Premature babies support group

kkf,

good afternoon....my boi got IVH grade three bleeding...so went for mri before he was discharged and it showed that his ventricles are still dilated..so followed up by brain ultrasound two wks ago...

again must do brain ultrasound next month..

for heart, its to follow up on his PDA...preemies PDA may not be closed when they are born prematurely..it can be rectified by taking medicine and scared...it may open up again...

so this is why have to go for such appointments...

hi costa... har accordinlgy to the formula...so my boy should be drinking about 65 ml per three hourly...oh gosh..is he drinking too much

jane,
dun worry abt drinking too much. if he wants to, juz let it be, provided he did not throw up the milk. My boy at 3-4 mths oso drinking 90ml per 3 hr. but guess wat, after he starts solid at abt 5mths, he drink so little, even now at 8 mths he drink only 100-120 per 3 hr, plus 2 solids. think it's by their own nature to judge how much they wan, it's not bcoz they r preemie. my relative's bb is full term, but lots of them also drinking 120ml per feed onli... not to worry.

costa,
hope ur boy is fine w the scanning. u did ask me abt the 'pao sen' is it? personnaly i think it helps my boy to improve so tat he has enuf 'qi' to cut the breathless scenario. however, till now, he still drink quite slow n hav to rest a while. n he can't take his feed fr teats with larger (or more) holes. he still use the 1mth+ teat to drink. so every feed takes very long too

i guess we preemie mummies really faced lots of challenges than the others. hav to cope more.

my boy oso very scared to be alone. he always look for ppl to be surrond w him. when he sleep, he tend to be scared and 'jumped' up all in a sudden. anyone face similar experience here?

hi irenelovej,

thanks...so far he only throw up milk when he exerted himself while feeding (eg, he wanna poo...)

my boy also very scared to be alone...when he zzz, i always surround him with bolster or pillow...so that when he move..he will 'feel' something around him hehe... my mum told me, most babies like to sleep with adults (not only preemies)..

hope everyone have a good day ahead :) cheers

jane,
irenelovej is right, as long as he can take it, can let him drink...

i let my son drink pao sen also but stopped these few days when he coughed...i use the same mtd as wat you mentioned...using the rice cooker thingy...

regarding why yr boi 'jumped' up, i think for babies, smtimes quite common, right..i myself smtimes sleep, oso lidat,will suddenly be like dreaming and then "jerk" up...

hmm.... okie...shall let him drink if he can tahan :p just concern if he is 'over feeding'. thou my mum also say the same thing (ie if he wanna drink, let him...).

i heard of the pao sen too...but my mum say my boi still small..perhaps a few mths later then let him take it...(apprently this pao sen thingy very good..cos lots of old pple recommend it..)

Jane, yalor let him drink if he wants and can tahan, for my boi then cannot tolerate so much.

for premmies, we always to minus, means go to the baby corrected age to see how their development, cannot compare them to other babies of the same birth month or else sometimes very heart pain......will query is my bb normal or not.

pao sen is good and i heard cordy is good too. some say can take some say cannot, for chinese med, because it is herbal, i am concern about the maturity of the liver, my son was born heavily jaundice, so i dare not try. i give only when injection day lor.

hi emily

pai say to say...my boy seem greedy bb :p.... i was joking telling my mum, he better be able to open a restaurant when he grow up..else i will 'pao lu' (in mandarin) hahahaa....

ya. i alwasy tell my husband, we cannot compare our bb to the full term bb... anyway, i like my boy as he is... he is unique because he is our boy (not because he is premature).

oh ya, my mum say good to take before injection days too..

jane and emily,
before injection take pao sen or cordyceps?
how to let bb take cordyceps..grind into powder and feed?pao sen i noe how to make but cordyceps, i not vy sure..

costa - i am not so sure about cordyceps... pao sen is before...

oh, also my mum ever mention. got to shower before injection. after injection cannot shower..

has your boy gone for the Hep B injection at polyclinic? my boy going for his 2nd jab on next sat...

harlo, jane,
i dun tink my son has gone for the hep b injection..or maybe he has taken at kkh?
i oso confused leh..all i noe is that he took Five in One jab at the hospital and when he went back to kkh for chk up early tis month, he took the last jab of 5 in 1,,,

then last sat, i brot him to my elder son's paedi (nearer my hse) and he had tis Rotavirus vaccine plus the Pneumococal jab...

i din noe after jab cant bathe but my maid says to dab the injection part wif a warm towel to sooth the pain after the jab, wor....

hi costa,

oh your boy toke the 5 in one ah...

erh for my boy, after his discharge, KK advise us to bring him to polyclinic or GP to take his 2nd and 3rd Hep B jab (he had his first jab at KK @ his 3rd month)

Polyclinic is asking if i wanna give him the 5 in one or six in one...

i read about the rotavirus vaccine ... is it useful? if yes, think i will let them jab my son with it too.

oh if u are not sure what jab your son should have...the health booklet is very useful. they have a table... you can refereence there...

hehe... about the cannot bath thing is my mum say one...

jane,
i see the health booklet until tau gong gong..but i heard from the doctors at kkh that they gave him 5 in 1 and not 6 in 1 because they hvnt analysed the results of using 6 in 1 on preemies

i oso not sure but just that 5 in 1 jab will need us to bring them separately for the last jab as compared to 6 in 1..

my boi took the rotavirus and the pnemmococal...the rotavirus is oral one (given thru the mouth using syringe) and the pneummococal jab is a series of jabs......i cant remember how many but you can call the polyclinic to find out...

tink these are the two latest jabs/vaccines...and you noe preemies r more vulnerable so i think better take since no harm done...

for rotavirus and pnemococal, i paid $90 and $160 respectively..for my elder boy, i let him take pnemococal too, but he needed to take only one jab

for my smaller boi. he has to take another jab next month..(tink its one month once for at least 3 or 4 times)...

hi costa,

hahaha...really hor, the health booklet sometime i see until blur too...

oh, so i shld opt for the 5 in one (ie if polyclinic ask me again).

ya, i saw the rotavirus and pnemmococal as 2 of the new jabs..think will let my boy take it too...

jane,
to tell u the truth, actually i oso not sure which one is better..if you want to double check, call the SCN and ask any of the nurses or the nursing sister...

i dun tink my boi has gone for the hep b leh...i tink i need to check...when i went to my son paedi last sat, tink he mentioned smthg abt next jan or feb must take the next shot of hepatis jab or smthg....

hi costa

so many jabs...kind of confusing hor keke...ok ok, will call scn to check...

oh .... hmm i thought hep B is taken upon discharged...

oh wish every mummies a happy 2007 first ;-)

jane,
i tink i oso not sure..i need to go back and check my son's health booklet....our kids health booklet machiam like story book..

i gave one copy of his "birth story" to the paedi last saturday for his reference.....

jane,
i think normal gp oso ok but since my elder boy goes to this paedi, so i go back to the same guy oso...more convenient..

go polyclinic oso okay but just that troublesome lah...must queue and i cant take too much leave and oso my son paedi nite time got clinic...

tink can also brg to kk but vy troublesome..much further..

do you brg yr boi home everynite?

oh i see...

so far, i only bring him to polyclinic to have his jab...it was after that then i realise go normal GP is so much more convenient keke...but since bring him to polyclinic for his first jab, i just continue him there for the 2nd jab lor...

nope...i am bring my boi home only during weekend. my mum say no good to bring him to and fro every day/nite...

jane, so after work, u gotta rush to yr mum house to see yr boi before going home....or you staying at yr mum's place...she is right, better dun bring bb here and there everyday

costa... this week i am staying with my mum.. next week onwards after work everyday i will go see my boy before heading home lor... (so that at least i have 2-3 hours with him everyday)... then weekend we will bring my boy home lor.

u are so much luckier hor..u have ur mum and maid at home..so you don't have to rush here and there...

jane,
yr hb can fetch u back, right?so shld be okay..

yah, im lucky in that sense although most of the time its my maid whose taking care of bb...

cost, yup my hb can fetch me back (provided he does not have night class...) other wise i normally take public transport back home.

is it good for maid to be 'close' to your bb in this sense?

actually i am kind of worried that my boy may grow too close to my maid...

jane,
my elder boi was vy close to my maid oso last time..he wun scream when we brot him downstairs to the playground..

havent reach the lift, he wld cry out for her liao but after she left, to my surprise, he hardly remembers her...vy strange and funny....

they say children can bond wif many pple...so dun worry...if yr mum is main caregiver, most likely will be close to yr mum

also, if you spend time wif him, he wld be close to you too.....dun worry....after all, we are still the parents,,smhow they wld noe, one...

costa, i see. hehe, hope my son would grow to be close to me...

you know...i love sleeping with him hehe... :p

i have a question to post. these two days i am not sure for whatever reason, my boy seem to start pooing after feeding (about 3 times a day)...

for the past one month or so (when i am home) he only poo only a day..

i wonder why.. any one has any good advise

this is the 3rd day my girl is back home...havent had the time to log in...

getting used to her cries and waking up for nightly feeds...

jane, my girl also poo once a day since she got back from hospital...dunno if she should poo more or is that normal..

my girl makes alot of grunting noise and snorts when she sleeps...do all mummies experience the same thing?

bought the NUK and avent bottles for her...when she drinks from either one, milk spills from the sides...only when she drinks from the disposable teats i got from NICU, it doesnt spill leh...any mummies can advise...

sorry im posing alot of questions now...cos dunno when i will have the time to come in again...:>

Puppyduppy,
welcome back..and congrats on yr bb coming back..

rgding poo, when bb matures more and more...not necessarily to poo after every feed

snorting sounds - accdg to doc, its bec their facial muscles at the nose there not really developed yet..thats why...

spilling of milk - me not sure..is it the caps not screwed tight enough or holes too big.....maybe you can ask the nurses...

all the above are my 1 cent opinion..better to ask professional lah if you dun noe..heh heh..

to all mummies, happy new year and hope it wld be a good start to all our preemies who had an early start in life..

i also thought that my boy should not be pooing after every meal...

puppyduppy, my boy when first come home also poo once a day..its these 2 days then he start to poo 2-3 times a day (after feed).

my boy has the snorting sound too....

i am using pigeon S size teat (specially recommend by the SLT) and i am using the 'prince' milk bottle...so far so good.

puppy
I use NUK teats to feed my boy as the flow rate is not so fast.But I use pigeon bottles.So far so gd.

Hiaz...my boi hv caught a cold lately n he seems to hv alot of phlegm.Now ok aft seeing one PD.Din't go to NUH PD as she seems to be unable to answer my question.The last time we saw her,she gave us a nasel drop but not effective for my boi.

hi costa - haha...well, i used prince bottle because so happen i have 2 spared at home (given by my sister) and it can fit into the Pigeon S size Teat.. i tried the teats on the Avent bottle...cannot fit...

anyway, prince bottle has the 'air vent' function..which supposingly can prevent air from gg into the bb stomach...

jolene,
tink preemies tend to have weaker lungs and catches infections easily...
my boi oso coughed badly three days ago and i brot him to see the paedi...

no one in the family was sick but some of my relatives came to see him although not at the same time..its not nice to ask them not to come..oso, dunoe is it catch the viral infection from them...So no choice loh...

my boi coughed out some of the phlegm and he seems better if not the paedi says the phlegm tt is swallowed can go out of the body when passing motion..(dun noe true or not)

jane, thanks..i heard of tis brand but so far, i hvnt used it yet as i now im using avent....

hi costa,

my boy had phlegm too..but when i brought him to see the KKH A&E doc...they say he is ok. then during the review by the KKH Big doc...she say my boy is ok too.... oh if the phlegm can be pass out by motion would be good....

i had wanna used avent too but too bad the teat that the SLT ask us to used cannot fit into the avent bottle orh.... so i stick to pigeon keke

jane,
due to chronic lung, thats why we as parents got to take special care of our darlings...

tink as long as the lungs "sounds clear", it shld be ok...me no doctor lah but hv been to the paedis plenty of times and the doctor shld b able to hear his breathing patterns...

i got alot of avent stuff when i bot the steriliser and also got the bottles and one of the preemies' grandma told me not bad,can drink faster..so i changed...

but just heard from my maid that she uses pigeon on and off oso...

the latest jan 07 mother and baby mag featured three premature babies who are real fighters...vy heartwarming stories...it really strikes a chord in my heart...arent we familiar wif those stories?

hi costa.

ya...thats why despite the A&E doc told me my boy phlegm is ok...keke, i still go and seek the BIG doc advsie :p cos i wanna be sure my boy is ok...

oh i see..i have quite a number of avent products at home too haha...

i very sayang when i realise the teat cannot fit into the avent bottle...

i guess pigeon is quite common lor...

oh is it...i must go and buy and read.

so sorry costa,
i dun know why i just simply cannot log on to the internet yesterday.......just reply your email too
cordy cep my mother in law will double boil( tun )for few hours drink like pao sen lor and cordy is good to build immune system..
yes i agree premmies are good fighter and even research book did wrote about it, some how they know they need to fight to survive .
i also felt avent teat flow rate so fast and last time i caught my mother in law even trying to make few more holes, my son almost choke and got aspirate and lead to sli lung infection.

emily,
which brand of bottle ur son was using then and what level of teats was he during about 7-8 mths?
my son always on avent, 2 hole teats. for very long time, till the teat lost elasity n flow so slow. we switch to 3 holes but it's too fast n he cannot tahan. so now hav headache on bottles n teats. we r trying Dr Brown now. Wish to hav some advises

i love using pigeon, not the normal one but peristalic one , flow not too fast or slow, i heard mr brown not too bad too

Happy New Year!

thanks for all suggestions on teats..

Just bought the pigeon peristalic S size teats....milk doesnt flow from side of mouth like when she drinks from avent and nuk....

dunno whether its colic or not, but yest my girl cried from 11pm-3am...we tried everything to stop her cries but still cry...hope its not colic...sigh..very stressful and so tired...

Hi Costa
Have not been following this thread closely, lots of readings to catch up. Your son is discharged. How many mths corrected age now? How is he doing?

My boys were born at 25 weeks gestation in Jan 2005 at KKH. They are doing fine now. If there is any advice that u need, please feel free to ask. I will try my best to help.

emily,
thanks for replying my email..will onli get to access it when im back in the office 2mr...

mich(twins mummy),
My boi's corrected age is coming to three months..still on tube feeding n his progress is always a step forward, two steps back....

did yr boys take a long time to drink last time...i hv tried so many methods n yet must still tube feed if he cannot finish his milk...really vy headache...Any advice for me?

nevertheless, i wish all mummies a happy new year and let's continue to keep tis board active...

Costa
My boys were able to coordinate their sucking and breathing before discharged.

My younger boy used to take very long to finish his milk, even to the extent of rejecting his milk. When we brought him back for review at KKH, Dr Argawal suspected reflux and prescribed medication. Well, it helps a bit.

We had to be very very patient when feeding him milk. I reduced the qty and increase the frequency. I changed the teat size as well. The situation did not improve overnight, took him quite a while to drink well.

If your boy is drinking enough in one day, it is ok if he does not finish his milk for every feed.

Morning all!

do you let your bbs sleep in aircon room? cos i realise that my girl has trouble sleeping in aircon room..she will fidget and make alot of noise...then when we off aircon and on fan..she seems better...

also realise that she seems to be snorting alot...dont think its cold cos no mucus in her nostril...and when she breathe sounds like got asthma sometimes...dunno if im being overly sensitive..

was also wondering when my girl can take the BCG jap and the rest of the jabs...

costa,
hows ur boi? does he still merlion?

Emily, i din receive yr email, can send again?thanks..

mich(twins mummy), he was bottling before he was discharged but he was coughing so we had to tube feed him now....smtimes when he's good, he can drink 70 ml by half an hr and the rest tube fed..if not, he wld just drink about 20 ml or 30 ml and wanna play or sleep

he is onli drinking enough if we tube feed him..when he removed the tube two wks ago and we tried to let him bottle, he din had enough and lost weight...

puppyduppy,
i dun let my bb sleep in aircon room because he got weak lungs and i am afraid that sleeping in aircon will worsen although some may say in hospitals oso sleep air con room....

tink fan shld be ok but dun let the fan directly blow at her...just circulate the air gently...

the snorting sounds vy common leh.....my boi oso...and yterday i just used the nasal aspirator to suck out mucus from his nose...

as for the bcg jab, my boi took his at the hospital..if you dun noe, can always ask the neo nat when you bring her back for checkups

my boi merlions a bit but not so much...so we cant overfeed him especially at nite...,even when tube fed, just a bit over the normal limit he wld merlion....

costa,
good to know ur boy can hold his milk in better now..

yah i was also thinking they been sleeping aircon room in hospital, so at home should be ok also..but seems like im wrong leh...

does your boy have crying spells..my girl for 2 nites cry non stop for 3 hours..no matter wat we do she still cry...stressful man

i also tried using the nasal aspirator..but my girl's nostrils are too small still..haha..cant fit in..she seems to be wheezing abit or maybe its breathing hard..can hear her breathing in and out......or maybe my imagination..

puppyduppy,
i dun sleep in aircon room myself bec i got sensitive nose....

My boi's bb cot although normal size cant go thru my door...so i let him sleep in his cot outside my room in the open space so that my maid can also take care if i oversleep...its airy enough and dun need aircon....

wat nasal aspirator did you buy?there is one which has a long tube which we suck out the mucus but that one too big for my son nose..so i bot the bulb looking one from pigeon...Its small enough to suck out and so far, i hv used it twice to suck out the snot from his nose....

my boi doesnt have crying spells and i wonder why because its good for bbs to cry right? my son's voice vy soft and sometimes when the tv is too loud, i cant even hear him

i noe its vy stressful when bbs cry, did you bring her for a car ride or just gently rock her...?does she need to use the ventolin or pneumocort (dunoe how to spell) pump on her nose for her breathing?