Premature babies support group

mich and disney,
wah, two of your porriage very delicious, i will follow and prepare for my boys too.
disney, that one big eyes is 2nd twins, they dont look a like right?

jacelyn,
aiya, i oso anyhow 1. i c wat in NTUC, i'll buy wat. cos my mom always give her fish on weekday, i seldom give fish on weekends.

oh, 4got to add something:
i'll also cut the ikan bilis into small small pieces & mix into the soup 4 her to eat. cos my hubby read frm somewhere (b4 i gave birth), that the nutrients of the food is in the food itself, not the soup. the soup only gets the flavour. meaning, if we use ikan bilis to make soup, must give the ikan bilis, to get the calcium. the soup is tasty only. so, even 4 ourselves, when we make tonic soup, hubby will make sure we eat the meat, & not juz drink the soup

mummies...u make me so hungry!!!.

i have copy and paste all the receipes hehe. let me go and study and try...(tonight) hehe!!

jacelyn -- am not clever la.... hehe...just that i always thought, for twins...first one always appear more guai and the 2nd one sometime appear more mischevious :p i don't know if my this theory is correct hehe

fairytale,

please tell us how we can help.

talking about it with those who have gone through a similar pain will help, i'm sure.

*hugs to you*

do take care.

Wow disney and mich

Think you all are the advanced cook!

Me is just simple one! Ha! Because me really cannot spend so much time on cooking porridge, my boy will be besides me and calling "mummy mummy" so many times seeking my attention! Haiz...

But I def think your babies are more xin fu! More nutrition, and more taste, yummy!

Mine is just simple porridge, ha!

Hi mummies just a question, did you let your kids eat things like rasins (organic), peanut butter with bread that kind?
I brought my boy to trial class at growing up gifted, the teachers actually gave them bread with peanut butter. Besides my boy, everybody was eating happily! Haha, I dare not let him eat leh, because besides porridge, bread, baby biscuits, I dun dare to let him eat any other thing!

Once, i went to wedding dinner, there was a couple with a 10 months gal, they let her eat basically what they ate, shark fin soup, prawn watsoever! I was so surprised.

Am I too overprotective?

kkf,
my pd say my ger is open to all food, except seafood & peanut (inclu peanut butter). so far, i let her eat almost everything. of cos, try to give less salt & less sweet stuff. for eg. when we go out 4 bfast, i order porridge 4 her, will ask the person not to put soya sauce.

she always like to eat our food. so sometimes, when we r having dinner, & if she wans, will give her some of our rice, w veg & fish or meat.. home cooked food less salty la.

think sometimes, we must know when to let go (slowly let them eat adult food), but still must draw a line somewhere - less salt & less sugar.

Fairytale
Do stay strong!

Vanessa

Ya. Agree with the rest of the mummies.. KKH should be cheaper.
And the steroid jab is impt. Not all premies eyesight will be affected.. But being prem, they r more prone to retinopathy.. But urs shld be ok.. 31 wks ang gd wt 1.7kg. My girl is only 27 weeker and 1.034kg at birth. Thank God she is developing well.

Jane
Hee... is like tat for the 1st child la.. no worries.. if bb don want porridge, jus give cereal first... then like wat mich say, introduce slowly.. U can try puttin in dry scallops and pork head.

kkf
Do introduce the raisins to ur child.. but mus supervise when eating.. safer.. Introduce then to all kind of food, then they oso easier when u bring them out.. good adaptaility

All mummies
jus to share my joy tat my girl is getting more n more playful.. she is a little kpo.. whenever, there r guests, she wil talk her bb language to them"ta ta ta ta ta eh eh eh" very cute

She din put on much weight but she grow taller.. Now is about 0.78m. She is very inquisitive now. Eating her cereal now n am introducing porridge.
Really envy all of u who r office bound, can log into the net n chat.. I only have time in the late nite to see all that was written;)

Waking up sooo early to mark my piles of compositions. Sadly yesterday, was with my boy the whole day and didn't have time for that! Later going battlefield again! Sometimes really wish to lazy and take mc or childcare leave...sianzzzzzzz

Mummylian,
my boy got teeth..onli can see the buds..tink it was in mid June...two bottom ones..

kkf,
does he hv any known food allergies, if he doesnt hv, tink can give but perhaps introduce one new food and see his reaction...

agree wif mummylian, must supervise whilst eating as they are still small and just afraid tt they may choke on an item they are not familiar wif and raisins are not self dissolving..

disneymickey,
i onli learnt how to use colour a few days ago...for the bigger font, must ask mich...

here it goes on how to use colour....

just do the following:

you type \ followed by blue if you want yr words to appear in blue, then type { and your text.....and followed by }, then your text wld appear in blue

morning mommies,

did i tell u all my ger got a mild fever on sun nite? tat is 8 days after she got her MMR jab. nurse did tell me fever may come after 5-10 days. so accurate lor. yesterday evening, mom told me she got red spots here & there. sigh. we read frm internet last nite, this is falst measles, which is q common after taking MMR jab. called up clinic this morning, the nurse told me, it's normal, esp after fever, may hav measles like red spots on body.

now i'm sooo tired, cos my ger din sleep well last nite. think she's uncomfortable. gg meeting liao.. do write, i'll try to read later.

\blue {ciao}

<font color="119911">disneymickey</font>,

you got it right for the blue font, except you cannot leave space between the word blue and the sign {...

get wat i mean?

alot of kids getting sick....must take care....

vanessa,
welcome to the thread.

hope the other mummies answered all your queries. whether or not intubated depends on how early your baby comes and if u managed to get the steroids. some babies are very fortunate. Nd not intubate. or intubate for few days only. if you have time, you can pick up books from the library on premmies.

mummylian,
my bb ok. thanks for asking. hope have more good news to share soon. i was just telling costa i am lvg it to God now. i will gv my baby as much attn and as many prayers as i can.

<font color="0000ff">test test</font>
<font color="ff0000">sorry... i a bit boh liao</font>
<font color="aa00aa">play play with colours now</font>

oh cool... under help, there is this part called formatting...

<font size="+2">You</font> <font size="+1">can</font> <font size="+0">size</font> <font size="-1">your</font> <font size="-2">text</font>

so... if you want big, type without spaces

\ 2 {BIG}

<blink>better get back to work!
</blink>

mummylian,
oh, they dont look alike, so very early to know them, my 1st twins eyes and mouth smaller than his brother.
Lindah,
ya,must pray as much as you can for your boy, hope he can discharge soon, waiiting for your good news.
Disney,
You mean after MMR will be fever, ai yo, i am very scared lei, you mean every bbb will or some only?

jacelyn,

not every bb will hav fever la.. but the nurse did tell me, prob will hav mild fever 5-10 days after jab. on sun, measured my ger, is 37deg (using ear thermometer). only give med is it's 38deg. the fever come & go, so far, haven't given med yet.

Disneymickey,
Bingo, you got it liao...so far, i hvt tried the larger font method to increase the size of the font...

One day, already so many post here. Can't catch up leh...

Costa del sol,
My boy born on 5 August 2006 at 32 weeks in Gleneagles. Stayed in NICU for 2 weeks then went home. Thank God no complications. Birth weight was 1.9kg. So soon he'll be 11 month old (non-corrected).

Yesterday, he went to pedi as he had fever, cough and cold. So poor thing... cough so badly...

cheaky,
thanks...tink naddy will update the table or nana will do it, me really hopeless wif such things....

thank god he got no complications....

tink the bug is around, my boy got runny nose also....dem sian, manz..see him suffering..hope his breathing is okay....if not must up the dose of ventolin...

ya man. my ger bit sick, but dunno y she can't take the air-con rm at nite. wa piang, nowadays the weather so hot, last nite, got to turn the fan higher, to cool her down. but only let her wear a simple romper to sleep, this morning touch her legs sticky sticky & her whole head is wet w perspiration..1 of us sleep w her in the non air-con rm, oso difficult 2 sleep cos the mommy & daddy pampered

disney,
you mean your daughter cant sleep in air-con? so poor, must be very hot, but what can do. every parent was dote our kids.
Why dont want to put one negative inonizer inside the room, is very good, we use abt 4 month very good, my boys never get flu at all, and they sleep more sweet, can from 10pm until 8am. We sleep inside the air-con roon, the tempe is 24 degree. Some time they got water from nose too, but is not flu, is just like clean the dirty out, i just use the things for suck their water out, then will be ok.
Just share share wth you la, cos i understand if sleep inside the roon very sian one.

hallo all mummies,

hehe..am still very hardworking trying to glue all the receipies together to work out somehting that will make things easier for me hehe...

ya think bugs is around nowadays...

hey cheaky..my boy born on 12 Aug 06...shortly
after your boy ler. but he is born in KKH..

wow weather really warm nowadys...hot hot hot

JAne,
hows your boy now? still taking the porriage? plain porriage or wth anything, my boys sometime see their mood and taste too, like just now they only finish 3 big spoon porriage only.
very sad lei, like they only will take little only. my 2 nd twin vomit some out too, ai ya, they finish at 2pm, going to give them milk again 3pm.
Very boring here, weather here very good, got wind some more.

Went to KKH for lunch.
Saw one new baby with a cleft lip.
His parents were eating while he slept soundly on the cushion seat in Delifrance. I was 2 tables away. His parents caught me looking and i was embarassed. I smiled. They nodded and smiled.
I want to tell them : it is going to be ok. The surgeon can fix it and he does a very good job.

Next, I saw one set of twins with feeding tubes outside the food court. I was chatting with my 2 other girlfriens on their wedding preparation prior to that.

I lost all interest in the discussion after seeing the 3 babies. It brought back memories and suddenly i felt very overwhelmed.

The 2 brides-to-be cannot associate with how i was feeling and i dun blame them. I know the mummies here will be able to understand how i feel.

Some insensitive pple told me proudly their gals/ boys at 2 year old can do this and that.
My D&E are 2 plus and yet they are unable to perform the same tasks.
Come on... wats the big deal if you are good in your motor skills at a young age? Are you smarter? Are you more brainy?
Whats there to brag about?

D*#m it!!

Lousy day today.

Thks to those who hv PM me to console me.I believe my boi is in a better place called Heaven.There is no need for admission to ICU,medications,feeding tube,on oxygen & etc.

Honestly since his birth,de road is never easy.He hv weak lungs,reflux & hypertension.Juz that I din't want to post here.Since Jan,the ICU is juz like a second home to my boi.Now it is a relief that he don't hv to suffer anymore.But we are very grateful to the docs and nurses who hv been looking aft my boi.They are equally depressed.

Hubby and I are taking it very well so don't worry abt us.
My boi is already very blessed to hv so many pastors and friends to pray for him for the past few months.My boi hv come to show us how to love others.People who know him knows that he had a good fighting spirit and a jovial boy.He was never afraid of all the needles poking him.He is a champion in many people's eyes.

hi jacelyn -- today my mum (i still don't know how) manage to feed my boy half a bowl of porridge :p (with head pork meat)...

mich -- hmmm *&^%$##@# them really. what do they know. to me, i think, being slow does not meant our baby does not eventually outsmart them ah.

am i right mummies!!

hi fairytale...i know the road must have not been easy for you. hold on to the faith and i am sure your boy be an angel in heaven. he is indeed a strong fighter and he will be the proud to have you and your hubby as parents.

Fairytale,

your boy will be dearly missed by all who know him. he was lucky to have so many pple love him. I'm glad for you that you are able to let your boy go in peace. I hope for your sake, you will find joy in the future after all you have been thru.

Mich,

i understand what you mean. sometimes i do fear tt other parents will be insensitive to me later when my baby grows. i hope i can handle it. my SIL also ask me (her baby is 1 mth older than my son) if my son can roll over yet. My baby is slightly more than 3kg only. How to roll over? I had to explain corrected age concept and she looked surprised. I imagine I have to go thru a lot of that.

but they are proud of their kids. it beats seeing pple who take their kids for granted and complain and scold them instead... or smoke ard them.

Thank you mummies for all your encouragement. This support group is simply wonderful.

i just want to check if I will to transfer my child from Mt A to KKH, can I choose the neonatologist/paediatrican? I discussed this with hubby last night and he was telling me if we really have to spend the money, just let it be bcos her life is more important and especially we are comfortable with Dr Chan, a paed. in SBCC Mt A who has been looking after our son. Anyway, pls do recommend any good neonatologist/paediatrican that specialize in premmie in KKH if you guys know any?

Hi mich,
I totally understood what you meant although I don't have a premmie but I had this bad experience in KKH bcos I delivered my stillborn there. Bcos of the nature of my work, I am required to see a doctor in KKH straight after I returned to work and that drive to KKH was terrible for me ;-( I kept walking towards the montuary bocs I regretted that I did not send my girl off.
As for your friends comment about milestone, just ignore them and take it positively as a guide; especially different child will possess different intelligence... A child good in motor skill may not have good social skill, a child good in academic result may not have good interpersonal skills ;-) Hope this brighten your mood a little!

Jane,
than congrat , never mind maybe your boys want you to pay attention of him, slow slow la. we cannot ask for more. my twon boys also like that, maybe need more time than other people.
Fairtytale,
I am very happy can read your post here, and i know that your were a brave and good parent. Your boys was a strong fighter & brave boy. He will be a happy and relax angel in heaven.
Mich,
I'm understand how you feel, all our mummy here too.
Yes, we always need to facing other people look and say, like example, when i bring my boys to shopping centre, they will say oh, your twins so cute, how many month, when they hear i say their age, some people will give me a face like so small, even they never say out, after that they will go away, some people will direct say, oh, i talk they only 5month, so small ha, they never drink milk is it? ai ya, so now a day, i seldom answer all this question if people ask me, because every time need to explain and explain, very tired, they dont know how hard we were when our baby born?
like, some of my friend their baby was full term baby, abt some age wth my boys, they will say their baby know how to sit, crawl,eat a lot la, everything can eat, not like my boys, always cant finish the porriage or milk, last time really a pressure for me and i will always push my boys to finish everything and always in my mind that why other baby can, your cant, i am very pekchek at last time, but now, when i come to this premature babies support group, chat wth your and read all the post here, i am not like that again, i know i was too sensitive and my boys will be suffer if i carry on like that.
Thanks for all the mummies here, as your know i am staying in malaysia, here dont have any support group like this, but i can find it here and all the mummies here also willing to share wth me all the things even we are not in same country.

Fairytale,
M assured tt you are feeling okay.....im glad he is not suffering anymore...

Mich,
Guess evy child is different even between normal children...just try to look on the positive side of thgs..

Vanessa,
Hugs to you..no amt of words we say can lessen yr grief...

Let me try to answer yr question and hope tt i din misguide you...

<font color="0000ff">If you transfer yr kid to KKH and your child is in NICU...i dun tink you can so called choose the neo nat becuz i think they will allocate to you based on which team yr baby is in..be it Blue Team or Pink Team....Tink i cld be wrong but i think every neo nat is equally competent in their field..</font>

any mummies got any advice to offer?

Jane, Lindah, Vanessa
Thanks gals!
I usually can take such remarks pretty well, think there is an overdosage today.

Lindah
Hey, i will be at KKH NICU for a sharing session this Thursday. Will i see you there?

Vanessa
There is a team of neonatologists at KKH who specialise in premature babies. We are not allowed to choose the neonat.
There will be a neonat assigned to the preemie but the docs work as a team.

I have seen cases of babies being transferred from private hospitals to KKH due to the following reasons:

1)The cost in KKH is lower. Especially for the very premature ones who need to stay for a longer period of time in NICU.

2) The parents decided they have more confidence in KKH since it is a children hospital.

Please note such transferred cases are reviewed on a case by case basis. KKH has the right to reject the transfer.

Suggest you find out more about the NICU support available at Mt A. If you are comfortable with it, then you may not have to move to KKH.

mich,
aiya, i know how u feel. like i've always say, my ger 16mths alrdy, but can't walk yet. she can cruise ard table, but can't really walked yet. actually she managed to 'walk' 1-2 steps, like frm sofa to coffee table.. but hubby say it's ok. when it's time, it's time. she's juz not ready yet. she oso can't talk yet, though kept making a lot of noises & 'sing'. my sis say, when she can finally talk, it'll b like verbal diarrhea haha.. by then, i'll b asking her to shut up..

i oso v sian, when pple ask how old is she, can walk alrdy? blah blah.. initially q pai seh to answer. but now i dun care alrdy. alrdy got so much to worry at work, at home abt her health, etc. can't b bothered by this type of pple. i know my ger is not stupid cos her parents not stupid mah (heehee), maybe juz not the time yet.. my mom even console me, kids who walk later will hav a better life in future.. haha.. though i dun believe, it's gd to hear tat

ya.. d%^!@#$ those pple man.. haha

Mich,
when i bring my boys to check up every three month, i always saw a lot of baby there, some time i will go the ward which last last my boys there, to visit the nurses and doctor there which they take care my boys. If happen i meet some parent who have prem baby, i will give them my phone number and say if got any problem wth take care of baby or anythings, can phone me. ia m very kepo right, actually i just want to help them, i remmber when i give birth my boys, i got nobody to ask , i was feel so helpess, so i hope can help the parents even they never call me. is ok, i just do whatever i wish.
So bad that i just hearded my friend say, last 8 month she bring her daughter to kuala lumpur for laser her eyes, she meet one mother there, her daughter also prem baby and only 750gram, today she reiceved her call, say that her daughter pass away on chinese new year, i am so sad to hear that, she told me, this mother spend a lot of money on her daugher, her daughter stay at private hospital around 3month spend RM150,000+-, after go back her daughter gain weight very good, after that find out two eyes ROP laser fail, and become blind, her mother accept this, she just want her daughter wth her even she blind, but unfortunally, before chinese new year find out her brain got water, do for major op again, spend another RM150,000, doctor say everthing ok, baby no problem, end up, do your know what happen of the girl? before one day of chinese new year , her daughter fever, after sending to hospital, she went to the heaven...... so sad i hearded that.actually my friend which told me just now, her daughter also got eyesight problem, her daughter one of the eye alrealy blind, she also can accept, after she hearded the girl story, she cry and told me, she want to accept, even her daughter lose one side of eyesight, even doctor told her , her daughter wont look so pretty as the eye will be small and small as no function at all, she told me she want her daughter wth her forever, even she not pretty, even she only got one eyes can see. I am really sad. i cant say anything to her and i dont know how to say also.i just say one simple word, jia you, we must jia you. ai ya.....

Disney,
dont worry, my friend daughter also 16 month, she was a normal baby, just last week start walk, my friend also worrywhy her daughter cant walk, her girl always hold the sofa too, my friend thinking to send her to see doctor too, cos alrealy 16month, but do you know what happen after that? last week she told me when she inside the kitchen which her girl play at living room, when she go out, she saw her daughter walk herself, no fall down, no holding anything.........from that day start, her daughter walk here walk there everyday, see....like waht your husband say, need time, be prepare ha.. dont shock when your girl suddently walk, like my friend, call me , told me until cry.haa.haa

hmm....think, we are one of those groupies who is really able to understand what each other is going thru.

jacelyn -- thou u maybe a bit far from us.. but as mothers we are still able to link without any problem.

jia you ya....is the word for all. to a better tomorrow.

mich and costa give me lots of inspration. then i saw mich boy myself and i really believe. i believe that it is a matter of time (given time and effort) that my boy will be on par on developments.

all is a matter of time..let us hold to our faith and continue to support each other.

mummies, yep can understand when people tends to compare but I told myself the day I delivered my bbs that I am just grateful that they are normal and healthy, anything else doesn't matter anymore, any comparsion or competition comments won't get into my ears anymore,trying to buil-up 'immunity' towards such
still learning and luckily haven't met with such insensitive people yet......

Jane, can advise what toys/books that I can consider getting for my boys ? (corrected age : 2 and 1/2 months)

hi didi -- talk about play haha. i introduce u this web site. cool! talk about play haha...wait we become stressed number II. soon house no place to sleep because full of toys haha..

http://www.fisher-price.com/neur/playstages/

but this web page is just a guideline...(i am the the promoter of fisher price toys hor) haha. i always see the toys then i go and buy those cheapo version haha.

like the tamburine. i bought one at only 3.90 keke...cheapo play haha...i am still waiting for the rainmaker hehe

mummies..as the day come to an closing...jane wanna announce! my boy wear square hat liao!!! see his cloth hat haha.. who say our bb slow, small and not picking things up fast ... prove to me otherwise manz...

866374.jpg