Premature babies support group

Yvonne,
Hows everything wif you, u must be busy wif work and yr boi boi...

the slt was surprised/amazed at the way we feed him...ha ha you noe why? because we almost like feed him on demand as he cant take alot of milk at one shot and we din want to put back the tube..so smtimes his drinking is dem irregular like smtimes can drink and two hrs later, drink again...

the slt lady said the way you feed him is like breastfeeding baby and asked me whether the way we feed him wld deter us from doing other work..i said no choice loh..i was adament about not putting the tube back for him...so the slt also cant do anythg to me, ha ha..

anyway, she said she wld have to consult the dietician to see if he was growing okay and the dietician said he was ok but small..i said never mind loh....rather than put back the tube and always throw up thru nose and the mouth....

one thing which is worrying me though since you were talking about bb's neck firming up is that his head smtimes flops forwards...i vy scared leh..hope he improves if not how to feed him solids next time

his next neo nat visit is in march and then must take hearing test..i oso dun noe wat type of hearing test they wanna put him thru,...u got any idea?

costa,
ya, been quite busy lately...
my boy's fine but it's my turn to be "bing mao" again... sigh

personally, yr feeding style is better than tube & merlion, at least yr boy is taking in the milk.
so dietician second yr action... then continue wat u feel works best for yr boy.

size is only a secondary measurement of health... wait till the growth spurt comes... kiddo will just rocket!

it's very important that bb's neck firms before starting semi-solid.
don't worry abt bb's head flopping in all directions, it's a process.
try to let bb have opportunity to exercise the neck muscle by giving him a few minutes of tummy time everyday.

Yvonne,
Oh dear....so you saw doctor already or not?u caught the bug from yr boi or due to lack of rest..

eh, i think i hv to credit my maid wif feeding my kiddo because after work, once i reach home, i got no peace...got to supervise the elder one wif his school work..if i dun do that..thats it, no need to study spelling/hanyu pinyin etc..once i m done wif his studies, its already 9 pm...reali i m getting more tired everyday..

tink you are right about the head control..his head always like fall forwards and i think that his head like in all babies is proportionally heavier...i try to do like wat you say, to give him some tummy time everyday..hope he is ok..

his size is small but as long as healthy and hope he gets the growth spurt instead of me, ha ha....

Hi Costa,

Isn't our babies amazing? They are trying to tell us it's ok not to feed them at a regular interval coz they are full mah.
Like my dd will eat when she's hungry. She doesn't care if you are in the middle of a quiet dinner setting.

Eat now means eat now. hahahaaa....

Help me refresh my memory. How old is he again-corrected?

harlo, stressed,
my boi is now about coming to five months corrected.....eh, smtimes i myself forget how old he is...he seems to be "old" compared to when he is born...

the slt pple asked me "are you sure hes hungry when your maid feeds him?"

eh, i said, if hes not wet, not sick, then must be hungry loh...ha ha....

costa,

cud hv caught it fr my boy. will go to the doc later... hate to wait long at clinic & mornings are usually very crowded.

sounds like yr maid is doing a good job.

i hv the impression yr boy is quite a size.. how so that he's small? how heavy is he?

u must try to rest whenever possible... it's tougher when u need close supervision to keep up with schoolwork.

yvonne,
my boi is about 60 plus cm and his weight is about 6.5 kg...

to me, he looks small, maybe my standards are too high haha...i can just giap him wif one hand, get wat i mean..

the doc says he is in 50th percentile which is average but you noe lah, i wanna pump him up more..... ha ha...

i see around me other parents are even more onz than me...so far, my son does kumon and chinese class outside...yterday met one parent whose gal is in a top school and she told me she has enrichment class for chinese (same) as my son, and home tuition for maths and english..

wah lau, i wanna faint....my son chinese class is bec he din do well for his hanyu pinyin in school and i started him late on tis class as i din want to waste money for the whole term incase he hated it...kumon is wat he wanted........when tis parent told me, in my heart i was thinking, my son in neighbourhood school and yet dun hv so many tuition, dunnoe how manz.

its not tt i kiasu but its just that he cant concentrate in school as he's hyper........

i teach him at home until wanna vomit blood...

costa,

hee... all mummies will want to the best for their kids... no exception for u lah.

50th percentile is quite good... my boy always hovering ard 25th.
for now, our bbs will be comparatively smaller to their peers.

my soon-to-be 1 YO niece stands wincy bit shorter but overall bigger & heavier than my 16 mths corrected boy!

cannot imagine how kids take to the pressure of schooling nowadays, so much homework, tests, etc.

btw, is kumon really good?

Yvonne,

I really hope so as he seems to be lidat for quite some time..like machiam never put on much weight....

kumon is a repetitive kind of thing....one wk two times and must bring wksheets home to do...
it doesnt follow the MOE syllabus...that means a Primary one kid can be doing higher level or lower level...it can get quite boring....my son was on chinese and he hated it and refused to continue...the lesson supposed to be half an hr and more for self learning...smtimes when the students are fast...by 15 minutes they can be out..and its time consuming as you need to bring the child there and it takes up some time as compared to home tuition...

for eg, in primary one, a student cld be learning addition and subtraction in his school but at kumon, he cld be doing k1 or k2 maths bec he cant catch up or doing higher...(of which the kid wld be bored in school)

my son is hyper, always talk and talk and cannot sit still...

costa,

its worse when bb gets to 1YO, the growth is even slower. think my boy hardly put on anything since 12mths, despite the good appetite.
cud also be cos he's very active, burning up every calorie!!

guess i still hv much to learn abt the different enrichment classes & its purpose. so many, so hard to decide...

alot of elder folks say that active kids are smart kids... so don't underestimate yr big boy.

hi costa, yvonne & Jac.

my boy now corrected is abt coming to 4 mths. he weight 7.1kg and stand at 62cm...

actaully...i still find him a bit small size but accordingly to the dietrian. he is very well to average (event as at his birth date..which means he should be 6mths?)

he is on Similiac Neosure FM...full....

yvonne..must take care of ur health ah...

thanks jane, i am trying to recover fully since xmas period. somehow, can't seem to get to there.

yr boy's vital statictis are really good!

hi yvonne...

like costa..my boy has a hearing test to for in April too. hope he pass it. but whichever, its good for early intervention to step in (if IF need be :p)

by the way... sob sob. i been informed by my boy PD that my boy is a potential candiate of astma..cos he been whizzing (3 episode this month itself)...

my mum told me..now he still small. when he is bigger and can take solid..she will cook porridge and put red dates and long an for him..say it can boast his lung...

My boy PD got told us...actually if taken good care..this astma possibility can be reduced or even can be prevented..

so....hmm...well toast to good health for all bbs.

costa - wow just now re-read the thread about how u feed your 2nd son. salute. i am so happy for you that you have ownself manage to finda way to feed him. i am sure weight gain is just a matter of time. like what yvonne say..when their growth spurth come...they grow up very fast one.

my boy now his front head muscle is still weak...thou he very naughty..will try to lift up.

i am trying to give him more tummy exercises too (i heard from my collegue that tummy exercise is really good)...

To Jolene - hope yr bb is ok...reflux can be cured one..with proper feeding (u look at costa boy..now he is drinking without tube...so believe..believe that ur bb can drink on his own..)

to Jacelyn : hehe..my boy too...will fight with the bottle (my boy corrected is about 4 mths too). but i tried all pattern to feed him..else i will 'give' him the bottle when he zzz ahahhaha...like attack him hehe :p

oh...me did not shave my boy (miss his first month cos he in KK)...erh..he seem to have very fine and little hair..thou a bit is like growing out...

My 1st twins 6.46kg, 2nd twins 5.56kg.

Now they was 6.5month.correted month should be 4month.

They taking similac Advance EyeQ now.

please give me the advice how's their weight. I am so loss and so worry , feel they was very small.

Do I need to change to Enfalac a+ which they say very good.

hi Jacelyn...

hmm..todate my boy is still on Simlac Neosure. i think come this month end when my boy go for his monthly review with the dietrian and Dr Agwaral, i shall ask if its time for me to change his milk powder...

my boy as at correct 4mths weight 7.1kg...

so far...i always consult the dietrican about his weight and height gain...so the KKH dietrician will plot the grah... i really am not too sure how they come up with the graph too :p

Perhaps its good we share our bb development on this thread..so that everyone of us is more or less aware what is the kind of development we can expect??

jac.. i am just curious..how come u giving ur twins Similac Advance?... erh.. i meant..is it recommend by the dietrian or doctor?

for me..the reason why i started my boy on similac neo sure is because just when he discharge, i heard one of the parents of a twin say they are giving their bbs smilac neosure (which is specially meant for pre-mature/low weight birth bb).... hence i start my boy on similac neosure

so my boy been on similac neosure since he is corrected as at 1 mth..till now corrected as at 4mths...(actual is 6mth plus)

Thanks for all your concern on my boi.He is still in hospital.But he will be discharge this wed provided we are confident in taking care of him at home.A clearer pic on his problem.Doc noticed that there is some milk going into his lung,therefore caused him to become breathless & alot of phelgm.Another thing is reflux.Thus,they put a tube into his small intestine for direct feeding.Even when he is dicharge,I need to use a feeding pump to feed his milk.Can't be bottle feed.This is to ensure there is no reflux or milk going into his lung.If milk goes into his lung,he will hv phelgm.So we need to do suction.He also need oxygen as his lung is weak so I also need to have oxygen concentrator at home.

Reason why he stay there so long coz there are few occasions that his lung is so weak and need alot of oxygen.His carbon dioxide is very high.So doc put him on bi-pac.Doc also noticed his passage way is floppy.He is not sure whether it is in-born or wat.But they will monitor my boi.When is passage way flatten,he will hv diff in breathing and feeding through bottle will not be an ideal as it will make him even more breathless.When he is on bi-pac,I can see my boi is feeling very uncomfortable.Although he can't spend his Lunar New Year wif our relatives,we have alot of church friends visiting him.This really touches me as all of us gathered to pray for my little one.

I trust that he will be well.Becoz my trust is in the Lord.Now he is very active.Whenever he smile at me,I felt very warm and happy.My love for my boi hv grown alot ever since he has been hospitalised.No wonder people always say mummies are the greatest.

Anyone read abt the smallest premature baby in Singapore in yesterday's paper?Can imagine that all our babies are fighters.As parents,we will give them the greatest support.

oh jac...i just suddenly realised..it seem my boy and ur twin are all supposed to be due in Nov 06?? my edd was then 12 Nov 06 hehe. but my boy decide to come out on 12 Aug 06 :p...

Jane,
To tell u the truth, the way my maid has been feeding him is nothing short of just patience...smtimes she wld use her own method to feed him and wif lots of time...

i cant do that as i dun hv the patience...

my boi is stil sucking vy slowly.....i even bot a special bottle to help him feed but the slt told us she dun encourage the use of such a bottle...and tis bottle so expensive somemore you noe ...costs me almost $50..used onli once...end up still back to just good ole patience...

i just bot similac normal one for my kid....just to see whether he likes it or not although actually for preemies, drink the neosure better...

u heard yr boi got whizzing sound is it?i think i better go look at him also as when i sleep, i can sleep until like dead like that...

jolene,
maybe you try burping yr boi even when tube feeding..

hi costa.

yes yes...really. have to said. patience is better than whatever expensive bottle really...i stand by 'patience and creativity' and learning to 'trick' him to drink haha.... like i say 'attack' him when he is laughing happily away and he will forgot he drinking bottle keke :p (me is naughty mummy)

ya...i can heard his whizzing....really concern.

Jolene - send auntie jane hug to your boy. and +the sun will shine on those with laughter+. hmm my boy also has lots of phelgm and always nose block... re to my earlier thread. my boy PD say my boy is a potenital candidate for astma...

by the way, jolene....your doc is at KKH?

Jane,
i better go and hear it for myself....last wk i brot him to the paedi for jab and the paedi said his lungs were clear and yet coughing..i oso dun understand....guess u have to ask doc agarwal and see wat she says....

the pd said potential for asthma nia mah, not confirmed....full term babies lagi alot also got asthma, one..

ask u smthg, how come you never brg yr boi for the tuina?is it because its too far and tiring for you?

tink jolene's bb is wif nuh....unless she had changed as his records are there..

costa & jane,

missed out costa's question abt hearing test... nothing scary like the eye test lah.

can't recall details cos it was more than a year ago.
just wait to be called into a sound-proof room, the i-don't-know-wat-u-call-them (or assistant) will set up the computer & put some nodes on bb's head.
after 1-2 minutes, done! result will be out on the spot.

hi jacelyn,

don't worry abt bbs' weight... as long as they're happy and not fussing, wat's important is that they are growing healthy and strong.

jane,
i can understand yr concern abt the path to asthma.
costa is right that all premmies are prone but not necessarily will have.
try to intervene early when they fall sick, esp with flu & cold.

hi jolene,

yr boy is in good hands.. don't worry too much.

the world's youngest/smallest bb who fought so many battles to live serves as very good inspiration to all premmie parents.

Yvonne,
Dun noe why the neo nat asked for hearing test again leh......when the test comes around at end march, my boi wld be corrected age about 5.5 mths...

tink it shld be less "troublesome" than the MRI that my boi had to take last time.....

hi costa, oh sorry forgot to answer ur thing about the tui na..mmm...frankly one thing is i find after bringing him for tui na is not really effective...another thing i email you to tell u now (not convenient to say here)/

costa .. i think the reason why the neo nat ask for hearing test is just review...cos i think for our bbs, we need to have regular review.

for my boy..is he failed both ENT test on his ears..hence they are gg to do a special hearing test for him.

Dr agwaral is aware of his whizzing..she give him the 'puff'....and send him to see the lung doc..then the lung doc has make another appointment for my boy to see another lung speciliast next month... :p

mummies - thanks for the advise on asthma. ya, my boy PD has told me (she seem determine to prevent my boy from developing asthma) to bring my boy back in one week time for review and she told me (very firmly) it can be prevented. all we have to do (is at yvonne say) try not to let my boy catch cold/flu and take good care of him...esp he has sensitive nose / air passage way...

i really hope..with all the kind souls (Dr A, lung specialist and my boy PD)..my boy lung can be well grown and protected against asthma/phelgm etc...

costa,
maybe the neo nat missed the scheduled hearing test.. u can check if it's a different test ordered.
if different test, maybe can save time by doing it together with the scheduled one at end march.

Sorry to interupt but I need some advise. Can are know are there any symptons of premature labour?
I am currently in my 30th week of preganancy and I feel my uterus contracting quite frequently. The feeling is like the whole uterus will harden and tighten for a few seconds. I don't feel intense pain but some mentrual like cramps.
I am quite worried so hoping that can get some advice here...thanks

Yvonne,
i oso not sure leh...i think my boi during his stay at the KKH had a hearing test but i not sure tis coming test is wat type of test......hope he's okay......tink i wld go home and take the piece of paper to see wat type of test it is...

i onli noe that on the day of the neo nat appointment, tis test has to be taken and its put on the same day thoughtfully by them to reduce us going down two times....

i oso hope that yr boi's lungs wld be okay..tink as they mature, their organs wld too....

will wait for your email...

hi tami,

does sound like early/mild contractions but it's better to check with yr gynae & do it so whenever u don't feel it's going right.

Hi jane,

My doctor ask me give my baby normal milk. At first my two baby will vomit the milk when they taken the similac neosure, he say my boys was allegry wth lactosa, ask me to give them similac LF, I was given them 3 month plus, My doctor advece me to change to normal milk, at first I wanna to give them similac neosure, but he say no need, my baby weight ok. so I just change the eyesQ last weeks. and they like the new taste and no vomit too. Buit now I still think their weight got problem. And I also afraid they wimm vomit the milk again when I give them neosure. What shouls I do?

hi jacelyn...oh mmm... so far my boy on similac neosure..his weight gain is considering quite good... but i am just not sure if it is the neosure that is causing him to often have phelgm/block nose...

for me..i will seek the dietrician opinion as and when he go for his review meet up with the dietrician.

frankly kekeke.. i am not sure when or what time is the best to change formula etc.

so far, my boy is ok with neosure...so i just continue :p. thou i also felt that..it cannot be that he be always on neosure :p

hi jacelyn,

it's ok that yr twins are on normal FM since doc advise their weight is fine.
my son was on only 1 tin of Neosure before changing to NAN1 & he preferred NAN.

re changing to stage 2 FM.
can do so anytime from 6mths corrected. personally, i feel there's not much difference between stage 1 & 2 FM.
my boy was on stage 1 till 9mths corrected.

hi yvonne,

would there be any harm for my boy to continue on neosure?? he is 4mths as at corrected..

should i change to NAN1 (NAN1 is for how old bb)??

sorry..i really know nothing about this...

Jane,

If yr bb is good weight dun hv to stick wif neosure..i just gv my boi similac and he seems to like it as so my maid claims...

Yvonne,
By giving nan, you are also quite correct bec they say that Nan is like bm and the bb stools will be different colour..is it true?

hi jane,

neosure is good for the purpose of gaining weight but like wat costa said since yr boy has gain well, then its not necessary to continue, besides its quite expensive.
any other stage 1 FM has similar nutrition value as neosure. u might want to consider changing.

NAN1 is for newborn to 6mths.

costa,
i gave NAN cos it was not as sweet as most FM, maybe in that sense, is quite like bm.
not too sure abt the stool colours but my boy didn't hv any problem poo-pooing at all.

Yvonne,
that means Nan is good leh....i oso dunoe if similac is suitable for my son, so i onli bot a small tin....tink similac is sweet accdg to my maid..ha ha, she must have tasted it...

hi yvonne,

oh i see..hmm..the dietrian did not say much when i ask about the 'need' to change. ok ok. perhaps i should get one bottle of NAN1. but my boy is as at 7mths liao (corrected is only 4mths)..can he still go for NAN1?

oh...i just spoke to my lao gong. accordingly to him. the SImilac Neosure can be taken until my boy is 12mths old???

costa,
too bad nestle not paying me to advertise... kekeke

actually, i also taste all my boy's food/milk before introducing to him.
at least hv an idea how it taste like mah...

jane,
yr hubby is quite right too... stage 1 FM can be taken right up to 12mths.
the change is more important fr 12mth onward, supposedly with higher calcium level.

u can try with a small tin of NAN1 or Similac first, see if yr boy like anot.

Hi Jane,
THanks for your reply. my friend got told me the neosure quiet sweet, and always cause phelgm, but I am not sure is it the reason cause him got phelgm. You have to check with your doctor. Just give you my knowlwdge, the tin was wrote there the neosure can take untill 12month, but if their weight ok and need to change to normal FM, doctor say cos afraid baby overweight. Ha..haa..But if your baby like it can gain weight, I think you can continue. For me, I was thinking to buy neosure for them yerterday, but after read the message from all of you, I change my mind, as Yvonne say, as doctor say stay on normal FM if the baby weight ok. Ya, wahat your baby weight now? did he start the cereal or any other food?

Hi yvonne.

Thanks for your reply.
Ok, I will continue the Similac Advance EyeQ, because I have 24 small tin at home ,ha..ha.. I am so kiasu ha. Why I buy in quantity cos will be cheap if buy from them, so I just keep stock cos myt baby finish the 1tin 400gram in 2day.
Actually I was heard before the nat1 to, but the doctor ask me choice the top five FM, Similac, Enfalac, MAmax Gold, S26(Wheyt) and snow. What youe baby weight now?

Hi, costa,
Your baby is it having Similac Advance EyeQ in blue cover which rich in iron?And what your baby stool colour? my two baby stool colour was dark colour, bit green and black? still in soft type, not like normal baby which they come out in hard.

Hi, all the mommis, how's your think of my baby weight? 6.5month,(4.3month correct month)1st twins 6.46kg and 2nd twins was 5.56kg.

Can I start the cereal for them now? they say my baby was pre baby, their stomuch still weak, ask me to give them next month. actually, lats three day I gor do for them, 60ml water, i big scoop milk powder and i big scoop nestle rice cereal. 1st twin finish all and 2nd twins finish half. Is it normal? can I continue?

hi jacelyn,

my boy is 9.5kg at 16mths corrected.

agree that NAN is not as popular as Similac, etc.
i was just as confused abt the different brands so decided to try fr the least sweet first. since my boy liked it, i stayed on with it.

dear yvonne,
hows you think of my baby weight ? is it ok?

Can they start the cereal? when your baby start the food?

Jacelyn,
I m not sure abt the similac exact name of the milk..tink its for baby from o to 6 months old..tink the colour of the lid is dark brown...

jacelyn,

i think their weight is ok for 4+mths corrected.
remember that premmies are smaller than their full-term peers.
don't be dishearten by others commenting that they are small in size. don't stress yrself abt it.
give bbs time to develop & most important is to enjoy their company & love. u have 2x the joy in 1 go, u know!

wat's more important is the weight-for-height ratio. u can check it in the health booklet.

personally, i waited till bb was at least 6mths corrected & his neck firmed up before giving cereal.

hey costa,

did u felt the earthquake tremors?
a few buildings did evacuations here leh.

i felt the 1st one but not the 2nd (just after 2pm).

Yvonne,
I felt the first time, my table shake alittle and we were told to evacuate..

the second time i din feel it as i was walking back from lunch and i saw all my colleagues standing outside...and later we were told to go back..

a bit of headache leh.....alot of colleagues felt it but i think hor, my headache dunoe is it caused by the bad stockmarket recently, ha ha