Premature babies support group

hi Chloe,

about the red patches...is it your boy too warm??? ie heat rashes? i never let my boy use J&J.. i htink if its just bite/rashes...heat rash powder should cure the thing... small thing. dun get stress up...

i laig jialat...last week i take care of my boy myself...who know when i bring him back to my mama house last tuesday...his back full of red rashes...i kanna scold by my mum unitl hell ler... :p

Kimi - i think so long as your gal is pooing n peeing ok...and the doc did not say much. its matter of time when your gal put on weight...

Jane,
I read in some brochure in my PD clinic. It says can start bb on semi-solid (those puree) at about 4-5 mths. solid (eg porridge) from 6 mths. But i agree w u tat no need to rush for this, take ur PD/dietritian advise.
For me, it's bcoz my in law always nag on tis n the PD gave a green light, so we went ahead. those semi-solid r actualy like concentrated liquid, it's juz puree pumpkin or sweet potato or potato, added with water or milk, and onli take about 2 oz daily as a start
slowly, increase to 2 intake, and after 1 mth, substitute 1 puree with cereal+ milk.
at 7 mths, we gave 1 cereal n 1 porridge. slowly, we gave 2 porridge. The porridge has to start w only vege (eg pumpkin, potato, carrot), then later some anchovis (ikan bilis), bones or fish. after 8 mths can add some dry scallop n beans. all fine chopped.
I guest each bb is different, for my boy, as PD 'graduated' him fr the corrected age thing at his 6 mths corrected, so we juz follow the path on his actual age

red patches could be eczema. my son got it too, over his neck. his PD gave some cream to apply, it goes away after tat. But, it can come back. so as n when we found patches, then we apply the cream on his neck. very effective

i wonder how come tis e coli bacteria so powerful...i kena tis infection before i gave birth and the doctor said that tis infection got many types....meaning this e coli usually is found in the body and everyone wld have it......

but when it mutates and then it becomes vy jialat and i remember my doc was very very worried when i kena tis and i asked him is tis a result of inhygenic toilet practices or wat..he said its not bec of tis but its easily spread from the vagina to the anus as its vy near each other....

anyway, my son also kena MRSA infection when he was in hosp..for adults, it can be solved by walking under the sun and usually doctors and nurses get checked regularly for it and they can apply lotion to the nose but for preemies..its more sticky and they are worried they will spread to each other and so they hv to isolate them

that time my boy was supposed to get discharged earlier but a doc kena chicken pox and my boy had to take a chicken pox jab.and also had to isolate the bbs who were exposed to the doctor who had chicken pox....

dun worry if yr bb is isolated...at first i was vy vy upset but later i realise tt they get better care...

kimi, how long does yr bb latch on?i dun noe if my advice is right or not as i din latch my bb much but my frens told me that if you let bb suckle for too short a time, they wld onli be getting the foremilk which is not so high in nutrients and fats as compared to the hind milk (meaning milk tt comes in later)

so many bbs are only satisfying their thirst but dun get enough..maybe wat you can do is to try to get bb to drink more of the hindmilk...

just my two cents worth of opinion...

Hi all ya today can't visit her liao thus wound infection, very painful leh, can't sleep and even i was sleeping last night, i sweat lots, ai yo i'm leading a tough life now ha. Lucky my mom is a great supports and she go to hospital daily to visit my DD, thanks to my dear mom...yes my DD sucks her finger yesterdays when the doc was updating me keke, greedy like her mom?

I almost forgot liao at this moment quite hard for me thus need to tends to my 9 months daughter and also my DD in the NICU lol, surprise huh? I've got 2 babies within a year and my 9 months daughter was born June 2006 but didnt BF her at all also due to medication, grrrrrrrr...now i only can pray that my DD in NICU can quickly get recovered and hopefully the Doc can on her feeding again...Thanks for u all concern leh..

Hi Costa,
would need your kind advise on a few questions as my older boy is coming home tmr

1. If my boy can't suckle so I guess I will continue to bottle-feed, but I still need to express for my younger boy who is still in SCN, so how should I do ? rookie mommy

2. Does your bbs wake up in the middle of the nite for feeds ? and was wondering if he sllep throughout then I needn't wake him up ?

Very busy as need to spring-clean my house for his arrival

didi,
i oso dun noe if i can be much help bec i din let my bb latch on as his sucking is weak....

is anyone helping you?

how about you bottle feed the first bb wif either breastmilk which has been expressed or formula milk....and still continue to bring some bm to the hospital for your second bb?

tink bm is quite important..that time i had alot of my bm but had to throw as my fridge not enough space and it has been kept quite long at the hospital...i kinda regretted it as it was effort down the drain..

shld try to express as much as possible that you can tahan...to keep as stock..

when my boy came home after five months plus in hospital..he was tube fed as he couldnt really suck well....so in the middle of the nite,i wld still wake up to tube feed him...

later on, he took out the tube himself and i tried to bottle him but hes very slow in bottling..

now we onli feed him if he cries for milk...the kkh nurses said that its better to feed him three hourly even after midnite but i tink if he can sleep, let him sleep...maybe other mummies got other advice as my bb is slightly different from other babies....

was yr bbs weight when born? everything okay?

hi costa n didi,

i came to know a mother who had twins while my boy was in SCN. didi, the mother experience same as you do, one baby go home follow by the other..

what she did is everyday, she would express a amt (something like enough for the bb who is still in SCN) and send it there...then for the bb at home, she would try to let her suckle (if not she will express for her).

Guess yours is twins..so...hmm..continue to express, i am sure you will have enough for your bbs.

about night feed, all i understand if the bb sleep thru the night (unless he/she wake up for milk ie cry) its ok, we don't have to arose them...

you must be very excited with your bb home coming :)) so happy for you (remind me of when my boy came home last Nov 06)...

Ayu - hmm...you really must take care of yourself.

hi didi,

perhaps you can check with the SCN nurses the most efficient way to continue giving BM to both bbs.
i'm sure they hv more experience handling such tricky situation.

Can you share how you clean baby's nose boogies? Any good and efficient method. There's some boogy in baby's nose but quite scary to take it out....

Hi, all the mummies,
Good morning to your, necer write message here cos very busy and tired this few day, my twins really naughtly. now 5 time a day milk always cants finish and need to give them abt 1 hour one person, morning more tired cos they wake up 6am, and delay delay when drink milk, two of them spend the time until 8am+.After they dont want, When I'm going to sleep they wake up liao, cos normally they wake up at 8am+.

Hi didi,
Ya, as costa say you must keep your BM in the fridge as many as you can.My boys was come back together, as I requires to let them back together, cos if I bring one back, the other one still at hospital, nobody take care baby if I go hospital. you need to but more bottle milk to keep the actual amount that baby drink then you can keep some at home and hospital.
I'm still remember, my 2nd twins drink milk very slow when come back, but I have 2 to give, so I cant wait at him, so I just give him to use small cup as nurse teach me. Is quiet useful. If they really dont know how to suck , then give them tube first, dont force him , if not he will very tired, cant breath well, as you know our baby was prem baby, theor lung still weak, sometime they dont have enegry to drink, if you force him to use bottle, will become his burden and he cant gain weight well and get well soon.
Before their 4kg, I always give them the milk every 3hour, at night I will set alarm and wake up to give them the milk, I still can remember, when I give them milk at 12am, 2 of them finish at 1amplus, sometime until 2am, then I go sleep after that set alarm at 3am again, finish around 4am+, than 6am wake up again, finish at 7am+, then I need to wake up, cant sleep anymore. This was life during they was small before 4kg and I must do that cos they must gain weight as doctor told me. I still remember sometime was so sleepy, I was fall sleep when carry them for burp for them, so lucky I never get them fall down, and some time lagi funny, after I finish to give milk, I fall sleep, suddenly I will wake up talk I haven give milk than want to go and do milk again, but I saw the bottlw was inside steamer. OH, than I know was finish give milk, I go sleep again. I always carry the pillow and burp the pillow, you know why? cos I am too tired when midnight, I talk the pillow was my baby. ha..ha..that a lot of things happen during that time.long story. So didi, you must prepare it oh..
You must make sire the house very clean , exspeacially the room and the beedsheet, my maid will wash baby thing and our bedsheets every 4day,before they go in the room for sleep, I will let the fan on it for one hour first, than on the air-con, temp in 26 only, I wear for them 2 ply of cloth. See, so kiasu of me.
ok lar, I think I am too lorsoh, later all the mummies will scold me.
take care

Hi Costa and other mummies, thanks for the advice. The nurses at SCN also felt that we should wake them up for nite feeds, think I will feed him only he wakes up. Can I know what is their sleeping patterns like ? and if I need to supplement with FM, what brand should I get ?

Costa, my boys were borned with the weight of 1.6kg and 1.5kg

Thanks again

didi, no pblem....bm is really vy important, shld keep up the pumping although you may be very very tired looking after two kids....keep it out...

keann,
me oso not too sure but i bot the pigeon nasal aspirator to "suck" out the snot from his nose....

hi keann,

just realized that i overlooked yr earlier question on how to play with bb... so sorry

simple activities of talking & touching bb is good stimulation for newborn.
as bb grows, just follow yr maternal instinct. u'll soon know wat bb likes & dislikes, wat excites bb, different ways of playing a simple rattle, etc.

as for cleaning nose... u can try to get the nasal spray (can't remember brand of hand, need to check back home) fr PD; might be available over the counter in pharmacy.
it's a sea water spray good for cleaning nose without being too intrusive.

Hi yvonne,
The nasal spray is sterimer brand right? is it blue wth white colour bax? got one dolphin that one? I always use that one for clean their nose. is very gd.
I let them sleep one side as to prevent the vomit milk go to their mouse again, keep at baby right side.gd for their digest.
I give them the multivitamin and iron .(nutraplex)

talking about nasal spray. may i know what is its function? can help to clear bb muscus?? is it ok for bb with sensitve nose/passage way? when should it be used?

at last,I hv the time to log in today.Hiaz...lately very busy wif bb coz he hv phelgm and need suction.The problem is that hubby like to suck his nose even though the phelgm seems to be stuck at his throat.My boi got so frightened that he can't stop screaming.Really heartache when I see it.But if we suck from the throat,he is not so fearful.I'm really very tired.Why......

jane,
the Sterimer nasal spray is formulated to help soften the mucus which will then flow/trickle backward down the throat or out of the nostrils naturally.
it's also for adult use & the box state that it is safe to use daily for hygiene purpose.

jolene,
has bb seen the doc abt the phlegm? tried neubilising?
better not to overdo the manual suction. poor boy is definitely becoming paranoid.

jane, forget to add that the nasal spray dispenses a very mild spray so shud not be a problem for sensitive nose, bb also won't get the choking feeling.
the spray can be used in all positions which is good for sleeping bbs, whereas other standard sprays require upright position only.

hi yvonne...sorry i am really ignorance. is the spray for block nose? cos my boy seem to always have block nose when he wake up in the morning..thou the doc have prescribe nose droplets...

too much mucus will cause block nose?

sorry..i know i am like really asking senseless question..but i would really like to know more of this spray thingy..esp all of you are talking so much about it and my boy seem to always get block nose...:p

Yvonne,
think tis is the spray, tio bo?

a fren recommended to me, she says that doctors recommend tis as its vy natural..anyway, my ent doc also recommend bec i got sensitive nose also..

jane,
u can get tis at normal pharmacy.....if not sure you can call me..
735397.jpg

costa, very tio! some more hv pic to show! gum xia gum xia!

jane, i wud think it can help to relieve a bit of blocked nose too.
there can be other reasons than mucus that's causing the blockage.

i too hv sensitive nose & sinus problem (had to do a day op to wash out the infection). so every night i burn eucalyptus to relieve blocked nose (at times caused by the dry aircon air).

Yvonne,
im too free lah in the office, tts why took the picture and then upload, ha ha...you can see the extent of how free im....

you went for the op to clear sinus infection?pain or not? how about dun sleep in aircon room, lah....go natural....ha ha like me lidat...

didi

So happy to hear that ur babies are coming home! i'm sure u are really excited. i was very excited and spent days cleaning every corner of the house!!! Everyday i would look at their cots and imagine how nice if they are home and sleeping on their cots.

My twins are on half FM and half EBM. For FM, we used to give them similac, but seems like it's rather heaty cos my boy will only poo once in every 4 days. We've recently changed to Nan HA, cos i heard from other mommies that it is better. Well, but after switching, he still continues to poo once every 4 days. i dunno why... brought him to see dr, and dr said that his tummy is ok cos he could hear his bowels moving. His stools are soft and brownish yellow... so after a while since he's not complaining, we also stop worrying.

hi mommies

My twins are 1.5 months of corrected age.
Going for the 5-in-1 jab soon. i heard that some babies may develop fever after the jab. Anyway to prevent this?

chloe, some say to give pao shen or smthg the day before the jab or pearl powder, i cant really remember which ?maybe can get the other mummies to verify first...

anyway not all will develop fever, in anycase, they may not......

chloe,
give some pao shen boiled in water to the baby. give them water onli ah, not the solid. can mix in their milk or if ur baby can be fed by spoon, give 2-3 spoonful of pao shen water.

Jane,
can try nebulizer. when my boy was hospitalized, the PD gave him nebulizer coz he got lots of phlegm n block nose too. very effective. u can lent/rent from PD. my PD didn't charge me when he borrowed that for us to bring home for 3 days. after that, really no phlegm leh.
but i'm not sure if the medicine given in the nebulizer can be taken by ur bb, coz ur bb still quite young rite? lots of medicine can't be given to bb < 6mths.

irene

check with u, 2-3 spoonfuls, is it somewhere around 10ml? Sorry, my measurement units very poor...

To be taken once on the day before the jab?

costa, thanks, i hope they dun kena fever... very siong to look after 2 sick babies.

Hi Costa, thanks, did you take any 'dom peridone' to increase your milk ? thought of taking but the lactation nurse says that I needn't not take.

Chloe, thanks.... it is only mummies who is in this thread knows what we are going thru
now enjoying the moment with my boy and simply just lie next to him makes me very happy and fulfilled
even my hubby says that he is very contented just by looking at them when they are sleeping..... oh ya, I also bought Nan from the pharmacy as my mom says that it is good

hi costa and yvonne...many thanks for the clarification. i saw this thing in KKH pharmacy before. is it like...i can use anytime or only when there are muscus to clear??

so nice of costa to take the pic..it make me understand perfectly what is the thingy :)

costa,

i din know my sinus problem was so serious back then.
ENT had wanted to do a simple wash-out but my nostril passage was too narrow so end up doing the op to open a bigger lobang up in the nose.
it was done under GA and yes, terribly painful when the painkiller wear off.
then had to wash constantly with saline solution the week after.

the side effect now is i'm more vulnerable to catch cold, flu... sigh

i'm very afraid of hot weather, yet cannot tahan a fan blowing at me... then can't sleep well without aircon... i'm very lousy & troublesome kind.

Thanks Costa, will probably go look for one. Where can i buy the nasal aspirator?

Thanks Yvonne for recommending the nasal spray. How to spray into baby's nose? looks quite scary...

Any mummies still breastfeeding? My milkflow is getting so little now and baby only 5 weeks old. Today only expressed 50ml in TOTAL! Sighz... bought fenugreek yesterday and took them. Didn't work for me at all.

My baby is currently on milk formula and mix with a little of my BF. Do i still need to feed baby with water? If so, when do i feed baby with water?

My baby has grown from skinny to chubby cheeks now esp in the last 2 weeks (he's about 5 weeks old now). Am happy but hopefully he will not become too fat. Feeding him with Similac Neosure for premature babies. Any mummies who feed their premmies with Neosure? How long do you feed him on that milk formulae? Do i need to change to Similac Stage 1?

Yvonne, we two sama sama..i also got very sensitive sinus/nose problems..sad to say the ent doc said my elder son also like that..always sneeze and now permanently vy bad condition liao.....no cure..the doc said must make him exercise more to strengthen the lungs...i where got time to bring him exercise, man....

i oso vy scared hot one but yet cant tahan aircon becuz i noe after sleeping wif aircon, next day i sure runny nose, one...

jane, no pblem..i vy free in office, one....so taking photo and downloading is really easy....heh heh...

didi, i did take the dom p at the early stage....then i got engorged and then i stopped taking..it can be taken up to four times a day and then slowly cut down if you feel too engorged..the onli thing is to continue expressing

must say the kk lactation consultant gave very good advice.....they had said that at the beginning, establish the milk supply....its vy essential....

keann,
u can buy the nasal aspirator from anywhere that sells baby things..its pigeon brand....and there are two types, one which looks like a bulb and then u put into the nose and suck it out like syringe and another type which got tube and the adult supposed to suck out the snot via tube by the mouth...

i bot the bulb one becuz the tube one is too big to go into my son's nose.....u can get it anywhere....

rgding the nasal spray, tink you just put into bb nose and puff it....we can try on ourself to see how it feels as its basically harmless as its seawater, nia....

by right, paedis say tt bbs so small dun need water wif milk but some say otherwise..i also dun noe wats correct..

i fed my bb wif neosure n i actually bot the similac one for 0 - 6 mths which my boy also drank but the neo nat told me tt similac neosure is better...

keann, if yr bb's weight is ok, u can actually switch to other milk powder...u can ask the neo nat for advice..if yr bb's weight is at a good percentile..tink no pblem switching...

for me, i took fenugreek on and off and even bot the raw seeds which i put into hot water and soaked it and then drank it....but i m very lazy type, onli drank one time.....the fenugreek capsules also sometimes take, most of the time dun..ha ha.....tink you gotta be patient and express more...another thing which you may want to consider is goat rue capsules...

Hi Costa, can my baby take neosure too ? as I checked with the doc at SCN and they say any formula for newborn is fine
I saw Neosure at cold storage and thought of getting them. As for the goat rue, to be taken alone only or can I take them with fenugreek ? thanks

didi,
as wat is said on the tin of neosure,its specially formulated for preemies and low birth weight babies but if your baby is of ok weight n growing steadily...i think shld be able to give other milk powder....

u can also buy it at kkh but you need to ask the pharmacist (a prescription is not needed, the pharmacist wld take it for you)...

tink i wld put my son back on neosure after he finishes his similac although he is growing ok although not particularly putting on alot of weight.....but tis is personal preference..other mums give their kids Nan etc..it seems ok...and their bbs are doing vy well oso...

fenugreek was recommended to me by the lactation consultation....goat rue was not..my personal advice is to just take one type so that you can isolate wat works and wat not...

dom peridone just stimulates the brain to produce more milk, thats why regular expression is important to prevent engorgement...

havent been able to come in here cos was looking after my girl.

didi,
i gave my girl NAN when she was still at NICU cos my BM not enough..she is ok with it and gaining weight steadily....

got a question....if your bb sleeps like 6-7 hours without waking up for milk...do u still wake them up? my girl is about 5kg already and she can sleep quite long at a stretch....dunno if i should wake her to drink or just let her sleep...

puppyduppy,
when my bb was discharged, i tube fed him every three hourly....but when he was bigger and took out the tube himself...smtimes he wld be the same as yr gal, not waking up for milk at all..so i just let him be..

the nurses at kkh actually told me must wake them up to feed but some say dun need..

so now, i just let him sleep and only if he cries for milk, then i let him drink....

chloe,
regarding the pao shen, i dunno if 2-3 spoon = 10ml. but it's the porcelain spoon (chinese spoon that we use to drink soup) of 2-3 spoonful. add 2-3 pcs of pao shen to boil, then feed the baby. if ur baby can't finish it, it's ok. as long as he take a bit it helps a bit. can feed 2-3 days before going for jab.
but my PD was telling me lots of bb won't hav fever if u go for 5 in 1. my boy first jab got fever, the subsequent 2 jabs no fever.
but we gave him pao shen constantly like 2-3 times a wk. tis is to 'bu qi' also. now he's still taking tat.

i nvr give my boy neosure. his pd never said hav to give special formula, as long as he's ok w the formula, go with it. my boy was fully BF till 7 mths actual, after tat substitute 1 feed with Friso 2. now take full formula (on Friso 2 still). i'd think if bb is ok on the formula (ie no allergic, no diarrhae, no constipate) then should be ok to continue, unless specially advise by PD.

costa,
yah some nurses say must wake while others dont..but since she is sleeping so soundly i dont wake her..i think if she is hungry she will cry for milk .....

irenelovej,
hows yr boy now?is his appetite better?

the neo nat had also recommended my boy to take the five in one instead of the six in one.....

hi Puppy duppy,

I let my dd sleep if she wants to. Also because i'm too tired (zombified) to wake up every 3 hours liao. Initally we did wake up every 3 hours. After the inital 1.5 months, we let her sleep as long as she wants. My panda eyes cannot take it liao. :p

good afternoon mummies!

costa, ENT mentioned that our sensitive/hyperallergic conditions can be due to genetics & can pass on to our kiddos... poor little ones!
just hoping that my boy doesn't get it too serious.. sigh

keann, like wat costa said, most nursing staff insist bbs no need water when TBF.
personally, i gave my boy water since early TBF days. started with just few sips daily, gradually increasing amt as he grew. gave anytime in between feeds.
too much water is no good too as it dilutes the nutrients in their bodies.

Hi puppyduppy and Costa, yep, the nurses told me to wake them up for nite feeds as they need the milk ?
so now I am still waking up at three hours interval (ie 0100hrs, 0400hrs .....) very TIRED but think will discontinue when they are 40 weeks old. Btw, today brought my bb for eye check-up, do you know when then we will go for check-up lesser (as now the eye-doc say we need to see her again 2 weeks' time). Thanks