Premature babies support group

irenelovej,
she was 1.395kg yest, slowly putting on weight...nurses there say if she put on weight slowly..then will stay at least 5 more weeks there..:<..

Reactions: Jnz

moms here,
i juz browse thro the forum juz now, saw a support group of stillbirth...mummies who have lost their bb posted their experience there.... feel so sad when reading it, and feel so lucky about our bb... with all the complication we faced during our pregnancy, we get our bb w us...no doubt we hav a harder starting pt for our motherhood...

puppyduppy, dun worry abt the weight gain. i think very soon her weight will be like rocket once the milk intake is steady.. if reach abt 1.7kg, can reach the discharge date in a wk time.

good morning all!

irenelovej,
thanks, cant wait to have her home..:>

would like to ask all if your bb has had an eye test? on sat my bb is going to have an eye test by a specialist..all premmies have to go through that i heard. Were you all present when the doc did the tests?

Dun mind me asking a qn. Any idea if all premmies need to stay in hospital for a longer period of time even if bb have reach the 2kg target?

hi, puppyduppy,
good morning...all preemies hv to go for eye tests to check for ROP - retinopathy of prematurity..
they use eye drops in the eye and tis is to check the blood vessels growing in the eyes..

i wasnt there when they checked..its better not to be there if you cant tahan it...

u may want to chk out tis webbie:

http://www.charles-retina.com/rop-faq.htm

stage one is the best, stage five is the worst...

its common to check for tis..dun worry..
anything you dun noe can check here with us..i dun profess to noe everythg but just hv been thru wat you are gg thru..

my boi's discharge cld be delayed as he was coughing...dunoe if i had passed the bug to him as i was and m still sick...sian, man...and a doc who was in contact wif the babies kena chicken pox and he had to take a chicken pox jab....ai yah.......sianz...

ginseng mum,

yes, the bb has to stay longer if they cant suck/swallow well or if they have other pblems...

hope i hv answered yr question..

Hi costa,
thanks. was deciding if i should be at the eye test,anyway the doc will call us after the examination right?am so worried about the eye test, hopeeverything is ok.

i was sick the 1st 2 week after delivery and the nurses at the ward say i should try to stay away from nicu..scared i might pass the virus to the babies...you are having flu? heard even the last few days of flu, its quite contagious...they are able to give the chicken pox jab to ur boy at such a young age? your boy was suppose to be discharged this week?

puppyduppy,
mine one didn't go for eye test. he juz hav the regular blood test for new born n hearing test. maybe u can find out more with the PD on the purpose of doing so

puppyduppy,
my boi supposed to be go back tis saturday but now lidat, dun noe how...i coughing like mad...

did the doc say that you hv to be there at the eye test?touch wood, if there is anythg they wanna talk to you about, they wld hv told you...(tis is kk policy lah)

preemies' eye vessels may not grow properly when they are out of the mum's womb so the doctors need to check the eyes to see that they are growing properly....dun worry, everythg wld be fine...

yes, they are able to gv the ckn pox jab....i asked the mee see that day when she called me...

costa,
nurse say i dont have to be there, but can be there if there are any questions i would like to ask. was reading the website that you suggested, i dont think i will be able to handle it when they hold open my girls eye, and when she starts crying...i will surely start crying.....the way they descibe how they do the eye test sounds so scary....

better that your boy's cough is better 1st, then you bring him home.your boy would be better real soon....dont worry.

hi costa,

likely ur boy caught ur cough. that's why u hv to take care of urself 1st.

re witnessing the eye checkup, u will hv to witness when bb goes for his outpatient checkup later. unless u get someone else to hold bb down during the examination, otherwise, mummies are usually the one. anyway, the examination itself takes less than 5 minutes.

puppyduppy,
yes, yvonne is right, if we are not there now, next time we still gonna be there

yvonne,
i tau gong gong after taking medicine but still must tong and come to work...shucks man,tis means next few days cant go down..really sianz man...

by the way,any way to strengthen our kiddo's lungs due to the Chronic lung thingy...?

yvonne,
oh it last only for 5 mins...thought the examination will take quite long..cos they have to hold open the bbs eyes and all.then maybe i will go see how they do it...thanks.

costa,

can put on the surgical mask if u still want to visit. ask the mi si for 1 before seeing kiddo lor.
i can just feel how heavy ur head is rite now, man... heehee.

there's not really anything to do abt CLD.
swimming can help to strength but only when he's older lor. meantime, minimise going to crowded places or near sick people, esp those with flu, cold... so that includes u for now.

hi puppyduppy,

at the checkup, bb will be given 2 different eyedrops before the doc's examination.
so that's 1st eye drop, wait for 5 mins, followed by 2nd eyedrop, then wait 20 mins for eyedrops to take effect before seeing doc.
plus waiting time here &amp; there, it can take abt 1 hour.

yvonne,
the mee see asked me to put two face masks...
dun tink i will go down these few days

just now the doctor called me and said that the discharge will be delayed..oso good lah, let me recover fully

anythg you let yr boiboi take to strengthen the lungs...?:read on the thread that some mothers let their kiddos take cordyceps but ours are preemies, dun noe whether can or not....

on hindsight then tink i shld hv gone for flu jab...ehhh........tink i will get one when i am better...

i gave my boy 'pao sen' (a type of ginseng), not for strengthen lung but for improving the strength (bu3 qi4). i think it helps.

i gave rigth after his first month. wat we did was take 1 slice of pao sen, n when u cook rice, bf the rice water all get dried, scoop 1 tablespoon of the water n pour into the bowl w pao sen, then put the whole bowl into the rice cooker to cont' boiling till the rice is well done. then feed using bottle or spoon. i still do tat till now, juz instead of giving everyday, give 2-3 times a week

good morning all!

yvonne,
thanks for the explaination on the eye checkup. clearified my doubts :>

yest my gal was quite fidgety after her feed..then nurse gave her alittle bit more milk in a bottle..and guess what..she sucked...aiyo..suck so hard somemore...so happy she can do it!

was reading what you gals were saying about CLD....all premmies will have that?

irenelovej,
thanks, tis is wat i hear from older experienced women on feeding the pao sen water but i was thinking can our preemies take it...After reading your answer, i think i will do it also..

does the rice bowl wif the pao sen need to be covered?

ur bb better after taking the pao sen?

puppyduppy,
i think majority of the preemies will hv tis cld after being on the ventilator for some time..u can ask yr kid's neo nat to clarify...lungs take a longer period to mature so preemies will more or less kena tis cld

costa,
i was not sure abt giving cordyceps too, so in the end didn't give anything.
like u said, i'm very doubtful abt their immature digestive system.
i took the kiasi approach &amp; only intro semi-solids when he's 6mths corrected. rather not stress his digestive system lor.

puppyduppy,

CLD is Chronic Lung Disease, a medical term given for premmies who are on oxygen for more than 28 days, basically can't breath well on their own.
if bb can breath fine on her own within that period, then won't be diagnosed as to hv CLD lor.

puppyduppy,
the term sounds scary but its not that terrible actually.....its just that preemies MAY catch colds and flus more easily as their lungs are supposedly weaker...

but full term babies also not say will not fall ill so easily...my full term elder son was forever sick also, almost every month...

if the neo nat never mention much must mean yr bb is okay...so dun worry too much...

yvonne,
good morning...i think i will also do the same as you and give solids at six months but may try the pao sen thingy.....there is one thread on parents of kids wif bronchitis which actually had set me thinking of giving herbs to kids..
i think a little bit shld be okay when their digestive systems are more mature...

hi costa,
u hav to cover the bowl w cap or cover or else the rice water will all go in. dun need to buy any fancy stuffs for doing so, i juz use those normal metal cup lid (for us to cover the cup)to cover.
for the beginning, dun give too much, juz 1 -2 teaspoon. after tat can slowly increase. ur bb already 4-5kg rite? then no worry la... i gave to my bb when he was onli abt 2.5kg. but must give onli a little as the start. take ur time.

how's ur flu? hope u r getting better.

irenelovej,
thanks, my cough is still the same...dare not take the medication during the day time..scared i doze off in the office....

thanks for the advice on the pao sen..will do that when he is back home..

just called the nurse, they said that they hv to put some probe down into my son's stomach to check for reflux and to see if any necessary medication needs to be given

dem sian, man, cldnt brg him back last sat as my elder boy was hving pri school orientation and now tis delay is causing me more stress due to him having cough, etc cant bottle feed and hv to tube feed etc and now must do probe test..lagi sian

hey costa,

don't stress. the delay is a blessing.
both little fighter &amp; u can hv time to get well to hv a good start to enjoy each other's companionship at home.

watever ur decision is, it'll always good decision cos u only want the best for him.

yvonne,
i really hope so, i thot the delay is a blessing for me to recover but now seems that there are more and more "customers" at the isolation area where my boi is...

i din go down yterday, tink i will go down after work and wear two masks.....

now the delay is making the mee see do the probe test to see whether need medicine for reflux....and the mee sees (out of good heart)keep saying tell you to bring back etc etc you nvr bring back etc etc.....hear already i feel dem bad...but just hope that tis delay is a good thing...

i still coughing...hopefully two masks are enuff..

costa,
try not to stress on the delay..at least u know ur boy is well taken care of there.it will also give u time to fully recover..then u will be strong to take care of him when he is home.

does ur bbs do a little snorting sound when they are awake...cos my girl does that (currently the tube is in her nose)..i asked the nurse if its cos there is mucus in her nose..they say there is not, most premmies will make the snorting sound...dunno if true or not leh...

puppyduppy,
thanks....hp to tink positive..
my bb does have some snorting sound and when he was on cpac, there was a funny smell which i commented to the nurse and she agreed oso...

tink smtimes yr bb will oso hv some secretions in the mouth which is normal too...

costa,
wat is cpac? she seems to be snorting more as she is bigger...wonder why..maybe more aware of the sounds that she makes...
do u know wat the smell was due to?

puppyduppy,
cpac is the tube wif the two things going up the nose to help bb breathe..

the smell i think mayb due to the interactions of oxygen, water and the bb's secretions (i asked the nurse before but i cant remember now)

the nurse had also agreed got that funny smell but its no harm....

you can ask the nurse why got snorting sounds but dun tink its anythg serious...hows yr bb's progress?

costa,
bb is ok..slowly putting on weight....
asked the nurse and they said its like that...maybe cos of the tube down her nose....

when u go see ur boi...wear those N95 mask if they have...the bulldog mask...think its better than the usual flimsy ones they have...

puppyduppy,
sekali pple tink i got sars..ha ha....if i wear those mask...

tink i really gotta take the flu shot when i am better
when yr bb hits a certain stage..it wld be like aeroplane taking off...vy fast increase in weight..dun worry..

anything new the doctor told you?

costa,
haha...thats a real power mask...

so far she just needs to put on the required amount of weight...she can suck abit of milk from the bottle already..so thats a good sign..but dunno if suck more milk will she be able to handle it.

puppyduppy,
thats why good idea to let her suck on a pacifier (wif cotton wool stuffed inside) to let her practise sucking..

thats a vy good sign already..bec of my boy's cough...now back to tube feeding..really one step forward, two steps back...

costa,
yah she loves to suck on pacificer..nurse say her sucks are really hard..

not to worry..its just temporary tat ur boi gotto be tube fed...once cough better can go back to bottle feeding..

did all mommies bfeed their bbs once they learn how to bottle feed? or continue to EBM?

puppyduppy,
i din let my bb latch on because no one told me to do so, so i continued to let him drink milk from the bottle..

really hope its temporary that he needs to be tube fed..its really vy poor thing...

costa,
yah i see my bb with the tube down her nose i feel so heartache..think if he gets medication should be well real soon.

my bb PD is very pro bfeeding..told me that once she reach 1.5kg can let her latch on liao..but im still deciding..so small how to latch on man..

puppyduppy,
its really heartpain....at first the feeding tube was in the mouth then later now hes bigger, they put into the nose...

i thot the same as you, how to latch on if bb is so small but it can be done..u shld try if you can...i will try if i can...

costa,
my gal always try to move the tube with her mittened hands...see also i wanna tear...

but ur boy will be bottled fed real soon when he is better..dont worry....

yah will try to latch her on if possible...

puppyduppy,
tink all preemies will pull the tube out...the nicu is a river of tears...so happy when someone "graduates"...

i really hope that my boi can continue to bottle feed and hope he hasnt forgotten how to do so.....

actually the preemies can latch on. i let my boy tried in NICU few days bf he discharged. in fact he was doing well.

But, as we always mix bottle and latch ( my fault too...sometimes got other things busy with so let my in law bottle feed him), when he grew a bit elder (abt 3 mths), he knows the rubber teats can actually use lesser energy to suck, so he reject latching

i end up to be a pumping mom till now...

so, if ur bb can latch already, juz keep them latching. if u mix mix n ur bb is like mine, knowing to play all those tricks, then they'll refuse to latch

few days I din't log in &amp; you all hv so much discussions liao.Did the mee see ask u all to bottle feed n bathe the bb before bb is discharged?

Hubby &amp; I hv tried bottle feed our boi.We noticed tat it will be easier to feed when bb is awake.When he is sleeping,he either tend to forget to breathe or swallow.

By the way,hv you guys finish buying bb stuff?Sales will be coming next month for Taka n Metro.Dates yet to be confirmed.

irenelovej,
thanks for your advice, will try that

jolene,
yes, the nurse taught us to bathe and feed bb and also the persons who will look after the bb must also learn....

if the bb is dozing off to sleep, tickle the chin or the cheek....

morning all

costa,
im sure ur boy will remember how to feed from the bottle...premmies are very smart:> thats why at such a young age, they already want to pull out the tube....know how to cry when they are hungry and when they poo/pee....im very amazed actually...

yest my girl showed her temper when i pull out the pacificer..she cried, shake her head left and right a few times angrily while crying then grab the pacifier with her mouth...so young and can show emotions already...haha

puppyduppy,
i asked the nurse yterday..she said he shld noe how to suck from the bottle, wor...even after tube feeding...really hope so....yterday saw him so poor thing, one nostril wif one feeding tube, the other nostril wif a probe down to check for reflux

the nurses are so nice and one of them even bot him three pairs of small little shorts...so cute..m so touched that i nearly teared that some nurse actually loves him so much...

preemies are chilli padis so all of us beware...

costa,
since the nurse said that, you should not worry too much...ur boy will be able to suck still.
the nurses so nice....i would be so touched too.

puppyduppy,
sigh....most of them are vy nice.....m so touched by their concern and love and m sure you wld be by the nurses taking care of your bb...

costa,
so u wore 2 masks when u went to see ur bb yest?
is his cough better?

the nurses taking care of my gal are also very nice too :> always answering watever questions i have about her...

puppyduppy,
yup,wore two normal masks when i went yterday
thanks for yr concern..tink his cough is getting better...they put him on ventolin...

hi, sorry for posting w/o reading through all the posts... backache coming up again so going to rest.

my bb is a premmie too..born at 34weeks plus..now still at SCN...

btw, may i know what is the average weight for premmies at the beginning..cos my bb is now only 1.6kg...trying to see how long will it take for her to come home.... thanks....

edksd, ooppss..type wrongly, I mean what is the average weight gain..cos its seems such a long distnace from 1.6kg to 2kg....