasure of friendship you've granted to me.
Today I pass the friendship ball to you.
Pass it on to someone who is a friend to you...

Received the following from a friend and thought the words were beautiful and meaningful. Would like to share it with all of you here.

God's Boxes

I have in my hands two boxes,
Which God gave me to hold.
He said, "Put all your sorrows in the black box,
And all your joys in the gold."
I heeded His words, and in Both my joys and sorrows I stored,
But though the gold became heavier each day,
The black was as light as before.
With curiosity, I opened the black,
I want! ed to find out why,
And I saw, in the base of the box, a hole,
Which my sorrows had fallen out by.
I showed the hole to God, and mused, "I wonder where my sorrows could be!"
He smiled a gentle smile and said, "My child, they're all here with me.."
I asked God, why He gave me the boxes,
Why the gold and the black with the hole?
"My child, the gold is for you to count your blessings,
The black is for you to let go."
We should consider all of our friends a blessing.
Send this to a friend today just to let them know you are thinking of them and that they are a joy in your life.
A ball is a circle, no beginning, no end.
It keeps us together like our Circle of Friends. But the treasure inside for you to see,
Is the treasure of friendship you've granted to me.
Today I pass the friendship ball to you.
Pass it on to someone who is a friend to you...

Lili/Mich
Think she is about 26 weeks. BB was about a kilo i heard... Don know exact details.. if have more details, will post here.. Hope all is fine for the little girl
My company manage to help to raise 50k for the delivery fee

Very long din update u all my girl's progress liao... She is now taking porridge. I mixed all kind of things ranging from pumpkin, small silver fish, meat, fish, potato, carrot,spinach, vegetables, scallops.. tell u wat, she ENJOYS it now. Eat two soup bowl every meals!! Happy with her.

Can someone enlighten me? I happen to see one post about in grown eye lashes?? Needs operation?
My girl is still having watery eyes. Asked Dr Aud but she say ok and her next appt is one years time. her eye's review all clear.. I notice that her lower eye lashes grows a bit in.. Can advice??

mummylian,

hope ur colleague's bb is ok & can come home soon. ur porridge sounds interesting. no wonder ur ger loves it.

re in-grown eyelash, my cousin's kid has it & apparently, it'll affect his vision. so he needs to go 4 a minor op. but i dunno wat the doc did. but it's juz a minor 1day kind of op.

precious_one,
no my mom stay @blk 355. me @blk 436. i dunno where's the blk212 ntuc cc leh. is it near teck whye?

disneymickey - u know where is South View Primary School? i believe yr mum can walk to blk 212 cos i think yr mum estate is just across the road from my place. From my blk, it took me may be just 3 mins to walk to lot 1. or u prefer to call me? 9430 8289.

wow something wrong with the thread..kept throwing me out kekeke...

mummylian, my boy still don't like fish..sigh.. but all others he ok

hehe two pretty mummy n babies meeting up

mummylian

My girl had a surgery done on her right eye in July owing to the lower eye lashes growing inwards that cause abrasion to the retina. (Entropion). Owing to this, she tends to use her left eye more, her right eye became lazy and her right eye power was no good. Doc. suggested patching the eye and used tape to tape the right eye lid pulling it downwards for about 6 mths but I knew it will not work on Angel, she will probably cry and tear it out. I happened to have a eye reference book from Prof Arthur Lim (region's famous eye prof., his clinic is at Gleneagles) and in it, it stated that surgery is the only way to correct it). Without hesitation, I opted for a surgery within a week to correct it, after two months, her eye power is now 6/6 for both eyes. Thank GOD.(We went for 3rd post ops eye review just this morning). Doc. noticed that a bit of her lower left eye lashes is also pointing inwards but he said it is not causing abrasion so he will just leave it. Will be reviewed in 6 mths time.

Do not be overly worried yet cos your girl's eyes has already been cleared by the eye doc. My girl's right eye thing was discovered at the age one but she was too little to do a surgery. However, no harm bringing her to see the eye doc. to address your concern. They are the expert to advise you, if it is really entropion a surgery is the only way to correct it. If it is not, you can rest your mind.

Did you notice if that particular eye is always watery and have discharge? Cos'that's what happen to my girl and I could see the eye lashes sticking onto the eye ball.

So much said, your girl's eyes will be alright. Dun worry.

To all mummies with young babies awaiting vaccination.

One KKH nurse taught me one method which worked very well, that is to feed paracetamol before each jab that will cause fever etc. Angel was unlucky that she didn't have a chance to take those 5 in 1 or 6 in 1 jab cos she stayed in NICU for 6 mths. By the time she's discharged, she is a little late for some jabs and KKH give her individual jab for a start so we have to follow all the jabs according to the schedule as advised by Dr Lim Seok Bee then. She didn't kanna fever in all her vaccination cos we fed her paracetamol prior. The extra jabs that I arranged for her were the flu jab (2 doses - one month apart) and also the chicken pox jab just last Saturday. I am still quite game for the pneumococal jab although the GP said that it is actually not really necessary in Singapore context where docs. are readily available.

Caregiver should also take the flu jab cos they work closely with the babies. Food for thought. The choice is yours.

<font color="333366"> hi gals...
no time to come online during the day ahh....busy with my boy...

just a quick post before i go zzzzzzzz le... tom is another day...hehehe...

precious_one,
welcome.... u r really a brave mummy!! ur gal is so pretty...

kkf,
ya...europe is my dream also leh... but hor ex lor...so dunno wld go or not...somemore it wld be freezing cold in dec....brrrr...

costa,
of course u r welcome to link my blog... i wld link urs also when i next update my boy's blog..nowadays getting lax in updating le...haha..</font>

<font color="330033"> updated precious_one pretty princess data...</font>
<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Baby's DOB</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Birth Weight</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Length of Stay </TD></TR><TR><TD>kkf's mom</TD><TD>15-Nov-78</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1000g+</TD><TD>27</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloegal</TD><TD>02-Jan-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>775g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>NICU-3mths, SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>mich</TD><TD>31-Jan-05</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>600g&720g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>NICU&SCN-3.5mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>precious_one</TD><TD>06-Feb-05</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>710g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>NICU-6mths 3 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>yvonne (voncm)</TD><TD>24-Aug-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1480g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>NICU-8wks, SCN-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>kkf</TD><TD>15-Oct-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU+SCN-2mths 3 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>disneymickey</TD><TD>25-Feb-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1450g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2.5wks, SCN-0.5wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>naddy (telly)</TD><TD>16-Mar-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1136g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2wks, SCN-4wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>stressed</TD><TD>31-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1890g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>NICU-13days </TD></TR><TR><TD>costa</TD><TD>22-Jun-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>750g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>NICU-14wks, SCN-8wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>luana</TD><TD>18-Jul-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1164g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU-27days, SCN-53days </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheaky</TD><TD>05-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1900g</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>2wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>jane (neoah)</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>985g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>NICU-2mths, SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>jacelyn tey</TD><TD>14-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>1510g&1190g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>57 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>mummylian</TD><TD>07-Sep-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1034g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU-38days SCN-20days </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloegal</TD><TD>21-Sep-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2000g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>SCN- 5 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>puppyduppy</TD><TD>16-Oct-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>nana</TD><TD>13-Dec-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2185g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>myfab</TD><TD>14-Dec-06</TD><TD>Girl&Girl</TD><TD>1118g & 780g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>3mths&4mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>lindah</TD><TD>04-Feb-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>680g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>5mths 18 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>didi</TD><TD>18-Feb-07</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>1520g & 1610g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>4.5wks&9wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>amy</TD><TD>15-Apr-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>641g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>80 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>lili</TD><TD>30-Apr-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1400g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>6 weeks </TD></TR><TR><TD>flora</TD><TD>18-May-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2334g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>SCN-2 weeks </TD></TR><TR><TD>picky</TD><TD>01-Aug-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>850g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>irenelovej</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1600g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>geraldine</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy&Girl</TD><TD>1500g & 1700g</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>NICU-6wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>adeline lee</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>815g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>daec</TD><TD></TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1015g</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>48days </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hello mummies, just dropping by to say hi!
I have been to ntuc childcare nearby my house to take a look, dun think they are very professional.

I worked in childcare before, sometimes, they will have untrained teachers waiting for results, like me! I used to work there when I was waitiing for A level.

disneymickey, me also sourcing around, and hoping to get my boy in next year.

Nana, yah lor, europe very ex...wish can go there.

Mich, really ah? My students not seem motivated leh. I think got to depend on the class you are in, if you are in good class, then you will get motivated. The one I am teaching is those classes at the back. They are motivated to crack jokes, and see who are the funniest.

Precious_one, thanks for sharing the words.

Hi jacelyn, you saw pelangi books in malaysia? http://www.pelangibooks.com/module/subcat/_48.aspx?category=2&catid=48&catName=Language%20Development
Popular got sell, and I bought a set for my boy. Then got more from overseas spree. Thought shd be quite useful? They teach sentences. But my boy doesn't seem very interested now...hope soon he will be.

I am ssooooo lazy to mark the compositions of my students. sianzzzzzzz

Btw, me wun be getting present for my boy. I already bought him soooo many things everyday. I also finally persuade my mum to buy him a car! haha...

nana (ryan's mummy) kuchi,

Thanks for the update. I'm sorry but I didn't make myself clear enough. Angel stayed in NICU for 3 days to 6 months, or should I say 5 months and 27 or 28 days.... Don't bother to re-update now. Can wait until another premie's mummy join the forum. This will make your job easier.

morning mommies,

did any mommy bring ur child to singapore river to c lanterns? my mom brought my ger there last nite. but heard nothing much. she say my ger more excited/interested in anything except the lanterns. haha. tonite will bring her to park to play lantern & sparkles. hope she will enjoy

Good Morning

Mummylian/ Jane
Regarding Insurance -
Hb managed to get the hospitalisation plans for my boys. Hospitalisation due to accidents. Cover ICU too.
Is this also known as Accident Plan?
I dun see any mention of surgeries so I supposed it does not cover surgeries.
For other plans, we were told to wait until they are 3 year old and the insurance companies will review again.

KKF
Need your help in clarifying this:
MOE Registered Kindergartens - Is it true that the teachers must have at least a certificate in early childhood education?
How about childcare centers teachers? Are they require to have any certificates/ qualifications?

DisneyMickey
Yes yes... Will be bringing my boys there on weekends.
And will be driving through Chinatown and Geylang Serai to look at the lights.

hi mommies i have a few vouchers to give away. you can email me at [email protected] if interested.

NTUC Childcare $50 voucher valid only for first time enrolment in NTUC Childcare.
The Little Skool House $20 voucher (same usage as NTUC Childcare)
$5 off Friso 2 gold (1.8kg) at NTUC, $2 off for Friso 2/3/4 gold at NTUC, $5 off Friso 4 gold at NTUC
Pediaoptix free baby eye screening for 6-12mth babies

Most expire in about 3 months so do act fast!

sorry for MIA for long time. really busy at work, family.... everything.
precious_one, welcome to the thread. i really salute u. i remember the time my boy was in NICU i was so broke down. compared to your case, u really went thro hard time. and now, u can enjoy... ur gil so pretty n strong now.
i saw few postings abt baby eye. my boy went thro a eye checkup by Pediaoptix n found out the 2 eye power is not balance, ie can potentially become 'lazy eye' . i oso dunno wat is tat. but the specialist say it's ok. juz hav to test again 6 mths later. i oso confuse...

feeling tired. hav to back to work. talk to u all next time

precious one
hey, thanks for the info. her eyes is watery but there is no discharge... mention it to the eye dr in KKH about the watery eyes but she say mayb the tear glands not fully developed yet... How ah??
Should bring her to the specialist?? She don seem to be in discomfort but her eyes is always watery le

Mich
If is hospitalisation due to accident, it is jus a accidental plan..
My girl one covers for accident as well as illnesses. But it is from the group insurance. Can find out more from ur company or ur hb company benefits

Don know whether u heard from Costa..
My girl fell from the bed in Aug... Turned all pale. Warded a day in KKH for observation. Thank God, she was ok... The Dr In charge say to me' Ur girl already has a slower head start liao, u still never take care of her??' sarcastically.
See me, so careless.. So now when she sleeps n make a little sound, got really fidgetty... Will never let it happen again

Mummylian, got to be moe careful. is your gal alright now?

Disneymickey, you can buy tickets to see the lanterns at chinese garden, I love that! I went there every year (almost). I am bringing my boy there, have bought the tickets.

Mich, I worked temp at childcare before. I think now, every childcare teacher must be certified. Last time, no need leh...but I know there will still be untrained teachers in the childcare/kindergarten, but the centre will send them for course as soon as possible.

Going to search for my boy's last year lantern...

mummylian,
since you on line now, i think i better let you noe the poster thingy..
basically just try to do up a poster showcasing yr ger's development from birth to now....maybe some photos and words.....can make it about A1 size..

simple?thats all, shld be okay right? but if you are pregnant and cannot make it, dun be obliged to as its not easy taking care of three children plus job plus being pregnant

did you receive thru yr email the photos i sent you?

irenelovej,
glad u okay wif yr pregnancy?u managed to get another maid?

lili,
china got typhoon, hope yr area not affected?will find out prima's restaurants and let u noe where is it

mummylian

How long ago was the eye review? If Eye dr from KKH said nothing, then it should be alright. But if the eye review is more than half a year ago, it is always good to see the eye doc. again. Who's yr doctor, Angel's doc. is Dr Quah. The counter staff said he's very good and famous, even overseas clients come here to see him.

Tearing could be due to the blockage of the lacrimal drainage system usually occurs at the nasolacrimal duct. Treatment is necessary. Some eyedrops and massage for about 6 mths. My girl friend's daughter (full term baby) just turned one recently was diagnosed with this. But nothing serious.

Continue to monitor her eyes. Again, I am not eye specialist, usually if any symptons disturb/bother me, I will go consult the respective doctor.

mummylian,
poor thing. hope she's ok now? ya, hav to b extra careful, whether our preemie or full-term bb. my nephew fell frm bed b4 & everybody in the hse panic. now whenever my ger sleeping on our bed, i v scared. must make sure 1 person jagar her at any time.

kkf,
any idea the lantern festival @chinese garden until when? but hubby not keen to go leh.

Mummylian
I dont recall Costa telling me the incident. Gosh... Must have given you a shock.
Too add on to what costa had written: You can send a recent picture of your girl to KKF. She is consolidating all the pictures to create a montage

KKF
Thanks for the info.
Lanterns My boys destroyed last years. Bought new ones for them this year. Battery operated with music. I find them a bit orbit looking but D&E like leh.
I dun seem to be able to find the types which we carried when we were young. Those which are made with coloured transparent paper and lit with candle. Those are beautiful.....

Disney Mickey and those who are interested

Lantern Festival 2007 @ Chinese Gardens
Mid-Autumn Festival 2007
5 30 Sep 2007
9am 12 am
Admission S$12 for adults and at S$8 for children

Disneymickey, its until 30th september.

I love seeing all the big and beautiful lanterns there. But there are quite a lot of people there. It will be a truely good experience for children. They will be fascinated.

By the lili, you send me your gal's blog before, but I think I have accidentally deleted the email with the website. sob. Can you resend to me. All mummies who have blogs can you send me. I think I got nana and costa one. I want to link to dash's webpage so that I can read easily.

kkf & mich,
thanks 4 the info, since it's till 30sep, maybe i go after the lantern festival, maybe not so crowded. but i must persuade hubby 1st heehee

Costa
Will try to do the poster
Btw, din recieve the photos le... can email again?

Mich/Kkf?DisneyMicky
So i can send a recent photo to kkf?? Wat's ur email huh? Anyway, My girl is ok
Very playful. Thanks! Will definitely be extremely careful!

Precious one
Wow, u very knowledgeable le. U know all the terms
Her eye review was only in late late Aug le.. Guess will monitor her n see how is it.. Notice some of her lower eye lashes tend to curl inwards but cos its very short, din really touch the retina le.

Hee.. Am bringing the boys to a lantern making competition in my sis church. Hope my little one will enjoy too.. Guess I will bring all of them to Chinese Garden.. the little one will be fascinated to see all the bright lights

kkf,

errr.. what kind of photos are we supposed to submit to you for the photo montage? i think i dont have the energy for a poster of my girl's journey. besides, the last time i tried to wrap a present for my friend, my daughter almost ripped the wrapping paper. so, poster? i can't imagine!

mummylian,

aiyoh, the doctor so sarcastic!! but, these things happen sometimes even when our child is under our watchful eye. when my daughter fell off the bed at 4 months, there were 3 of us on the bed with her. my husband, me and my brother. imagine? 3 persons cannot take care of her well.

hi, mummies,
I need help, after my 2nd twins eyes problem, as haven calm down yet, now another problem come out, 2 of them took their MMR. 1st day no problem, but yesterday my 2nbd twins start fever, at abt 38. and he cough,too have phelgm as when he cough he will vomit out the milk when he sleep after 30minit, if he never sleep, after food he wont cough and vomit, he vomit only after he finish food and go sleep. i give him medicine 2 time yesterday, today afternoon got take one time too, i try not to give him but he very hot, abt 38.5. just now hit until 39.5. so i give him medicine, can see he very tired too,,my 1st twin ok, no problem, a bit warm only.
So, i need help, any mummies happen this too?what should i do? need to send him to see doctor or not? and very funny ha..i use the osim ear test to test his ear is abt 39.5, but if use watson digital at shoulder only 38.5, so which i need to refer to?
please help. thanks.
i am really worry now.
i know only here i can get the help.