Premature babies support group

Costa,

Mine took very long to suck too. Just have to more patient. My right arm now gets numb after a while after holding the bottle too long.

Once he outgrows his reflux problem, he'll suck very fast. Just like my dd. Now she chokes coz she suck too fast : :p

mums,
try to give Gerber Apple Prune juice to ur bb when they hav constipate.
Do a one to one dilution. it helps to poo.
my son has beentaking this since 3 months old. it solves constipation
Dun give sugar coz it develops the sweeth tooth n they'll tend to eat sweet stuffs when they get older

stressed,
thanks, how long does yr baby take to drink now...my baby really drinks very very slowly and i am so tempted to put the tube back for him as he isnt getting enuff of nutrients from wat i see...

irenelovej,
rdging the pao sen..u tink it helps to build up the bb's "qi"..i m getting quite stressed over my bb's drinking pblem

Hi Costa,

At 6.5mos, she can drink in 10 mins flat. If she is not so hungry, she'll play with the teat with her tongue until the cow come home. :p

BTW to the other mummies, if you give BM, babies may not poo everyday. They sometimes not poo for the entire month! Mine poo 3 times a week. But of course when they do, expect what Costa said "Hiroshima bombing." hahaaa...what an apt description!

stressed,
thats vy good liao, my son can take ages to finish but heard from other mummies that tis cant be helped as he is a real preemie...vy scared wat happens if he takes 1 hr to finish his milk every time...jialut liao loh....

yes,my ex colleague's baby din poo for ten days..the doc put suppository into the anus...(tis is doctor's method)..for me, i put other things, ha ha ...and jiggle a bit,the fellow really "ta4 bao4 cha4"and poo so much, my goodness....and its liquid like and not really hard stools....

costa,
to handle his reflux, we burp him often, add "white powder" (cannot rem the name of that product but it can be found in guardian pharmacy ard$19++ a blue colour tin) to thicken the EBM so it's less fluid and makes it difficult to backflow, thus easier to stay in the stomach. You can ask your PD or guardian pharmacy.

And I will also kangeroo him for 30min after each feeding. sometimes both of us fall asleep in the kangeroo position. I stopped after his reflux improves also because it is really tiring for me as i'm still working. I agree that it is very stressful to see the merlioning...so do not overfeed. if need to increase milk do it in small doses eg. 10ml-20ml to play safe cos their stomach is really small.

For formula, there is Enfalac AR...for reflux...you can try that.

When he's older, you can then start to add cereals to thicken the feed. Doesn't work for mine though, he could distinguish the taste and rejects the milk.

Just come across this thread. Hope I'm able to join.

I was told by Doctor that you should increase 5ml only cos if you feed 8feeds 5ml x 8 = 40ml is alot. Monitor it for a few days to weeks before increasing again. It's much safer than 10ml increase every feed. Hope this info helps.

Pris is rite. dun increase too much at a time. When my boy juz discharge, his PD rec is 5ml increment per each feed for continuous 3 d, then another 5ml. take ur time, over feed sometimes coz them to throw up then ur effort is wasted.

btw, Pris, r u a new mum or u've experience all these like us?

Harlo, Pris, welcome to the board and thanks for your advice..

really getting vy stressed...he cant bottle well and its taking too long for him to finish the feeds and so i had to put back the feeding tube which i really dun hope to....

no choice..dun put,he takes too long to drink and merlions out but if put, scared he too dependent on it..

dunoe when he can outgrow tis...i really am at my wit's end...

hi costa,

i just realised something about our babies. they'll be ready for something when it's time. and they will know when it's time.

when my daughter hit 4 months corrected age, i was eager to start her on solids. but she hated her food. so, i reduced the amount given til she hit 6 months corrected age. she still hated her solids and i was at wits end. cos she wasn't gaining weight. i was so worried and we went to see a dietitian. but, there was no improvement.

now, finally, at 8 months corrected age, she is more interested in her food. i hope she will finally gain weight - she's still below 6kg at 9.5 months real age.

so, i suppose, you dont have to worry about your son being too dependent on the tube. one day, he'll be ready for bottle-feeding. now, he's just taking his time.

hi, telly,
thanks for your encouragement..

to tell you the truth, i was really worried that he is taking so long to drink milk..i thot after taking out the tube, he wld be more comfortable and can pace out and drink

ended up, he took such a long time to drink, fall asleep and after that, i started to feed him again and he never completed wats he supposed to drink.....AND ta ta....time for the next feed, he was so exhausted and never drank and forever so drowsy....

m sooo worried but i guess you are right, when they are ready, they will be but the pblem is how long he will take.....sigh...

I will like to join in the discussion too. There was once, my boy started to hate milk, and will drink only when he is sleeping. If he is awake, he won't drink milk or will take long time to finish. But after few months, he finally started to like milk again. He never like cereal by the way. He is eating porridge now, and he doesn't like that very much. I hope he will like it soon.

I think as premature babies parents, all of us are very anxious with our babies birthweight due to the training from NICU (only 2kg then can go home!). I am very anxious too, like when my boy throws out his porridge, and not drinking well, I will be very worry...

But I guess babies know best...they know when they want to eat.

Harlo, kkf,
thanks for joining us....hv read yr story before on the other boards and welcome here.....

now we got more ladies on tis board....how long did yr bb take to drink milk last time...?did you try other food besides porridge...?

so glad that tis board is active wif so many mommies...cheers!!

Yah, think motherhood forum got more mummies on board, so I am joining here too!

My baby took around half hour to nearly one hour I think. He will reject the milk, and start playing or what. We always got to put the milk in warm water and let him drink a while later that kind of thing.

What else to try besides porridge? He doesn't take cereal.

Think this is a great thread, because we can all share our experiences here.

kkh,
u are right..here more active, so i trying to jio the other mummies from the other boards to come here to join us....

oh dear, cereal he doesnt take, how about pureed foods or bee tai mak...abc pasta?

hi mothers,

me just back from maternity...

hmm.. my boy failed his ear test so hence have to bring him see specialist next week. i really hope he be ok... any one has any such experience/story to share about premmees listening skill?

oh i also wanna check with all mummies.

my boi now is drinking similac neosure ... anyone know of any place that has discount? hehe...

I am mixing BM with FM for him..:p

jane,
r u still expressing bm for your boi boi?

how do you mix yr bm wif fm?that means one feed fm and one feed bm to make up the quantity needed?

does yr boi like neo sure?

Costa, thanks for the suggestion...just fed my boy porridge. He only ate few mouthful. Sob sob, waste my efforts. He will close his mouth tightly and refuse to eat any further. Think I will try your suggestions.

Jane, neosure, think ntuc sell cheaper. I always get mine from ntuc. Its good for premature babies...my boy weight catches up with normal babies drinking that.

hi costa - yes, one feed BM, one feed FM... yes, before every BM feed i will express out for him. i no longer latch one (cos my BM like not enough liao too :p). so far, he taking neosure since coming home... so far ok..

kkf, thanks, so ntuc is still the cheapest...ok ok then i shall not try to source for other places hehe... ya, my boy weight gain fast too after drinking neo sure.

kkf, no pblem...m sure yr boi will love to try new tastes...

aiyoh, dun tell me i hv to switch to neo sure also....since my boi taking so long to drink and bm still must fortify by supplements...wonder if its better to switch to neo sure also

actually, we shouldn't be too eager to start solids for various reasons. One is due to allergies. If start solids too early, they will develop allegies. They might out-grow these allergies when older.

Second, our preemie babies' digestive systems take a longer time to develop. Therefore food might actually damage the gut lining.

Third. If the baby doesn't like solids, no point fretting over it coz like someone said they take their time.They will tell you. It's all about cue reading. If u keep forcing them, they will develop a hate relationship with food.

Fourth, I dunno if this is true but I heard once they start on solids they will loose some weight.

Fifth, Iron deficiency in BM is not true. http://www.kellymom.com/nutrition/vitamins/iron.html

So even when the babies reach 6 months, it doesn't mean we have to feed them on solids. Let them give us the cues.

My PD and the specialists in NUH are trying to persuade me to feed my coming 7mos dd solids but I refuse. I want to let her tell me when she is ready. Also if her digestive system is not fully equip to handle solids then who will be the one running like crazy to the hospital? It's me, the mother. Not the PD. Not the specialists.

Some babies reportedly are fed on BM exclusively for 12 months w/o any solid intake.

hi jane,

i hope all will be well for your boy.

neosure: i'm sooooooooo tempted to make my dd drink FM for at least one feed/day to speed up her weight gain. but dietitian and paed discouraged it.

kkf, my gal also doesn't like her solids. but today, she seems more keen on it. normally, she'll eat about half to 1 tbsp of her porridge (and i always threw out the rest) but, today, she finished all the porridge which i prepared for her. and she seemed to want more! so i'll prepare more for dinner later.

i think, finally, she's ready to eat. i hope she'll gain weight soon enough.

hi telly,

thanks...i hope (cross all my fingers) so too...really was quite upset that he failed the hearing test but still, well, hope if need be with early intervention, all will be well. so long my boy healthy and happy, i am pleased :)

my BM is running out..hence no choice i give him FM. if u can, contine with BM...its really cheap and good...

telly,
how come the paedi and dietician discourage some form of formula milk?do they fortify the bm wif vitamins etc..my bm has to be fortified wif nutricomp protein plus poly vysol (dun noe how to spell)...

you direct latch on or pump out to give yr gal?

yr gal must be hungry together due to the cold weather..heh heh....

same for my boy here, every feed takes abt 1 hr to finish, and must feed when he's half sleep. too early bf he sleep, he refuse to drink n wan to play, too late to feed he sleep liao. jia lat

he used to drink milk super fast like 5 min last time. but since he takes solid food, he likes solid more than milk. but he can't take too much as well, he'll throw it up.
i was sometimes upset abt it too, esp he drink quite little compared to others at same age. but i keep telling myself, no matter how, they'll grow, juz maybe size smaller. but they are doing well already....
i mix a bit formula for my boy coz planning to wean him off slowly (me pumping 8 mths already, super tired man). but he sometimes reject formula. so hav to quietly add 1 oz into the BM. but sometimes, u give him full bottle of formula he drink faster than BM. bb really got 'character'

costa, sorry but i might lose track a bit. how old is ur boy now? y is he has to be on tube? shouldn't it better to use bottle (if their weight is ok) in order for them to get used to it?

any mum here give similar stage 2 to bb and breastfeed together? any problem of mixing? was thinking to chg to similar coz now he sometimes reject his formula..

jane,
every time i have to send my dd for all these tests, i would mentally prepare myself for failure. like u, i'll also think, it's best if it's discovered early and with early intervention, everything should be okay.
your son failed the hearing test for one ear or both ears?

costa, my daughter is on poly vysol and iron supplements. they told me to continue with breastmilk since i still have a good supply.
she's latching on.

Jane,
I thought Similac Neosure price is the same everywhere. NTUC, cold storage and KKH selling $16.

Costa,
You have to check with PD or dietian. Especially the feeding portion. Cos this might cause your bb to gain too much weight. Thus to be overweight for his height.

Poly vysol is a multi-vitamin for your baby that helps him to have more vitamin. My ds is on this ever since he's born till now. Also still on iron drops into EBM.

Stressed,
I was told by speech theraphy that the later you start on soft food like cereal or porriage, the more problem you will encounter later on. It's best to start slowly like 1meal 1spoon of cereal a day. Then 2spoon a day then 2spoon 2times a day. Take your time to increase slowly.

I started my ds 1mth late that is 7mth (non-corrected age). As my ds is on peg feeding, thus nil by mouth, so food sensation is a new thing for him to learn. It took me a few mths for him to get used to it. Even now when I give him EBM, he reject, it's new taste for him as well. My ds will bypass the stage of learning how to suck from bottle. He'll learn to drink directly from a special device cup.

Hi Pris,

Did the speech therapist say why starting late is not good?

How old is your ds now? So u still feeding him via peg for his milk?

hi telly, my boy failed his hearing test for both ears
(. nonetheless, i hope the ear specialist would be of a postion to give a better advise on what is the actual condition of my boy...

pris - oh, apparently KKH selling the smiliac neosure at $15.80, while NTUC selling at $15.85 hahaha (not sure about cold storage keke). the price like you say, is about the same everywhere :p.

irenelovej- should be ok to mix formula with BM...

irenelovej,
my boi cant bottle too much bec he gets breathless.thot it wld be better for him to try the bottling without the tube..ended up, he lost weight and the nursing sister told me to put it back...my boi is now 21/2 months corrected age..

his weight is okay but just that he cant really suck, swallow and coordinate breathing..so no choice, had to be discharged from hospital wif feeding tube...

pris, my boi now thin due to him not taking much when he took out his feeding tube...so now, slowly gaining the weight by drinking bm wif the supplements..how come yr bb is on peg feeding?wat special device cup you use?sounds interesting..can tell me more?

hi costa,
did u tried the method of bottling that i mention to you yesterday>

whats your boi weight now (as at 2 1/2 mth correct age)?? did the dietrician mention anything about his weight?

jane,
i din have time to try yterday, i was out shopping at orchard but din buy anythg substantial...so sian..i tried to explain to my maid yr mum method but my mum's england vy poor, dun noe whether got my idea or not..tink i will try again when his coughing is better....

the dietician said his weight is okay but that was before he pulled out his tube on wednesday..

last nite, he was coughing badly and din sleep properly so i brot him to see my elder son's paedi...gv him some medicine to take...

he put on some weight but still tink he's underweight...

hi costa,

i see...its ok, with patience and care, i am sure your boy weight would soon triple... give him some time...

even right now, my boy when he bottle, he need pacing. thou he now more or less can pace himself liao...but sometime he very kanjong and wanna swallow the whole bottle keke (so i gotten to control the flow well)...

my boy (corrected age) now is 1 1/2 mth and he weight 3.5kg+... think its the neosure that make him put on weight :p. now he is drinking about 100ml (3 oz).

jane,
u see yr boi already drinking 100ml and my poor boi is still drinking 100 ml and less....

is yr mum plus maid managing well?you brg him back everyday?

hi all mummies, how are your christmas. costa, i understand how tiring it is to feed your bb for an hour, my son then took one hour to drink, half an hour to burp and then pat him to sleep , then it is time for me to express milk. after expressing milk, rest half hour, it almost three hours alread, time for second feed..........i remember those days i can finish korean series within two days, i almost migrate my bedroom to the living room . worry my son cannot breath well in an enclosed room, i let him sleep in the dining room. but now seeing him, i had long forgotten those days......they gradually passed thru this period ........and premie seem insecure, my boy want us within the sight all the time............
mummies , as for neosure, why dun called up abbot directly , they got nurse mending the call, my fiend told me can ask them for special rate for bulk order.

hi, emily,
wld love it if my boi can take 1 hr, the worse is he cant manage that..he can drink for half and hour and then sleep and then by the time wake up, try to drink the balance...too tired and time for the next feed...sigh...

how long did your boi take to take a shorter time to drink?dun noe when my turn wld come..really vy upsetting sometime...

hi emily,

yes ... my boy also take long time to burp..like you, i notice that that 3 hour interval is like as if gone before i know...how old is your boy now? yes, my boy like me always within sight too... he love to 'call' me :p

costa - all kids progress on their own pace. remember the days when we always say 'they like to surprise us'?? have patience... perhaps you try give small feed...then when he want..feed him again...slowly...

jane,
yeah, we liked to talk abt the surprise that our bbs gv us last time...

i did try the method of giving small feeds and it was really exhausting for him...the sister from scn told me not to and let him take his time..sigh and now he is coughing, dun tink will bottle him today....

i hv to see the speech pple next month..hope thgs will improve...

when wld yr appt wif the hearing pple be again?

hi costa, haha...just want to share. i just rang abbot laboratories. the selling price for simlilac neo sure is the same as outside (ie. 15.80) except they can have free delivery if buy more than $200 la.. keke

actually...i dun see why your boy cannot be feed small feeds...at least he is drinking mah...

my boy first appt to see the ear specialist is on 3 Jan 07 morning.... cross all my fingers really...

jane,
it took too long for him to feed..hes exhausted badly but i think i will see how...wif his coughing today and last nite, he din sleep well at all..so today hes totally shagged...

for bbs his size must drink 800 ml at least and hes only drinking 300 ml if we let him bottle onli.....even yr little boi already drinking 100 ml and my boi cant even manage half of that in the day time....

the small feeds are too little and imagine after drinking 60 ml in 40 minutes, he can either sleep for half an hr or longer and ended up, not enough nutrition..breaks my heart to see him so small...

yr appt is on 3jan at rehab clinic is it?will cross my fingers and toes for him too....my boi eye appt is six months later..hope everything okay..then he has to see the heart surgeon and slt pple in jan....and neo nat again in jan regarding his brain scan..(hopefully evythg ok)

costa - think its better for your boy to recover from his cough..once his throat is better..then resume the bottling... don't be stress ah..

yes, the 3 jan appt is at the rehab clinic...my boi also has eye review on 5 jan then 15 jan see dietrician and BIG doctor...

then he got an utra scan appointment on 2nd feb 07

so many appointment hor....

yeah, we got alot of appts, i almost cannot keep up...its lidat..once thgs are stabilised..it wld be slowly and longer in between durations...

rehab clinic is at the basement....BIG doctor is on first floor and eye clinic oso at first floor

hi costa - i think for the eye review (after my boy appointment on 5 jan).. it would be a few mths before his next appointment...

haha, you seem to be able to remeber all the clinic location. i only remember where the eye clinic is haha....

does your boy go for the hearing test too?

i hope his brain scan is ok...

my boy took about 4 mths to drink faster. he fall asleep too in the middle of the feeds, sometime i got no choice but to use wet towel to wake him up, i was like you, so desperately want to drink more, put on weight. when he was four to five mths old per feed is like 60 to max 90 mls. at times he did not suck well, i got no choice use teaspoon to feed him slowly lor as my paed want us to feed him making sure he is gaining weight gradually. my boy now is 3 plus already, infact till now he still need to sleep with us, many times in the night he will called out for mummy or daddy making sure we are around. for premmies, when they are not dued for birth, their biological clock still like they are in the womb want to sleep. it take about 2-3 month ( corrected age ) they are more awake.

jane,
his brain scan shows the same as wat the mri they did for him before he was discharged...result is the ventricles are still dilated and they need to check again..hope okay..worse case scenario must put a shunt..m vy worried...

hearing tests.i think must go again when they hv developmental checkup...

emily...can i pm you?is it convenient...thanks for your advice..

hi costa - don't worry, your boy brain scan will be ok. have faith in him..

emily - your boy at 4/5 mths is only drinking 60 to 90 ml...is my boy drinking too much ?? i meant at corrected age of 1.5 mths he is drinking 100ml??

jane, gmail is down, if not i wld email you....sian..

take yr boi's weight and times 150 ml and divided by 8 if he is drinking 8 times a day..

tis is the formulae given by the nurses but its not the be all and end all....there is a range of volume that the baby can drink..no hard and fast rule but of cse not too much or little lah...