Premature babies support group

hi puppyduppy,

actually a little fever sure have. so long it does not exceed 37.5 is ok... my boy 2nd jab..he had about 37.4 (so i did not let him take the fever mixture).

oh ya ya..i heard bao sen is good to prevent fever..

i also heard my colleagues say, not all bb will have fever after jab..so to that..u don't worry :)

hi costa,
poor u but finally can take a breather today. hopefully market won't roller coaster too much 2moro.

hi puppyduppy,
can't recall if my boy is taking 5 or 6-in-1 but he had fever each time, lasting 1-2 days.
fever is just a sign that bb's body is fighting the injected stuff cos it's foreign bodies.
heard that drinking barley water before jab can help too.

keann,
u can try to limit bb's day naps, play more with him so that he tires out at night & hopefully sleep better.

jac,
at 16mths, my boy is no longer a baby & his chubby-ness long gone.
i've no idea how to post pic here.

Yvonne,
You are right about the fever..its baby's way of fighting infection...tink kkh took care alot of the jabs for my boi as he was there for like five months....

tink you told me yr boi was taking 6 in 1..tio bo?

how to post pic? downsize the photo if too big (if too big, here cannot post) and you see the words Upload Attachment (below the message before you post), then you go to browse, search for yr picture and then click Upload and voila..yr picture will appear..

costa,

think u're right abt 6-in-1 but it was confusing cos his initial 2 jabs were at polyclinic, which i opted for the normal 3-in-1.
then due to his allergic reaction to the jabs, i went to PD who did the next jab. it was PD's clinic who told me 6-in-1.
i'm really not sure wat's the difference since he's taken so many jabs.

all i know now is he's left with the MMR jab for now.

will try to follow yr pic-posting instructions.

Yvonne,
How do you play with the baby? Cos baby is always napping and not very often he opens his eyes. Even when i speak to him, there's little response. Maybe too young?

THANKS!

Hi ,

My boys had finish the 6-in 1 jab last month. no fever at all. I think fever is normal, just give them the fever medicine. My baby got take some supplement juices, so maybe they not so easy fever as I know.

Hi, jane,
here my latest baby photo. Do you know which one is big brother? terry? youngest brother Bryan?

See, thei double neck no more liao.
Look very small right?not so cute already right?

How come everyone say they are alike? I dont think so...How abt you.

Ya, actually, my day will cheer up when saw them everyday.
717219.jpg
717220.jpg
717221.jpg

Hi costa,

Oh, so happy to get your reply,,
I talk your all missing..ha..ha..dont leave me alone..
You must drink more water, if not you will fall sick.
Me and baby ok, did you saw my latest baby photo? how you think of them compare now and three month ago?

morning mummies...

costa,
hope u feeling better...my hub also sick with fever so told him to stay away from bb so scared pass fever to her...

jacelyn,
ur babies so cute...love their double eyelids...

Finally my boi is back home but we have to rent alot of equipment back home.

anyone can advise how long does it take the baby neck to be strong enough to hold their head.I still need to support my boi's neck when I carry him leh.

jac, yr bbs vy adorable.......looks more mature as compared to last time.....

puppyduppy, still abit tau gong gong..luckily, now school holidays i dun hv to supervise my elder son's studies..if not, really vomit blood

jolene,
hows yr boi..wat type of equipment do you have to rent?how was the diagnosis of reflux?
my boi's head at 5 mths corrected still flops forward....the physio has advised us to give him more tummy time..maybe you can try it but dun overtire him....

Hi puppyduppy,
Thanks, how abt your baby? can post their photo here?
Hi, costa.
ya lor, I feel they like old baby liao, cos their actual age is 4month should be baby ma, but their date of birth already 6.5month.ha..ha..I always laugh at them, say them was a old baby, the age like them should know a lot of things liao, now only my 2nd twins bryan know how to turn his body, his brother terry still cant, cos too heavy,,hee..hee...he so lazy.
Hi jolene,
Congratulatiion on your baby back, dont worry, everthing will be smooth.ya, what type of equipment your baby need, when he born and the weight? stay for how long in hospital? come back waht weight?
Actually, their neck not strong enought yet, depend of the baby, my baby now 6.7kg and 5.75kg, they just start can strong their head, I still have to hold their back and head sometime when I carry them, for safe la..now they 4.5month corrected month. I still can remember before that, I am so afraid to carry them, cos their support of head was so weak, always like costa say flops forward ans goyang goyang. mt 1st twins still ok, when he was 4kg plus , abt 3month he more easy to carry cos his head more strong than his youngest brot, ai yo, when I carry bryan, so troublesome, always need to hold his head before carry him. my hubby always say, any problem of bryan or not, how come his neck so soft and so weak. but now, when he weight go to 5kg, is better. so must wait la..dont worry, just the time being only.
Ya, are you take care your baby own? must be very careful when you take care him. suggest you to take shower for him using cooked water. very gd.

I need to have suction pump for his phelgm,oxgen concentrator, and feeding pump.My boi can't be bottle feed now.What the doc did was to put in the feeding tube to his intenstine.In May,they will put it to his stomach.This is to ensure that he don't hv any reflux or asparating(not sure of the spelling) to his lung.When milk or water goes to his lung,he will hv phelgm.

costa
How come u also hv physio for your boi ah?Mine also hv leh.This is to ensure that his muscles are developed well coz in hospital for 1 month plus.During his stay,the pyshio therapist will come and help my boi do some stretching lor.

Jaccelyn

Your bb are so cute.At least you can take pic of them without tubes.Mine.....hiaz.....
By the way,why use cooked water?I use hot water from the water heater leh.

hi costa

My twins' necks are still quite soft too. u mentioned that ur PD suggested more tummy time... Is he refering to letting the baby lie flat on his tummy?

Jolene,
take heart..remember my boi was on tube feeding until he took it out and i got no heart to put it back...

kk is more concerned in the development of preemies so everytime we see the neo nat, the physio wld be there as well to suggest some exercises and to check the things that he can/cannot do and she wld tick it out n then give a score and let us noe wat areas he is weak at...for eg, my bb is prone to using one hand over the other and she asked us to encourage him to use the other hand..most of the time, i never do the exercises...

i heard pple saying use the boiled water, i also dun noe why, but i din do that....i just use water heater water...

chloe,
it was the physio who suggested it...just put the baby on his tummy and let him lift up his head and attract him wif an eyecatching toy..but dun do it so long until hes tired...it has to be done under supervision and dun let bb fall asleep in tis manner.....i told my mum and maid to let him do for a while on the normal bed to help strengthen his head control....

costa

ic, the nurses at NICU used to lay my babies on different positions after every 3-hourly feed. One of the positions was to lay on their tummies.
So, that's one of the reason... when i saw them doing that in NICU, i found it quite siong lor, 3 hours on the tummies, goodness... i might try it on my own, but i think the most i will just do it for 3-5 mins and then increase gradually.

jac, yr boys hv grown well, looking more boy boy now.

jolene, good to know yr boy is back home. hopefully with all these equipments, he will recover faster.

costa, jane,
i received a call fr 1 NICU nurse yesterday. she used to look after my boy quite frequently during his stay.
she's asked me to help with the next Support Group talk, which happens every 1st thursday afternoon of the month at the mother's room in NICU.
i've agreed immediately cos it'll be good to give back, play my little role & help other parents who are starting on this roller coaster journey.

hi chloe,

in NICU, the nurse will position bb to lie on their front, also called prone position, as it aids digestion.
it's not entirely tummy time exercise.

hi jolene,
is ok, take time, sure one day you can take photo for them without tube, my boys been in tube too when in hospital, me also take photo for them.i dont care, i know one day i will able to take their photo without tube. and with the tube, was the only way to give them milk, so that he canm grow up faster. do you want your baby grow up faster and healthly? then you must jia you oh...
oh, my mum teach me one, she told me baby was prem, so very weak, better that use all the cooked water to bath for them, ever the things which give them or touch them all kena use cooked water. my way is cook the water before one day, then leave it cool in pail, next morning when going to bath, will use hot water to mix again. if accidenly he drink also never mind cos water been cooked. now my baby already 6.5month, I still use this way, thinking to use until they 1years old.remeber the heater water still never cook before you use, only hot.
remember to massage for them after bath, normally i will put them at the big towel, from head start until back.abt 10minute, remember to close the window.
you will have a hard time to go if you take care your own, dont worry, everthing will be smooth, if you feel tired , remmeber me, i have 2 boy to take care when i bring them home only 1.5kg.
what your weight of baby now?
Hi yvonne,
ya lor, my boys look like old baby liao.they dont look alike right?

Good morning, ladies,
Jolene, my bb's age is coming 9 mths but corrected age is 5 mths as he's a preemie...

tube feeding is good in the sense that it wld give your boy the nutrients that he needs without him struggling and once he grows bigger and bigger, his organs wld be stronger and that wld be good for him, tio bo?

i was vy vy discouraged when my boy was discharged wif tube feeding but later came to accept that if he can slowly take in nutrients thru tube feeding, it may not be a bad idea after all.....

chloe,
the reason they change position for the bbs in the hospital is so that the heads wld be nicely shaped especially when they put the caps on and their heads may be "moulded" into a funny shape as the skulls still soft...

but at home, when we put them on the tummies, its so tt they wld lift up their heads and strengthen their neck muscles...

yvonne,
wow, i am so proud of you that they called you to give talk....heh heh...you really paying it forward by doing a good deed yah....tell me more when you hv finished.....you are right..i still not vy well, but no choice, must work..market correction today.....

hi mommies

Thanks for ur advice on tummy exercise. costa, me also down with flu, had not been carrying my babies for the past few days.
Kind of guilty...

jolene, the water i use to bathe my babies is a mixture of cold tap water and boiling water. Dun worry, i'm sure u will be able to take nice pictures of ur baby without the tube soon.

Jacelyn & costa

my boi is now 4kg plus.Thank you for your encouragement.I know that my boi will grow up to be a strong & healthy boy.

Jolene,
No problem at all, we have all been thru the same route...

when must you brg yr boy back for review.....

chloe,
r u a sahm or working like some of us ?

Chloe, if you r working, who is taking care of your bbs ?
as I thought of that should I return to workforce

didi

My babies stay with my parents during the weekdays. we visit them in the evenings and bring them home during the weekends. ur parents/in-laws willing to help u babysit when u work?

costa,

don't give me credit, like u said it, just doing my share.
NICU might call for yr help & other mummies' too... when bb is 18-24mths old.

Jolene,
My bb also review in march....cardio in maybe two months time......

didi,
did you pm me?i replied you but you never answer me leh...u wanna pm me again or call me?

Yvonne,
Still vy impressed leh.....din noe they wld keep our records for so long....and contact us...but so far, when my kid was there, they never called me for the meeting leh.....

costa,
oh, is it? how long did yr boy stay in NICU section? maybe cos he moved to isolation room early?
i knew abt it thru the social counsellor.
it's usually for parents of initially admitted premmies.
but cos it's a monthly talk, so not all parents will attend, esp not the long stay ones.

Yvonne,
Tink maybe you are right..he kena tis MRSA infection and got isolated from the "main" NICU...i remember i was vy upset when i knew tis becuz it wld mean being away from the rest..

the nurses told me that i wld be grateful for it one day and true enough, i was because in the mrsa isolation room, it was really quiet and the babies got close attention.

.all in all, he stayed five months plus in hospital as i was hesitant to bring him back due to the tube feeding..

the nurses there at nicu noe my name and embarassingly,i forgot some of their names as my brain din seem to work when i saw them in "outside clothes" haha...

correct, tink you are right....tink the long stay ones all noe wat they need to noe from the nurses liao...ha ha...

how are all of u and ur precious babies :>

got a question.....does ur bb stare at his hand sometimes? my gal will stare at her hand (rolled up in a fist) when she is bored or when im not entertaining her....wonder why...

my girl doesnt have any follow up or review with her hospital...once discharged thats it....thats the thing with private hospitals i guess...no personal touch...its good that your babies are being followed up...then can see their development...

Chloe, if I return to workforce then my parents will help to take care, I guess. But I think I will take care of them till end of this year, want to enjoy some moments with them first
do your parents have any maid ? wondering can they cope with twins if no maid ?

Hi costa

all the nurses & doc also know my name & my boi's name.Sometimes very pai seh when they saw me outside the PICU and ask me how's my boi.

Puppy
my sis also deliver at Mt E but she hv an appointed PD leh.So far so good.

jolene,

yup i also have an appointed PD...but dont have those follow ups with the speech therapist or dietician that you guys have....

Harlo, everyone,
Puppyduppy, guess as kkh specialises in children and women's healthcare, they are more conscientious to follow up wif preemies

but some of the preemies born here are not locals and some go home after they are discharged then they get follow ups wif their own country doctors.....

Puppyduppy,
My boy is okay....at home now...next wk got follow up wif the neo nat plus do hearing test....they just wanna play safe..

hows yr gal?still being looked after by yr inlaws?u going back to work in a few mths time?

costa,

my girl is ok....becoming more and more notti...will struggle like mad when she dont wanna drink milk..think she is stronger than me..hahaha...she will also blow bubbles with her saliva when she is angry..haha..

me looking for job now...yah my gal is still at my inlaws...

didi

We've got no maid cos my mom is strongly against employing one. So she takes care of the twins with my dad. So far must say they are doing a good job, but sometimes it bothers me to see them so tired looking after the babies.

costa,

yah my mil is very experienced...looking after bb like no prob..no stress...for me ...wah..super stress man...like you i definately cant handle baby alone....

puppyduppy,
guess if i got no chance, i got to learn but now my maid is doing an okay job......heh heh..i try to be as hands on as possible but quite hard as wkdays i need to coach my elder one and on wkends, i need to bring the elder one for classes or do my own thing....