Premature babies support group

i just emailed you

David,
Danya is so pretty....

xbliss,
i will join the gathering, finally get to meet everyone
1. xbliss + husband + bryan (1 kite, 4pm, dun mind potluck or i can buy almost everything)
2. KKF
3. bloom
4. celline
5. Tree_Ice
6. gingal + Jerlynn (no kite, 4-5pm, potluck - tidbits or desserts)
7. shelllow + hubby + paige (1 kite, 4-5pm, i can bake some cookies n cake)

hello all

shelllow msg me about the gathering! wow kite and picnic, sound really like fun. i cannot confirm yet as my husband is working on saturday (ful day).

xbliss : i shall confirm with u nearer the date? can?

Hello everyone!

I havent been checking updates for some time, and just realised there would be a gathering coming up after Xiaowanzi told me!!! What a pity....6th March is the date we are moving back to Shanghai...ARGGHH...guess I cant meet you this time.....so sad
Anyway, you guys enjoy ya!!! If anyone of you do come to Shanghai, pls let me know, I will be a good host...hehehee...

Happy New Year to Everyone!!!

I delivered my twins in June 2009 at 33 weeks gestation. They were born early as my placentas were not delivering food to them optimally and they were not putting on weight.

They were born 1.6 kg (boy), and 1.9 kg (gal) and the boy stayed at kkh nicu for a month, the gal for 2 weeks.

They are at 8 mths now, weighing 6.7 kg and 7 kg respectively. Time has really passed and they are no longer the teeny weeeny bbs i first laid my eyes on!!!! Even starting to get nostagic packing their smaller clothes to make way for the biiger ones now......sigh..

I wld like to know more mummies here and wishing all of u a blessed journey wif yr little fighters!!!

I've got several Brand New bottles of Ferrum Hausmann Oral Iron therapy and Rx Choice Liquid Multivitamins from the hospital. Bought too much for my premature child and she doesn't need it anymore.

Pls PM me if you are interested.

Hi hi...

wah... suddenly too many posts to read wor..

Another gathering.. hmmm tbc ba.. really love to join but kind of far..keke..

David,

Wow Danya grows fast ....frm her look i can tell she is definitely saying :"Dun look down on me k.. i will prove in a <hua> in the making!!"

Gingal,

wa.. you sure will miss J one once you go to work... i almost go back to work PT but one day before my work starts i back out leh.. so bad.. i know i will miss my trio and cant bear to leave them in the hands of the maid only!!

Wanna wish everyone here a prosperous and healthy year ahead!!

Hi Mricky,

Welcome to the thread... Hope ur ger will do well and grow up fast...

Hi Poko1,

Welcome to u too! another pair of twin babies..keke Glad that both are doing well...

Shellow,

Yeah! Can't wait to see Paige...

Jas,

will miss u and Xavier...u can still use FB in China? Is it allowed? Or will they block SMH Forums? U can still keep us update of Xavier and u when u are at SH leh...hope they dun block SMH forum...

Sam,

So long nvr see u post here also... Been busy ah? With your 3 Princes ready to Crawl? keke...
Yah, I think I will miss J, so now these 2 weeks, I have been taking some Time-off, leave her with my mum and go Shop Shop, Eat Eat, Massage etc and spend some time for myself in the afternoons, and to see if I will miss her...
BUT.... still ok leh..think I bad mummy wor, I dun feel guilty leaving her at home... Hahahahaha

Leave to maid alone with ur trios? She can handle mah? Hmmmm.... I will worry also loh...

<font color="0077aa">PS: Sorry alot ppl never know about the gathering because maybe they never get to check the thread often enough, and I lazy to send out invitation on our FB Group, I will tr y to get it done so maybe more ppl will get to know about it...</font>

tree ice, kate also failed her first hearing test.. but she pass hers when they test again before she discharge ... so cheer up! have u decided on a name for no 2?

welcome celline &amp; mricky &amp; poko1...

afcai..hahahaa... i think premmies just love actions.. my gal can do a 15 min going-home song and dance (improvised) when we are going to leave my mom's pl for home...

david..wah.. that pic of danya is cute..she is so comfy sitting on the hand/arm....

xbliss..ahahaha... its been > 3 yrs since we last met..of course we will change.. i am really surprised when u recog me from kkf's pic

kkf..oh yeah..always put mesg on ur blog but never bother to check if there is reply...re dash's persistent cough.. is it day/night cough? dry/phlemy? perhaps if u post here we can suggest some options.. cos seem like he has been coughing for some time... try to stop him from eating chicken and egg for the time being..and no cold drinks...

sam..wah.. u actually 'dare' to even think of going back to work... peifu.. i thnk i will really be bu she de...

====================================================================================================================================

Gathering @ Sengkang (either Buangkok MRT or Sengkang MRT area) for kite flying and pot luck or tze char..

Venue: Sengkang MRT or Buangkok MRT (1 stop away from each other) TBC after more reviews
Time: 1pm (lunch) or 4pm (err.. high tea?!) - was thinking if 1pm too hot for kite flying!?!?!
Date: 6 March 2010 or 13 March 2010 (ok let's take a poll cos of kayla!)
No. of kites: pls state how many kites u want? (xbliss can source from downstairs shop and order before hand.)

1. xbliss + husband + bryan (1 kite, 4pm, dun mind potluck or i can buy almost everything)
2. KKF
3. bloom + kate (1 kite patched n times. Not sure if still can play) OK with any time and date
4. celline
5. Tree_Ice

since now jas is going back on the 6th, is there any possiblity of us meeting before that?

Gathering @ Sengkang (either Buangkok MRT or Sengkang MRT area) for kite flying and pot luck or tze char..

Venue: Sengkang MRT or Buangkok MRT (1 stop away from each other) TBC after more reviews
Time: 1pm (lunch) or 4pm (err.. high tea?!) - was thinking if 1pm too hot for kite flying!?!?!
Date: 6 March 2010 or 13 March 2010 (ok let's take a poll cos of kayla!)
No. of kites: pls state how many kites u want? (xbliss can source from downstairs shop and order before hand.)

2. KKF
3. bloom + kate (1 kite patched n times. Not sure if still can play) OK with any time and date
4. celline
5. Tree_Ice + hubby + Craydon &amp; Dexter + Helper (1 kite, dun mind potluck too)

-------------------------

I would suggest 4pm as for date, I m fine with both..
And best if the location is Buangkok MRT there.. hahahaha..

I'm giving the iron and multivitamins drop for FREE because I know the heavy burden on your financial when you have a premature baby as I've gone through all these.

Please let me know if anyone of you needs it as I don't want it to go waste. Its all BRAND NEW not opened at all.

<font color="0000ff">bloom</font>,
oic...so busy n tired so no update of blog. got lot of photos to edit for HX 's bd loh...

HX seem like gg to walk soon (hmm dun think he can meet my resolution 2010 liao for coming CNY) as he cruise ard. but sometimes he forgotten and fall bck. then cry loh....

yeah yeah, I agreed, maybe have a gathering b4 Jas gg bck but of cos depending on timing n location for me.

<font color="119911"> NewMummy</font>,
u not giving yr bb consume? that time, doc asked me to stock up 6+2 current one bottles, it took me almost 1 yr to finish them. now, I left only 1/2 of the last bottle liao. why not add the multivitamins drop to bb milk then?

Gingal,

No la... not bad mummy la.. you have also come a long way with J also.. Its good you can let go.. I can't lor..My maid alone cannot handle them now. I recently got the 2nd maid before Xmas.. still quite a handful also.

Bloom,

I got no choice leh... thinking of the hospital bills so i ever thought of going back to the work force Full time.. but quite difficult leh...

I will wait till they are slightly older than reconsider again.

Actually im quite upset cause the msw rejected my case ..sighs... long story la..left me with quite a big sum of hospital debt :p

Hi mricky, welcome! wow, your 27 weekers in p3 now? may i noe how is she now?? coping well in school? actually, shd be no problem, as i am 27 weekers myself, and i am coping rather well in school, though not scholar, but at least, can stil get thru university. Btw, we share same destiny...we gave birth prematurely to our kids, mine are born 23 weeks, 27 weeks, 34 weeks.

Welcome too, poko1! sure sure, we mummies and daddy here are glad to share more with you.

kaylas mom, i have read your article, wow beautiful mum with beautiful baby.
hee. While i was reading, really can felt for you, cause my boy went thru the same thing. Anyway, I had wrote to motherhood magazine before too in year 2006. hahahah.

sam, whats the case they rejected? so now you have lots of bills and with 4th one coming? really stress leh, but hope you and your family can cope.

regarding gathering, fine with any place. buangkok is ok with me as well.
hee. what you need me to bring?

dear mummies,

恭喜發财!HUAT 啊!!!!! May our bbs 快高长大!
Wishing all good health, prosperity and wealth for you and your families!

I just sent an invitation by FB...

those free to go in, pls RSVP there, or help me vat through if anything incorrect ok? Right now Date and Venue still TBA? Once finalised, I will correct it in the Event...

Thanks Thanks

Juz to share gd news that my boy (8mth, the older twin), passed his hearing tests after failing 2 audiology tests done in Dec and Jan.

The story goes somthing like this: I delivered twins a boy at 1.6 and gal at 1.9 kg. The boy was at the nicu for slightly over 2 weeks and at Special care for a week plus. He had jaundice twice, one for abt 4 days, the other maybe 5 days.

We received a letter frm kkh in Dec (when bb was 6 mth) that he being in nicu for a while, and long jaundice, he was required to do some hearing test (different frm the infant hearing test done before discharge).

We were quite certain he would pass it as he passed his infant hearing test at birth. However he did not pass it and was required to see an E&amp;T dr at kkh. We were worried sick, and wondered if we missed the signs that he could not hear. I was worried till the next appt which was given a mth later.

The test was done again, and he did not do well yet again. The dr said he could be having an ear infec, or middle ear syndrome, or possible some hearing loss.

We were scheduled for a day surgery on tues to check his ears and do a more invasive ear test.
We were worried but we hoped for the best.

He was sedated for the procedure.

We were relieved when doc said that the reason why he could not pass his hearing test was due to excessive ear wax.

If shd anyone (touch wood, i mean), come across this situation wif yr child, do pm me and i can offer u advices on the experiences i went thru wif the hearing test.

Wishing all of u mummies and bbs a roaring tiger year ahead!!!! Gong xi fa cai!

halo maple... tk by the time my gal goes scn, yrs wd hv graduated. never mind, we can mt during office hrs whenever u come over to town or during the premmie gathering.

kkf - i made a mistake. my elder gal was actually 28wk+. i forgot lah so i went to check her health book. she is doing fine at school (neighbourhood school). we did her 1st IQ test at age 6 and to our surprise, the specialist said she has superior IQ. I do thank God for tat and hope my younger one will be ok. i guess early exposure does help cos i started showing her flashcards since young

I would like to join the gathering
29 weeker + hubby + Jolie(1 kite, 4-5pm, potluck - Fishball/Fried Wanton)

Thanks for organising

hello mummies, i back from taiwan. super cold there and i developed major fever immediately after touch down.

i m a little lost on the gathering but let's hope i am on the right track!

I would love to meet Jas! But this weekend is super full due to CNY closing dinners!.. maybe those who can meet earlier next week for dinner (without the babies maybe?!) can meet up with her first? I can't remember who is in direct contact with her. Can inform her?! JAS!!! U here?!?! can respond?!

<font size="+1">------------------------------------------
Gathering @ Sengkang (Buangkok MRT) for kite flying and pot luck</font>

<font color="ff0000">Venue: Sengkang MRT or Buangkok MRT (1 stop away from each other) TBC after more reviews
Time: 4pm
Date: 6 March 2010 or 13 March 2010 -> right now everyone ok with both dates. Shall we set 6th March, i.e. next Sat then? i'm too excited!
No. of kites: pls state how many kites u want? (xbliss can source from downstairs shop and order before hand.)</font>

1. xbliss + husband + bryan (1 kite, 4pm, fried rice - i buy from coffee shop hor.. my cooking cannot make it one..)
2. KKF
4. celline
5. Tree_Ice + hubby + Craydon &amp; Dexter + Helper (1 kite, dun mind potluck too)
8. 29 weeker + hubby + Jolie(1 kite, 4-5pm, potluck - Fishball/Fried Wanton)

All are welcome to my humble and messy house (thanks to my boy!) if it rains or after we fly kite! (just dun mind the squeeze and mess!)

Hope everyone has a good CNY celebration.

-------------------------------------------------

Gathering @ Sengkang (Buangkok MRT) for kite flying and pot luck

Date: 6 March 2010 or 13 March 2010 -> right now everyone ok with both dates. Shall we set 6th March, i.e. next Sat then? i'm too excited!

1. xbliss + husband + bryan (1 kite, 4pm, fried rice - i buy from coffee shop hor.. my cooking cannot make it one..)
2. KKF
4. celline + hubby + Jerome (3+yrs) + Megan(5mths) + Helper
(potluck - hubby can cook beehoon + maybe some chicken wings)

Date: 6 March 2010 or 13 March 2010 -> both dates ok

2. KKF
9. Jane + Siang and hubby (1 kite, 4-5pm)

Date: 6 March 2010 or 13 March 2010 -> both dates ok

2. KKF
10. yan + ah lao + Yilin(15mth) + Weng(4 yr old) + helper(might be getting our own kite, 4-5pm)

David-Hi I have PMed u, my kid is going through TOTALLY the same ordeal as ur gal.. I almost lost him due to that condition. Even till now, the memories still hurts as much as it does back then. Glad my boy is a fighter despite been thru so much battles.

Hope to hear frm u and saw ur gal pic above, she's a fightress too.

Enne,
take heart there. We are all behind you and your little one. I'm sure David will be able to provide you the much needed information.

Re: gathering
wow! we have 10 families now! am so excited.. i hope i dun forget to take lots of pics.

Celline:
"4. celline + hubby + Jerome (3+yrs) + Megan(5mths) + Helper

i think it's our pleasure to have a man cook for us! i shall not reject!

<font size="+1">Gathering @ Sengkang (Buangkok MRT) for kite flying and pot luck</font>

Venue: Buangkok MRT (those coming by MRT: take the exit on the left once you exit the gantry, those driving can park at compassvale bow along the stretch where the mosque is or just outside the Buangkok Mrt where there is shelter -if outside MRT, u will need to keep watch for TP)
Date: 6 March 2010
Food: please state type of food bringing (if you can, otherwise, no obligation!)

2. KKF
10. yan + ah lao + Yilin(15mth) + Weng(4 yr old) + helper(might be getting our own kite, 4-5pm)

hi xbliss

so its confirm 6th march. i am so excited too! this time will take lots of pic too ;)

i am not sure what food i will bring (packet :p) but will bring some kids friendly items. cheers

hi xbliss-thanks
, actually my kid is not premmie but was diagnosed with the condition when he was barely couple of days old.

Read abt the 'hole' in the heart thingy, mine kid also got, also following up with cardiac doctor. But doc say shd close by itself de ler..

Hi xbliss,

I will discuss with my hubby what I will be bringing for potluck k? Mine and helper cooking suck leh.. hahaaa.. I let u know again..

i m a silent reader of a 26+5weekers. Got 2bottles of unopened iron drops to let go FOC as my girl no longer taking it. The description is FERRUM HAUSMANN with orange n white packaging.Expiry Jul 2013. Just need to pay postage. Pls PM me if interested.

Cheers to all our mighty warriors!

mimylassy,
welcome. now u are no longer silent cos u have spoken! feel free to chat more with us. i suppose ur gal should be about 6 months or more by now? feel free to join us for the upcoming gathering on 6th march k?

<font size="+1">Re: Kite Flying at Buangkok Mrt, 6 March</font>

<font color="ff0000">Can those coming let me know if you need kites by next Tuesday? </font>I am going to order from shop downstairs by Wed. Thanks!

And just in case it rains on that day, you are all still welcome to my place which is just next to the MRT itself where there is shelter. So do hope to see all of you!

xbliss, i search ard for my own kite...think better let dash chooses.

Venue: Buangkok MRT (those coming by MRT: take the exit on the left once you exit the gantry, those driving can park at compassvale bow along the stretch where the mosque is or just outside the Buangkok Mrt where there is shelter -if outside MRT, u will need to keep watch for TP)
Date: 6 March 2010
Food: please state type of food bringing (if you can, otherwise, no obligation!)

2. KKF + hubby + violet + dash (haven't decide what food to bring yet, but will buy, not self made)

Hi Xbliss

Thanks for organising the activity and offering your house in case of rain..must we exchange HP no ( by PM) in case we cant find each other on that day or there is a change of plan?

xbliss &amp; all,

My hubby said we will buy the kite ourselves and also in term of food wise, think we drop out too.. Guess we will jus go and fly the kite and say hi to u all.. lolz.. paiseh.. Cos with a newborn, difficult to stay for the potluck..

sorry for disappearing. very busy in office.

think i cannot contribute to pot luck too cos might be coming alone with kate and taking mrt (might drive too.see how..).

Hi All mummies going for gathering:

I've counted about 18 adults coming (din count children cos i think they eat quite minimally..) and 6 of us bringing food. Since it's just tea-time food, i think it's ok to prepare about 8-10 person portion if you are bringing? i decided to bring drinks instead cos i am staying nearer and so can carry the heavier stuff. Plus drinks is neccessity and trust me to have forgotten about it!

List of food and pple buying
1. Packet drinks - xbliss
2. ?? - KKF
3. Beehoon/chicken wings - celline
4. tidbits/dessert - gingal
5. cakes/cookies - shelllow
6. fishball/fried wanton - 29weeker

List of logistics - xbliss getting
1. ground sheets -(buying those thin plastic kind plus got one big poncho alr)
2. kites - so far i only see request from yan.. anyone else need pls let me know soon!

In any case, i will be pm-ing all of you with the details of the gathering and my contact :D

hi xbliss

so sorry i cannot join in this saturday as i decide to bring siang for a short trip (before my husband start a new job next week :p).

pity i cannot meet u all. another time okie

hi Tree_Ice

don worry abt the hearing test. my daughter (younger twins) also failed her hearing test, twice on the day she was born and e day after that. she was scheduled for another test 3 weeks later, which was yesterday. And she passed. don worry too much. i was worried too and pray daily. what u can do is continue to stimulate her hearing at home. try clapping softly near her ears, talk / whispers to her ears.

i am sure ur child will be fine too. i think failing hearing test is quite common for premmees. U take care

i will try to bring some food too, still thinking on wat to buy.. haa...

btw, i have some paper plates and forks/spoons. think we need it right?

xbliss,

sorry, no need to get me the kite. my hubby wanna get it himself.. he wanna choose colour and pattern.. haa.. hope u have not buy it yet. if u buy already then nvm, i will get it.