Premature babies support group

kkf, dun cancel leh, i was all excited abt it.....I am not a KKH patient, wont go for the awareness day....

i will do my best to make it, "finger crossed"......

we can still have mini gathering for those who can make it. We can meet out of kkh, maybe at novena sq after the premie day?i'm ok with anything, let me know

Hi tree_ice,

I've been ordered bedrest from 22weeks till now.. it has been 7 weeks already... my edd is supposed to b on 28jan. If i can 'dong' until ard x'mas, i'll b very happy already... but my gynae predicted my water bag will break ard 32-33weeks... so scared! I had cerclage done at week 23 due to cervix shortening.

My sis burst her water bag just now... in her car... bb just delivered ard 10+ at week37. BB onli weighing at 2.43kg. But luckily above 2kg so dun need neonatal care..... Hope my bb can reach above 2kg before coming out.... keeping fingers crossed... Suddenly feel v scared after hearing my sis's water bag burst.

Serene,
I do heard of some cases which their cervix were shortened or even none and some to my surprise can tong very long.. Some gynae jus estimate so they may not be rite..

Tok abt waterbag burst, I also worried abt that cos my previous bb was born due to waterbag burst.. Now, whenever I get up from lying or sitting position, I m so scare..

When is ur last appt? BB weight is good?

i m desperately looking for part time helper/ babysitter to help my MIL...

Last night i went home, my MIL was so exhausted , she went straight to sleep without changing/showering/eating at 8pm plus.. And actually, yesterday my bro's maid was at our place to help out till abt 3pm plus. Yet Xavier was cranky during evening time, and it worn her out completely. She even had to eat pill for her heart, not feeling well

arrghh...so many things happened at one time. My FIl is going for Operation today, really need to pray hard for him...

if you have anyone in Tampines area to recommend, pls let me know? I only need help for about 6 hours a day, help to cook lunch, shower baby, and assist my MIL in taking care of Xavier..etc.

kkf, msn jane and michelle. i think they will reply soon.. (i think mic still to check wtih her hb..). only i am such a terrible wife always make plans w/o checking with hb :p

<font color="aa00aa">Bloom </font>,
dun think abt food cos dun want u to drip saliva onto yr desk.:p.

u where's got terrible leh...gd decision makers. anyway, even I asked my hubby, he will parrotise me. sian...

<font color="aa00aa">kkf</font>,
dun be sad leh...really appreciate yr effort in organisating. think maybe timing not right blar....maybe whole a mini gathering for those can make it first.

sian...ask hubby if he wanted to attend the gathering. he raised eyebrow and eye big big...say HUH SK? faintz...

<font color="119911">Tree_Ice</font>,
wow...then u will be doing CL during CNY (14/2-15/2), sian leh...haa that mean if that period, it will be my bb 's bd wor...

think similar case, bb born bec of waterbag burst. but when yr waterbag burst, do gynae try to prolong yr labour?

<font color="aa00aa">Jas</font>,
not kkh patient cannot go meh?

hmm..why not order tingkak?

<font color="119911">Serene</font>,
take care, bedrest is most impt tough it is boring.

hmm..so scary wor...bb nowsaday wanted to arrive so early.

afcai,

dunno, but feel strange to go there...
Tingkat, tried with 2 diff companies before, yet they are very oily, always a lot of fried or spicy stuff...I dont mind it, but my MIL got gastric problem, last time when i ordered, she hardly can eat anything

Besides, tingkat dun have lunch one lah.....

afcai,
I dun mind doing my confinement during CNY as long as this bb can be full term.. lolz.. Dun think the doc could do anything at that time cos it was burst, not leak.. if leak I know can prolong by bedrest but once it burst mean bb must come out within 12hrs le..

kkf,
I be going with Craydon and hubby if the gathering is still on.. 1 of my fren will be going too if u dun mind..

Jas,
I m now ordering lunch tingkat leh.. Its Jessie catering.. Cost $117.70 for 1 pax.. But honestly the food is so so only..

tree_ice,

My last appt was last Fri. BB weighing abt 1.3-1.4kg @ wk28+5.

Next appt is next tue (24/11) @ wk 30+2. Hopefully bb can cross 1.5kg.... Do u know which week bb will cross 2kg??

Hello all, sorry to interrupt. I seldom post here but needed to get some information. I'm mother to triplet girls, currently they are 9 mths old.

They were born @ 35 weeks, i was trying to buy Life insurance for them. But my agent told me that up to 75% of twins or triplets cases, insurance companies will only accept their application after they are 2 years old.

??????? Did anyone of you manage to buy insurance for your bbies? I'm so sad.

<font color="0077aa">Hi afcai</font>,

Now I know why Heinz Rice cereals are Gone...Thanks for telling me... I just let J try the Banana Breakfast and Vanilla Custard...
She loving them now..."phew" heng loh...

I gave J EuYanSang Brand for the Brown Rice loh...

J sit on walker at my MIL house on Saturdays, she goes everywhere with it....even down the steps to kitchen...know how to go down safely, but will scream cos can't get up...haha...

u let HX eat "Chwee kueh" ah? I think it taste abit salty and sweet...wonder if they mix any salt or sugar in it anot? So i haven dare let her try...
For me is, no salt/sugar/oil or outside food until she turns One...though i gave her once, the fried tofu at Jap restuarant, asked the chef to separate the sauce, and I gave her the insides of the tofu only...

<font color="0077aa">Hi Tree_Ice</font>,

J is abt 8+kg now...yah loh, we were quite worried also when her head so big...though not very obvious her head is big..

<font color="0077aa">kkf</font>,

Sad...<font color="ff0000">Gathering Cancelled????</font>....
maybe cos alot mummies nvr check the thread? Thus response is low?
Yah, if too little ppl, also no point gather...we try again another time...
I can't make it for the Awareness day...

Hi Serene,
I know most bb will cross 2kg upon 32 to 33 wk gestation.. I m sure urs can de.. dun worry k? meanwhile drink alot of milk and eat durian if possible to beef up bb weight..

Btw, how did u know ur cervix length is shortening de? Thru scan or got spotting?

Gingal,
Wahh.. J weight is good considering she is a preemie leh.. My C is only 11kg *measured at gynae there today) now at 25mth.. lolz..

Hi Tree_Ice,

I knew abt my cervix shortening when doing my detail scan @ wk22.

It happened for my no. 1 too... pick up during routine check up with gynae @ wk 30. My no. 1 is also 25mths now...

babelicious,
dun worry abt head big. they were born premature so tend to take longer to outgrow their proportions.. doc ever explain to me that since they are premie, the body will respond to channel nutrients to brain more than body hence the big head. It is necessary for bb's proper growth. body will catch up later on.

<font color="0077aa">Tree_Ice/Xbliss</font>,

Yah I thinK J's weight at CA 8 mths(Today!!!) is ok...she used to be above 95th Percentile until past 3-4 months dropped to 75th Percentile...But head is a concern...everytime they measure her head they will comment Big, then they will go on and look through her growth to see if it is constant comparing to her growth in height and weight, and say the Big head shldnt be a problem...but still everytime they do this before they conclude it is ok, my heart will drop a little to hear what comes after that...

Hope her body will catch up with her head growth soon...

Then as I was typing this, I looked through my baby pics...haha I got a BIG HEAD too!!!! and mine looks less porportionate than hers, my body slimmer....hahahahahaha And I rembred, i can't fit in my hubby's cap, cos his head smaller than mine!!!!

I did this pic recently as I realised she is looking more like me each day...hahaha
We both have Big Heads, wide and high foreheads and Little hair...
3264702.jpg

gingal,
She look so much like u when u were baby!! hahahhaa.. Its like photocopy one.. hahaha.. Anyway if u see my baby pix, u will be in shocked.. Both u and ur bb can't win me as I got a very big head (or shall I say forehead) when I was a baby.. The doc warn my mum something maybe wrong with me cos my head was apparently bigger than usual.. lolz..

Serene,
Look like we hav the same age kids.. lolz.. Ur eldest also born in Oct 07?? So ur 1st bb managed to tong till how many weeks since it was detected during 30th wk?

Hi tree_ice,

Ya my son's BD 4Oct'07.

He was borned at exactly 37weeks.

How abt yours? U mention yours was borned prematurely, How early?

Serene,
My boy is 03Oct07!! Just a day earlier than ur boy!
He was a 34wker, although he is not really that premature but cos he was born very small, hence need to stay in hospital for 3wks..

Serene, yah, no problem one, your baby will cross the 2kg mark. My gal born at 34 weeks is of 2.778kg when born. Very good weight, and I am so proud of that, hahahahaha, cause my friends' full term babies, some not even that weight, but then hor, I am not so proud of my excess fats in my body lor (thats the price i paid for). ha. congrats on the arrival of ur sis's baby! wow, both sisters preggy around same time, thats fun!

Talking about waterbag burst, yah, when i gave birth to my gal at 34 weeks, my waterbag actually burst too, and the gynae and midwives at kkh just said "34 weeks liao, just let her give birth lar". but anytime before 34 weeks, they are very gam cheong, keep monitoring, popping me with anti contraction pills, going in and out of labor room and to prevent me from going into labor.

afcai, you are right, me quite sad not much response to the gathering. actually, also a bit sad that jane, mich, costa, daec etc my long time forum friends are no longer much active in this thread also, seems like people come and go, come and go in this thread...but me kkf will surely still come here, cause I am the oldest premature baby in this thread (born 27 weeks in year 1978, well dun mind letting u all know i am that old), and my 3 kids all premature, extreme case (23 weeks, 27 weeks, 34 weeks!), so it is like I really belong to this thread.

jas, sorry leh, not much response as u can see. i really hope we can meet up someday. by the way, hope all goes well with ur father in law. btw, my colleague is also employing an auntie in sengkang to help out for few hours everyday with his kids and housework leh. think shd be able to find...

gingal, wow, ur gal is doing very well, 8 plus kg. violet is only 9 plus, and imagine she is 10 months now, and born at 2.778kg! btw, i always think ur gal is so pretty, ha! no wonder, just like mother! you and your gal looks soooooo alike.

hi northvirgo, think most of us here also have problems buying insurance for our kids. wow envy! mother of triplets! wow!! just like one of our mummy here, sam who have 3 boys!

treeice, u better rest more in bed leh, esp since u have premature labor at 34 weeks before, from 30 weeks onwards, shd rest more so that to dong till 37-38 weeks.

talked to David early today. He said that Danya is still in KKH, Doc is still monitoring her because of diarrhea as her colon is still trying to get to its original function. Her nappy rash is very bad and she cries a lot
Worse still, she caught a cough bug from those inconsiderate caregivers who coughed and not putting on mask...

sigh..pooor baby Danya. Lets all pray hard for them..

kkf,

Lets organise something lah....I really hope to meet you mummies leh (not sure when i got to leave SG, life is unpredictable recently :p). Maybe jus meet for lunch or watever ? I need a breather!!

poor danya, really hopes she gets well soon, and get out of kkh... is she in children icu or normal ward? cause dash last time went thru heart surgery was in children icu, then step down unit, then finally home.

hmm, organise something ah? i dun mind carrying on with the gathering...

Hi tree_ice,

Wow! Our no.1 almost shared the same BD! My son borned at 37weeks also got to stay NICU for 1 week due to fluid in his lungs... My no. 1 was borned in Mt A. How abt yours?? Mayb they were neighbours in NICU! haha!

Hi kkf,

I was a premature bb at 28weeks 33 yrs back! haha! Do u think our premature labour has anything to do with us being premies too??!

<font color="0077aa">Hi Tree_Ice</font>

I'm so happy she is looking more like me liao, when she was younger she looked really like her Dad...haha, I cannot imagine a girl with his face...but with mine, I'm more Fang Xin!...

<font color="0077aa">Hi Dm,</font>

No problem! Thanks... Yah she taking NAN Pro 2....Do keep me posted

Yah Loh, so long nvr see Pretty WS liao...Post some pics! Kekeke

<font color="0077aa">hi KKf,</font>

Violet also good weight wor...keke...Yah I still rembr when she was borned and u showed us her pic and she was so Chubby and Fair!!!

I'm so Flattered..Thanks
But...her God-ma just mentioned, look like me is good, but better not Fat like me...hahaha

KKf, anything abt the gathering, anyway if it is still organised, I am Onzzz for it...

<font color="0077aa">Hi Jas</font>,

Glad to hear updates on Danya...i think her skin still not used to the Poo Poo yet, thus the bad rash...plus the diarrhea also meant more Poo Poo in a day, so she must be real uncomfy...
But good thing is, she is PooPooing normally now...and hope all will be well soon...
Who are those caregivers? The nurses ah? So Bad...No cough medicine for babies wor, so will pray that she fight this off by herself soon...she can de la, she has fought so strong!!!
Ask David and Diana not worry too much wor...

<font color="0077aa">Hi xiaowanzi</font>,

So glad u can make it...for Lucas's sake i will reach early too...12pm sharp!!! hahahaha
Yeah!

<font color="ff0000"> Let me see what I can do with FB and send invites to all our mummies here...maybe if they never come to the thread, they might be able to see the invites thru FB or email?</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Jas</font>,
yes, tingkak do provide lunch. I also order tingkak fr neo garden (order 2 mth and get 10% off- pay $342 for 2 mth) for my caregiver.

<font color="119911">Tree_Ice</font>,
oic..jiayou..dun stress yrself too much...

hmm...is it....for my case, it is leaking slowly and then 2hr+ later, it burst wor....

<font color="119911">Northvirgo</font>,
welcome bck. our bb (include ginger and grace) are the same batch of bb in mar thread. how are u?

so far, I am asked to come bck after bb turn 1 yr old. but for mediashield or something like that, he is covered.

<font color="aa00aa">gingal</font>,
haa..u very funny.....say cannot imagine J with hubby face....ai-yo..

buy the heinz rice cereal fr NTUC will be cheaper. cost $3.65 compare to other supermark which sold at $4.xx.

oh....did u cook the EYG brown rice? this need to cook one...how's abt trying other brand - the rabbit one (can be found in NTUC) or nestle brand (ask for sample)?

yup, HX has been eating water cake for 2mth. my mum either stream it or boil it with water leh. not sure if they mixed any salt or sugar. he also eat zhu chang fen/

so far, outside food, HX tried whipped potatoes fr KFC (with sauce one), tofu (steamboat one) and burger (only peeled the bread part for him to make him keep quiet).

<font color="aa00aa">kkf</font>,
dun be sad loh...cheers....yr long time forum frenz busy chasing after kids loh...

Finally, Danya is back home. We were discharge late last nite.

Before we left, Doc took out the stitches on Danya's wound. I almost tears during that moment. After 8 months of waiting, I finally get to see Danya's full belly. Although it may not be the pretties belly, it is a belly with 2 battles scares that show the bravery of my warrior princess.

Danya was cranky the whole nite. She woke up every hour and cry in pain. We do not know what's wrong. Could be the bad nappy rash, could be the pain on the wound or her cough. Just given her some paracetamol at 6am.

Talking about civil minded. Even in B1 ward, some caregiver(Parents) are so damn bastard. Do even bother to put on mask and they are coughing as and when they like. Despite me &amp; Diana being so careful, Danya still cough some bonus from the hospital on the day of her discharge.

Once again, I sincerely appreciate all the support and blessing from all the mummies in this forum and also Jas for keeping everyone update.

BTW, Don't stop the gathering leh. I can't make it this time doesn't meant everyone not going leh. Ha Ha. Just kidding. I will join the next time after Danya is back to 100% of battle status.

kkf,
I will come for the gathering too with Craydon.. and I will be bringing a fren too if u dun mind.. so try to organise something k? or mayb get Costa to organise since she so FREE? hahahhaaa..

Actually I suggest u can post on FB cos Jane, Gina, Costa and Day C quite active there.. I think they seldom come in to chat le..

As for bedrest, I can only rest after my domestic helper came next mth.. meanwhile I still hav to take care of Craydon alone..

Serene,
My boy was born in KKH.. hahaha.. that time cos I knew it was a premature labour so better go to less exp hospital.. lolz.. but anyway so qiao hor? My edd for this bb is change to 30 jan too so its pretty close to urs now too.. Let pray hard that at least we can tong till 37wks.. U still be choosing Mt A? I be choosing TMC if everything soon soon li li..

Hi David,
I m glad Danya is back home.. Although I seldom post here but I m a silent reader and gotta know ur case.. U r a very great daddy, I m sure Danya will be nurse back to her usual by with such a great daddy like u..

afcai,
Mine was abit diff, was lying on bed then suddenly felt a pop sensation and I could sense something was wrong so I got up and true enough, the water was really gushing down.. When I went toilet, more liquid came gushing down so I think there is no way they can prolong..

Hey David,

Great to see you back!!!! When you mentioned to get Danya out of KKH ASAP, i din know it is that sooon! INdeed a gooood news!! Very happy for you
Hope Danya gets better and better, we are waiting for Michelin photos, hehe.

Kkf,

Lets start counting again?
NOw we have

1. kkf, Dash, Violet and Hubby
2 . gingal, hubby and Jerlynn
3. xbliss and bryan (hb pending)
4. bloom and kate
5. Jas and Xavier
6. Xiaowanzi and Lucas
7. Tree Ice and Craydon

Who else? come on....lets meet up!

<font color="0077aa">Hi Jas</font>

My hubby also pending liao...Men are useless creatures, dunno how to socialise...hahaha...next time he ask me to go his functions or gatherings, I also say I won't go! Hahahahaha

But at least he can fetch me to and fro, so I not so paiseh ask u all change to Sunday...if Saturday I sure confirm cannot go!

<font color="0077aa">hi afcai</font>

Yah, i cooked the EYS Brown Rice...

Wow HX eating so much outside food liao, he sure very happy...but for me, I still quite skeptical about giving outside food to her...i just tried bread ytd, but she like having some difficulties "gum-ming" it leh, my MIL stopped me, say scared later choked...i gave very very very small bits to her nia...Seeing what HX can eat now, J like very kelian, everytime at dinner table only can open eyes big big and see us eat, at most I gave her her biscuits nia...She can't wait to eat our food loh...she sees red food (chilli stuffs esp. chilli crabs,curry), she very interested de...hahahaha...maybe i ate too much chilli and hot stuffs, she might also like...

BTW HX can gum/bite the food u gave him??? esp zhu chang fen??? or u mash the zhu chang fen up also???

<font color="0077aa">Hi David</font>

Glad to see Danya is back home..hope she is ok soon...let us know when she is ready to meet us Aunties, we sure can get one more gathering up for her!!!
Poor thing, I think the cough she got is making her lagi uncomfy...what's wrong with those inconsiderate ppl????...

<font color="0077aa">hi kkf</font>

So glad, our list is getting longer!!! by the time nearer to the gathering date, I'm sure more will come..it will be fun!!!

Hi Gingal,

My hubby also same kind lah, never want to socialise one. But anyway, he is not around...Well, at least he can be ur driver, thats good enough, hehe. I still headache how to go, maybe will take cab directly lor....

david, glad to see danya back!!! hope she recovers fully very soon! with a loving daddy and wonderful mummy by her side, she will overcome all odds and obstacles!

sorry, me not facebook onz one, just occassionally will go into it, and also, i only recognise your nicks, but not real names...hee. who is erica by the way?

hey, serene we both premature babies! haha! you are the oldest now! mine could be genetic, cause my mum gave birth my sis at 34 weeks, and me at 27 weeks. she had two premature labors too.

regarding gathering, ok lar, we shall continue then. just really hope u all dun mind coming all the way to sengkang, cause i really can't think of any other place to go.
4. bloom and kate
5. Jas and Xavier
6. Xiaowanzi and Lucas
7. Tree Ice and Craydon
8. Tree ice's friend and baby

Hi kkf,
Glad that the gathering is coming back!!! hahahaa.. Anyway my ah lao is joining.. this is what I will be ordering.. Let me know when to TT u the amt k?

Thanks..
Food: Chicken Wings Rice Meal, Potatos N Chicken cube and Crispy chicken bites,
$3.50 + $3.80 + $2 = $9.30

Hi kkf

finally managed to force my hubby to go..=)
I would like to join...
29weeker, hubby and Jolie
Fd..i cfm again with u again,k?

yay!! so much good news!!

Actually i have some suggestions if kkf is not able to host at her home. i just hope they are feasible cos nov-dec are rainy...

1. polliwogs (east coast) (not much food i think, but is a indoor plus outdoor play area and a chill area for parents to talk - can monitor kids via cctv.
http://www.thepolliwogs.com/
but for those with young toddlers like mine, best to bring daddy along so daddy can entertain them while we talk! they have a bday party package at $438 for 10 kids (additional $30 for extra kid), you get pte function room for 2 hrs, got host to do games for children, food for kids. if we want to, can share the cost? If not, can stick to per entry payment (i can't find the cost anywhere on teh webby!)

2. SOL Playcafe (turf city)http://www.solplaygroundcafe.com/aboutus.aspx another indoor/outdoor playground cafe concept but with more FOOD than polliwogs.

Both look interesting to me!

cheers and looking fwd to meet all of u!

David
congratulations to ur entire family on a job well done with Danya!!! i am so glad this has closed another significant chapter for Danya! from here on, it's only getting more positive so... great job!

Another scary nite. Danya was crying so much and so cranky. Finally at 3.45AM, we sense that she is not OK. Rush her to KKH. Indeed, her mucus are so much that her SPO2 are low. Doc order for immediate O2 therapy to open up her passage way. Took an X-ray, God bless, lungs clear. Finally, they have to suck out so much mucus from her sinus area.

Reach home almost 7AM. Few days of pre-ops &amp; post-ops challenges, me &amp; Diana are really worn out. Wish that there is a product better than "Red Bull".

Hey David

Was it becos of the flu bug she caught in the ward previously? luckily no infections at lungs!! Must be really tiring for u and Diana to go A&amp;E at wee hours, i also tried once, and it was really draining...Hope she gets better soon !

The only red bull will be if Danya recovers and u get to sleep well
will pray for you guys!

David, I am so sorry to hear about Danya having to head back to the hospital. Thank God she is better already. Will pray that she will recover completely.

kkf, thanks for organizing the gathering. When is it going to be? I would like to attend if time permits.

Nate's has been progressing really well. He is CA 2mths. His ROP has regressed alot so now its a mthly eye review as compared to the weekly one. Currently weighing 5kg. But the thing is, when I bottle feed him, he can only struggle to finishe 80ml. I latch him most of the time except for two feeds cos need to add the iron and poly vit. Is 80ml too little?

Today, I put Nate on his tummy and to my surprise, he actually flipped onto his back. Must watch over him like a hawk now.

lilac the gathering is next sunday.

david, hope danya recovers fully soon!!! know how tiring for parents, take care! when my boy was before 1 year old, we went in and out of kkh for dunno how many times, until both me and hubby were so scared.

Gathering on 29th november (12-4pm)at my house in sengkang.
Curry Chicken with Nice Rice x 2 $5.40 x 2
4. bloom and kate
5. Jas and Xavier
6. Xiaowanzi and Lucas
7. Tree Ice, hubby and Craydon
Chicken Wings Rice Meal, Potatos N Chicken cube and Crispy chicken bites,
$3.50 + $3.80 + $2 = $9.30
8. Tree ice's friend and baby
9. Lin, hubby and jolie

<font color="ff0000">those going, my mobile 94798161, pls sms me ur contact, so that i can give u my add. Posting my mobile here, so that any of u last min want to go, can sms me too. thanks</font>

afcai.. u live VERY far from sk leh..for me , i got express bus there... ehehehehe...

jas, i thot tingkat have lunch???

xbliss.. my gal never has big head..means not enuf nutrients even for the brain?? arghhh!!!!??? (self worrying) pls dont go polliwogs!!!!!! the last time i run up and down with kate i have aching joints for the next few days..and when the older kids come along they can be still agressive (push the younger kids etc)....

gingal..ehehehe.. jerlynn and u look so cute!!!!!

tree ice, big forehead = smart . see LKY

david, congrats on danya being discharged!
is the muscus due to the cough/op?

kkf, just sms u my hp no ... going to bio the food now... btw, how is the portion? cos wondering if i should share with kate or order something extra for her...