Premature babies support group

costa,
can't rem when can take the chkn pox jab,think it's in their health book.but if i din rem wrongly,shld b after 1yr old.

jane,
din use the sarong or sling.but i used the baby carrier, infantino go-go-rider
809196.jpg

it's especially useful when u need both ur hands free to carry things. my ger enjoyed it a lot,since she can "sit & see" things. i brought it w me when i brought her to taipei when she's 8mths old.i felt it was more useful than the pram,which she doesn't like to sit in.

btw, i'm trying to sell mine @$30 since my ger doesn't like it anymore. pls let me know if any one of u is interested

oh,juz a word of cautious: only put ur bb in when their neck is stable.though the instructions say can put bb face u if neck not stable yet.but i kia si,so only put my ger in (face out) when her neck is stable.

jane,
i go and chk the health booklet when i go home...

disneymickey,
tt is wat i tot about the cknpox jab after a year old..so i tink i better be more "on" about wat jabs my boy has taken...

costa,
haha,looks like u more blur than me
maybe the jab ur boy took not chkn pox la..cos dun think the docs/nurses will make this type of mistake,got health book whenever they go 4 jab rt?

hi disneymickey,

i have somehthing of this (i call it back pack keke)..but yours seem more user friendly.

how long you owe it? can i know if it can tahan heavey weight? how much you bought it?

my boy neck is stable pah..thou he cannot really sit yet..

is this better than a sling?

haha..sorry mummies i am turing this forum into a buyer place :p

oh oh...i suddenly remember why i wanted a sling. because my boy can fall asleep inside..whereas a 'back pack'..he cannot lay down...:p

sigh..sorry jane really turning this forum into a market place.

to angel - hahahhaa...you get to shop here too. and read of review of pack pack and sling and sarong and jabs...hahahah.... hope you are smiling while reading wacky jane thread keke

disneymickey,
jialut,i better go and check properly, manz when i go home...i really blur....if its not ckn pox jab, i really wonder wat jab they give to counter the exposure to ckn pox virus, man....

jane,
according to the website www.infantino.com/Carriers/GoGoRider151-565.html
it says for weight frm 3.6kg - 10.4kg.though my ger not 10.4kg yet, but she doesn't wan to sit alrdy. so i hav to sell it. i started using it when she's 5mths old, used till she's 10mths.it's sold @kiddy palace at $70+ (i think). btw, kiddy palace having 20% storewide,maybe u can pop in & c.

btw, no need to be able to sit,but like i say,i think safer/better to use when the neck is more stable. but i do c ang mors carrying little little bb (looks like those juz born) in this type of carrier.

i find this better than sarong sling cos it's definitely easier to put on.saw my SIL tried to put my nephew in the sarong sling,in the end both mother & son got so hot & irritated & she gave up haha. n i dun like the idea my ger is 'stuffed' inside the sarong.but like u say, he can sleep inside. but my ger hor,when i put her on this go-go-rider,she c things & get excited,she'll kick her legs abt & also fall asleep while sitting inside. haha

hi disneymickey...hmmm ur ger can fall asleep inside? interesting..... maybe the one i owe not that good...cannot let my boy face outside and very difficult to put him in (cannot open side ways one).... but yours seem very user friendly...only concern is the bb like have to 'sit' all the way keke.

ya. i know the sarong / sling sometime bb will feel very stuffy inside keke....whereas this back pack think will give them more freedom....

haha.. you know why i am looking for a used item? because i don't want to buy new one (expensive) then end up my boy don't like :p

hmmm...let me think..maybe i can try buy your one. i go and discuss with my husband haha...but eventually i be the one wearing it..because my boy like my smell :p

haha..don't need sorry sorry like that...we are all mummies who talk sky and sea here ah...

hi anybody deliver prematurely due to lower blood flow to the baby? is there anyway to remedy it besides weekly and more frequent observation?

hi mesh, reason why my boy came out prematurely is because my waterbag give way on his week 24...then i was later hit by infection (fever)...

hi mesh,
me opp case. my bb came out early cos i got high blood pressure. think watever case, needs more rest & more frequent visit to gynae 4 checkups.

jane,
it's ok.let me know if u r interested.else will put onto yahoo auction to sell.
ya lor,my ger's legs will kick kick & hands will wave & wave then until tired,will juz fall asleep.think she enjoys 'sitting' inside cos she can see wat we see & can touch things haha

but hor,another disadvantage is u & or ur bb can get very hot wearing & sitting in it.everytime i let her down, i'll b like perspiring v badly.unless i'm in air-con place la. but i used to carry her to NTUC to buy stuff w this..cos my hands r free, i can carry things back & bring her to walk.

hi mesh,

i'm not sure what you mean but my baby wasn't growing well in my womb as there was a high resistance in the blood vessel that carries blood to the placenta. her heart rate was also dipping.

yes naddy, that's what the sonographer said... high resistance in the blood vessel to her.... in fact your very exact words i think. how ar? anyway to remedy? i'm tryig to stay horizontal as much as possible now.... hope it helps

hi mesh

i also had the same experience on the high resistance in the blood vessel... i had triplets. i lost one of them at week 30 due to the high resistance which resulted in severe IUGR (Intrauterine Growth Restriction, he was only half the weight of his siblings). The other 2 babies were ok. This was discovered in week 28... and i had 2 choices, deliver all 3 in week 28 or carry through to at least week 32 with a risk of losing that baby. We chose the second option. My surviving babies were borned in week 31.

May i know which week u are in now? Is it happening to one of ur babies?

Besides monitoring closely (i had detailed scans twice a week), there's really nothing much u could do... Try to eat more and rest more, and remember to consume the iron and calcium supplements. i understand that this is rather common in multiple pregnancies. Besides consulting ur gynae, u could also consider consulting a maternal-fetal specialist to look into this matter.

Do also watch out for pre-eclampsia and diabetes *touch wood*, cos multiple pregs could also have a high risks on these.

Multiple pregs is a tough journey. But hang on there ok?

thanks Chloe, i'm 27 weeks now. mine was discovered at 25 weeks... now the smallest baby is at 30th percentile. hope she can catch up....think the next few weeks very crucial.... now i'm being monitored weekly... dr mentioned it may become twice or thrice a week monitoring.... think if given a choice, we'd choose to deliver all 3 early rather than risking losing any one of them.... but then i don't know, decisions can change with teh situation. now i just try to rest more.... hope they can all make it.

hi mesh

Sorry if my experience has cause u more worries... Yes, u definitely need detailed scans more often. i checked on the internet on IUGR when i got to know that my baby was suffering from it. Good news is that some babies do catch up!

i respect and fully understand ur decision to deliver all three early. But i would also suggest that u discuss with ur dr to come to a decision. It is a tough decision, and it is normal to find urself flip-flopping ur decisions.

That aside, are u with the public hospital? u may need to discuss with ur dr on the NICU arrangements, cos very likely urs will be a prematured case...

don't worry chloe, you didn't scare me. i thought things thru b4 seeing your earlier reply already. dr did mention if need to we may need to deliver all 3 earlier than we planned.

think for us we have not reached IUGR yet... according to internet, its for babies at 10th percentile. and dr has not mentioned this word.... its me who think it may lead to that eventually. i also checked on internet on the condition. only thing to do is rest.

and yes, Jane, Costa, I'm resting as much as i can. thanks.

hi everyone.

i came here to whinge a bit. ;P. My son had a blood transfusion yesterday. and he was so lethargic, they din get to bottle him yesterday at all...

haiz. seems like his condition is good one day and not so good the next. ;((

hi mesh,
take care. ;) hope your babies will be ok.

hi lindah...life in SCN/NICU is like that. like a roller coster ride (don't know if the mee see quote u this phrase). up and down. but eventually everything will be ok. the 'swing' will get gentle and everything be just settle down eventually

blood transfusion is quite normal...so don't worry too much.

have faith...

hi mesh,

you must be feeling terrible now. but, dont be. you must be positive, okay?

rest a lot, drink lots of milk and i heard that durians can help in baby's growth although i have no idea how that can help in the high resistance problem.

30th percentile is quite good considering that you are carrying 3 babies! i was carrying only 1 yet my poor baby was always in the lower percentiles.

the best place for the babies to grow is in your womb so i hope you can keep them in for as long as possible.

take care!!

Allow me to join back this thread. Has not been following this thread for quite some time, wow, trying to look back at the past postings, but too overwhelming.

Anyway, how are all your babies? Still my same old "kou hao", may our babies be healthy and strong!

All of you are great mummies!

810187.jpg

Most recent photo of Dash! Me showing off again! ha!

Jane, you still bringing your boy to Yu Guo? I have been faithfully doing so every week now. But still worry about the germs and diseases flying around! Still so many people...haiz, but I have decided to bring him on saturdays afternoons near to closing time, less people, based on my last week experience.

Lindah, your baby should be home soon! Not to worry! Soon you will see your baby running about!

Mesh, hang in there. Your babies will be fine!

Harlo, KKF,
Huan2Ying2 you to come back....Welcome, welcome...

Can you let naddy noe yr details so that we can update the table of all of us here so that we can know our preemies' history...

Yr boy very cute huh...got a cheeky grin....

R u staying near Yu Guo?I hvnt gone there before but has yr boy improved after going there often...?hope he has...u reali hv the perserverance...

Lindah,
Dun worry about yr boy.....wat Jane said its right..one day up, sometimes one day down..but heh...if down, the onli way is up, correct...blood tranfusions are vy common, tink my boy had at least three blood transfusions becuz their body cant reproduce the blood cells fast enough..

I noe its heartbreaking to see the drips and tubes carrying blood into his body but hey..its for his good, right?

lindah

*hugz* my son had plasma transfusion in NICU. i know it hurts to see them in tubes, but be strong ok? Continue to talk to ur baby, that will boost him a lot and he will grow much faster.

good morning mummies,

hi kkf wow your boy so cute...:)

good morning angel . jane got your mail. did wonders to my day. actually i am not feeling that good today (think down wif flu) but still come in because i have not finish with my online shopping (i think as u read the threads, u realised i am trying to buy somethings like sling, car seat etc for my boy) hahahahah... wacky jane. continue to glue to dr kwek for best consutation..am sure he can help you. cheer to a new day ;-)

ashley dearie...be good gal ah...

lindah, am sure today your boy will bring be bottling again.

thanks, ladies, for your encouragement

yesterday tried bottling at 8pm. he spit out. SLT say he has moderate something - problem swallowing. his eyesight now is stage 2 zone 2. me going a bit nuts yesterday night and today. somemore i din know i got the bug again so i carried him. at home yesterday was sniffing and sneezing. urgh!

haiz.

today no mood to work but in office liao. trying to be useful. i feel like just sitting one corner and whinge you know. Urgh. dunno if my boss understand or not. if dun, jialat. performance sure die.

good morning lindah

coming into work can be dragful i understand. that time when my boy was still in KKH, i shuffle everyday going from work to kKH then KKH to home...everyday without failed.

life then was really draggy. then i don't dare not to come in cos i know if my boy is to go home, i would need to take leave..hence i conserve all my leave for the BIG day...

linday...perserve on...ROP at Stage 2 is still ok..not to worry. at least he tried bottle ah.

take good care of yourself.

today me to not well, yet come to work cos i know..in case my mama (the caregiver) need to go anywhere, i would need my precious leave.

sometime...we cannot think too much (as to our bosses understand or not), we just do what we can...and stay cheerful

Hi Jane.

Thks for emphatising. I know of one ex-colleague who sort-of kena the boot bcos under-performance so somehow i am feeling the pressure. Urgh.

No work, no money. Got work, not performing. Like endless problems like that. Lucky still got work.

dear mesh

when I still had my twins, Dr Loh also discovered high resistance blooodflow from the umbilical cord to my baby girl and she was also in the 25th percentile. We were worried sick too for both babies are so precious to us and we do not wish to lose any.
so Dr also prescribed me aspirin to thin my blood and it worked! The next scan 2 weeks later showed the bloodflow is normal! Maybe you can check with your gynae? I pray that all 3 babies of yours will make it past 30/32 weeks until they're mature enough to meet the world...

As for me mummies, more things seem to be happening now that Ashley moves into her 23rd week. Dr Loh, Dr Kwek and a neo-natologist will be having a high-risk consult this afternoon to decide what to do with my baby (when to deliver, how will deliver etc. I think). and I'll probably be given the steroid jab this weekend before Ashley turns 24wks. Latest news this morning is that I may be moved to the obstetrics ward (am now in general ward)where a permanent mid-wife is stationed 24 hours. Pray for me to cope with all these decisions and changes...counting down to next Tuesday, the 1st big milestone...meanwhile, any of you mummies specially hire a maid to help with looking after your preemie baby? My hubby's auntie recommended us her ex-maid (been with the family for 14 years, reliable and good) but her current employer, an Aussie expat family is paying her S$600 a month basic pay (with many other perks e.g. hp subscription, ez link card top-up, after 8pm OT allowance, frequent trips back to Philippines etc). We have negotiated with her and she's willing to work for us for just the basic $600 pay but is it still too expensive (considering we have not added the govt levy)? the thing is my MIL trusts her a lot and insists we hire her but we also have budget constraints...any advice?

hi angel,
can't give u advice cos my situation was diff frm yours, except rest while u can.try to eat more, esp iron stuff. supposed to help bb put on more weight. somebody suggested durians, rt? hav abt tat will help bb put on weight. no harm trying i think.

as for help, it all depends on ur financial situation oso. of cos it's gd to hav more hands ard to help, whether it's preemie bb or normal bb.it can b soooo tiring, esp in the first 3 mths (at least it's 4 me,cos my ger q difficult & naughty in the early months). r u gg back to work or r u a SAHM? who'll b taking care of ur bb if u r gg back to work? u need a person whom u can trust to take care of bb so tat u can work peacefully. discuss w ur hubby & do something both of u r comfortable w..

Angel,
Relieved that things hv been happening for you..tink its not a must for you to move to the obstetrics ward unless you really want to..

The other time, Doc Loh said it was up to me whether i wanted to change ward but i was used to the status quo and decided to remain where i was as I din want to get reaquainted wif a new environment again..

But of cse, everyone's situation is different..see wat Doc Loh or Kwek say whether its advisable for you to move or not...

hi angel,

about the high risk consultation. i had one done that time too...

what happen to me is i was 'admitted' into the delivery suite (not obstertrics) ward on the 11 day as my waterbag level was really low... then...i stay for 1 day and that evening i hit high fever...hence..my boy came out...

angel...just stay cheerful.

as for the home help. i think....best is really get someone reliable. but still i think budget is still something that we should put into consideration.

i don't mind sharing. i kind of lucky because i got my mum to help me. and i toke in a maid (suppose to help my mum do housework etc) but sigh..this maid is more of trouble than help. so i am thinking of changing a new maid :p (2nd change liao)

having care for my boy for 1mth plus (after he was discharged), i wish to share with you...do not put too much stress onto yourself just because ashley 'could be' a premmie....they are just baby who can be difficult to handle at times. otherwise..they are just babies...

i am not sure if the mummies here agree with me on my above statement. but generally i think we should just treat our baby like normally baby and just provide good care...there is really no need to 'specially' look for someone who can take care of premature babies...to me...there is no such person in this world :p if that person is good with bb...she is good lor..

thanks angel, i was also presribed the aspirin, but after takind for 2 weeks, i ahve nose bleed, bad one.... blood was dripping or rather flowing from my nose and it took me 40 min to stop the bleeding.... then i got scared and consulted dr loh. happened i have appt with him the following day. he reluctantly allowed me to stop the medication but we know he wants me to continue one. so after stopping the aspirin for 3 das, the nosebleed has stopped. i took 1 dose again this morning... hope i don't have bloody encouter again tomorrow. i promised huby whenever nose doesn't bleed, i'd take the aspirin, but on the days when i t bleed i'd skip the dosage...... cos the sight of the watery blood flowing frmo ym nose is too scary.

I have been following your posts too. i know you are going through alot now. be strong. Ashley will be ok. let's have faith. I'm praying for you too.

Harlo,
So nice that there are so much sharings around here....so heartwarming...

Angel,
Share wif you my experience can?Hp you dun read the posts until blur blur

About my maid: I got a philipino who is not a trained nurse or midwife and neither has she worked in Singapore before..She worked in UAE though before coming here..

So far, touch wood, or maybe my standards are pretty low..shes okay....

i think i shared wif you on whether i shld hire a professional nurse or someone trained to help me but the lovely nurses at nicu/scn always told us dun worry, if the bb can be discharged..treat them like a normal bb...

The most important thing is whether the maid is energetic and has the strength to look after a newborn...and whether she is willing to learn or not...

U can always bring the maid to the hospital for some hands on when bb is ready to go back....

Take things slowly one at a time..now its not the time to worry abt the maid issues yet....After she comes out, settle down and for all you noe..the issues will resolve themselves one by one...Dun tink too much..just hv a good rest and concentrate on keeping Ashley in the safe comfort of your womb..

This thread moves so fast.
I saw the table which naddy prepared yesterday and today it is in the archive!!

Chloe and Mesh
I am a mother of twins and it was a complicated pregnancy.
Having multiples is double/ triple the JOY and double/ triple the TROUBLE.
Lots of risk involved.
Mesh you are in good hands. KKH is one of the best around.

Lindah
Both my boys had ROP stage 2 and had the laser done by the Eye Specialist.
Both can see very well now, although younger twin has lazy eyes on one side.

Angel
I stayed in the delivery suite for quite a while. I was having contractions and they need to put me on drip to stop the contractions.
I prefer the delivery suite because it is quieter than the C class ward. It is comparable to Flying First Class Vs Economy Class. Haha...
I had lots of privacy there and hb can stayed overnight in the suite with me.

I echoed Jane and Costa on the domestic help issue.
There is no such special person who can look after the bb except the mummy.
Ashley will most likely be in hospital for a period of time. She will receive all the attention there.
During that period of time, your main task is to provide Ashley with breast milk. Eat well, rest well and keep pumping.
The hospital will discharge Ashley when they think that she is ready to go home.
And once she is home, treat her like a normal baby. A maid who has experience in handling babies should be able to do the task well.
If you know of a reliable maid, then it is good to engage her to help out.
Dun worry abt the maid issue for now... Concentrate to do what you are doing now... REST and Think POSITIVE.

On a separate issue My jaws drop when I read about the perks which your aunties maid is enjoying! The only perk which my maid enjoys is a S$10 phone card every mth to call home. Am I ill treating my maid? Haha...

Hi Costa, I am not staying near yu guo, but no choice, between eating lung tonic medicine, and bringing son to yu guo, I rather build up his immune system the natural way. I don't know how effective, but hope it helps together with the vitamin C syrup.

Lindah, I understand your concern about your work. I worry a lot about my performance too because I have been taking quite a lot of childcare leave because my boy got sick quite often. But family comes first. If I were you, I don't think I have the mood to go work. Hope your boy goes home soon.

Angel angel, still giving you my moral support. Hang in there!

Oh btw, forgot to say, it is not painful at all for the drip. I have taken it before, just a bit of pain (dun even remember)...

Dun worry!

Harlo, Kkf and Twins Mummy,
I just pmed you.....can check?

Kkf,
agree wif you...after everythg is over, mummies will forget the pain..right?

Angel,
Hang in there..u are doing well....!!!!

Angel,
agree w mich, pls REST, EAT WELL & THINK POSITIVE.after bb ashley is born,u try to take more fluid (ie. fish soup),so tat u can hav more milk 4 her.for the first few days,pump every 3hrs.yes,even if the flow is not there yet,b persistent & patient & try to pump every 3 hrs,the milk WILL COME. i rem i was telling pple i'm a "LUCKY" mommy who gets to go out everyday during my confinement cos i delivery milk to my ger everyday haha.

hi hi!

thks, kkf. i hope he bottle well then i will be in better mood, at least. wont pull long face at boss.

hi mich. stage 2 ROP oso got laser? thought stage 3 and abv onli?

costa, i took your advice. meeting SLT tmr at 11am. i am on AM lv tmr because i have mtg in PM. was actually hoping for PM leave. ;P i wish can work from home. hehheh. dun have to rush here and there. anyway hopefully can learn how to stimulate his face so tt he can bottle better faster. ;)

angel, mesh, strive on. ;)

angel, abt the maid, i think you have to weigh whether you can afford that maid lor... if can afford then ok. it's always better to have a caregiver whom you can trust. if cannot afford, can teach another maid instead. these things difficult to say also. maid quality realli depends on luck. some paid not-so-well but work very well and truly care for kids. some pay more, given more perks, still create problems. me depending on mother and father as caregivers. a bit worried cos they are quite old and may not fully understand all the things doctor warn us abt, but at least they will treat baby like their own. my maid is more to do housework and maybe watch baby for short periods of time. anyway u still have time to think abt it... dun worry abt it yet. during mat lv, you can think abt it more. ;) 3 mths of thinking before you go back to work (or not go back to work, depending). ;)

lindah,
sayang sayang..dun be bad mood lah...lidat affect yr bb also...

anyway, hope the slt can further advise you on wat to do as i told you they taught me some facial massage to do at home but sad to say, smtimes i also forgot to do.....

Costa
Checked and replied.

Kkf
How old is Dash? Very cute leh....
Hope the photo motivates the mummy here and reassured them that their bbs will be fine

Lindah
Yes, Stage 2 approaching Stage 3.
They advised to do the laser to avoid it getting worse.