Premature babies support group

jane,

thanks didnt know the ba pao shan cannot take everyday..will tell my mil...hope she knows

when my girl drinks milk..she will squirm and grunt...so scared she will throw up the milk..

jolene,
hope the results are good for your boy....im sure everything will be ok

not sure if I can help. my boys also have the phelgm thingy when from birth till abt 3 to 4 months old. premmies at 34 weeks. I use pearl powder for them, but cannot use too much, not so good for boys.

abt throwing up milk, maybe can spare out the feeding, like if drink 40ml, drink abt 5ml, stop, calm and burp baby then continue and drink and stop, calm and burp. quite troublesome, rem took abt 1 hr to feed each baby for each feed that time.

especially if they cry a lot before drinking, suck so much air will throw up easily.

Jane,
Does yr boi still need to see the eye doctor in a couple of months time or completely discharged?

Jolene,
Hope yr boi is okay and the results will be good...how will we noe if the phlegm is alot and that we need a pump...tink this phlegm thing is a common problem wif a few of our babies here...

puppyduppy,
my boi still hving slight coughing...and i also dun noe if his phlegm is completely out or not...as babies cant tell....really headache...and how to make it all come out...

hi jolene, hope you boy be ok...

like costa, i also wonder how we know if the phelgm is a lot and that we need a pump???

i wanna share here...actually full term baby (my collegaue gal) also have cough and phelgm problem...

costa - my boy next appointment with the eye doc is in 5 mths time...

puppyduppy - don't worry, i am sure your mil knows what she is doing.

hmm...these few days, i am not sure for watever reason, my boy seem to be fighting as and whenver come milk time (my mother say bb is like that one..one period of one period..different behaviour). i been having sleepless night because he cough (with block nose) and i worry...so at nite really don't dare to really doze off.

hope this bad weather go off soon....

I always feel I have to take extra care of my baby until I come across this thread....

Max is born the 35th week, at 2kg. He was small and he had to stay in the NICU for one week before he went home.

Even though is only one week, I understand exactly how you all went through. That's the longest week of my life. I always blame myself for not taking care of myself during pregnancy cos working too hard and stressing myself out. And my baby is being punished for that as he has to have to many tubes and needles on his body when he is just born. And what's worst, I couldnt BF....felt guilty even till now.

Thank God. Max is now 6 mth old, healthy but still a little on the small side, weighing at 6.9 kg.

To all the mummies here...be strong as we will see the results of our hard work when they grew up.

yeah i hope this bad weather and the darn phlegm in our babies go away!

costa,
did the neonat give ur boy meds to take for his cough? my girl also cough off and on...but dunno if its really cough or just throat irritation...going to ask a dumb question...how u know its cough? issit he cough very often?
i didnt know it was phlegm till my gal spit out the phlegm..the consistency is sticky and colourless...then every now and them she will snort like trying to snort it out..hear her i also very kang kor

now when my gal drink milk..halfway through she will let the teat go and cry.....dunno why.....then struggle struggle...after that continue to drink..i see also i blur..dunno wat to do..

Hi Ah may,
thanks for sharing..hope you can share with us more of your experience...

Hi Julie,
thanks for the encouragement..:>

actually my boys got another problem other than the phlegm at the throat, is blocked nose. then because very tiny, I cannot dig the minous out.
my first maid taught me something that might be useful. when babies are awake in the morning, abt 7.30 - 9.30am, I dun give milk immediately but try to sun them instead. they usually will cry very loudly for abt 15 minutes, then wipe their face and usually phlegm and nose all clear and out. then I give milk. but can only do so on a sunny day. forget to add, bathe at 10-11am with warm water. a bit funny but that's what they do in her hometown. sort of work for me. cause I only give pearl powder 3 times from birth to 3 months and no other medicine. maid only with me when babies abt 6 weeks.

puppyduppy,
I brot my boi to see my elder boi's paedi, he gave some green coloured medicine but it din really seem to work. After about two wks, my boi happened to have an appt wif the neo nat, i showed her the medicine but she told me that for babies so small, dun need to give medicine and let them heal by themselves...

She used a stethscope and then listened and said the lungs are clear and despite me asking several times for medicine, she said no need.

i oso not sure wat they mean by really coughing but i think he cough until face red and sometimes cant sleep at nite....

did you burp yr baby? is it she sucked in too much air whilst drinking?

costa,
so ur boy neonat say just leave the cough alone till it heals by itself? my gals pd also dont like to give meds...

yah i burp my girl inbetween her feeds...but she sometimes still cry...sigh..dunno wat to do..

ur boy so poor thing..could till face red...how many months corrected is he now?

hi hi ah may, my mother also sun my boy now..and exactly about the timing she does that... also, ... exactly like you describle, she sun my boy, make him sweat like nothing, change his clothes, feed milk, rest...about 10-11am she bath him..then my boy will zzzzz....

so i think...mummies, can really try let our bb have some sun (on a very sunny day). oh, not exactly under the sun...but its like getting some rays of it....

jane,
yes that's what I did.
make sure dun let the ray shine direct to the eyes. on the body is okay. let them sweat and make noise, natural way to clear the air passage. actually what I know is if by c-section, the liquid in the throat is not pushed out, that's why will have phlegm. natural birth has less of this condition. but gynae told me not neccessary.

Antz antz,
my boi has also taken the five in one injection at the hospital and follow up at a pte paedi..

u can ask the neo nat or if you bringing yr babies to the pte paedi,perhaps you cld bring yr babies' health booklets and ask for advice...

hello hello...

sigh..my boy whizzing (2nd time in one mth). brought him for review with Dr A of KKH yesterady. DR A prescrible 'puff' for him and refered my boy to a lung specialist (next Wed is the appointment)

Though DR A prescribe the puff..but told me, my boy not asthma (touch wood!). just give him the puff cos the oral medication (for his phelgm and cough) seem not working well. she also told me...my boy has CLD hence lung more prompt to cold.

by the way..she recommend i bring my boy for a injection (cannot remember the name) but its for prevention of lung and brain infection...i thinking of opting for it... any mummies here let your kid has this immunisation???

CNY coming...hope my boy get well soon.

anyway, hehe...just see the dietrican yesterday. my boy weight is at 75 percentile and height 50 percetile... dietrican say he is doing very well...

now i just hope..all the illness go away.

Morning jane,

sorry but never heard of that immunisation before,but i hope ur boy recover from his whizzing soon.

your boy still has cough?

hi puppyduppy,

that immunisation is recommended by the KKH neonat (that is the doctor incharge of my boy since his birth)....

hmm..on and off he still has cough lor... esp when he zzz at night...day time he quite ok. i am not sure is it because at night the temperature is lower hence he cough (cos he that time caught a cold)...

Jane,
watz the immunisation called?hows yr boi's weight now?

as wat you said, cld will affect alot of preemies...but there is light at the end of the tunnel..when they are bigger and lungs fully developed...they wld be better....

hi costa

i understand from my colleagues the immunisation is new in the market..known as P something...

my boy (as of now corrected is 2.5 mths) weight is 6.35KG..height is 59cm...

ya..i know..take time for them to fully devleop their lung....can only take good care and try not to let him catch cold lor...

stupid cold...stay away la.... :-(

jane, is it pneumococal?if it is, i think my boi may have taken it already...'

tink yr boi heavier than mine, ha ha....

i heard of that jab also...planning to let my girl take it too...alot of babies are taking it also..but dunno if she is too young to take.she is almost 2 months(corrected age)

hey costa..i jsut rang KKH..wow...the whole jab (3 plus one boaster) would cost nearly 1K ah!!

per jab is about $180...3 x 180 = 540
doc consultant $50 per visit = 50 x 4 = 200
boaster... $160??

really not cheap ler

Jane,
u sure doc consultation fees must pay everytime?

maybe you can check if the doctor near yr mother house has or not?

if i not wrong, i think i had let my boy take the second shot of pneumococal end of january and the third one is scheduled in about two wks time...

i tink i had started him on rotavirus and pneumococal at the same time...rotavirus vaccine is an oral one...

tink almost everywhere the same price...about $160

costa...

thats what the KKH operator told me la...

ya..think i will check my mother house there got or not.

this pneumococal when must start taking? so your boy also take the 3 jabs plus the boaster?

oh..u also let him go for the rotavirus? how much?

where is he taking his jabs?

Jane,

Pneumococal i think for younger children must take more shots of it......i cant really remember but my elder boi also took it but he needs only one jab...and my younger boi needs four, i tink...

rotavirus is about $90 i think but for first time consultation need to pay some consultation fees...

i brot him to my elder son paedi at east shore hosp(more convenient lah)...

hi costa.

oh i see...guess our boys is young..so shld take now first...

ok ok..then i shall find a gp near my house ad bring my boy there

do you all think its ok to change PD for my girl..cos i was thinking of finding a new PD that is closer to my home...abit worried that if i change PD, the new one wont be as familiar with my girls condition and all..

costa,
your elder son PD in east shore hosp is ok with ur younger son?

How are you ladies? I started my dd solids at 6mons corrected despite everyone telling me to do early. Lucky I trusted my instincts coz she got quite a bad constipation. Imagine if I am fed her at 6 mons gestational, it will be even worse!

Anyway, the PD ask me to stop soilds till one week. So I guess my poor breasts will have to work overtime again. *bleh* Foods that my dd need to avoid are bananas, rice, apples and carrots. Hiaz. So limited.

Hope she'll be better next week. Happy CNY everyone!

hi stressed,

sound like ur dd got to avoid all the acidic food??

i am not so sure about bb taking solids..but don't worry, i am sure your dd will have plenty of other choice of food. perhaps she is just not used to solid yet...??

happy CNY to you too

Puppyduppy,
I brot my younger boy to my elder son's paedi as it's near my house and more convenient but now i think i may want to change to kkh paedi as the records are there..

when my younger boi got cough, my elder son paedi gave him some cough medicine but when i brot him to the neo nat, we were advised not to do so...so i oso dun noe wat to do....although my elder boi's paedi is actually quite an experienced paedi...

anyway, if you switch paedi, remember to bring all yr gal's health records to the new doctor so that at least they will noe on paper, wat yr gal has been taking and her histrory...

my poor younger boi is having cough again and it seems now at nite coughing quite badly..i oso dun noe wat to do..

anyway...cheers for the new year!!

Happy new year all mummies!

costa,
maybe its safer to stick with the original neonat that my gal has been with...cos he knows the history of my gal...still deciding though...

your boy so poor thing still got cough..does he cough alot during the day? his drinking ok or does it affect? what did his neonat advise on the cough?

puppyduppy,
last time the neo nat said that for babies so small(then my boi was about 3 mths corrected age), she said best dun give any cough medicine...

but she told me to give him ventolin to breathe in...(that time when he was discharged, he was given ventolin but thru time, we were advised to stop it)..she said to increase the ventolin then..

so thats wat i did to reduce the cough..he smtimes ok, smtimes not...at nite, smtimes he can sleep thru out the nite and wake up at 6am and cough badly...but last nite was terrible, he coughed vy badly...

tink if it worsens, i may bring him to see the neo nat again or conduct some chest specialist or smthg...

costa,
think too young better not take too much meds..but so poor thing if he still coughing,cos to let him get better without meds might take more time...
he just develope the cough or he caught it from someone?

puppyduppy,
bo pian...but hear him cough until lidat..dem jialut..

anyway, tink he got the cough bec of the preemies hving cld (chronic lung disease)

anyway, read abt the tiny preemie born at only 200 plus grammes...and SHE MADE IT...really so happy....

Hi Mummies, I have just given birth to my bbs (a pair of twins) at 1.5kg and 1.6kg each at 30 weeks. Can I know does anyone have the same experince as me as I am really sad and lost whenever I visits them at the hospital

Hi mummies, I habe another question, do you know at what weight does KKH lets the bbs return to home ? thanks

Didi, good morning, welcome to the board..

My bb was born at 24 wks...came home after a couple of months.....

KKH will let bbs go home at 2 kg plus other factors like whether they can breathe on their own...eyes ok, lung etc...

hope evything is okay wif you...i hv been thru the route..and so hv many brave mummies on tis board...

feel free to ask any questions here...

Hi Didi welcome..

My bb was born at 29 weeks, was discharged after a few months in hospital.

You have to be strong and brave for your babies...

costa,
yah i read about the premmie who survive...so happy...
is your boy better last nite?

Costa and puppyduppy, thanks. What is my prime concern now is to get my milk out as much as possible for my bbs, I have started to pump every three hours and my milk is only about 20-30ml, it is normal ? how long do I have to massage prior to expressing ? and please share any tips that you might have

Hi Didi,

20-30ml is already very good for a start..for me..i only could pump 10ml per pump...you must also eat well so that your milk will have nutrients for your bbs.One thing i learnt is that you must try to rest well too..as the more relaxed you are..the more milk you will be able to pump.

puppyduppy,
my bb is like alarm clock....he will cough at 6 oclock in the morning to wake me and the whole family up. ha ha...poor guy, cough until vomit out the milk tis morning...really cham and cough till the eyes are red..

was told by my sister in law whos a paedi in msia to increase his ventolin and his pneumicort pump...seems better (touch wood)

didi,
I lost one of my twins last year...and managed to save the other one born at 24 wks..the first twin was lost at 21 wks..

you have to pump three hourly..there is a drug which can make yr brain produce more..its called dom peridone...but try not to take unless really cannot help it as it MAY cause engorgement...

you noe how to massage....think those breastfeeding booklets shld have...or else put a warm towel on yr breasts before massaging...i not sure how long to massage, i guess at least a couple of minutes...

puppyduppy is right, 20 - 30 ml is vy good, the only thing which i can only advise u to do is to pump every three hours...i noe its vy xin ku but no choice..

didi, you noe that i got bacteria infection after giving birth and i cldnt pump till a few days after birth bec i was given the wrong information that the antibiotics i was on may affect bm and by the time i knew it, i was really vy sian but the lactation consultant told me i got no choice as bm is the best for preemies..

you hv to be hardwking in the beginning as once yr bm is established....other things wld be a breeze already..my bb cant latch on now and i express and give to him....although my supply has oso gone down

there are supplements like fenugreek, goats rue which may increase bm...ask the lactation consultant before you take anything...

costa,
poor boy..he got phlegm when he cough or issit a dry cough...my girl got alot of phlegm so sometimes she will try to cough it out...

didi,
costa is right..u have to pump every 3 hourly to keep your milk supply going...at first i felt very xinku but its for the best of my bb..so no choice have to ren...breast milk is the best for premmies

didi,
congrats on the birth of your twins. no worries. take good care of yourself first. you may want to join us at the twins thread, some of us have very premature babies too. now healthy troddlers.
more than 2kg, kkh will then allow baby to go home, my Ray is abt 1.9kg, I sign letter for him to go home cause after staying in SCN for a week, not much improvement.
keep pumping very 3hrs. use an electric dual pump. more efficent in getting out the milk.

Thanks all sisters
you all really make me less stress, just came back from hospital after visiting my bbs at hospitals, the elder twin cannot tolerate my milk and the younger one has started about 4ml per feed.

Hi costa, the drug that you mentioned, we have to get from Doc, right ? as the lactation consultant have told me something like that, and she told me to get Fenugreek, but KKH's pharmacy stock was out so she told me to get from GNC, have you tried any of those ? thanks

greetings all mummies. happy cny.

hi costa - think cough i is 'IN' now...my elder sis boy also down with cough.

talking about seeing lung speciliast. my boy (had whizzing espisode) was refered to KKH lung Specialist (i broght him to see him yesterday). the lung specialist say seem like my boy had very bad block nose and he give him nose drops plus medication to 'lessen' my boy nose sensitiveness..

hmmm... really. if your little one cough does not recover, do bring him to KKH neo nat..good to get some real professional advise.

(though i was quite upset when Dr Agarawl refered my boy to the lung specialist, still i felt that..prevention is better than cure)...

anyway, the lung specialist asked me to let my boy take the nose droplets for one mth. one month later, my boy is to go back for follow up (on his nose block - phelgm and cough).

the main diagnoses, is the lung speciliast told me, my boy could be having sensitive nose as when he was borned, the breathing tude was with him for nearly 3 mths, hence it now cause irriation . and when phelgm comes in...my boy will cough...

so the remedy this lung specialist recommend is to solve the phglem that is blocking my boy nose and throat (prevent cough hence prevent whizzing)...

didi - continue pumping... nothing is impossible. the day will come when your bb goes home. jsut to share..my boy is borned on the 26 weeks (@985 gram)...

now i am a proud mother of a boy who weight 7KG...though..he still has to go for many reviews and such, but i am proud to say...he is my darling boy and i am very very proud of him :)

so didi.... be brave. you can do it one...

didi, the drug dom peridone can be obtained from normal doctors as well...i got some recently when the gp gave me some to relieve nausea when i got food indigestion pblem..tis drug just stimulates yr brain to produce more milk but you still gotta pump evy three hrs if not will get engorged

u can buy fenugreek from gnc...if got the card, got discount...but u can check wif the lact consultation if can take or not becuz it may make the nursing mother more "sweaty"..

i bot one bottle and sometimes eat, sometimes forget...

jane,
when i free, i email you and ask you more but the lung specialist, can?

tink yr boy fatter than my boy liao leh..my born still small, dunnoe whether got 7kg or not...

hi didi,

hmm...2 cents worth of opinon from jane... if can, dun take medication. there is nothing that beats effort and diligence in pumping. drink more hot fish soup, don't eat cold things, eat more nutrious food.... i am sure your BM supply will shoot up very soon....believe in yourself...you are a brave and super mum :)

hi costa - sure sure..you are most welcome. i had meant to come in earlier to share with you on this lung specilaist thing.. .(cos re i told u, i felt so 'haunted' by my boy phelgm thingy)...

size does not matter really..so long they are healhty and happy...re that time we always cheer each other up, so long our bb is fine...everyting will just be alright...