Premature babies support group

Good morning, everyone,
Didi,i tried to log on at home on wkends but my laptop dun noe why cant log on..tink i am not computer savvy...

Naddy,
Welcome back, i was about to ask the mummy who did the table for us to come back heh heh...

You got my data right..just add in 8 wks for SCN and 14wks in NICU....if i am not wrong as my bb had spent 5 months and a wk in KKH after birth...

Didi,
I din really "so" my bb's head as it seems okay to me after his discharge from kk as they had done a good job or changing his position after every feed...

hi good morning mummies.

:-( jane no good mood today cos my boy down with cough (last week he had a 'asthma' espisode) and running nose since sunday. gosh...don't know what is happening..my boy seem not well lately.... if he still not ok by tomorrow..i shall bring him to KKH lung specilist liao...sigh...

angel - hows your day??

irene - wow congrats!!...do keep us posted on your pregnancy stage.

didi - about the tongue sticking out ahhaah..don't know if u seen the pic i post of my boy sticking out his tongue haha...i think its just plain naughty :p they playing with their mouth and tongue (nothing to play mah) keke

yvonne - my boy is ok...just not very well lately lor...actaully the dietrian have intention to discharge my boy this July...but i think for the neo nat side (given my boy has wheezing espisode) maybe won't be dischrage so soon. thou in terms of weight gain, my boy is already on par with the bb of his age...

hello everyone. been MIA since last week, i had MC - stomach flu (and infected 4 other colleagues) and went malacca on fri for best fren's wedding (went in the afternoon after 2pm, and return before 6pm the next day to visit my baby in SCN). Tired and din logon over the weekend. You guys were really doing active posting.

angel, take care. maybe try think abt other things may help? maybe an MP3 will really help. must be very sian there doing CRIB all the way. keep on perservering, ok! ;)

irene, so happy for you! congrats and best wishes for the next 9 mths, ok! i oso want 2nd one but not yet lah. my baby is 2 days corrected age. heheh.

my son started bottling on thurs night shift. but he's not taking it well. he feeds on 48ml very three hours. can only manage 10ml before he desats too much. so the nurse will feed him the rest via tube. dunno how long he will take to bottle well. he cant coordinate well yet. but very cute lah. yest, he had bottling at 5pm. so at 8pm, he cry like crazy for his milk. we fed him thru tube, but he's opening his mouth like searching for something. i thot - wah so on, want to try bottling again. heheh. any mummies got stories on bottling to share?

i am finally scheduled for the parents support meeting starting tonight. i hope it's a sign my baby will be discharged soon. ;)

Harlo, Lindah,
welcome back..got yr text message yterday and hope that you are ok.....stomach flu dem jialuck..so you still breastfeeding or not..

me down wif a flu and my head so painful, still must come to work.....

let him take his time lah, becuz he was on ventilator for so long and not used to feeding by bottling...its a learnt skill you noe to coordinate breathing, sucking and swallowing....

You are going for the meeting already..congrats.....its quite interesting where there wld be counsellors, lactation consultants to talk about different topics...

did the speech and learning theraphist come to talk to you?

Jane,
After my son's last SLT appt, they supposed to call me to arrange for another session around april, may, then they never called me..Dun noe i shld call them and let them noe i am still around or not?

hi lindah, wow...so your boy is bottling liao and sound like he wanan the teats (opening his mouth). looks like soon he be on way home liao.

ya, the parents support good is a good session to attend.

costa - talking abt this. why they never scheudled SLT for my boy har? so far, only see neo nat, eye doc, physio thereaphist and dietrician and of course the ENT side. i wonder....do all bb see the SLT? i am seeing the SLT at the other side thou

hi costa,

tks for your sms. yes. i am ok but my colleagues still sniffing away. hope i dun geddit back. why cant you take MC? big presentation or big meeting today? i wanted one day MC, but Dr str8 away gv me two days esp since her record states i shud still be preg in May. she was v sympathetic when i told her my baby came out at 24weeks. Quite lucky get lady doctor. so understanding. I am so sick of being sick tho. want to carry my son also cannot.

strangely, the nurses haven't referred my baby to the speech therapist yet, altho on thursday before they tried bottling, they did say they will refer to the therapist if he cant bottle well. anyway i will wait and see.

i am still expressing EBM. getting between 37 to 42ml every three hours. the neo nat gave me 2nd dosage of DOMPERIDONE, but i haven't taken it. Will take it when i am desperate.

SLT follow up, is not for long, is it?

sometimes KKH is not very prompt at calling up outpatients. A year and a half ago, my PAP Smear had inconclusive results, they din call me. at my next gynae appt, i had to quiz them on it. and then they told me had to take PAP Smear again. I actually cried that time because I thot got something wrong. So angry tt time, esp since i was stressed since i was on clomid.

hi jane

ya... cute right, still havent learn how to coordinate still want to try again. hehheh.

yes, hope my son will go home soon, but i din noe got so many specialists to see. Must be very costly.

Jane, they never schedulated SLT for your boy as he was bottling very well..the onli reason they did this for my son was because he wasnt coordinating well and at that time upon discharge..he kena cough and also exposed to a doctor who had chicken pox...so alot of tai jee...so must follow up...

Lindah,I am self employed, cant take too much leave..customers not happy if i always away...

Dun worry about the costs..m sure you must hv downgraded to C class right?the appointments are priced about $20 or so and unless got scans or ultrasounds, then it wld be more expensive...if not, it shld be quite affordable...

as time goes by, the appointments wld be less and less.....dun worry....settle one thing at a time first.....

hi naddy,
was thinking of doing up such a table over the weekend.but was so bz no time to login. glad there's a volunteer there. ya,more convenient,no need to scroll up & down..
pls help to update mine:
DOB:25/Feb/2006
birth wt: 1450g
born in wk: 34
length of stay: 2.5wks NICU,0.5wks nursery

notice u used 'grammes' instead of 'kilogrammes'when we talk abt our bb's birth wt.i rem the time when my ger was in NICU,i called up & chk on her wt daily. whenever there's an increase, whether it's 0.02kg (20g) or 0.05kg (50g) i'll b like sooo happy. my BIL was commenting,amazing to b measuring them in decimal place. when she came home, my hubby even joked tat need to bring her to NTUC to weigh - the veg section, where they hav electronic weighing machines haha.

hi lindah,
ya, ur boy wans to suckle,means it's a good sign.prob when he's slightly bigger, nurses will allow u to BF directly. when i was in Mt A, there's this technique called "kangaroo care",when they took off the bb's clothes & urs, then the bb will b lying on ur chest & u can cuddle her & she'll fall asleep on u. when i did tat to my gal, she zzz real well. but it's bit tough & weird holding on to the little ger. bit scared 2, as we were 1st time parents & dun really know how to handle a newborn, wat's born such a small bb.. but it's good experience lor. bb supposed to b more attached to u with constant kangaroo care.

hi costa..actually i tell u ler. when my boy discharged on last Nov. he was still not bottling well but still i bring him home then i used the 'very not rite' way to bottle him lor..then i just buy the pigeon teat (that the SLT ask me to buy) to bottle him lor... then about last month, i go and poke the hole to M size (he is now only drinking M size..) but since no SLT called me...erh think maybe next month or so, i will poke the teat to L size keke :p

lindah, not that much appointment (it only sound like a lot) normally they will try arrange the dietrician and physio and neo nat in one day... but if your boy is doing ok (to me it sound he is really doing well..wanting the teat so much, am sure he is making the sucking motions?? ;-)? about cost...like costa say, hope you are already subsidised. because i am (as i was in C class when i give birth to my boy).

but cost is not to worry...most important your boy now bottle...oh, he is off the respirtory? think you can look forward to him home sweet home...

disneymickey, ya....imagine, my boy too is weight by grammes and when he came out..is under grams not even KGs....yesterday brought him to PD (he wheeze la sigh)...then he weight 8.9KG (KG hahahah!!)

but costa, in your email signoff, thot you are employee, not self-employed... i say... self-employed oso very tuff. thot if own business, hv more free time but actually must work double.

costa, jane, yes i am in C-class. so i guess the bills wont b so bad. ;)

jane, my baby seem to like the pacifier. but the poor thing dunno how to breathe when suckling.

disneymickey, i asked the KKH staff if they do kangaroo care, but they don't. no private room to do it oso... so a bit paisei. i do plan to do it when he comes home, tho.

I look foward to my baby being weighed in KG too!

Hi Naddy,
thanks for doing up table. i will prob only provide update after my baby is discharged. ;)

jane,
my son is off the ventilator, CPAP and oxygen hood. he's now on nasal canula. fluctuates between 0.1 to 0.3. during bottling, they have to raise the level, so i guess they wont be taking out the nasal canula just yet.

hi naddy,
dunno if it's 2 sensitive to other mommies, maybe u can add a colum to ur table, current age & weight? i tot it'll b like an assurance for ur preemies' mommies, to know our little ger/boi is "normal", else if we compare to normal birth bb, ours will b like very very small?
wat do other mommies think?

Hi Disneymickey,

My dd was also in Mt A. The nurses also recc kangaroo care. I did it for 4 months. I love it. The baby mimicks our breathing so it's good for her lungs. Even my mom does it for her but with clothes on lah. hahaha....

Ya. Everytime the Neo Nat (Dr Terence Tan) calls me to say how many grams she put on, I'll be over the moon. But when her weight remains the same, my mood gets sober. I actually bought a bb weighing scale so as to put my heart at ease. Mine is not the digital one. So not so expensive. It's a little over $100.

Hiaz. Those were the days....

BTW, congrats Irene!

Lindah, you are partly correct also...me m self employed but employed under an organisation....just working under commission basis...no business means no pay....so wking office hours....machiam like insurance agent lidat...

Hows yr boy's hernia?Okay?

disneymickey,
good idea for us to include current age and weight..

hi lindah, wow....if he like the pacifier..that is a good sign. cos my boy din like it (from start) and he love his fingers :p. pacifier can quit but finger difficult keke...

costa...am bringing my boy to see the lung specilist this afternoon....just to be assured he is ok la...wow i am taking so much time-off. so pai say...think this year performance bonus sure gone. but so long my boy is ok, i guess i just be happy for monthly pay la :p

juz curious,for those mommies who stayed in KKH, u stayed in B or C class? cos the NICU rate is tagged to mommie's rm rate rt? but do u get a designated doc/gynae? then got specific pd attached to ur bb in NICU?
cos the last time gynae actually recommended KKH to save cost. but we were q reluctant cos my gynae can't go into KKH. & we chk out a pd (recommended by SIL),he say my ger prob will stay in NICU/nursery abt 1mth. anyway, we couldn't go KKH cos there was a triplets delivered then. maybe it's 1 of u mommies here?

costa,

oic! no wonder. i thot most org will at least give basic pay and basic benefits like MC and all that. i guess basic pay wont be enough.

hernia seems to have reduced alot. doctor still havent said anything abt surgery yet ever since the last time.

Naddy
Please include my details:

Nick: Mich
DOB: 31 Jan 2005
Gender; 2 boys
Birth Weight: 600g and 720g
Born: 25 weeks
Length of stay: 3.5 mths in NICU & SCN

Someone asked about weights, I look back at past records. My boys weighed 8Kg and 7.5 Kg at Corrected age 6 mths.
Hope this act as a good indicative to you all.

Any one heard from Angel?

DisneyMickey
Yes, the NICU rate at KKH is tagged to the ward that the mummy stayed. Regardless of choice of ward, all babies in NICU received the same treatment and attention.
Yes, my boys were assigned to a neonatologist each at NICU.
I was in C Class and my boys bill in KKH was about $50k.
Your bb bill at Mt A must be very expensive.

mich,
my bb's bill (for total 3 wks stay) is abt $10k,lucky thing is,can deduct CPF.we pay like $2-$3k cash.
wow,ur boys' weight ok la,my ger now coming to 15mths,still hasn't touched 8kg yet.

Dear mummies

how has your weekend been?

Due to my CRIB status, I'm not allowed to even sit up so my hubby kept me away from the laptop the entire weekend! I'm secretly using it now that he's away at work but in very awkward position lor - typing while lying sideways...very slow and quite strenuous on my wrist but I think of you all everyday cos I know so many of you are rooting for me and baby Ashley!

Quick update from me - Dr Kwek the twin specialist came this morning to check on me and reassured me that things are fine. In fact, he's arranging for another scan for me later this afternoon to check on Ashley's growth. She turns 23 weeks tomorrow and if everything goes well, on 23w5d, Dr Kwek will give me a steroid jab to mature Ashley's lungs just in case she comes out early. As the day draws nearer, I'm getting more anxious...continue to pray for me ya mummies? Your posts and support mean so much to me

hi angel :)) horray!! ashley is turning 23weeks, well done. continue to believe. you have us....do keep us posted on the scan result this afternoon. things will be ok (with all the mummies behind you). Ashely, make the possible come true okie. everything be just ok.

i am just happy that you are reading our posts...don't strain yourself...jsut continue to read our post...

hi mich, my boy born at 26 weeks. now corrected abt 6 mths. weighing about 8.9 kg... so i think the weight is about there...

angel...you are being think by all of us everyday really... mummies yeah!

'flying kiss for ashley'. mummy tummy is where u must be till 30weeks at least ok....auntie jane can be quite fierce (Though at time auntie jane very wacky). be good girl ah...

this afternoon i won't be in office. but... tomorrow i be in...

mummies, for angel...let's keep talking...so angel and ashley can have something new to read everyday....

hi angel!

it's good to hear the good news! so fast 23rd week already! ;) Take care and dun worry too much. ;) we will pray for you and Ashley.

Angel,
U are always in our thoughts and minds...every forumer here is rooting for you.....

u are in good hands..the lungs are the last organs to mature, so this steroid jab is very very important to Ashley....so watever it is, just loon and bear it well, okay...

Tell Ashley tt her kor kor and jie jie are all waiting to see her and play wif her...

Your updates mean alot to me also as i was in the same position as you last year around tis time...

Angel
Good to hear from you.
23 weeks!! Well done!
As per Costas message, the Jab is very important.
Do remember to remind Dr Kwek in case it slips his mind.

Disney
Does you girl go back to Mt A for reviews?
I guess if the doctors said the weight is ok, then it shd be of no concern.
Girls are generally lighter and smaller in size I reckon.

Jane
Lung Specialist? Who is that?
Do you need to make an appointment to see him or her?
Reason I am asking is because we bought my elder boy to A&E last week. His temperature soared up to 39.7.
They did an X ray and found out his lungs is quite phlegmy.
You all know lah... Preeemies have chronic lung disease etc. So when I heard the word Lungs phlegmy I get very gan cheong.
Fully recovered now but I thought of seeking a second opinion on his lungs.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Baby's DOB</TD><TD>Gender </TD><TD>Birth Weight</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Length of Stay </TD></TR><TR><TD>mich</TD><TD>31-Jan-05</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>600g&720g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>NICU&SCN-3.5mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>yvonne (voncm)</TD><TD>24-Aug-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1480g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>NICU-8wks, SCN-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>disneymickey</TD><TD>25-Feb-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1450g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2.5wks, SCN-0.5wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>naddy (telly)</TD><TD>16-Mar-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1136g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2wks, SCN-4wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>stressed</TD><TD>31-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1890g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>NICU-13days </TD></TR><TR><TD>costa</TD><TD>22-Jun-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>750g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>NICU-14wks, SCN-8wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>jane (neoah)</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>985g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>NICU-2mths, SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>jolene (joleoh)</TD><TD>08-Oct-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1645g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>puppyduppy</TD><TD>16-Oct-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>irenelovej</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy </TD><TD>1600g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>geraldine</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy&Girl</TD><TD>1500g & 1700g</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>NICU-6wks </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi all mommies!

That's the table again!

Did I miss any mommies who provided details or did I make a mistake? I hope not!

hi disneymickey!
In the original table, I had a column for complications our babies faced but it made the table so long that I'm afraid some of us who use smaller screens will have to scroll left and right to read each post. So, I decided not to add any moe details to keep it simple. That's why I did not add the weight at the various corrected age. Maybe I'll make another table for that? I'll see of there's a great demand first, okie?

hi yvonne and costa!
wow! this thread has evolved so much within the past few months. had this thread been around when my girl was born, it would have been such a greatform of support!!

hi angel,
I cant even begin to imagine what you had gone through and what you are going through now. I was put on CRIB for one week before my delivery and it was already driving me nuts. You are definitely made of sterner stuff and you will emerge from all this with beautiful baby Ashley smiling and cooing at you in your arms! Don't be sad, okay?
Is there any way that you can keep yourself occupied that doesnt take too much energy? How about reading? You can read lighthearted romance novels - not the super trashy ones cos we dont want Ashley to know all about the birds and the bees at such a young age, do we? ;) I'll be going to KKH this Friday and I can get you some novels if you want. Or, I can give you a list of lighthearted reads to keep the smile on your face.

disneymickey,
like many others here, i went for C class too when i knew that my daughter would be spending time at NICU. the labour ward nurses were wonderful and so were the nurses at NICU and SCN.

but the C class nurses were just sooo nasty. if they are not nasty, they have no time for you. one nurse was particularly sarcastic. GGRRRRRRR.. but i told myself to just endure all these for the sake of my baby.

Hi, any mummies here uses any bumbo seat for your bbs ? wonder if it is helpful is correcting their postures ? thanks

morning mommies,

mich,
nope,din go back mt a 4 any review.went to a pd recommended by colleague (his clinic's in TMC).told my gynae i wanted this pd,so he was notified to b ard when i had my c-section. then we continue to c him till now.plan to continue w him,till finish all jabs.

gg to c pd again this week,for last dose of the Pneumococcal jab.will get an update of her wt & height.but not expecting much,esp the weight part haha

angel,
the jab 2 strengthen ashley's lungs v impt.i had 2 jabs 1wk b4 i was scheduled to op.when my girl came home & cried so loudly,we joked tat the jabs work

didi,
my BIL passed a bumbo seat 2 us,but my ger dun like leh. but i c it v useful 4 my nephew though.he could sit in it while they fed him cereals. guess my girl 2 active,can't sit still.oso,my nephew is bigger size,so his thighs r like 'stucked' in the seat,so he can't move out,whereas my girl being skinny,she could actually manuvour out of the seat.so not tat safe 4 my case. think u no need to worry abt posture,cos bumbo seat is meat 4 bb who can't really sit yet. so when they r bigger & can sit well, guess they'll correct their posture then.

good monrning mummies

hi mich - this lung specialist actually has all along been looking after my boy since his birth. but i (cross fingers) have so far only brought my boy to see her (its when needs arise) 2 times. one if feb and one is yesterday. she is 'assisgned' to so call monitor my boy lung condition as he had CLD mah. she is assigned by the neo nat at KKH...

so anything on lung..i will go to her (instead of going to the neo nat)

mich. i belive this lady (her name is Jenny Tang) see private patient too... but erh...am not really sure if she does :p. if you wish (if really need be) perhaps you can call up KKH and enquiry.

didi, haha me wanted to buy the bumbo seat for my boy earlier but still never buy. by the way, bumbo seat can be rented hehe (if u need to test test water haha)

hmm...ah ya mummies, todate i still have not brought my boy for the Pneumococcal jab ler (cos my boy still not finish the 5-1 plus he not very well lately sigh)...

good moring angels :)) its another new fresh day. start your day with a smile ;-)

naddy, thanks for your effort in compiling the table..really appreciate it...

Angel,
Just hang in there..minimise any movements which would cause vibrations and contractions of the womb..we can understand if you hv no time to reply us..there wld be plenty of chances next time...

Rest, rest and rest well....

costa, it's my pleasure!

didi, about the bumbo - i rented for my daughter for one month. i rented from www.rent-that-toy.com. it used to be $8/month but now they have increased their rental for everything. the good thing about this company is there's no deposit to pay.

Jane,ar,
Hows the visit to the lung specialist?did she say anythg?

i texted you yterday you hvnt replied me leh....

jane,
the Pneumococcal jab if taken b4 3mths,need to take 4jabs ($168per jab),if b4 1yr, take 3x,after 1 yr,take 2x.i stupid stupid,went to take when my ger was 11mths! got to pay another $168 but no choice la,cos i kept 4getting abt this jab.

now considering whether to let her take the chkn pox jab or not

hi costa.

jt say my boy lung clear...cos before i went for her appointment, i already seen a PD on last sunday. then he is already dosing on the sabuotmol puff... jt give him another puff which will have preventive measure to keep cough and such at bay for my boy. then she will see him in July again for review.

kekeke..sorry sorry. answer is a yes, 3 person with one bb hahaha...

hi disneymickey, hmmm..frankly for me is because my boy taking 5-1 at polyclinic (polyclinic no offer the jab) hence todate i still have not bring him to private PD/KKH for the Pneumococcal jab.... my boy is turning 9 mths old. i am really thinking of bringing him for the jab once he better...someitme, cost cannot be avoid after all this jab is good for him...

frankly, if paying money can cure/prevent him from falling sick...well...money can be earn pah....

oh hmm...chicken pox is another one i am thinking too. but my mum is not very encourge about me letting my boy take it. the reason is..i myslef is JAB with the chicken pox jab, yet i still get chicken pox hahahaha...but ya, i am considering letting my boy take the chicken pox jab

harlo, everyone...

is it the ckn pox jab can onli be taken after the child turns one?Can any mummies enlighten me?

My boy has taken the ckn pox jab at kkh..wonder if it was okay as there was a doctor who was down wif ckn pox and they jabbed the bbs who cld hv been exposed to the virus...

Jane,
for yr reply...

hi costa

wow so ur boy is jab with the chicken pox jab liao..that save u trouble ler....

hehe...sorry for the late reply. my boy really needs lots of attention lately...

hey hey...i am thinking of buying a 'used' lucky baby reversible sling from one of the forum mother...anyone here using this sling? can enlighten me if its good? or is a sarong better??

Jane,
thats wat i tink they did, leh?jabbed him wif the ckn pox jab..dun noe now how to find out, maybe ask the neo nat on our next visit there...

hi costa.

ya. only way probably is to check with the neo nat hor...

wow..me also not feeling very good..chiam. but frankly, i rather i sick than my boy sick...:p