Premature babies support group

i will be bringing violet to join the feb mum thread gathering. suddenly i remember, i still owe you all one premiees gathering!

i must start cracking my brain. it is also lingering there in me that i MUST hold a gathering for us.

David, all the best to danya's surgery!!!

<font color="0077aa">Hi Bloom,</font>

Egg is heaty? Hmmmmm...in case it is, think I also better dun give J too much...

<font color="0077aa">Hi afcai,</font>

At last J's teeth come out liao...Bottom two nia...she so pek chek abt it these few days, keep making "Mmmmmmm Mmmmm" sounds...
Cry also cry "Mmmmmm Mmmmm" softly, unlike her usual open-mouth screams...like so kelian...

Teething will LS? J nvr LS...HX so fast got 3rd tooth liao...and can call "Papa" liao...Super good!
J only call "Ma" once, and she was calling my mum loh...not me...hahaha...

J drinks abt 6-7 times of milk daily (abt 150ml-170ml each time), about 2 times EBM only, cos me now weaning off, so only managed to pump abt 300-400mls a day, so I will give her what I have daily...
She is taking 2 or 3 solid meals a day...
J also luvs to slp, but when she is slping, she will make noise for milk too, and I cannot bear not give her leh, cos Pat Pat her back to slp, she will toss and turn and not slp well, unless given milk...
She can sleep 10-12 hours straight (with 2-3 milk feeds in between), and also nap twice a day (1-2hours each time)...

I bought the THERMOS brand one...$80!!! but it is very good, can keep HOT til next day...more than 24 hours...

<font color="0077aa">Hi kkf,</font>

Wow, Violet sure drinks alot!!! She is chubby leh...

Can't wait for the gathering!!! I will go!!!

Thanks for all the compliments and well wishes. I am feeling extremely painful &amp; sad
as the hour is drawing nearer.

We will been sending Danya back to KKH this afternoon. I know that this ops is going to make her strong and I wishes that the pain is inflicted on me and not on her tiny body.

Going to spend the next few days in the hospital with Danya. We will fight this battle together as a family.

David
I was at KKH from 1100 - 1400 hrs today. If I read your msg early this morning, I would have visit Danya. GOD Bless your family.
Danya has been strong and will be strong! She will be alright! Jia You!

kkf/bloom
Met some familiar nurses (they are all promoted already) today, confirmed children under the age of 12 can't take the H1N1 vaccination.

David, do update us with danya progress. I understand fully your feelings. Dash went thru heart surgery and spend a week and children's icu. Met all sorts of patients there, and heartbroken parents, including us. May danya has speedy recovery.

precious one, even us adults, I dun dare to take the injection now, I shall wait till another month maybe in december, and make sure no side effects known, then I take.

sure sure, i will crack my brain.

btw, anyone staying in condo? if so, then we can rent the function room like wat the feb thread mummmies did, and have our gathering there? never mind, like me crack my brain again.

maybe i will have one near violet's birthday...

kkf,

Yup, if anyone here can help us book the function room and we can share the cost of the buffet, it will be nice to gather and catch up there....

I can volunteer: Make Name tags for babies and parents and Take attendance...so we can Identify each other...:p Dat's the best I can do!

haha, sure sure. i am also thinking of getting a function room, so anybody here lives in condo, and can help us do the booking???

<font color="119911">precious_one </font>,
tot H1N1 jab not test on children yet.

<font color="aa00aa">kkf</font>,
yup, HX luv to sleep rather than eat. that 's why neo-natal doc fdbck that his weight did not increase for 2 mth (last checkup as 15/9). hopefully, his weight is ok when he go for review again end of next mth, think he shd have gain weight by then. For wkend, how I wish he can zzz...so that I can rest too. but.....think he knew that mummy and papa are ard so he can dun want to slp.so wkend are his Happy hrs. my elder also like that. if slp, then only up to an hr. for wkdays, esp monday, he can slp longer to replenish his loss of wkend slp. my mum said that he slp fr 9am+ to 11am+ (one of the time, slp till nearly 1pm then woke up) and then 2pm+ to 4pm+.

yup, that's the activities we did during wkend - play, carry, bring him walk ard or else he sit at his walker for a while. yup, think he grew fast bec of his slp but not food. but poor mummy only slp less than 5hrs per day only.

do Violet slp thru the night? u bring violet hm?

<font color="aa00aa">Daivd</font>,
all the best to Danya's surgery! take care.Get well soon Danya!

<font color="aa00aa">ginger</font>,
hmm..me never heard that egg is heaty loh. anyway, dun eat too much also.

oh, congrats....J's teeth came out. mummy also excited??

so qiao, when HX has 2 teeth during his 7mth, he also LS. now his third upper tooth coming out also like that. yup, I also ever heard HX call 'ma' but that's only once in a blue moon. so everytime, b4 give him his biscuit or milk, will ask him to call but to no vain.

wow, so much milk...envy.....this morning, got so pek chek with HX. he is a super hong xin bb man....gave him abt 145ml of milk and drank only left 60ml then got distrated by hubby's movement into the toilet. he wanted to get up himself...sigh....then of cos, lost my temper and scolded him, beat his backside and hand. he just displayed a buay siong and kelian face and cry. really buay tan han....I dun encountered this for my gar wor....shake head...sigh...

do J eat a lot for the solid? cos Hx will eat a full small bowl of porridge for dinner and a bowl of brown rice si shen powder for lunch.

re:THERMOS
wow...so super man....the thermal cooker I got seems like can keep food hot for few hrs only.

re:gathering.
yo...dun plc it in the extreme east one(I know u are eastern while KKF is NE)...me westen mummy wor....

afcai,

Wahahaha, Yes I am EAST SIDE mummy!!! ;P

J's teeth come out, but she dun like them, now experimenting with them alot...Biting everything, and got sound when she bites hard things makes her excietd and bites even more...she will use her fingers and tongue to feel and touch the teeth too...

She eats alot solids also...half bowl of cereals for lunch, 1/4 fruit (sliced papaya etc) for tea break, one teething biscuit for snack, and almost one rice bowl of porridge for dinner (Split in 2 feedings for dinner)...the amount she eats, I find she is still growing quite slowly...guess she too active at home bah...

BTW I just started feeding her once with the Brown Rice with Si Shen Powder on Monday, and she developed rashes on her cheeks + she lost her voice...her lips also red...looks like too heaty, i stopped feeding her, and now she is better liao...do u know if it is a heaty food?

J also very Hong Sim one, usually I will feed her in my Room alone with lights off and blinds closed, and no one must walk about, if not she sure get up and wanna look here and there and dun wan drink...If we are outside, I will bring her into the car with curtains closed...haha, we installed those curtains for her sake....
But if she is sleeping, it is the best time to feed her loh...she drinks very fast and any sounds/lights etc wont distract her...

Can HX sit up on his own liao? J just found a new skill, she can get up and sit on her own from a lying position liao...just learnt this skill this week, and she kept repeating it and will clap her hands and wave both hands everytime she accomplished that...hahahaha...so funny...

re: THERMOS Shuttle Chef

Yah loh, it is very good, even my MIL also say very good, compared to the hundreds dollars thermal cooker she has bought before...hahaha, so proud of myself!

Gingal,
J is so cute.....cant wait to see Ryan move to this stage too.....sigh...really dunno when.

Wow J really eats alot...I oso find that he grows quite slowly. He dun seem to gain weight...so worrying (afcai, same problem as HX too)! Didnt have to worry abt my #1 this way!!!! =( He eats cereal for lunch and half a bowl of porridge for dinner. In between sonmetimes the baby bites or bread! What cereal is J eating?

Drinking milk
Ryan is one who cant be distracted. Once distracted with movement or noise...tatz it!!!

wow, so much posts to catch up
Seems like my paige is nt alone... at 16mth (actual age), she is only 8.5kg... her weight grow is so slow tt we were refered to feeding therapist. as long as she is healthy, dun fall sick all the time, being skinny is fine....
Grace,
have the same problem too, paige get distracted easily during her milk/solid feed. normally i will feed her when she sleeps else i will give her a toy to hold and change in between so she dun get bore/distract by other things

shelllow,
My Craydon can also join the in "club".. he is 10.6kg at 25mth, no matter how much milk and junk food he ate, his weight has been the same for the past few mths.. The problem lie with him disliking the "right" food.. He dislike porridge, dun take much rice or noodle.. at most he take less than 20bites.. sighz.. I m having headache of thinking what to cook for him..

afcai
Yes, you are right, H1N1 vac. not tested on children under the age of 12 yet. My wrong understanding from the news was priority would be given to older people and children as they are more vulnerable.....so didn't know that "children", they are referring to those 12 yrs and above..... blurr me.

FINALLY!!!! DEAR DADDIES AND MUMMIES! DO GIVE ME YOUR SUPPORT!

I am free now, cause exams over, so I am able to plan for gathering now! yeah! Don't mind, I just proceed with my own idea, cause if I think it is faster!

<font color="119911">GATHERING FOR PREMATURE BABIES SUPPORT GROUP THREAD 2009</font>
Golden date to mark in ur calender: 28 November Saturday
Venue: My humble house in Sengkang, sorry its a flat, not condo (sorry, I think this is most cost saving, haha, hope daddies and mummies living further away pls dun mind), its just about 10 mins away fr sengkang mrt, and u can take lrt too
Time: 12-4pm
Food: Will order from
http://www.water-rise.com/menu.htm
(tested it before, not bad, especially curry chicken)
But will need to collect from you all the $ for the food once you confirm with the food you want to eat.

Pls indicate if you are joining using the following format adding on to the list below:
1. kkf, Dash, Violet and Hubby
Food: curry chicken x 2, salmon fish with rice x 1

<font color="0077aa">Grace,</font>

Jerlynn eating Bellamy's Organic Rice Porridge, Heinz Organics Vanilla Custard cos her Fav Heinz Organics Plain Rice Cereals is OOS whole of Singapore...
These are the 3 types she is eating...
She eats alot Potatoes too... Sometimes we substitute the Dinner Porridge with Potatoes mixed with Pumpkin or Sweet Potato and with Brocolli...

Aiyoh, so mafan hor these babies!!! All cannot be distracted when drinking milk...sometimes I feel we as mummies very kelian...

<font color="0077aa">shellow</font>,

Paige Darling is not skinny leh, she is FIT FIT loh...keke...maybe bones not heavy...

i also follow u take toys and let J hold liao...but sometiems she throw them, and wants me to pick...if not she dun want cont'd drink...Faintz!

<font color="0077aa">Tree_Ice</font>

Try Potatoes? Pumpkin? Hahaha...I love these!!!

<font color="0077aa">KKF</font>,

Can we have it on a Sunday? My Hubby works on Saturdays til 6pm...
I can't bring J alone...I will Faintz!
Everything else is fine with me...Water Rise Buffet is Superb! but they really not on TIME de, will late, and never apologetic...
But nevertheless the curry is realli GOOD! Yummy!!!
we not having Buffet ah/ It's ala carte packed lunch? pls let me know if Sunday is ok hor? Then I will give u the orders! Thanks Thanks...

Last but not least, Happy Birthday!!!!

Pls indicate if you are joining using the following format adding on to the list below:

Food: curry chicken x 2, salmon fish with rice x 1

2. gingal, hubby and Jerlynn (If it is Sunday)
Food: Curry Chicken with Nice Rice x 2 $5.40 x 2

Sure, sunday is fine with me too. Ok we change to sunday, cause yah, think some of us work on Saturday, hope other mummies and daddies dun mind. Pack lunch cheaper, cause if buffet, we have to pay each around $10 plus...some of you dun eat much too, then not worth (for me i eat a lot, haha). Also, last minute somebody not going, then I can just dun order his/her share and refund back, better this way.

<font color="aa00aa">GATHERING FOR PREMATURE BABIES SUPPORT GROUP THREAD 2009</font>
Golden date to mark in ur calender: <font color="ff0000">29 November Sunday</font>
Venue: My humble Flat in Sengkang
Time: 12-4pm
Food: Will order from
http://www.water-rise.com/menu.htm
(tested it before, not bad, especially curry chicken)
But will need to collect from you the $ for the food few days before the gathering.
Free treat from me: their famous potato Q for each of you
Activities: Free toys for the kids to play...:p

<font color="0000ff">List of people attending and Food</font>
Food: curry chicken x 2, salmon fish with rice
$5.40 x 2 + $5.80 = $16.6

2 . gingal, hubby and Jerlynn
Food: Curry Chicken with Nice Rice x 2 $5.40 x 2 =$10.8

HEY tree ice nice to see u back. how's ur pregnancy?

david, yah, how's danya?

afcai, i bring violet home on tues, wed and friday as well as weekends. she sleeps okay lar, but will tend to make noise over the night.

thanks gingal for the birthday wishes.

kkf,

Happy Birthday!

See you holding a gathering in end Nov. Very good. KKH also holding Premmies Awareness Day held on 5th Dec'09. Why not meeting there?

David,

How's Danya?

Hi kkf,

so Glad it will be held on a Sunday!!! *Happy Happy Happy* Thanks!!!

Once confirm, let me know, I can transfer the funds to u!

Hi xiawanzi,

We can keep to the gathering and also to the Premmie Awareness Day? But....it's Sat? Sianzzzz....doubt I can make it...

gingal,
I tired both u mentioned.. He will take at most 10 bites.. Tried pasta, fried rice, fried udon mee, spaghetti, he won't finish a bowl.. SIghz.. what to do? Sometimes just supplement it with biscuits and bread..

kkf,
Thanks for asking.. I m 28wks+ today.. And this is gotta be a boy again *slap forehead* hahahhaaa.. I really really hope this gotta be a full term healthy chubby baby.. :p

As for the gathering, I m trying to "sai ko" my hubby to go lorr.. cos he said he dun know anyone, strange to go on such gathering.. lolz.. if he not joining, most likely just me and craydon.. I let u know when time to book for the catering k??

I got some questions to ask all of u,

1)For those mummies with babies born 29wker or born with 28cm head how big is your bb head circumference when bb reaches 2kg??

2)Anyone had this problem where doc mentioned your bb head is smaller??

hi xiaowanzi, i went to the awareness day before, a bit difficult for us to chat comfortably...but if you all intend to meet there, then i m ok with that.

congrats tree ice, wow 28 weeks now. yes yes, u will have a chubby and full term baby.

hi kkf,

I find the time run very slow while pregnant leh.. How I wish I m 35wk++ now cos at least I m in the safe zone.. lolz..

tree ice..
happy to see u here. Glad you are doing well. Pls go for the gathering. i'll be there! ur hubby knows me and my hubby right?! so he can now go, no more excuse! and dun worry abt weight, my bryan haven't even reach 10kg! hahaha.. i told hubby i save a lot on pampers.. forever M size :p

Updated attendance for gathering (tks kkf for organizing)
List of people attending and Food

3. xbliss and bryan (hb pending)
will calculate when confirmed no. of pax.

wow, gathering!! Can i confirm later? I would love to go but i m having very serious manpower shortage now....

Sad to say, my FIL was diagnosed with retina detachment and had to go back Shanghai for operation. I am now left with my MIL and Xavier...very tough. My MIL fell into a depression after my FIL left and she might follow to go back and take care of him since she is very worried. That means I am left with Xavier, all ALONE.. very challenging.... If that happens, I may need to take unpaid leave again (i wonder how long my company can tolerate me since i already took 8 mths leave this year, haha)

I still remember how depressed I was some time ago, when I actually still had both my in laws helping me. But now, suddenly i can cope all these, even with less help. I learnt that it's a training course by God, and I want to graduate so badly....

Really hope the raining days will be over soon. Please help us pray

And btw for David, I sms him on the day for Danya's OP, he told me she was crying a lot despite the morphine given. Feel really painful for them, hope all is well by now.

Really hope to see you in the gathering

tree ice, i felt exactly the same way last year when i was pregnant with violet. but time flies. before you know it, your baby will be safely in ur arms. hee...

jas, hope u can come...

I understand, when dash had heart surgery, even though he has morphine given, he was still tearing in his sleep. so heartpain.

xbliss,
My hubby very hard to convince, I try my best. He is quite an "anti social" person.. hahahaa.. Actually he is more to a shy person lorr.. I will not force him to go, at most I go with Craydon and let him have fun with all the kids.

kkf,
When frens or relatives r pregnant, u found them very fast reaches certain gestation weeks but for ourselves I find the time crawling like turtle, very slow.. I seem to be pregnant very long liao but just 28wks.. lolz..

I am worry abt this bb weight, cos Craydon was only 1.5kg when born 34wk. I hope this bb will be much much more chubbier than his korkor.

Tree_Ice,

My baby's problem is Head too big!!! Her head always above the 97th percentile...but they say ask me not to worry as long as it is constant growth...

Jia You... will pass the 35th week...dun worry...

My hubby also anti-social...he also reluctant to go...but I dun care, I can't handle J alone loh...and I WAN TO GO!!!

Jas,

I'm glad u have passed the "transition" period...Glad to hear u are coping well...
Will pray for ya...

Hope Danya is feeling ok now... Really heartpain to hear that she is suffering from the pain...

<font color="aa00aa">ginger</font>,
oic. yup, when thing got sound, HX also very excited, will stare hard at it. haa..he also like to watch tv wor...esp barney and advertisement.

re:food
but hor, dunno why when I gave him scrap apple, his eyes will squeeze. hmm..the apple not sour loh...

yup, similar portion of meals as what HX consume. but these few days, HX make me pek chek, duno why he dun finish his morning drink, he very super 'hong sim'. only drink 80ml out of 150ml. we also give him peg (toys not work for him) or else his smelly pillow. he will sniff sniff and dig dig the corner of the pillow.

ai-yo, like that since Jun till now, how to increase his milk intake. hai...sigh...yup, everything must close then he can concentrate to drink the milk, a slight sound will trigger him. even when he slp, he also needed to cover the eyes with handkerchief one.so now, in the noon, I wait for him to ask for food (when he is hungry, he ate and drink super fast), if not feeding him like gg to war....even feed him solid, the food can be all over his face, shirt etc.....really hair pulling....I dun have this problem with my gar wor....

oh, think the brown rice with si shen powder (which brand?) is heaty blar....

re:sit
do u let J sit in the walker? HX will follow ppls in the hse ard....

HX still cannot sit up on his own but when place him on sofa, he can pull himself up by grab the side handler of sofa and up he went....then he very happy and shake shake himself and then fall bck. really comical to see that....

now, HX found 2 way to crawl. instead of lifting up his legs and bum, he flip and flip to the destination. like ninja turtle man.... another way, he just like learning to swim, just help us to wipe the floor with his shirt.faintz... he also very cautious, he will slowly flip back when on the floor so that his precious head won't hit the floor. if it is mattress, wow piang, , think he will not be so 'gentle'. like as if his head is like a metal head man...

re:gathering.
gd to 'protest' cos can't u be keep at hm all day long right...u still need fresh air, frenz etc...

<font color="aa00aa">bloom</font>,
the thermos brand sales is over last mth loh...

hmm kkf 's bD last wkend?

<font color="aa00aa">Grace</font>,
how old is yr no#1? my no#1 coming to 3yr next mth. hmm...I also dun have any worry abt no#1. she anything also can one...unlike this no #2...headaches..test my patients. but sometimes, kids are sweet but the next moment.....one will go arrrrraaa....

<font color="aa00aa">Grace/ginger</font>,
yup, heinz cereal is OSS cos acc to harper the distribution of heinz products stated that they are refining their products packaging and still pending for AVA to go a go b4 they are on the self again. so Hx is still consuming the orange/red box -banana brekfast one. I'm looking for the apple mustuard one...

did yr bb eat water cake (in hokkien), 'zhu chang fen' and bread? HX luv them and will consume after his 2 scoops of cereal every morning. see his boy only luv solid food. will yr bb scream when he see u eat even when he already full? HX really can't see the resistant of food.

haa..think last time, bb are not like that, dun feel distracted blar...my gar even got noise also focus on her milk first...

<font color="aa00aa">kkf</font>,
thks for organising. unfortunatly, hubby got to go for wedding dinner that. arrr.....how to bring 2 kids along with lot of barang barang....tough gd that the venus is near lrt.oh,, then I saw the later msg...I will ask hubby if he want to come to NE side or not....

anyway, wish u a belated birthday!. may all yr dream came true.

<font color="119911">xiaowanzi</font>,
how's u know KKH also hold premmies awareness day? need to register or? what do we do there? oh..5th dec a sat, also cannot make as need to celebrate ah gar 's BD.

<font color="119911">Tree_Ice</font>.
congrats. less to relax now...hmm how old is yr boy?

<font color="aa00aa">Jas</font>,
consider of hiring nanny near yr plc? or converting into part time? work fr hm if co allow?

gingal,
Thanks.. Really hope can at least pass the 35wk safe zone.. Best if can tong till 39wk.. 97percebtile really big.. My boy never cross over abv 25percentile de.. lolz.. How many kgs is she now?

afcai,
I m hoping to hav more rest too but with my boy ard, is abit difficult.. He is now 25mth old.. lolz.. He is very active and luv to jump and jump and jump, even when ask him to go to his room after I finish dressing him up, he will hop to his room instead of walk there..

Hi tree_ice,

How many weeks r u now? And y do u need to bedrest?

I'm in my 29 weeks now n also hoping to cross the 35weeks mark... time passes soooo slow...

<font color="119911">Tree_Ice </font>,
hmm...think boys are boy shd be active blar. my bb also active, only 9.5mth (non-corrected age). when 's yr edd?

Updated attendance for gathering (tks kkf for organizing)
List of people attending and Food

3. xbliss and bryan (hb pending)
will calculate when confirmed no. of pax.

4. bloom and kate
will think abt food later.. busy with work!

a bit sad hor, not much people attending like that. if you all really dun like the idea of having a gathering, i will just drop the idea.

i just feel that i owe u all a gathering cause last time initially i had organised one, but last min dash sick.

if no one keen, then i just drop the idea. <font color="aa00aa">sadly, GATHERING cancel</font>

thanks gingal, xbliss, bloom for supporting me. Think we just find a day to meet up. think the rest are not too keen, we shd like wat xiaowanzi suggested, forget it, and just meet at the kkh premiee day for whoever interested.

tree ice and serene, jia you, you surely can make it to full term. take it easy...at least now you are half way thru and baby is def safe now.

thanks for all the birthday wishes to me!

david do update us once danya is discharge, yah??

kkf,
Gathering cancel? Already told hubby if he dun join, I will go too.. But I guess u r rite, the more the merrier, if not much ppl it won't be much fun..

Serene,
I m 29wk tomolo, will be having my gynae appt tomolo too.. I dun really need bedrest, still go shopping and take care of my 2yo toddler as usual.. But cos of my premature labour history, its best that I can rest.. May I ask y u r in this thread?

afcai,
My edd is 3rd Feb but becos I be choosing C sec hence will be ard 38 - 39wk which is 20 jan - 27 jan.. Hopefully bb can tong till then..