Premature babies support group

Hi all mummies, May I know if I am overfeeding/ underfeeding my bb ? he is 38weeks old and I feed him 55-60ml every 3 hours (after around 2hrs plus, he will make 'noise' and tilt his head towards my breast and open his mouth) so I take it as he is hungry so it is norm ? can share share how old are your bbs and how much are you feeding them
TQ

didi,
so you bfdg direct is it ?

i dun wanna sound like expert lah because i never bf direct but how long does he latch on?
tink bm more easily digested so bb gets hungry faster ....

my frens told me that the foremilk that comes out does not have so much nutrients compared to the hindmilk and so some bbs are only squenching their thirst and not getting more nutrition as opposed to the hindmilk if they suck for not so long....i din latch my bb direct..so my advice may not be the be all and end all...

how you noe how much you feed him if he is bfdgin?

tink the general guideline is the following:

take the wt of bb times 150 ml and divided by the number of feeds he drinks..

eg for a 7 kg baby, 7 * 150 = 1050 divided by 8 (if he drinks 8 times a day)..that is about 132ml for every three hrs

of cse tis is just a rough guide lah..my bb drinks less and he is small size and cant suck well..so he drinks onli 120 ml or so and he drinks more often..he is corrected age 6 mths, just started a bit of solids

Costa, nope, I am feeding him ebm. Ok shall use the formula to calculate the amount for him
are you feeding FM now ?

didi,
me giving him similac neosure in terms of fm and ebm...my bm ss running low...so hv to complement fm wif bm....

similac neosure is for low birth wt bbs but if yr kid is normal size actually any milk suitable for his age wld do.....

costa,
this reply is super late..so sorry didnt have time to come in here....the medicine name for the fungel infection is cortisol i think....very effective...

puppyduppy,thanks....no pblem lah....its just for standby..his neck behind also got little bit of rashes....i put some medicated powder for him...

one thing more worrying is i feel my son's head always flopping forwards...m quite scared about it...as smtimes its like when hes in the bouncing net...his head just like doesnt fall backwards.....really hope evythg okay...

costa,
my gal's PD say clean the neck area with water 4-5 times a day and put mosituriser on the neck...he say also can put vasaline or drapolene....

wats a bouncing net? when u carry ur boy upright his head is held steady or flops forward?he can flip over yet?

Puppyduppy,
thanks for your advice...will do wat you advised..the cleaning of the neck and the moisturiser....

the bouncing net is those net thingy that pple put on the floor for kids, one...pink for gals and blue for boys..my neighbour gv me one and i always put him inside..

his head is steady but will "nod" forwards...hard to explain but making me dem worried..he can flip over and has fell afew times from the mattress which was put on the floor or knocked his head..if put him in cot, also dangerous as he wld flip to the side and then knock his head agst the cot..tink if i stayed at home, i sure dem tired..ha ha...

costa,

my gal also the same...she will flip around the cot...did u put those padded protector around the cot?i have to check on her a few times an hour to make sure she didnt knock against the cot...haha very tiring ah....

maybe his neck not strong yet so flops down..my gal also sometimes her neck will nod foward...

puppyduppy,
i did put the padded thingy but somehow or other..its not enough to protect leh.......becuz the protector will "giap"downwards and then his head kena lunga....

i dun noe leh..by now, his head shld be stronger becuz he is 6 mths plus corrected age liao leh...so i kena worried and try to put him on his chest more often to hold up his neck but smtimes still lidat....

costa,

my gal will start pulling the protector and it will fall on her always..haha...

maybe give him more tummy time so that he can practise holding his head up....then will be stronger faster..when his head nod downwards..he is able to lift it up again right? maybe he is tired thats why it nods forward sometimes...so he is like resting his neck muscles....

puppyduppy,
i try to let him rest more on his chest to practise his head control..hopefully evythg okay as his next neo nat appt coupled wif physio is in june nia....

puppyduppy,
i hope so leh..i vy worried....no mood recently...as it seems its still lidat after q some time...hope he outgrows it...

hi costa,

about the head nodding forward. for me, i try to let my boy really sit up...and i try to make him look up...

Hi jac, about the direction that they seem to always prefere to turn towards. my 'way' is i always pull him towards the weaker side he is in... now my boy (5 mths correct) is about 8.5kg (weight gain a bit slow down cos i am exercsiing him a lot hahahahaha in accordance to the advise by the phsysio thereaphist)...

I am not sure about the bleeding...but...don't worry, exercise your kiddo more. (they learn better thru practical exercises)

every time my boy wake up...i will try distract him..make him look here look there...turn etc hahahah.. now i trying to teach him to crawl (ie move forward) after he turn himself kekekek... (wacky mama) as the neo nat say..he need some form of exercise else he become lazy :p

costa,
just to share with you...my frens boy who is 9 months has just learnt to sit up...maybe some babies take their time to do things...
its natural to worry.....use this time before his next appt with the doc to do more tummy excercises for him..

oh...this morning i bring my boy to KKH A&E to see doc. cos he was like a bit feverish.

doc say his throat a bit reddish (could be flu coming). don't know if you mummies is aware. now a bug is flying all around....

hi jane,

doc gave ur boy meds?

my girl was also abit feverish that day...but it was after her jab,then after 1 day it went away...

do u bring ur boy to shopping centres?

happen to saw these thread.Glad that we have this forum to share information.

costa, dun worry. my boy ~10mths now, board at 30 wks. just learning to sit up.some baby so take time to catch up. every baby grow at different rate but as long they are healthy is all right.

happen to chance upon this thread.... hope u all dun mind me barging in ...

my boy is also a premmie...

my edd was 3 feb 07, but he came out on 13 dec 06 ....on my bd itself... he was 33 wks when born..

now 4 mths le...still nvr flip yet leh...

other full term babies born in dec & even some in jan already flip left, right, centre liao... my boy nothing yet...

Me back again...being so busy juggling between work and my boy. These few days, my boy is in hospital for bronchitis and high fever...I am sooo worry. He is still in hospital now. Haiz. As what jane said, bugs are flying around. The doctor said my boy got viral infection, needs his own immune system to fight against the disease. But my boy has been refusing milk and water. He takes in basically nothing in a day. He is getting thinner. He used to be 11.3 kg at age 1 and a half, but now I think don't know left how many kg. I am so worry. I really wonder when will he recover. haiz...

Oh dear KKF,

When my dd got a bad viral infection (no thanks to me), her appetite got very bad too. She had runny/block nose and lotsa phelm. The doc took a thin sringe and suck out all the mucus and place her on the nebuliser. After 3 days of me sucking out the mucus and "neb-bing" her, it got better.

My doc says if children can't breathe properly, they don't feel comfortable eating which makes sense to me.

<<<hugz>>> to you.

kkf,
my boy was hospitalized last wk too due to throat infection by backtera. also lots of phlegm, no appetite and somemore as he don't know how to split out the phlegm, he keep caughing till vomit. he was nearly dehydrate thus hospitalized for dripping. he was on nebulizer too and after 1 day of drip in hospital, fever subsided. we gave nebulizer for 4 days n antibiotic for 10days. He didn't eat at all for that 1 -2 days, and his appetite was very poor during that period. But, after they recover, they hav good appetite, it's like compensating for the lossing meals during sickness.
I know it is a very tiring n worrying experience for the parents. Do take care of yourself too.

Jane,
hows yr boy now?

Mandyn,
Welcome to the board..
looking forward to learning more from you...guess every child is different, somemore they are preemies but just cant help being kancheong....

kkf,
tink viral infection has to depend on the body's own immunity to fight.....antibiotics cant help, right? when he recovers, tink his appetite will come back...

Stressed,
hows yr gal now?heard that nebuliser works very quickly....guess if they cant breathe...sure got no mood to eat, one....

irenelovej,
hows yr boy now?he is okay wif the antibiotics' "taste"?

nana,
welcome to the board....did you give birth at kkh?

hi costa,
my boy antibiotic dose finish already. he didn't like it also have to force him to eat the medicine. wat to do...

u r rite that virus infection can't be cured by antibiotic. but if the child has been hospitalized, the best is do a blood test to determine if it's virus or bacteria infection, coz it's difficult to tell by juz diagnose. for my boy's case, his condition was getting worse coz the first PD we visited juz make an assumption of viral infection n didn't give any antibiotics, that dragged the condition to be worsen till fever for many days n he started to have phlegm n vomit. when i think of it i still feel scary....

irenelovej,
i wonder how the doctors noe whether its viral or bacteria..

just a few wks ago, my son got fever and the gp gave fever medicine (it was a sunday) but the next day when he was at the paedi..the paedi said it was bacterial infection and gave antibiotics....sigh..as parents, we also dun noe wat to do when they are sick...worse is the phlegm and they cant cough out and then vomit..

now my boy still hvnt a slight cough but also no medicine can be given as not advised for bbs under 1 yr old..so must depend on the immunity
which they hv to built themselve

Hi costa,

After the numerous tests on her kidneys, both her NUH professors certified her as "normal" today! Soooo happy.... The last MCU test was a horrific one for her. She cried like never before. But I no choice but to steel my heart and put her through the test.

But it's all worth it. I can now sleep in peace.

Yup. The neb machine is very good. Do it when baby starts crying because they inhale the meds faster. I have no problem coz my dd automatically cries when she sees the neb machine and the pigeon nose sucking apparutus.

I visited 2 pds for her viral infections. The 1st one (who is also a neo-nat) gave her soooo many oral meds. The problem is dd hates taking meds. So we have to hide it in her food. But when she's got even worse, her appetitie plunged so it's near impossible to give her meds.

The 2nd pd was sooo much better. Although it's painfulto watch her (the doc) forcing tubes down the nostril to suck the mucus, the results are fast and effective! Worked like magic. Plus her oral meds was down to one instead of the previous one five!

Money well spent on the second PD!

costa,
it's all depends on the doctor's experience on whether it's bacteria or virus infection. my boy PD is very experience so he diagnosed as bacteria n it is. to confirm, the only resort is blood test. it can even tell u wat kind of bacteria is infecting the baby.

stressed,
congrates to you. to parents, health of the child is always the most important thing.
i agree that giving too much medicine is not only no good for the baby, but it's a struggling process to feed them medicine. my boy oso dun like medicine, and immediately he sense that he;s taking medicine, he'll puke it out. my first lousy PD nearby my place oso gave my boy almost 7-8 medicine, include nose drop la, tis n tat.... then no cure... brought him to his neo nat, drop every medicine but give an antibiotic. with neubulizer n 1 day drip, it works.

stressed,
so happy that everythg ok for your bb and her kidneys....so,its a big relief for you....really very good.....

tink always neb wks faster than anythg......and so effective...tink the second PD is really a gift to you, manz...tink he must be really experienced in lung issues.......

irenelovej,
thanks for your advice...good tt you found him and can get to the source of the problem..

i oso dun like to give too much medicine but the neo nat told me for my boy, its really bo pian as he was a extreme preemie and immunity is really vy low...so better rely on medicine.....

from wat i read, neubulizer is really a fast and good cure....

dear mummies,

i am back...wow...three horrible day at KKH for my boy.

irenelovj, gosh my boy too was diagnose for throat infection and he had coster ride fever, up down up down for 2 days! but the doctor at KKH did not give any antiboitic.. they just say admit him to montior... they did blood and urine test and both test show he is ok.

so KKH doc say..he is just throat problem and nose block, so they give him permocental and saline for his nose and eye (his eye was swallon too)

then so happen notice my boy teething...

after 3 days 2 nights at KKH, my boy finally can go home last friday.

glad to say, he is better liao...

his fever really send me shivering...as i mention last week..there is so much bacteria running around..ah yo yo yo

hi Na na, welcome...don't worry, my boy flip and turn only when he is corrected 4 mths :p (my boy is a 26 weekers)

Hi Jane,

So happy your boy's better. Me and family had the worst days of our lives in KKH when dd was admitted for UTI. NUH is only slightly better.

Still I'm glad ur boy's better now.

hi stressed,

guess we as parents is the one who is most stressed out when our kiddo is not feeling good.

lets all really wish all the bbs good health

Jane,
is yr boy totally okay now?did the same neo nat tt yr boy is under come to see him?

yr boy is making good progress...so far dun see any signs of teethg from my boy.......

stressed,
now yr bb's kidney pblem also totally resolved right...so there is light at the end of the tunnel....

Hi Jane,

Actually, I got sooo many complains abt their service. DD was feeling ok but was "forced" to stay for 3 days.

hiaz. Past liao. Now she's back to her notti self. hee hee...

hi costa....talking abt it. NO LER. Doctor A did not come to see my boy at ALL! gosh.... hmm should she be dropping by to see him? but the lung specilist which my boy is having follow up with did drop by to see my boy (after she came to know my boy is in the ward that she is doing walk around)...

So far my boy ok after going home. fever gone liao, eye like not so swallon too. now he zzzz...not so much blockage sound too (so i presume his throat issue is resolved).

costa - don't worry..soon you will see the two white one come along...think Bern would soon give u surprise too ;-) don't worry

my boy as of todate corrected is about coming to 6 months old.

This thursday he is going to SGH for that follow up...

hi stressed...u meant abt NUH service?... my boy was in KKH for 3 days because his temperature really roller coster... perhaps they just wish to be sure your DD is ok before discharged.

anyway...they home sweet home..so leave the past behind. hack care..so long our bb is ok...never mind other things ;p

Jane,
Maybe its a different issue now thats why Doc A din come...maybe handled by different department already....

also dread when his teeth comes out and the fever etc tt comes wif it..

my boy's cough also on and off will have, one..just a matter of using more of the ventolin puff...

Hi jane my boy was in kkh from tuesday to friday too. I think he was discharged the same day as your boy. My boy stayed in ward 66 bed 8. How about you?
Yah, kkh never gave my boy anitibiotics too, they said it is useless for those infection.
My hubby stayed overnight with my boy and he got himself sick. I got to work, and my working place is quite far from kkh, so I could not stay.
Life is really stressful for parents with sick children. May all our children be healthy and strong!

hi costa..erh...'not so sure' about that ler... but it never occur to me to ask if Dr A will drop by or not too :p cos at that moment, i was so busy trying to settle my boy in.

about the cough...did your PD or the neo nat say why his cough is ON/Off??. if can..do avoid the ventolin puff. my boy was on the satumol (sorry am not sure of the rite spelling) puff... its quite good...

hi kkh, my boy was admitted on wednesday morning around 6.30am and discharged on friday afternoon (he was in Ward 86 bed 6). me and my husband (illegally) both camp overnight with my boy... i was so scare i will fall sick at that moment too. but its true..i am not feeling very good now (a bit like going down with flu).

and as my husband need to go and work during the day..so i am left alone with my boy at the ward...gosh...i really shack..

your boy is ok now?

yes yes...may all our children be healthy and strong & happy

Jane,
ventolin is same medicine as salbutamol as per my PD. When my boy was down w throat infection tat time, his neubulizer medicine include an inhale type of salbutamol (which is ventolin) and 2 other medicine. dunno wat, maybe is for the vaporization of the medicine. after he discharged from using neubulizer, then take the oral salbutamol.

hi irenelovej,

my boy used to be on oral salbutamol (prescribe by my PD) but it does not seem to work well for his cough (throat matters) then i bring him to see the neo nat/KKH lung specialist.. she recommend the puff inhaler (which seem to work well - touch wood)...

that time my boy had wheezing they also use the inhaler to treat it...

Jane,
Recently kk opened the family room there.....was it full house? if not you can stay there....

my boy got two types of puff..if not cough, dun use ventolin..the other one must use once a day....

wat is oral salbutamol?you mean liquid form?

Hi Costa

KKH family room is fully booked. I tried when my boy was staying in kkh, guess there must be a lot of sick children and worried parents.

Wow, all those familiar terms...what ventolin, neubuilizer...actually, I don't know what is what, doctor asked me to give, I just give, haha...too many medicine.

Hi Jane, my boy is ok, still coughing a bit though, hope he recovers soon. I intend to bring him for vaccination against flu, and then to try lung tonic medicine (recommended by my PD), and to YU GUO for tui na. Really scare after his serious episode of bronchitis.

How about your boy? Ok now?

Costs a lot right for medical fee, still have not gotten the bill yet, but think should be not cheap even though my boy stayed in C ward.

kkf/jane,
fm wat was mentioned in the news on tv, tink the number of rooms are probably not enough to cater to so many parents...they probably cant have too many rooms due to space constraints and budget as its sort of sponsored (i cld be wrong on tis)....tink the rooms look vy cosy and nice....

me oso same, doctor say wat medicines to take, i just follow......

tink its a good idea to get flu jab....but tink bb needs to be bigger right....

hi costa,

about the family room...no mention of that by the nurse when my boy was admitted..end up i had to put the baby cot mattress on the floor as my boy refuse to sleep alone...wow..imagine a small cot bed..then i sleep (more on the floor :p) on the blanket...for 2 night...shack...

oral slbutomol is the oral (yes liquid) medication. while the other type is via puff (inhaler). the inhaler seem to work better for my boy.

hi kkf, my boy is now fully recover (his eye is better too). OH, i ever brought my boy to YU GUO (hmm.... i told costa about my experience). maybe u PM me..i tell u more about YU GUO.

i intend to give my boy some chinese herbs mix with brown rice when he is ready for solid come this month end (when he is really 6 months corrected) to build up his lung too...

oh i rang the KKH biz office yesterday..erh...no ler..my boy bill was less than $200??? think because there was not much medication given to him and its really the ward cost only. plus my boy is on B2 (subsidise rate) though they upgrade him Free to B1 (hence he stay at 86)..

about the flu jab..like costa..i think its only when bb is bigger right..not sure on that too. but if can..i also wish to jab my boy with it...

Hi mummies, can someone explain to me how the 6-in-1 jabs works/ vaccinations and the pd told me that being premmies my bbs need to have the penumoccal jab ?