Premature babies support group

There was this time me, dd and dh were at a resturant. Then one old lady came by and said dd is very cute lah etc etc. Then ask us how old she was. I said one year. Aiyooo...that old lady then gave me a dirty look.

I think she thinks my dd is only 10mons. Wah lau I wanted to slap the old lady.

Then few days ago I was chastised for giving dd antibiotics for long term. These people don't bother to ask why she was on long term antibiotics and they start criticizing me. If they know the doc inject liquid mercury for her DMSA test, I think they will faint.

As if I like pumping medicines into my dd's body. It pains me to force her legs open to insert the catherer into her bladder. It pains me to see needles poking into her arms and then feet. Right from the day she was born she was made to suffer pain.

No one know how much we gone though. Now I choose not to share stories unless absolutely necessary.

hi stressed.... No one know but I know, WE know...we all know...its ok. hurt or otherwise by what other people say. We are one united group. who say what and what and what...

who know one of them could be a shining stars because they are fighters and they are all champions of the pack.

now when pple ask me..i just say. OH, he is a old baby liao. but if nurses or doctor ask, i will say the correct information..and most of them is very encouraging and say wow he is a figher really...and i just smile.

there are nice pple out there, there are also those people who know nothings manz...

stressed -- never mind. continue to share. i think it good to share...

Jane, thanks will go to the website
wow, your boy already 'graduated' huh ?
cute

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Baby's DOB</TD><TD>Gender </TD><TD>Birth Weight</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Length of Stay </TD></TR><TR><TD>kkf's mom</TD><TD>15-Nov-78</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1000g+</TD><TD>27</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloegal</TD><TD>02-Jan-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>775g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>NICU-3mths, SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>mich</TD><TD>31-Jan-05</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>600g&720g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>NICU&SCN-3.5mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>yvonne (voncm)</TD><TD>24-Aug-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1480g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>NICU-8wks, SCN-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>kkf</TD><TD>15-Oct-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU+SCN-2mths 3 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>disneymickey</TD><TD>25-Feb-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1450g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2.5wks, SCN-0.5wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>naddy (telly)</TD><TD>16-Mar-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1136g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2wks, SCN-4wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>stressed</TD><TD>31-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1890g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>NICU-13days </TD></TR><TR><TD>costa</TD><TD>22-Jun-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>750g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>NICU-14wks, SCN-8wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheaky</TD><TD>05-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1900g</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>2wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>jane (neoah)</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>985g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>NICU-2mths, SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>jacelyn tey</TD><TD>14-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>1510g&1190g</TD><TD></TD><TD>57 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>mummylian</TD><TD>07-Sep-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1034g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU-38days SCN-20days </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloegal</TD><TD>21-Sep-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2000g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>SCN- 5 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>puppyduppy</TD><TD>16-Oct-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>nana</TD><TD>13-Dec-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2185g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>myfab</TD><TD>14-Dec-06</TD><TD>Girl&Girl</TD><TD>1118g & 780g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>3mths&4mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>lindah</TD><TD>04-Feb-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>680g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>didi</TD><TD>18-Feb-07</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>1520g & 1610g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>4.5wks&9wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>irenelovej</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy </TD><TD>1600g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>geraldine</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy&Girl</TD><TD>1500g & 1700g</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>NICU-6wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>adeline lee</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>815g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hiaz. Just to cheer everyone up. hahaha...I think it's more like cheering myself up.

Pic taken at Changi Airport just last Sunday. She really enjoyed herself.

866434.jpg

866435.jpg

My baby is now a toddler. Dunno if I should be happy or not. :p

hi didi -- haha. ya i am a mother who 'wang zi cheng long' keke.. so i decide try take a pic see how when 20 year later the look when he will graduat..kekekeke.... wacky jane

stressed -- sweet! she look so cute! wow her shoe so special (got beads one ah)! a lady of the making

heh heh...no lah Jane. Her shoes got glitter not beads. Bought 2nd hand from another mummy. $6 only. hee hee....I ultimate cheapo

i really cannot keep up with the posts here!!!

stressed - how's your cute cute chubby chubby little bundle of joy? i remember reading that she had UTI and then some kidney problems, right?

i only read some here and there and then, my daughter tries to destroy the laptop i'm using so i cantread everything.

mich (was it you??) - thanks for explaining the dong cong cao (or something like that) = cordyceps and si shen.

i can get these 2 from eu yan sang, right? cos it's the nearest to my house. how much poorer will i be after buying these?

costa - i think i scan all the posts and somehow i always manage to stop when i see you saying table.

Hello mummies, do have patience to read my long winded post! I am so excited to talk to you all, so MUST read! ha!

Hi didi, yeah yeah I am the oldest premature baby! But think I can be a role model! haha, keke.

Vanessa, yup private hospital got better service, but I always heard people saying any emergency case of babies and children that private hospitals cannot handle, kkh will handle because they got a wide range of children's specialist there! But you must be prepared to get a lot of fustrations!!! My boy need to go thru heart surgery, but because there is one and only one heart surgeon there, no choice but have to wait till he is free then can operate on my boy!!!

But choy! some babies need more attention from different specialist, I think kkh is more equiped with that.

I HATE KKH too, but no choice, cheaper and true they are the experts.

But tell you something also, my boy garna infection there. TOO many nurses, too many babies, and so infection! I still remember when my boy was in raffles, he is the one and only premature baby with one nurse there! ha! Like one to one care, good lar, but then I know I may have to sold myself in order to pay for the bills eventually!

Anyway, fairytale, you are very very strong. That is good! I need to learn from you. My boy jared is playing with yours now! Mine is coming to 3 years old, he is a big brother now, will tell him to take care of your baby there.
I talk to him everynight, saying goodnight to him. I will call my younger boy to say goodnight to his goi goi too.

Mich about your friends, I feel my friends are like that too! You know my close friend has hurt me too with her uncaring words. She thought I am the only unlucky one in this world! She will never be so unlucky! To her, I am weirdo, two premature labor. I forgot wat she said, but I remember is something like this thing will never happen to her.

Wow stressed, your gal got a pretty good weight leh! so cute and chubby.

Disneymickey hope your gal is better now.

Lindah, your baby will be fine! jiayou jiayou. Sorry think you are not a chinese, me always say jiayou, I should say erm...how to say jiayou in english!

I really hope your baby will get out of kkh and be home with you all happily soon.

stressed,
wah,your girl really really cute cute. chubby also lei,still use hair pin lei.
naddy,
oh, my boys born in 30week. sorry, forget to inform you.
jane,
i want to buy the rain maker, where to buy, i can ask my friend to buy for me, cos now i need to give my boy hold toy than they will drink milk, my toys all they hold sian liao. maybe rain maker will help me.

Jane,
ya,i agree wth you, even our baby slow, but they still can do it, just time being.
my boys know how to sit now, share their photo.
866641.jpg
866642.jpg

jacelyn,
i've updated your boys' data but will upload it when there are changes or when we've moved on to a new page.

stressed,
poor girl.

i hope that your girl will be given the all-clear soon!

stressed
Your ger so pretty and cute lor.... I hope my ger will be so pretty too when she grow bigger.

vanessa
From what i know, most of the complaints are normally from the 24hrs emergency woman's clinic in KKH as the doctors there are very junior. My twins sister got her complaint too, when she was having some discharge from her first successfully pregency, she went to the 24hrs clinic and after waiting for a long time, they told her everything is all right and send her home. She asked the doc if she needed any antibotics as her gynae have always given her. They still insisted no. A week later , her waterbad burst at 33wks gestation due to infection. The junior doc who delivered for her do not even know how to cut the cord and ask the midwife to do it for him...faintzzz. If she went to see her gynae maybe she will be able to prolong the pregnancy.

For her recently pregnancy, i advised her not to go 24hrs unless got no choice. She will either email or called her gynae to squeeze in an emergency appt for her. She just delivered her bb ger at 35+4 gestation on 29 jun07.

This is the reason why KKH got so many complaints while PTE hospital dun caused all the PTE gynae are experience.

Lets Talk about somethings happy. Today I just bring edric to Jurong Swimming Complex together with one of my neice and both of them is really having a great time there. The man-made wave there is really strong. One spoilt spot is that some of the children pool is under upgrading if not it will even be more fun. I finally fulfilled my promised to edric. He alwasy pester us to bring him go swimming.

Last Sat, during my off day, i brought him to downtown East. There is one place where u need to pay about $6 to uterlised their maze and Pool Balls there. The time slot given is about 1 hrs. He also enjoyed himself very much. Maybe can try bringing your kids there to have some fun.

I feel that I have been spending less time with my kids ever since my office shifted to tuas. So now whenever my off day, i will try to fight my tirdness and bring them home or go jalan jalan.

Hi Hi anyone bought the toys from the "Educational Toys from MyToys at 20% Discount + Free Delivery" for the bulk purchase?
Me go buy a wooden piano, haha! Thinking of cultivating my boy's love for piano from young so that when he grows up, he can play piano for gals and all will be mesmerize by him.

morning mommies,
juz had a most frustrating meeting early this morning. took a cab here 4 the early meeting & ended up the pple inside dun appreciate wat i say..urrggghh

ok, juz wan to vent my frustration!

aiyo, jane, ur boy so cute & guai leh.. can allow u to put the square cloth on his head.. my ger will nev allow me to do tat!! haha. btw, she's recovered alrdy. told my mom dun let her zzz till 2 late evening. so at nite, while drinking milk, she fell asleep, all the way till this morning

ok, bz week..gg to fight another battle..

stressed,
ur gal so chubby hor... looks like can walk alrdy?

jacelyn,
ur boys oso so cute..face so round (sorry har, dun b angry ok, i think they r soo cute).

kkf,
wow, y ur fren say this type of things?? u won't know wat's gg to happen.. better count ur blessings if ur baby turn out to b healthy.. but there's no need to b so evil..

good morning mummies,

first to jacelyn == wow your two boys got the ronald mac green ears too ;p haha. rain maker maybe won't make a good 'hand holding' toys because i afraid (i am not sure if your boys will) bb will go and hit their heads or wat. here is a BP link (toys or such selling in singapore). see if you can spot any cheapo and good buys. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/581296.html?1183514763

Jacelyn -- i got a new hand toys for my boy ler. u use a longer hankerchief, tied it to their hands..let them grab it...kekeke..they can pull and tug and drink milk hahahah... nowadays, my boy he 'sit up' and drink milk. so i play the 'pull a carrot' game with him while he drink hahaha...(basically i just pull the hanky tied on his hand) keke..

stressed...no worries UTI can be resolved one. cheapo but you got taste ler. hehe, i often buy cheapo things for my boy too haha...

disneymickey .. good to kow your ger is all fully charge after the no good period. hehe, time to bring her out jalan yeah! my boy??? hahaha...we were playing peek a poo with him using the hanky..then decide put it on his head and take a pic haha...nothing to play so play with hanky keke...

cholgal -- wow my dream to bring my boy go swimming too...but never dare to bring him to a public pool...how i wish...if can...

naddy,
Thanks, sorry to trouble and thanks for do all this. YA , did you able to steam the apple and get the juices?
Disney,
Now theyslim down a bit and their face not so round as last time since they like to sit in walker and crawl at bed. after they know how to crawl, look like they know a bit of word as we say and they like more active. My sis ask me to give them crawl more as they will be more faster learning , exspeacially my 1st twin, which sit that one, he got grade 2 blood during born, even now no more, but doctor say might be effect his development, he also suggest me to let him crawl and move, his brain will more working and will be more active , his development will be fine too. So, i hope so.
Jane,
ya, i ask my freind help me to buy, can do donation too right? They like it when i put on their head, some time they will take out, very funny, they dont like to play that and hold, but they like to wear. ha..ha..
oh, i think they will go and hit their head, as you know they still not very good in control the hand, maybe when they grow up , i buy for them. ok , i will try the hankerchief, hope they like it, now they very naughtly , every want the new things, even the cover(cup) of hot water container they also like to hold while drink milk, i will give them as long they finish the milk. When they happy, they will clap their hand, cos now can hear the sound when they clap their hand. How abt your boy? let me know what he doing now, cos my boys age was near your boy age, they should be same action right? Actually, twins very funny, now they know each other, early in the morning 8am, when one of them wake up, he will look at another one, and smile wth him, even when they sit in walker, when they meet up, they will smile wth each other, when night we in the roon, i allow them to crawl and lie down in bed, in between them i put one boster, they will play hide and seek, then they will smile each other. ha..ha..very funny ha, maybe in their eyes, they not brother, but they was friend.

After discount is just 63. I also think and think very long...haha. Finally decided to get it, because I find that my house got a lot of educational toys but very little to do with music!

It is my dream to bring my boy to swim also. In fact, I go ask dr argawal, can swim or not, she say "ok", but then still dun dare, haha. I think will start bringing him to swim after he is two years old.

So cute leh your twins! jacelyn, really envy you got two kiddos!

Actually, me also dunno why my friend said this kind of thing. She is like that one. I used to think everybody around me is very fortunate, except me. At least they dun have to experience the pain of losing own son and having twice premature labor!

But after coming into motherhood, I realised there are many people more unfortunate than me...I am not alone.

kkf, don't think that way, now we feel sad then in future we WILL NOT feel sad anymore
(I alway have this thinking - to console myself), 'xian ku hou tian' ha....

Hi kkf
I'm not strong.It's the Lord's strength.I think my boi will be happier now coz no more sickness,medicine,suction of phelgm.

Yes fairytale. I also think my boy jared is happier now with buddha.

You know we actually stop saving him, and pluck away all the equipments keeping him alive because we can't bear to see him suffering anymore. He is so tiny and small, yet with all the tubes around him. Somemore with the bleeding in his brain and lungs, we know how painful that must be for him. I didn't send him off, but I can imagine his life slowly fading away in my hubby's arms...

Just like your nickname, fairytale. How I wish we all live in fairytale, with only happy endings, "they live happily ever after"

fairytale,
you are going through all these very stoically leh. *respect*

jacelyn
i didn't manage to get the apple juice that way. hehee.. i got squashed steamed apple. anyway, the phlegm is gone now.

but, now i think again, the juice that is collected is actually the squashed apple + some of the water from the steaming, ah?

all mummies
how much would a small bottle of cordyceps + si shen cost? i dont want my husband to get a heart attack when we go to the shop.

Fairytale,
Glad u r ok....i reali admire yr courage and strength...even after one yr has passed after i lost my first twin, my hb refuses to let me look at his picture as he noes tt probably im not emotionally stable yet...

i respect yr courage and dignity and yr son is blessing you from above...

naddy,
cordyceps got different grades, one..usually they go by the chinese way of weighing..tink its by tael..better to go to reputable shops as you can be at least assured of its quality.....eys is a good choice like wat you mentioned...but maybe you can ask the shop for the different price ranges and pick one tt suits yr budget..last time i bot before but not the best grade....tink alot of cordyceps are from tibet...maybe you buy a small quantity and try for a while before buying more....

sishen, i m not too sure how much it costs..can find out at the same time when you enquire abt the cordeceps...smtimes eys got promotion, u can look out for it or ask them...some items are cheaper during the mth of promotion...

rgdg the two items. u can ask the advice of the pple serving at the counter..on how to brew it etc.....

thanks for doing the table..i only noe how to "direct" the hard work to you ..haha....

stressed,
yr ger so adorable
really cheers me up

Fairytale i didn't send jared off because it was two days after giving birth, and I am under confinement. he left us on 3am morning. My mum fears tat I cannot take it, so she asks me not to go. I also first time mum, so people told me to do what I just followed.

Till now, I am still very regretful. I know jared will hope that his mummy can be there to hold him and kiss him goodbye. haiz...

My "piano" will arrive today. Let you know if it is fun! ha! Just finished cooking. ha! Rare opportunity for me to cook! Me only know how to cook things that are very very simple. So I just cook soup and throw all the ingredients like fish balls, meat balls, vegetables blar blar inside!

Today seems like not many posts, so I talk more.

Lindah how's your boy now? Never hear from you today.

disneymickey, how's your battle!

867904.jpg

hello all... how is everyone doing??
been a while since my last post...as usual, i m lost in posts....haha...
let me slowly go read thru hor....

oh, just to update...i have finally started my boy on rice cereal...haha... now coming to the 2nd wk liao...& he is still eating only rice cereals... what other foods can i start to intro to him har?? potatoes? sweet potatoes? carrots? apples? pears? these ok?? for pears hor, which type is it? the green skin one?

fairytale,
so sorry to hear abt ur loss... u r one strong mummy! *hugs*

hi vanessa,
my boy is a 33 weekers... i think i m very lucky in the sense that he doesnt need to stay in the nicu... they only put him in the incubator for one nite...next day transferred to normal nursery... mine is unexpected premature birth, so no time to even have the jab for lungs... i was 9cm dilated when reach hospital.. most of my bills covered by medisave...think i didnt pay much... i delivered in sgh & opted for b2 ward...
hang on there, rest more if possible... maybe ur baby wld come out much later...

Hi stressed, I got the piano. My boy did show some interest in "playing" the piano. Now our house is filled with "sound of piano masterpieces" (noise pollution in fact)!
The piano is very small, but just nice for toodlers to sit down and play. I expect something bigger....haha
868202.jpg

morning!

kkf, i was on mc yesterday. was sneezing like dunno what on tues so dr gave me a day to rest. she thinks i'm sick because of the hecticness of the work, hospital, home, work, hospital, home routine.

feel so much better now!

kkf,
ur boy so cute.. hope he enjoys the piano..think ur soup sounds ok, does ur boy take it? i oso throw everything in the slow cooker when i cook soup. lazy mommies heehee

nana,
for rice cereals, as it's instant, means no need to cook, u need to cook the veg separately then mix into the cereals. for a start, u can try pumpkin,which is v ez to cook. remeber to try 1 food only for 3 days, then introduce another new food, this way u can check if any allergy. other food u can try is spinach, carrot, potato (can make into mashed potato or juz add into cereals).

as for fruits, u can try apple, banana, papaya or pear. dun give citrus fruits (eg. strawberry or oranges as they may cause allergies).

i assume u r giving plain rice cereals now? u can try nestle brown rice cereals too, quite delicious. then later on, u can move on to cereals with fruits or cerals with mixed veg.

enjoy ur experiments!

kkf,
this is a super hectic & bz week 4 me. battle still on.. sigh. so stressed at work, & my ger oso notti when i go back..sigh.. nearly lost temper at her last nite.. i know i shouldn't but can't control leh.. nev mind, next wk will b better, cos my boss not in haha

lindah,
so you back at work?if you visit yr boy, remember to wear a mask, you can ask the nurse for one....

i noe its vy hectic to rush so many places so do take care...

me also down wif flu and stuffy nose..dem sian, just recovered from one bad bout of flu last wk and started another.....and i cant take leave so told the doctor to give me the strongest medicine which is actually no good... Shld try to depend on yr own body immunity to fight all this illnesses...

kkf, so nice, now you got free music in yr house...ha ha...

I want to ask if your babies respond to sounds well? Caca turns in the right direction whenever we clap or talk to her, but Coco sometimes does not respond at all. She will stare at her toys or mumble to herself, but won't turn in our direction.

She passed the hearing test in the hospital, but do I need to bring her for another test just to be sure?

Caca on the left, Coco on the right.
868347.jpg

hehehe... coco and caca look stunned. ;)
my son oso sometimes look so stunned.

costa, ya. i always wear mask but still scared to carry him too long. dunno how clean my clothes are. thinking of gg during lunch today. see how lah. nowadays really sick period lah. ;(

Lindah,
cmg to think of it you are right becuz we dun noe how clean our clothes are..thats why the nurses told me tt they dun burp the bbs wif their faces propped agst their shoulder as they dun noe how dirty their clothings are..

in tt case...then you had better ask yr hb to go or dun carry him...you noe lah hospitals also got germs around, one...

myfab,
cld it be coco was distracted by her toys...my son also smtimes dun respond when i call him....if you are worried, raise yr concerns to yr kid's neonat/paedi and see wat they say and if need be, refer to a hearing expert..

kkf, the piano looks nice ..... hmm, maybe will get one for my boys when they are big enough