Premature babies support group

Costa, to add: i m really plumb... going to b 7Xkg... not plumb? i on diet nw... given birth thru c-sect is not good for me.. headache.. i had wound-infection... nvr been slim ever since...

my DD's head is FLAT on the back of head cos she slept on her back... but after discharged fm hospital.. she loves sleeping on her stomach? i dont know y... she will jus try to turn, if cant.. she will cry... so i help her then she stop crying... funny? i dont know the reason until nw.. i had scratched my head.... hahaha...

Hi Costa,

I didn't monitor her for apena at all. I wasn't inform by the nurses nor the doc to monitor specially. Thinking back I think I should.

The nurses ask me to rotate her sleeping position so that milk will not get stuck in her throat. So she was made to sleep on her right side. 3hrs later, we'll switch to the left.

The nurses also told me by doing that we can also ensure her cone-shape head will reshape nicer.

Vq, plump is ok, i also rounded....but colleagues said i lost alot of weight after giving birth due to the traumatic nature of this recent birth

thanks for all the advice on the different issues like sleeping, breathing etc

yvonne,
the extra flap on yr bb's ear,was it too late to rectify at the hospital?remember when they were younger, the ears all got into funny shape as it was vy tender..and i remember i always panic when i found it folded not the way our ear is...thking back, maybe its true after all, we shld notice all tis....

stressed,
maybe yr bb dun hv episodes of breathing apnea thats why you were not told to monitor it....but yr advice on the sleeping position is very appropriate n i wld remember it when bb comes back...

good morning costa & mummies,

hv tried to fold it properly & even made him sleep more on his left so as to flatten out as much as possible. not much help probably cos baby will move about in his sleep. now his ears are slightly different size, made worse cos he has mickey mouse ears.

yvonne,

tink the ears'part shldnt be that obvious if you din look hard enough?

if you dun mind me asking, does yr kid have rop?

mine has stage 2 wif a bit of stage 3, hope it regresses...

costa,

actually the difference is pretty obvious :-(
also, the cartilage has sort of stiffen by now, think only can rectify thro cosmetic surgery. we've decided to leave it to son's decision later.

mine didn't have ROP but was still reviewed fortnightly cos he was on CPAP for quite some time. don't worry too much if baby really need operation. think of it as a catalyst so baby can move on quickly & be home soon.

in fact, yr baby will have nice surprises for u... just wait & see! pay attention to his progress.
the doctors/nurses might oredi have told u that baby will be ready at his own time... so just when u think there's no progress at all, baby will pull a quick one on u.

Yvonne,
tink tonite when i go see baby, i will go and have a look at my boi's ears...so wat i need to do is to straighten it if its folded the wrong way, right?

u are right that the baby will do so in his time..just hoping that his rop will regress as the gestional age increases.....

hope that my bb will pull a quick one too and hope my heart can take it...heh heh...

yeah, better to check & straigthen if necessary.

i'm sure yr heart can take it!! send my regards to yr little fighter...

hi, yvonne,

went last nite and checked, to me seems okay but i may not have observed well enough

thanks for yr wishes and he is ok, waiting to cycle pending rop review...his lung xray and head xray seem okay...

grade 3 ivh bleeding subsided and hopefully in longer term wld be okay....

hi costa,

i'm sure yr boy's ears are fine
otherwise u would've noticed it by now.

very good news on the subsided bleeding.

btw, can cycling be done at stage 1 ROP or must wait till full recovery?

yvonne,

because i am a very blur person, even if wrong way, i may not know

subsided bleeding but watever damage done, no one knows, just hope for the best as tis is wat the docs told me

my son got stage 2 and a bit of stage 3, unless its stable then can start cycling..........if stage 1 rop, i think can cycle....

costa,

it's easier said than done... but try not to worry too much.

even after discharge, there'll be lots of follow-up checkups to monitor ALL aspects of baby's development so any damage/effects will be diagnosed early & be treated accordingly.

did u know that all KKH premmies are given annual checkups right up till teenage years? think ard 18YO...

Yvonne,

the nurses told me that but she did say tt some of them after one year old never came back liao for follow up.....

but i guess like wat you said, after one yr old, they are considered normal and nothing to worry abt liao....

oh, thought it would be almost compulsory to followup.

during the checkups, i've met some old premmies (6-10YO), all doing well. the parents treat it as annual medical checkup like wat some adults do to check blood pressure, cholestrol, etc.

premmies are normalised after 2YO.
personally i would rather keep up with the checkups at least for the 1st few years to have a peace of mind knowing that baby is doing well. never quite know what might crop up later...

yvonne,
tis i hv to agree wif you fully, i rather check annually or even more if needed...

juz to chk wif you, how often does yr boi hv to follow up now wif kkh?every month or quarter and do you bring him to kkh for jabs or normal paedis?

the checkups were more frequent in the early months where closer observation were needed. average is 2-4 months. but for eye & hearing checks, if initial checkup is fine, then follow up is 6-12 months later.

the most frequent is at Clinic K (Children's Specialist clinic) where the assigned NICU doctor will continue to assess baby's overall.

as for jabs, i just bring him to normal PD. jabs are done according to gestational age so baby will be slightly late on schedule.

Yvonne,

thanks for much for your advice...its really very timely and useful....

thk the first jab wld be given for the 5 in 1 for my son around in two wks time..the doc did tell me that it may hv side effects like fever but they wld give him medicine to counter that...

hi costa,

u're too ke qi

ya, my boy had fever for a day after the 1st 2 jabs but nothing on the 3rd. next jab is MMR & chicken pox at 15mth old in nov.

harlo, Yvonne,

How are you today?Good morning...

Yterday, the nurses told me that my baby's ROP is stable but dun noe why they cant start cycling..not that i am hurrying him but just worried....

One of the nurses told me that he has come a long way, dun worry too much as the baby will also feel it...just hope that he doesnt need to do laser....

morning, costa,

u're pretty early... was abt to ask how is baby's ROP review.

i'm sure cycling will start soon.
maybe doctors just want to let his ROP regress a little more so there's lesser chance for relapse.

anyway, is baby back in NICU main area? has he recovered fr the infection?

Yvonne,

Heh, i very early because im quite free ..

tink you are right, they want to let it regress but yet its not regressing...neither is it deteriorating..just staying put...

bb wun be back in the main nicu area because he is isolated and altho recovered...they still want to isolate him...

he shld have recovered as its a harmless infection, even nurses and doctors can get checked for it regularly and if they get it..just apply cream or go out in the sun can liao...can cure already...

nowadays, alot of preemies, feel so sad when there are new additions to the nicu....

ya, it's sad to see new premmies arriving.
feels worse when u find out those u didn't see for a few day actually didn't make it & not that they've gone home.

also, the parents of new premmies who will be starting the rocky road, feeling uncertain & lost.

i remember during my boy's stay, he was moved ard a few times when NICU got crowded. at one period, there wasn't enuf beds, they actually used made-shift ones (like those in SCN), positioned at the opposite side of cubicle.

Yvonne,

U mean got new preemies........who din make it?
I thot that every preemie will have a fighting chance as techno is so advanced...

i hv also seen and m myself one of the parents who cried at the incubator and was advised not to do that as it wld affect the baby...

costa,

yes, there are still premmies who didnt make it
even with such medical advancement & equipment. it's usually within the early days. that's why it's the toughest in the beginning when nothing is for certain.

actually, my boy almost didn't make either. although he gave a loud cry right after delivery, subsequently his lungs just couldn't take it & collapsed. the earlier hospital & PD didn't have the right equipment to revive him, so made use of next best option which happened to further damage his lungs. that was when the PD advised to transfer him to KK's NICU urgently. Luckily for us, there was vacancy then.

i've checked around with several doctors & all commented that KK's NICU has the best specialists, medical know-how & equipment.

Yvonne,

Am so sad when i read wat you said...i thought that they shld be able to survive with the latest equipment etc.....

lucky yr boy was given the right advice and you made the right choice...

i hv seen several examples of similar cases where the doctor had told the mother to be to deliver at kkh when they were hving problems...

our kids are really fighters, you noe, the nurses told me that some of them after they grow up, never give up when there are problems..they literally become chilli padis..small but very very strong and resilient, thats how we want our children to be..never give up..

morning costa,

u're right abt most doctors recommending mummies to KK in case emergency procedure is required.
too bad, i didn't heed the advice on time

it's very true that premmies are tough fighters.
they had the advantage of a "very very early training" on how to survive in this world with "limited means".

hey, i've the exact thought & wish like u... for our kids to not give up so easily.
actually, i've taken so many pix of son during his NICU stay, hoping to show/inspire him later how he had fought for himself, how tough he had become to overcome his weaknesses.

yvonne,

maybe there was misinformation on kkh's admission thats why some mummies din understand it thoroughly and din go to kkh, that was wat i understand from one of the preemies' mummies.....

preemies also noe how to socialise early as they were looked after by different nurses...

i never knew there were so much knowledge concerning preemies like ROP, chronic lung etc..

btw,all these terms really baffled me, but i heard from the nurses that bec my son was born so early..he may hv damaged lungs, tis was wat worried and still worries me the most...

yes, the protocol in KK is at times too complicating. actually, i'm considering to hv my next pregnancy there. were u oredi seeing a gynae at KK? any thoughts to share?

premmies do hv quite a bit of advantages...
used to seeing different faces all the time in NICU, my son is now not shy with strangers, in fact, most times with a ready smile to show.

hv to agree that the terms do sound much critical than the condition itself.
my son has chronic lung disease written on his medical report. so now, even buying an insurance policy is more "lay chay" cos the insurer wants to find out exact details 1st.

Yvonne,

Tis bb is my second child, i hv to close factory as my hb doesnt want another child anymore..long story...dun want to bore u wif details...

but if you want to know a gynae, i can private message you...they say the service for public hospital not so good, but i find it okay as my eldest was delivered at kkh also.....

the terms chronic lung disease sound so scary and when i talked to the more "junior" neo natal docs there...i almost broke down and cried as it sounded so serious...most of the times, they hv to "tell us the ugly side or shld i say realistic" view to give us mental preparation.....

i oso saw the chronic lung thingy written on one of the medical sheets inside the file...sounds so scary...

costa,

i've thought of closing factory initially bcos of the high chance of low placenta in next pregnancy. at the same time, i don't want my boy to be lonely. so have decided to TTC when he is abt 2YO & out of the premmie stage.

thanks, PM me anytime... looking forward to yr advise.

Costa
My twin boys were born in KKH, 25 weekers. 24 weeks and 6 days to be exact.
They stayed in KKH for 3 and a half mths. Both had ROP and did laser. Both had hernia surgery.

They are 16 mths corrected age now and are doing fine.

Is your bb at MRSA section? My elder twin was there. I liked it cos it is quieter and my elder twin gained weight faster than the younger one who is at the normal SCN. He was discharged earlier too.

Your bb will be fine.

Mich (twins mummy),

Hi and thanks for joining us here and i read yr posts at other threads...

Yes, bb is at mrsa....its true, its quieter there...i remember when he was transferred there, i was so moody because i missed the frens at the normal nicu and also it seemed so much quieter and was not really used to it...

i remember that when he was transferred, the hosp had called me and i had missed the call and when i saw it was a kkh number..i panicked and ran all the way to the nicu..but luckily evythg was okay.......

How are your babies now,,,,,how heavy were they when they were born?which stage rop then they must go for laser surgery?

do you tink the intellectual development in long term of preemies will be delayed or not...?

morning costa,

got yr PM

ya, during baby's stay, hubby & i always "jump" when we see KK's number on the caller id since NICU oredi inform they'll call if there's emergency...

Yvonne,

No problem at all...any thing you want, u can pm me....

the other day also, i gave kkh my hp number to contact for my fren's appt as she is overseas and coming back soon and when i saw the number on the caller id of my hp, i literally jumped up and frantically called them back...

good morning costa,

sori, cudn't yak much last friday... a little busy at work.

how's yr weekend & baby? any news on starting cycling?

Yvonne,

Its okay..no problem..work is more important than chatting...

My wkend was okay, went to Msia wif my parents and kid to take a break so yterday din see my baby..saw him on Saturday though...

His ROP eye review shows no progression or deterioration..whether to cycle will dpd on the neo nat doctor.....will go after work today.....

How's yr wkend? How's yr bb?Do you bring him out often?

hey, it's good to take a break.

hmmm... at least no deterioration. hopefully the doc decides next course of action soon.

my weekend was alright, never seems enuf...heehee.
baby just started crawling a little (he's not keen & prefers to goes straight to standing & walking w/ support).

i try to bring him out when possible, not good to be cooped up at home. sometimes to swim, a walk downstairs, shopping, etc.
initial months, we avoided crowded places cos premmies' immunity not so strong.

Hi Costa

Sorry.. had been very busy lately.

You read my past postings? I hope it boosted your confidence level

My boys were 600g and 720g when born. One was discharged before the actual EDD, the other stayed for 2 more weeks.

Both were in Stage 2 ROP so had to go for the laser surgery.

When was your bb born? Still on CPAC now?

There were 3 other 25 weekers babies when my boys were at NICU. The mummies met each other during EBM and we are still in touch now. All the 5 bbs are growing very well. Of course, some are fast walkers whereas some take longer time to master walking. We measure their developments based on corrected age. So far, there is no major problem in them. Health wise also ok

Yvonne
Yours a 29 weekers. How old is your boy now?

hi mich

my boy is now 13 mths. no ROP but had PDA ligation done. discharged just after EDD after near 3 mths stay.

yeah, some of us still keep in contact (24/600g & 26/900g weekers). so far, all the babies are growing very well.

Yvonne,

Just got back from kkh....he started abit of cycling wif the oxygen box....

Good that he is doing well and is out of the house..its true not to be cooped up at home..go out and hv fresh air oso good.....

Mich (twins mummy)

My boy has stage 2 but so far not recommended for laser yet...he was born in june....dun tink he can be discharged so soon..at least a month more...

costa,

very good news to start the week!

so baby is off CPAP?
if he can manage with just the oxygen box, then cycling is alot easier. my boy cudn't manage with just oxygen box & had to cycle on CPAP.

Yvonne,
Actually i also dun noe if he is off cpac...but he has to go back wif cpap after a while

whilst he was off cpap, he was okay but when put back cpap...different "pattern"...the nurse told me to expect the unexpected from him..ha ha...

i hope that he is okay as everyday to me is a bonus to us parents.....

Yvonne,

Harlo.....miss "seeing" you here but i guess that you must be busy wif work...

bb has starting cycling with two hours room air, two hours cpap...

problem is i havent hired a maid yet...just too lazy and putting things off....your maid is alone wif yr boi boi everyday? can she handle him well?

yeah, quite busy lately cos fin year coming to a close soon...

wow, baby's coping very well. congrats!! feels really good to see his progress surge over the last few days, rite?

re: maid
shud start sourcing now so u don't need to settle for next best choice due to lack of time.

i made the mistake of not hiring till last minute & had to settle for inexperienced one. she was quite stressed abt taking care of him then, seeing that he's quite small size. i had to change maid after just 3 months.

currently, i send my maid (2nd) & boy to my parent's place every morning. my dad's retired but he only "supervise" or rather look2 see2, not much hands-on. so far, she's managing fine.

i write up a daily/weekly schedule (milk feeds, bath, nap, etc) as a guide for her to follow. train her the basics (how to carry & cradle, feeding & burping, nappy change, bathing, etc). teach her some premmie sign/symptoms to look out for which shows that bb's not ok. eg when my boy is not breathing properly during feeding, the skin between his eyes will start to turn blue-ish followed by areas around his mouth. so will need to stop feed for him to breath proper 1st before resuming.

basically, i get her to treat baby at corrected age.

Yvonne,

Thanks for your advice..sigh, i am really too lazy..just that too long never have maid, now i feel very strange wif another person in the house...

eh, yr schedule sounds good leh....touch wood, hope that there were no difficulties in her managing yr boi boi .....how do you stop feed and wat do you do to make the baby breathe properly?

tink die die must go and source for maid by tis week or next week....

hoping my bb wld give me a pleasant surprise later....

hey, i've never had a maid before. no doubt having a maid is truely great help but still feels a bit uneasy with an "outsider" ard.

like all babies when hungry will suck vigorously, so for premmies, they concentrate so hard on the sucking till forget to breathe & turn literally blue in the face.

no special method lah.. i simply tilt the bottle teat to break the suction & pull it out, prop baby upright on my lap to let him rest, pat gently on his back to make sure he burps his milk intake so that air passage is clear. wait till he's breathing fine & the blue-ness between the eyes & ard his mouth fade.

if i recall correctly, it doesn't take long after cycling starts for baby to breath fully on his own... maybe abt 2 weeks.

so yr fighter may hv something up his sleeves next week... hee

So happy for everyone! Everyone's baby is doing very well.

FYI, my DD had GERD only after she was discharged from the hospital. She will scream in pain and cringe. I bought her to the normal PD but was told it's colic. I went to a neonatlogist. She also told me it's colic and that her bloated tummy is normal.

3 months later (now). I just finish reading Dr. Sears Preemie book. Then I realised it's not colic. It's GERD. I am soooo pissed with the Doctors and most of all, myself for not trusting my instincts.

According to the book, preemies never get colic. To think a book can give a better diagnosis than the doctors. hiaz.

BTW, the book can be found in the library.

Keep up the good work mummies!