Premature babies support group

good morning mummies, i finally got some quiet time to come in and chat a bit :p

xbliss
wanted to tell you, i really think siang and bryan does have some look alike. i show the pix to my colleagues and one of them say "hey look alike haha".

tree_ice
actually... my husband is the ahmad too :p. good good can see craydon

kkf
yes i think share the cost better. now you have 2 kids to feed ler. not easy.

I am considering if should ask another premmie mum who i got to know. but i see how :p

to all the mummies who cannot join us, never mind. sure got other chances.

gingal
spotted that Jerlynn would be coming home soon
Horray!. oh yes xiaowanzi re about the desitin cream. its very good and wonderful. heal nappy rash effectively

Day-C
how are you?

nana_ryan mum
actually.... in my own table, i did put in the baby name (just for my own info) :p. but not everyone i have :p. as i am not sure if the mummies here mind so .. i never highlight that too.

bloom
re targets for siang. actually. i never told him there is targets to met ler :p (he so young how would he understand). but subsequently, he manage to catch up in terms of fine and gross motor. speech wise he is doing ok ok
. TV - my lao gong is a soccer addict. but... somehow i have managed to convince him that to wait until siang sleep then he watch soccer. anyway, he have cable so even if he missed the 'live' telecast, he can watch the delayed ones :p. jane very very bad hor. but sometime i do let my lao gong watch esp if its his hot fav team (liverpool) or if its a big match. otherwise, no tv for siang (unless is meal time) or if he is not well and i do not want him to run around too much :p

gingal,
xiaowanzi is right...previously the nurses told me to buy the desitin and pass to the nurse...wonder hw come they omitted to tell u about this.....and yup, the sticker wld be stuck there to identify its yours...

xiaowanzi,
hws yr boy?whos helping to look after him?

kkf,
i cant confirm if i m coming..i hv yr hp number, will contact u if coming..

gingal, regarding nappy rash hor, you go buy the spray one (name: cavilon) instead of cream. you can ask the nurse to buy. that one super effective and is very convenient, just spray no need use hand or anything. but it is more costly. KKH Pharmacy is selling. Last time the kkh doctor asked us to buy one, we found it sooo good that we even bought for relative's babies in batam. I always use the spray one. 1-2days the rashes will cure.

Anyway, really hope the sling is useful and easy to use. I bought MIM sling, and this sling from mums-rus, all I dunno how to use. No matter how i adjust hor, also very funny, so i dun dare to carry out. I hope this one will be easier...

great tree-ice, i got ur email. have save your mobile number.

Yah, for those who are not able to make it, sure have chance...when your babies are bigger.

Costa, you are the starter of this thread leh, die die must come hor...haha (hope u can make it!)

xbliss, wat a brilliant idea! haha, i ask dash sings singapore national anthem ok? haha, his newly found love is to sing national anthem, and the say the pledge in lousy broken english.

Btw, no lar, dun split costs lar, it is not very ex mah. Very lazy to split, so ma fan. Next time when somebody organises another gathering, just dun ask $ from me lor...haha.

Jane, sure asks the mummy along. Hope to see more premiees and their parents. Btw, forgot to thanks you for the ang baos!!! Aiyo, i really muddleheaded, forgot about new year, and forgot about ang baos.

xiaowanzi, ahhh, i just bought the purple tube of desitini cream leh. I thought original better...opps think i go buy the blue one. I am thinking of trying it out. If ok, then i dun have to spend so much on the spray! haha. but the spray is truely effective, 1-2 days can cure rashes. how about the desitini?

afcai, wow the nurses at least inform u way way beforehand to prepare u, my boy's hernia was only discovered on the day he was about to go home with us! imagine our disappointment!!!

Dun worry, hernia operation very simple one, not that painful i think, cause i dun see my boy feeling uncomfortable or wat after operation. The heart surgery is the one that was really painful...he was on morphine most of the time, and sleeping but struggling in sleep, and crying. Heart pain that time to see him, so to us hernia operation is like nothing, at least he wasn't in so much pain...and there is no scar at all cause the stitching is from inside.

hope ur boy grows well and can go home soon!

jane,
can u send me ur table? cos sometimes so many nicks posting & sometimes mommies mention bbs' names, i bit blur..pai seh. i keep my own list, then can 'refer' back anytime

bloom,
oh, 1 thing 2 'encourage' u, my colleage who has a full-term boy, who's 31mth now, can't talk yet. he can only manage 1-syllabus word. can't call "auntie", can only call "aunt.." so i think it has got nothing 2 do w preemie or not. each kid has his/her own development timing. anyway, tempted to tell my colleague to bring the boy 2 c doc, but she's happy tat he can utter 1-word at a time..so..

hi kkf
spray for nappy rash? wow i never heard of it. thanks for sharing. i will copy down the brand. as i got a few preggie frens :p. thanks thanks

and about singing national antemn. hehe siang can sing a bit of it :p (he very good in the 2 final words ie majula singapura. maybe he can join in the chorus part when dash sang it haha! siang sing the echo hahaha! :p

don't need to be pai say abt the red packet. for kids to grow up healhty

disneymickey
okie dokie. shall pm u in a while. nana_ryan mum able also very updated

haha, ok jane, so siang and dash will peform together!

bloom, yes, i tink it has nothing to do with prematurity. I mention to u my colleague's boy who speaks late, he is def a full term baby...
btw, does kate shows behavior like banging her head on wall when she doesn't get things she wants? if she doesn't exhibit strange behavior, then i dun think is autism or other problems. It is just that she is taking her time to speak. cause my colleague's boy will bang his head against the wall and exhibits strange behavior.
who knows, wait kate suddenly talks in sentences to u!

gingal
I second Costa and xiawanzi, you supply the rashes cream/spray directly to the nurse so that immediate treatment is administered on your poor baby buttock. Dun wait....the nurse very bz.

xbliss
match make - hahaha, we happened to talk years ago and now we "habitually" call A...dash's gf.... wah, premies performance, sounds good but leave A out. In laws house, the older cousins always organise mini concerts for the 4 yrs old to perform, just ytd night, there was one, they made A sing...wah biang, A's voice is so soft that I couldn't really hear her voice even with a toy microphone.

afcai
I believe all our premies here drank frozen milk at room temperature.....the older premies have grown up well, so 放心!

jane
on tv, MIL's house, TV on whole day for the children, I know it is bad but I needed her to look after A, so have to close one eye. YTD, A was naughty, she snatched her cousin's toy and claimed ownership, usually MIL will ask the other cousins to give way to her. I brought A to a corner as she always used crying tactics to get what she wanted and left her there. I told everyone in the house not to get near her until she stopped crying. When she stopped, I made her apologised to her cousins before she resumed her play. She didn't get the snatched toy either. MIL looked at me, I could see she sim tia, but I told her that we must instill discipline at young age. I know behind me, back to square one, boh bian again....she helps me look after A as I didn't want maid to look after A since I return to the work force.

Glad to hear that Siang is doing well in all areas.

nana ryan's mummy,
Thank u for maintaining and updating the list.

chloegal
U want to add onto the list your 3rd child?

kkf
haha ok ok
i go back try to polish up siang singing skill (my maid sing it very well :p). scali he just sing the 2 words :p haha (*shy shy*) keke.

hi precious_one
i guess tv is part and parcel of the baby/toddler growing stage. i think not good to bar them from it totally. afterall, they learn lots of things from it (from educational vcds). siang learn a lot of songs from watching the vcds too.

anyone seen the SCV tv programme on the bowling? hmmm siang know how to say "BJ GO" and he will bowl the ball and say "strike": (when all pins fall). he say "spare" when not all the pins fall. he say "fat fat (in chinese) come out" when he missed

So..its ok to watch some tv la hahahha!!

and yes,i echo your thoughts. like my mum. she let siang watch lots of tv...i have to leave it as it is. and yes, my mum also sayang siang a lot. if i instill some discipline (I do it behind her) she will heart pain and say me ... :p. but its true we need to instill some discipline at young age.

Angel is doing well too

kkf,
Thanks for organising the meet-up, hope to be able to attend and see BB Violet

Jane,
I know which show you referring, the one hosted by 'Hu Gua' rite
so cute Siang can learn from that show

hi didi
wow quite a while did not chat with u liao. the thread really move fast (me slow reader la :p)

Yes yes that is the one haha. oh he is 'hu gua' hum. i know he quite a famous MC. siang everyday also watch that show :p. i never watch that because that hour i am always not home also during weekends i do not really watch tv :p.

they learn many things on tv :p. one of my colleague boy even can hum the 'litte nonya' song ler :p haha

jane,
at least siang is learnign the 'correct' things heehee.. u know there's this taiwanese drama @4.30pm? my mom watched tat, so sometimes ws oso watched tat.. the other day, she told me 婷婷 cry cos dunno-who die alrdy.. 阿明 gor gor (somebody in the show) cut hair alrdy..piang.. i nearly fell off frm chair!! but luckily, she doesn't
watch tv at home cos we don't watch tv at home.

kkf,
yes, destini blue colour cream is v effective. i'm still using it, 4 nite diapers la..

disneymickey
hahaha ws also quite narrative about the drama hor. show that she really understand what is happening.

erh..learning such game at such young age? is that correct (i really don't know too keke). hahaha honestly i hardly watch tv at home so i am not very familiar with drama series :p.

xiaowanzi,

I already bought Desitin Cream
but don't think will leave it there cos I have no time buy another tube, but will bring it over tonight and apply on her.

But I just checked and I bought the pruple one... Smells bad ah? But will heal the same?

kkf,

noted, later i go kkh's pharmacy see, buy watever recommended and try and see which one works better..
Kiasu Mummy.
Boh Pian, I just called SCN and the nurse said that confirm go home tmr, as she is coping very well after the blood transfusion. Now so many things need to pack to my MIL place...

U bought so many slings ah? Then never use wasted leh...

DM,

Don't worry about your colleague, my niece started 2-syllabus words only when she was about 2-3 years old too... Then right after that between 3-3.5years she is talking full sentences and now she can't stop talking. Her elder bro also started out late in speaking, but once they start they can't stop!!!

From tomorrow onwards, I will not have access to internet liao, so sad... Will be back next weekend to chit chat again
See ya!!!

kkf,

The destini also very effective. 1-2 days can see the the result. the purple tube bought in KK? If u have not open the purple one and have a receipt ,maybe can change. Actually is the same lah, accept different smell lah. This is what the nurse told me.

Hi Costa,

Today just bring my boy to kk for check up. His hernia reoccured again at different location. The surgeon said monitor first see whether it will heal itself else need to operate again. Haiz.....Now he still with the nasel cannular, if operate need to intubate again. Aiyo, faint...... hope his lung getting stronger and his hernia can go off. Next month still need to see the heart doctor, lot of appt coming up.

Any mother encounter that one side of the heart is bigger than the other side as the lung is under too much pressure; the heart is working very hard to pump the oxygen to the lung?

xiaowanzi,
you are working or stay at home mum now?
hope his hernia issue can be resolved...when can his nasal cannular be taken off?

at the beginning will hv lotsa appointments but as time goes by, it will lessen..

m nt sure abt the heart issue?hp the heart doc can answer yr queries...

yan,
. hmm.. meeting room maybe can use those nursing wrap to cover and face back to the glass panel.all the best on ur finding space

kkf/gingal
I was using sling last time, took some time to get used to it. some mums do give up on it coz of e learning
curve. after get used it, its one item I cant leave home without! she hated to sit in stroller and I found stroller cumbersome. hehe only now at age 18mths, she likes to take stroller. gd luck with that!

afcai
me same as kkf, she was going to go home THEN the day itself, they cancel coz need hernia op.
hernia op quite common. the only thing that is not ok was that she had to go without milk for few hrs before op so cranky. op itself & op recovery is ok.
she was ok after the op. like normal.

agree with precious, all the EBM given at hosp is cold & they do ok. actually, once I was BF, I felt something cold dripping, turn out its my BM dripping.

Jane.
I'm fine thx. taking it day by day with e preggy/all the changes. now baby is 1173g. next visit is at week 32 in early march. dr didnt say I have to followup in the meantime. he say lots of amniotic fluid, baby grow ok and my bld pressure ok. I see it how it goes at next appt - hope all remain steady. meantime, we starting to pack to move out bit by bit by april.

xiaowanzi
hope e hernia issue resolve itself, all e best!

xiaowanzi,
gd 2 b able to spend more time wif yr boy......

daec,
take gd care of yrself during pregnancy and dun over-exert yrself during moving...

precious_one,
i forgot to say tt i mirror yr thots....if i go anywhere wif my son alone and i hv to run around after him to see that he dun misbehave, i seriously cant enjoy myself....recently i went for a fren's son's bday party...cant even sit down and have a proper meal as my son was running all over the place and not nice to trouble my frens too long to take care of him

Jane
hmmm, tried loading a clear pic of hers but it seems that every file is so hugh even after I compressed it. I think the colour of the pic is too rich!

A's eyes is not big at all...really and you are right, she is very fair - like her mum and dad!

precious_one
erh..me not very good with loading and editing pic to load in the forum too. most of the time i just try try (see if the pic can get thru haha). must ask those mummies who is more expert

but this pic also quite clear ler. but can tell quite a fair bit was edited. i find her so sweet looking! eyes not big mah? hmmm... i think consider quite big ler (maybe i really have very thin eye line haha). yes yes, immediately (thou the colour of the pic is seem rich) can tell she is fair

next time grow up sure become a beautiful gal. fair fair.

you try and load other pic
actually i always very happy to see kids picture, knowing that they are growing up and doing stuff

precious_one

Finally i see sweet Angel
she has grow up so beautifully under your attentive care. well done mummy

honestly, i really love to see how all our premmies look like (because always chat online) but always pai say to ask the mummies to post the pic :p. and having gathering sometime not all mummies can attend...

So far, i only met in real life D&E (Mich twins), Bernard (costa boy), Dash (kkf boy), bryan (xbliss boy).

Happy to see Angel today
it make my day.

Jane,
I dun watch that variety show, I am more into those talk shows
even though I know jolly well most of it are 'made-up' but still entertaining, my hb is fed-up with me watching those shows that he says I should be staying in Taiwan
my 4 yo niece is also addicted to 'Little Nonya' that she calls my sis 'Nya Nya' (think it means mother) and my mom 'chor chor' so funi

didi

haha. i only watch those show after 10.30pm (weekeday and weekend). even on weekends i hardly watch tv (if at home).

but nowadays i like to watch about the chinese medcine programm (channel 8?) around 10pm or so. its very interesting.

haha your lao gong so funny. but the little nonya really very popular (even my lao gong seem to know a bit abt it) but i have never even watch one episode :p... my life is so boring keke.

wow wow, is that dae jung geum i see there?! angel has grown so much since the last time i met you, precious one!! so pretty and like to pose!!

ya, he dun understand why I like the 'Little Nonya' he say the show so silly, well 'Men are from Mars, Women from Venus'

xbliss
you are right. dae jung geum! yes yes

didi
yes, i really agree with what u say. 'Men are from Mars, Women from Venus'
. my lao gong don't understand why on earth i want to watch the chinese medicine program too :p.

yan
about insurance. perhaps i can share a bit. siang (being 26 weekers with CLD and hearing impairment) was turn down by all the insurance provider for medical (H&S) insurance. But we manage to buy for him investment plan (NTUC and AIA) and also Junior Personal Accident (AIA). I was told by a number of agents to try again when siang is around 3-4 years old. - just my experience abt buying insurance. right now siang is under my company H&S coverage (staff plan).

You planning to buy one for yi lin?

jane,

yes.. but being turned down by great eastern. they said according to her health book, she stil has outstanding prob, GERD and ROP. and recently her ear screening, she failed. actaully she passed before leh, dunno why failed again..
as for GERD and ROP, i tot were ressolved already. the neonat din mention about GERD already and her ROP check up was arranged half a year later just for follow up only.

at wat CA age u bought the investment plan and junior personal accident for him? with outstanding problems, able to buy? my company dun have insurance coverage for family member.
i dunno wat my company is thinking, they boughtt accident plan for us only. i think they can choose between hospitalise and accident, but most of our staffs are sale person, most of the time they will be out of the compant, so maybe the accident plan suit them better... hmm.. tats y when admitted to kkh before yilin was borned, i can´t claim anything

xbliss
Sorry ah..who's dae jung geum? A can't pose, photographer must snap snap snap and hopefully get some nice pics, she always look away from the camera. Can't load the function room background here....cos by the time I crop to reduce the size of file, probably left one balloon hahaha.....

Yan
On Insurance, I'm still waiting to buy for my girl after 4 yrs....my understanding is that we must get from the Doc. in charge from KKH to get a health clearance letter before we can buy any hospital plan. This is one area which premies can't enjoy at birth. As for accidental etc. should not be a problem at all.

dm
Yes, intend to load into fb but must find time cos i think it will take a long time to load, each pic size is so hugh, must take time to compress all then load....very tedious lei....

didi
I must watch little nonya then ..... just like the scene, every thing so colorful and pretty.

disneymickey
I f-i-n-a-l-l-y send you our babies (to what i have) table haha :p. pai say as busy with work lately :p but what i have may not be very very uptodate :p. let me know if i do missed out any one.

yan
actually, siang was turn down by ALL the agency. i tried numerous. BUT hey, don't give up about this. for me hor, i will try again when siang turn 3 years old (try try never say die).

yes, in fact the few times i tried to buy life and health insurance for siang. we are turned down. despite actually the neonat and lung specilist wrote quite a good report for siang. for siang his only outstanding (at 2 years old then) is CLD and hearing impairment. based on CLD (and not hearing impairment) the agency turned me down...

From what u mention. i think you wait a while more then try. I am sure what you mention earlier yi lin will outgrow. have faith!

oh for the investment and junior personal accident we bought for siang at around...1 year plus. i understand investment plan anyone also can buy :)p) so long got cash (correct me if i am wrong :p). But for the Jnr PA, siang was obsolute for hearing part la... that one they 'off load' it. but he is covered on other area for jnr PA (ie only hearing he is not).

i hope what i share is clear... For me, i am consider lucky as my company has H&S for family members too. so i secured it for siang and my hubby.

i think a few mummies here may have also tried but have not succeed yet (i put yet is because i am sure our premmies will outgrow all the issues and be able to register for the insurance).

re hearing? yi lin passed ah. i remember you mention earlier. why still have to go for re-test? may i know...(if convenient to share)

oh yan
re eye check up. for siang he was for quite a while on half yearly check (its ok..). then at around 1 year corrected. he is given the 'all clear' (and we are given open dated appointment).

after that he had OT and PT appointment. but since then both of it he do not need to go liao. so called 'cleared'

right now he is seeing the neonat (at CDU, KKH) as review sessin and also the lung specialist (this one i want to continue :p for a while more). both this appintment is like half yearly and once yearly

Precious_One,
I didn't 'follow' LN from the beginning, I only catch up during 'Yue Niang' portion onwards

precious_one and jane,

oh.. guess i gotta wait till kkh give her a cleared sign then can reaply...hmm....

we din book for the re-test.. actually ah.. very funny. kkh gave us 2 ear screening appt upon discharge.

during discharge, we received a lot of ¨love letters¨ right? (appt letters and cards)...one of which is for ear screening. then before we are about to go off, the nurse suddenly realised that the health book did not indicate that yilin has passed the screening test so they arranged for the ear screening test to be done before we go off. and then, she failed that test. so the ear specialist gave us a appt to go back for check again.. end up, we got 2 ear appt.

then sometime in dec, she got the screening test, passed. i asked the nurse whether she still need to go back for the 2nd appt in jan.. she said yes.. she said the appt was given by different department...hmmm....then we think.. ok lor... check again also nvm... scarli.....alamak.. she failed tat test!! sigh...

so... she consider pass or fail? i also dunno...

didi
oh you watch the yue niang special show

day-C

yan
Yes, before discharge, they give me a few pre-made appointments.

erhmm... may i know the 2 ear screening test? is it sleeping test?

siang all in all had 3 official hearing screening (not counting those that he had in recent 1 year). once is when he about to discharged (he failed) from KKH to go home, then appt given, he failed. then 3rd time SSEP (sleeping test). he failed.

different dept? KKH only has one ENT Centre ler? the hearing screening is all done there right?

don't worry too much. so they give her another hearing screening appt? maybe you wish to speak to the neonat then? just a suggestion

precious,
no need to crop. Open the picture in PAINT, then select skew.. skew it down to 20% which should be good enough if your photo is 6 megapixels and above.

jane,
the 1st an 2nd test i was there. the 3rd tesr i m not there so i dunno. but for all the tst required her to be sleeping. she put a head/ear phone on each side of the ear and attached a few probes on the forehead and neck(if i remember correctly)

yalor, only 1 ENT, the nurse said it was given by dunno where leh, i can´t remember liao..
now just hope tat she can pass this upcoming test.
very worried leh...

sorry for asking this ah... hope you dun mind,
siang now with hearring aid? w/o the aid, when u play with him when he was a still baby, will he respond?

yan
I see. ok i know what is the test about the head/ear phone (that one is confirmed done when the patient is awake - re the 1st 2 test i told u siang had? that was this one).

My personal opinion. if you really cannot recall who had given u all the differnet appt with the ENT centre. i suggest u can consider clarify with the neonat or at least seek the neonat directions. Afterall, i can understand. with quite a number of appointments given at one go...i am at first quite blur too. but gradually the appointment become lesser and i am able to cope better too. Don't feel stress ok.

The SSEP (sleeping) test was the 3rd and final test they did for siang.

I guess the fact that i can openly tell all the mummies here that siang has hearing impairment is a fact that i faced it. But i am glad to say (i am in fact very grateful to heaven) siang speech at 2.5 years old is very on par and his motor (gross and fine) is doing well. The only concern the neonat has for siang is still mainly his hearing.

When siang was bb...erh (haha that was 2 years ago :p). i would say yes he does respond 'at times'. I think i never mention. Siang is diagnose with sever hearing loss. but then.... over the last one year. he is grade under moderate hearing loss. In fact (xbliss seen siang before), without hearing aids, siang can listen to up to a certain level of sound... so..on this itself, i am very glad liao.

Siang has hearing aids at home..but, well its another differnet task to make him wear it.

i hope i answer your query. but ... hey, don't worry as i say. heaven is really kind. yi lin will pass her test but maybe to cut down on the uncertainty, perhaps you can either ask the neonat if not the ENT doctor that see yilin? ask until... until you are comfortable. at least i am like that :p

xbliss
i saw your name in the babyatom BP of books. i wanted to tell you. the books you order is Great! i have it at home (given to me by my sister :p). siang learn a lot from it.

i order the crayola crayons. I think its time to start some form of colouring with siang :p despite i very scare he make a mess on the table haha

okie me logging off for the weekend :p

happy valentine day to all the wonderful wives (aka mummies)
feel love and be love.

re:destini
I use pink one for my gar.

<font color="119911">gingal</font>.
yup, me so excited when I went to visit my boy wor. on wed, when I reached there, his eyes is browsing around. I called him, he looked into my direction. when I carried him, he doze off. so he slp in my arms for 1hrs wor. then hubby carried him for 10mins and plc him bck, he struggling his hands out mah. so hubby got to wrap him tightly.

yup, that gar in the bb cot, wondering what so special?? she weigh 2.5kg and has lot of black hair wor...when I was there on wed, I saw nurse pushing an incubator with oxygen mask. dunno they are taking her to man....

oh, so our bb our just opps only...hmm...I know most of the bb over yr side are malays loh.

hmm...for preemiere I dunno loh...cos last time, my gar on bm and she can poo only 1 wk later. when I attended KKH antental class, mid-wife mentioned that tbf bb dun really poo. she shared experience thaT her granddaughter only poos after 15 days wor...

yup, dunno why hosptial dun warm up the milk wor....

hm u are gg bck to work? if not, why yr gar need to go to mil'plc?

<font color="119911">kkf</font>,
when I told my hubby abt yr boy's case. he said heart surgery no joke....so serious...(sorrie if any offence). at least, thks for reassure me that hernia operation is simple one. will be meeting doc tml to hear what he had to say. hope, with 2 more weeks to go before he turned wk 35, bb ' muscle will develop and dun need operation.

when is the time when yr boy has the operation??

<font color="119911">precious_one</font>,
oic. just a shocking that they dun warm up the milk mah....cos old folk will tend to say like that will cause wind in tummy wor....

hmm.yr gar very fair wor....

<font color="119911">day_c</font>,
thks for sharing hernia issue. so will yr bb be give milk after the opt? how many wk when yr bb did the operation?

normally, our bm is at room temp one...