Premature babies support group

hi there

hmm...i am being to wonder as what jac say. could it be because neosure is sweet hence my boy kept on having the phelgm problem

think i will ring up the dietrican and ask about changing to NAN...

i also scare my boy over weight..cos now (at non-corrected 6mths) his weight is already 50 percentile :p

yvonne/costa - hehe no earthquake here at West...i heard most is in CBD area.

morning mummies...
been so bz with my gal lately..no time to read forum....

brought my girl for her jab last friday and she didnt cry!!! we were all so amazed...i distracted her with a rattle and she was sucking her fist..haha...i was the one that teared cos the needle so so long...scary...PD said my girl abit on the short side...but he said its too early to say now...

jane,
my girl also have alot of phlegm...can hear her trying to snort the phlegm out..dunno wat to do..my mil already gave her chinese herb thingy to take..still no use...
my girl is taking NAN1....the colour of her stool varies.at that time i was so confused with all the brands of milk...choose the one that most of my frens kids take...

good morning puppyduppy,

hope your side not shaken by the quake yesterday...

wow..your gal is so brave. hey. i heard one of my colleagues say, those bb who does not cry when taking jab .. in future when they grow up, they be easy to tend to.

sorry..what is ur gal corrected age now? and what is her height?

my boy will give a 'short cry' when the jab go in..but after that he be ok keke...

hmmm.. oh your gal is on NAN1 ah... truly this phlegm thingy really irriating... but is your gal gaining good weight when she is on NAN?

did your mil say anuything about this phlegm thing?

last nite i ask my mum (about changing FM)..she say ask me not to waste my effort esp when my bb is gaining good weight on Similac Neosure...

my mum say...this phelgm thing..will have to 'correct' when my boy is more ready to eat solid :p...

Hi costa,

I never see the lid in brown before, ya, maybe is for 0-6month. Since your baby like it, then better continue.

Hi Yvonne
Thanks for your advice, I feel better now and so gangjiong also. I will try to relax myself, and try not to weight their weight every day before bath. If not, my boys will suffer.
Ya, I dont have the health booklet to check, can you help me?
Ok, I think I will wait them 6month correted then give them that cereal.Thanks.

Hi, Jane,
I just give you my opinion, you better check with your doctor. I tried before the neosure, really sweet if compare to other FM. Ya, if you boys got alot of phlegm, maybe you can try the yurenshen Baoyintan. My boys ate before, really effect, they will burp out the phelgm
themself when I give them the baoyintan. You canb try. And sometime if I heard they got hooo..hoo sound, I give spray them the sterimer nose spray to clean their nose and sore phelgm. Then they will feel better.

For my experince, My boys now still bath with cooked water, everything to them I will rinse wth cooked water too, before bath I will apply sesame oil at the stomuch, to prevent the air, so my boys seldom got phelgm and colic problem now. I also using Dr.Brown bottle which I think better than Avent.(My personal comment)

hi jac,

hmm..interesting info. i shall try the bao yin tan. meanwhile, will also check with the doc.

my boy too have the hoo hoo sound ler! ya, same as you, i am giving him the nose spray...

wow..sometime, its really when we speak up on our bb issue then we realised others have experience to share hor...

Jac..so your bb now on similac EQ?

my boy also has not start on cereal...i was also advised to give him cereal when he is corrected as at 6mths

Hi,jane
If i am not wrong, now baoyintan got promotin at yurensen. ha..ha...
ya, we must share our experince here as we can get help too.
Ya, They was on similac EyeQ in more Iron now. Quiet ok, they like the taste.
Actually, I had give them before, they like it, but I think I want to relay to 6month too, cos need to wait their digest system better first.
I think you better continue the neosure if you want, since your baby like it.
Ya, did you show your baby photo here?

hi jac...

hahaha. really! then i must ask my husband go and buy (since got promotion) can save money save hor...

oh i see...but..i am just not sure when everyone here seem to give their bb 'normal stage' FM..me the only one who give Similac Neosure :p...so i become like not so sure hahahaha....

so far my boy quite ok with it..i meant..he gain weight and he does not reject it (touch wood) lor. so i take it...he is ok with it pah :p (if that is the way to judge whether the FM is ok with the baby or not) haha.

ya i show before..but i am proud to re-attched here again haha
715533.jpg

chloe...about the pooing. sorry is ur boy on FM or BM? if FM..suggest u give more water... put more water, lesser powder.

but i heard, its ok that bb dun poo for 3 days ler..

Hi jane,
Refer to your baby first, if your baby weight ok, then better change to normal FM, if not, next time overweight.ha..ha...and will be to heavy for his digest system or not?
Now my boys ok for the milk liao. I tell you ha, I am so kiasu, every day I will take their weight before bath.ha..ha..if one day never gain weight i wil sad, last few day I was sad cos they never gain weight, but today my elder from 6.45 to 6.5kg, second 5.56kg to 5.69kg. I am so happy.

Oh, I will try to post my boys photo here too, but I dont have the latest one, all in hp, for the computer one only two month ago.

hi jac

ya..actually about the weight thing. i am concern too (since the chat yesterday). hence... am really considering of changing.

so far...he everyday poo...so..i take it he is digesting well???.....

now my boy weight about 7.2 kg. height about 65cm pah...

i don't have a weighting scale at home so its only when he go for his monthly review with KKH doc then i get to know his weight. but when i carry him phsycially, i can feel his weight & height gain :p

i think you are not Kiasu...its good that u keep a close track monitoring...

oh ok ok...hope to get to see your boys pic soon :))

Hi Jane,
Ok, Maybe i will pose the old one first.

Ai ya, your baby weight is very good if compare with my baby. When your birth date? mine is 14/8/2006. My baby stay hospital 57days.born in 1.51kg and 1.19kg

hi chloe

when my boi din't poo for a few days,I will put a teaspoon of brown sugar into his milk.That's wat my sis PD taught her the last time.Indeed,my boi poo aft taking it.But you can only do one time and not too often.Not more than tat.

hi jac,

oh good good..i waiting to see the pic.

hmm my boy borned on 12 Aug 2006 at birth weight of 985 gram (he is a 26 weekers).

he stay for nearly 3 mths at KKH before going home at 2.2kg.

so from Nov to today..he gain about 5kg...

jac...my boy and costa boy...really went through a lot. i get to know costa at KKH - Special Care Nursery...

so two of us is like...old friends

that time back when our bbs is in SCN, i always peek (when i bypass costa boy nursery) see if costa is there hahahahaha....

that was then.....

somehow..talking about it, it triggle a 'sigh' from me. but well, i am happy to say, both our boys is doing well :)

sorry my this message sound a bit sad.

but me is a happy and proud mama really :)))

Hi jane,

ya, both of you was brave mommy.

Wah, you baby really the milk right, cos he can increase the weight 5kg in 4month.

my 1st twins increase 3.74kg and 2nd twins 3.39kg only in 4month. Somemore your baby only 985gram when born! You really super woman....ha..ha..

What time your baby last milk?and next morning drink at what time too? did you give him in the mighnight? he drink how many oz now?

Harlo,everyone,
today vy busy, no time to come in here...

jane is right, we went thru alot together and her boi was discharged before mine....we "met" at another forum and i 'jio'ed' her to come here....

we always kept a look out for each other when our boys were there...

well, i would rather say i m a very tired working mum...stressed from work and home...as reach home must coach my elder kid...

Yvonne,
Sad to say, the stock market tremours are worse than the sumatra tremours.....

Jolene,
Wat type of brown sugar did you use?is it those normal ones bought at the supermarket?

hi jac...hmm...you too noted the increase in weight in my boy hor. that is why...i hesitat in changing FM for my boy

for the first 4 mths when he is born. he is on my BM. then after the 4 mths i change to Similac Neosure until now...

me no super woman la...its the neosure that is doing wonderfing job :p

my boy..he drinking about 3 hourly now. every feed about 6oz... coming to about 200ml lor.

his last feed at night normally around 11pm plus...but at night he too wake up for milk milk :p..thou i hope he can start to sleep throught out the night soon :p

costa is actually more brave...her boy is a 24 weeker...i really pick up a lot from her..her braveness and ability to find out everything...really appreciate that she bring me into this forum..else i be so so so lost...

hey costa - let the world shake if they want...reach home, see your two boys, you be smiling as always :)

Jane,
ha ha, you made me so happy wif yr praise...no lah, i not that capable, its just that i vy free, surf and surf net to find out everything which i can....tink smtimes i read too much and scare ourselves.....

maybe its better to be gong gong and just let nature take its course...as actually we shld treat our preemies as normal and not out of the blue..altho its common that we worry more than normal...

actually vy happy that there are so many participants in tis forum and so active...really learn alot from the forumers here....

gg home soon but tink i more stressed at home.....

actually my boi also growing okay on neosure since its specially formulated for preemies...

jane, u noe my bm supply dropped vy drastically due to recent work stress...vy soon must buy more and more formulae milk alredy...

hi costa...

gosh, dun let stress get to you. you been letting your boy on BM for more than 6mths liao rite. think good enough...don't be stress about having not enough BM.

hmm ya the thing about neosure is it 'said' its specially for preemies...and i know of a twins (also about same timing born as my boy) who take neosure and seem to be taking it well... so, me not sure if i should change too :p

think best is check with the dietrican pah.

costa - have a good evening and don't be stress :)

Ya, I know that Neosure can increase the weight very well. I also give BM until 4.5month. After that Similac LF then now Similac Eye.this is the reason that my boys weight increase so slow.ha? I am so confuse now, do i need to change to neosure? ha..ha..
wah, your baby every 3 hour 180ml, so powerful! of course the weight gain so much. Then his digest syatem very good too, so fast digest the milk! good boy ha..tell your son , say untie say him was a good boy....give him a kiss too..

My 1st twins terry only 200ml 2nd twins bryan only 180ml every and 4hour, whole day only 5time cos never wake up midnight.some time never finish too.ai ya, that way i worry..

hi, costa and you still working? who take care the baby for you? me!jobless, housewife only.

costa,
ya i know she was a brave mother.when his boy born?weight when born?now the weight?

hai, want to load the photo for you, but too large, how?

hi jac --- hmm... frankly...200ml is not enough for my boy...thats why he every 3 hour want milk milk...:p. but i don't dare to increase too much. don't want to weight down his digestive system..i rather...feed him every 3 hourly...make sure he is digesting...

your boys intake also good ah...wow..u must have good training ways that's why they don't wake up at night....

i think...i heard before. there is no need to worry about milk level intake...so long the baby are growing..

oh..so you are a SAHM... but its good, u can full time take care of your boys.

not like me n costa...rushing like mad everyday...

hmmm....cost haha..u may have to update jac on your boy statics...long time no update liao...

oh...hhmmmmmm...maybe u search for a smaller pic? or crop the pic a bit??

Wahhh...u mummies feed so much ah? I only feed 120ml every 3hrs and that also depends if the notti princess wants to drink or not. If she's playing or distracted, she can stretch up to 4 hours. If u ask her to drink more, she'll "scold" u and then complain to her daddy. *faint*

At 7.5months corrected, she's at 8.4kg 67cm. She's a shortie. hahaha...

Hi stressed,
Ya lor, I sm so jealous on jane lei,her boy can drink so much...ha..ha..my 2 boys need to carry and walk around then can finish, sometime also cry.
Hi jane, try to sent the photo, but still cant, do you have idea how to crop or smaller the picture?

morning mummies.

jane,
my girl is 2 months (corrected age). she is gaining ok with NAN1, she is 4.8kg and 57cm in height...shortie also..haha..my girl also doesnt drink alot...about 100ml every 3 hours..but doc say her weight is ok...

my mil says that the phlegm thing hopefully will go away when she is older..she just gives the chinese herb thingy (dunno wat its called,baoyindang i think)

hi good morning mummies.

stressed...wow 7.5mths at 8.4kg is consider quite good ah.. my boy at 7 mths is only 7.2kg.. somemore ur gal on full BM. so it show that your BM really good stuff ler ;-)

jac - my boy too fight with the bottle. jsut have to find ways to make him bottle up lor...kekeke...erh, i dunno how to crop really ler :p

puppyduppy - at 2mths, actually drinking 100ml is considering not bad ah... she seem of good weight and height too. ya, my mother also say, the phelgm thing shld go away as my boy grow up lor...

mummies...i think..sometime we really cannot compare how much our baby is drinking..its really the developments that counts. no matter how much they in-take, most important is they are gaining weight (no matter more or less)>

for my boy..he is born at 985grams (really low birth weight)..so...it is most important that he gain weight fast (i think on this...both me and costa are more kanjong than mummies here cos most of your baby is born with at least above 1kg and above)..

well..so long our baby is happy and healthy. we are all happy mummies rite ;-)

jane,

ur right..we shouldnt compare the drinking capabilities of our babies..im just happy that she is gaining weight properly...my girl born at 1.14kg..and from that weight to the present weight..its really a miracle...so thankful and happy she is healthy...:>

good morning.

Ya, shouldnt compare the drinkong capabilities of babies, important they must gain weight,.
What I worry is they gain weight very slow, only 400-500gram per month. is it normal?

Jane ,
I try to crop the pic , but i cant.so maybe i try again later.
I need to bath for my boys first.
chat again later

wow.. all the discussion on weight & milk intake are very interesting.

all u mummies are so right abt the very unique little warriors we each have, its difficult to compare even to the average indications written in books.
the only certainty is that our bbs are growing stronger and healthier.

jac, i will try to check the health booklet (at home). yr twins should hv been discharged with their own booklets too...

costa, ya... been following the markets a bit closer recently. quite a roller coaster!

HI jane,
I able to do the crop of picture liao,
This picture was taken on end of december. Round face that one is terry(1st twins), smallest that one bryan(2nd twins).
716304.jpg
716305.jpg
716306.jpg
716307.jpg

JAC...they are so chubby and cute :))) so super adorable... gosh, how i wish i can see them face to face...somemore both got double eye lid...such nice features

did you shave their hair? my boy has very fine hair..

jac u saying that ur elder is at 6.5kg, second at 5.69kg? sorry..u saying now corrected they are at which age?

Hi all premmie mummies,

Found this thread and it's really good to know that i am not alone...my baby was born 15 Feb, week 33. Baby was in NICU for 1 night and i was already so upset and heart pain. So i cannot imagine how all of you can go through.

PD told us to feed NeoSure to the baby cos it has got a lot of calories compared with other FM. Baby is gaining weight slowly, at birth was 2.08kg, discharged was at 1.9kg then now it's about 2.4kg. Never thought babies can be this small.....

How do you dress the baby? Cos all his clothes are from 0 months, but they are all so BIG.

welcome, keann! u're definitely not alone.
do share yr experience & tips.

it's alright to dress bb loosely, then swaddle him so that he'll feel secure.
anyhow, he'll grow fast & very soon fit the clothes well.
it's tougher with diapers... just be more cautious that it slips out-of-place.

Hi Jane,
Thanks. I will tell my boys that untie JAne say yours cute..hee..hee.but in my mind and heart i also think and feel they was so small.no chubby.Ok , next time when they grow up a bit i will bring them and meet you. Now I haven bring them to shopping yet, only go relative house only. seldom bring them out, cos they was so small.I got shave their hair,m but not much. Actually, so waste to shave their house, my 2 boys the hair was brown & copper colour since they born. very nice. but....you know la..when they stay at hospital, they need to do a lot of injection, when their hand and feet all bongkak, they will use head to find the blood line, so my bryan more jialat, he more small,during in hospital already botak, at first his head was a bit long, i ask my maid every day and time massage his head then now become like that, round right? 1st twins terry not so jialat, he only kena 2 hole botak at head, mean that still got hair but already shave half, very ugly and unlucky, so when they 4 month my husband shave for them. your boy very lucky ha.

Now my 1st twins terry was 6.54kg today, and bryan was 5.60kg.but that picture I think only 4kg plus. now they was 6.5,month(correct month is 4.3month) born in 14/8/2006

Hi, streessed,
Dont kidnap my boys, they was my darling. so hard and so lucky to have them.hee..hee.i know you was joking.

Actualy, , I was so lucky to safe my twins, they was very dangered when they born, they stay 57days,i think all the mummies here were the same.

I will do their picture today or tomorrow again, Jane, you will notice they more thin now.

Hi,yvonne and puppyduppy,

Thanks, how abt your baby photo?

puppy, dont pinch their cheeks, cos now poncek a bit liao.haa,,ha,,

Jac,
harlo, me working mum and my mum and maid help me to take care of my two kids...

jane,yvonne and me all working women....sahm got its own good also lah just see where yr talents lie thats all.....

keann,
welcome here...our babies were preemies and doing well now....slowly yr bb will gain weight, my bb also wearing 0 to 6 months clothes and abit loose...tink dun buy too small clothing, if not next time cant wear

yvonne,
today mkt so quiet and sianz....me busy doing paper work in office....wanna fall asleep just now...

hi jac... oh ok ok. next time we should really jio everyone come out and we have a big event :))

jac..i think..there are day when bb put on weight and when they 'seem' to slim down. my boy cheek like not so bouncy liao .. but i thot haha..perhaps he is growing up..so cheek not so chubby liao lor ahah...

hi keann - ya..don't worry about that the bb clothes cannot fit sson before you know..cannot wear the new born clothes liao... just swaddle them as what yvonne say....

hi costa - wow finally market like coolz down...;-)

jacelyn,
only have pics on my hp..havent downloaded my gals pics in my pc yet..

mummies are ur babies taking the 5 in 1 jab ? did ur babies get any fever after the jabs?

Yvonne,
Yes, you are right abt the diapers. Using Pampers Premium and seems like the best fit for him. There was once the pampers slip down, like hipster pants!

Ladies, i am praying everyday for baby to grow faster and fatter...can't wait till the day where the baby cannot wear the 0-6mths clothes. But i can see that his face is a little fatter now.

Anyone has problems with baby not sleeping at night. Any tips to get baby to sleep. He sleeps very well in the day but night time comes, he more noises and cries.

Hi costa,
I prefer working, but nobody can help me to take care them....
Jane, I will post you again their latest photo again if I load my photo in my computer.
Ya, today I want to do agar-agar, I go and do now, later come back and check my mail again.
bye.chat again all the mummies.

hi puppyduppy,

my boy has just taken his 2nd jab of 5-1 from polyclinic. he had fever for his first jab. but 2nd jab, i shower him before brining him for his jab and when back home, i don't shower him (whole day until next morning)...hmm ..then (touch wood) he no fever hehe...

keann - very soon ur boy will outgrow the 0-6 mths clothings... oh about the nite time sleeping thing. you may want to ask your husband to buy you the March 2007 issue of Mother & Baby. inside got many tips on letting bb sleep at nite...

jac - wow.. okok. hehe. am sure u make nice and yummy agar-agar :)

jane,

my girl also took her 2nd jab of 5 in 1...so far so good no fever..but my frens babies all had fever when they took the jab so was a bit worried for the other jabs....my mil gave my girl abit of baosen to take before the jab maybe thats why...