Premature babies support group

hi hi costa, days at kkh...realy...sometime i think back.... anyway, ya, angel, we are all behind u all the way :))

angel..stay happy :)

I'm so glad I found the courage to post here - and I'm so touched that you all took time off your busy schedules and risk 'opening' your old wounds to write me...thank you so much for each of your your responses...

Costa de Sol, you're right, you and I may be the LONGEST stayer at KKH...I'm into my 4th week, with another 6 weeks to go, making it a total of 42 days (should baby Ashley cooperates and continues to fight on). It's quite boring at days, I read, eat, sleep, pray, listen to songs and sometimes reply emails (thank God a close friend lent us his laptop to keep in touch with the world). So do post often and keep me company.

Reading each of your birth stories inject so much new hope in me that I too can make it..you know, after 2 devastating losses, I really don't want to keep my hopes high but yet I have to or else my baby can feel it. In my 1st 2 weeks after losing Joash (while my body's still trying hard to fight off infections), I cried everyday and refused to 'talk' to Ashley...I am afraid of getting too attached to her lest she be taken away as well...but surrounded by the love and prayers of so many well-wishes (some we know, some we don't, like you ladies from the forum), I picked myself up and looked forward. See where I am, 4 weeks on and baby Ashley's still growing! So thankful to God for sustaining her life...

Doc Kwek came this morning to check on me. He said the next 2 weeks are very crucial - I've to especially watch out for onset of contractions and any membrane (waterbag) breaking/leaking because they can be triggered off anytime without warning (since my cervix is still dilated). So mummies, in your prayers for us, please include these 2 items k? All of you are so courageous and it's through your courage to share your story that gives meaning to the trials that we go through, agree? Thanks again for the support. I'm due for my fortnightly scan later this afternoon, will post the results tomorrow.

HI. angel.
jia yu, you can make it, we all hope you be strong and will pray for you and Ashley too.
I am also have twins which born in 30weeks. one 1.51kg and another one 1.19kg. Now they was 9month. I am also because of 3cm dilated. After 3hour was full dilated, so was deliver by natural. My boys stayed hospital 57days. All the mummies here have the hard time during our baby born.
Dont worry. rest more, sure you can meet your baby after 28weeks.
Jia yu, Jia yu.jia yu.
jane,
ur boy size was same with my 1st twins , but active as my 2nd twins.
Now my 2nd twin was lose the weight. now only 6.4kg because of cough. he like the cereal but reject the milk bottle. very jialat, now he look like very thin after sick, now still got some phelgm, I only give him one time of ventolin only, cos afraid too many western medicine was not gd for him. some time he still vomit out the milk after cough, will you boy like that too? How's his cough?

Angel,

I hope that u can stay longer in the hospital...tis can only mean that Ashley is fighting on and staying long in mummy's womb will mean even better development for her...must talk to her, ask her to stay on be like aunty costa's boy.....

Doc Kwek is really very very nice..everytime i see him, i thank him for all that he has done....If you see him again, tell him i send my regards to him and tell him that he has to repeat wat he has done for me for you or even better...and i really really hold him in vy vy high respect for all that he has done for me...he has performed a miracle on me...he will for you as long as you got the faith...

Try not to move about so much..guess u must be complete bedrest.....

Get more monitoring if you feel you need it, last time i insisted that they monitor my bb's heartbeat twice a day......wif the heartbeat monitor...we have the right to make us feel assured..correct?

Will pray for you......now everythg may seem dark and gloomy..the light at the end of the tunnel is coming...For me, it has been a year but i dun mind opening old wounds if this can give you the courage to fight on....

I never knew that i wld hv the courage to fight on...all the gals i knew on the forum prayed for me and now we will all pray for you...

Do contact me if need be, okay..dun be shy...

hi angel...do keep us posted on the scan result this afternoon...i be here refreshing the site for your updates.

hi jacelyn - haha. ya...i notice they the same size too but my boy cannot sit on his own yet. my boy latest weight taken at the PD was about 8.6kg (his weight seem to be maintaing). my boy still also have some phelgm. was sharing with the mummies ... i now let him take chinese medicine, ho zao shan to clear the phelgm...this mroning his phelgm seem not so bad liao. oh, upon the PD suggestion. i have stop ventolin (because his feet shake)...

my boy..after stopping ventolin will not vomit out the milk..i think ventolin must taste horrible :p.

hmm...send hugs to ur 2nd twin....hope both boys recover soon...

stuipd phelgm..

Hi angel,
since u r warded,try not 2 worry 2 much (i know, it's easier said than done).like wat costa say,the longer u stay,means bb ashley is growing in u..endure 4 your bb's sake.trust the docs there,i'm sure they hav so much experience w premies tat they'll know wat to do.

my bb was borned @34wks & stayed in NICU for 3wks.i cried every nite b4 she came home,worried when every morning NICU/pd call me to inform her weight.

when bb ashley is born, u'll b 2 bz & happy looking after her tat u'll surely 4get all these worries soon.
take care!

angel...wanna tell you, today the sky is clear. i am sure, the scan result will be as clear and as nice as the weather today.

oh...hmmm...i don't mind saying. i have a sis working in KKH. costa have my contact. if you really do need any help (to buy anything or what), costa know how to reach me....i can ask my sis to help you...

Jane,
Ya, forget to tell you that my 1st twins know how to flip liao. he just start turm his body. but only know flip and turn , but dont know how to turn back. ha,ha, look like very heavy. but I am very happy cos I afraid he have turning problem before that, cos now alreally 9month. I will see how first, maybe I will give 2nd twins some houzaosan and baoyintan, maybe better, I afraid too much western medicine will let him more weak. so poor that now he never put on weight, only his brother was, oh, my 1st twins only 7.7kg, not yet 8kg.

hi costa

yar, it's tough, i still think of him. Do u intend to tell ur children about their sibling? i am keeping all the ultrasounds and i thought i will share with my twins when they are older. i thot should let them know of their little brother cos he was so strong and a brave fighter... But i am not sure how to go about telling them though...

Chloe,
Yes i intend to tell my kid about the brother they lost......my elder son noes but dun seem to appreciate the meaning of it...

Sigh....guess we hv to appreciate wat we have more...

Angel,
Be strong, we'll pray for u.
i passed thro a terrible experience too. I was considered lucky even though at the end i still hav to deliver the baby earlier. My baby was stopped growing at gestational 30wks. Upon a check up at 31 wks, i've to rest at home (anyway going to work oso cannot concentrate). crying n worrying everyday... at 33 wks, went for another check up and confirm nothing to do to get the baby cont' growing. was being closed monitored for 1 wk, take steriod jab to strengthen baby's lung, and eventually, water level drop in a drastical rate and hav to deliver the baby at 34 wks, at 1.6kg (which is the weight of a baby of 30wks).
he was so small on delivered, i can't stop crying n worrying till his discharge. now, he's an active naughty 1 YO boy, development on track and has been declared 'no corrected age' required. so hang on and stay positive. sun w shine 1 day.

hi jacelyn, its only real recent (that pic when he is on his tummy is taken just last week) that my boy really able to flip. he too still dunno how to flip back (so at night i am real careful keke). but well, they can flip..so wow that is a achievement liao ah...:p

mummies..does any one of u buy those bb tooth paste and tooth brush to clean ur bb teeth?

buzzbubbly,
u are here huh.....i went to your wkplace two days ago but you not there leh......

heard abt the preemie awareness day on November 17..want us to be there or not?haha..

Hi mummies, for the corrected age, is it correct that I started counting after 40 weeks (ie their EDD ?) thanks

Costa, yest very BZ hor? mia leh

Didi,
no leh, i wasnt busy at all but the thread was down due to system error...so i wanna post also cannot leh..

Jane,
forgot to answer yr question..i got the toothpaste thingy but so far hvnt used it yet as my boy bo geh..

preemie awareness day from wat i heard from one of the meesee on monday is a day where they showcase maybe stuff on preemies..to raise the awareness of the public on preemies....

can tell you some pple can be so obtuse..i hv heard of pple telling me they had never heard of bbs born so small when they can be mothers of a few kids....i really wanna pengsan..

Never read newspapers one, meh...preemies nowadays vy common, also widely reported in the media...bo meh?

hi costa... hehe i intend to get the tooth paste for my boy haha (for his 2 white one keke)

oh i see...hmmm..it wld be interesting to attend ler...

well...thats why its good to have the 'awareness' day to create awareness keke

Hi Costa,

I also had the same reaction when i tell people my dd is 1.89kg when born. Wanted to tell them "Dun be sooo sua ku. Got bbs less than 1kg somemore."

Jane,
get the 1st teeth toothpaste, come with a toothbrush that u can plug onto ur finger n brush ur boy's teeth. i;m using tat now, pretty handy. u can get 1 from those bulk purchase organized by mummies here. they get it fr drugstore.com fr US, much cheaper than u buy locally.

costa,
u r rite. indeed, lots of ppl don't know wat is premature born. my collegue who's about my age nvr know wat is premature born, so she acted like big deal when she knows my baby size is only half of hers, and keep saying "but urs is premature" when we hav conversation about baby, eg i always go to my boy's PD for his jab or during his sickness. to me, is not purely due to his premature born, but the PD is good. so she acted very serious: "urs is premature so must go back to him la.". and when we talked about baby size i always get the statement :"urs is premature of course so skinny la"... sian....

not to mention my mum n my in law. they keep saying older generation get to work till deliver (work means thouse rough work not office work) n they r so poor till no good food to eat, yet baby all so big. but y urs so small?? my mum just escape the fact of my premature born by avoiding any talk about labour n baby. (so we ended up no conversation usually). my in law make a statement tat everything not good happen on my boy(puke, drink little, ...) everything is "he is born premature, so ..."

Haiz, i also very sian keep listening to all those. the awareness day is good! let more ppl aware so they won't hav that kind of reaction to us and to our baby

jane simply want to say : they don't know how brave our babies is. Premature is not the only reason for many issues (sick, slow weight gain, late developments etc)

Jane,
oso bought the same kind of 'toothbrush' & toothpaste (they came in 1 set) as irene. was good initially.however, as my ger start having more teeth,she sometimes will bite whoever is brushing her teeth.bought a bb toothbrush (small but normal looking toothbrush) but wan to wait 4 the 1st tube of toothpaste to finish then open a new 1.

irene,
so silly of ur stupid colleage 2 keep mentioning abt ur preemie..not 2 mention the fact she shld b more sensitive & not kept talking abt it.lucky 4 me,my colleagues seem to 'forgot' tat my bb is a preemie..whenever they c my ger's photo she so skinny,they always ask if i'm not feeding her haha.then when they saw hubby's pic,they say she looks like him.

sometimes when we have colleagues who juz delivers,& we were all talking abt our bb's birth wt,n they will then 'remember' tat my ger is a preemie..

i think we dun need to be bothered by their comments lor. cos we went thru MORE THAN them ok! so we r definitely better mommies than them. we survived those difficult times, but they can't claim they can do as good as us cos they dun hav the opportunity to prove it.

n jane,pls tell those stupid pple who blame premature 4 all reasons - sick, slow weight gain, etc. do normal birth bb dun fall sick?? how silly

disneymickey,
ya, lots of silly ppl. wat to do *sigh*....

when my sis in law was pregnant, she always called the mother n their conversation over phone is always:eat more, so bb will put on more weight. how heavy is the bb now.... on her early 3rd trimester, the bb was abt 2kg. n my in law was so worry keep telling me her daughter's bb only 2 kg (but tat was on about 30+wks). one day i sian liao, i replied: isn't it good tat the bb grow till 2kg. i wanted 2 kg oso dun hav. then they keep shut up. simply nvr think of ppl's feel when they talk abt it. they juz used ur terrible experience as 'learning' to them n keep track on the bb growth w/out notice they action actually hurt ppl.
now she has give birth a giant baby gil, abt 4kg. so they r happy.

so, a lot of ppl surronding us r juz adding salt to the wound with or w/out noticing it.

irene,
ya i agree,so insensitive.luckily 4 me,my surrounding family & colleagues nev passed this type of comments.my sis-in-law actually say (dunno is it console or she really mean it),bb ger small size nev mind.even till now,my ger still very underweight so she say tall & skinny can b model haha

if u dun hav relatives/fren who has similar experiences, u can add salt & pepper nev mind,but when u know alrdy better b sensitive. u won't know wat u will kenna..

hi irene and disneymickey, thanks for sharing about the tooth brush/paste. if the BP come again, i shall buy for my boy hehe

let's not be bothered by those silly people. keke. we have no time to bother them anyway :p (they just simply too free)

hmmm...angel..angel..u there?

Harlo, all...

Yes, we shld raise the awareness of pple on preemies..

I really cannot fathom why pple still dun noe got so small babies..

anyway, there are famous pple who were born preemies like Winston Churchill, Stevie Wonder, Albert Einstein, Sir Issac Newton (his IQ was like 170)and even Mark Twain.

Last time, got not so much medical intervention and yet they can strive on so well, wat about our babies?

My colleague whose nephew was a preemie about 18 yrs old or so can actually ask me whether can my bb come out of the hospital for his one month old birthday...can you think of any remark which is more stupid than that..?cmon....yah, bring him out together wif the ventilator and the whole team of doctors and nurses?cmon, get real

Yah, alot of pple's remarks are uncalled for..let them live in their own ivory tower and be goondus...

Irenelovej,
Even my elder son is a full gestational age bb, i oso bring him to the paedi..whats wrong with being more concerned with our kid's growth and development concerns, tio bo?

If normal babies all go to gps, the paedis can chup lup (closed shop) already...i agree some GPs can be good for babies but if we are worried abt certain aspects, bringing bb to paedis wld be better choice, right?

Dear mummies

have been wanting to post but the WIFI connection here at KKH is really weak, keeps dropping so I had to keep logging in and out...finally, here I am.

Had my 22nd week growth scan done y'day at about 5.30pm. BB Ashley seems to be growing fine, somewhere near the 50th percentile (before I lost my 1st twin, she was only at the 25th percentile!). But what's worrying now is that Ashley's placenta is quite low (even my 1st baby's Joash's placenta is above her waterbag). And this morning, when the young doctor (registrar or Medical officer I think) came to make their rounds, I asked herabout it and she said, by the next scan (which I presume is in 2 week's time), if the placenta's still low, then I've to undergo an op to take the baby out (whatever that means). When I heard that, my heart sank.
We've gone thru so so much just to reach this crucial stage and I certainly dun wish anything untoward to happen to Ashley just because my womb fails her again
so you can imagine my mood today...apprehensive and scared with fears of losing yet another baby overwhelming me again...

I totally understand what you all mean when friends and relatives become insensitive...esp when they've never experienced the loss of a precious baby or they've never had problems conceiving and giving birth to a full-term baby...unlike some of us, from Day 1, gone through rounds after rounds of Assisted Fertility, then struggling to preserve the pregnancy at all costs and eventually even have to see our babies 'suffer' in NICU...well, take it that all these trials build our character, unlike those shallow people who are too blessed that they've lost the ability to think twice before they speak...

I asked my hubby to read all your postings last night and he too was very encouraged by the support and friendships I found here. To us, you all are strong pillars of strength. So thanks again and keep writing...We've decided to consult Dr SF Loh about my low-lying placenta situation and see what he advises...meantime, it's more bedrest for me I guess...

Hi Mummies, I have yet to 'kenan' these people's insensitive remarks
of course our bbs are born small cause they are born prematurely ! so simple ...... Btw, mummies can I know what FM are you feeding your bbs ? Thanks

Angel, I agreed that people (ie women) who can conceived and delivered their bbs easily will not understand nor empathise with others. But I always have this belief that all the sadness that we have gone thru now is ok as we will be sad anymore in the future and it makes us treasure our bbs even more (it just my thought),
don't worry, Baby Ashley will be a fighter too and stays with mummy, ok

Angel.
*hugz*..u hv everyone's support and encouragement here....

I hope your hb and yourself wld be encouraged by wat we hv posted here and that nothing is impossible...

Ashley is still striving well and wif the doctors' constant monitoring...and care.....you just have to rest, rest, rest and more rest...

Since you hv been on bedrest for so long, try to take movements slow and steady..get out of bed slowly and get help if needed...

i dun noe how to tell you tt wat you hv been thru, i can totally understand..if need be, do call me at any time of the day if you want somebody to talk to...

I dun tink its yr womb that is failing her..its none of yr fault at all, okay...

If in two wks time, you have to take Ashley out, she wld be the same gest age as my boy..u see my boy also can...why not ashley?
U must keep talking to ashley, let her noe that she CAN make it..just eat all the food that you can...can anybody bring you nutritious food if you are sick of the hosp food?eat all you can so that the nutrients go to her...

If the medical officer cant satisfy yr questions, go and ask Doc Kwek and Doc Loh..Some of them dun noe head or tail....just ask for the two doctors if you wanna noe anythg....okay?

u take care and your family wld be in my and in all our prayers...

hi angel

wow...ashley, auntie jane is so proud of you. you are really going to be a wonderful gal when you come out... but then, auntie jane would like Ashley to stay in mummy womb for a wee wee bit bit longer.... think ashley can understand auntie jane as mummy ready my threads hor. good gal :)

to mummy of ashley...yes, like costa say. go ask doc kwek (he see me that time too) and doc loh.

Angel. smile (i know it can be tough given that the MO pass the comments..) because its another day :))

oh hey...i know canberry juice is good to prevent infection... hmm... just a small suggestion. mummies, anyone can tell angel if its ok for her to drink at this stage?

and angel... keep smiling. u have us. even if you are unable to put up post (due to poor receptiion), you can read our posts hehe....

we really talk a lot here....from bb poo poo to bb feeding haha and of course to bb falling sick la..... but really there is lots of cheerful posts here too hehe...

and oh i wish to share with you...my boy when he is in his 25 weeks, he weigh only 500+ grams in my tummy...but wow when he come out at week 26, he weigh 980 grams WONDERS!! so...don't worry so much about the percetile...

keep on smiling..things be ok....cheer up okie

Hi Angel and mummies here,
pardon my 1st post here

Angel, I hv been reading and following your stories and I really pray very hard for bb Ashely and thk God you are saying she is 50th percentile.
Dont worry she is a great fighter and I am praying very hard for ur placentile will move up and meanwhile take gd care and rest as much as you can sis

Actually I had lost my bb in 2005 at 26th weeks,
sudden no baby movement and a day later went for scan, bb hearbeat stop.
When I was induce and labour, find out the umbilical cord get twisted and cut off oxygen supply hence my gal's didnt survive
hiaz..

I did blame myself for nt gng to hospital earlier the moment I sense something is wrong instead of delaying one more day then realise my gal's heartbeat stopped. At least I can do an emergency c section and deliver a premmie and prehaps my gal is still alive?
However I was skeptical that can 26th weeks bb can survive and prehaps this thread was set up later in 2006.
Sorry to mummies here if I hv said skeptical cos many of ur babies are so healthy and miracle to be in ur arms everyday and I really salute to you all here!

The mummies here are so so brave!!

Nw ttcing and hoping to hv gd news this yr. Yes indeed, unless mummies hv fertility problem, pre mature babies and loss their baby before will truly understand the pain and the tiring ordeal of the fertility and motherhood journey,will never be complacement and taking these details for granted.
Me too my m/c or stillborn hv taught me a very precious lesson as well.
Sorry for the long message mummies.

hi happyger, you are welcome to join our threads. sharing all story....

my boy came out on his 26 weeks. yes, mircale does happen. there is complications to deal with but well, sometime life is just not a bed of roses. we learn thru what we went thru...

do not look at the close window...step forward and look at the other door that is opening for u... :)

talk to us here more...keep us updated on your ttcing. hope to hear great news from you soon...

thks Jane
ya I am taking one step at a time and moving forward.

mind asking how come ur son born at 26th weeks?
is there any reasons behind causing premature birth?

happyger(val1977),
Good to hear from you and i hope that yr ttc efforts will bring you good news soon..

do talk to us more here...if we can help you, we will..also, i hv been thru a lot in the ttc process....

Dun blame yrself, look forward..my experience is smthg like Angel....many factors cause premature birth....beyond our control...

hi happyger,

my waterbag give way on when my boy was in his 24/25 weeks. then i was hospitalised for 12 days. doctors monitor my waterbag level closely and i was given many antibiotics to fight infection (because my waterbag leaking and bacteria goes in easily)

then on the 11th day of my being admitted, i was hit by high fever (luckly mother instinct tell me i am not well) and i quicly alarm the nurse that i am very very warm. a check at my temperature show i am having high fever. a sign of infection....

so there comes my boy via natural devliery. he was already 'engaged' and all ready to come out (without any assistance). i was not induced too... contractions just step in and i push.... out he come crying...

there after...my gyane did a check on my placenta and such. nothing wrong with me. hence todate the reason why my waterbag give way is unknown....

dr kwek etc was very surprise to see the scan (before my boy came out) that he is 'engaged' by himself. because of his prematuruity..by right, bb at this gestation shld not be engaged yet..but my boy is...so....so....so.....gynae say. perhaps reason for him coming out that early is because my boy want to come out early...

so...so happyger...stay happy ger (as your nick is). as costa say..many things is beyond our control.

frankly..to all mummies here. i never share what happen to me in the delivery ward. but...just something to share with you all...

the delivery team was all ready for C-section and etc for me...things were very tense there and then (from the moment my fever was detected). the team had urgent mtgs etc.... then the bb doc came. tell me my boy most likely will come out soon...and fairly true...less than half an hour later...contractions really come and push push..out come my boy...

i consider lucky myself because after that i realised many mummies went thru a lot during delivery....

so i think...my boy really is an angel...he love mummies so much. he din want mummy to suffer during delivery...so he make it very smooth...

i am so proud of him.

Dear Jane,
so sorry that you hv to share ur sad story with me, but thk God your baby boy is healthy now ;)
Wonder do you belive in TCM?
Actually I am on TCM now to tiao my body after m/c.
My sinseh said that even I pregnant in future, I hv to see her till the day my baby is born as to prevent any m/c.
She mention some of her patients that pregnant successfully however m/c half way if nt taking any TCM after pregnant.
She say alot of factors eg, women's environment:placenta, waterbag, uterus, umbilical cord all are very essential factors to be healthy for a baby to survive till 40 weeks.
In the past I am skeptical abt TCM and dun believe at all.
Eversince I lost my bb gal, I do alot of research regarding fertility, hormones, TCM etc...
Well even though certain things are beyond our control but heallthy lifestyle and eating habits can be cultivated =)

Hi Costa

Hmm..actually it took me ttc for 5 mths to get pregnant for that 1st time.
I was worry if I hv any fertility problems but went to chk and everything is normal.
Actually now my health and hormones are more or less stabalise after taking TCM.
But think maybe stress and my m/c history hinder me from hving another baby?
Well keeping my finger cross and pray hard for a baby soon

Wonder any of you will be planning for baby again?

hi happyger,

its okay. i don't mind sharing. because...i belive that its a journey for me in this life..

i heard of TCM. frankly, right now, i have no intention to ahve another baby so soon as my boy needs some special attention.

but i hope soon a baby would be on the way to your home :)

Jane,
ya, in fact my gynae refuse to induce labour to my boy coz she said it's too harsh for such a small baby to go thro natural delivery. even if success, the baby could hav left 'half life' only esp if the natural delivery takes long time. so ended up c-section.
i scared like hell also no choice, die die went for c-sect. somemore my gynae suggested epidural c-sect saying the medicine won't go to baby n it's better. so i die die went for c-sect consciously. i was keep shivering in the OT n the nurses gave me blanket n blanket... but i'm not cold, i'm scared!!
think of it, dunno where all the brave came. juz die die must do

hi angel,
i've said it,but will juz repeat again.. do rest well now & try to eat more more.. eat more food rich in iron,supposed to help bb put on more weight. i had pre-eclampsia on wk30.was given MC & told to rest & eat more to help my bb put on weight. i eat like 6meals a day,full of meat & tahan till wk34 then go 4 c-section cos sadly,gynae say bb is not growing. but now she's a healthy & happy (but still underweight) gal.

i agree with u, during the difficult 4wks, hubby & me always felt the pple ard us r so blessed as they dun hav to go thru this part of pregnancy. after tat,we always like to tell those ard us, count their blessings..u nev know wat's gg to happen!

after reading/joining this thread, i realized tat there are so many preemis ard & my ger is not the smallest yet. i really salute to all mommies whose bb is smaller than my ger - ur worry/agony/pain is definitely more than double of mine!

i did blame myself 4 my ger's low birth weight. but after she's discharged frm hospital, i was so bz till i 4got abt this worry very soon.

but hubby & me hav decided we r not gg to hav another bb cos we can't afford to go thru the terrible 4wks of worrying.

didi,
my gal was on full BF till abt 7mths,then i gave her BF & NAN HA2. she's supposed to go onto NAN3, but since i hav ezema, i decided to continue to give her NAN HA2 (hypo-allergic,good 4 preventing any allergies, ie. ezema) till she's 18mths, then i'll switch to NAN3. btw, she's coming to 15mths.

Hi mummies, in fact I was 'spared' all the fears, as all the delivery happened in a rush, I was rushed to KKH in an ambulance on 1st day of CNY 2007 0100hrs, then was told that needed to have a c-section, no time to be scare, ha...ha. And the next thing I know I have just delivered my bbs ? I was very worried about my bbs that I kept asking the nurse at the recovery ward near the OT 'how's is my bbs ?' in the end she says 'I will let your husband speak to you' what a eventful day.....

Hi,happyger,
I got two kids...so tink i wun be hving another kid....my health cannot take it already..

anyway, for me, its a long story, when my second water bag burst and i went into contractions...the nurse in labour ward just said it wasnt labour BUT it was....

I thot tt i can go for C section or smthg...but somehow...when Doc Kwek came, i was already dilated within minutes of removing the cerclage (the stitching they did as i had incompetent cervix), i just pushed and my bb came out...

I thot (foolishly) that maybe i will hv to wait one hour for one cm of dilation..how i noe so fast...no epidural....i was so fed up when the pain was so unbearable and yet the nurse kept saying it wasnt..when doc kwek came (with his whole entourage)..he confirmed IT WAS......and he went into action liao.....

My bb was rushed to NICU..I just remember tt after the birth, i was incoherent and machiam like unconscious and i kept asking is my bb okay continuously.....and then i was quickly wheeled to Womans ICU where in the same afternoon,then i had stitching done and then the next day then undergone a D n C to remove the placenta (as they could remove it after birth as i had to go to ICU)..My blood pressure fell dangerously low and i had blood poisoning...i was put on drips and at the ICU, was poked in the neck to detect blood pressure as they couldnt detect it anywhere else....

the drip on my neck was vy painful..imagine having a local anathesia on yr neck....at the most delicate point...like vampine got bitten lidat...

anyway, after two days at ICU, then can go back to normal ward..

then was on drips again for two wks as the blood poisoning can onli be safely out of the system in two wks.....

best part was my blood test result has to go to Tan TS hospital as kk dun hv the type of facilities....

angel

i've replied ur posting at the other thread. Rest more and please keep a positive mind. Talk to ashley, tell her u are there for her. Sing her songs or read her stories if u want, she will be happy to listen to u.
Try to engage urself with her often, time will pass by quicker this way, and can help distract urself a little from ur worries. Hang on there ok?

happyger, so sorry to hear wat u've been through. But i'm glad that u are now ttcing, hope to hear good news from u soon.

wah all mummies here birth stories are all so drama!
well I thot mine was cos I actually was induce on my 2nd yr of wedding annivesary.
thank God for blessing all of you the precious ones
Well mine still got to wait,hee..keepnig the faith

Chloe,
The pain is really terrible..at the WICU..i was already concussed after the birth and then the doctor put some kind of net over my face to keep my neck steady...

anything they poke wrongly into my neck may mean i go to the other world already...

then they administered the local anathesia on my neck and as they said the rest is history...

i cldnt eat for two days...not even can taste water...everything had to be by drips..

Then later, the doctor came in and said they hv to decide whether to remove the placenta on the next day or wait till next wk.......

The placenta by remaining inside can cause more blood poisoning but if take out, may not b able to remove the whole thing

well, after discussion, they decided to remove it the next day and guess wat..they said they may hv to remove the whole womb...Doc Kwek did for me the placenta removal..must say his skills and his manners were both excellent....

Anyway not to bore you all with details..they removed the placenta but not complete..and a few wks after discharge from hospital, had to go d n c again...becuz i had strong stomach contractions and blood clots kept coming out..tis time Doc Loh did it for me...The placenta is considered a foreign body and the body wld keep rejecting it....

So dun you tink my case very drama...?

Chloe, me not brave..i was just thrown into the deep end without warning....

costa.... u been to the end. so now tunnel of light is shining at you. that is what is most important

we still surviving isn't it...with all the friends here, i think all of us can do better than ever.

toast to the mummies here...

Hello Costa and Mummies
MIA for a while. Pop in to say Hello.

Hi Angel
I read your story. Just want to share with you mine to give you the encouragement to hang on and be positive.

My boys were born in KKH at 24 weeks 6 days gestation. I had contractions and my cervix was dilated when i was 22 weeks plus. I was warded and on complete bed rest.

Before I could get over the shock, Dr Kwek and Team told me that my boys had "twin- to- twin transfusion syndrome" whereby one twin was losing blood to the other. The longer they stayed in my womb, the chances of losing one or both is higher. Doctors' target was to deliver them once they reached 28 weeks.

My water bag burst on 24 week 4 days. The boys were born 2 days later.

They stayed in NICU for 3 mths plus. They are 28 mths old now and are doing good. No major complications.

BELIEVE IN MIRACLES.....