Premature babies support group

Hmmm.... i have this doubts too. I dun think he will open his mouth too. I also have to struggle with him to brush his teeth. But no choice, see how the first visit goes lor.

The dentist clinic is located at the cleft centre.

Edric is still the same. But getting more naughty each day. He even know how to scold people stupid.
My mother is also trying to teach him speak some cantonese.
He will be going for his eye check on 15 jun at SNEC. Hope everything is stable and will be able to transfer back to KKH soon.

No choice lor... as our survillence is shifting to tuas, we have to run in the new system to take over the old ones. We even have to burn our standby day now. So sad.... Hopfully will be free during july when all the migration completed.

Hi Costa,
Nice to know u. I hope i can post more often too. It is so difficult to post at home as my son is constantly fighting over the computer with me.

My son edric was born a 25 weeker, weighting 775 grams. He was delivered on 02 jan 05 by dr Tony Tan. His stay in NICU should be around 3 mths and SCN around 1 mths. He was discharged in May.

My daughter chloe was born a 34+2 weeker, weighting 2kg. She was delivered on 21 sept 06 by dr Han How Chuan. She was in SCN for 5 days before being allow to go home.

chloegal,
Thanks for yr data..will ask naddy to update it when she comes on line again....she's the one who is compiling as i m clueless when it comes to such stuff...

doc tony tan is vy experienced in high risk pregnancies but too bad he has left kkh....

did the doc say wat caused yr premature labour?me was due to infection...plus many other reasons

chloegal,
nice to 'meet' new fren here
hope to learn fr u more

ur 2 kids are having close gap too, i'm having 2nd one, my boy is 13 mths now

hope to learn fr u on how to cope w 2 young kids, esp preemies. u must be very capable n i believe u've been thro a lot...

hi all..thank you so much for the reassuring words. don't know why, tears just well up when i read all of your messages..i think i m rather emotional at this stage. indeed, he's not that small, i do agree. and disneymickey, you are absolutely rite that he sleeps a lot and it's a blessing. i was worried before for his less activity, but mum assures me it's better this way. so now i m convince it's better than he sleeps than cries and wakes up all the time.

didi, thanks for letting me know that there's still chance that he will latch on. guess i m not that preservere. i will try. every second day is a good idea. though it's hard for me. but will try.

thanks everyone for your words of encouragement and reassurance. i've printed some articles on nipple shield and premature baby and will read on. i think if i m mentally aware of premature bb and nipple shield and feeding, i will feel better.

wounwounbee,
perhaps the recent events hv bn rather overwhelming for you...and emotionally you may be unable to cope..come in here to talk to us and we will help you (if we are able to) as we hv some experienced mummies here.....

for the rest of us, we hv been thru the same facing our bbs at the hospital and being lost...

tink newborns spend alot of time sleeping and as they grow, u wld probably tink back and ask yrself why they dun sleep more

tink bm is good for babies and try to express as much as you can? which hosp did u deliver yr bb?

as to consider whether a bb is considered premature or not .tink at 36.5wks is not considered as really premature..i cld be wrong lah.....becuz as long as reach 35wks can be considered as full gestation age..??correct me if im wrong, mummies...

Me was due to cervix incompetence. So for my second pregnancy, i went for a early cerclage as recommended by my gynae.

Actually my twins elder sister also have these problem. She lost her first bb at 18 wks gestation. And second bb at 33wks gestation. She is now currently going to 32wks and hopefully can last till 35wks and above so that she can be delivered by her gynae.

She have bad experience last time as she was being delivered by inexperience doctors. They did her stitch badly and have to unstitch and restitch again. After discharged, she was in so much pain that she has to go the 24hrs kkh clinic. To activate the premier package, think must be at least 34wks gestation. Luckily i managed to last till 34wks for my second pregnancy.

i think 37wks then is not pre-mature.full term is 40wks. nonetheless, 36.5wks not tat premature. so wounwounbee,thre's no need 4 u to worry.

my ger juz went for last jab of pneumococal last sat & pd say she's still underweight. wat to do? we fed her so much & she's still not putting on weight. hubby even joked tat next time she can "proudly" announce tat she's been underweight since birth.

oso, she's alrdy 15mths, but hasn't started walking or talking yet. she's been holding onto tables & chairs to walk,but not real walking yet. bit worried/disturbed by tat, cos i know some frend's bb started walking @12mths. some say boys' development slower than girls, & my nephew oso started walking aftr 1yr but my ger alrdy 15mths! sigh

Costa
Did you deliver in delivery suite or OT?
Evans was breech. So they pushed me to OT and standby the C-sec team in case they need to cut me up to bring out Evans.
Hubby was not allowed into the OT. I was alone.
I delivered in a room full of people!!
Gynae and his 5-6 nurses/ assistants. C- Sec team another 10 over pple. I think the neo nats were in another room which was attached to the OT.
Was quite pai se lor.
Managed to deliver Evans naturally 2 mins after Dylan.

Chloegal
Same lah... D&E also always up to some mischief.
I find my talking voice at home louder than last time.
D&E can understand mandarin and a bit of Hainanese cos my mum and grandmother speak to them in these languages.

DisneyMickey
My boys walked at corrected age 16 and 17 mths. (actual age 20 and 21 mths)
Nothing much we can do except to keep encouraging.

They started talking after their second bday.
Was told by the speech therapist to keep talking to them while playing.
Example, With a red car, say things like : This is a car. This is a red Car. The car is moving. The car is moving slowly. The car is moving fast.
The car goes up the slope and down the slope. The car has 4 wheels etc.

chloegal,
me also suspected i got cervical incompetence and then told my gynae about it when i read smthg about my cervix from the hsg report...

the doc did do the cerclage for me(also bec i was hving twins..I lost the first one) and then later the cerclage gave way and then after i lost the first twin, my gynae did another cerclage for me to keep the second twin....

then later when my water bag burst the second time, the cerclage was undone by doc kwek and my second bb came out..

my personl opinion is that cerclage is vy important and necessary and my heart goes out to your sister...hope tt she is okay and gets an experienced gynae...

disneymickey,
the paedi said generally yr kid is okay, right?maybe she likes pple to bao bao her...for me, i was full term bb but i started walking steadily i think after 12 months also..

Mich,
For my first boy, i delivered in the OT as i had no strength after many hours of labour (forceps delivery)...hb was not allowed in..lucky he..went to eat Boon Tong Kee chicken rice at balestier and missed the whole show

for my second boy, i delivered in the delivery suite..u are right, a whole army of pple was there from neo nat to normal gynae to the high risk doctor...etc etc...Hb wasnt there as he was overseas...again, he missed the whole show..

but second time quite easy as bb was quite small...

rgding speech devt, tink you cld be right, must keep talking to them and describing things to them so that they can assimilate wat they hear and later articulate back again.....

mich,
wow,ur boys oso started walking q late hor?hope u not offended by me saying this
wat abt talking?

costa,
ya,pd ask if she has appetite? i say yes. he ask if she eats fruits & veg, i say yes. he ask if she poos everyday, i say yes. then he say it's ok haha.. prob genes & she's v active lor

Costa
Yah.. Whole army of people there.... Was quite a scene.
After Evans was out, the C sec team started to pack their equipments and left the OT one after another Show over! Haha....
Left the gynae and his assistants to attend to me.

When I was admitted during my 22 week, the team found out I have short cervical length and my boys have twins to twins Transfusion Syndrome.
They stopped the contractions and Dr Kwek asked if I want to do the cerclage.
He also mentioned that it may trigger another contraction.
I was all set to go for it but backed out last minute.

Due to Twins to twins transfusion syndrome, one twin was passing out too much water. As a result, my tummy was very big for the gestation. And they suspected the heavy tummy pressed down on my weak cervix and resulted in short cervical length.

Dr Tony Tan drained out the excess fluid from my tummy every 3-5 days. The third time after draining it, I bled profusely when home and can felt the contractions. Admitted, given steroid jab, water bag burst, boys out 2 days later.

I think cannot escape from cerclage if I am to get preggie again.

Disney
No offence... Dun worry.
They talked after their second bday. Refer to my earlier post.
I know of quite a few full term bbs who walk late so I was not very concerned then.

Hi Disneymickey,

My dd is now walking with one hand supported. Previously, it had to be 2 hands. How she did that was I enticed her with new toys in front. Then she got so excited that she forgot to hold the other hand. hahaha...

From then on, I try to lead her with one hand. Slowly i hope to do "no hands."

hee...

Mich,
From wat you mentioned, can tell you hv been thru alot for Dylan and Evans also....

Tink the shortened cervical length was a pblem wif me as well even after the cerclage was done after i lost the first twin...

How come later on they din do the cerclage for you?

How did Doc Tan drain out the water for you?Was it painful? Luckily, u were given the jab...

I guess preemies will take their own time to reach their own milestones...and as long as ultimately, they can do wat they are supposed to do..

Guess milestones hv to be taken wif a pinch of salt as every child is different...

Any idea wat courses are good for kids to attend altho i dun noe whether i got time to bring my boy as the elder one is already occupying alot of my time

stressed,
u r right, mich's boys r vy handsome...

Mich, I am a stay at home wife for a long time then now sahm
can't wait to return to workforce
btw who is taking care of the boys for you ?

morning mommies
ytd hol,nobody got time to post? grin. me 2
enjoyed ur break? 4 me, so so only, plan to take my ger eat dim sum w my cousins then shopping.but she refused to hav her morning nap,so whole day v cranky.

Stressed
Thanks for the compliments.
Costas boys are very good looking too. Especially the eyes....

Costa
Thanks for the compliments. Bernards eyes very mi ren

I didnt want to do cerclage cos I am afraid it may trigger another contraction.
The fluid was drained out by poking a needle or tube into my tummy. I think it is something like amnio test, except that they drained out about 2litres from me the first time!

Enrichment Classes Depends on what you are looking at.
I started the boys on kindermusik when they turned one year old corrected age. They dun get to learn a lot of theories but there is a lot of interaction with the kids and teacher. They get a chance to play different musical instruments, sing and do small dance steps.
I am not sure if it is due to the exposure at KM but Dylan was able to hum Twinkle Twinkle Little Stars when he was at corrected age 22 mths. He can remember the tune but not the lyrics. Or perhaps because we sing to them very often.
Ms Doreen is their teacher and I strongly recommend her if you are interested in the programme. She is very good.

Personally, I feel that preemies need a bit of intervention in order for them to be on par with their peers. So hb and I decide to send them for classes.

Didi
We fetch the boys to my mums house in the morning and bring them home in the evening.
I have a maid to help out.
Stay at home wife aka Tai Tai :p

Mich, Thanks for the compliments.....my 2 boys' eyes are like gal gal

The reason why i asked you abt enrichment classes are because there are so many to begin with until i oso dun noe what is good.....

tink kindermusik not bad and i hope i can find the time for it when my boy is bigger..like Dylan and Evans...

Remember the other class you sent yr boys to ?..do you tink that helps in brain development etc...it seems vy popular wif my frens but i see that the parents hv to do alot of work themselves and thats a bit tiring for me..becuz i dun tink i got time to do all those materials...

anyone cheonged the gss yet?so far, i hvnt leh....anywhere got good buys (good bye to our money, ha ha)

So far, i hvnt bot a new stroller for my boy? what brands are you using?

Angel,
Hope the increased number of times of monitoring will put yr heart at ease....

Fairytale,
The book is as my attached picture....
822378.jpg

Maybe you check if the National Library has it or else see whether buy thru Amazon can or not but i not sure how to as i hvnt bot books online before....

Fairytale, U got mail...

hi fairytale, don't worry. seeing is believing is wat jane belief. see mich boy..bring me hope. see costa boy bring me joy and courage to continue to nurture my boy

latest trick i teaching my boy is to 'scream' haahah and laugh out loud. my own method of teaching him 'speech'. i am teaching him to jump now (on the ground jump) hope to strengthen his lung and exercise him more haha

i guess a happy baby is a healthy baby :p. making him laugh everyday is a joy to me...(i am really just a simple mama...)

costa - any news from angel?

Hi Jane

Ya seeing is believing.I always kiss my boi when I carry him.Telling him tat God create man to breathe by their own,not thru any oxygen equipment.

Fairytale,
Hvnt got yr email yet leh...if still dun hv, later, i will drop you a note and you resend to me..

no pblem to show u the book lah...just cut and paste nia...

hows yr boy now becuz so long never see you on line?hv you given him semi solids yet ?hows the rest of the issues?

hi fairytale...if u see mich boy running and playing.....hahah. its more than belive...really. not only you will belive. its knowing its only matter of time when our kiddo reach the on par stage to other kids of their age.

haha..i don't kiss my boy...i 'do boxing' with him now...cos he always want to bite me ...YEEKS! then i will open my mouth real big and bite him back ... and wow...you know (given he corrected only 6 mths) he no lose to me.

that day he 'kiss' (BITE) my mother mouth and leave a mark there.....

sometime....well i was telling costa. i want to buy a sling and bring my boy go many places (take bus, mrt etc) bring him to see the world (because that is why he arrive in this world).

this morning he see birds flying (for the first time since he born)...wow...his eye as big as saucer haha...

fairytale - lets us hold hand in hand and witness the growth of our kiddo....this is a land of hope and cheers....

costa,
re pram,bought combi brand.abt $170, the lightweight type.but useless cos my ger dun like to sit in pram. prefers to torture me by wanting me to carry.so wasted lor.but will b passing on to my SIL when she delivers yr end, else v wasteful.

disneymickey, thanks, i m totally clueless about the brands...

i used the Gracco for my elder boy but not very user frenly as its not collapsible to smaller frame..

aiyoh, then for long distance, how you going to carry her?

jane,
u hvnt bot the sling yet right?eh, i really peifu u if you can bring him out alone..for me, i think even if my boy is small, i think i can manage at the moment leh...

Costa
My boi hv been discharge.Don't noe why yesterday n the day before,his stomach get very bloated wif air.He turn pale n his lips was bluish.Then we put him on bipac whole day for him.He slept thru out whole night.Doc say may discuss whether an operation will be needed.But we are not sure why yet.

I hv not wean my boi coz his neck not very strong yet.Do you all wean your child even though his neck is not strong enough?I wanted to wean but a bit scared leh.

Jane
How come your bb can bite pp liao?Mine only 5.1/2 month corrected age.

disneymickey
I bought the high range Combi stroller.My boi don't mind sleeping there when we go c doc.I don't carry him on sling at all.

hi fairytale. cos my boy have 4 white one. 2 on top, 2 below....and he sure is proud having these 4 ones...so he can fight and bite pple. and he always kanna bite back by me. i fight with him and he will box me back...then of course in the end he lost la...hahaha. then he will shout very loud for pple to help him...and there comes the very ke ai ah ma.

for my boy...frankly his neck is firm pah...but he cannot sit by himself yet. so i have not really give him solid. other than mixing si shen chao mi with his milk. ie i have not yet feed him on spoon....

hmmm what happen to your boy? is he ok? send hugs to him....and don't be stress about developments...he will soon be there...

Fairytale,
Me still hvnt got yr mail leh..can resend or not, huh?

Wat type of operation is the doc looking at?

For me, i let my boy take semi solids at 6 mth corrected age....That time his head still not vy strong and will still droop forwards...then i put him into those high chair and fed him.....

Maybe you wait for the paedi's advice and see when yr boy can wean?

I tot my boy wld put on more weight after eating solids..but sad to say he is still a small bundle...

My boy till now no teeth yet..bo geh..

wats the difference between the Combi different ranges?

that day i was at mothercare and saw the Macclaren Quest costing $200 plus..dun noe good or not?

cant really remember hw much i paid for the book? tink less than $50 as my sister bot it for me fm kinokuniya...

Jane & costa
I'm not sure why need operation.But doc always say 1 of his heart arteries is not strong.If his breathing is hard,his heart will feel very pressured.I din't ask wat the doc say coz he is lung specialist.I don't hv any PD at the moment coz all my boi doc is from the same hospital.So even w/o PD,the other doc can make de decision.Moreover,they also say his reflux lor and his airway passage is floppy etc.

costa
Diff btw Combi diff range is that the higher range stroller is more comfortable and not so hot when bb is lying down.Parts like wheels are also diff.You can go to their agent to check the diff coz the sales pp there will explain to you the diff.Last time,we wanted to buy the cheapest but after they explain,we buy the $500 stroller.

hahaha....Jane. My dd also saw birds on the ground so close the first time last Sat. Her expression was priceless.

Disneymickey,
My dd also dun like stroller for the 1st 7 months. Until she could sit up then she's willing to sit in the stroller. But hor....going to our destination is still ok. When we come home, she's alway carried coz she will fuss all the way home.

At least half the battle is won. hahaha..

Now her stroller is for us to put shopping bags. Just nice. hee

hi fairytale....oh ok. hmm don't worry. am sure the expertise would give your boy the best treatment. things be just fine. my boy too is seeing lung specialist for his lung developments.

wow..u buy such a ex stroller (to me $500 is high cost :p). the stroller i have now is given by my sis...but sigh...todate, my boy does not really like the stroller keke. think have to let him sit at home more first haha...

costa - its my dream to bring him out alone..its a dream that needs lots of planning hahahhaha...keke. if one day i succeed, i tell u okie :p

hi stressed..haha. really hor, when they see the birds (esp when the birds is at one point on the grass then it fly off)..wow...see their eye as big like nothing hahaha....then i happily tried to find another birds that is residing nearby and quickly point it out to him..ahhahaha....

hope soon i bring him to Changi airport and let him see plane take off hahahaha.... from small birds to giantic birds haha...

hmm...my stroller...is already for his bags as of now. sigh. i hope like you, soon half battle can be won haha...

Mich, me not Tai Tai leh
being tai tai means can shop everyday and also wear designer clothes
me staying at home like hmm 'yellow-faced wife' ha ....ha..... btw your place and your m's place very near ? as I am considering whether to bring the boys and maid home everyday.

Costa, me also have a single stroller, received the Maclaren Techno XT as pressie, quite good I would say and according to my hb it is easy to fold and stack away

Fairytale,
Recently my boy also like coughing badly and like cant breathe properly..went to see normal paedi (same as my elder boy)...was advised to use the nebulisar for him to help him...today he went back for review..the nebulizar which was rented fm the doctor was returned and was told to use the normal chamber for his breathing/cough..

thanks for the clarification on the stroller..will go take a look..hope by the time i buy one..my boy will still wanna sit inside...

Jane,
Its also my dream to bring my younger one around ..tink you train me how to do it hor..haha...

to carry the sling plus the bag wif all the barang barang..dun noe whether i can manage or not..even last time my elder one, hor..i din bring him out alone until he was more than 1 yr old..

when you succeed,jio me along..ha ha..

didi,
me working woman fm monday to friday...on friday nite, i will hv "jaundice" becuz become huang liang por mah...then sunday nite, i wld recover becuz monday hv to go back to work..ha ha...

jane,

My dream is to bring her to the zoo. She loves to see animals. So far the animals she sees are the ones in the book.

But go zoo involves the entire day. Go for 2 hours is meaningless and very expensive. I cannot afford the whole day coz I have to pump BM. hiaz.

As soon as she turns one corrected, I am finishing with my pumping business. Still got 7 weeks to gooo......

like 7 months....so damn long.

didi,
the Techno XT is the one wif three wheels is it?
you din get those for twins one..vy cute..either side by side or front n back.but that type can be very bulky

Jane,costa & stressed
Talking abt dreaming where to bring your bb out.Mine is that he can go shopping n to sunday sch.Really hoping my boi can step out of the house soon.Not going hospital but going ard Singapore wif mummy & daddy.

My dd just turn one yesterday. No celebration. Because her lazy mother thinks it's too much of a hassale to organise one. So end up I went pak tor with girlfriends.

hee hee

Costa, aiyoh your 'huang lian po' days so short only
techno xt is four-wheeled one the three-wheeled one is from 'Quinny' I think, the quinny one is very ex, 1k over. I bot the twin stroller side-by-side that I mentioned to you by Graco $350.00 cheaper than Maclaren which is $650 plus, didn't get Maclaren ones as the boys might not want to sit long

Fairytale,
I did bring my boi out but not to real crowded places but to restaurants for dinner or meals..or to the beach..other than that...no..

how u plan to celebrate yr boy birthday?

didi,
everyday after work also alittle bit jaundice lah but wkend is reali jialut...anyway...enjoy yr days as sahm...u sure you wanna work?

the maclaren strollers or rather strollers for that matter are really cheem and so much knowledge to learn...

hi stressed, haha..zoo ah..erh...think really have to wait till my boy turn 1 or 2 years old. meanwhile...i guess birds is the nearest animal i can bring him to see hahaha....

i realised...all mummies here really really wish to bring our kiddo out (to see the world).

Fairytale - i ever once type in this thread. NO MORE visit to hospital for my boy...cos i had enough..but well..sometime is bo bian la...but really must minimise the visit man....hmmmmm.... don't worry soon am sure your boy can go gai gai with mummy n daddy.

costa - glad to know your boy ok liao...think chamber really can provide the essential relief when need be.... and haha. ok ok, if i succeed i sure first post my achievement here...erh..does bringing him alone to my nearby playground consider an achievement???? hahahahah (wacky jane) keke.

hope u get a good GSS buy of stroller...