Premature babies support group

good morning mummies.

Wacky mummy jane is back from one week of SAHM (my single and only care giver aka mama go holiday hehe).

FIRSTLY. to update all. my boy manage to flip (take our his hand) when he turn corrected at 4 month (ie last monday, 12th March). he is actually now 7mths. but his front still a bit floppy when he sit...and he is not yet ready to lift up his head when he turn...but YIPPY! he turn liao hahahaha...

and yes, to share with all mummies, tummy exercise does help (i tried so hard to do it for my boy over last weekend hehe)

Jolene - so happy to read that your boy is home :)). as all the mummies have said. believe in your boy...he is a stronger fighter. before you know, hehe..he be running around liao.

JAC - wow..your boy so cute ler..charming. wow next time sure a lot of gal frens hehe

haha...a trip to toa payoh hub on 15 march 07 ;-)

730974.jpg

Jac..i got a question...how come your boy so guai..stay still while you capture them in picture?? my boy hor..wow really tough to capture him one...(though i am already using 'sports mode') keke

HI jane,
Welcome back.
I'm so miss you as never heard you.
hei, your boy look different liao, he very handsome and cute. his face look more round.
Oh, I tell you ha, my boys very jialat one,they like to take photo lei, If the camera or ph near them , they just quiet. especially terry (1st) when I near him, some time he will smile.so his photo more cute, bryan also like too, but he always very look ganjoing and nervous when take photo..haa.haa.
share wth you some funny photo.
Jane, how much you spend for your boys medical bill? My one total 3 of us RM1000.Do you believe?
ok, chat again{731095,}
731103.jpg
731104.jpg
731105.jpg
731106.jpg

hi hi jac - thanks hehe...me told (sms) costa that i be away for one week at home to be SAHM haha.

ya, my boy look different liao hor, every week he is changing, esp over last week. me so happy to witness his turning hehe (a milestone ler) keke.

wow...no wonder all your picture so nice as if they are ready to pose haha...guess they are very confident of themselve (got such good luck).

which medical bill you refering to? the hospitalised one?

jane,
congrats on ur boy flipping over! yeah! he flip from front to back?
ur boy can sit up already? wow thats good!

my mil going on holiday this weekend...so me will stay over at mil to look after my girl..hope i can do it...no confidence after such a long time of not looking after her at night....cross fingers....so scared i cant hear her cry for milk...

Hi Jane and Jac urs boys are so cute, look chubby and handsome and me so envy thus DD now is in the NICU weighing at only 1kg..last night the doc off her feeding cos of green liquid flow out from stomach thru mouth and they put her on anti biotic, sigh i saw her crying so much and my heart feeling pain and scare..

Hey jac, ur bill for 3 of u is RM1000 so u meant that u delivered in JB? Very cheap leh thus i think mine and DD bills will chop up to about 15k sin dollars...sigh

Hi jane,
Thanks.If you got new photo must show me again ha..
Ya,forget to share wth you my boys like to kick now, when I change diapers wth them, always kena kick by them, so pain. but they never feel anything, just smile only. bryan also know how to turn from front to back liao, he know last two weeks. he very noisy too, when he turn he will shout, now when he feel boring he will shout, ask us to carry him, always shout, aaaaaaa.and smile hei,hei,hei,hei.taboleh tahan.his broth maybe more heavy, he dont know yet, he only know turn his body, still cannot go over yet.I always say him lazy boy.
Did I told you I'm malaysian? I am staying at Johor Bahru now.My boys born in gorverment hospital for 57 days, total their bill is RM1000.If I go to private hospital, one day RM1500x57days-RM17100,haven includ the other charges and my medical bill.

hi Jac,

hahahah...ya ya same as my boy. now he like to 'air kick' and 'air punch' haha. my lao gong pte part..dunno kanan kick how many times by my boy till my lao gong totally have to avoid my boy 'power leg' haha...

my boy too..now like to 'pretend' to cry when he see nobody around. then when pple come..he will AAAAAHHHHH very loud...keke.

hey, your two boy and my boy gestation age is about the same. so i think we two really can compare their developments...

oh i did not know you are an malaysian. wow...my boy stay in hospital for nearly 3 mths (90 days), while i was hospitalised for 12 days before i give birth. total bill come up to about S$10K...but after sub sub sub etc...i paid about S$2,000 plus using medisave. lucky that time when my waterbag burst, i chose to stay in 'C' Class hence there was lots of subsidize..or else i will end up paying thousand of dollars...

my boy born in KKH (something like government hosptial)...

oh jac jac...i forgot to say. my boy since can turn..he like "leopard crawl" on the bed..very funny one...he will just his knee cap and his hand and his tummy to push himself up, down, left, right, though his head is still not really able to lift up... :p-

hi puppyduppy - don't worry. you can do it one. see...wacky jane survive one week of SAHM keke... i am sure..you can too (after watching your mil do it every day).

tell you a joke..my boy (dunno is it he know ah ma not in singapore & his mama = me not capable one) very obedient over that one week hahahaha... or maybe he so bored with me so he always zzzz hahahaha

relax. you can do it one

hi Ayu...hmm. i know what you feel. my boy when born is only 985 gram. i know even if i say i understand..its difficult for you. but believe me. i do know ur feelings...i been through.

always believe. there is light at the end the tunnel. Your DD is a fighter. she be ok.

give your best warmest hug to her when you visit her...she can feel it. that is where she need the energry.

who know..today she may be drinking liao...they give surprise everyday :)

hi hi Ayu...hmm. i know what you feel. my boy when born is only 985 gram. i know even if i say i understand..its difficult for you. but believe me. i do know ur feelings...i been through.

always believe. there is light at the end the tunnel. Your DD is a fighter. she be ok. give your best warmest hug to her when you visit her...she can feel it. that is where she need the energry.

who know..today she may be drinking liao...they give surprise everyday :)

and...don't worry about the bill...

Hi Ayu,
Dont worry, your baby will be alright, just the time being. My 2nd twins bryan from 1.19kg born drop until 900gram because inflection and kena puasa 2weeks when he born, I am so worry when I saw his chest when he breath, Jane and costa more strong, their baby alsa very light when born. During 57 day in hospital I can say everyday I was cry, until now , I feel my eyesight got a bit blur now. but, what I can tell you is leave it to doctor and nurses, they will help you, what you can do is give them the support which parent must strong, cos your baby will cry and feel weak when we cry and worry. If you want your baby get well soon, be strong, dont cry infront them ok..give your baby energy.....
ya, I born my baby in johor bahru. Dont worry abt the medical bill, did you saw the jane message? her darling stay 3month, only pay around $2000plus, so , dont worry, just pray and wish your baby can get well soon, money can earn back, what important is happiness.
If your baby back, you can give him Polycose, is the powder can mix in milk, you see my baby face? a lot of people say they chubby, I think because of polycose... ha..ha..Hope can see your baby photo soon.
Hi jane,
Wah, today so free ha..
I tell you what, you was more lucky than me, only one person kick you, I always kena 2 person kick lei, exspecially after bath, I will massage for them , they always kick my tummy, I will joke wth them, I mummy got baby, sure kena kick by your...ha..ha..
ya, we can compare the development for the boys, I think bryan more same wth your boys which they know how to turn, terry more heavy, hee,hee, you look at his size than you know la..they can hold their head strong if the turn to back. byran more active than his brother as he more noisy,active. I am very worry when night, cos sometime I will wake up and see how was them, terry will kick his blanket away and roll down untill kena me, bryan more jialat, his body will turn another size,he like to turn back to sleep too, I am so worry afraid he will cover his face.really tak boleh tahan.They like to hold and take things too, when I give them the toys they able to hold now and play it , sometime put into their mouth.
I was working in singapore 12years, after know my baby was twins, tender my resignation and come back to take care my own.
My house at johor bahru, next time if you come jb, come and visit me or call me.
Dont mind I am malaysian which this forum is sinapore motherhood, so pai seh I join here.. and so sorry of my broken english, hope all the mummies here understand waht I am tring to say.

hi jac, we speak common language because..our baby is premature and we are all mothers, so no language barrier. we speak our heart...

today i came in office..lots to do. but am very kanjong as i want to update all mummies that my boy can flip liao so hahahahahah..immediately log in and type and type hahahahaha.... to me, my boy can flip is a milestone lor...(i don't really compare his development stage with other bb) to ME, he will do what he will do when the time is there...

Jac..hahaha..my boy too. now he put everything he can reach into his mouth keke...

now at nite when i zzzz...i also watch where he 'move'...he will like just 'chiong' here an there, never see where he is going keke... (even if he is going against traffice haha).

wow - if i really go JB (which i am indeed planning to), will tell you in advance. hehe

ya, Ayu, don't worry. you see me, jac, costa, esp YVONNE...her kiddo so big liao. so you see, your DD be ok. given time and patience. my boy now is 7mths (corrected 4 mths), so do not compare my boy and your DD, cannot like that compare one...

Hi Jane hehe my DD doc just told me thru phone that she'll on her feeding again today thus DD stop vomitting those liquid from her stomach liao...so relief to hear that and thanks i'll tell her that Aunty Jane & others concern mommies has been sending their warmest rgds to her..keke so happy now..

Hi Jac no worries la, there r some malaysian mommies which i met in this forum too, and ur english is good enough for us to understand...u write very well too thus mine english also not as good as other mommies here leh..the tough part i can say til now my stitches is still painful cos of C-section for 6 days only and i've to travel from Malaysia Custom taking Causeway link 2 to Singapore Queen Street then to KKH, and from KKH back to JB during night time..wow so much walk and my wound getting more paiful ah, but its ok la since my DD is fine then i think is worth enough for me to and fro from JB to Singapore daily..

hehe i know i know and wont compare anymore...just by viewing ur bb pic and Jac's twins just feeling like they r so adorable and really wants to give them a hug too..chubby boys..to Jac is also not easy as she has to tend to 2 babys, wow i really PEI FU her...so u r working and yet can chatting hehe not bad leh... can see from what u wrote really so happy about ur boy can flip liao...Thumbs UP

Hi Jane,
Ya lor, actually at here I can improve my english again if I write everyday here, as I am jobless now, If long time never use will become poor.Anythings wrong must tell me ha..
where is costa and yvonne today, why never hear from them?
tell me advance if you come JB, We will go and meet you, we can have lunch together. let our boys meet up too. they can fight and play together. ha..ha..
ya, we cant compare the baby of their size, important is they health and active..
from twins forum, I know one mummies mich, she very strong , her boys only 600gram and 720gram when born, now 2 year and very healthy now, I will ask her to join here too. his sons very active too.
Hi, Ayu,
We can meet up one day, I am staying skudai here. You was singaporean right? mean that whole your family member stay jb? everyday travel from jb to s'pore? quiet tired ha. last time I travel during weekend only, feel tired alreally.
Congrat, your baby on feeding again, did you give her BM? is very good, last time my boys dont know how to suck, I been pump out every day and they taken until 5 month. You must try your best. Why you dont want to stay at your friend house as you no need to travel everyday..You will go and see your baby every day from what time to what time? Be careful on your wound, dont walk too many and must eat more healthly ok.

Hi Jane,
Ya lor, actually at here I can improve my english again if I write everyday here, as I am jobless now, If long time never use will become poor.Anythings wrong must tell me ha..
where is costa and yvonne today, why never hear from them?
tell me advance if you come JB, We will go and meet you, we can have lunch together. let our boys meet up too. they can fight and play together. ha..ha..
ya, we cant compare the baby of their size, important is they health and active..
from twins forum, I know one mummies mich, she very strong , her boys only 600gram and 720gram when born, now 2 year and very healthy now, I will ask her to join here too. his sons very active too.
Hi, Ayu,
We can meet up one day, I am staying skudai here. You was singaporean right? mean that whole your family member stay jb? everyday travel from jb to s'pore? quiet tired ha. last time I travel during weekend only, feel tired alreally.
Congrat, your baby on feeding again, did you give her BM? is very good, last time my boys dont know how to suck, I been pump out every day and they taken until 5 month. You must try your best. Why you dont want to stay at your friend house as you no need to travel everyday..You will go and see your baby every day from what time to what time? Be careful on your wound, dont walk too many and must eat more healthly ok.

Hi all mummies here,
Long time haven't come to this thread, really lots to catch up and 'see' lots of new faces here..

Good to hear every little one here doing fine. My boy going to be 1 YO soon in April. Time flies.

Have a very bad days recently. My boy was hospitalized due to bacteria infection. He lost so much weight that was gained very very hard.... now he is very skinny, but at least recovered, thank god.

For the mummies who join us new here, be strong and steady, ur little one w sure go thro the NICU stage n go home happily w u.

Next time i shall upload my boy photo here too
he now looks like a todler than a baby, no longer behave so 'guai' to let u take photo lying on bed. He can stand n start trying to walk a bit now

All the best

Ayu,try and express breastmilk to stimulate production.....

Irenelovej,

wat happened to your boy?wat type of bacteria infection?wat did the neo nat say? how many days did he stay in hospital?he was in kkh or mt e?is he ok now?once he regains his health, his appetite will come back again....

jac,
m here,just trying to read thru the postings and catch up on the developments here....

Hi Jac and yes i'm a Singaporean and hubby is a Malaysian, ya lor everyday travel in and out from here to Singapore then come in again at night also during at work..oh no only me, hubby and my kids live in JB but my parent live in SG.. just dun like to stay with mom cos she is too overnag haha, i know she is very concern about me and baby so better avoid her and come back to JB as she is like my commander, like to scold me lol even when i'm 32 now..yeah baby can feed by milk now as she is getting ok as what doc had tole me just now..no i dun BF cos i'm on medication of high blood pressure sigh. Okay sure we can meet up one day cos we r in JB mah hehe..

Hi costa, tried to express milk liao but seem like doc is not happy with my blood pressure leh, so sad but have to on my medication til it goes down by itself lor..pray pray lah hope one day can really give my DD to suck mother milk and this is my wish

Ayu, try to talk to the lactation consultant to see wat can be done..

after i gave birth, i was on antibiotics and was told that the bm expressed wldnt be good for the bb...later on, then they did some check and found out that it was okay?u noe why, because my boy kena the same type of infection and was on the same antibiotics.

at first he cld onli take 1ml, then later more and more..if you dun express, the supply wld go down..

till now, i cant let my boy latch on direct as his sucking is weak..i still express and give him watever i can (supplemented wif formulae milk)....

is there any way for you to ask the doctor if its possible for you to maintain supply whilst still on medication?

hi Ayu, wow...so your DD is drinking milk liao. very soon your DD be smiling to you. i think its ok to continue to provide BM for your DD though you are on blood pressure medication right.

take good care...really tough for you to travel to and fro from JB to Sin..

hi irenejov - glad that your boy has recovered...looking forward to seeing his pic..

costa,
my boy had throat infection by bacteria. he had fever for almost a wk, at first a PD nearby our place diagnose is common virus infection so never give antibiotic, later his fever cannot come down n he starts having lots of phlegm n cough a lot, together with his food out. we brought him back to his neo nat in Mt E n found out is bacteria infection. but as the fever quite high n he still throw up (coz he doesn't know the tactic to cough out phlegm so he juz use all strength to get rid of it n the food oso get vomitted), then PD decided to put him in ward 1 day for drip n nebulizer. now he recovered but lost so much weight, onli 8+kg.

Ayu,
Even though u r not advisible to give BM to ur DD, but u can still keep pumping out the milk, and u drink it back lo. Tis is to maintain ur supply n one day when u no longer need medication, u can give ur DD BM. It's much better than formula. I still BF my son, but now more formula than BM

Traveling daily to n fro JB is no joke. U should cut down the traveling frequency (u still in confinemnet?) since it's so inconvinient, dun go to visit ur DD daily, though i know u miss her n wan to see her very much. do rest well n establish ur milk supply ready for her, while the nurses in KK will do their best to take care ur DD

morning ladies!

wow... so much to catch up!

irenelovej, sorry to hear abt yr boy.
take heart, bbs lose & GAIN weight very quickly. soon yr boy will be back to his chubby self.

ayu, kudos to u! travelling to/fro JB daily is very taxing.
i'm sure yr little princess knows of yr love & will develop well. how many weeker is she?

costa, market must hv been roller coasting ard u huh?!!

jane & jac, yr little ones are so cute! looking at them makes me miss my boy's younger days, when he was not so mobile & accident-prone.

good morning yvonne,

think costa indeed has a ride to go...

my boy now really difficult to carry liao..he will use his fully body strenth to surge forward...must really hold him tight tight... keke.

next week its appointment with neo nat and dietriecan hehe..so fast.

then come early april..time to let him go for his ENT (ear) test..hope he pass...

jane,

ya, time pass really fast...
my boy is due for his almost-last followups in may (eye) & june (physio & neo nat).
if all goes well (crossing my fingers, toes, hair... etc), he'll be discharged.

before long, it will be yr little warrior's turn.

harlo, mummies,

Yvonne,the mkt is erratic and so is my income, ha ha......really cho bo at the office and worse is when nothg to do, i end up even more tired....

Jane and Yvonne,
just came kkh..for my boy's neo nat check up and hearing test...

Yvonne,
just like wat you said..they put some plug in the ear and did the testing in a sound proof room..next check up is in june.....

hi costa,

oh ... ask you hor, the ear test, does it require for your boy to zzz?

Come 2nd april, my boy will go back for the detail ear scan (cos he failed initial 2 tests)

Harlo, onli have to read thru the postings more thoroughly now..

irenelovej, hope yr boy is fit as a fiddle..tink bacterial infection seems quite common nowadays..when bb throat is painful..its really vy poor thing for them as they cant swallow properly....

tink at the meantime, better dun bring him out to crowded places..tink thats the advice doctors always give...

Jane/Yvonne,

the hearing test seems okay and if need be, the neo nat wld advise for further test..as you noe lah, kkh vy careful on preemies, one...

jane, this test dun need to sleep...the lady let him wear a hair band and then hook the ear plug and then see whether the computer registered any sound waves and then later she inserted one equipment which was handheld into the ear and then inserted another different equipment also handheld inside..

think its to check the "volume" of the ear and the other one is to check got anythg stuck inside

i asked for advice on how to clean the ear, she says leave it alone, wor..

Yvonne,

the neo nat asked me to let him do more exercises as his head always flops forward.....
dun noe i got energy to let him do or not...as he seems quite tired smtimes....

the neo nat advised not to give solids until six mths corrected but the neo nats at the nicu said can let him try some cereals....but i think i will delay first..

she also said for bbs, dun give cough medicine so early especially during the first year...try to use other alternatives like ventolin etc

jane,
the bb is doing okay...he had a stroma or smthg bec he cldnt really digest food but later on, okay liao.....he was born vy tiny but glad that he is really doing well...

also met some other parents of bbs who were from nicu or had some other problems..

after last friday's party, i really feel that they are very wei da and it really brings tears to my eyes when they tell me wat they hv been thru....our suffering really seems small compared to them....so we really hv to look forward...always...

hi costa.

oh the test that your boy went for is the one my boy did (which he failed both times). the one he going for in April is a different one....

oh..so the neo nat recommend to start solid on 6 mths corrected (me also thinking of doing that).

hmm...from the way u say,,, think the parents must be very wei da, so well...we just be happy our bb is healthy and happy ....

oh...what did the neo nat recommend (exercise) for your boy?

Hi costa,
Jane
Irene
Amk_sk

My baby has to be isolated with others babies thus the doctor told me her stool got dunno what virus and they need to put her on Antibiotic for a week leh so they off the feeding again...sigh but its ok la since she is ok and move alot, kicking up and down lol very cute leh...love to see babies there, all different cases and cutie..what surprised me today is that she was being overturned by the nurse for photo therapy and doc told me it could takes one month under the light??? can't really understand their english cos they r from oversea (India) but very friendly lah..in fact this morning when i visited her and guess she did? Haha she was sucking her fingers and the nurse who look after her kept saying she know how to suck liao so very fast she can bottle feed or try Bf?? Sigh i'll ask my gynae whether can bf or not lor..she may think i'm LOSO lol...

Yes, travelling in and out everyday really make me tired, in facts now my wound and stithes is getting infection i guess thus i'm having fever now.. Just had a little fight with hubby thus he was very concern about my stitches but i told him that he dun care for our DD at all..he only cares if i sick then he has to send me here and there to see doc, in facts i think he only cares his business but not me and DD...maybe i've post natal blues?? but i dun cry leh...

Ayu,
I think u better take rest since u got infection. If u dun take care ur own body well, u can't bf ur bb too. the mother must be healthy enuf to nurse n take care the bb.

Jane n Costa,
I didn't start my boy on solid on corrected 6 mths. in fact he was on solid since 5 mths actual (ie 4 mths corrected). His PD agree on tat, but start w onli puree fruit n vegetables. My in law likes to start bb on solid early as she claimed the bb she took care last time all started solid at 4 mths, n one of her grandson taken care by others didn't start solid early so till now 3+ YO dun eat quiet well on food. So since PD agree, we juz start him on solid. at his actual 7 mths, we gave him porridge once a day. Now he takes 2 porridge a day. But during the period he was sick, he didn't eat anything... so poor thing

U might wan to start ur boy on puree vege first lo. give a bit to try out.

good morning Ayu,

wow your DD is a wonder. she can sucker her fingers (my boy now corrected 4mths..then can suck his fingers - by the way, my boy is a 26 weekers). what the nurse say make sense, if she can suck her fingers..means she is swallowing (her salivia) means she could be just ready for bottling or BF ler....

oh truly like you say, most of the docs are india..so haha, like you that time i also don't really understand half of what they are trying to tell me :p. But if you are not sure, its ok to just ask again. Also, the nurse there are very nice...you can always ask them for advise.. the nurse there are all very caring and motherly...

hmm.. i think your hubby is really concern for you. anxiety for your gal has cause you to be angry with him. stay calm...man tends to be more 'systematic' when they do things...he does care for you and your gal.

hi irenelovej,

Did you check with your Neo Nat on when to start soldid for your boy? my mother believe is only start solid when my boy can sit up (cos that is when his digestive system would be ready)...

my boy now is corrected at 4 mths (actual is 7mths). so far, my boy now he can flip..but his head front muscle still needs to build up a bit...

think next monday when we go see the KKH Neo Nat, i will ask if my boy can start on solid...but i think the neo nat may not encourage so...alternatively, i will also ask the dietrician about this...

oh also irenelovej, i read in a few magazine..all say better to start at 6mths (thou never mention about premature bb should start when ;p)

i've just stumbled on this support grp. i've a bb girl born at 33 wks 6 days. she's 4 mths old today (2.5 mths corrected). she seems 2 b gaining weight v slowly. her birthweight was 1.86kg. after 4 mths, now only 4+ kg. she's on tbm. can i just ask if preemies gain weight more slowly? she oso only grew by 6cm since birth.

her wt n ht r only on e 5th percentile. doc said it's nt gd...

kimi, welcome to this support group.....my bb is also a preemie born at 24wks..now corrected age 5 mths...

how heavy is yr bb now? how much is she drinking?
tink bbs who are on tbm MAY gain weight slower than bbs who drink formulae milk

but of cse there are exceptions to the rule when i saw big size bbs who are on bm..

wat did the dietician say? for my boy, was told to add polyvysol and nutricomp into the milk...

and also my bb was on similac neosure which is formulated for preemies......as my bm is not enough as i m working and also i couldnt manage to latch on my bb as his sucking is weak..

kimi, is yr bb latching on or you just expressing and give to her..maybe you let us noe more details so that the other mummies can share their knowledge..

hi costa,

thx 4 ur prompt reply. during e last chk up at KK 2 wks ago, she was only 4.73kg. initially during her 1st mth at home, she gained wt q fast. she was discharged when she's 1970g. by her full mth celebration, she was 3kg liao. after tt, her wt gain started to slow dn.

i'm latching her only (i'm a sahm) cos she simply refused 2 take bottle. my ss has always been v gd. by e time she's discharged (after 13 days in SCN), i haf 50+ bottles o ebm in KKH. they din want them. ha ha... so i had to throw lotsa them away.... then my bb oso dun want bottle... haiz... wasted all my ebm...

e doc at KK said there's no need to supplement w formula leh. even if need, i oso tau tia cos she dun take bottle! how to supplement? n i dunno how much she drinks everyday cos latching on, can't tell. she's been sleeping thru e nite since 2mths+ n now she only has 6 feeds a day. but she seems contented n happy. also still peeing n pooing evryday. so i wonder if it's bcos she's a premmie so she gain wt slower?

sorry 4 my long story.... i read thru some o e postings. must say all u mothers here r so wei da! i really admire all o u!

hi mommies

Bad day for me, my boy got red patches (something like mosquito bites) on his arm. About 10 of them, see already very heartpain. Not sure wat happened, but my mom said could be he's allergic to johnson and johnson bath. He developed those patches after he had his bath yesterday, which was his second or third time using J&J... But my husband felt that it could be insect bites. Any similar experience from the rest of the mommies? Is J&J bath ok to use? My husband face black black again, seems like he is not happy with my mom cos i think he might feel that she din take good care of the baby. sigh... tonight i got to face the music liao.

ayu, not sure whether ur situation is similar... My wound also din heal properly, got 2 lobangs along the cut that keep on developing pus. And when sent for lab test, the wound contains the bateria e-coli. i go to the polyclinic to change dressing every alternate day... took me 2 months to heal completely... During the last 2 weeks of that 2 months, i was so fed up going to the polyclinic that i did the dressing on my own everyday, husband helped me. i find it more effective and less tiring, perhaps when u feel better, u can consider doing it on ur own? Then dun have to visit the clinic so often. Do take care of ur wound, and have ample rest. Dun worry, just take things one step at a time.

Ayu

My son was also isolated in NICU cos they found e-coli in his mouth secretion. He was not infected, but it was just a colonisation of that bateria. The nurses suspected that i could be the one passing the bateria to him cos i had e-coli in my wound. Until now i also dunno whether this is really true, cos i wash my hands diligently before touching him. The doctor told me otherwise. He said that the NICU environment is the one that causes the colonisation of e-coli in his secretion... So i dunno who is right...

Anyway, do wash ur hands thoroughly when u handle ur baby
Better be safe than sorry.