Premature babies support group

hi disneymickey...frankly, thou i can see that my this new maid is quite good. over weekend i still insist i shower my boy, cook for him..i just ask the maid to do the housework and boil the bottles...

Despite i admit i am very worned out as even weekday at night, i oversee my boy myself, but on weekend, i treasure it as weekday the hours with him is very short...

but ya. feeding is not easy. but i find the high chair quite useful... but would need my husband to hold him (as he still unable to sit by himself). but we had fun hehehe

frankly..i carry my boy until my left shoulder so so so..tired. esp my neck (as he like to rest his full weight there)...but but but...i will persist keke

disneymickey -- i think its not about being selfish. there are times i really WOULD love to have some time alone (cut my hair, or go shopping and buy some personal items, which i totaly have no time for..)....

me too...really miss those days of travelling as and when we feel like it. (eg, today i think of going to bali, this weekend i fly..). but now with my boy (esp he need special attentions)... think...well...just have to put off all the plans until ... until...until...hahahha..until he is ready for travelling???

disneymickey...do not feel you are selfish. we are jsut normal women who wish for a little bit of enjoyment... its normal...

i agree, i agree...

altho i am so happy that i have a son now, i also wonder when is the next time i can go on a long-haul holiday (i.e. EUR, US, NZ or even Australia). I am used to taking a longhaul trip at least once in two years and 1-2 short trip a year. Nuts about travelling I was thinking it's safe in 5 yrs time... unless i prepare myself beforehand by making sure that I know all the medical touchpoints in the destination i am gg to... Even BKK, Bali, Phuket, I am not sure where the medical touchpoints are... I want to go short trip but got no heart to lv him with my parents... I am not happy about this part of being a parent... but some sacrifice hv to be made. Cant have a cake and eat it too in this case.

hi lindah... oh oh hows your boy? read earlier that his eye have regress! congrats!

yes...well, we just have to sacrifice a tiny little bit.

disneymickey,
u are not the onli one...im lidat also..tink im worse..when im down wif flu,i dun feel like doing anythg and just want to sleep..if got no help,tink i wld die..

yr colleagues are different because they only see the kids once a wk thats why they treasure those moments

before i got my kids oso, my hb and me always travelled for holidays..after we had kids...not much liao and embarassing to say, i hvnt gone for a real holiday for two yrs as last year was mainly spent in kkh and at home...and my job nature doesnt allow me to go as and when i want...

so i guess some sacrifices hv to be made...

Lindah,
tink when yr boy stabilises and is in good hands, your hb and you can still can go for your holiday...but that time, maybe you cant bear to liao...

Mummylian,
thanks, will try to take care of my own health....so happy to hear of yr ger's progress....

hi jane.

boy ok. will drop by lunch later. Yesterday lunch and dinner, i bottled him. Lunch he managed 36ml. Dinner he managed 20ml like that. I din hv the courage to try more cos his sats were yo-yoing yesterday. Not too bad, but werent too great.

hopefully better today.

eye review tmr... hope it gets even better!

hi costa -- take care ah. me too...have not gone for holiday for nearly 2 years...last one i had was to KL haha..

lindah -- eye is at a very good rate when they say fully regress..so i think your boy eye is all clear :) about desat when bottling. it take time. have confident... do update us again. and take care...

oh mummylian...my boy is still at the rolling around stage.. his limited 'push up' is really rare and tedious :p. so he is still rolling and rolling around :p

dear mommies,
thanks 4 the comfort. guess i'm tired, cos my ger simple treated herself as a velcro & stuck herself onto me the whole weekend. dun wan daddy, except in MRT train, cos daddy is tall enuff, can carry her to hold the rings in the train & when go shopping, cos daddy can carry her on his shoulders & she can touch stuff on top shelves.. sigh. c my hubby so disappointed being rejected by his daughter, i oso sian..

dun worry, this week no boss ard, i'll enjoy myself haha

my sis coming back this wed, she say to leave my ger there later, so can play w her. think maybe i'll juz let her sleep there on wed nite, can get a nite off & sleep well, & my sis can play with her.

ya man.. today so quiet.. anyway, was telling my colleagues, feel like learning how to make those cute cute balloons.. 4 my ger's sake, she loves balloons..

Mommies, same leh, I used to or try to go to hk every year for the summer sales, now
cannot even go Orchard for long ....haiz.... but at least I still can go Tampines central shop shop for a while, things are getting better since I got extra pair of hands now. Told my hubby next year, must go for holidays, doesn't matter long or short

Disneymickey, sometimes, my boy will also like that. When I am alone with him and hubby, he will stick to me like superglue. He doesn't want daddy, unless we go out. Daddy carries him, so he wants him.

I dun think you are selfish, I am like that too. Sometimes, I just want time of my own. I will throw him aside, and do my things, surf my net. He will be seeking my attention but I just ignore him.

Congrats jane for successfully cook porridge for you son. I was like that too before, haha.

Mummylian thanks for the compliment, my son not that heavy, just 11kg at 21 months leh.

Yeah, didi, me also seldom go shopping nowadays, sob. I shop, also go toysrus, kiddy palace...haha.

DisneyMickey
Very soon youll be sharing with us the funny things that your girl talk or ask.

Told a close friend the other day I feel like running away from home cos the kids are driving me crazy !!
Someone sent me this and I think it applies to me at times: Office - A place where you can relax after your strenuous home life.

Chloegal
Ok... Tell me more about the dentist visit.
By the way, have you decided to continue to see Dr Audrey Chia? D&E seeing her again this Friday.
25 weeker no one dare to ask how is she doing? Hanging in there. Hopefully she will be ok.
I dun hv fever... Felt better over the weekends. Thanks!

Kkf
I took the flu vaccination too. Doesnt help leh..
My boys develop some heat rash at the back and neck about 2 weeks ago. MIL bought Calamine lotion and we used sparingly on them. It worked.
Dry skin can be itchy too. Apply lotion on the body to keep it moisturise.

Porkchop
I think you are right, It is due to sleep deprivation.
Pig Stomach Soup I enjoy it, especially with lots of pepper

Ginger tea Any recommendation which instant one is good?

Costa
Your comments on Dylan make my day!

Lets see if we can contribute something for the preemies awareness day. :p

Didi
As per costas post, Im more zi zi za za .... So, NICU Sisters and Staff Nurses ask me to go back and TALK...! Haha...
Refresh my memory, are your boys born in KKH too?

Jane
Ai Xin Meal for your Bao Bei!

MumLian
It calls for a celebration when we see our preemies achieve another milestone!!

hahaha...Disneymickey.

i totally understand what u going through. I dun care. I un-velcro dd and velcro her to DH's thigh much to her dismay. Then I quickly say bye bye and poof! I disappear into another room.

Then I can hear her wailing from outside. Her daddy also buay tahan her. Quickly take out her fav toys to distract her.

I see her 7days a week. I need a break from my velcro needy baby.

stressed,

how u un-velcro her?? i think my ger not only became a velcro, she ate super-glue & glued herself onto me..she;ll cry loudly when i disappear, but her daddy will b 2 impatient after she cry for 2 long. we're afraid she'll cry until vomit..

but i think it's 'my fault'. every morning, if i hav to leave b4 she wakes up, my hubby will wait 4 her, WITHOUT seeing me, she'll b super gd girl. can help daddy bring socks & shoes, carry her own milk bottles, when my hubby bring her to my mom's place. but when she c me, oh-oh

is it juz a girl's prob?? cos i c my nephew oso dun stick to his mommy like tat

lindah, now you can still shop shop a bit but when your darling is back home, if you are working, you will wish you can 'fly' back to him soon everyday

kkf, yep, at least you can still dress up for work, me no motivation to buy clothes and bags yet leh, and my boys will drool and 'wet' my clothes, ha....ha

mich, my boys are delivered at KKH too

mommies, have you read the papers on MMR jabs ? thought reading something that it will cause autism ? now something more to worry

and also do you have any good pte driving instructors to recommend ? thanks

Disneymickey

Hee..the places n spots r always there... Hee... Don have this prob.. Will be going to Europe Prague this Aug.. Company's convention.. My ang wanna bring the little one.. But not really keen to bring heer cos got to bring so many barang.. Haiz but think of the long journey n the milk expression.. a bit reluctant to go.. Finally can go n destress myself..
Will go n do the shopping and relaxing..

Jane
Yeah! Congrats on the success of ur cooking.. Will start my ger on porridge this weekend with scallop n pork.. Hope my girl will like it!

Didi
Me residing in Pasir Ris n guess wat.. my mum stay opp Tampines mall.. Always go there n shop

Disneymickey
Some bbs r like tat.. very sticky one.. Got to bring them out more often to socialise n see all the different types of ppl... Guess this will make them easier.. Tat was wat i always do even to the 2 older boys n my little girl now..

KKF
Aiya.. Very much like to be SAHM.. But u know la.. the living standards here.. anyway, am quite blessed cos my job very flexi.. can still have a lot of time with my children esp the little premie... I still take care of her till noon after her lunch then send to mum's place.. Sometimes she can go appt with me if my client doesn't mind..Hee

Mich
Sure, will tell u about my experience on the dentis visit.

Yap, will bring him to see Dr Audrey Chia and then will decide what to do next.

Just bring edric to TCM yesterday as he got abit of cough. The doctor advise us to bring him back after he recovered as she wanted to nurse his health. She commented that edric's body is weak that was why he is always sweating alot at home.

Sorrie,Just wanted to correct from my previous post, I bring edic to Jurong Sport Complex and not Jurong Swimming Complex

Mich, I love pig stomach soup too...!!! yummmmmmmyy

didi, why you no motivation to buy clothes n bags? Me also seldom buy now, I bought a lot of my boy's stuff instead of my own stuff! ha!

So good ah mummylian, what job you working? I want to work too.

mummylian, good leh your mom stay opp tampines mall, no need to join the Q for car park, which is very packed during the weekends

kkf, me no motivation to get clothes, cause not working mah
actually got get some but all casual kind
and can't ctrl last weekend, when I hit town last weekend with hubby that I bought a wallet.

hallo mummies,

wow all the shopping and makan talk...

lucky there is this forum for us to chat else we really all super low morale keke....

mummylian -- i thot we should try not introduce shell food (ie scapllop) as a start???? i cannot remember..someone say before kekekeke.... sorry i am really junior in cooking here ... all the good cooks here? anyone can verify???

mummlian,

my mom always bring my ger out on weekdays. she'll follow her & her auntie frens to market. my mom stay opp lot 1 (in CCK), they always go NTUC, lib & always out 4 lunch. cos my mom lazy to cook, so they'll always b out 4 lunch, at least 2-3 times a wk. go IMM, bukit panjang plaza, west mall, etc. but she's still like tat. sigh.

brought her to frens' place where there r kids, but surprisingly, she's q well behaved. so guai, can help my fren keep toys, make herself at home by lying on mattresses, etc. but when she's alone w us at home, terror..

guess it's juz a phase (hopefully)..tat will go away soon

Hi Hi today not much posts leh.
Ha! My mum in law also add scallop, but me dun think it is good leh.
I rather give normal things like fish, meat, vegetables etc.

Btw, I met a gal 18 months, but she is as strong as a bull, and is quite tall, taller than my boy!! She looks so much like 2 years old or bigger. The grandma shared with me, she puts pig legs veins (zhu jiao gen, sorry my english translation not good) into the porridge, so the gal got a lot of strength now!

Me tempted, haha!!

Btw, me so crazy nowadays, keep buying clothes from my boy from motherhood bulk purchase, and the clothes I bought is for 3T-4T haha (my son only 20 months).

Why? Because, i keep thinking I want to quit job I want to quit job, or go into lower pay job, so must stock up clothes now, especially nice ones when I still have the money to spare...haah

Wow liao, just on my tv, there is a woman who gave birth to twins thru ceserean, then lost too much blood and died! My god!!!

Hi, I'm new here. I have a premmie baby who just gone home last week. stressed taking care of her coz I worry if I am doing the rite thing and coz she dun seem sleep well, cry/make distress noises in her sleep and then sleep again. anybody's baby like that ?

Lindah - dunno whether u are the same Lindah I met at KK hospital ? we exchanged numbers when my girl went back last week

Mich
Would like to check with u on where to buy or order your cupcakes. My sister hope to get some for her gynae in appreciation for his great care during her two pregnancy.

Mich,
hope you are better now......i also hope to contribute smthg to the preemie awareness day to play forward the good that we have received....

daec,
nice to know you here..can tell us more about yrself like how old was yr bb when born, how long in hospital?tis is for us to know you and also for you to know us..ha ha, i sound so much like doing public relations...cham ah.......just kiddin...just share anythg you want wif us or if there is anythg you wanna ask but paiseh, you can pm me...do take care and share yr pblems and knowledge here......dun worry, nothg sounds too silly or stupid..we are here to learn...fm here, i hv gained alot of knowledge...

kkf,
i watched the chinese news just now leh..the poor lady so young and her family is in grief now over this incident.....think there was some mention about blood transfusion...i shudder to read the news tomorrow...m vy sad...

how to put the zhu jiao gen inside the porridge.?can be eaten or put in as flavour onli?

yr boy so lucky, got so many toys to play and so much new clothes to wear....very xian4 mu4....

mummylian,
so envious of you leh...i wanna go, can or not? i already so many yrs never take holiday....wanna take leave also very bo eng..not free......if ask me to go, i think i bear to go leh only my work dun permit me....the last time i went there was like 14 yrs ago on those budget tour thingy..till now, never went already

hv been too busy with work and never log in much these few days..do keep up wif the posts...

Mich, good idea, to return the kind favour
let us know what are your plan, k
mommies's power !!!!

daec, you have come to the right place
it is a thread that is full of expert mommies
ie we have helpful Miss know-it-all aka Costa (and many helpful mommies).

kkf, me just bot two storybooks for my boys, intend to read to them prior bedtime, hope I will continue the hard work

Hi daec,
I can imagine the kind of anxiety that you are going thru. Most mummies here would also. Last time when my boy jus got home, I also very worried if I can do a good job like the nurses in NICU. Hang on ! Your kid will get better and stronger everyday. Feel free to share here. Lots of experienced mummies here. I also learn a lot here though not as active as many of the mummies.

Talking about holidays and shopping. Nowadays, really no life. Can't go out shopping as often as last time. Seldom even get to smell Orchard Road. So solution : shop online lor... The last outing I had with my hubby only was a few months back to watch 'Spiderman'. But ended unhappy too. MIL blamed us for going out for too long (2pm to 7.30pm)cos she and FIL helped us to look after 2 kids while we were out. Xian...

KKF

Me in the insurance biz la.. AIA lor. Has been in this line for about 9 years.. Gd in a sense tat i can take the kind of leave tat i want n to spend time with my kids... anyway, tat was y I came into the line

Mich

Hee.. Not the million dollar round table la.. is my company's convention. Will be going for 2 weeks i guess...

disneymickey

Ya.. do agree tat it is a phase that ur bb is going thru..Could be separation anxiety... Will be better when they grow

Didi
u got it men.. i never park at Tamp Mall... Very crowded.. My life is centralised in Tampines.. My elder boys school oso there, my office oso there.. every day we go there.. If go tamp mall, will park at my mum's pl.. Mayb one of these days can ask u out for tea... Hee

Jane

Hmm... I can't recall le.. But think tat add a bit of dried scallop to sweeten the porridge should be ok?? Anyway, will do it next week or so.. By then she is already 8 mths corrected.. Should be ok.. But if got rashes, then stop lor.. will keep u posted.

kkf
My sis jus got back from shanghai.. she got many nice dresses for my little girl... she say very nice n cheap.. Me oso like to get clothings for her.. cos she dunno how to choose yet, not like my elder boys, who want their own style.

Lindah

How's ur bb?? n how r u coping with work n travelling to the hospital??

daec
Welcome on board! Happy tat ur bb is home.. Do come n chat more often n we can exchange pointers

Costa

BZ?? Do keep in contact.. how's ur boY?

Cheaky

u staying with in laws ah?? R u working?? How old r ur kids?? If not, can bring them along for outing lor...Nvm, soon u can include ur little ones liao.. then no worries lor

Guess wat mummies.. No doubt we r all bz with work n children.. (me still blessed tat i don need to do hsework) guess we really need some constructive outings with our love ones n our frens to distress.. then life will be better n healthier!

stressed

yo.. Ur bb gal is very sweet le... Like her shoes too. Very unique.. Anyway, that day someone jus say tat my girl looks like 6 months old only.. Can't be bothered with them.. din like to explain too.. as long as they r growing well, no worries men

mummylian,
do enjoy yrself if you gg for the holiday.......guess you cant bear yr ger..heh heh..if i can, i oso wanna go..

me still recovering fm my second bout of flu..dem sian..tink i will go take the flu jab when needed...

my boy ok, yterday just went for his hepatitis jab and chicken pox jab......

same thing lah, pple can ask me how old my son is, i just try to explain but if they are goondu not to understand then leave it....as wat u said,they are growing well and developing accordg to the milestones, that wld be enough liao....

daec,
i m not tt knowledgeable.. and dun noe everythg...me still learning everyday from d mummies here..and i dun really hands on fully to take care of my premmie as i m working full time and have an elder son.....so alot of so called knowledge i hv is from my frens and reading...hahah...

i still have a life outside like meeting up wif frens etc....if not, our life wld not be balanced...like wat mummylian said...and i dun wanna be a yellow faced aunty and leave out on hving fun in my life

Jane,
I just tear out a little bit of scallop and put into the porridge for my son.....so far, still okay, but maybe he is like a rubbish bin which i just throw things into his mouth like even indocafe and coffee haha...as wat mummylian said, observe their reactions to it...if like disneymickey said, they got allergic reactions to it..better be careful...

hullo!

daec,
yup it's me!! how's life at home? will your mum help to take care of your daughter or you confirmed taking care of her full time?

hullo mummies.

wah! suddenly so on last night. when i came in this morning, quite a lot to catch up.

yesterday eye review was so-so. 2 weeks ago, both eyes were at stage 1. yest, right eye was still stage one, but left eye was between stage 1 and 2. apparently it looked like stage 2 but the eye doctor not sure so classify as stage 1-2.

i suspect perhaps because his sats a bit yo-yo. sometimes very good sometimes drop. i hope it gets better. so now have to wait for review in 2 weeks time and hopefully by then can have news on when can discharged. there's a new snr doctor taking care of him. i forgot her name. whoops.

i was on half day lv yesterday. Nowadays I really take half days often so that I am not tired. So sayang. But what to do...

hello mommies,
suddenly so many posts to catch up..

q free in office this wk, was sorting out pics taken when we went brisbane when i was abt 4mths pregnant. aiyo, so fat so swollen haha

mummylian & costa,
think if ur bb r ok w scallop,then b it lor,since it'll make the food tastier. i oso wish to feed my ger coffee heehee..cos tat's my favourite. the other day when we were having lunch, drinking soya bean drink, she oso wans, so gave her a bit,she's so happy. on sun when i was eating KFC, she oso wans, i wan to feed her the mash potato, she dun wan, so i peel some chkn mean 4 her..

daec,
welcome. we r all here to share & learn.

mummylian,
Me got 2 kids, one 28 mths and one 11 months. Quite a handful. My MIL will stay at my place to look after my kids from Mon to Fri. I do bring both out on weekends but very siong.

Wednesday, July 11, 2007 8:29 AM

From 938Lives:

Local woman dies after giving birth to twins

A 44-year-old woman has died two hours after giving birth to a pair of twins at Raffles Hospital.

The deceased, Sun Li Juan, was admitted to the hospital last Thursday for bleeding as a result of a low-lying placenta.

In a written response, Raffles Hospital told 938LIVE that Madam Sun continued to bleed while in the ward.

As there was a continuing threat of premature labour and in the interest of the twins safety, a Caesarean section operation was carried out on Saturday.

The hospital added that during surgery, massive bleeding was encountered and emergency blood transfusion was immediately started.

Relatives of Madam Sun were also requested to assist in replenishing the blood supply stocks, a customary procedure according to the hospital.

Madam Sun eventually died after she developed an acute blood coagulation problem arising from massive bleeding and transfusion.

But in comments made to MediaCorp News, Madam Suns family had reportedly queried if the hospital had enough blood supply.

Her husband was quoted as saying that the hospital told him it would need to seek approval from higher management if more blood was needed.

He then questioned if the saving of lives actually needed approval.

Some 200 relatives and friends had been mobilized by the family to donate their blood to Madam Sun.

me din log in earlier cos my boy coughing and wheezing hence bring him to see a GP (this GP really quite good) before i come in ...

so funny. on Monday jsut went for review with the lung specilist..then the Specilist was evening commenting that my boy is in very TIP form.

who know...yesterday he start to cough then wheeze liao...sigh...

but well. just now my mama rang. say after taking the medicine, he finish one bowl of porridgae and zzzz.....

he so lovely...;p this morning he see me at home..wow like glue like that. ah ma also dun want :p i see him not well, so just yang yang him more la.

hi lindah...your boy will be like john one day...give him time. have faith. your boy is a champion too :)

hi daec -- welcome :) i am a mother of a boy born at 26weeks weighing 980 grams now my boy is corrected 8 months old (actual is 11 mths old).

Jane, yep, feel sad too for the woman who passed away, really make me shudder
cause I was admitted due to heavy bleeding too, suddenly me and my hubby feel so much gratitude for the docs and their team who decided on a emergency c-section for me and my boys.

hi didi...ya..so .... so...we must really be blessed that we and our bb is safe...

you know, since my boy were borned, i been shuffling between doc appts and emergeny Leave (cos sometime my boy not well or so, like this AM, i have to bring him to see doc before i can come in) that sometime i feel so 'held' up because its like affecting my work and such.

but.... i tell myself. i really have to hold things together, so....i can only hope my boss understand.

then on the other hand, i just have to do my best to finish all my job. i can only say...i am quite lucky my collegaues here has been quite supportive and sometime they will give a helping hands when i need to take time-off to bring my boy for medical check up and reviews....

so.....today, i am a happy mum thou i have many things on my mind (my boy developments and such) but reading all the stories about ashley and other bbs...i tell myself. NOTHING is impossible. my boy have come so far....just continue to believe and have faith.

after rain..the sun will shine. believe in it. effort does get paid off (if it does not paid off, at least i have done what i can and i won't have regrets)

mummies -- sorry today jane is 'kind of off' her normal wackness and a bit touchy :p

OK something exciting to SHARE with all of you. my lao gong manage to get his degress in Facilities Management...hence I/WE (my boy and 2 of us) could be going to either UK if not KL for his graduation ceremony

but its still a BIG ?? cos ...dunno if got time and got the kind of spare cash or not as we are saving for my boy (on a big project)...

hehehhehe....jane just sharing her dream :p

hi jane.

congratulations to your hubby! maybe he can be facilities mgr, then you can become SAHM ? Kekekeke...

if you decide to go then very good lah. maybe it is time for a break overseas... ;)

jane,

congrats! got dream better than no dream!!
anyway, this morning was discussing abt a short trip to either phuket or bali w hubby. he ask if wan to bring my ger, i oso in dilema. wan to go 4 a break w hubby w/o her, but think bring her oso fun leh.. my colleagues advised me no need to bring her, cos my purpose of trip is 2 relax..

anyway, hav fun..

hi lindah...SAHM? quite impossible ah. because...because..need to earn extra cash for my boy...but it would be a dream if i can be SAHM....

hmm... kekeke..say say only la. must see if my boy is ready for travelling too...

hi disneymickey -- ya..dream better than no dream haha. WOW it be good if u can go with your hubby only...Bali is very very romantic..imagine...lay at the sand..watch the sun set..wowowowoow.....